PdV ‘rewards form’
19 Jul 2011
The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .
There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.
Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.
The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.
The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’
The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.
‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’
The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.
South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments
19 Jul 2011, 05:16 am
duck fradons
19 Jul 2011, 05:19 am
Not sure the thinking behind starting Dean Greyling ahead of Coenie Oosthuizen. Oosthuizen is the best loosehead in SA. If it’s scrummaging their worried about, go on youtube and check his performance against the Crusaders (just put in Coenie Oosthuizen and it will come up).
Oosthuizen is every bit as good in the tight as Greyling, and much better in the loose. He recently commented about competing with Brussow for most turn-overs and he cleans rucks out like a man possessed. Something the Boks almost always struggle with.
And he’s bigger then Greyling.
19 Jul 2011, 05:27 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-2:
You his Coenie’s sisters boyfriend or his half Boet?
19 Jul 2011, 05:32 am
13,14,15 very light (not lacking guts before the usual suspects start moaning)… no way Muller can be fit but with Hargreaves the only option cannot blame them…
Bench is pretty weak… and no point having both Lambie and Adi… rather include another loose-forward (Kankowski) or even a prop!
Fortunately for them Deans has chosen a 22 with a few weaknesses in players returning from injury (Pocock and Elsom) and an untried 10/12 combo in McNabe.
I would have played Strauss over Ralepelle (far more impact and the form hooker in RSA), dropped Adi for only two backs and included another loose-forward.
I hope this loose-forward trio gels… but I have my doubts about the balance within the T5 dynamics as well.
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-2:
Coenie is no doubt still carrying his ankle injury…
19 Jul 2011, 05:34 am
Overall though I’ll give the squad a 7/10 from the available players.
- Danie Rossouw may have done the job at nr. 8 in the last World Cup, but playing well and playing to what is needed are very different. We need a nr. 8 that fields kicks, that can make consistent yards on attack. Danie does this on occasions, but he can’t be expected to carry the ball 10+ times a match. This selection is just plain crazy. Stupidity. 1/10
- Johann Muller was never anything above average when he was still playing in South Africa. How can PdV justify selecting him now when he claims to only select the very best of players from overseas, and only if there are no quality players in that position in SA. 3/10
As above I think Oosthuizen is also better then Greyling. The rest of the squad I’m more then happy with. Excited to see what Ashley Johnson does on debut. One of the shortest loose-forwards we’ve had so could cost us in the line-outs potentially, but he’s got a huge motor. Could be a very good impact player at the WC.
19 Jul 2011, 05:36 am
@whatever(whatever)-3:
Nope just don’t think PdV should be giving out Springbok caps like this. The best player should play in this case. There is no reasonable excuse for Greyling being ahead of Oosthuizen.
19 Jul 2011, 05:38 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-5:
Well Stegman is shorter… but yes neither are LO options… Aus have both MCAlman and Elsom.
19 Jul 2011, 05:41 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-6:
“There is no reasonable excuse for Greyling being ahead of Oosthuizen”
He is carrying an ankle injury and Steenkamp and Beast are being ‘rested’ finished and klaar.
If you look at the Wallabie 22… you’ll also notice a few ‘newbies’ whereby Deans is trying to maintain a few combo’s… ie Simmons/Horwill from the Reds… much the same as Morne/WO and in this example Kruger/Greyling.
19 Jul 2011, 05:49 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-7:
Sorry I meant besides openside flankers. Brussow is also shorter obviously.
But for a nr. 8/blindside Johnson (1.85) is rather short. The next in line for shortest would be Jean Deysel… and he’s played at lock.
- If Oosthuizen is injured then I apologise to PdV. But at the same time I don’t agree with handing debut caps to players who aren’t the best in their position. Only cheapens the jersey. The less people to wear it, the more valuable it is.
19 Jul 2011, 05:51 am
The Bokke might just take them this weekend.
19 Jul 2011, 05:54 am
Meisiekind?!
And no place for Strauss??
Oh well, hope that back three remember to take thier bioplus on Saturday morning as Cooper is going to rain a few cross kicks down on them.
19 Jul 2011, 06:06 am
I hope the back 3 work their way into the Bok side. Habana is useless. We need a mix of youth and experience. At the moment we have too little youth in the “A” side.
19 Jul 2011, 06:15 am
@Olivergm(Olivergm)-12:
Habana is not useless. He’s got a higher workrate then any other winger we’ve got in SA. He disrupts kick-offs like no other player in the game, and he’s solid in defense (yes rugby is also about preventing opponents from scoring tries, not just scoring them). Maybe he’s lost his edge, but that was always going to happen with aging. Him and JP are still the best wingers in the country.
Basson on the other hand can’t tackle to save his life and Mvovo is as one-dimensional as they come.
19 Jul 2011, 06:22 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10:
What you smoking?
19 Jul 2011, 06:26 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-13:
Agreed, I have never seen a bloke work as hard as Habbs, maybe thats his problem, he wants to get out of his non scoring rut so badly he snatches at things and is trying TOO hard.
19 Jul 2011, 06:33 am
@whatever(whatever)-15:
Maybe he works hard but if so he works stupid and not doing his job of being a winger. How often does he storm down the field after a kick just to fall over or off the tackle and thus leaving a gap behind him? He has lost the plot and yes, maybe he is trying to hard. The Bok team is no place to work on those problems though…
19 Jul 2011, 06:36 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16:
Yeah Koos, also agree with that little bad habit. Looks for the intercept too often, but overall I would still play him before Basson at this stage.
It’s kinda like we all know you can do it, so just do it…………..
19 Jul 2011, 06:38 am
Maybe Basson can change my (and a few others) mind this week-end?
Pretty average B team pack though………..eish!
19 Jul 2011, 06:40 am
The back three is very exciting – I just hope they keep up the defence as well.
After another great Super Rugby season I really hope Meisiekind can prove us all wrong and perform in a Springbok jersey.
It an interesting set of loosies.
My biggest worry is the tight five.
19 Jul 2011, 06:41 am
@whatever(whatever)-18:
Maybe it is time to give Basson a go, Habana had plenty…
I would like to say we know what Habana can do and surely he will come right soon…but we have been saying it for almost two years now! Scary if we honest about it.
Average team overall and they will have to play well to take it close.
19 Jul 2011, 06:44 am
@whatever(whatever)-14:
I wish I was smoking something, Australia can be beaten this weekend as you have no chance the following weekend in NZ.
19 Jul 2011, 06:46 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-21:
It;s those type of comments that make Keewees arrogant………..
19 Jul 2011, 06:50 am
Good team with weaknesses
Wynand Olivier, maybe he an tackle and run in Super 15, but this is hs last chance from me in a test to show that he can make the step up
Johann Muller, Eish, as vlou as vlou tee, the Wynand Olivier of locks.He needs to get aggressive
Hargreaves- please see my comment above on Muller
On another note, between Stegman and Flip they need to keep the penalties in check.The problem is that Stegman is so short that refs think is playing the ball on the ground and Flip can do really silly things at times
19 Jul 2011, 06:52 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-21: That is what the Keewees said in 1995 RWC
19 Jul 2011, 06:52 am
@whatever(whatever)-22:
No arrogance just the facts, your scrum is going to get demolished and you have far too many inexperienced players at test level to win a test match in NZ.
19 Jul 2011, 07:07 am
Barring one or two positions what this team lacks is not ability but simply experience. In time many of these guys could become world class internationals, if they are given the opportunity. It takes time to settle at international level, the problem is that we are blooding too many all at once for it to really work.
19 Jul 2011, 07:32 am
Not a bad team. Tight five looks suspect though. Loosies alright. Backline looks good. Here’s hoping the boys upfront can do the business.
Bokke by 3.
19 Jul 2011, 07:38 am
Not sure I would have played D Rossow at 8 in this game ….will track be quick? If so he wont feature….
Anyway,seems Aussies also not sure what there best team is…..
Heart says Boks got a chance….
head says too many new combinations….and a few glaring weaknesses at 2….10….12…
19 Jul 2011, 07:42 am
Decent starting 15. Atrocious bench. Expect things to fall apart in the last 20 when our impactless impact players come on.
For the strating 1d would have gone for Rossouw and Flip as the lock commbo. I reckon the only reason Muller is there is that Snor had zero confidence in any of the other loose forwards, so he had to play Rossouw at no.8.
As for Greyling – he outplayed poor Coenie in their clash this year. In fact, the hype over Coenie is mostly unfounded. His penality count at scrumtime is as regular as old Faithful in Yellowstone Park.
19 Jul 2011, 07:49 am
Both teams have some new combinations so could be a disjointed affair – couple of handling errors and communication problems to be expected. Interesting to see how the scrum goes – we need dominance there to have a chance. Should be parity in the lineouts. Oz to win breakdown with Pocock. There backline expected to be more enterprising than ours. Home ground advantage with some added aggression to make up for Somoan loss means that Oz should take this one by 10 points.
Only way I can see boks winning is to go back to basics. Minimise errors and penalties (not sure who ref is). Control scrum and first phase possesion. Close down space on Cooper – particlulary from broken play when he is most dangerous – he is relatively anonymous from first phase ball and generally just passes it. Oh yes, and don’t kick the ball down kurtley beales throat – make him run for it – he is deadly on counter attack.
If Oz don’t win by more than 10 points – expect media to have a field day with wobblies and deans. Good time for SA to put the knife in for build up to RWC.
19 Jul 2011, 07:50 am
Yeah… a few positions I would’ve selected different players…
I would also have gone for oosthuizen… in the ‘modern’ game we generally have far fewer scrums… so if a prop is selected purely on scrumming power, he becomes a passenger for about 70 minutes of the game… so i would rather have a prop who can at least hold up his side… but offers more in the loose in terms of tackles, carries and fetches…
would have also gone for adi jacobs over wynand olivier… jacobs makes things happen like few centres in SA… i believe he gets shafted by the Sharks… and to a lesser extent by the Boks too…
not a big fan of steggman’s either… but i guess we’re close to the bottom of the barrel with regard to fetchers…
but what I’d like to know is… if Brussow’s injury is that severe that he isn’t fit to play… why the hell is he on tour? PdV has often spoken about managing the players carefully and not bringing them back from injury too soon… and, if memory serves, mentioned the cheetahs and brussow in particular… surely if he is not fit enough to play… or even if he was… playing him now or in the next game… would be bringing him back at the first possible opportunity and therefore ‘too soon’ and risking further or repeated injury…?
19 Jul 2011, 07:57 am
i like everything about this team selection except wo. but the fact that he’s in the b team makes me happy. it would seem like he wont feature in the wc a team. whew
19 Jul 2011, 08:12 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10:
i know hey? am gonna see what the bookies have to say about that.
19 Jul 2011, 08:16 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10: Don’t wright us of yet Cuzzi Bro, have faith, I’m sure motivation won’t be a problem this weeknd, with some real Reds Mongrel added to the tight five and also Pocock thrown in the mix its going to be far more motivated and committed tight five, with Genia and Cooper starting as well I would expect to see some better back line play as well, Rocky would have had his ears smacked also for that performance and I would have thought been put on notice because theres Scotty just waiting to come on.
Remember this Bokk team has never had game time together as well, New combinations, should be interesting
19 Jul 2011, 08:23 am
I would have had Kanko at 8
D Rossow at 4 lock in place of flip
chilli at 2…with Strauss on bench [ retain the bulls front row en masse ].
Lambie at 10…[ Ruan Pienaar to goal kick ]
19 Jul 2011, 08:28 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-6:
maybe the strategy for this match is based in part on not expecting a strong oz scrum? if so, then maybe greyling for reasons other than just the scrum? and maybe not coenie for reasons to do with ‘resting’ him with different plans for him?
19 Jul 2011, 08:32 am
We already know what we have in Wynand Olivier, Morné Steyn, Deon Stegmann, Johann Muller, Chiliboy Ralepelle, and Adi Jacobs. Would have preferred to give some youngsters a chance and learn something.
19 Jul 2011, 08:36 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-5: Everybody thinks they know a little, but very few actually do. Let’s look at this selection.
1 + 3=Our front row is a holding pattern rather than dominant. Not the props fault. They are still young and maturing, so they won’t dominate the one glaring Oz weakness.
2= Smit is there as captain. Nuff said.
4. Flip for the grunt, but still prone to brainfarts due to inexperience.
5. Johan Muller= unknown factor due to playing offshore and being back from injury. Big question.
6. Steggies to counter Pocock? All we have. Watch the penalties.
7. Johnson. Runaround bunny. Had the worst defensive game in the S15 of all loosies. Most tackles missed. Would swop him and Danie around.
8. Danie Rossouw no longer has the workrate fopr an 8. Big mistake. Play him 5 lock.
12. WO will be tackling the whole day. No problem with that, but who else?
Like all tests this game will come down to who has the best defence and the best kick and chase game. I don’t see this team being that. Now if we had a specialist defensive flanker to transfer pressure, iro size, we would have stood a chance. Tackling is a state of mind and heart, not size, and we are missing that here, mark my word.
19 Jul 2011, 08:39 am
Boys and girls, I’m sorry. I initially listed Rossouw at 8 when Johnson should have been there. Apologies. Threw team up at 4:30am, It is a time when only drug dealers and adulterous husbands should be awake. I am neither, but was half asleep. Spare me the lynching.
19 Jul 2011, 08:44 am
@JL1(JL1)-23:
hahahaha you like your tea strong then? hehehe
19 Jul 2011, 08:46 am
@Ryan(Ryan)-39: we wont lynch you as we understand ur short comings and total lack of rugby knowledge
19 Jul 2011, 08:48 am
Johnson at 8 adds some pace off the back… downside the scrums are effected with him there… Danie too slow off the back however adds the grunt… catch 22… reckon they have got it right…
Need the impact of Strauss off the bench, his all round game from turnovers to pace to smash-tackling eons ahead of Ralepelle.
WO is there as the best defensive 12 (and centre) in RSA… the Wallaby back 3 feed by the form 9/10 in the world would rip Jacobs/JDJ/Basson/Aplon apart without him there… scoring the most tries out of any other RSA centre not to mention the most line-breaks, line-break assists and try-assists adds all the extra’s (the cupboard is bare for quality 12′s in RSA other than Butch, Frans, Lambie to a lesser degree)…
5/2 split with more impact amongst the forwards would be the way to go… no point in both Lambie and Adi…
19 Jul 2011, 08:49 am
@grant10(grant10)-35: uhm granty , for the most i agree with you , and kanko is really being done in by being loyal to bok rugby,
As for Smitty, 100% the right man to start , and at hooker, not prop
other then that i agree with you
19 Jul 2011, 08:51 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-42: Lambie should have started at 10
Keeping ball in hand should have been the order of the day , not kicking it away , and thats what morne steyn will do
19 Jul 2011, 08:52 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-41:
Sies man.
Ryan is actually very knowledgeable. He is just forced to adhere to the official Keo point of view, at times, thus compromising his personal view on some issues.
A bit like the Murdoch empire, this mini Keo autocracy.
In this case, give him some slack. You should see me at 4.30 in the morning. Like a bear waking from hibernation.
19 Jul 2011, 08:52 am
If only AJ had the defensive/ground-game Stegman had… and Stegman the linking/pace game of AJ there’d be far more balance in the loose-forwards… alas not the case…
Snor falling into the trap of selecting a ‘fetcher that can only fetch… the Richie McCaw’s, Pococks, Brussouws have EVERYTHING else on top of their ground game…
19 Jul 2011, 08:53 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-44:
Ball in hand is a false gospel. It doesn’t work for SA teams. It looks nice, but doesn’t have impact where it counts – the scoreboard.
19 Jul 2011, 08:54 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-46: talking rubbish, steggies has more ball carries than flo…
19 Jul 2011, 08:54 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-45: enotice the smileys tacci , teasin the fella
i am sure he can take it? he aint a baby
19 Jul 2011, 08:56 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-47: well it is exactly what cost the bulls the match against the sharks a few weeks ago, Morne Steyn kicking the ball away to us
19 Jul 2011, 08:57 am
surely WO can dominate a nobody like Pat McCabe, come on Wynand!
19 Jul 2011, 08:57 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-46: problem is Steggies is also a penalty machine like Coenie
AJ however is a weak defender ,eish sacre bleu lol
19 Jul 2011, 08:58 am
As always, the real problem is that you have talented, quick and elusive outside backs who will never see the ball because of numbers 10 and 12. Mark my words, Genia and Cooper will target Steyn and Olivier – expect them to be cut to pieces by abt min 30..
They have never been good enough ball players at this level..they cannot convincingly commit defenders and get their outside backs away (both stand way too deep anyway) and defence is suspect.
10 and 12 have been the major problem with SA rugby since readmission in truth.
I would have tried Ruan at 10 and Lambie at 12…
Really worried about our locks and potential lineout issues. Not a fan of WO but I would have selected him too on the basis that him and M Steyn are the only established combos in that backline.
@Transformation(Transformation)-51: In the world of NOD anything is possible
19 Jul 2011, 09:00 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-50:
No, what cost the Bulls the match was that they couldn’t execute their gameplan properly, because they didn’t dominate the game physically. Without that platform, it is irrelevent which gameplan they used.
19 Jul 2011, 09:00 am
The front row is very green-looking with the two Bulls players. Second row is probably the best possible and the backrow looks decent. Overall not great but the Ozzie pack isn’t great either.
Where it all falls down for SA is in the backline.
If your pack isn’t stellar you need to be able to attack in the backline and Morne Steyn and Wynand Olivier aren’t going provide that ability, they’re too limited. A Pienaar/Lambie 10/12 or even a Lambie/De Jongh 10/12 would’ve provided a greater attacking threat, although it’s positive De Jongh gets a run in his preferred position. Back three could struggle as a unit positionally, Patrick Lambie at 15 would likely have brought greater composure.
All in all not a bad selection but it is weighed down by the M.Steyn/Olivier combination which has never been up to it in the test arena.
19 Jul 2011, 09:01 am
Very immobile ‘fat’ pack of forwards that.
Expect the Ausies to take note of that and play accordingly.
Aussies by 10.
19 Jul 2011, 09:02 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-57: dammit BH stop talking so much sense my man…..I hate agreeing with you all the time…
19 Jul 2011, 09:02 am
@Ogre(Ogre)-38:
so basically what your saying is you would like to sell us on keegan daniel?
19 Jul 2011, 09:03 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-45: You saw him at 4:30 in the morning?
Tac.
Say it isnt so…
19 Jul 2011, 09:05 am
big weaknesses in this B team
Plod
M Steyn
W Olivier.
19 Jul 2011, 09:06 am
personally I cant understand the omission of Lambie.
Hope he gets a start against kiwis
19 Jul 2011, 09:06 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-56: it was not your forwards that kept kicking the ball at the sharks?? IT WAS MORNE STEYN
Even if your forwards did not dominate , the ball they got still got kicked away
Morne Steym hardly ever attacks the gain line
19 Jul 2011, 09:10 am
This team will do great…Having Adi Jacobs on the bench is a plus as he is one the best impact players in World Rugby, let’s support this team, they are representing our proud Rugby Nation…GO BOKKE !!!
19 Jul 2011, 09:10 am
The scary thing is that habana isn’t in the Bok B team .. which means he will be in the A team?? this oke has been the k@kkest backline player in SA for the last 2 years! what must he do more to be dropped??
19 Jul 2011, 09:11 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-64: tell him my man….
19 Jul 2011, 09:11 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-50:
no, that was fdp
19 Jul 2011, 09:12 am
and as soon as Bulls lose M Steyn they employ Brummer….
another skop en jag artist….
fark me!
19 Jul 2011, 09:13 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-68: to be exact it was both
look no problem if we had a big defensive backline , but we dont,
with the backline we have it is suicide to play Steyn, Ruan wont kick as much , but Steyn will
19 Jul 2011, 09:14 am
@grant10(grant10)-69:
19 Jul 2011, 09:17 am
@grant10(grant10)-67:
no, they lost the game in the last three minutes and it was fdp who kicked away then.
19 Jul 2011, 09:21 am
@grant10(grant10)-69: brummer was not a S&J artist, all his flair was coached out of him at the bulls…now he is an MSteyn clone, who was a Liefling clone.
19 Jul 2011, 09:23 am
Jeez some of you guys can talk absolute shite after watching a game only once and in real time!
If Morne Steyn is so incapable of getting his line away… why is that…
- Wynand Olivier and Bjorn Basson made more line-breaks than any RSA centre/winger in the S15
- Wynand Olivier and Bjorn Basson scored more tries than any other centre (bar JF@13) and winger…
- Morne and WO had more try assists than any other RSA back (other than FDP)…
Then you add the fact that Morne Steyn just pips Quade Cooper (the J’OC) to top the table in most points scored, kicking metres, drop-goals most importantly penalty goals and I can see exactly why Snor and co have chosen to keep this combination (Steyn/WO/BB) together in a depleted side for the Mandela Cup…
19 Jul 2011, 09:23 am
biggest achilles in this team…. digby ioane vs bjorn “i can’t tackle” basson
jpp made bjorn look kak, to a point where they switched hurdles to the one wing.
19 Jul 2011, 09:26 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-73:
19 Jul 2011, 09:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-73:
these guys have three super titles and you call that kuk coaching? welcome to sa rugby opinion.
go figure…
19 Jul 2011, 09:30 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-74: boet normally i agree with much of what you say , but you will have a hard time convincing me re Steyn, in wet conditions and with a good defensive backline?? no problem
he stands to far back and hardly ever attacks the gain line, and against the Aussies we cannot give them FREE BALL
Forget last weeks match , the Aussies gone come at us hard , and i got no doubt , they wont be kicking the ball away with *** abandon
19 Jul 2011, 09:30 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-74: if you are talking about tries scored by bjorn basson, you might want to mention that most of his tries where from kick & chase moves and NOT from any backline set plays where the ball is spread wide by the blue bulls backline.
19 Jul 2011, 09:31 am
This team is not blowing my hair back. New combos a worry. I’m sorry. With Cooper and Pocock back I just can’t see this B Bok side winning this one. Also the Aussies will have last weeks result fresh in their minds and use it as motivation. But hey? Samoa surprized us. Let’s see what happens.
19 Jul 2011, 09:32 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-74:
finally! some perspective, thanks.
19 Jul 2011, 09:34 am
Strange…..
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-74: Bryce, WO can make the odd line break, but he’s distribution is useless. Go and see how many times he got the ball from up and unders and how many times the balls was actually passed to him in space.
Olivier, chiliboy should most definitely not be there. Sarel Pretorius should have been there instead of Charl. The rest is a bit of a toss up between best there is and what else is there, given the injury situation.
19 Jul 2011, 09:35 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-75: I still believe Habana is a far better wing , yes he is going through some bad form , but his work rate etc and defense is far better then Basson
19 Jul 2011, 09:37 am
Come on chaps, we can do it.
We have experience in the spine of the team – Hooker, nr8, scrumhalf, flyhalf and fullback (albeit not too much test experience for the latter).
Our untested combinations is as much a worry for them as it is for us, they don’t know what to expect.
And our preparation prior to this test has been smoother and less painful on the body and mind.
Give our guys a break, a wounded Springbok is a very dangerous specimen.
19 Jul 2011, 09:38 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-52: Agree and said so now on sw. Why the heck Stegmann is there I have no idea. Just don’t rate him at all. He was no good on the eoyt and was no better for the Bulls this year either. Would have had Deysel there.
Actually would have had Rossouw at 8 Johnson at 7 and Deysel at 6.
Damn man, wanted to see how Lambie would handle a start in a test. Would loved to have seen him at fh with JdJ at 12 and Adi at 13. Our backline would be cooking hot. That is if they play with more ball in hand and not just kick everything away. Afraid with Morne and Olivier there JdJ or our wings may just never see any ball.
Looking forward to seeing Ruan play. Cause M. Joubert was just okay for Sharks. So sometimes coming from the nh the players need time to gel back into the fast sh game.
19 Jul 2011, 09:39 am
@Puma(Puma)-85: very true bro very true
19 Jul 2011, 09:40 am
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-84: Nice post Griqua.
19 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
Not Meisiekind, Nooooooooooooooooooooo!
But I suppose there isn’t anyone else to really fill the gap besides perhaps Lambie.
Come Wynand, I reckon this is your last chance to prove us, your doubters, wrong and show that your ceiling isn’t Super Rugby.
19 Jul 2011, 09:43 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-77: the sum of the bulls parts won the titles but not in a million years would you single out hougaard, morne & brummer to be better flyhalfs than say dan carter or quade cooper! get it?
19 Jul 2011, 09:43 am
@Puma(Puma)-87: i still think the sharks should try Ludick at 13
and play JLP at 12
19 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
I would have been more happy with Deysel in the 7 jumper and Danie on the bench covering loosie and lock.
19 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-86: You know these players are actually fine young players. If we selected right and played the right gameplan we could just beat the Aussies with this young side.
My backline would have been.
15 – Aplon
14 – Basson
13 – Adi
12 – JdJ
11 – Mvovo
10 – Lambie
9 – Ruan
Loose trio:
Danie – 8
Johnson – 7
Deysel – 6 (cause Deysel can fetch some too and probably not give away any penalties that Stegmann would) Where is KEEGAN?????????????????? Feel for him. Should have been on this tour.
The tight five as they have. Though as much as I have rated Muller think I would have liked to have seen Mostert there. But not to be. Think Muller is there as vice captain mostly.
19 Jul 2011, 09:49 am
@Puma(Puma)-92: i think pretty much along the same lines boet
19 Jul 2011, 09:50 am
@Puma(Puma)-85:
“Why the heck Stegmann is there I have no idea”
Easy answer… Snor like some dumb ***** on here think that a team has to have a ‘fetcher’ in the team at all costs!
Who cares about getting the loose-forward balance correct on top of pack dynamics… who cares that no ‘fetcher’ made the top 10 list for turnovers this year… who cares that the likes of the McCaws and Pococks have the skills of centres on top of everything else…
There’s you answer…
19 Jul 2011, 09:51 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-90: YES agree on JLP at 12. Bosman is just not up to it. He has had plenty game time there this year. Time to give JLP a try out there. Bosman was again guilty on defence.
Great idea that to play Ludick at 13. Would play well there I think.
This is the time for Plum to try out the youngsters as well. Bring in P. Jordaan and give him a game at inside centre this season.
Where does Sithole play? Only wing? Or can he play centre as well? Nice big player and damn fast.
19 Jul 2011, 09:51 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-94: exactly , and that is why Daniel would have been a better bet then Stegmann
19 Jul 2011, 09:53 am
@Puma(Puma)-92:
You’ll have to pack your backline with all the loose-forwards defensively and the rest of the pack will then get smashed in the tight-loose…
And some of you go on about WO not being able to get the ball to his wings… JDJ cannot pass in the set-plays at all (albeit his off-loading in broken play has improved under JF’s tutelage this season)…
19 Jul 2011, 09:54 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-93: Well all we can do is show our frustration here…..hahaha. This was a great opportunity to try out some of the other players.
19 Jul 2011, 09:55 am
@Puma(Puma)-95: only wing boet
19 Jul 2011, 09:55 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-96:
No incorrect… Daniels is competing with AJ for the utility/link/attack position not Stegman and Johnson has got the nod…
19 Jul 2011, 09:57 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-94: Well all I can say is we had better hope that Brussow is ready for the wc. They must not play him if he is not ready. Not even on the home leg of this tour. He should have been back here just getting over that injury.
Keegan should have been on tour. That was a no brainer, but how they just snubbed him is a total farce.
19 Jul 2011, 09:58 am
From what I can see, J Muller is only there to take over the captaincy when John Smit gets subbed around the 55th-65th minute mark.
All in all the pack is reasonable. The backline with the exception of the skop n jag artist will fare well as a result.
19 Jul 2011, 10:00 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-100: boet , daniel is a 6/8 he competes with both
he does however mostly play 6
without a Steggmann or Brussow we will be giving Pocock / MC Caw a free lunch…..back to the dark ages….even the 3 stooges know this is a fatal mistake.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-99: Pity. But he was superb in the 7′s so have to see how he does in the CC. Rate him plenty. Thought he might be able to play centre. Then again for next year if we have bigger squads for S15 we will need him for wing. JPP and Mvovo need to rotate. Every player needs to rotate in that tourney to keep fresh.
19 Jul 2011, 10:01 am
With all the ‘dis-respect this and dis-respect that’ comments from some of the above posters in the last days with regards to the Aussie’s experimenting with their greater squad… I’m surprised with some of the above same posters wanting to throw caution to the wind with selections and not show the same respect to the Mandela Cup that the All Blacks and Aus no doubt yet again will be showing for the iconic Bledisloe Cup!
Does the Mandela Cup not have the same value?
I’ve said it before… if you wanted you ‘gut-feeling’ selections and experimentation… there should have been another test before the 3N… a-la Aus/Samoa and NZ/Fiji…
So many emotive muppets on here… so little time to set them straight… Gold is a running… ADIOS!
The convicts won’t believe their luck when they see this team.
Still after more than 250 years of rough justice and poor life choices, it’;s about time something went their way.
@Puma(Puma)-101: lets be glad they snubbed him? lol , eish see how he tore the Bulls apart?
19 Jul 2011, 10:02 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-103:
He does not play the role of an open-sider no matter the number on his back… he and AJ play the same game… AJ got the nod… and in most cases other than defence I agree…
19 Jul 2011, 10:08 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-106: We never selected the team Bryce. All we bloggers here and do is give our opinion.
I would always want to see a full strength Bok side play a test. Though in a world cup year there should be no Tri-Nations. Think player need rest after such a long S15. We could have warmed up playing Nambia…….hahahaha. Well at least we won’t have injuries….
Don’t write off this team yet, we just may do it…lol. Now that would get PdV brain in a twist. Imagine if this young team wins both games on tour. Or just one? Then we lose both our home games with our top players? Now there would be a thing. These youngsters play the right game plan we could win. It seems unlikely though but we should just get behind them and see what they can do. Some exciting players in that team.
19 Jul 2011, 10:09 am
@Puma(Puma)-110: typo – Namibia
19 Jul 2011, 10:10 am
@JL1(JL1)-24:
and what the Boks, and their supporters, said in 2010
19 Jul 2011, 10:10 am
It is a quirky part of SA rugby that the ONLY team to ever achieve Super rugby success – and not once but 3 times, compared to ZERO times by any other SA team – is also the one subject to the most criticism, ridicule, and lack of recognition by the broader rugby supporting population.
You will find by a casual read through of the comments on this thread – that most of the criticism is directed at:
Dean Greyling
Werner Kruger
Deon Stegmann
Morne Steyn
Wynand Olivier
Bjorn Basson.
Yes. All Bulls players. What a coincidence.
The Reds win one measly Super 15, and their players are suddenly the sh*t. The Bulls win 3 titles, but STILL their flyhalf is not of international standard – despite winning us a British Lions series, a Tri Nations virtually singlehandedly and 3 Super rugby trophies.
All the bitter supporters of the zero Super ruby trophy teams display their jealousy so blatantly. You are pathetic.
19 Jul 2011, 10:11 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-108: Yes he was everywhere on Saturday. Watched with a friend that knows squat about rugby and he picked up that Keegan was the best player on the field. Just goes to show how good a player he is.
19 Jul 2011, 10:12 am
So it is basically the Bulls. How is this rewarding form as they have been kak all season? It should read, PDV rewards Victor’s friends. In a few weeks time it should read, PDV rewards all John’s friends. What a load of bullshit!
19 Jul 2011, 10:15 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
how do you manage to walk around with that great big chip on your shoulder?
19 Jul 2011, 10:24 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
Nice of you to join the rest of us
half way through the season.
19 Jul 2011, 10:24 am
Tri-nations schedule this year is the fairest i can recall.
both NZ and Aus have 2 game tours like SA with no weeks with zero rugby being played. so it is nice and condensed.
given aus travel to NZ, and then play in SA. and then NZ fly to SA and play Aus on the way back, it will be interesting to see if both teams pick their strongest team for all 4 matches.
19 Jul 2011, 10:25 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-117:
No Panty it’s not nice.
Half of you are half-wits. And that’s the better half.
19 Jul 2011, 10:27 am
Tacitus – Interesting point. I for one am very interested in seeing how this Bok team fairs this weekend. I like the look of the backline, some real flyers there.
Everyone asks for new blood, but when PDV puts a new team out there everyone poos themselves!!
19 Jul 2011, 10:27 am
@Puma(Puma)-110:
Oh I agree on all accounts…
Give or take one or two positional changes, injury questions and balance… this is full-strength (without the 26)… but the call (by some) to forgo some tried and tested positions (on a whim) in a squad with 3 new caps and a few greenhorns where they provide much-needed balance… is to suggest the Mandela Cup is of lesser importance than the Bledisloe Cup… particularly of the same punters calling the Aussies a disgrace for ‘disrespecting’ the Samoans (I still shake my head at that)…
But I’m outa here… laters fellow mug-punters!
19 Jul 2011, 10:29 am
“All the bitter supporters of the zero Super ruby trophy teams display their jealousy so blatantly. You are pathetic.”
So “pathetic” that the Katmans and RedLions turn up here year after year, throughout the season, supporting the Lions despite the results. Same with Cheetah4Eva etc.
No sign of you when the Bulls were being OWNED, at Home, by the Mighty Highlanders. In fact, no sign of you before the Bulls started winning again.
19 Jul 2011, 10:30 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
quite right tactful.
they are a bunch of pignorant basterauds.
19 Jul 2011, 10:33 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113: you forgot to mention Chili?? any genuine reason for that??
19 Jul 2011, 10:34 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-122:
the cheating highlanders didn’t own anybody.
the ref phucked us.
19 Jul 2011, 10:35 am
This would have been my team selection if taking only the 22 chosen for this test.
15 Lambie
14 Aplon
13 JDJ
12 WO
11 Mvovo
10 Steyn
09 Ruan
08 Johnson
07 Deysel
06 Stegmann
05 Muller
04 Flip
03 Kruger
02 Smit (Capt)
01 Greyling
16 Chili
17 CJ
18 Hargreaves
19 Rossouw
20 Mcleod
21 Jacobs
22 Basson, Here i would have thought maybe another forward in Kanko but as he is not in the match
I also would have liked Russouw to rather start at 8 , but worried about lack of pace for the loose trio
19 Jul 2011, 10:36 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-126: also had flip and russouw started as lock combo grunt would have been better but i reckon line outs would be a shambles
19 Jul 2011, 10:39 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113: i have not seen anyone moan about the bulls front row????
mostly just MOrne and WO
19 Jul 2011, 10:41 am
tacitus – Typcial SA supporters. They all whinge and moan bout WO now they’re rather happy he is at 12, hailing him as the linch pin of the backline!!!
19 Jul 2011, 10:42 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-126: With Basson it is his defence that lets him down. If Lambie could not have started at fh then fb he should have. Then play Aplon on the wing. Agree there.
19 Jul 2011, 10:45 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-128:
All you friggin hear is Coenie this and Coenie that.
Coenie has a babyface and got his head shoved through his arse against the Bulls this year.
19 Jul 2011, 10:51 am
With the exception of Morne Steyn all the players tac listed are unproven at test level and Steyn is predominantly a kicking 10 when it’s pretty clear the kicking game isn’t going to work behind such a weakened pack.
You’ll note Rossouw hasn’t received much criticism and I’d expect that Steenkamp, Matfield, Botha, Du Preez and Hougaard wouldn’t receive much either.
19 Jul 2011, 10:52 am
with guthro & beast “injured” greyling is the lesser liability than coenie who leaks a lot of penalties. that said, greyling was hondkak in last year’s currie cup.
19 Jul 2011, 11:00 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-132:
Well I can only assume that you aren’t familiar enough with SA rugby to understand that Greyling and Kruger are better scrumming props than any outside of the Bok A team at the moment, and they actually outscrummed even the Sharks front row (current Bok front row) this year.
19 Jul 2011, 11:00 am
The guys in this team didn’t pick themselves. So what were people expecting from a makeshift side? With 21 left behind. These guys have everything to play for. But best they play for each other and not as individuals. And that’s the job of this esteemed coaching trio of ours. They’ve had more time with this team than Mallett did with the Baabaas at the end of last year.
And if the Boks do miraculously achieve a result, it’ll once again be down guts and glory. And not finesse.
19 Jul 2011, 11:07 am
the following players should consider themselves lucky,yet again, that they are adding another bok cap to their already worthless total:
meisiekind olivier
stegmann
basson
judgement will be reserved for the following:
greyling
kruger
van der merwe.
19 Jul 2011, 11:08 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
Even before the Bulls won any Super Rugby titles they were the most criticized/hated team by supporters of other SA teams. Some things will never change. But I don’t mind that; provincial blinkers are huge in this country. What irritates me most though is when supporters of other teams celebrate a Bulls loss to any team as if their own team had beaten them. Case in point was when they lost to the Sharks in the last S15 league game…I had to read page after page on facebook…mostly Stormers supporters celebrating this Bulls loss. Heh? What did that really have to do with the Stormers or their supporters? Would understand if Sharks supporters had a go…
Sky is blue, water is wet…and most people hate the Bulls…
@garth(garth)-115: But in the last 6 weeks they were the form SA team. I admit they had a kak start to the season though.
19 Jul 2011, 11:13 am
I’m so happy that Smit is starting at hooker, he needs the game in this position, I have a feeling that Smit will prove a lot of us wrong, or it just the eternal patriot in me wishing for a swansong of note. Go Smit!!!!, Go Bokke!!!
19 Jul 2011, 11:15 am
aplon is the better fb than lambie and i am glad that pdv also realises that fact.
19 Jul 2011, 11:18 am
Lets hope Ted picks O Franks and Crockett for the Bokke test, double turbo reverse in a Bokke jersey ain’t going to look too flash.
19 Jul 2011, 11:19 am
PdV’s alleged ‘Reward Form’ must be a merit score sheet of bottle stores around Cape Plains and District 6
I wonder if Keo can produce a valid proof that PdV is a literate person, all indications are he isn’t, many noticed already that he never seen taking notes or typing on a lap top during matches, seriously
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-138:
I’m actually glad Smit is in this rookie team. For once, his experience will be of value. When he inevitably starts puffing in the 50th minute, though, that is when we desperately needed Adriaan Strauss coming off the bench.
Unfortunately, that is not possible in the South African rugby context. More’s the pity.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113: I really hate people like you, always bringing provincialism to a national team. Do you have a Northern Transvaal passport or a South African passport. Who gives a sh it about the Bulls now?, we have a team representing South Africa this coming weekend, we should all be behind the team, not by choice but by right and duty.
19 Jul 2011, 11:20 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-141:
No man. That is uncalled for.
19 Jul 2011, 11:21 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-140:
Dont think Crockett will start,he is on injured reserve list and AB’s desperate for Woody to get gametime.Plus with Ben Franks able to play both 1/3…Crockett wont make it unfortunately.Plus Mealamu isnt as good a scrummager as Flynn and as mentioned earlier Woody hardly had gametime.
19 Jul 2011, 11:22 am
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-125:
cr@p, Highlanders had the majority of possession and won all the fine margins. We were deserved winners that day, schooling the Bulls at the breakdown (80% to H’landers at 1 stage).
Bulls scored 2 late tries to make the margin look acceptable but were still outscored 4 tries to 3.
19 Jul 2011, 11:23 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-144:
why?
H Meyer himself indicated it some 3.5 years ago
19 Jul 2011, 11:26 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-141: I hope you own a farm and they shoot you on it or Julius and his boys take your farm without compensation, then you will have a real gripe to support your racist attitude.
19 Jul 2011, 11:27 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148:
Sicko.
19 Jul 2011, 11:28 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-145:
Yip looks like Ted will go with Woody unfortunately, the scrum could be a massive weapon for the Ab’s this year if they make the right selections.
19 Jul 2011, 11:29 am
Given the options available that team will be competitive ,they juat need to shut down cooper and genia and run the ball! with gio , basson , mvovo and jdj that shouldn’t be an issue , the main problem will be getting and securing the ball
19 Jul 2011, 11:30 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-143: don’t try to suppress the man’s right to freedom of speech.we all have a choice in life also.i don’t support bafana because i don’t support a team made up of 99% ethnocentric superblacks who believe that they have the right to claim football as their own.
Stegmann… i know he’s relatively untested at this level, but what we saw last year indicates a good super rugby player but no more (see Kanko, WO, etc…), maybe i will be proven wrong this weekend but i doubt it… with the quick Aussie backs there must be some concern with Basson’s defence. would have probably preferred Lambie at the back with Aplon and Mvovo on the wings. welp thats it, lets hope it’s a good game
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-149: I must agree with you that was sick, I paused for a minute and thought of the sickest thing I can come up with to throw at a sick racist c*nt like Hondo. It seems I have done well.
19 Jul 2011, 11:32 am
“If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two imposters just the same…
…Then you’ll be a Man, my son.”
(Rudyard Kipling – “If”)
19 Jul 2011, 11:33 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-146:
my enduring memory of theat game was that vuilgat kicking the ball out of Saint Fourie’s hands in the dying moments.
Mind you with Jamie Joesph at the helm what can you expect.
Ref gave you that game on a plate, and then followed it up with a silver spoon and a napkin.
cost me a new remote control that did.
19 Jul 2011, 11:33 am
@topaz(topaz)-152: You dont support Bafana because you are ignorant. This is not an insult, I can easily prove that you are an ignorant a*se
19 Jul 2011, 11:35 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148:
that sort of comment puts you at (or slightly below) his level.
surely you are better than that?
19 Jul 2011, 11:39 am
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-158: The best way to deal with racism is not to ignore those that are racist but to hit them as hard as one can. If one keeps ignoring them, they continue to believe in their sick ways without taking a step back to reconsider their sick ways.
19 Jul 2011, 11:40 am
I wonde who defends better between Basson and vd Heever. I would pick that one for the Boks. I suspect it is vd Heever.
19 Jul 2011, 11:42 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-159:
Just admit that you let emotion get to you and said something you now regret.
No harm done. It happens to everyone.
Such an admission is better than trying to rationalize an unacceptable comment.
Anyway, that’s just my view.
19 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
I like the idea of Lambie on the bench.. He covers both 15 and 10. I like the idea of putting Steyn in at 10 for the first game.. if he fksup he can justifiably be sent packing. If Steyn fks up, I will still go with Lambie on the bench to cover 10 & 15 but bring Elton in at 10
WO at 12.. last chance hopefully and if he does have a perfect game, I would still drop him for the next game because history has shown that he will blow cold in the next game.. especially against the AB’s
Loosies are fine but there was the option of including Luke which would make the loose trio completely interchangeable to allow for options in set pieces.
Tight five.. last chance saloon
19 Jul 2011, 11:46 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-157: the 1996 team probably was a fair reflection of south african society and also it’s successful, but when ethnocentrism started rearing it’s ugly head it signalled the end of the game as a success in sa football.was it really a surprise that they failed to progress past the 2010 wc first round?
19 Jul 2011, 11:47 am
Tac a dose of reality for you – The Bulls and all of their wonderful players with all of their amazing titles were s h i t this year. Well and truly k@k. Get off your high horse and come and support the Boks with the rest of us.
19 Jul 2011, 11:47 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-159:
you are right to confront it.
although hondo seems to be immune to any kind of reason.
I just thought more of you that’s all.
anyway moving on.
19 Jul 2011, 11:49 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-141: Talking about ignorance.. Hows your mum?? did she confirm that story about Os
19 Jul 2011, 11:49 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-161: I do not regret what I have said, its sick I know, more importantly I said it with a specific purpose. The aim is to show sick racist c*nts like Hondo that there is no room for them in South Africa, just like there is no room for farming killers.
There is no difference between the Hondo’s of this world and the bloody murderes. So no regret, no emotions attached, just driving the point home. It cuts both ways and the Hondo’s of this world need to know that and the only way to do it, is to show it to them.
19 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-146: “cr@p, Highlanders had the majority of possession and won all the fine margins” the Highlanders had 51.8% possession in the game against the bulls, hardly majority hey Panty?
19 Jul 2011, 11:52 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-89:
no, i dont get it. this wasn’t about the bulls having a better flyhalf than the crusaders (whose flyhalf may i remind you has only been part of a winning team once in the last 5 years, so much for the creativity). this was about bulls players having creativity coached out of them. well maybe it is and maybe it isn’t but at the end of the day they have been good enough to do a whole ffuckking lot with or without it.
lets be clear, here are some of his stats again:
World record for most points scored by a player who has scored all their team’s points (31).
Most points scored against New Zealand (31) in a single test.
South African record for penalties in a test (8) – beating the seven achieved twice by former fullback and now kicking coach of South Africa, Percy Montgomery.
All of the above records achieved with his 31 points scored in the Tri Nations 2009 match against the All Blacks in Durban on 1 Aug 09.
South African record for most points in a test against Australia.
Fastest 100 points by a Springbok (8 Test matches, 3 as replacement).
Fastest 200 points by a Springbok (16 Test matches).
Fastest 300 points by a Springbok (24 Test matches).
Most drop-goals in a Super Rugby season (11).
Most points scored against the All Blacks for a Springbok (31).
Most points in a Tri Nations match (31).
Most drop goals in a Super Rugby game (4) (in the 2009 Super 14 semi-final against the Crusaders).
Most drop goals in Super Rugby (21).
Most points in a Super Rugby season (263) – Beating Dan Carter’s record of 221 set in 2006.
Steyn also holds the record for most consecutive successful kicks at goal in Test play since statistics for that category were first kept in the late 1980s. He had a streak of 41 successful attempts that ended on 6 November 2010 against Ireland. The previous record was 36, held by Chris Paterson of Scotland.
now i put it to you that the sum of all the bulls parts and the spirit of their fallen hero’s put together would never have gotten those 3 titles, without morne. further more, i put it to you that the sum of all the boks parts would never have gotten that 2009 3n and lions series, without morne.
now you look me straight in the reply post and tell me honestly that any other flyhalf in sa will give the sum of all bok parts what we want. (thats cups and titles, in case your wondering. actual ffuckin cups and titles)
exactly! because we know what the sum of all bok parts are, don’t we? and the type of game we best play, don’t we?
now fit the parts to the puzzle to make pretty little pictures. get it?..
19 Jul 2011, 11:55 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-169:
Steyns a good solid player, Carter one of the best to ever play the game.
19 Jul 2011, 11:57 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-161: Your words would be believable if you had had a go at Hondo too instead of silence.
19 Jul 2011, 11:58 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-167: They jumbed at you for responding to Hondo.. because they wont do it themselves. Fighting racism is supposedly a black thing. Keeping hush when detecting racism is seemingly a white thing
19 Jul 2011, 11:58 am
Boks now 2nd on IRB ranking…Big thanks Samoa !!!
19 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
i agree with you tac. i don’t think its jealousy but just being plain ffuckkin delusional some times. these guys actually think we’ll win the wc without a kicking points-machine (or as some call it a s&j specialist).
rugby opinion hey? go figure…
19 Jul 2011, 12:03 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-169: blah blah blah, all these accolades relate to KICKING!!!!!!!!!
i said “flair” loosely translated as ability to creatively or ingeniusly create something out of nothing to deceive opponents by using own ingenuity on a rugby field, was coached out of brummer!
brummer may go on to break morne’s kicking stats or drop goal stats but that doesn’t mean he will be a well-rounded flyhalf who counts line breaks, off-loads as part of his repertoire.
19 Jul 2011, 12:08 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-170:
nuff said…
19 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-171: Tac did. See his post 144.
19 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-171: in fairness he did… at least today.get all the facts before jumping into a fist-fight.
19 Jul 2011, 12:11 pm
@Charlie(Charlie)-173:
Go Bokke.
Burp!
@Puma(Puma)-177: snap!
19 Jul 2011, 12:12 pm
@topaz(topaz)-178: My post 181 was meant for you no me……hahahahaha.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-170: carter is not that great. he had one very good season in 2005 and an okay one it 2006, he had a very poor 2007, 2008, 2009 and was okay in 2010. Just like Wilkinson who had only two genuinely good seasons. added to that carters kicking is shockingly poor. he directs play well which is good with the players around him and the superior coaching they have.
@Hondo(Hondo)-141:
wow! talk about beating about the racist bush.
following your posts, sometimes i think your just a guy who likes to play it ‘risque’, sometimes i think your just an old fashioned racist.
love to hear you tell me which it is?…
19 Jul 2011, 12:13 pm
@Staal(Staal)-180: Howzit Staal. Good to see you back.
19 Jul 2011, 12:13 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-167: while you are doing that,i then claim the right to keep a very close eye on ethnocentric superblacks like you and transie.
19 Jul 2011, 12:15 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148:
Taking into account that i own a farm.. and friends of mine were murdered like you mentioned….
hmmmm..
nuff said about this….
ya well we can all have an opinion….
19 Jul 2011, 12:16 pm
@Puma(Puma)-182:
19 Jul 2011, 12:17 pm
@Puma(Puma)-185: Hi Puma – what’s gonna happen this weekend…. eish ek’s geworried.
imo… we’re gonna get klapped.
19 Jul 2011, 12:18 pm
@Staal(Staal)-189: I am worried too, but heck I hope our young Boks can do it.
@topaz(topaz)-152: thats funny. they claim football but want white people to love it! hehehee. particularly when they are kak at it. I still watch though. even though i was banned from the kaizer chiefs forum because they thought i was white and someone just hated me. oh well.
@topaz(topaz)-186: you do that all the time… what has changed
guilty until proven innocent I say
19 Jul 2011, 12:19 pm
@topaz(topaz)-188:
19 Jul 2011, 12:23 pm
@Charlie(Charlie)-173:
This isn’t intended to be a stir but the Moans could take the Bokke in Auckland at the WC its now a sell out and they will be up for it, if the Bokke do finish second in their group who would they play in the quarters?
19 Jul 2011, 12:24 pm
MORE NEGATIVITY PLEASE!!!! NOT ENOUGH NEGATIVITY!!!!!!!
19 Jul 2011, 12:26 pm
Interesting stat pointed out by Tank Lanning: South Africa’s away record in the Tri-Nations against Australia – Played 17; Won 3; Lost 13; Drawn 1.
Looks like the odds are stacked up against us.
19 Jul 2011, 12:26 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-171:
See post 144.
19 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-141: class
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148: Even more class
Wow the haters are out in force today
19 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-175:
ja ‘flair’, because winning was never important. why don’t we ask the the guys at the steve tshwete lifetime achievement awards to create a category for ‘never mind the score but did you see how nicely #10 passed the ball’ so that we can reward the shhitt out of our creative flyhalfs?
3 super titles, lions series, 2009 3n’s guy, thats all the bulls kicker’s got, no ‘creativity’, shame.
hope brummer gets the same.
pity the boks for dabbling in s&j, its so uncreative.
cant wait to see lambie lead us to the promised land, cant ffucckin wait.
19 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-170: Heh. Carter used be the ‘best ever’. Perhaps he should have retired 2 years ago and kept that title.
19 Jul 2011, 12:31 pm
@badeesh(badeesh)-195: The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears it is true…
19 Jul 2011, 12:31 pm
@topaz(topaz)-188: have you seen your support base…@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-191: SA Whites dont play football because… football is very competitive. No club can afford to entertain prejudice. You get relegated when you are kak and you lose millions… not like S15 rugby.. Mitchell and Naka still have jobs?? Mallet only needs to win two games every two seasons to retain his position in Italy.. Chelsea fire their coach when they dont take silverware.. the same with Kaiser Chiefs
Gumede wanted to change the losing culture at the Lions… The twats reresenting white interest preferred the culture of accommodation..
So how much of a loser are young man ??
19 Jul 2011, 12:32 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-183: how does one become the top points scorer for their country of all time with “shockingly poor” kicking?
19 Jul 2011, 12:37 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-183: carter tore his achilles in january of 2009 playing for Perpignan and only came back to Test rugby in the last game of Tri-nations in Hamilton where the Boks neeeded half-way kicks fron Frans Steyn to win. the last move of that match was an over-cooked crosskick by carter that would’ve snatche the Tri-Nations title from the Boks…where did he have a **** season in 2009, playing for who?
19 Jul 2011, 12:38 pm
@topaz(topaz)-186: LOL!!
!!!
19 Jul 2011, 12:38 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-191: you’re banned there cos you’re a doos alucard
19 Jul 2011, 12:40 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-202:
2 weeks away and it’s as you were on keo.co.za. Some things are refreshingly resistant to change. And that drum of yours must be about broken by now Shaun. You’ve been banging it for ages now
19 Jul 2011, 12:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-204: you are questioning an imbecile .. but I am sure you knew that
.. but feel free to scorecheap points. They still count
19 Jul 2011, 12:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-206:
you can be banned for being a doos?
that should worry a few people here…
19 Jul 2011, 12:42 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-209:
I’d be the only one left on here…
19 Jul 2011, 12:42 pm
@Staal(Staal)-201: Beautiful, learnt something on the Keo forum today…
19 Jul 2011, 12:44 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-207:
langers has self-esteem issues.
ever since he lost out on the head caddy job at langebaan golf club.
so he feels the need to over-compensate here.
I feel he is too harsh on himself, he did after all get through to the final round of interviews.
I think we should give him our support.
19 Jul 2011, 12:44 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-209: I am sure you will be OK mate
.. remember, there is a culture of accommodation on Keo too
19 Jul 2011, 12:45 pm
@Staal(Staal)-201:
hehehe which do you think pdaddy believes?
19 Jul 2011, 12:46 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-210: I dont think you were very confident in making that statement
19 Jul 2011, 12:47 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-199: how many tri-nations do the boks have playing with the likes of skop & jag morne compared to the all blacks? what is our recent win ratio vs teams like france, ireland? what is the current win-loss ratio vs the all blacks since re-admission? the bulls had the best lineout combo in the world for the past 5 years, the best 9 for the past 4 years and a menacing pack of forwards that dominated super rugby…their flyhalf was just there to take kicks and THAT he did well, as soon as he starts missing, which he did this year, he was a non-entity…deal with it
19 Jul 2011, 12:48 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-212:
Shaun used to look in the mirror in the morning and growl ‘I’m a TIGERRRRR’
The mirror broke.
Now he just does his affirmations on Keo and ignores the replies
19 Jul 2011, 12:49 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-215:
I exude confidence from every pore Shauny. It comes with being fabulous and not a doos.
19 Jul 2011, 12:52 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-218: Is that you practising your daily affirmations… I heard it works so keep it up
19 Jul 2011, 12:52 pm
I haven’t noticed the story on here, but I was just reading in the paper that Dollie is in line for a bench spot against the Leopards on Friday
19 Jul 2011, 12:54 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-219:
Touche…
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-214: to be honset… i struggle a bit with that “nic” of your’s… enlighten me a bit… how did you get to that name?
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-215: So is jy nou shaun of nie….?
@JockBok(JockBok)-220: Peter Grant is off to Japan, Lionel Cronje, Gary Van Answegen, Kurt Coleman and some other name I don’t even recall are out injured
19 Jul 2011, 12:56 pm
honset = honest…
holy cow…..goeie genugtig!
19 Jul 2011, 12:57 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-217:
langers calls it his affirmative reaction.
he is larger than life though and there is a lot of him to love.
19 Jul 2011, 12:59 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-191: football has a rich tradition in the coloured communities of the cape but these ethnocentric superblacks wants to create the impression that we are ***** at it….and then they expect us to support bafana bafana and that lesbo female team banana banana!
19 Jul 2011, 13:00 pm
@Staal(Staal)-222: To each their own mate.. If he loves Bakkies and you find it unnatural, just remember that it has become acceptable
he can love anybody.. but I draw the line when it comes to kiddy fiddling
19 Jul 2011, 13:00 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-223:
Yeah, it a shocker alright and it’s shaping up to be a continuation of the S15. Why on earth was PG allowed to go to Japan again?
I know Coleman will be back next week and GvA was unlucky at the weekend, but it’s a romantic notion to think those two were going to take us through the CC without injury and gain the experience required.
We were two injuries away from a disaster, now it is one. This AC fekker is really pisssing me off…
19 Jul 2011, 13:01 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-220:
actually the paper seemed to indicate that he was in line to start ahead of stavros.
19 Jul 2011, 13:01 pm
@Staal(Staal)-222:
It’s from Life of Brian, but I don’t know who it refers to in the nic????
19 Jul 2011, 13:02 pm
Bliksem but you okes get your knickers in a knot in a flash!
19 Jul 2011, 13:03 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-225: I am down to 90kgs but based on the responses I have received, you would swear that I had lost about 5kgs more
19 Jul 2011, 13:03 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-229:
Actually, you may be right come to think about it, AC was talking about his experience. And we all know AC loves experience over form.
19 Jul 2011, 13:04 pm
R 13 785 just for a new mini freezer between seats in the Cruiser…..
eish die mense is mal man! Maar ja – ‘n man se koeldranke moet koud wees so wat de hel….sal maar betaal.
19 Jul 2011, 13:04 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-231: hey – moetie lelik met ons wees nie asb.
We are mere mortals!
19 Jul 2011, 13:07 pm
@Puma(Puma)-177: Oops. My apologies, Tacitus.
19 Jul 2011, 13:07 pm
I hope that today is not a damp squip with regard to the Murdoch affair.. looking forward to see the evil ******* fry but I sense a bit of disappointment.
19 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@topaz(topaz)-178: Missed it
19 Jul 2011, 13:09 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-232: 90 kgs? How tall are you?
19 Jul 2011, 13:09 pm
@topaz(topaz)-226: noone i know has ever denied that there are excellent footballers from the coloured community. you just seem to be particularly peeved because of some pie-in-the-sky perception that black people are monopolising football.
the REAL truth is that a clique of soweto hoodlums ARE monopolising football and have for the past 2 decades. i know of stories where augusto palacios – then bafana coach – was trying to poach brendan augustine who at the time was competing for top goal scorer in the league while playing for Mthatha Bush Bucks. Brendan blatantly refused to sign for chiefs even though palacios threatened NEVER to pick him for bafana if he didn’t.
so keep fighting your lost cause.
19 Jul 2011, 13:12 pm
@Staal(Staal)-222:
monty python’s – the life of brian. one of the funniest movies ever, classic.
but also a play on bakkies.
19 Jul 2011, 13:12 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-236: it was hardly noticeable but I do not want to discourage Tac.. He has moved into the light and I want to applaud him. This is not the first time he has ventured to confront the twats.. small steps but thankfully foward
19 Jul 2011, 13:13 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-239:
he is about 4 foot 1.
in his platforms.
he pays half price on international flights, but gets hit hard for excess emotional baggage.
19 Jul 2011, 13:13 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-237: your imperialist buddies wants to break up his empire but they don’t have a hope in hell in my humble opinion.they tried it with fifa but got nowhere.
19 Jul 2011, 13:14 pm
@Bouts(Bouts)-200:
He did a great job last year directing play for NZ , he’s still the best around despite the other Kiwi pretender from Tokoroa.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-239: Not tall enough to carry that but I have been told that it suits me
@JockBok(JockBok)-233:
dollie is very experienced.
he has been to australia, japan and the boland.
19 Jul 2011, 13:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-240:
Irvin Khoza
Kaizer Motaung
Football Mafia
No different to Sepp Blatter and his cronies who run a bigger more corrupt scheme called FIFA
19 Jul 2011, 13:16 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-229:
get wp to the greek…
19 Jul 2011, 13:17 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-243: Soek tjy kak … joumasepoes
.. 5ft 6 so the assumption is that I have a napoleon complex.. I see the vultures gathering.. becareful its a trap
19 Jul 2011, 13:18 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-249:
19 Jul 2011, 13:20 pm
Ben Foster lyk bietjie dik….en kom seker ook van Benoni af.
en smaak my Peter Motsepe het bakbene en ‘n attitude!
Maar die ou hier onder mettie gesplete persoonlikheid worry my die meeste.
19 Jul 2011, 13:22 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-247:
Well he’s certainly got enough airmiles to get to Potch on Friday.
19 Jul 2011, 13:23 pm
@topaz(topaz)-244: lets see.. Its not Murdoch that is in the cross hairs.. its the PM ( Cameron)
19 Jul 2011, 13:26 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-248: They started the “coloured purging” in 2001/2, at that stage Carlos Quieroz’s team was fielding approximately 5 to 6 coloured players, who were all there on merit, that didn’t seat well with Khoza & Motaung, they managed to get Carlos Quieroz fired on the eve of the Korea/Japan world cup after having qualified without losing a single game and they replaced him with Jomo Sono.
I was mad as hell back then, even to date, I still hold these two and their media dog BBK accountable for what followed thereafter.
19 Jul 2011, 13:27 pm
Arghhh, sitting in Tambo, just about to pack up and head for the gate………frikkin flight’s delayed!!!!
19 Jul 2011, 13:29 pm
OK cheers.
Ek’s honger. Gaat nou eet.
Fillet en paptert wat oorgebly het v gisteraand.
Cheers – gaan GROOT – jy lewe net 1 keer!
19 Jul 2011, 13:30 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-253:
apparently his ability with a pair of chopsticks has seriously impressed Allstar Coetzee.
19 Jul 2011, 13:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-204: he also threw an intercept try to Jean De Villiers, he didn’t play much that year at all.
19 Jul 2011, 13:39 pm
@Staal(Staal)-252: hey moenie bollie praat van benoni nie!daar is n paar lekker plekke in tom jones rylaan.
19 Jul 2011, 13:41 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-255:
Coloured purging……wouldnt go that far sbali..
When current national team captain is coloured,-Steven Pienaar
Likes off Morgan Gould,Erwin isaacs,Bernard Parker,Bevan Fransman,Bryce Moon,Claasen,thats Erasmus fella etc
Both have had plenty of coloured players in both their teams since 01/02 for Chiefs & Pirates
19 Jul 2011, 13:45 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-7: \
What is this nonsense about l/o options.
The Bulls have had the world’s best l/o since 2008. That includes Stegmann. In Stegmann’s test debut he took a lineout ball.
What’s the probelm?
Having fast feet/reaction is often worth more at the l/o than an extra 10 centimetres.
Steggies took about 6 or 7 balls that I can remember in the S15 this year, what’s the problem?
I don’t know if any of you noticed, but South Africa are not struggling in this area, and that is together with shortshit flanks like Brussow and Steggies.
19 Jul 2011, 13:47 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-255:
And Carlos was a draw Machine,never won games and played boring football…went on to be a supersized flop at Madrid and with Portugal as well.Hi claim to face was that Junior Portugese team that won u20 WC I think in early 90′s with Figo,Cuoto,Rui Costa,Baia etc but never achiever much after that-always rode that.Best as an assistant where he was good at Man U. He brought the fancy suit look to footy now Guardiola and the bots followed suit…(excuse pun)..about the only good thing he did for soccer lol
19 Jul 2011, 13:50 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-46:
What you talking about?
Stegmann is the fastest flank in SA. And no, this is not because he was clocked at 10.9 seconds over 100m (faster than many internatioanl wingers), we’ve seen him prior to his hamstring injury reel in backs all the time.
And I don’t know if you saw his handling, it’s better than any other flank too, he almost never makes an error.
Really a bit tired of this, I would just like to point out where you people give your uninformed opinions.
You don’t have to know anything to have an opinion, but it’s a bit silly. This shows that people sit around and guess at what this or that player appears to be so that they have something to post on forums to participate in a discussion.
19 Jul 2011, 13:56 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-261: South Africa team against mexico in 2010
16 Khune
02 Gaxa
04 Mokoena Captain
15 Thwala (Masilela, 45 Yellow card)
20 Khumalo
08 Tshabalala
10 Pienaar
11 Modise
12 Letsholonyane
13 Dikgacoi Yellow card
09 Mphel
pienaar in the team because even you ethnocentric superblacks could not deny the man’s brilliance ,although on some ethnocentric superblack football blogs before the wc some actually called for him to be replaced.
19 Jul 2011, 13:59 pm
@topaz(topaz)-265: Apart from Franklin Cale which coloured player can in your opinion feel aggrieved at not making the team?
19 Jul 2011, 14:04 pm
@topaz(topaz)-265: what is an ethnocentric superblack?
19 Jul 2011, 14:05 pm
@topaz(topaz)-265: you are so white its funny.
19 Jul 2011, 14:05 pm
@Staal(Staal)-235:
Hey Staal, kwaai om jou weer hier te sien man!
Nee fokit ek het vroeer gelees toe is alles nog lekker civil, en n uur later sien ek die kak spat alle kante toe weer!
Ek kan nie meer byhou nie!
19 Jul 2011, 14:06 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-267: Its an ET-term.
He latched unto it like a leech.
19 Jul 2011, 14:06 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-269: Are you new here?
19 Jul 2011, 14:09 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-267: a big headed dark person
19 Jul 2011, 14:09 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-266: it’s not about who makes the current team but it’s about equality and fair treatment for all at every level of the game.we can attack white people ,in terms of rugby, day in and day out for basically the same thing but then we keep a blind eye to how these ethnocentric superblacks conduct football business in sa.what’s good for the goose is good for the gander i say.i will be the conscience for these ethnocentric superblacks on here and elsewhere and will not be silenced.
19 Jul 2011, 14:10 pm
Hell I’m glad they didn’t put Johnson at 7 but Danie, unlike these keo okes said they would.
19 Jul 2011, 14:10 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-270: old corpus invented it?
the scientist in him should have simply used “afrocentric “.
one word only.
but he is a corpus.
19 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-255:
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-261:
the problem with sa football is that we reward failure, plain and simple. its not so much a question of quota placements, sure picking on merit is the best way to go, but if safa does indeed do that it would be less the point.
what should happen when the team plays poorly is they should be sshat on from dizzy heights from all and sundry. from the coaches, the country, the bloggers, the wags and even their moms. basically from everybody. they must learn to associate losing with very bad vibrations.
same for winning. when the team does well, then and only then should they be applauded and giving the ‘lurve’ from everybody.
couple that with euro style coaching, training and management and they’d make their way up the rankings for sure.
19 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-264:
Dude,if all that is so true-indeed it might be.Half the guys on the international circuit are half the athlete Stegmann you profess he is.Even Richie McCaw who for almost 10 years has been the standard in open side play. I havent witnesses Stegmann influence entire gameplans/strategies against him even at Superrugby level but the likes of McCaw,Pocock,Brussow have mean mentioned in that light.
Why not Stegmann then? Who has been in Bulls since 2007,this is his 5 th of pro rugby.
Because many can argue that with his accolades he is no different in terms of his importance to the Bulls yet not so at international level(even though he hasnt played enough games i will give him that) to a Wynand Olivier or say Reuben Thorn-who was even AB captain at some point yet you wont see anyone mentioning him on pantheon level of loosies in the sport.
Barring Bulls fans & Heyneke Meyer (who has called many right and his fair share wrong in his time)-the praise for the bloke is few and far between accross the antipodean and the north hemisphere add rest of SA.
What dont the rest of us not in Bulls set up nor fanbase?? because clearly in your eyes he SHOULD be the standard in SA at the VERY LEAST.
19 Jul 2011, 14:12 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-271:
Haha, touche.
Guess I am not spending as much time on here as per normal, work killing me at the moment.
19 Jul 2011, 14:13 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-267: google the word ethnocentric. you know you are second to transie when it comes to using that medium.
19 Jul 2011, 14:14 pm
@Porto(Porto)-272: ah, here i was thinking it was some kind of musical instrument.
its been banged about enough over the last few days.
@topaz(topaz)-273: nobody here gives a toss about soccer buddy, well very few do.
why are you using the eternal cry of the loser anyway?
“(sob) (sob) it..it…its not faaaaaaaaaaaaair…(sob) (sob)”
since when is life “fair” you big girl.
19 Jul 2011, 14:14 pm
Well guys , i am not complaining this time round. I would love to see how this rookie springbok performs , these guys will have to step up because we are loosing a couple of old springboks next year. So yes lets see how these guys do during the 3N. Hopefully they can play Spies ,Habanna out of the bok team
19 Jul 2011, 14:15 pm
@topaz(topaz)-279: second to transie?
what an honour!
that guy is fast man, really fast.
unlike you
19 Jul 2011, 14:15 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-261: I’m referring to what Khoza and crew did in 2001/2. Not what is currently happening now. In 2001/2 the best available players in that 36month period happened to be coloured and that didn’t seat well with the establishment. I remember that era as clear as daylight, I was hands on involved with SAFA.
I remember Nassif Morris hearing about his injury on TV, he wasn’t injured, SAFA wanted OJ Mabizela, and justice was served on SAFA and the nation when OJ overlapped and exposed Bafana against Mali, we lost in the Quarters of the 2002 Afcon.
There was a declared stance against coloureds, Baring-Batho Kortjas and the Sowetan newspaper were the dogs of war used. Since Carlos Qiueroz left in 2002, Bafana started their free fall until Alberto Perreira arrived in preparation for the 2010
19 Jul 2011, 14:20 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-270: yes,et used the term superblack and i only added term ethnocentric or ethnocentrism.makes for a good combination don’t you think?
19 Jul 2011, 14:23 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-277:
“Dude,if all that is so true-indeed it might be.Half the guys on the international circuit are half the athlete Stegmann you profess he is.Even Richie McCaw who for almost 10 years has been the standard in open side play. I havent witnesses Stegmann influence entire gameplans/strategies against him even at Superrugby level but the likes of McCaw,Pocock,Brussow have mean mentioned in that light.
Why not Stegmann then? Who has been in Bulls since 2007,this is his 5 th of pro rugby.”
Firstly, you are wrong, Steggies has only been at teh bulls since 2008,
Secondly, you say that the team with the likes of McCaw don’t do planning re Stegmann.
Oh really? Well if they didn’t you can bet your arse they will be kicking themselves if you think of results like Bulls vs Saders 2009 Semi, 2010 Semi, 2010 league match etc.
19 Jul 2011, 14:24 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-263: Ask Alex Ferguson or anyone who knows football more than just the anecdotal stuff that gets thrown around by media. Ask yourself these questions, how many managers in the world get to manage Real Madrid, How many managers get to manage Portugal and what was his contribution to an aging Man Utd team.
If a manager doesn’t win the league with Real Madrid, he is considered a flop, is Manuel Pellegrini a flop?, in fact if Mourinho didn’t get the Kings Cup, he would be considered a flop as well
19 Jul 2011, 14:27 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-283: i applaud you for your honesty xhosa.great post.that was one of the major reasons why i stopped supprting bafana.currently i don’t think many coloured players deserved to be picked for bafana.
19 Jul 2011, 14:27 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-285: Do the words “restraining order” mean anything to you?
19 Jul 2011, 14:29 pm
@topaz(topaz)-279:
i still do hope you will apologise for this, please. it was a step too far and i’m sure you’re a better man than that. i enjoy your stuff more often than not, as i’m sure do others (though they may not admit it). do the good thing and bring back equilibrium to the universe. again, i say, please?
just to remind you:
59.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment
18 Jul 2011, 11:28 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-58: don’t flatter yourself **** removed **** and user banned.
19 Jul 2011, 14:29 pm
The greatest Bok team I’ve seen in my livetime are:
1. Os du Randt
2. Uli Schmit
3. Flippie van der Merwe
4. Mark Andrews
5. Victor Matfield
6. Ruben Kruger
7. Gert Smal
8. Jannie Breedt
9. Joost van der Westhuizen
10.Naas Botha
11. Breyton Paulse
12. Danie Gerber
13. Jaques Fourie
14. Bryan Habana
15. Andre Joubert
19 Jul 2011, 14:31 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-288:
Yeah, that’s like the order of magnitude of metamorphism that undergoes during re-folding denoted by the symbol psi, right?
19 Jul 2011, 14:31 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-291:
*that a reef undergoes*
19 Jul 2011, 14:33 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-291: um….ja. OK.
Is that known as the Steg-thagorous theorem?
19 Jul 2011, 14:33 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-285:
i like transformation, but he often blows sshit out his aarse. not often but he does. sometime he turns the fan on too.
19 Jul 2011, 14:34 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-283:
fair enough.But even under Stuart Baxter there was not much change, then Mashaba,Moloto,Phumo,Santana etc etc so I think more of it had to do with multiple changes in coaching and the mess at Saffa due to incompetence of likes of Molefe Oliphant,Raymond Hack and the like….
Nassief Morris while highly rated by Panathanakois etc never really played well for bafana bafana…At times was along with Mokoena part of reason for losses.Pienaar until of late while largely ineffectual for Bafana as well even when at Ajax making Patrick Viera a fool in those Champs league games in mid 2000′s. It happens like Landon Donovan for USA,Messi for Argentina,Ibrahimovic for Sweden etc Arguably their best individual players and exports but not as influencial in national set up as one would expect with other less gifted players in same national sides playing better.
19 Jul 2011, 14:36 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294:
oh i’m sorry transformation. i was actually referring to mshinwam. hehe
19 Jul 2011, 14:37 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-296:
no, no sshit! i’m sorry again mshinwam. i was in fact referring to transformation.
19 Jul 2011, 14:38 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294:
…uh, you mean Mshini? Nobody like Transie…..
19 Jul 2011, 14:39 pm
sshit i’m confused!
19 Jul 2011, 14:39 pm
OK what the hell’s going on here?
Let’s all agree naughty boy, we all like Mshini, we dislike Transie.
19 Jul 2011, 14:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-293:
Naw dude, that’s Mohr’s principle. :s
you should ask for a refund from your 8th grade teacher……
19 Jul 2011, 14:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-300:
ja no, just nevermind i said anything.
19 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
leave Transie alone.
He’s cool.
Sharper than many of the bloggers on here.
Likes to stir the pot a bit but hey, this is KEO after all…..
19 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-302:
Don’t worry man, what you said was partly the truth, which is more than keo’s writers say and they get payed for it, so……..
19 Jul 2011, 14:45 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-301: That would be maff’s right???
19 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303:
Do the words “restraining order” mean anything to you?
19 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-285:
Im not wrong, he made his CC debut in 2007
Secondly Stegmann is hardly signalled out as a primary threat. Yet the other names i mentioned earlier have been spoken of in such a manner.
And lastly you have not answered any of the questions I asked on the post because I would like to see where your point of departure is emanating from regarding praise for Stegman and belief to the extent that you allude to him deserving to be the STANDARD of openside play in SA even somewhat /large extent downgrading Brussow’s impact or value especially in comparison to Stegmann.
19 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-289: i will consider your recommendation.
19 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-305:
maff?
Sheer strain is a mof’s right though………
19 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-283: was this the work of “ethnocentric superblacks” or a certain clique in JOHANNESBURG that think they and only they run football? now pass on the infromation to our latter-day struggle hero topaz/valkryie/capo./lukeisbaas who goes around calling people the k-word in his supposed fight against super blacks
19 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303:
agreed
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-304:
agreed
we can have our cake and eat it, the glass can be both full and empty
19 Jul 2011, 14:51 pm
@topaz(topaz)-308:
thank you sir.
sincerely.
19 Jul 2011, 14:51 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309: Maffs. you know? what you do when you take one fing and add another fing?
Sometimes you subtract one fing from anudder fing, but I never got to that part….
19 Jul 2011, 14:58 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-307:
Well thanks for taking the time to do your research. You said “Bulls” not blue bulls, and you were referring to Stegmann in the Bulls environment, you don’t blame me for pointing out that you were wrong.
No big deal.
And as for the rest Mshini, I cannot make up for the spectator’s opinions and likes and dislikes and provincialism etc.
If it comes down to something we can all agree in-part on: stats, like 100m sprint times and total work rate stats and minutes played etc. then sure, it is ok to post those.
I was pointing out to Bryce that Stegmann is the fastest flank in SouthAfrica, so I dunno where he gets off calling him slow, we know this is not the case.
And this is why I said that casual fans sit around and make stuff up or refer to another’s comments to form an opinion so that they have something to talk about and participate in the discussion.
They complain about penalties, then they are using a stat themselves, they don’t see the irony in this when they criticize me for using stats more fully.
How can you say player A is a “penalty machine” at 4 more penalties than player B when both A and B conceded in a certain area where player A has done 30% more work, or in some cases 50% more work than the player you are compairing him to that somehow escapes this stigma that you are so eagre to lable with?? And player A then conceeds at a lower rate too.
Doesn’t make any sense and people are just as arrogant and ignorant as they’ve ever been. Particularly since this is OUR talent. They are proud to boast about OUR talent and depth in loosies, but then turn right around and disparage an upcoming loosie because of their provincialism and just all round stupidity.
19 Jul 2011, 14:58 pm
ai ,why is div picking meisiekind, ? could never make the step up to international rugby …eish
19 Jul 2011, 15:02 pm
@daneb(daneb)-315:
because meisiekind is in the b team. wont make the a team.
19 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306: hey, I’d stick up for you too mister!
In spite of your Stegman fetish, which I might add, is bordering on the obsessive.
But that’s not a professional opinion, more like a casual observation.
19 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
@daneb(daneb)-315:
ai, huaw, eish, poo-kaka, hayibo
19 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-310:
xhosakid has dropped the k bomb before…
admittedly it was after the stormers lost.
so he may have been a bit emotional.
I am starting to think he is a mielie boer from klerksdorp….
19 Jul 2011, 15:10 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-317:
I am not obsessed SB. Refer to my post#314 and realize that this is best illustrated around the Stegmann debate on these forums. That is why.
Unfortunately it pops up so often because they never leave me alone on the topic and in some cases try trolling like Transie (which is fine), and there is a never-ending stream of ignoramuses that need to be educated. Keo should add me to the payroll.
19 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-320: mmmmm. I did use the word bordering.
You do set yourself up for some of those posts though, Highly amusing as the back and forth is….
19 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-320:
I saw a huge ignoramus last time I visited the kruger.
south africa is famous for them.
there are so many that we are going to have to think about culling a few to ensure the survival of the species.
we will start with valkyrie as he weakens the gene pool and adds nothing to the sum of human knowledge.
19 Jul 2011, 15:15 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-286:
Carlos Queiroz has coached some pretty impressive teams but still doesnt take away the fact that he was an average manager when he was head coach and won little when he was at helm of any team.Real Madrid are hardly the quintessential example of prudent governance & procurement excellence especially after Galacticos era and firing Victor Del Bosque which was pathetic.That season he got fired he had the Spanish Double.Real proceeded in hiring Queiroz who with little top flight success got job ahead of many other candidates with better resumes.
Legend has it that he was hired by Valentino Perez the improve the aesthetic model/image of Madrid to go along with Galactico tag….The fat but tactically astute Del bosque didnt “fit the bill”.Sh*t Madrid hired the diabolical Juande Ramos after his Tottenham stuff up who is now coaching in Russia somewhere & Pellegrini was also less than effective neither.
This is a club and President that bought Beckham to sell shirts and tap into and increase market share in Asia where Becham was extremely popular….And sell the engine of team-Claude Makalele.Portugal were desperate after Scolari.They struggled to qualify for WC 2010 under Queiroz and did dismally.
Best role for Queiroz is assistant or junior team manager.
The bloke is average.
19 Jul 2011, 15:17 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-319:
19 Jul 2011, 15:19 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-322:
Firstly, Valkyrie is a “HE”. I thought it was a “SHE”. So I stopped guessing and I refer to it as an “IT”.
Gunther, culling? Hell, you might be the Illuminati’s SA correspondant to usher in a new world order.
Maybe culling is too strong a word. Like the Gunny says, we should perhaps just rip it’s balls off so that it cannot contaminate the rest of the world, even if it shortdicks every cannibal in the Congo.
19 Jul 2011, 15:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-310: It was not Ethnowhatever blacks, it was the Soweto mafia, who couldnt take a starting 11 that contained only 3 black africans.
Carlos’s team that qualified for Korea/Japan was deemed not black enough by the Soweto mafia, instead of Vonk/Arendse, they preferred John Tlale, LOL!!!. Back then Bafana were in the world Top 30 and Top 5 in Africa the team was had Hans Vonk, Nassif Morris, Mattew Booth, that’s 3 out of the back 5 “non-black”
Delron Buckley, Quinton Fortune, Eric Tinkler, Steven Pienaar,Sbusiso Zuma, were the heart of the midfield, that’s only 1 black there on merit, Benni and Nomvethe upfront, thats only 3 blacks in the starting 11, this didn’t seat well with the Soweto mafia.
19 Jul 2011, 15:23 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-325:
valkyrie lost his balls long ago.
he is saving up for the rest of the operation.
he is still a hit with the sailors though.
ever since he lost his gag reflex in a poker game.
19 Jul 2011, 15:23 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-319: Why you speak ill of me in my presence, have you no shame?
19 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
Um the answer to that would be a big NO! lol
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-328:
jammer meneer
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-319: a mielie boer, that wishes hondo to be shot “farm murder” style? i don’t know hey, doesn’t sound foolproof
19 Jul 2011, 15:26 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-328:
Yeah, that’s damn shamful.
We all know it’s best if he speaks ill of you behind your back.
19 Jul 2011, 15:28 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-323: Vincente de Bosque, Fiorentino Perez
19 Jul 2011, 15:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-331:
maybe he is an agent provocateur?
try to stir up the keo right wing so that they start lynching the you know whos.
or can you vouch for him because you went to Dale together?
19 Jul 2011, 15:33 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-327: still feeling sore about that gunther isa nazi rent-boy bit.geez man.you have an unhealthy interest in valkyrie.what valkyri did to to you was a bit of a low blow but it’s now time to get over it and let the healing process start.
19 Jul 2011, 15:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-333:
Got the names wrong-kancane anyway- but gist of the story has plenty merit. That era was a joke,Perez ruined the club with all that kak…..Galactico my gat
19 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-334: he went to Dale, not me
19 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
haha, wished a farm murder on him… Hondo’s relentless trolling is finally paying dividends
19 Jul 2011, 15:40 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-336: he got the presidency back and now is orchestrating his vengeance against the catalans with mourinho
19 Jul 2011, 15:41 pm
There can be little argument that the newbies picked for Saturday have been form players during the Super 15. That the coach has also granted some of the “lesser” Springboks an opportunity to proove their worth is also laudable. There is little room for argument that Guthro Steenkamp and Beast Mtawarira are the incumbent looseheads, but Greyling had a strong Super Rugby season and will no doubt challenge for more game time as a Bok in seasons to come. Smit is the reigning World Cup captain and desperatley needs game time at hooker, while Chilliboy has produced some of his best rugby towards the end of the Super season. With Jannie du Plessis, BJ Botha and CJ vd Linde ahead in the pecking order, but mostly leaning towards the older side, Kruger is another who has done enough to earn a call up. Apart from du Plessis and the experienced vd Linde there are few tighthead contenders apart from Kruger.
Johan Muller may be based abroad, but has been a long-standing member of the Bok setup and it is only natural he gets a chance to show what he can offer. Flip vd Merwe is the incumbent backup to Bakkies and also needs some hard game time.
The loose trio stays faithful to Div’s pecking order with Stegman getting a chance to build on his end of year tour. Again he was ahead of keegan Daniel last year in the coaches pecking order and remains so this season.
Danie Roussow at blindside is a straight forward pick and should Juan Smith suffer any setbacks will no doubt push Willem Alberts hard for the 7 jersey, why not see how he shapes.
Ashley Johnson may not have been consistently brilliant, but was a massive presence for the Cheetahs and his physical style may proove far more suited to the Bok gameplan than Kankowski, who has also been less of a factor this year. Add to this Pierre Spies’ poor impact this season and there is much to play for at the back of the scrum.
Ruan Pienaar needs no justification, while giving him and Morne Steyn some game time to find each other is a smart play by Div. They could well be asked to partner up in a crunch game should anything happen to Fourie du Preez at the World Cup.
Wynand Olivier has been a long-time understudy at 12 and there are many who feel that de Jongh is better suited to 13 anyway. Again with the first-choice centre pairing absent, this is really a test of the backup players.
The back three are all end-of-year Boks and Aplon in particular will want to stake the backup spot at fullback. Zane Kirchner has not really kicked on.
I don’t think this is a bad team at all, many are the future in their positions, while some are in dire need of some good game time. If one takes the time to see the logic of Div, one can conclude that he has simply stayed true to his vision of the Bok team needed to win the World Cup. Wether or not he succeeds remains to be seen!
19 Jul 2011, 15:43 pm
@topaz(topaz)-335:
sorry.
I was paying you a compliment.
you bring much needed foregn currency into the country.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-320: Dude, seriously, one can make STATS do anything you want to, Stegman is useless, he is very fortunate we have so little talent in the open-side flank position. I doubt he will make the starting 15 for any of the top 10 international nations.
Personally I would have picked Daniel ahead of him.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-332: That’s a natural thing to do…
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-338: interesting comment from old transie?
19 Jul 2011, 15:53 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-338: at least he disappeared since then or changed his nic temporary.
19 Jul 2011, 15:53 pm
I would probably have gone with Lambie at 15 and Keegan ahead of Deon.
19 Jul 2011, 15:55 pm
@coma(coma)-342:
It’s the openside’s job to set the tone at the breakdown.
The total OOA1-3 of the rucks is:
Stegmann 561 (played 1070 minutes)
Daniel 257 (played 1140 minutes)
OK, since you prefer Daniel, take those stats and make him look good with it, make the stats “say whatever you want them to”, bring any other stats you like into the discussion, obviously the opening line is the focal point.
You cannot make any stats say whatever you want them to.
19 Jul 2011, 15:55 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-346: yes because you’re a biased sharks fan…aplon is koning
19 Jul 2011, 15:57 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-347: are you saying keegan played more minutes than stegmann?
19 Jul 2011, 15:59 pm
Can’t see anything other than a good solid beating for these second stringers. A saving grace is that this Bok side is not playing against Samao this weekend. That would have been a laugh.
19 Jul 2011, 15:59 pm
@coma(coma)-342:
oh no! please not daniel? from harping on about stegman to daniel? really guy, really?
19 Jul 2011, 16:00 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-345: it was a good job, i don’t think i’ve ever seen anyone able to keep him quiet
19 Jul 2011, 16:01 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-250: 5.6 and you weigh 90kgs :shock, thats very bad Shaun. I am the same height and I am 54kg and sometimes 53kg. You are a mega teletubby and need to loose weight before you have a heart attack.
19 Jul 2011, 16:05 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-353: lol
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-353: Um….can we have a photo??
(not you shaun)
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-353:
Furthermore, your 54 kg’s are in all the right places.
Whereas shaun looks like a shaved ewok.
19 Jul 2011, 16:06 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-355:
19 Jul 2011, 16:07 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-355:
19 Jul 2011, 16:07 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-347:
Stegmann fromm your stats seems to have a very high workrate,fair enough.Very much like a Phil Waugh and of late Beau Robinson- who could never smell Smith nor recently Pocock Now the question is ruck presence and workrate is all well and dandy but how many POSITIVE contribution has he made at those points,how is his accuracy at those points and overall efficiency ??
One thing i noticed from Phil Waugh especially in comparison to Smith was that he seemed to have a higher workrate-busy player at ruck points but positive contributions were lesser than Smith’s and accurary wasnt as impressive however “tenacious” he was.
Stegmann reminds me of once highly rated Ben Herring(of Hurricanes fame & played for Junior All Blacks)
19 Jul 2011, 16:10 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-346: Aplon is way better than lambie.thankfully pdv agrees with my assessment.
19 Jul 2011, 16:11 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-353: you, his BMI is moer toe
19 Jul 2011, 16:11 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-357: @Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-358:
Doesn’t hurt to ask….
19 Jul 2011, 16:13 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-361: Am I correct in saying he’s about 1.7 m?
19 Jul 2011, 16:13 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148:
When I read comments like this in retaliation to comments like this:
@Hondo(Hondo)-141:
I have to ask myself what am I doing here. I have to ask whether Cardinelli and Vrede have forgotten on which shelf they left the rusty banhammer.
Instead of censoring words like monkey, you keo staff should rather focus on removing comments like those that serve no point.
19 Jul 2011, 16:14 pm
for those who need a good laugh this is classic:
“Christo Buchner
Johannesburg – Luckily for the Sharks, their performance against the Bulls in Durban was much more impressive than their new-look mascot.
Sharky – a popular mascot for the Sharks over the last number of years – has undergone a metamorphosis.
After the “new” Sharky was announced with much excitement a few weeks ago, it was disappointing to see a character that much rather resembles a Ninja Turtle or a bullfrog.
The old Sharky was much more athletic than the new version and also looked more like a Shark.
In fact, the new Sharky one is quite a comical character – sure to much rather be made a mockery of than being feared by opponents.
This character with his white pants and slippers will probably look much more at home at a Bowls club.
Like some fan said on Saturday: “If that is how sharks look, no one will be afraid of them.”
“
19 Jul 2011, 16:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-349:
Yes, I think so.
19 Jul 2011, 16:16 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-353: very unfair to compare the weight to height ratio between a man and a woman…..unless you are a german rent-boy like gunther.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-363:
langers would fit inside my golf bag.
apart from his head of course.
which is massive.
if buddha and that karin nortje from idols had children…..
@topaz(topaz)-344: sorry, i was referring to comment 148… one for the scrap book
19 Jul 2011, 16:19 pm
@topaz(topaz)-360: @Transformation(Transformation)-348: I’d have Aplon at 14 and Lambie at 15.
19 Jul 2011, 16:19 pm
@topaz(topaz)-367: Dude a 90 kg 1.7 human being is fat.
Male. Female. You.
Anysexyoucanthinkof.
19 Jul 2011, 16:20 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-362: pervert
19 Jul 2011, 16:21 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-365:
hahahahahaha
oh dear, did they make sharkies face a likeness of kanko’s or daniel’s?
19 Jul 2011, 16:22 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-368:
I see Karin confessed to her Mandrax habit. But Im pretty you had that in mind when typing.
19 Jul 2011, 16:23 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-371: what if you’re like superbuff from gyming
19 Jul 2011, 16:23 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-374:
moi?
19 Jul 2011, 16:24 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-359:
Well yes, of course. But even if he was sloppy, which he isn’t, you still can’t account for less than half that figure by Daniel. You can’t do anything if you aren’t AT LEAST present at the ruck.
In your Waugh vs Smith comparison, I think Smith had a huge work rate himself, he was leading last year in the S14 before his injury and retirement from SH rugby.
And re accuracy: well, I’m sure that you’ve seen the Bulls games. Stegmann gets penalized LESS than another top flanker PER breakdown (rate). Does this say nothing about accuracy?
Some poor sods that I read say that Stegmann doesn’t have ears and the ref shouts hands off and he doesn’t listen etc. Here is an example of a casual uninformed fan. It’s part of slowing down the ball and you and I know.
If the Boks want to play the breakdowns like the Bulls (only with better players) then you need to rely on your 3, 4 and 6 in that department.
Anyway, comment further on what you expect should be efficiency at these points.
19 Jul 2011, 16:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-372: What’s your point?
19 Jul 2011, 16:25 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-373: I was there at the stadium on Saturday, you have to see it to believe it. Think the marketing team might take a bit of flak for this one.
19 Jul 2011, 16:26 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-378:
he’s telling you to get in line.
19 Jul 2011, 16:27 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-375: You’d still have a gut at 90 kgs. Buff would put you in around 80 – 83 kgs.
19 Jul 2011, 16:27 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-371: keep your knickers on.ffs you don’t need to respond to all of my posts.we’ve got a rent-boy on here in the form of gunther that will gladly fulfill your daily needs.
19 Jul 2011, 16:29 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-380:
19 Jul 2011, 16:31 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-379:
hehehehe
i smell a rat. i smell plum trying to shift focus from the teams performance or his ‘lazy’ midfield selections
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-359:
Sorry, I forgot to add to my post 377, that the discrepency in that stat of Stegmann (561) vs Daniel (257) is not just down to accuracy.
There will ALWAYS be more rucks than you can handle. The challenge is to get to them. You cannot say as a type of defence that “Oh Daniel was perhaps more accurate, and therefore he didn’t need to be present at as many”. That’s rubbish.
Daniel stayed off the rucks to maneuver himself into position so that he could get more carries in space. Only Alberts did his by instruction. Then you have Kanko as 8th man. Daniel’s work at the rucks (and thus what the Boks are expecting of him) was sub-standard, he is behind Francois Louw in this regard too.
Either Daniel is lazy, incapable or under instruction (the latter I almost gaurantee he wasn’t at 6). Regardless he hasn’t demonstrated an appatite for work like Stegmann and that’s that, whether he is capable or not.
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-375:
langers is SUPERBUFFETED….
fark sorry caps
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-379:
what happened to the old sharks mascot?
did barney eat him?
19 Jul 2011, 16:34 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-385:
Also, anyone who’s ever tried spreading himself to reach the rucks knows that over the duration of a match you’d much rather stand in the line and wait to carry a ball or support the men on your inside if the ball doesn’t reach you.
Running metres with the ball, you can get over 100 a match. The metres run between breakdowns is BY FAR greater. ANd then the real bloody tiring work starts when you get there.
So this nonsense of accuracy vs those numbers and b/d attendance vs carries is just silly when it comes to our openside flanks.
19 Jul 2011, 16:34 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-386: lol
19 Jul 2011, 16:35 pm
i dont understand the point of this. daniel is never going to be a bok unless/until he bulks up, period.
the guys too small. 92kg’s and 1.86m
he may or may not lose mobility though?
19 Jul 2011, 16:36 pm
@coma(coma)-342:
Anyway Coma, I’m still waiting for your reply to post #347 and after, if you care to back what you say…..take your time.
19 Jul 2011, 16:37 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-387:
hahahahahahaha
lmao
hahahaha
19 Jul 2011, 16:37 pm
if anybody wonders what valyrie looks like, go look at IOL website now.
there is a picture alongside the story of his trial.
apparently lost his cool with the prosecutor
hahahahahaha
19 Jul 2011, 16:38 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-365: the pic on sport24 bwahahahahahaha that Sharks mascot look dodgy
19 Jul 2011, 16:39 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-384: ha ha could be …
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-390:
That Bradley Scottish flanker is just 94Kgs, he was man of the match when they beat the Springboks last year.
@Transformation(Transformation)-394: super dodgy
19 Jul 2011, 16:41 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-396:
Oh yeah, and to all those who talk **** about horse for courses: that was on Scotlands wet “heavy” field, so…..
19 Jul 2011, 16:43 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-377:
“If the Boks want to play the breakdowns like the Bulls (only with better players) then you need to rely on your 3, 4 and 6 in that department.”
Interesting… no Bulls player even ranked in the top 20 ‘turnovers’ in this years S15… the top 6 were hookers lead by BDP… even Habana made the T10…
Stegman was 20th on the list for pilfers… where he was totally out-ranked by Derick Minnie and ironical;y Daniels with less game-time… the same with pick-and-drive stats where not one Bull ranked in the T20…
Yes Stegman had excellent tackle stats ( he was 20th with a good hit/miss ratio but still behind Morne and WO in this respect)… but no he does not have the rest of the skills-set the McCaws and Pococks have around the paddock… he’s been limited into thinking that’s all an open-sider does much like many on this site…
The Bulls biggest disappointment this year for mine was that they simply could not get the correct balance amongst their loosies with both Spies and DWP with Stegman…not too mention they had two impact-less hookers (no disrespect to GB but he’s past it)…
Wepener not a bad signing… but where are the Adriaan Strauss’ in the 2012 set-up?
19 Jul 2011, 16:44 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-396:
I think his name is Barkley, Jonathan.
19 Jul 2011, 16:45 pm
@charo(charo)-393:
those poodles mustn’t flaunt themselves.
speaking of beautiful phrases I see Pink Floyd Shivambu said the league was “utterly disgusted” by Chamber of Mines chief executive Bheki Sibiya’s “ventilations and rantings”.
19 Jul 2011, 16:47 pm
Yet again you like others compare Daniel to Stegman… apples with oranges…
Compare Daniel with Johnson… same role played… for the most part specifically defence (where AJ was the worst loose-forward in the competion, in fact the 4th worst player overall) Daniel shaded him… except line-breaks and tries which is where AJ was noticed by so many…
19 Jul 2011, 16:47 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-398: @Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-398: admit it that you boy is ****.if moody’s had to rate him they would have given him junk status similar to what they have just did to the irish economy.
19 Jul 2011, 16:50 pm
http://www.rugbystats.com.au/rugby/super15/player-stats.html?refresh=1311086846242
All the ARU S15 stats (up to semi’s) summarised and complied in conjunction with the SMH…
I have plenty more in-depth individual stats too if you want them…
19 Jul 2011, 16:52 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-399:
15th and there were 13 ties, so….
Daniel played more than Stegmann.
And pifering is not the main job of “fetchers”.
A direct pilfer or t/o is nice. But there are many cases where they simply won’t be recorded because of the nature of rucks.
Or even this:
Watch the Bulls-Highlanders game, the stats do not record this:
The loose ball was scrapped by Adam Thomson, and Stegmann arrived there a few splitseconds later and bent Thomson over and reached around to Thomson’s backside and slapped the ball back towards the Bulls side. After the game no t/o was giving to Stegmann for this. Because it was considered a knockon.
There are many more incidences where a flank will greatly aid in a t/o or initiate one, but these are a very difficult area of the game to score. Plain attendance at the ruck not so hard, but what goes on down theree can be.
But there you have it.
19 Jul 2011, 16:53 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-377:
Ok fair enough.Daniel isnt a true opensider-should be compared to Potgieter who falls into the same category.not a true opensider, no a true blindside.somewhere in the middle,difference is Daniel seems to have more of X-factor when it comes to ball in hand(linebreaks,off loads).Stegman doesnt fall in this category as he is a true opensider
Now regarding Smith/Waugh-in the mif 2000′s around 2005-07/8′ especially there was a time Waugh seemed to surpass Smith in workrate leading to the more skilled Smith to move to 8 then later bench which I never understood.As busy as Waugh was he was nowhere as effective as Smith who tended to pick his moments very well for effectiveness,seemed to get turnover at crucial moments of games, slow game down at crucial times with little penalty count against him.
Your acccurary comment I guess you are alluding to Frans Louw-who personally I dont see as the answer as blindside but rate them in same region with Stegmann.Now in slowing the ball down-does Stegmann really effect this very well? Because I have watched Bulls games where he hasnt listen to ref repeatedly.He tends to do it in the red zone/inside own half at well especially around 10 and 22m area.Now i could be mistaken by i see this more from him than the other flankers,it may indeed be due to his higher workrate but he does seem NOT to pick his moments well enough at times.
Now my efficiency standpoint alludes to him being able to pick his moment especially at crucial periods in a game to effect turnovers (much like Matfield in his prime concerning lineouts) instead of just rabidly contesting EVERY single breakdown rendering him ineffective at times and tend to seem to e giveing away penalties because also refs play into that way of thought.
19 Jul 2011, 16:54 pm
Whatever happened to Harry the Beachwalker, Sheriff et al
19 Jul 2011, 16:55 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-402:
No mate, they are vying for one position in one team, and they compared him for the job above Stegmann, so I’m just helping, contributing to the debate. See?
It is not apples and oranges.
19 Jul 2011, 16:55 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-396: where was stegmann? mr vanish
19 Jul 2011, 16:56 pm
@topaz(topaz)-403:
Wow super comment. Refer to post #320.
19 Jul 2011, 16:58 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-364: Isn’t it strange that you put a response first rather than the comment made?, is it just sheer coincidence that has no reflection on your state of mind?.
Besides my comment wouldn’t have been made of Cardinelli and co. made sure that relics like Hondo don’t spew forth their garbage on this forum.
19 Jul 2011, 16:59 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-399: i thought Daniels played less minutes than Steggies but Agile here quoted some stats, maybe he can TELL us where he got the “minutes played” by Daniels amd you can too Money_Man.
19 Jul 2011, 17:00 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-411: yea, a self-regulating forum is certainly better than someone issuing arbitary bans
19 Jul 2011, 17:00 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-406:
I’ve only read the 1st paragraph will return to it now, but just this:
“Daniel seems to have more of X-factor when it comes to ball in hand(linebreaks,off loads).Stegman doesnt fall in this category as he is a true opensider”
Like I said at 377, Daniel holds off and gets into position to run in space. Stegmann had slightly less than half the carries, gets his balls in a lot of traffic, but he had a gailine % of 79 vs daniel’s 69.
He is a very capable carrier, only he is under instruction to play a role of a real opensider at the Bulls, and last time I checked, that’s what the Boks wanted since they have plenty of top class ball carriers in other positions…
19 Jul 2011, 17:04 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-402:
Ashley Johnson also more effective at collision points,largely cleaning,support tackler and around the fringes he is more destructive on defense. The teckle efficiency or lack there of by AJ was also attributed to his form in the first 8 rounds of S15 where he wasnt up to scratch.After moving him to 7 and Raubenheimer to 8 and interchanging them according to situation his efficiency improved greatly in that regard.It a bit like the situation with Alberts who was smoking hot in everything till round 9 game vs Bulls where he was poor from then on till end of competition but you dont hear anyone lambasting Alberts and questioning his pedigree.
Would like to see stats from midpoint round 8 till end of S15 on both Johnson and Alberts.
19 Jul 2011, 17:06 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-406:
….and now for the rest:
“Now in slowing the ball down-does Stegmann really effect this very well? Because I have watched Bulls games where he hasnt listen to ref repeatedly.He tends to do it in the red zone/inside own half at well especially around 10 and 22m area.Now i could be mistaken by i see this more from him than the other flankers,it may indeed be due to his higher workrate but he does seem NOT to pick his moments well enough at times.”
Firstly, you have avoid the issue of Steggies vs Daniel in the numbers so far,
Secondly Juan Smith praised Stegmann’s ability to slow ball down last year in the Bok tests.
Lastly, the fact remains the penalty rate per b/d is still lower than that of Louw etc. He is not a penalty liabilty and there is nothing to worry about. He can play differently under unstruction and is a very capable carrier.
What about all the things that Steggies has illegally gotten away with for the last few years? That is great rugby, you can’t deny it, and that is what these guys get paid to get away with.
19 Jul 2011, 17:09 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-411:
….just what?
Emphasis on the “KID” in your nickname, isn’t that right Xhosakid?
19 Jul 2011, 17:13 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-414:
fair enough but that is why they cant truly be compared seeing the roles they are employed in.It like comparing Stegmann and Potgieter who are in same team and perform 2 different roles.
Stegmann’s effectiveness as a carrier is irrelevant due to the fact as you have acknowledged as much that he is employed mostly as a breakdown specialist which Keegan doesnt. Because if that is the case then we can also argue that Keegan isnt employed in true openside role but if given the role looking at his current breakdown ratio efficiency he “could be more effective” if he was employed that way.That means he would be at more rucks and workrate would be comparible to that of Stegmann who has double the rucks attended yet less than HALF the ball recieved as carrier(like Daniel who has more carries). Thn we would be operating in hypotheticals which is useless.
19 Jul 2011, 17:15 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-416: if Stegmann is the great player you believe he is, this should become all apparent in the next few weeks… and if this is the case, i’m sure people here will acknowledge this. i don’t think you’ll convince anyone with stats…
19 Jul 2011, 17:16 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-412:
You thought Daniel played less minutes than Steggies?
Well, I suppose you can’t be blamed, that would be the first guess when you see how much less work Daniel did than Steggies. Daniel played 1140 minutes, Steggies 1070 minutes, apparently.
So what do want to say about it? Some more tired “Vanishing” chirps?
19 Jul 2011, 17:18 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-419:
I agree with you, defintely.
Except with this statement: “and if this is the case, i’m sure people here will acknowledge this.”
Most won’t acknowledge this, they don’t care, they don’t have a reason for the things they’ve been saying all along, so why would they reverse themselves?
Here and there a guy will. The hatred or jealousy or whatever motivates these bloggers won’t go away.
19 Jul 2011, 17:20 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-416:
“Lastly, the fact remains the penalty rate per b/d is still lower than that of Louw etc. He is not a penalty liabilty and there is nothing to worry about. He can play differently under unstruction and is a very capable carrier.”
the above statement is still looking at hypotheticals..(employed by instructions etc) which is subjective thus baseless.Useless.
I did not see anything that involved Smith and praising of Stegmann so thats news to me.
What has he gotten away with?
19 Jul 2011, 17:24 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-422:
What has he gotten away with above the average loosie in competition? What are Stegmann’s stats compared to Wickus van Heerden in 2007 who operated within bulls strategy and seemed to get more recognition that Stegmann??? Honestly because now you are making it as if its a personal vendetta vs Stegmann and thats a stretch towards ludicrous
19 Jul 2011, 17:26 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-419: habana had the best stats of all the saffa wingers in the s15 and we all know what the majority of the bloggers think of him.birdie man just never will get it that stats alone is not enough for the keo crowd.deon ‘junk status’stegmann will need to improve immensely to change current thinking of him.
19 Jul 2011, 17:27 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-419:
no he wont acknowledge that point because he will say that Stegmann is to an extent an a handicap as he is playing with a “B team” and its not fair regarding his abilities. He alluded to such earlier in the week.
19 Jul 2011, 17:27 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-418:
No.
The comparison is NOT invalid since they are the closest in their roles in their respective unions and they are being compared here by others in vying for one job/role in one team, the Boks.
You cannot say in this instance that “Oh, ok, the oppsite is true, Keegan hit less than half the rucks of Steggies, because he was under instruction and he may be capable of matching Steggies work rate here if they wanted him to”….
The point is he didn’t. So now we will never know for this seaosn will we. Last year it was exactly the same. So now what?
Nice to say that he can hanlde it, what he hasn’t demonstrated it whether by his own “volition”, or instruction. He just hasn’t.
Stegmann’s carrynig efficiency is not irrelevant. Why do you say this? Because he is semi-confined to ruck duty? Nonsense. Watch the Bulls vs Crusaders 2009 semi-fianl: the Bulls were trailing by 20 points and they won that game. The two comeback tries were both sparks by strong Stegmann runs, and don’t tell me it isn’t so, because the game is available for everyone to see.
At close quarters, the ease with which Steggies has show that he can bash over the advantage line is a major luxury to the team. It is not irrelevant.
19 Jul 2011, 17:28 pm
rewarding form…. tell that to Jano Vermaak and Sarel Pretorius
19 Jul 2011, 17:31 pm
thank heavens we have Stegmann!
19 Jul 2011, 17:31 pm
OMG this is one k@K team!
19 Jul 2011, 17:32 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-422:
OK firstly refer to post 426, then
1) It’s not a baseless hypothetical. Saying a player that has FAR FEWER b/d stats like Daniel can be adapted to play like Stegmann is NOT the same as saying Stegmann can run the ball more with a higher g/l % AND speed.
This is not the same at all. Why can’t you see this?
2) Re Smith’s praise of Stegmann, well sorry you missed the interviews:
http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/rugby/article761495.ece/Stegmanns-big-fast-forward
19 Jul 2011, 17:33 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-429:
…Remember to cut along the artery NOT across…
19 Jul 2011, 17:33 pm
where are the rugby kenners around?
i want to know 1 thing..
can Jacque Fourie play 12…?
19 Jul 2011, 17:38 pm
i can already see agile blaming the rest of the pack for steggies disappearance act come this saturday.
19 Jul 2011, 17:38 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-402: DUDE, WHAT are u saying!
AJ was the best loosie in last 7 games of S15!
dont just talk trash bra. He, Messam and Fritz Lee propelled me to the top of the standings in our fantasy league so dont talk blasphemy hear mate
19 Jul 2011, 17:39 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-429: This is a cool team
19 Jul 2011, 17:39 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-431: Is it just me or are you also feeling the pain of this team? FORM??? He picked on FORM??? It is clear why he chose these plonkers. Oh plz oz THUMP this joke of a team,- it cuts me to say that but oh i want them to get snot-clapped!
19 Jul 2011, 17:41 pm
@shooter(shooter)-435: Do you REALLY think this is a good team? ***** bells!
19 Jul 2011, 17:41 pm
@topaz(topaz)-433:
Well the pack isn’t ideal and this is against the Wallabies and All Blacks’ A-teams, and this is also away at the Oval where we always get poor results, and this is the first couple of tests where team practice time is less than at the end…..
But now that Stegmann has fully recovered from a major injury and he’s fit, it won’t be neccesay to make those comments.
Back home, Brussow will get to play among more A-team players, this is a nice advantage to judge form.
19 Jul 2011, 17:44 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-415: its as if the comments here are coming from all the ppl that would’ve finished way below me in fantasy
what good is their opinion if they couldnt see that there were certain players that 2nd half of S15 they dominated. not enough though to then end up top of the list ALA liam Messam!
AJ was best performing loosie in 2nd half os S15 and outplayed crusaders loosies, bulls loosies TWICE and sharks loosies
19 Jul 2011, 17:44 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-436:
Some selections are not so great, but we are missing 23 players. Actually 24 if you count Brussow is also still missing.
Yes, the odds are against us, but we can still win. There may be positive things to take from these matches.
19 Jul 2011, 17:47 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-437: this is the best team available considering those that have been left at home
personally i would have had Super Sarel on bench
dropped Meisiekind and dropped Adi Jacobs
dunno wtf Jacobs is doing there
19 Jul 2011, 17:48 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-426:
The same argument can be used with Keegan who has taken more ball and carried more than double Stegmann with still a high effeicency ratio of 69%.
No you cant use specific roles to compare when it suits your agenda which you are doing with Keegan Daniel.I am discussing opensiders with you and did not compare Daniels and disputed your comparisons due to differing roles. The Sharks play effectively with no real openside and no one is employed in that manner through their own “volition” or not. The turnover mechanism used by team is mostly based on physicality at collision points and counterrucking(which was prevailent last yr and with day light rule has led to increase in turnover achieve in this manner than the past trend when turnover were more on opensider) added with Bismark du Plessis ability on the ground. If you watch Keegan he isnt in the least a quintessential example of a opensider.So again i dispute that comparison.And you were the one disputing Daniel’s supposed superior ball carrying prowess sue to the fact that you said he wasnt confined to ruck duty-he stand off more looking for ball to carry as he is employed that way in Sharks strategy.Now when i do the same with the ruck attendance stat and turnover in relation to Daniels to Stegmann who dont want to acknowledge it.
Compare linebreaks,broken tackles,large runs of substantial meters in run game between the 2 just like you would compare ruck attendance and accuracy/penalties sat breakdown.facets apply to to category.
Burrowing over advantage line from fringes is very different from carrying from midfield to set up or running as option 1 off scrumhalf towards fist pillar to breach advantage line.Very different.
19 Jul 2011, 17:48 pm
@shooter(shooter)-427: according to the stats, pretorius missed the most tackles in super rugby.now, we can’t have an open door policy for the boks opponents.
19 Jul 2011, 17:51 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-440: Meisiekind? Muller? Basson to leak tries. Dinosaurus Danie? Plod? Morne Steyn with the B team- yeah burn him out some more. No chaps, this is one sorry-arse team of plonkers led by the biggest plonker of them all!
19 Jul 2011, 17:51 pm
what is nice. is that after WC we will have plenty of new players having had exposure to international rugby. maybe, we will be a new force in the non WC years coming after.
i just have a feeling, and my feeling is real.
Victor and FdP and and Bakkies and the other 18 guys are all plotting our way, somewhere next to a swimming pool, to a WC win in 2011.
19 Jul 2011, 17:52 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-440: i think it will be tougher than we think
i dont think the problem’s will be from Oz forwards as much as from the backline.
ppl dont realise just how much Genia and Cooper kick to keep pressure on the opposition … and its NOT aimless up and unders but alot of variation.
that way if the ball does come back to them they attack from strength
its almost text book rugby but with more Oz razzle dazzle
I mean…Coopah, Ioane, O’Conner, KURTLEY Beale…. TOO Sick!
19 Jul 2011, 17:53 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-438: we will just have to agree to disagree on this one,but i can promise you one thing that on saturday i will support steggies and the boks no matter what.with that i conclude my comments on steggies.
19 Jul 2011, 17:55 pm
@charo(charo)-393: http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts BWahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
19 Jul 2011, 17:56 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-442: 100% correct
19 Jul 2011, 18:02 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-430</a
1.) why is it not the same?Keegan has FAR FEWER rucks attended and more ball carried-there is a correlation between the 2 which affects the numbers and accuracy ratios etc (whats daniel's turnover stats and penalty ratio in the rucks attended?) and if he was employed in that role exclusively why wouldnt that improve his chances? And that includes slowing the ball down more effectively.Why is it not the same as ball carrying stat regarding Stegmann? Why cant you see that?
Fair enough on Smith story-will check it out.Not an indictment on me as I dont read ever anecdote around. And still have seen any publications acknowledging Stegmann as primary threat to strategy from oposition coaches though
19 Jul 2011, 18:02 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-442:
“The same argument can be used with Keegan who has taken more ball and carried more than double Stegmann with still a high effeicency ratio of 69%.”
Oh my soul, what is the point of debating with you.
I’ll repeat myself from post#430:
“OK firstly refer to post 426, then
1) It’s not a baseless hypothetical. Saying a player that has FAR FEWER b/d stats like Daniel can be adapted to play like Stegmann is NOT the same as saying Stegmann can run the ball more with a higher g/l % AND speed.
This is not the same at all. Why can’t you see this?”
…..I didn’t even read the rest of you post yet……
19 Jul 2011, 18:03 pm
This is an extremely k*k side.
19 Jul 2011, 18:04 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-451: OMG Agile… I’ve been away on holiday, come back and you are STIIIIILLLLLL talking about Stegmann!
19 Jul 2011, 18:05 pm
going to be v interesting vs wallabies, there is one thing in their favour which is that everyone is expecting the Boks to get a hammering, be bladdy funny if they snatch an upset tho, that will really set the cat amongst the pigeons.
19 Jul 2011, 18:06 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-453:
bangkok bok… no it is not the prettiest team ito big names.. but hey-ho….
Meisiekind? last chance i think.
Muller? i don’t know what’s up here. maybe the old man has something to offer.
Basson to leak tries. no man. he will be fine. gotta give the gans ‘n kans here.
Dinosaurus Danie? he was immense in the s15… especially at 7.
Plod? who is that… who you mean? Barney? i’ve said it before… most wanted to write him off pre-2007 wc too… how wrong they were…
Morne Steyn with the B team- yeah burn him out some more!…. no man…he can take it.
these guys are all going to come through.
Smit is not on form… but he has a few things to do before he retires from springbok rugby… watch these guys lift themselves…
how many doubters we had when Os was called back…
if a couple of these young guns play themselves into *new* form for wc… its gonna be crazy
@topaz(topaz)-447:
Oh jeez, thanks for that: You will be supporting Steggies and the Boks from your couch on Saturday, how noble of you.
Only for the rest of the year you’ll talk **** and disparage Steggies on an open forum all you can.
19 Jul 2011, 18:07 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-453:
Boet, there is a post in here where I explain what is going on here, it’s more than just about Steggies. I didn’t start it, but it is a good example to use.
19 Jul 2011, 18:11 pm
I am bloody grateful to see Steggies there…..Pocock would of been having a free lunch with a Schalk Burger or Keegan Daniels there I am afraid….
Now he will have to work for his chow.
19 Jul 2011, 18:11 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-442:
Mshini, do I have to break it down for you?
You said that Stegmann’s work rate stats are impressive, then you say that Daniel could do the same amount of work if that was his instructions.
Then I wrote posts 426 and 430, READ those.
It’s still the same fallacy by you and so it will still be the same answer by me.
19 Jul 2011, 18:12 pm
I prefer Stegmann over Daniel for the simple fact that i believe that Stegman is better suited to the tough demands of international rugby. Daniel’s fairy stuff way of playing is more suited to the cc and Vodacom competions.
19 Jul 2011, 18:15 pm
@grant10(grant10)-459:
At least, Grant.
I am glas to see Ashley at 8 and not 7. Flank is where Ashely shone at S15 and not 8, so some raise their concerns, but I am glad because as I wrote last week and the week before that, Ashley hasn’t displayed good support at the b/d, and that will be vital to Stegmann
- otherwize all these morons will be going: “See I told you so! na na na na….” on Sunday.
Anywa, I believe that no that Steggies has recovered from tearing his hamstring last year he will show these ******** a thing or two.
19 Jul 2011, 18:17 pm
WP 2
Bulls 8
sharks 1
cheetahs 2
overseas based 2
Subs:
1 bull
1 WP
5 sharks
now there’s a concomitant stat
19 Jul 2011, 18:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-372: lolololol all men are pervy boys.
19 Jul 2011, 18:21 pm
topaz..
ja sarel missed a few tackles. that can be sorted out. should be sorted out. that is why there are coaches I believe.
19 Jul 2011, 18:24 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-462: wont you educate grant on morne a little too please.
so no rugby kenners around. then i’ll have to ask grant. grant, do you believe Jacque Fourie can play 12 ever?
19 Jul 2011, 18:25 pm
@shooter(shooter)-466: JF at 12?
Not a fark imo…
19 Jul 2011, 18:28 pm
@shooter(shooter)-466: and I also will never be convinced with M steyn at 10….or Spies at 8….
19 Jul 2011, 18:32 pm
@grant10(grant10)-467: ja just interested to think about it. probably not in his comfort zone. but it could be an interesting proposition. people move players arond in their teams all the time. but never seen jf put down at 12.
although he played one test at 15 and played wing once or twice.
19 Jul 2011, 18:35 pm
The Wallabies were poor but Jonker already fabricated ‘unlikely results’ before so take it with caution
The Boks Team can be classified as follows:
Past their Sell by Date: Smit, Muller, CJ
Free Loaders: Chiliboy, Jacobs, Gio Aplon, Johnson
Quotas with some merit: Basson, Mvovo
Young guns, the future: Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Dean Greyling, Pat Lambie, Dyesel
Top performers, the best at their positions: Stegmann, Pienaar, Styen, Rossouw
Still better than any quota you thew at them: Olivier, McLeod
Now bring on Lobert!
19 Jul 2011, 18:37 pm
@shooter(shooter)-465:
1) As far as Sarel is concerned, tackling is a pre-requisite. You’ve got to want to tackle. And Bok rugby is not a finishing school. You have to have all the attributes before being selected.
2) And Jaque won’t make a 12. He doesn’t have quick enough hands, is not a play maker, more of a finisher.
Just my humble opinion.
19 Jul 2011, 18:37 pm
@shooter(shooter)-469: just doesent strike me as a 12 at all…..more a finisher than a creator imo….
19 Jul 2011, 18:38 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-471: snap
19 Jul 2011, 18:40 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-470: stop your racist kak man…..you really need to catch a wake up.
19 Jul 2011, 18:41 pm
@grant10(grant10)-468:
i dont think you’ll ever be convinced of anything.
always stressing and worrying and nervous.
morne is about 480 times the player peter grant is. but you’re convinced he is not.
nobody is convinced on spies’s form. but before he suffered his latest confidence collapse, he was a brilliant player. and late in the S15 he has become much better.
in 2007 the boks pitched up fitter and and more prepared than anybody was expecting.. i’m banking on them doing the same this time.
the other teams was probably also fit.. but we had something else going… don’t really know what it was.. but we were fit and … let’s call it fresh i.e not overtrained/ over exercised.
our boys, including the hateable
Mr. Smit are going there on the same plan. mark my cliche
19 Jul 2011, 18:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-460:
Mine is no fallacy no more than yours isnt in your eyes.
Spell that out for yourself and you still wont see fallacy.
19 Jul 2011, 18:49 pm
@shooter(shooter)-475: i agree the boks will be refreshed and super fit….they have no excuses….Spies has been a huge dissapointment…..Plod should of walked end of 2009….and M Steyn is far too 1 dimensional….
I feel we have got it right with B James apparently the main man at 10….
And I am hoping sanity will prevail and Bissy will start when it counts….
And surely on the slower grounds an alternate 8 will be chosen.
19 Jul 2011, 18:49 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-462:
I hope come Staurday Steggies repays your praise. And no bs about him not being in A side etc because the likes of Johnson which you are using these Tests as measuring stick to gauge their readyness for international rugby,use the same for Deon Stegmann.(which you alluded to before)
Use the appropriate standards for all not just those benefitting your point of view or agenda choose whichever suits you.
19 Jul 2011, 18:51 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-471: and grant10
maybe.
i’ve seen him make some awesome cover tackles though. and it is not as if he missed all the tackles he was asked to make. maybe there is something wrong with his positioning in the tackle, his reading of play. surely it is not a commitment issue.
all things considered – i still rate him above mcleod.
wrt to JF13. i’m sure he is not the best 12. and generalling the defense and all that from 13 won’t translate too well at 12… sure… just wanted to know some views on it.
19 Jul 2011, 18:55 pm
Come Saturday I will be supporting Stegmann and the rest of the Boks vs OZ.hope he does well even though I hold my reservations about his abilities as a player.I do believe he is the SECOND best true opensider along with Frans Louw.
Have no personal vendetta against the bloke,met his father at Heathrow airport the day after England test last year-decent man.
But I dont have blinkers on regarding his ability.
19 Jul 2011, 18:55 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-476:
Mshini, I’m going to start ignoring you if you cannot keep up with the debate….
What position did you play? It’s far harder to get around to the rucks and do something properly there than it is getting yourself into position to carry or be part of a defensive line for that matter.
There are ALWAYS more rucks than a player can get to.
Saying a player with half the b/d total of Stegmann but double the carries can adapt his game to play such a role at test level with that wrok rate when he hasn’t demonstrated it at allthe last couple of years is NOT THE SAME as saying Stegmann can carry the ball more and well with a 79% gainline success to Daniel’s 69%. On top of that Stegmann is a faster sprinter than Daniel.
This is not a case of apples and oranges when talking about these two players who have been compared for one specific role outside of their home unions- which is similar to that in which Stegmann is already been used at the Bulls. Not to mention that he now has a fair amount of familiar Bulls faces around him in the pack.
=============================================================
To put it another way Mshini:
Stegmann can be easily adapted to play the way Keegan does. Keegan CANNOT be easily adapted to play the way Stegmann does, and he hasn’t displayed anything to suggest otherwise.
Do you now understand? Because I’m tired of dwelling on this one point while people complain that I mention Stegmann too much.
19 Jul 2011, 19:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-477: one dimensional.
if there ever was a stop-word to cover and discredit any-one, in rugby terms, that is the word.
in reality, only one or two players have not been one-dimensional in their lifetime. like Stegmann.
19 Jul 2011, 19:07 pm
Fuckit but some of this **** is funny.
The only similarity between Steggies and Daniel is that both are classed as loosies. Other than that, completely different players yet 300 posts debate the merits of one over the other!
19 Jul 2011, 19:10 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-483: what’s your feelings on this weekends game?
19 Jul 2011, 19:16 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-484:
For the Boks, combinations are going to be a problem especially roles in the tight lose.
In all six combinations we are playing guys that have not played together for ages so it all depends on how well their preparation went and how quickly they gelled.
However, we have a pack of forwards and halfback combination that can dominate set phases and dictate the pace of the game. Boks will always only win this one ugly if at all, but its not going to be vintage stuff this.
Win your own set pieces, get parity in open play contact, and the Boks can win this – but allow these buggers time and space on the ball, and it can get ugly.
19 Jul 2011, 19:19 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-484:
For the Aussies, I think Deans dug himself a bit of a hole here potentially. Quade was used primarily as fullback on defense and flyhalf on attack for the Reds – but with Beale at fullback, I don’t think he can do the same here. Unless he brings James O’Bieber in to flyhalf on defense and Cooper to wing…
But allow Genia and Cooper space and time on the ball, and Boks will be in ****.
19 Jul 2011, 19:21 pm
Samoa physically hurt the Aussies in contact, if we can manage the same with our set pieces holding up, Aussies might well be embarrassed twice in two weeks!
19 Jul 2011, 19:27 pm
why did the guys at supersport highlight the fact that stegmann had ‘conceded 18 penalties this season’? Bloody biased plonkers!
How come i’ve never seen meyer bosman’s ‘missed tackles’ stat, i’m sure it would be astronomical! Just on saturday in the currie cup he made 9 tackles & missed 5
19 Jul 2011, 19:29 pm
@ keo.
nothing to lose. new almost everybody. we’re going to slaughter them.
19 Jul 2011, 19:30 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-485:
I said a similar thing on the other thread earlier today that it’ll be guts and glory that will see us through. But can’t see it happening.
There are a few combinations that assist us. Such as:
1 and 3 from the Bulls
6 and 7 from the Bulls
10 and 12 again from the….
I’m looking for positives here.
And in the 2nd half we could have:
Lambie at 10
JDJ moving to 12
Adi coming in at 13.
And the back 3 look very exciting.
I’m sure the Boks won’t die wondering.
They all understand the significance of this match and the tour in general.
19 Jul 2011, 19:30 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-483:
Notice some are comparing the two players that are candidates for one position at the Boks.
Now what is wrong with that?
19 Jul 2011, 19:31 pm
exactly.
slaughter then laughter.
19 Jul 2011, 19:36 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-485:
With players like: Greyling, Kruger, Flip, Danie and Stegmann, even if the Aussies win, they are going to know they were in a fight.
I think we have enough “grofgeskud” among the forwards pummel the Wallabies into submission and to make it.
19 Jul 2011, 19:37 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-490:
Comes down to synergy, and unfortunately we are not privy to that (the fact) if it was achieved in such a short space. Not writing the Boks off but there is a very good chance to record a win here.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-491:
I did, and just for that fact (the comparison) it is laughable! Steggies and Daniel are completely different players with different strengths.
Daniel is a Luke Watson type linking (hybrid) loosie, Steggies should not be seen in a match as he should be at the bottom of every ruck.
Ridiculous.
Perhaps the best would be to ‘classify’ loosies of today as either a ‘hybrid’ loosie, or specialist.
19 Jul 2011, 19:38 pm
i AGREE WITH pa ….IT IS JUST NOT POSSIBLE TO COMPARE steggmann with keegan, they are so different type players….
Keegan definitley more suited as an 8 imo…..even though a bit small….keegan not a fetcher type in the true sense of the word…
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-493:
I am feeling strangely confident, it all depends on how the combo’s gel
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-494: see my 495…snap
19 Jul 2011, 19:39 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-496: wish I could say the same…..all the new combos….
but heat firmly on aussies
19 Jul 2011, 19:43 pm
@grant10(grant10)-497:
Agreed
@grant10(grant10)-498:
Aussies favourites for sure, we have not won there for a long time…
19 Jul 2011, 19:47 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-494:
I’ll take a specialist over an excuse for a ultility anyday.
3 and 6 need specialists- who also happens to be a team’s primary cleaners. Go figure…
19 Jul 2011, 19:49 pm
on paper the boks should get hammered, but if they adopt the right attitude and the newbies play out their socks with the spirit of nothing to lose, who knows what might happen. the Boks need to take it to them tho with nothing to lose, if they worried about containing a big score, they’ll get a big score put up against them.
19 Jul 2011, 19:50 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-481:
Its not that simple even though you try and belittle the skill of ball carrying.An effective all carrier is one who is skilled to run omto to the ball the the right angles,timing onto pass,ability to break tackles etc i have not seen the above from Stegman in whatever role he has been employed at Bulls least of all as a skilled primary ball carrier as Keegan is..
Does that spell it out for you?
i respect that role of the fetcher flank at the breakdown and his importance and accuracy but equally respect the ball carrier for his skill to be able to do it consistently.Problem is everyone think they are a would be abll carrier which is a flawed concept.
and again i stated-that 79% carrying statistic is very different when a player burrows front close quarters as a so called ” carrier” which Stegman more often does that an out and out carrier who runs in midfield and at multiple parts of the field-as a genuine gamebreaker/carrier which Stegmann isnt and keegan is. However you try to put 79% ratio efficiency of carrying its not in the wider channels when linebreaking comes into place.Add to that finishing ability and a genuine threat to defensive lines.You can be a genuine sprinter all you want but keegan has this skill and Stegmann is yet to display it thus leading to me saying he is likely not to have this skill.Have never seen it regularly from him.Just like I havent seen keegan pilfer the ball so cant put him in that category neither. Stegmann as a ball running, game breaking loosie is a fallacy only you would like to believe whatever the strategy employed.
You can ignore all you like, but your analysis is flawed especially looking at the 2 player’s skillsets. 79% to 69% efficiency or not-the areas of the field are different, the meters gained are different, the ball carrying contributions on a consistent basis are different, the roles are different.
And that I will not back down on, present a different facet otherwise it flawed especially the context you are using the ball carrying ratio/percentages when CLEARLY the players carrying responsibilities and effectiveness in conjuction with skillset is different.
Gameplan employed or otherwise.
its clear-keegan is a better carrier-gamebreaker
Stegmann is a better forager and ruck specialist.
This if/could/but fiasco you are presenting based on an out of context ratio/ball carrying percentage is flawed.
Im done with this myself if you fail to grasp that.
19 Jul 2011, 19:53 pm
@cab(cab)-501:
The Wallabies are full of youngsters too.
The Boks have a poor bench though:
-CJ struggling to make fitness test and now for the first game in 4 months he is straight into a test to cover tighthead. (Although Smith willmove to tighthead unfortunately and Cj to 1)
- Chiliboy. Andriaan Strauss is better.
- Hargreaves
Not backup for tightlock at all)
- Adi Jacobs and Jean Deysel back from long layoffs.
Too bad. Wish the bench could give us more confidence, but if the boys keep it close, we can smash the Wallabies with run-on side.
19 Jul 2011, 19:54 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-502:
Where did I belittle the skill of ball carrying?
This is where I start to ignore you.
19 Jul 2011, 19:59 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-503:
i thought they were playing all their 1st team for the bokke?
if they play genia at 9 cooper at 10 and beale at 15 and o’connor – its pretty much a full strength aussie outfit – noone to touch these guys in their posis at the moment. pocock’s pretty good, but beau robinson’s just as useful imo, and probably just what oz need to give their forwards some more fizz.
cj? thought they were playing werner kruger? cj aint played in 4 months as you say, he must come off the bench. chilli and strauss, aint really bothered which one plays, both are mediocre. hargraves and jacobs also mediocre, deysel might have been at the level before his injury but he’s not test standard at the mo imo.
i wish them all the best and tip my hat to you if you right, but think we must prepare for a possible slapping of note. none of that team have really played together.
19 Jul 2011, 20:00 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-500: true words….very true….those are the two positions I would never mess with, hence my anxiety attacks about plod at 3….those were dark days for me! Add Schalk at 6 and i was over the top nervous
19 Jul 2011, 20:05 pm
Making meters in close quarters is damn hard- a bunch of big forwards are right there close by to stop you before you pick up speed.
Look at the Bulls-Saders games and tell me Steggies can’t carry. Look at the Force game this year, Steggies knocked over the flanker and dragged him for 20 meters, the Chiefs game Steggies put that prop on his arse etc.
This started because I say he is a very capable carrier and he is instructed to get stuck in the rucks, that will obviously deminish your chances of carrying, but that he does with distinction anyway. Mentioning things like the gainline and sprinting speed are just a bonus.
Daniel can’t get around the field like Stegmann does. That’s what I’m saying and he hasn’t demonstrated that he can either. The amount of field covered inbetween rucks is huge- especially at the rate that Stegmann does. This isn’t opportunistic, this is his goal and ALL OPENSIDE FLANKERS share this goal to a large extent.
Dammit man, I’m beginning to think I’m the only guy here that has experience at flank.
19 Jul 2011, 20:09 pm
@grant10(grant10)-506:
Sorry Grant I think you will have relive the horro a while longer, at least for 2 tests maybe.
Smit is the cappie, he must ensure everybody is happy. I can see him moving to tighthead if Werner must come off, and CJ will slot into loosehead. I bloody hope not. But there is no specialist backup tighthead and CJ is probably not much better there than John.
19 Jul 2011, 20:14 pm
How long will Krusty cottonwool Brussow for then ? Opensides rely heavily on getting their timing right whether it be hitting rucks, turnovers or linking play. McCaw has shown that it takes more than 2 games but he’ll have it sorted after a stretch of 6.
So Brussow is just along for the ride then, having had dribs’n'drabs during the S15. Big call if he’s right after only 1 or 2 full matches. Forwards, more than backs, need more gametime not less.
19 Jul 2011, 20:17 pm
Anyway relax Grant, Smit will put in a good performance this Saturday and you don’t have to wonder why. He IS a good hooker and he’s been behind Bismarck for a while now. If he is fit and stay away from prop he will do his job.
19 Jul 2011, 20:28 pm
@cab(cab)-505:
No here is the team:
http://www.keo.co.za/2011/07/19/wallabies-latest-gits-axed-in-shake-up/
They have Higgenbotham. Hodgson on the bench too so hey have a full WForce trio. I also don’t see the deal with McCalman. Pity about Hoiles.
It’s not their 1st choice frontrow and Simmons schmimmons man. The Faiiga twins are not that good imo. So there is plenty to be hopeful about. Our runon forwards are damn strong
19 Jul 2011, 20:31 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-510: I would love to say I agree….but realistically I can remember 2 decent games he has played post 2010….
I was chatting to a good mate today who reckons its damn hard to be motivational when you yourself are gasping for air and trying to get through the personal challenges….
Well come kick off I will be fully behind plod and the boys….lets see how they go…
19 Jul 2011, 20:33 pm
cheers all
19 Jul 2011, 21:27 pm
509 @ Black Panther
I think you are corret, crazy stuff cotten wooling Brussow, Richie is not on his game cos of lack of game time.
19 Jul 2011, 23:16 pm
well having survived an attempted mugging and knifing for my cell phone in site 5 at around 7pm I’m pretty happy to report came away unscathed apart from couple minor knife cuts to right thumb, pretty light consequences when muggers got nothing, still got my phone, my life, my bakkie and keys, my wallet, and my glasses which I found behind seat after the scuffle. Not even so much as a knife wound which in most these cases would be par for the course.
This a good Bok side
Far better then some the garbage Jake put out in his time. Boks can take this test. Only worries being Olivier, Muller and perhaps a lightweight bench in Hargreaves, Chiliboy, Mcleod and Lambie
Jacobs better than Olivier who is the one problem I have in this side and Muller at 2nd row a bit of a passenger, and back 3 maybe a little light on experience but enough grunt through run on pack with Greyling, Smit, Kruger and Flip with Roussouw and Johnson at back gonna stand up to the Aussie 8.
Real problem will be at substitute stage though intro of Deysel should steady the back row, and also whether we gonna have the 80 minute fitness levels to stay the course.
This won’t be same Aussie outfit that went down to Samoa, and they gonna be smarting from that humiliation so expect fire and thunder from their engine room. But this Bok team could pull a surprize enough, and one that most Bok teams have failed to do, only Aussie win away under Jakes tenure was 2005 in Perth by small margin. If PdV’s 2nd string Boks come good this weekend then a lot of nay saying grunters will have no option but to sit up and take some overdue notice.
19 Jul 2011, 23:36 pm
Morne Steyn better wake up and be on his toes and if we kick too much possession away they gonna punish us with Genia and Cooper orchestrating the counter attacking and Ioane and Beale doing damage out wide and through midfield.
Deans gone 5/2 bench and we gone 4/3, I reckon 5/2 is better balance these days. He got Higginbottom and Hodgson for back row duties off bench while we only got Deysel, and he also got both Faangia brothers to come on fresh when mobility is key at last quarter. Thats where we could come unstuck, sending on CJ, Chili, Hargreaves, Deysel, while they send on Faangia, Cowan, Sharpe, Hodgson and Higginbottom, we could be caught for staying ability and fitness as well as mobility when it counts at the death.
Smit will be kaput after 50 mins guaranteed so Chili better be up for it against Faangia and sharp, and Hargreaves is a lightie compared to Sharpe. Deysel has to counter both a fresh Hodgson and Higginbottom, while Roussouw and Johnson might be on tired legs by then.
Thats where Aussie will be dangerous is last 30 mins if we don’t have the staying power. Also Pienaar / Mcleod, Steyn, WO and De Jongh / Jacobs, Basson, Mvovo, Aplon gonna have work cut out containing Genia, Cooper, McCabe / Faangia, Ashley Cooper, O’Connor, Ioane, Beale.
Not the same Aussie outfit that capitulated to Samoa, better beware Bokke don’t expect a roll over, Giteau out and Genia, Cooper, Ashley-Cooper, O’Connor, Beale in, is one huge different kettle of fish to the crowd that went down to Samoa last week.
19 Jul 2011, 23:37 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-515:
Where was your baretta?
Or did you sign a Non-Aggression Pact with the Tsosies?
The French says that those who were not rebels for the cause of better a world at the age of 18 had no heart, those who were still rebels at the age of 40 never had a brain!
Say hagomel on Sat
19 Jul 2011, 23:44 pm
I told them they ain’t getting my phone and gripped his knife by the blade end, by then he and his chommies got confused, they thought was an easy picking gone wrong cause I weren’t handing over the phone without a fight and they didn’t know whether to stab for the heart or keep trying for the phone. In the end I got out the far door with the phone in my hand and they ducked, they left the bakkie keys on the seat. Thought I’d lost my glasses but found them later behind seat, must have fallen through seat join in the scuffle. Guess I must have been lucky because either somebody up there likes me or else these were a novice gang of phone tsotsies who were more interested in the phone than an attempted murder rap. Either way I got off pretty lightly considering.
19 Jul 2011, 23:45 pm
christus, are u a cretin or something, if they got knife, hand over phone.
why u the last one on site – catch a wake up and keep your workers around.
19 Jul 2011, 23:46 pm
!!!!!
1 day in the Life of….
19 Jul 2011, 23:49 pm
Least somebody don’t have to say Yartzeit quite yet
19 Jul 2011, 23:54 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-514:
I agree that Brussow is ‘key’ for the Boks but only if he’s firing on all cylinders. Also, if Krusty is now saving him for the Home leg, he has 2 games, max, to get match-fitness. Fitness will be essential for a RWC campaign, especially as Boks face 2 Pasifika teams in Fiji & Samoa and also Wales, who all play high-pace gameplan.
Big call. Watch Dingo play Pocock & Elsom in tandem through the whole TriN and McCaw start every match for ABs.
Also, these players tend to get more injured the less they play.
Big call.
19 Jul 2011, 23:56 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-521:
!!!!!!!
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-518:
!!!!!!
20 Jul 2011, 00:02 am
I took workers home as usual, today we only got back around 7, always drop them off about 20 mts from their front door in site 5 informal settlement, the last one out the bakkie asked for a R30 loan so I got out the car and looked for money in my pocket. After he was gone I was going to phone another laborer for work tomorrow when these dudes arrived at the window about 5 secs later, thought was someone looking for work, then the door opened and the knife presented and he went for the phone threatening to stab, door should have been locked but wasn’t. I told him its my work phone and didn’t let go while I gripped the knife blade with my other hand, he tried for about 2 or 3 minutes with his other chommie lunging from further out, then I managed to pull free and get out the far door, I called my worker who I’d just paid and they decided it wasn’t worth the risk no more.
Guess I got a pin prick instead of a sword thrust, heaven or somebody gotta be smiling down on me somehow. Nursing ladies at the hospital said much the same.
20 Jul 2011, 00:04 am
lol, u fkn insane. lucky bugger.
20 Jul 2011, 00:06 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-522: Brussows not ready, more risk playing him than not right now. he gonna need longer and if not ready by mid tri nations then maybe it will be one bridge too far for WC. By then maybe Stegmann will have cemented the position and Agile Titty will be in 7th heaven.
20 Jul 2011, 00:28 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-526:
Steggers is Z-list compared to the Bloem Gem. Without Juan, presumably, its more impt than ever that Brussow gets matchplay.
Certainly hope he gets up to speed and makes the Big Stage come September, RWC needs all its stars.
20 Jul 2011, 00:46 am
I’d have had Daniel in the squad, most complete tearaway loosie we got who can cover 6 and 8, not an outright fetcher and also not a classic 8 but very mobile and very wide awake with good sense of play to the ball as well as play to the situation while keeping momentum through his linking ability. A more cerebral player than most the others and what he gives away in height or weight he makes up with temperament and ability and speed and strength. Maybe not as much a ground ball fetcher as Pocock, Brussow or Stegmann, or a pilferer in the McCaw mold but if we go top heavy in brawn only like we done last 4 years and more with the Burger, Smith, Spies same ‘ol same ‘ol flat track train, then we will be found wanting where the need arises for some speed and agility round the fringes and through the linking interplay game.
Stegmann or Brussow will provide the terrier element but we ain’t got a real linking speedy player who can set the open field game alight. Spies should be that man but he ain’t. Potgieter could be that player but I reckon Daniel is better.
20 Jul 2011, 01:36 am
Glad to have you back Skop. Without you this site would lack a certain……kick.
20 Jul 2011, 03:44 am
I thought everyone knows not to **** with Skopskiet’s phone… it’s his gateway to keo and nobody ain’t getting it… knife Baretta of wat-ook-al… nice escape pal!
Boks have missed a beat not playing a 5/2 split with either another prop or preferably another impact flanker… there is no point having both Lambie and Adi on the bench in the backs…
They also making a big mistake not having the dynamite Strauss there for Ralepelle who is just not an impact player…
That Aus bench is dynamite in every respect…
20 Jul 2011, 04:40 am
glad you made it out in one piece skop…you plucky old dog! Next time hand over the DAMN phone.
20 Jul 2011, 07:56 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-531: Agreed.
Hand it over Skop.
10 years back Id have fought for it, today i have too much to lose. Its not worth the risk my man.
Happy to see you come off relatively unscathed though.
20 Jul 2011, 08:10 am
NOBODY gets the skopfone.
Those mofos were lucky to escape.
20 Jul 2011, 14:24 pm
Glad to see ur good old man.
Hope it wasnt one of your labourers that set you up.Once had a similiar situation occur and found out one of my employees set it up…
And the tsotsi’s didnt bank on a 6ft plus 120kg darkie stepping out the car.
Bruino laaities….
Well sh*t happens
20 Jul 2011, 14:43 pm
Welcome back Skop, glad you are still in one piece!
20 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-524: I built a house at the Lakes skop and employed Labour from site 5 too ..seemed like a very happy place ona sunday morning
On a more serious point: I was mugged for the first time when I was only 7 years old.. an older kid with a knife tried to stab me.. scary when I think back about the incident and what if my own kid had been in that situation.. I remember the community not being quite concerned and even my parents dismissing my trauma as an over reaction.. We lived in brutal times and everything was par for the course. I had quite a few skirmishes with muggers after that but learnt to handle myself to such an extent that I almost killed a 14 yo that tried to Rob a shop that I owned.. I chased after a gang and cornered the fkker.. cocked my gun and was disturbed by a passing car.. I am glad for that car
My last incident was actually in London on the underground.. I could not understand the incident.. The mugger was going to rob my boss who is almost 7ft but fled when he saw me.. I remember all in the coach looking stangely at me.. Not sure if I have some sort of killer demeanor
Glad you dont find the need to blame the whole community for that incident as the usual c unts on here would do but I have written about the backwardness of the whole country in respect of violence
20 Jul 2011, 15:32 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-534: your BMI is suspect sbali, at 6ft plus you should be around 87kg
hehehehe
20 Jul 2011, 15:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-537:
Hehehe perhaps
But that means that 85% of rugby players and heavyweight athletes are suspect…(not that im any of those..lol)
That BMI kak is rubbish.
20 Jul 2011, 15:49 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-538: i’m no expert on the subject, trust me ET the superc_unt is going to be here climbing all over your comment on BMI being rubbish
good luck hehehe
20 Jul 2011, 15:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-539:
hehehehe dont give a sh*t ngalowo!
Bheka uBismark at 188cm 112kg,what does BMI say about that?? amasimba leyonto…Mina im 187cm….kodwa im no Bizzy lmao!