Boks latest – SA make emergency landing

Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from the Springboks camp.

SA make emergency landing – The Springboks’ plane, a Qantas 747, returned to Joburg airport on Friday night after one of the engines exploded less than two hours into their flight to Sydney.

‘Wish I never watched carteblanche on the quantas 380 incident! Our engine just blew on take off and we just returned to Jhb, not much fun!’ tweeted Bok assistant coach Gary Gold. A few minutes later he tweeted: ‘think we here for the night. Irony also that their is a petrol strike in jhb and we just dumped 65 tons of fuel to land.’

Muller, Brüssow cleared to tour - Johann Muller and Heinrich Brüssow have been included in the Springboks’ 28-man touring party for the Tri-Nations trip to Australasia.

Prop CJ van der Linde, who coach Peter de Villiers said a week ago was carrying an injury that would rule him out of the World Cup, is also included.

Muller hurt his hamstring in a Bok training camp in Cape Town last week, while Brüssow is recently returned from a series of injuries, the latest being a recurring hamstring problem.

‘Johann and Heinrich are very important to us this year and they’ll continue their rehabilitation on tour,” said De Villiers.

‘This squad is a good blend of experienced players, with Rugby World Cup titles behind their name, and the form players from Super Rugby, with some outstanding potential. We’ve had some good field session this week and I’m excited about this tour.

“We’ve chosen from our World Cup preliminary squad – so the players know they’re in the selectors’ thinking for the tournament. I’ve told them that this is their chance to prove that they’re ready to take their place in the final squad.’

The Boks take on Australia in Sydney on July 23 and New Zealand in Wellington a week later.

Rassie: Defensive cohesion concern – Springbok technical advisor Rassie Erasmus says one of their biggest challenges will be getting the team on one page with regard to a defensive system.

Erasmus has placed an intense emphasis on this facet of play during his tenure at Western Province and the Stormers, and is looking to introduce similar systems with the Springboks. The recruitment of Stormers’ defensive coach Jacques Nienaber further underlines their determination to excel in this department.

However, Erasmus says time is against them. ‘The problem with the first few Tests is always that there is very little time in which to prepare. It’s also something that is important for a good defensive pattern and something that the team won’t necessarily have in its favour,’ Erasmus told Die Burger.

‘I don’t have a problem with any of the players’ individual abilities on defence, but one has to understand that they come from four different franchises and each one of those teams’ patterns are different. The only way in which those guys can gel is with time together on the training field and the team has not had many sessions together.’

Erasmus continued, highlighting the scrums as a challenge given the inconsistent and often incorrect application of the laws that govern that area of the game.

He also added that there would be two distinctly different approaches in their Tri-Nations tour matches.

‘The Aussies definitely give one more of a chance to run with the ball and launch counter-attacks. When you play the All Blacks you want to build pressure and make sure they are pinned down in their area,’ he said.

South Africa will decide during Friday’s final training session whether injured players Heinrich Brüssow, CJ van der Linde and Johann Muller will be able to tour.

340 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 1.Lorenzo: Reply to this comment

I hope the Boks won’t get tooled too much in the first tests…the conditions are quite bad.

• 2.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

I’ll bet there is very little time to prepare what with golf days, media days, sponsors product launches.

I wonder if the defence guru will get more than the 30 minutes gary gold got to work with the boks on the defence last year in the weeks leading up to tests?

• 3.Stoan: Reply to this comment

Funny Rassie is complaining about time, after he refused to send the Stormers defense coach to the Boks last year, guess he wanted to be in the gravy train first and then the coach comes.

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Richie chops mad game up before the start of the tri-nations.

McCaw shares in Test plan
    Friday, 15 July 2011 5.06 p.m.

Injury breaks during the Super Rugby campaign were not all frustration for All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.

With All Blacks coach Graham Henry having already talked about the need to keep the pressure on opponents by advancing beyond the technical analysis all sides will have made of the New Zealanders last year, McCaw was able to spend time discussing possible game plans and tactics with the selectors during this injury breaks.

“I think what we have got to do is keep building on the things that have served us pretty well but have an understanding that the game, in which it was played in this Super Rugby was different to last year and we’ve got to make sure we keep ahead and adapt as the game changes and to whatever we come up against.

“Test rugby is going to be different again from Super Rugby so we have got to make sure we stay ahead. That’s the key. I think it’s about doing the things you can do really well and not be afraid to try some other things and also play what you’re allowed to play.

“That balance comes through experience as a group, the management and the guys that come up with those things and hopefully we’ve got that sorted so we will have the answers to any situation,” he said.

Any changes were most likely to be subtle from a watching public’s point of view but McCaw said when you can see something that makes a difference you wanted to make sure you practised it well and have everybody working together to make the impact needed.

McCaw likened the task ahead of the All Blacks this year to that seen in the Super Rugby final which was akin to a Test match. You only got one or two chances and you had to take them while on the other hand one or two lapses could cost you dearly.

“That’s what we’ve got to make sure we have, the right way we are going to play to make the most of those opportunities and have your systems right to not give them the chance. For example, kicking the ball aimlessly because you are under pressure is not the answer – how you do it is the key. Little things like that are trends of what has happened in Super Rugby and will probably flow over, no doubt, into Test rugby,” he said.

However, better players were involved in Test rugby across the board and getting that right was the challenge.

“With the travel I haven’t been able to do any of that extra work you would like to do when you get back into it and keep topping up, certainly from this week onwards I’ll be able to do that and hopefully get better and better. You’ve just got to be confident in that,” he said.

“We’ve got to make sure we enter the game and we achieve what we want to. We’ll only have three or four days training before we get into that Test where, with a couple of new guys and others who haven’t been there for a while and the rest of us since last year get everything ticking over well because we are going to have to make sure we hit the ground running for the Tri Nations.

“We’ve got certain goals we want to achieve and we have got to make sure that is what we do,” he said.

McCaw said while the Crusaders players, and to a lesser extent the Blues, were needing time to freshen up there was also a need to have faith in other players in the squad to carry the load to ensure that everyone was feeling fresh in three or four weeks time.

• 5.Stoan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-4: So it’s an open secret that the AB snr players are the ones who are coaching the team?

• 6.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Stoan(Stoan)-3:
    maybe it was out of respect for the guys pdiv tried to hang out to dry? or maybe he just didn’t want to be seen to fail alongside a coach who really wasn’t good enough at his job, and didn’t have enough loyalty to the bok cause in his heart to change his mind at the time?
    but yeah, i also don’t quite get rassie to be honest. why is this year any different to last? stormers lost in the final then and lost in the semi now, and for some reason his schedule opens up with 60 days to go? and no(oooo)w he’s concerned about time?

• 7.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-2: Dont forget the hunting trips.

• 8.Stoan: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-6: Biggest difference is that it’s a WC year, he has nothing to lose if we don’t win but he will get all the credit if we it.

• 9.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

Captain Rassie to the rescue! bwahahaha. the dork must be thanking his lucky stars he found a lacky to do his job again. only poor old rassie realizes how much of a mess this freak show has made in the last three or so years. it doesny get better than this i tells ya. rugby’s very own live sitcom.

• 10.puff: Reply to this comment

The majority of this squad has had 4 frikken years under this coaching staff’s tenure!
    How can there not be cohesion?
    Has Rassie inherited a squad without a semblance of a game plan, structure?

• 11.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-10: because theyve had FOUR years of chaos under the biggest clown to ever uncoach the boks. thats why. we have had no real defensive pattern ever under this doff lunatic. rassie has to do four years of development in a couple of months. while the Dork sits back in that arm chair muttering insane ramblings gargling chili (gotta keep that signature voice in shape for the world cup!).

• 12.puff: Reply to this comment

That too much rugby is being played is a given.
    After the S15, coaches were talking about a squad of 40 players as opposed to 30.
    I would go further and state that the game needs to evolve quickly to the point where there is a match-day squad of 28 and not 22.
    The current 7 subs will still be on the bench.
    But there should be an additional prop, hooker, look, loosie, halfback and utility back.
    It will allow for greater player rotation, which should extend players’ careers and help alleviate injuries related to being overplayed.
    But, also, it will establish a paradigm that will see teams going into a match with a VARIETY of game plans.
    Coaches will fill their benches to allow for a range of options.
    So if the initial game plan doesn’t go well, they may be able to rejig the team DURING the match to allow for a different pattern of play.
    What is does is it raises the stakes and the complexity of the chess game as opposition coaches will need to plan to counter a range of playing options which their opponents may bring to the confrontation.
    It goes without saying that the modern rugby player who will thrive in this environment will be one who is able to play to a variety of patterns.
    However, there will still be room for a player who executes a specific plan really well.
    I am not too clued up on how American football works, but I would imagine that this is closer to how that sport is planned and played.
    Thoughts?

• 13.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

As per usual, the biggest concern for the ABs is that the WC is there for them to lose.

Why do I get the feeling that the Boks are currently having the better build-up to the tournament?

• 14.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-7:

indeed.

disguised as gees building.

• 15.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-12: every team has a set style of play. that is never going to change puff. how adaptable each style is is the most important thing. under jake we could do many different things within our style. now we cant. no team plays well when they move away from their sporting culture. as for gameplans id say each country knew how it was going to play these new laws long ago. the s15 was a mess mostly. too loose and too sloppy. it changes nothing.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-15: hi alucard, any chance of us ever seeing that “comprehensive report” you did on pdv? :D

• 17.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-12: I think it will change the game quite a bit but American Football has 33 players per team, 3 units.

Offense 11 players
    Defence 11 players
    Special 11 players ( kickoffs and punting moves )

In AF as I understand it they can sub as manytimes as they want but there is some weird rule in regards with the sub of quarterback’s.

Imagine that in rugby changing subs as many times as you like during the game.

• 18.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: not you again you piece of ****. i told you to **** off. now be a good little handout boy and sod off.

• 19.puff: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-17:

Thanks for the info.
    It does sound like a nightmare in terms of continuity.
    But I suppose that’s the challenge and it’s certainly an intriguing one.
    I guess it’s about finding the balance between retaining the best traditions of the game, but also accepting that evolution is not just necessary but also inevitable.

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-18: now, now, can i borrow your vhs tapes, i want to convert them to dvd, i promise i’ll return them. :D

• 21.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-20: what the ***** your feking problem boy? When the **** have I ever mentioned anything about tapes you dumb shi!t? I’ve never even spoken to you before you keep posting this **** repeatedly. Get a life you ******* loser.

• 22.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Hier spat die kak alweer…..

• 23.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-13:
    hehehe i like your thinking

• 24.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-20: Ingquza yakho inuka njengo fishi

• 25.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: LOL!!! Is this dude/dudette for real? And he’s complaining about a clown. Guess there’s only enough room for one clown in that circus. It’s a clown-off

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-24: andina ngquza, sorry for you :D how about those tapes?

• 27.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-26: what tape *******? the one with you and the dork in the parking lot? Yeah I wanna know where you he keeps that one too.

• 28.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-12:

That sounds very interesting puff especially the increased bench options and tweaking of gameplan regarding personnel employed. But with rugby-momentum and continuity are name of the game and gameplans employed have a number of facets within them. Gridiron is based on the playbook entirely.Rugby still has the essence of freedom and playing with instinct which football doesnt. It makes the game of rugby all the more interestiing and less systematic. We already complain about players being overcoached, the movement towards that proposed system will only spur on that overcoaching etc And to a certain extent you will start to see a change in body shapes in the sport ex: players employed to only make impact in 10-20 min periods, specialised subs ONLY etc This will lead to less movement from the hybrid athlete rugby players are to specialised facet based individuals.

I for one dont want to see that for the game…And the repeated substitution part? Will lead to more stops in play and will give space for gimmicks/advertising campaigns in those moments etc ala NFL…I am a huge fan of Gridiron but wouldnt want that for rugby union.

• 29.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-22:
    so lank daar nie n waaier in die kamer is nie, sal alles ok wees….

• 30.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-28:

Perhaps it could be a case, let’s say, where 28 players are chosen for match-day with 15 starting and 13 on the bench.
    However, the rules allow for only 24 or 25 of those players to be employed.
    So the chess game/foreshadowing what your opponent might do during the match is related to anticipating just who the opposing coach will employ as subs on the field out of the options he has on the bench.
    ?

• 31.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-28:
    cant stand ‘gridiron’ personally. a buch of overzealous capitalist ccoccksuckers that took rugby and pomped the **** out of it like a hillbrow hooker and now they’re left with that. but thats just my opinion, as there might be a lot more to the game than i think.

• 32.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-31: a helluva lot more. but you cant beat the brutality of rugby. though i hate that ****** rugby league. super rugby is more like it these days. sloppy predictable ****.

• 33.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-29: Wie support jy nou eintlik. Kom nie meer so erg baie hier nie.

• 34.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

I love rugby and think it’s the greatest sport ever but one thing rugga players can learn from AF players are certain skills, my goodness the handeling skills, timing and the awareness a lot of the AF players have is out of this world.

Another thing I saw about these AF players, some of them have small tubes implanted in their joints (knees, elbows ect) to drain the fluid out after matches if needed, so no two weeks off because their knees or something is swollen.

• 35.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-34: af players have a better technical understanding of the game and tactical one as well. memorizing around a thousand plays is no joke, all the audibles and reading coverage shells, linemen and that malarky is serious business. they more than earn their money. but they get paid differently. they only start earning the big bucks later in their contract. this keeps them loyal to their team. its a far better run sport than rugby will ever be.

• 36.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-32:
    i dont like league but i do like the shoulder checks(charges) they’re allowed to make. sbw really is having a hard time shaking off that habit.

• 37.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-31:

Hahahaha, what an “analogy” but different strokes mate. The game is a lot more intricate that “hillbrow hooker”.Once you learn the way it works etc its an awesome spectacle.

Plus I grew up watching & playing it as a kid (have a few relatives living in US & I lived there as a laaitie in early 90′s) so my view is a bit biased towards Gridiron I guess. But nothing beats rugby union.Nothing. Its chalk and cheese

• 38.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Just a bit of randomness on this Friday afternoon. Eddie Andrews is now a ward councillor in Mitchells Plain.

• 39.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-33:
    ek bly liewers uit die kak uit.

• 40.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-34:
    jeezuz! they really do that? wow! that is taking it to another level.

• 41.puff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-38:

For which political party?

• 42.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-41: not sure, just saw him promoting a u/17 soccer tournament.

• 43.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-34: @Blitzbok

That is not entirely true. Football players are specialed as each position has its requisite skillset and physical requirements which they ONLY condition themselves for that position.

Game of football is techinal in totality but position wise the repetition of plays,skills set etc is name of game.Each component fits into gameplan.But they arent required to have a holistic/total hold on the game or skillset/facets.

For instance a linebacker is ferocious at the tackle point and reading offenses but is terrible at running the ball, can hardly catch etc They also struggle making effecient tackles rather than the blockbursting ones ex: hardly wrap arms around to complete tackle and often miss. The offensive lineman are awesome at protecting QB and creating running lanes for running backs but cant move laterally very well,cant catch, cant run etc…Quarterback are the biggest p*ssies in the game.Physically they are pathetic,you think Earl Rose cant tackle-have a look at Peyton Manning try tackle or Tom Brady try make a block or tackle…its almost comedic if it wasnt so pathetic

• 44.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Great news Brussouw will be vital against the All Blacks just dont rush him back.

• 45.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Is anyone as nervous as I am about the WP vs Griquas game?? That Griquas team looks very strong.

• 46.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-43: yo, Drew Brees will tackle the sh*t out of you though, ungadlali!

• 47.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-45:

Hehe, you WP okes better be nervous :P

• 48.Ace11: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-30: I like this idea and the possibilities it could present. Altho being a little paranoid, as everyone in my profession must b, don’t you think it opens rugby up for a lot of cheating or just tricks and games? I imagine coaches would be able to get players they may need in the knockouts to just sit on the bench for 4 games during the season with no intention of using them. Part of the game’s beauty lies in limited selection as this shows up clueless coaches and rewards master tacticians. If you don’t have your whole squad available on game day, it means that you actually have to have some sort of gameplan going in.

That being said, the 7 reserves system has resulted in the increased selection of versatile players, players who never reach their true potential in any single position. More reserves would allow for full development of players as you can almost have a player to cover each position.

Your idea is very interesting but I also think that the current Super rugby format is unacceptable and it is the main reason we are even considering changing the rules of the game. Sanzar has screwed us all, fans and players alike.

• 49.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-43:

Another positive consequence of the larger match-day squad is that it should help franchises to hold onto fringe players more easily as more players will be getting regular game time.

• 50.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-47: Griquas always start with a 5 match winning streak in the Currie Cup!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.