PdV ‘rewards form’

The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .

There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.

Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.

The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.

The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’

The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.

‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’

The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.

South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 1.Eish: Reply to this comment

duck fradons

• 2.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

Not sure the thinking behind starting Dean Greyling ahead of Coenie Oosthuizen. Oosthuizen is the best loosehead in SA. If it’s scrummaging their worried about, go on youtube and check his performance against the Crusaders (just put in Coenie Oosthuizen and it will come up).

Oosthuizen is every bit as good in the tight as Greyling, and much better in the loose. He recently commented about competing with Brussow for most turn-overs and he cleans rucks out like a man possessed. Something the Boks almost always struggle with.

And he’s bigger then Greyling.

• 3.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-2:

You his Coenie’s sisters boyfriend or his half Boet? :)

• 4.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

13,14,15 very light (not lacking guts before the usual suspects start moaning)… no way Muller can be fit but with Hargreaves the only option cannot blame them…

Bench is pretty weak… and no point having both Lambie and Adi… rather include another loose-forward (Kankowski) or even a prop!

Fortunately for them Deans has chosen a 22 with a few weaknesses in players returning from injury (Pocock and Elsom) and an untried 10/12 combo in McNabe.

I would have played Strauss over Ralepelle (far more impact and the form hooker in RSA), dropped Adi for only two backs and included another loose-forward.

I hope this loose-forward trio gels… but I have my doubts about the balance within the T5 dynamics as well.

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-2:

Coenie is no doubt still carrying his ankle injury…

• 5.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

Overall though I’ll give the squad a 7/10 from the available players.

- Danie Rossouw may have done the job at nr. 8 in the last World Cup, but playing well and playing to what is needed are very different. We need a nr. 8 that fields kicks, that can make consistent yards on attack. Danie does this on occasions, but he can’t be expected to carry the ball 10+ times a match. This selection is just plain crazy. Stupidity. 1/10

- Johann Muller was never anything above average when he was still playing in South Africa. How can PdV justify selecting him now when he claims to only select the very best of players from overseas, and only if there are no quality players in that position in SA. 3/10

As above I think Oosthuizen is also better then Greyling. The rest of the squad I’m more then happy with. Excited to see what Ashley Johnson does on debut. One of the shortest loose-forwards we’ve had so could cost us in the line-outs potentially, but he’s got a huge motor. Could be a very good impact player at the WC.

• 6.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-3:

Nope just don’t think PdV should be giving out Springbok caps like this. The best player should play in this case. There is no reasonable excuse for Greyling being ahead of Oosthuizen.

• 7.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-5:

Well Stegman is shorter… but yes neither are LO options… Aus have both MCAlman and Elsom.

• 8.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-6:

“There is no reasonable excuse for Greyling being ahead of Oosthuizen”

He is carrying an ankle injury and Steenkamp and Beast are being ‘rested’ finished and klaar.

If you look at the Wallabie 22… you’ll also notice a few ‘newbies’ whereby Deans is trying to maintain a few combo’s… ie Simmons/Horwill from the Reds… much the same as Morne/WO and in this example Kruger/Greyling.

• 9.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-7:

Sorry I meant besides openside flankers. Brussow is also shorter obviously.

But for a nr. 8/blindside Johnson (1.85) is rather short. The next in line for shortest would be Jean Deysel… and he’s played at lock.

- If Oosthuizen is injured then I apologise to PdV. But at the same time I don’t agree with handing debut caps to players who aren’t the best in their position. Only cheapens the jersey. The less people to wear it, the more valuable it is.

• 10.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

The Bokke might just take them this weekend.

• 11.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Meisiekind?! :shock: And no place for Strauss??

Oh well, hope that back three remember to take thier bioplus on Saturday morning as Cooper is going to rain a few cross kicks down on them.

• 12.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

I hope the back 3 work their way into the Bok side. Habana is useless. We need a mix of youth and experience. At the moment we have too little youth in the “A” side.

• 13.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm(Olivergm)-12:

Habana is not useless. He’s got a higher workrate then any other winger we’ve got in SA. He disrupts kick-offs like no other player in the game, and he’s solid in defense (yes rugby is also about preventing opponents from scoring tries, not just scoring them). Maybe he’s lost his edge, but that was always going to happen with aging. Him and JP are still the best wingers in the country.

Basson on the other hand can’t tackle to save his life and Mvovo is as one-dimensional as they come.

• 14.whatever: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10:

What you smoking?

• 15.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-13:

Agreed, I have never seen a bloke work as hard as Habbs, maybe thats his problem, he wants to get out of his non scoring rut so badly he snatches at things and is trying TOO hard.

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-15:

Maybe he works hard but if so he works stupid and not doing his job of being a winger. How often does he storm down the field after a kick just to fall over or off the tackle and thus leaving a gap behind him? He has lost the plot and yes, maybe he is trying to hard. The Bok team is no place to work on those problems though…

• 17.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16:

Yeah Koos, also agree with that little bad habit. Looks for the intercept too often, but overall I would still play him before Basson at this stage.

It’s kinda like we all know you can do it, so just do it…………..

• 18.whatever: Reply to this comment

Maybe Basson can change my (and a few others) mind this week-end?

Pretty average B team pack though………..eish!

• 19.siener: Reply to this comment

The back three is very exciting – I just hope they keep up the defence as well.

After another great Super Rugby season I really hope Meisiekind can prove us all wrong and perform in a Springbok jersey.

It an interesting set of loosies.

My biggest worry is the tight five.

• 20.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-18:

Maybe it is time to give Basson a go, Habana had plenty…

I would like to say we know what Habana can do and surely he will come right soon…but we have been saying it for almost two years now! Scary if we honest about it.

Average team overall and they will have to play well to take it close.

• 21.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-14:

I wish I was smoking something, Australia can be beaten this weekend as you have no chance the following weekend in NZ.

• 22.whatever: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-21:

It;s those type of comments that make Keewees arrogant……….. ;)

• 23.JL1: Reply to this comment

Good team with weaknesses

Wynand Olivier, maybe he an tackle and run in Super 15, but this is hs last chance from me in a test to show that he can make the step up

Johann Muller, Eish, as vlou as vlou tee, the Wynand Olivier of locks.He needs to get aggressive
    Hargreaves- please see my comment above on Muller

On another note, between Stegman and Flip they need to keep the penalties in check.The problem is that Stegman is so short that refs think is playing the ball on the ground and Flip can do really silly things at times

• 24.JL1: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-21: That is what the Keewees said in 1995 RWC

• 25.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-22:

No arrogance just the facts, your scrum is going to get demolished and you have far too many inexperienced players at test level to win a test match in NZ.

• 26.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Barring one or two positions what this team lacks is not ability but simply experience. In time many of these guys could become world class internationals, if they are given the opportunity. It takes time to settle at international level, the problem is that we are blooding too many all at once for it to really work.

• 27.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Not a bad team. Tight five looks suspect though. Loosies alright. Backline looks good. Here’s hoping the boys upfront can do the business.

Bokke by 3.

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

Not sure I would have played D Rossow at 8 in this game ….will track be quick? If so he wont feature….

Anyway,seems Aussies also not sure what there best team is…..

Heart says Boks got a chance….

head says too many new combinations….and a few glaring weaknesses at 2….10….12…

• 29.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Decent starting 15. Atrocious bench. Expect things to fall apart in the last 20 when our impactless impact players come on.

For the strating 1d would have gone for Rossouw and Flip as the lock commbo. I reckon the only reason Muller is there is that Snor had zero confidence in any of the other loose forwards, so he had to play Rossouw at no.8.
    As for Greyling – he outplayed poor Coenie in their clash this year. In fact, the hype over Coenie is mostly unfounded. His penality count at scrumtime is as regular as old Faithful in Yellowstone Park.

• 30.crock: Reply to this comment

Both teams have some new combinations so could be a disjointed affair – couple of handling errors and communication problems to be expected. Interesting to see how the scrum goes – we need dominance there to have a chance. Should be parity in the lineouts. Oz to win breakdown with Pocock. There backline expected to be more enterprising than ours. Home ground advantage with some added aggression to make up for Somoan loss means that Oz should take this one by 10 points.

Only way I can see boks winning is to go back to basics. Minimise errors and penalties (not sure who ref is). Control scrum and first phase possesion. Close down space on Cooper – particlulary from broken play when he is most dangerous – he is relatively anonymous from first phase ball and generally just passes it. Oh yes, and don’t kick the ball down kurtley beales throat – make him run for it – he is deadly on counter attack.

If Oz don’t win by more than 10 points – expect media to have a field day with wobblies and deans. Good time for SA to put the knife in for build up to RWC.

• 31.ufo: Reply to this comment

Yeah… a few positions I would’ve selected different players…

I would also have gone for oosthuizen… in the ‘modern’ game we generally have far fewer scrums… so if a prop is selected purely on scrumming power, he becomes a passenger for about 70 minutes of the game… so i would rather have a prop who can at least hold up his side… but offers more in the loose in terms of tackles, carries and fetches…

would have also gone for adi jacobs over wynand olivier… jacobs makes things happen like few centres in SA… i believe he gets shafted by the Sharks… and to a lesser extent by the Boks too…

not a big fan of steggman’s either… but i guess we’re close to the bottom of the barrel with regard to fetchers…

but what I’d like to know is… if Brussow’s injury is that severe that he isn’t fit to play… why the hell is he on tour? PdV has often spoken about managing the players carefully and not bringing them back from injury too soon… and, if memory serves, mentioned the cheetahs and brussow in particular… surely if he is not fit enough to play… or even if he was… playing him now or in the next game… would be bringing him back at the first possible opportunity and therefore ‘too soon’ and risking further or repeated injury…?

• 32.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

i like everything about this team selection except wo. but the fact that he’s in the b team makes me happy. it would seem like he wont feature in the wc a team. whew

• 33.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10:
    i know hey? am gonna see what the bookies have to say about that.

• 34.SAussie/QldRed: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10: Don’t wright us of yet Cuzzi Bro, have faith, I’m sure motivation won’t be a problem this weeknd, with some real Reds Mongrel added to the tight five and also Pocock thrown in the mix its going to be far more motivated and committed tight five, with Genia and Cooper starting as well I would expect to see some better back line play as well, Rocky would have had his ears smacked also for that performance and I would have thought been put on notice because theres Scotty just waiting to come on.

Remember this Bokk team has never had game time together as well, New combinations, should be interesting

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

I would have had Kanko at 8

D Rossow at 4 lock in place of flip

chilli at 2…with Strauss on bench [ retain the bulls front row en masse ].

Lambie at 10…[ Ruan Pienaar to goal kick ]

• 36.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-6:
    maybe the strategy for this match is based in part on not expecting a strong oz scrum? if so, then maybe greyling for reasons other than just the scrum? and maybe not coenie for reasons to do with ‘resting’ him with different plans for him?

• 37.ralf2: Reply to this comment

We already know what we have in Wynand Olivier, Morné Steyn, Deon Stegmann, Johann Muller, Chiliboy Ralepelle, and Adi Jacobs. Would have preferred to give some youngsters a chance and learn something.

• 38.Ogre: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-5: Everybody thinks they know a little, but very few actually do. Let’s look at this selection.
    1 + 3=Our front row is a holding pattern rather than dominant. Not the props fault. They are still young and maturing, so they won’t dominate the one glaring Oz weakness.
    2= Smit is there as captain. Nuff said.
    4. Flip for the grunt, but still prone to brainfarts due to inexperience.
    5. Johan Muller= unknown factor due to playing offshore and being back from injury. Big question.
    6. Steggies to counter Pocock? All we have. Watch the penalties.
    7. Johnson. Runaround bunny. Had the worst defensive game in the S15 of all loosies. Most tackles missed. Would swop him and Danie around.
    8. Danie Rossouw no longer has the workrate fopr an 8. Big mistake. Play him 5 lock.
    12. WO will be tackling the whole day. No problem with that, but who else?

Like all tests this game will come down to who has the best defence and the best kick and chase game. I don’t see this team being that. Now if we had a specialist defensive flanker to transfer pressure, iro size, we would have stood a chance. Tackling is a state of mind and heart, not size, and we are missing that here, mark my word.

• 39.Ryan: Reply to this comment

Boys and girls, I’m sorry. I initially listed Rossouw at 8 when Johnson should have been there. Apologies. Threw team up at 4:30am, It is a time when only drug dealers and adulterous husbands should be awake. I am neither, but was half asleep. Spare me the lynching.

• 40.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-23:
    hahahaha you like your tea strong then? hehehe

• 41.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-39: we wont lynch you as we understand ur short comings and total lack of rugby knowledge :wink: :lol:

• 42.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Johnson at 8 adds some pace off the back… downside the scrums are effected with him there… Danie too slow off the back however adds the grunt… catch 22… reckon they have got it right…

Need the impact of Strauss off the bench, his all round game from turnovers to pace to smash-tackling eons ahead of Ralepelle.

WO is there as the best defensive 12 (and centre) in RSA… the Wallaby back 3 feed by the form 9/10 in the world would rip Jacobs/JDJ/Basson/Aplon apart without him there… scoring the most tries out of any other RSA centre not to mention the most line-breaks, line-break assists and try-assists adds all the extra’s (the cupboard is bare for quality 12′s in RSA other than Butch, Frans, Lambie to a lesser degree)…

5/2 split with more impact amongst the forwards would be the way to go… no point in both Lambie and Adi…

• 43.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-35: uhm granty , for the most i agree with you , and kanko is really being done in by being loyal to bok rugby,

As for Smitty, 100% the right man to start , and at hooker, not prop

other then that i agree with you

• 44.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-42: Lambie should have started at 10

Keeping ball in hand should have been the order of the day , not kicking it away , and thats what morne steyn will do

• 45.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-41:

Sies man.

Ryan is actually very knowledgeable. He is just forced to adhere to the official Keo point of view, at times, thus compromising his personal view on some issues.

A bit like the Murdoch empire, this mini Keo autocracy.

In this case, give him some slack. You should see me at 4.30 in the morning. Like a bear waking from hibernation.

• 46.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

If only AJ had the defensive/ground-game Stegman had… and Stegman the linking/pace game of AJ there’d be far more balance in the loose-forwards… alas not the case…

Snor falling into the trap of selecting a ‘fetcher that can only fetch… the Richie McCaw’s, Pococks, Brussouws have EVERYTHING else on top of their ground game…

• 47.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-44:

Ball in hand is a false gospel. It doesn’t work for SA teams. It looks nice, but doesn’t have impact where it counts – the scoreboard.

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-46: talking rubbish, steggies has more ball carries than flo…

• 49.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-45: enotice the smileys tacci , teasin the fella

i am sure he can take it? he aint a baby

• 50.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-47: well it is exactly what cost the bulls the match against the sharks a few weeks ago, Morne Steyn kicking the ball away to us

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.