Boks latest – SA make emergency landing

Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from the Springboks camp.

SA make emergency landing – The Springboks’ plane, a Qantas 747, returned to Joburg airport on Friday night after one of the engines exploded less than two hours into their flight to Sydney.

‘Wish I never watched carteblanche on the quantas 380 incident! Our engine just blew on take off and we just returned to Jhb, not much fun!’ tweeted Bok assistant coach Gary Gold. A few minutes later he tweeted: ‘think we here for the night. Irony also that their is a petrol strike in jhb and we just dumped 65 tons of fuel to land.’

Muller, Brüssow cleared to tour - Johann Muller and Heinrich Brüssow have been included in the Springboks’ 28-man touring party for the Tri-Nations trip to Australasia.

Prop CJ van der Linde, who coach Peter de Villiers said a week ago was carrying an injury that would rule him out of the World Cup, is also included.

Muller hurt his hamstring in a Bok training camp in Cape Town last week, while Brüssow is recently returned from a series of injuries, the latest being a recurring hamstring problem.

‘Johann and Heinrich are very important to us this year and they’ll continue their rehabilitation on tour,” said De Villiers.

‘This squad is a good blend of experienced players, with Rugby World Cup titles behind their name, and the form players from Super Rugby, with some outstanding potential. We’ve had some good field session this week and I’m excited about this tour.

“We’ve chosen from our World Cup preliminary squad – so the players know they’re in the selectors’ thinking for the tournament. I’ve told them that this is their chance to prove that they’re ready to take their place in the final squad.’

The Boks take on Australia in Sydney on July 23 and New Zealand in Wellington a week later.

Rassie: Defensive cohesion concern – Springbok technical advisor Rassie Erasmus says one of their biggest challenges will be getting the team on one page with regard to a defensive system.

Erasmus has placed an intense emphasis on this facet of play during his tenure at Western Province and the Stormers, and is looking to introduce similar systems with the Springboks. The recruitment of Stormers’ defensive coach Jacques Nienaber further underlines their determination to excel in this department.

However, Erasmus says time is against them. ‘The problem with the first few Tests is always that there is very little time in which to prepare. It’s also something that is important for a good defensive pattern and something that the team won’t necessarily have in its favour,’ Erasmus told Die Burger.

‘I don’t have a problem with any of the players’ individual abilities on defence, but one has to understand that they come from four different franchises and each one of those teams’ patterns are different. The only way in which those guys can gel is with time together on the training field and the team has not had many sessions together.’

Erasmus continued, highlighting the scrums as a challenge given the inconsistent and often incorrect application of the laws that govern that area of the game.

He also added that there would be two distinctly different approaches in their Tri-Nations tour matches.

‘The Aussies definitely give one more of a chance to run with the ball and launch counter-attacks. When you play the All Blacks you want to build pressure and make sure they are pinned down in their area,’ he said.

South Africa will decide during Friday’s final training session whether injured players Heinrich Brüssow, CJ van der Linde and Johann Muller will be able to tour.

340 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 51.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-34: Remember a few things. In AF you have a defense and offense ‘team’. Each of these players only have small, sometimes insignificant roles to play. Heck… in this team there’s only a small handful who will ever touch the ball. Those are usually the guys chosen for good handling skills. Lastly it’s a stop-go affair. A lot of thinking and planning, before play is resumed.

In rugby, you expect 30 guys to do just about the same, almost without pause.

• 52.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-43:
    Sharks U19 and U21 sides for the weekend are up on the Sharks website.
    Are you going to the game this weekend? I would love to go have a look at these youngsters play, unfortunately cant make it.

Didnt realise Paul Jordaan was still U19. Think we were all a bit harsh on his performances recently. The oke is a lighty.

• 53.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-49: Agreed. What do you reckon 40-45 player Super rugby squad? With a portion of the squad keeping match fit in the vodacom cup.

• 54.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-46:

Brees is a more robust QB BUT an intercept from a safety like say Troy Polamalu who breaks downfield and Brees in front of him trying to make tackle…..pfffffftttttt it would be a joke

• 55.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-52:

Ok, will have a look.Yeah I am going to the game tomorrow.Didnt know Jordaan was that young neither.Fair enough he is a laaitie,but fact still stands he wasnt up to scratch.But he will have chance to redeem himself and get better especially looking at his age.

• 56.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

Other teams wearing black?

What next?

Penalising Lord Ritchie at the breakdown?

What the arseingpant is rugby coming to?

• 57.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-52: Most of the u/20 boks were still u/19.

• 58.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-43: Thanks, makes a lot of sense. I love how you used Earl the Pearl as a comparison :lol:

Peyton Manning is actually a lightweight, I think I once read he was something like 77 or 78 kg

• 59.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-49:
    yes, but how do you pay all these players?

• 60.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-57: Bodes well for the future.

• 61.Stoan: Reply to this comment

Don’t understand this Muller selection, he is just a journey man. Offers nothing we do not have here in SA with the young locks.

• 62.Bouts: Reply to this comment

‘four different franchises’ – I guess we can presume Elton isn’t really in their plans for this round.

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-52: tell that to Shark_Lover as he is the one-man hype machine, he wanted Jordaan to replace Meyer Bosman in Super Rugby. Once he started hyping, then his sidekick Puma also jumped on the bandwagon and then youtube clips made the rounds and by the time the championships came in italy, the hype was on frenzy mode with most waiting to see this jordaan phenomenon. next thing the kid is missing tackles and getting his face stuck in a bush & knocking on clean chances.

stop the hype! :D

• 64.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Stoan(Stoan)-61: Experience.

• 65.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-62: Elton should be at home playing Currie Cup.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-54: lol :D

• 67.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-60: Yes. It does. I mean Jordaan CAN be critiqued about his play in the u/20 World Cup, since everybody around him was just as young.

• 68.puff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-53:
    Exactly.
    That’s why Stormers/WP look like they are still on the right track.
    People criticised them for being too conservative in selection at times during S15, which makes little sense considering how many youngsters they blooded.
    But Coetzee is right in that he needs more of a middle tier order.
    It is a shame that the likes of Flouw, Sadie and Engelbrecht are moving on having been given game time.
    However, if you look at this week’s WP team, Coetzee has a plan, which is likely to lead to a Stormers squad of 40-45 for next year that could look like this:

1. Blaauw
    2. Fourie
    3. Harris
    4. Elstadt
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Burger
    8. Vermeulen
    9. Duvenhage
    10. Grant
    11. Habana
    12. De Villiers
    13. Fourie
    14. Aplon
    15. Viljoen
    16. Kitshoff
    17. Liebenberg
    18. Malherbe
    19. Lobberts
    20. Steenkamp
    21. P Louw
    22. Xolisi
    23. Koster
    24. Schreuder
    25. Van Aswegen
    26. Brache
    27. Whitehead
    28. De Jongh
    29. Poolman
    30. Cronje
    31. Kritzinger
    32. Ntubeni
    33. Van Der Linde
    34. Fondse
    35. Roux
    36. Etsebeth
    37. Carr
    38. Van Der Walt
    39. Kitshoff
    40. Harzenberg
    41. Groom
    42. Coleman
    43. Bax
    44. Newman
    45. Jantjes

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

The Sharks Under 19s
    15 Duane Adams
    14 Vernon du Randt
    13 Andrew Holland
    12 Paul Jordaan
    11 Heinrich Arendse
    10 Fred Zeilinga
    9 Ivan Ludick
    8 Braam Steyn
    7 Alwyn Jansen van Vuuren
    6 Khaya Majola
    5 Stephan Lewies
    4 Wade Elliott
    3 Nicolaas van Dyk
    2 Franco Marais
    1 Allan Dell (Capt)

Replacements
    16 Emile Van Wyk
    17 Simon Kerrod
    18 Stephan Deyzel
    19 Ernst Ladendorf
    20 Jason Klaasen
    21 Ruan Allerston
    22 Riaan van Zyl
    23 Lionel Abrahams

• 70.puff: Reply to this comment

When you look at the 45 posted above, by the end of this CC, pretty much all of the players will have had either CC or S15 experience or both.

• 71.puff: Reply to this comment

But Stormers could still do with buying the likes of Brian Mujati and Ruan Pienaar to fill necessary gaps re experience/effectiveness at prop and halfback.
    They’d do well to bring back someone like lock Francois Van Der Merwe too (Flip’s older brother).

• 72.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-69:

Anyone who’s impressed you there, Transie?

• 73.capebull: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-68: With that T5 you will end up short again.

3 Semi- or finals found not good enough

• 74.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-71:

I would go for Brussow and Heinke as a matter of urgency.

There are some excellent young locks coming through.

• 75.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-43: Kak man. these players know their sport far better than rugby players. they make tactical decisions too. a quarterback is far more in control than a fly half will ever be. as for them being weak? thats utter ****. how about brett favre? dislocated shoulder, fractured ankle, damaged fingers, and a season long sinus infection? he still kept going. only missing one game in twenty years. name one rugby player like that!! hehe. what about roethlisberger? nose busted so bad doc said it looked like crushed cornflakes when fixing it. blood gushing everywhere kept going. damaged knees? keep going. they are tough. af players are not soft at all. and you do not understand their skills at all! their are dozens of blocking techniques and ways of beating blockers. its a game in itself too like the scrum. a real war. everyone has their roles to play and linebackers are defensive players! they dont carry the ball. they have to read the o-line as well as cover receivers and running backs and corner backs. they are very versatile. great atletes and great tacklers. there are many who have actually been great runners as well on turnovers! in fact most are. so you are wrong there too.

• 76.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just hope we don’t bring back Brussow a bit early. Really need him to be injury free for world cup.

Then he does need game time. But only coming off the bench. Still would have left him at home and played him in the home series to make sure he is 100% over that injury. We have nothing to lose as doubt we gonna win the away games.

Personally I would have had G. Mostert to tour than Muller. Though Muller brings experience and no doubt will be our vice captain.

Good luck Boks.

• 77.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-75:

Brett Favre the famous iron man/naked pic sender QB who should have quit after he was replaced by Rogers at GreenBay.He was on e tough old customer but fact of the matter is the QB takes the least amount of contact in the entire bloody roster. The shots he does takes from defensive ends and linebackers, safety’s etc are mostly partials due to blocking/even failed ones from offensive lines. Another thing is that favre had one of the best offensive lines at greenBay for more than 10 years before and after Holmgren. Only in that latter part of career did he face increased physical contact due to depreciating O-Line which Rogers has managed to flourish with. Brady very much the same as O-line at New England has been top class with Bellichick except for last 2 years or so.Never questioning their toughness, i questioning their inability to tackle or handle front on physicality which for a fact is below par.And you didnt address that directly before going on your infantilic tirade.

Im a Steeler fan so i know all about Big ben Roethelsberger.Big man at well over 6 foot 250 lbs. he can take his fair share of shot but he is an anomaly rather the rule.Stop getting away from the issue.QB’s in majority are weaklings and cant handle the rough stuff which is why multiple rules are made to protect and have had the likes of James Harrision and other defensive players complaining about the pansiez

• 78.Hondo: Reply to this comment

It isn’t so bad actually, there is no quota amongs the forwards, Pienaar is the best we have at 9-10, and Styen will deliver, without that game confiscator FdP or the mayhem generator Hougaard he will be creative and calculated.

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-76: Agreed on Heinrich.

Not sure on Mostert. I’d go with Johann personally. But it’s more a preference based on his performance in Ireland, and his leadership abilities.

Mostert is young, but I just don;t think he deserves a cap at this stage.

Dane, Flip, Hargreaves, Muller. No surprises there. Better for me.

• 80.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79: With Matfield, Bakkkies, Bekker, Danie going to the world cup. We are well stocked for even after the world cup too.

• 81.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-72: fred zilinga & khaya majola

• 82.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Gotta laugh at these fools having an argument about NFL.

Mshini, you can talk shiyte chap, Blitzbok called you there and you folded…

“You gotta know when to hold ‘em,
    Know when to fold ‘em,
    Know when to walk away
    Know when to run…”

Understanding something requires more than a copy and paste from google….

Now… run, punk.

• 83.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Blitzbok

Wanna talk about tough..

Jim Brown

Never missed a game as a RB…minimal padding back and no “Brady rules” is collisions

QB”s and tough don’t mix

• 84.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-80: Yip, perhaps Flip as an extra if Danie is picked at Loosie, but yes you are right. Most of these okes won’t make the final cut anyway

• 85.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

heinrich’s in then he’s out, then he’s in, then he’s out, then he’s in…******! makes me think pdaddy’s playing mind games with himself…

• 86.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79: Howzit Stormersboy, thanks for the “award” yesterday – coming from you that is extra special, I am glad you enjoy my presence on the site as I certainly enjoy yours ;)

The Mostert-Muller one is tough for me. Over the short-term I say Muller but I am a bit concerned about our resources from 2012 onwards. Since Muller is almost certain to miss out on the WC touring party, why not give Mostert some time in the systems and see if he is up to the challenge of test rugby?

Or are we investing in Muller because we think there will be positive externalities to the WC training squad? (experience, leadership, WC medal).

Personally I think we are missing a trick by not exposing more youngsters to the Bok systems where they can train with the most experienced Bok team in history.

• 87.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-77: “i questioning their inability to tackle” – Its not in their jd, sunshine, like its not in a TH props jd to kick for poles, capiche?

“or handle front on physicality which for a fact is below par.” – Huh? 2 Names – Roger Staubach and Michael Vick…

Now run, buddy, run…

• 88.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-86: “positive externalities to the WC training squad”, huh? Said like an economist :wink:

• 89.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-83: Not true. there are few o-lines that offer good protection of the qb. so this isnt true at all.

• 90.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-88:

Hehe wait until I bring in opportunity cost :)

• 91.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-77: their ability to take front on physicality is immense! that’s the wole battle of the linemen, front on physicality. they need incredible strength and explosive power as well as the technical ability to outdo their opponent. ive seen very few genuinely weak top level af players.

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-83: According to an article on Bleacherreport, this oke is the toughest guy EVER:

“1. **** Butkus, Linebacker, Chicago Bears (1965-1973)

**** Butkus was the angriest, most ferocious, menacing, and yes, toughest player to ever play the game of football. Butkus’s opponents claimed that Butkus was like an odor that you could feel or sense on the field. Anything loose—a knee pad, a shoe, a chin strap—would be ripped off by a Butkus tackle. Butkus has bitten officials, bitten opponents in the groin, scratched, punched, everything. Going across the middle against **** Butkus was considered attempted suicide. Butkus was a turnover machine and earned eight Pro Bowl selections in his nine seasons. Steve Sabol had the following to say about Butkus: “His career stands as the most sustained work of devastation ever committed on any field of sport, anywhere, any time.”

• 93.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82:
    really? because i thought they both knew what the ffucck they were talking about. i didn’t know what the ffucck they were talking about, but reading it i thought they knew what the ffucck they were talking about?
    go figure?..

• 94.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-92: there are many tackles that send players flying through the air. last season i saw near dozen tackles that smashed helmets off players left people concussed or badly injured after being smacked into/out of the air like a rag doll. they take and dish out serious punishment! stuff you never see in rugby. its brutal.

• 95.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-90: Bejaysus! :lol:

• 96.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93: Its the name dropping… The first sign of a googlewarrior…

• 97.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-86: Hi boet, you’re welcome, I called it as I see it, in your case specifically because you take the trouble to go into some depth about your reasoning behind an opinion. I’ve learned a great deal from reading your posts, so thanks back at you.

i was thinking Muller for his experience, we are a bit thin on bok caps in areas where it counts, namely the engine room. Muller doesn’t solve the problem, but IMO offers a better “quick fix’ in this circumstance.

The other consideration is that yes, Mostert is young and would most certainly benefit from the experience, but when i asked myself the question (and i actually did this) “does Mostert, based on his performance this year, deserve to be capped as a Springbok?”. My answer was no. He’s shown great potential in one of two games for sure, but ja, the fact that there are so many injured means for me, that we need to bring in more of a “steady eddie” to shore things up. the other players have already been capped as well so that was how i thought about it.

• 98.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-94: To be considered the baddest in a game of thugs is some accomplishment though.

In that list there are a couple of quarterbacks, not chosen for their ability to inflict physical damage but their ability to play whilst and absorb damage. Brett Favre, for example. They say the following about him:

Favre has started 287 consecutive games, including the postseason, an all-time record for a quarterback. Favre has played through unbelievable injuries, including a broken and sprained thumb on his right hand, a badly sprained left ankle, a sprained left foot, a sprained left knee, a torn ligament in his left knee, a severely bruised left hip, and a separated left shoulder. He suffered a cracked vertebra, a concussion, and crushed intestines during a car crash before his senior year of college. He underwent surgery to have 30 inches of his intestines removed, and returned for the second game of the season. Favre has earned three MVP awards and led the Packers to a championship in 1996.

• 99.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-77:

Couple of Zulu warriors in the front row….

The Sharks Under 21s
    15 Gouws Prinsloo
    14 Nico van der Westhuizen
    13 Piet Lindeque
    12 Heimar Williams
    11 Jaco van Tonder
    10 Willie du Plessis
    9 Charles Purden
    8 Lubabalo Mtembu
    7 Peet Marais
    6 Chris Cloete
    5 Pieter-Stef Du Toit
    4 Karolis Navickas
    3 Nick Schonert
    2 Monde Hadebe (Capt)
    1 Njabulo Mkize

Replacements
    16 Shaun Malton
    17 Danie Mienie
    18 Johan Schoonbee
    19 Brynard Stander
    20 Fred Zeilinga
    21 Andrew Norton
    22 Kayde Fisher

• 100.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-88:
    @Griqua_warrior(willievz)-90:
    hehehehehe “positive externalities” i’d love to hear pdaddy use that in a press conference or turn it into a divism.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.