Bulls, Free State dominate SA Schools

The Blue Bulls and Free State have 11 players selected in the 22-man SA Schools squad announced on Saturday.

The Blue Bulls have six players picked while the Craven Week unofficial champions Free State have five boys that earn national colours. The Lions (four), KZN, WP (two each), SWD, Pumas and Boland (one each) make up the rest of the squad.

Lions No 8 Ruan Steenkamp will captain the team while outside centre Dries Swanepoel will be his deputy.

SA Schools squad

Backs: Dries Swanepoel (Free State), Jaco van der Walt (Lions), Jan Serfontein (Free State), Nhlanhla Hlongwane (Free State), Percey Williams (SWD), Ruwellyn Isbell (Free State), Sean Robinson (Blue Bulls), Siyabonga Tom (KZN), Tim Swiel (WP), Tyler Fisher (KZN).

Forwards: Andrew Beerwinkel (Boland), Eugene le Maitre (Lions), Irne Herbst (Blue Bulls), Jacques du Plessis (Pumas), Leneve Damens (Free State), Marne Coetzee (Blue Bulls), Morne du Plessis (Blue Bulls), Philip du Preez (Lions), Pierre Schoeman (Blue Bulls), Ruan Steenkamp (captain, Lions), Sikumbuzo Notshe (WP), Thabo Mabuza (Blue Bulls).

SA Academy team:
15 Lorenzo Baaitjies (EP), 14 Gideon Meiring (Lions), 13 Edwin Sass (WP), 12 John Kotze (WP), 11 Suprise Mayekiso (Lions), 10 Dalton Kannemeyer (WP), 9 Cyprial Mkhabela (KZN), 8 Niklaas Rossouw (Boland), 7 Malcolm Marx (Lions), 6 Willie Newman (Lions), 5 Armand du Preez (EP), 4 Stefan Vermeulen (Lions), 3 Bart le Roux (EP), 2 Chadley Wenn (Boland), Matthew Jones (KZN).
Subs: 16 Hewson Petersen (WP), 17 Siwa Mandlakhe (EP), 18 Luan de Bruin (Blue Bulls), 19 Tienie Burger (Free State), 20 Balunga Mbangi (EP), 21 Damian Engledoe (Boland), 22 Linden Rhode (SWD).