Matfield nominated for top award

Springbok lock Victor Matfield has been nominated for the Steve Tshwete Lifetime Achievement Award.

Matfield will go up against karate’s Peter Sabatha for the accolade, and the winner will be announced at the SA Sports Awards on 21 August.

The awards recognise individuals and teams who have excelled both on and off the field during the period 1 November 2009 to 30 April 2011. Sixteen awards will be handed out, and a number of rugby players are in the running.

Cecil Afrika has been recognised for his superb displays in the Sevens World Series in his nomination as Sports Star of the Year. Afrika will go up against Cameron van der Burgh, world and Commonwealth champion in the 50m breaststroke, Masters golf champion Charl Schwartzel, Hashim Amla, currently the world’s top-ranked ODI batsman, and 2009 CAF Women’s Footballer of the Year Noko Matlou.

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke, who coached the Pretoria franchise to back-to-back Super Rugby titles in 2009 and 2010, as well as the Currie Cup crown in 2009, has been nominated as Coach of the Year, alongside Bafana Bafana coach Pitso Mosimane and Johan van Heerden (angling).

The Bulls were also nominated in the category of Team of the Year, where they will come up against the Commonwealth Games Bowls team and the P750 Inflatable Powerboat Team.

Like Matfield, John Smit has been nominated in a special category. His name appears on the list of nominees for the Minister’s Award, alongside Caster Semenya (athletics), Noni Tenge (boxing), Siphiwe Tshabalala and Steven Pienaar (both soccer), as well as Louis Oosthuizen (golf).

63 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Good guy, Matfield. Liked him, naturally comfortable in the spotlight too. Alot more spark to him than his dimwit locking partner, who could barely string 2 grunts together

BaXXies !

• 52.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Bakkies make us proud and bring the Tri-nations and RWC home.

• 53.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Who is Steve Twetwe? Family of Suzie Matwetwe?

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

oh f*ck it was pleasant here for a while without this kabul based doos but now he is back :-)

• 55.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-54:

What’s with the smiley face flatnose?

• 56.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

By the way, you might want to put a fullstop after doos. You cannot really start a sentence with but, and if you choose to do so then use a higher case B.

That education at Soweto Elementary was a bit of a hit and miss unfortunately.

• 57.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-51:

Try talking to him in his mother tonge you doos. English is his 2nd language and is no different to how a frog talks or a Russian or Japanese oke

Your meat head, Thorn is a real case, hey he can speak English well (so he should cause he’s English speaking), but he cheats with the best of them………………the big hands in the air celebration when it was clear to all (and him) the ball was not grounded…………and then a leg out blatant trip??

Faaaaking cheat, ban the f uk!

• 58.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Matfield loafs so much in the backline windmilling about ,doing nothing ,that he never gets a chance to get really tshwete. He’s only getting an honorary tshwete — like an honorary doctorate, really.

• 59.ET.: Reply to this comment

Well to the dismay of these ‘wannabe’ SuperBlacks, let me clearly say that I DO know what I am talking about and further let me say that Stevie ‘not-so-Wonder’ Tshwete was a total and absolute sell-out.

What did he ever do for non-racial sport prior to amazingly becoming the Minister of Sport?

As minister-elect for the sport portfolio he virtually single-handedly made it possible for the S.A. national cricket team to participate in the CWC in 1992 in Australia. Now what is or was so wrong about that?

In the merger negotiations of the cricketing bodies one of the important criteria was that there would be NO participation in that 1992 WC and all effort and money for that venture would be put into levelling the playing field largely for the benefit of the still disenfranchised and disadvantaged at that time. All the cricketing parties accepted that in 1991 and got on with the job.
    Until, of course white money dangled to Stevie and his corrupt ANC not so surprisingly interfered with what had already been negotiated and accepted as a cardinal criterion by the only genuine bodies involved in cricket.

At least the ANCs election coffers got a substantial boost of thousands of Rands of equally corrupt white money even when the ANC did not possibly know the colour of an ODI ball at that time (after all it is not known to be found in the African Bush).

• 60.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-59:

He was also an “alchie” of note. Pi ssed outa his mind at ’95 WC final

• 61.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Matfield and FdP shooting a lovely stripey horse (zebra). How fecking manly of the 2 of you to put a bullet in a zebra and how difficult to adjust your sights and pull the trigger. Shows the mentality of the 2 of them.Fun is killing for sport.

And just to be clear, I don’t have a problem with people on farms and that live in the bush hunting for the pot, but to kill for a yeeeeeehaaaaa tallyfeckingho I shot an animal and it was so much fun to see the light dim in its eyes for your own entertainment is SICK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 62.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-61: Wonder how you feel bout Danie Rossouw then?
    He goes hunting in the bush with only a crossbow.

• 63.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-62: Wonder if he is the t*sser that is shooting m*nkeys down the South Coast way with a Cross Bow? Friends have been called out to so many rescues down there with monks with arrows in their bodies, they have died awful deaths cept for one that could be saved.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.