KeoTV: Bok sham bullshit
10 Jul 2011
MARK KEOHANE says, whatever the media spin is, the Bok Tri-Nations squad is an insult to the jersey and the history of the tournament.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article24 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article10 Jul 2011
MARK KEOHANE says, whatever the media spin is, the Bok Tri-Nations squad is an insult to the jersey and the history of the tournament.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

179 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
9 Jul 2011, 05:58 am
imagine trying to do business with SARU..
you beat them, its because of the WC and having to help them get people on seats,
or it is a declaration of war..
then, when they have the opportunity to put people on seats, they reneg on the deal and go back on THEIR word… how utterly duplicitous..
the true nature of Saffas and their contempt for their business partners is atrocious…
no wonder everyone wants to “get the yarpies’
you okes friggin deserve it..
9 Jul 2011, 06:17 am
What a load of bollux. If SaRU had chosen the number one side this article would be about how stupid they were to do so.. An ordinary player can rack up more caps coming on with 5 minutes to go than many of the greats who wore the jersey in the past. How many caps has Mujati compared with H O de Villliersfor example. The Bok jersey will have been worn by almost all these guys already. Was it made **** when they wore it then?
I say send the netball team if it means our top guys are in the best condition to win the RWC.
9 Jul 2011, 07:03 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-101:
Mentioning the NZRU and ‘business’ in the same sentence is about oxymoronic as it gets!
SARU and their buffoons can at least turn a profit and the end of the fiscal year… the NZRU is in dire straits the past two and this huge loss they will be making hosting the RWC is only going to send them further into the red.
Imagine if the NZRU didn’t get all the ‘Yarpies’ S15 money… they’d be finished.
Anyway who you punting for tonight… I watching the game at the same table as Julian Huxley, Adam Freier and a few ex Reds (and the entire Rebel Army) so I’m going for the Aussies as I’d like to see a new name brining home the silverware… albeit I certainly won’t be disappointed if the fantastic Crusaders continue their winning form.
9 Jul 2011, 07:06 am
The Boks have put themselves into a no win situation. If they win it will be because they cheated and if they lose – the end of the world for SAFFA supporters.
Imagine the wailing and whining here at the Keo alter if they blow it. I would pay good money to see such a spectacle.
After that the site would be dead.
It’s ALL or NOTHING for the Boks – lets see how they handle the pressure!
9 Jul 2011, 07:09 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-100:
Forensic services!
You joke?
9 Jul 2011, 07:13 am
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-78:
Juvenile!
9 Jul 2011, 07:14 am
Its a walk in the park for the Boks, the current world champions have won everything there is to win – unlike the current oz or nz team – and it gets even better that everyone’s written them off.
9 Jul 2011, 07:20 am
some breaking news.
Riaan Viljoen, who was apparently on the WP and Stormers radar, has signed with the Sharks and will join them after the CC…
9 Jul 2011, 07:21 am
The pressure is totally off the Boks, its as if they are frollicking through the tulips and dandelions, while the ABs are utterly desperate for a RWC win – in fact they are beside themselves to win the the thing.
Well guess what more big tears coming up – its a strange thing but often the more desperate one is for something the less likely they are to achieve it – the ABs are out of contention.
The aussies have a powder-puff pack as per usual. The real danger will come from the rested NH teams who will only get stronger as the tournament progresses into their season.
9 Jul 2011, 07:27 am
@cab(cab)-107:
Shame!
I understand why Skop loves you so much.
You believe your deluded rationale and then to make it worse you post it!
Only consolation is that a few like Blitsbok etc are worse.
9 Jul 2011, 07:31 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-110:
yeah but at least we not a bunch of no-contest no-mas scrumming poefdas.
are you guys actually going to field a decent set of props and adequate bench replacements or simply fold and throw in the towel at the first sign of trouble as per usual?
9 Jul 2011, 07:44 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-95:
Black and gold are the Duke of Wellington’s colours.
9 Jul 2011, 07:54 am
@cab(cab)-111:
It’s inevitable.
9 Jul 2011, 08:27 am
pdv is a tim noakes disciple, keo.co.za/2009/05/26/noakes-rotation-will-be-key/
since he doesn’t have the luxury of ordering a compulsory 2 weeks break for all his players like graham henry, he’s had to take matters into his own hands. The snot & trane of the aussies & kiwis is an unintended by product
9 Jul 2011, 08:50 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-103: Im backing the Saders of course, but only because I believe their forwards will outdo the Reds…
to be honest I think both teams deserve the title, but there can only be one…two best teams in the comp in the final, how it should be…
9 Jul 2011, 08:55 am
LOL! KEO, you hated Jake and everything he did before 2007, calling all kinds of names. Then you became braai buddies, and everything he did was gold in your eyes. Now that he’s not returning your calls, suddenly you hate him again?!? I’m not sure whether you’re childish or… weird. That’s your problem.
I’ll give it to you you disapproved everything he did before the 2007 mid-year tournaments, but in the Tri-Nations you were already best buds and you supported his choice of playing a second choice team fully!
9 Jul 2011, 08:56 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-101:
Ja we love you too
9 Jul 2011, 09:00 am
@cab(cab)-111:
We obviously don’t need a monster scum to be ranked ahead of the “World Champions”. Besides with our small player base we are only occasionally going to get the scrum we wish for.
What we lack in the scrum department we more than make up in others. You should hang your head in shame that your mighty Boks have to contest 2nd place with the Aussies.
You may have the beef but you don’t have the balls to go with it. Unfortunately, guts and fighting spirit can’t be built in the gym – it’s in the DNA.
Tough.
9 Jul 2011, 09:10 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-118: A nation descended from convicts should not go around comparing DNA.
9 Jul 2011, 09:17 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-118: It would be a sad day if we allow AUS and NZ to pick our national side.(you will have Pierre Spies in everytime.)You are making a fool of yourself.@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-119: Good post!
9 Jul 2011, 09:48 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-120: isnt Spies injured?
therefore how can we pick him?
9 Jul 2011, 09:48 am
@kevin w(kevin w)-93:
wise man leaving out the option for that SemiF ticket then
9 Jul 2011, 09:50 am
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-97:
whats hip with the teenagers at the moment, Blitzen ?
9 Jul 2011, 09:52 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-103:
The NZRU bring the no1 Rugby team in the World to the table; mind your manners.
9 Jul 2011, 09:54 am
@cab(cab)-111:
we got the shovels
since you got the sh*t
do we put it on the pile with the rest of them ?
9 Jul 2011, 09:55 am
I have a feeling we’ve all been duped and rugby is the Emperor’s New Clothes.
9 Jul 2011, 09:57 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-119: I actually thought the Aussies got their DNA from the same place we all got it from…therefore any character traits surely are derived from ancestral DNA, is it not?
didnt we all start from African DNA?
9 Jul 2011, 10:00 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-127: you forget environmental and societal influences…
9 Jul 2011, 10:28 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-127: “Didn’t we all start from African DNA?”
Technically, no not all.
Go further back in time too and you’ll find the Great Apes (millions of years before the australopiths in Africa) originated in Eurasia.
9 Jul 2011, 10:56 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-121:
Spies has a groin injury and has just come back from his holiday!!!
Mmmm…great holiday!!
9 Jul 2011, 11:02 am
I for one don’t give a continental about what the make up of the touring party is. Simply put the World Cup comes first and if there is even a sniff of injury that can be put to good use in order to prepare our Cup Defenders, so be it. The Boks have good depth and testing some of the fringe players in the heat of battle is not the worst idea ever. Wether there will be the vindication of 2007 when the trophy came home with the Boys remains to be seen. I for one will judge PdV on his performance at RWC2011 and that is all that really matters now isn’t it.
9 Jul 2011, 13:30 pm
Let’s hope Spies is recovering from finding his balls.
9 Jul 2011, 13:46 pm
We all know its a bullshit scheme. But do we think is necessary for some players to take a rest? Is it a wise decision?
9 Jul 2011, 14:05 pm
I never agree with Keo – he is a fool – but on this occasion he is right. SARU are robbing everyone with this decision and it will backfire. It will cost SARU money and they will be complaining and blaming the Aussies and Kiwis like the always do.
Who would do business with SARU????
They are underhanded and incompetent.
this has nothing to do with players needing a rest etc – that isn’t the discussion. You make a deal – you give your word – and you have to stick by it. This is a sad sad day for south African Rugby.
9 Jul 2011, 14:08 pm
Inevitable
not talking of beef, I’m talking true grit, which the ozzies got none of. hanging in while getting flogged like the stormers were, rather than crying off and pleading no contest like the warataha did vs biulls or and like donut, baxter and rolly polly robinson does every time they see a bokke or English scrum. Only thing in your DNA is crookery, problem is you all getting to fat and pampered downunder on the land of milk and no worries. What’s happened to the okkas and Mick dundees? Instead u got a whole lot of billy elliots running around these days.
9 Jul 2011, 14:09 pm
I have to agree with Keo on this one (which may be the first time)
9 Jul 2011, 14:13 pm
Panty
dunno wtf u saying, speaka da english.
Are the Saders your team? Hope not otherwise u going to really have your rods bent out of shape tighter than usual today.
9 Jul 2011, 14:13 pm
@cab(cab)-135: Perhaps you might want to re-post seeing the Reds just out guts the Saders (and they were getting belted by the forwards).
Just a thought
9 Jul 2011, 14:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-114: a tim noakes disciple my gaat. he never listens to him. for the past three years hes given noakes the finger. only now he listens because he is panicking. divvy only listens when he gets himself stuck deep in the crapper.
9 Jul 2011, 14:21 pm
Don’t be ridiculous jeest, why ruin a good story with a few facts. Queenslanders probably the toughest of the lot, besides they know how to take severe spankings after years of practice. But at test level they take one look at sheridan or vickery and those legs turn to jelly woble and before long they rolled over on their backs – no mas.
9 Jul 2011, 14:23 pm
Every year, the coach gets to rest top players that need rest and try out new combinations in the “warm up” tests before entering any competition. All over the world and no one bats an eyelid.
This year, because of the extended S15 and the RWC they’ve had to sacrifice the warm ups in favour of a competition which ends a couple weeks before the RWC? Utter madness. All for profit. Then they come with talk of the “spirit” of the competition instead of about how they need a*ses on seats to make that profit, at the expense of the players and want to investigate?? F*ck right off!!
The punishment that the human body can take is remarkable but a finite quantity, something which the plonkers in charge don’t seem to understand and the coach has the right, the duty to ensure that he has his best possible side representing his country at the RWC. Period.
They went for quantity over quality and thats exactly what they’ve got. Reap what you sow.
9 Jul 2011, 14:23 pm
@cab(cab)-135: inevitable is a stupid arse. can’t see past that chip on both shoulders. you hve to pity the little fella. it was all inevitable given his pedigree.
9 Jul 2011, 14:29 pm
@Frestent(Frestent)-141: All i care about is the boks these arse-smears got the mulla they wanted so what more do they want? stuffing up our campaign? because a potential bok win might be bad advertisement for the game as some special needs ***** here suggested? bwahahahahaha .they fucked up the calendar AGAIN we did what we needed to be ready for the tournament. so they can literally kiss my ***. I’ll be in new zealand waiting.
9 Jul 2011, 14:30 pm
@Frestent(Frestent)-141: Well unfortunately if we want to be professional and take money on offer then sometimes you need to suck it up and do what the money givers want. Rugby is a business, not a sport. It’s entertainment. If SARU don’t like this – they could always go back to being amateur.
Can’t have it both ways
9 Jul 2011, 14:35 pm
@jeest(jeest)-144: we never get anything but **** so stuff them. or would these ******** rather see a a poor world cup with the best players too tired to play? great idea! only in arsestalia and mud island would you find idiots that thick.
9 Jul 2011, 14:39 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-145: I think of the longer term impact this will have. Not the immediate effect it will have on a six week comp every four years. We will NEVER win any comps unless we maintain the flow of cash. Sorry but thats just the way it is these days.
SARU have made two errors. The first was to agree to field their best team and promise the broadcasters that they wouldn’t rest players at the last negotiation. The second was to promise them, once again that they would field their strongest team a few weeks ago.
Now, we have no credibility and never will. This will cost SANZAR (and SARU) plenty. No wonder they “screw” us over so much. I’d **** SARU over too if I was them because you know they are deceitful *****.
9 Jul 2011, 14:45 pm
@jeest(jeest)-144:
Jeest, rugby is a sport first then a business. and like any business, for it to be truly successful you need to ensure that the product you sell is of a high quality.
slightly less rugby would mean hungrier teams, hungrier spectators and more a*ses on seats. Too much rugby sacrifices that. the ones that need to suck it up are the money givers for a change.
9 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@jeest(jeest)-146: what happened last year with 7 final warnings McCaw and the farce tries scored ALL through foul play lacks credibility. a ref penalizes them and new zealand gets an oppology for it. rugby is becoming like the wwf. cheap pre-ordained bullshit. watch this world cup its going to be the icing on the cake of ****,
9 Jul 2011, 14:52 pm
@Frestent(Frestent)-147: They can’t “suck it up” as you put it. They respond to what the fans want – as it gives them their money. This year has been a bumper year for TV ratingings etc and that will provide cash flow to SANZAR. Although that will be a lot less now SARU have pulled this trick.
And Rugby is no longer a sport at the top level- maybe at the lower levels but it’s a business first at the top level.
Every event, every team, every game – it all revolves around the profit. Just take a look at the WC. everything about it is about the money – the Rugby comes a distant second. Why do you think they ensure that such a conservative game is played at every WC? Why do refs suddenly allow a forward dominated and ball slowing approach?? It’s because the money is in the NH and they know it will draw a larger NH audience – they don’t give a **** about the quality of the product if the high quality product sells less.
And “arses on seats” is a secondary concern these days. It’s more about the sponsors dollars and media rights. You really need to move into this century.
9 Jul 2011, 14:57 pm
If the Sharks want Riaan Viljoen I dont understand why when they already have Louis Ludik, JP Pietersen, Steffan Terblanche and Patrick Lambie who can all play fullback
For Western Province, Aplon is both wing and fullback and Jantjes is in a career decline so Viljoen would be a good buy?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All