PdV ‘rewards form’
19 Jul 2011
The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .
There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.
Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.
The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.
The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’
The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.
‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’
The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.
South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All
19 Jul 2011, 19:49 pm
on paper the boks should get hammered, but if they adopt the right attitude and the newbies play out their socks with the spirit of nothing to lose, who knows what might happen. the Boks need to take it to them tho with nothing to lose, if they worried about containing a big score, they’ll get a big score put up against them.
19 Jul 2011, 19:50 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-481:
Its not that simple even though you try and belittle the skill of ball carrying.An effective all carrier is one who is skilled to run omto to the ball the the right angles,timing onto pass,ability to break tackles etc i have not seen the above from Stegman in whatever role he has been employed at Bulls least of all as a skilled primary ball carrier as Keegan is..
Does that spell it out for you?
i respect that role of the fetcher flank at the breakdown and his importance and accuracy but equally respect the ball carrier for his skill to be able to do it consistently.Problem is everyone think they are a would be abll carrier which is a flawed concept.
and again i stated-that 79% carrying statistic is very different when a player burrows front close quarters as a so called ” carrier” which Stegman more often does that an out and out carrier who runs in midfield and at multiple parts of the field-as a genuine gamebreaker/carrier which Stegmann isnt and keegan is. However you try to put 79% ratio efficiency of carrying its not in the wider channels when linebreaking comes into place.Add to that finishing ability and a genuine threat to defensive lines.You can be a genuine sprinter all you want but keegan has this skill and Stegmann is yet to display it thus leading to me saying he is likely not to have this skill.Have never seen it regularly from him.Just like I havent seen keegan pilfer the ball so cant put him in that category neither. Stegmann as a ball running, game breaking loosie is a fallacy only you would like to believe whatever the strategy employed.
You can ignore all you like, but your analysis is flawed especially looking at the 2 player’s skillsets. 79% to 69% efficiency or not-the areas of the field are different, the meters gained are different, the ball carrying contributions on a consistent basis are different, the roles are different.
And that I will not back down on, present a different facet otherwise it flawed especially the context you are using the ball carrying ratio/percentages when CLEARLY the players carrying responsibilities and effectiveness in conjuction with skillset is different.
Gameplan employed or otherwise.
its clear-keegan is a better carrier-gamebreaker
Stegmann is a better forager and ruck specialist.
This if/could/but fiasco you are presenting based on an out of context ratio/ball carrying percentage is flawed.
Im done with this myself if you fail to grasp that.
19 Jul 2011, 19:53 pm
@cab(cab)-501:
The Wallabies are full of youngsters too.
The Boks have a poor bench though:
-CJ struggling to make fitness test and now for the first game in 4 months he is straight into a test to cover tighthead. (Although Smith willmove to tighthead unfortunately and Cj to 1)
- Chiliboy. Andriaan Strauss is better.
- Hargreaves
Not backup for tightlock at all)
- Adi Jacobs and Jean Deysel back from long layoffs.
Too bad. Wish the bench could give us more confidence, but if the boys keep it close, we can smash the Wallabies with run-on side.
19 Jul 2011, 19:54 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-502:
Where did I belittle the skill of ball carrying?
This is where I start to ignore you.
19 Jul 2011, 19:59 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-503:
i thought they were playing all their 1st team for the bokke?
if they play genia at 9 cooper at 10 and beale at 15 and o’connor – its pretty much a full strength aussie outfit – noone to touch these guys in their posis at the moment. pocock’s pretty good, but beau robinson’s just as useful imo, and probably just what oz need to give their forwards some more fizz.
cj? thought they were playing werner kruger? cj aint played in 4 months as you say, he must come off the bench. chilli and strauss, aint really bothered which one plays, both are mediocre. hargraves and jacobs also mediocre, deysel might have been at the level before his injury but he’s not test standard at the mo imo.
i wish them all the best and tip my hat to you if you right, but think we must prepare for a possible slapping of note. none of that team have really played together.
19 Jul 2011, 20:00 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-500: true words….very true….those are the two positions I would never mess with, hence my anxiety attacks about plod at 3….those were dark days for me! Add Schalk at 6 and i was over the top nervous
19 Jul 2011, 20:05 pm
Making meters in close quarters is damn hard- a bunch of big forwards are right there close by to stop you before you pick up speed.
Look at the Bulls-Saders games and tell me Steggies can’t carry. Look at the Force game this year, Steggies knocked over the flanker and dragged him for 20 meters, the Chiefs game Steggies put that prop on his arse etc.
This started because I say he is a very capable carrier and he is instructed to get stuck in the rucks, that will obviously deminish your chances of carrying, but that he does with distinction anyway. Mentioning things like the gainline and sprinting speed are just a bonus.
Daniel can’t get around the field like Stegmann does. That’s what I’m saying and he hasn’t demonstrated that he can either. The amount of field covered inbetween rucks is huge- especially at the rate that Stegmann does. This isn’t opportunistic, this is his goal and ALL OPENSIDE FLANKERS share this goal to a large extent.
Dammit man, I’m beginning to think I’m the only guy here that has experience at flank.
19 Jul 2011, 20:09 pm
@grant10(grant10)-506:
Sorry Grant I think you will have relive the horro a while longer, at least for 2 tests maybe.
Smit is the cappie, he must ensure everybody is happy. I can see him moving to tighthead if Werner must come off, and CJ will slot into loosehead. I bloody hope not. But there is no specialist backup tighthead and CJ is probably not much better there than John.
19 Jul 2011, 20:14 pm
How long will Krusty cottonwool Brussow for then ? Opensides rely heavily on getting their timing right whether it be hitting rucks, turnovers or linking play. McCaw has shown that it takes more than 2 games but he’ll have it sorted after a stretch of 6.
So Brussow is just along for the ride then, having had dribs’n'drabs during the S15. Big call if he’s right after only 1 or 2 full matches. Forwards, more than backs, need more gametime not less.
19 Jul 2011, 20:17 pm
Anyway relax Grant, Smit will put in a good performance this Saturday and you don’t have to wonder why. He IS a good hooker and he’s been behind Bismarck for a while now. If he is fit and stay away from prop he will do his job.
19 Jul 2011, 20:28 pm
@cab(cab)-505:
No here is the team:
http://www.keo.co.za/2011/07/19/wallabies-latest-gits-axed-in-shake-up/
They have Higgenbotham. Hodgson on the bench too so hey have a full WForce trio. I also don’t see the deal with McCalman. Pity about Hoiles.
It’s not their 1st choice frontrow and Simmons schmimmons man. The Faiiga twins are not that good imo. So there is plenty to be hopeful about. Our runon forwards are damn strong
19 Jul 2011, 20:31 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-510: I would love to say I agree….but realistically I can remember 2 decent games he has played post 2010….
I was chatting to a good mate today who reckons its damn hard to be motivational when you yourself are gasping for air and trying to get through the personal challenges….
Well come kick off I will be fully behind plod and the boys….lets see how they go…
19 Jul 2011, 20:33 pm
cheers all
19 Jul 2011, 21:27 pm
509 @ Black Panther
I think you are corret, crazy stuff cotten wooling Brussow, Richie is not on his game cos of lack of game time.
19 Jul 2011, 23:16 pm
well having survived an attempted mugging and knifing for my cell phone in site 5 at around 7pm I’m pretty happy to report came away unscathed apart from couple minor knife cuts to right thumb, pretty light consequences when muggers got nothing, still got my phone, my life, my bakkie and keys, my wallet, and my glasses which I found behind seat after the scuffle. Not even so much as a knife wound which in most these cases would be par for the course.
This a good Bok side
Far better then some the garbage Jake put out in his time. Boks can take this test. Only worries being Olivier, Muller and perhaps a lightweight bench in Hargreaves, Chiliboy, Mcleod and Lambie
Jacobs better than Olivier who is the one problem I have in this side and Muller at 2nd row a bit of a passenger, and back 3 maybe a little light on experience but enough grunt through run on pack with Greyling, Smit, Kruger and Flip with Roussouw and Johnson at back gonna stand up to the Aussie 8.
Real problem will be at substitute stage though intro of Deysel should steady the back row, and also whether we gonna have the 80 minute fitness levels to stay the course.
This won’t be same Aussie outfit that went down to Samoa, and they gonna be smarting from that humiliation so expect fire and thunder from their engine room. But this Bok team could pull a surprize enough, and one that most Bok teams have failed to do, only Aussie win away under Jakes tenure was 2005 in Perth by small margin. If PdV’s 2nd string Boks come good this weekend then a lot of nay saying grunters will have no option but to sit up and take some overdue notice.
19 Jul 2011, 23:36 pm
Morne Steyn better wake up and be on his toes and if we kick too much possession away they gonna punish us with Genia and Cooper orchestrating the counter attacking and Ioane and Beale doing damage out wide and through midfield.
Deans gone 5/2 bench and we gone 4/3, I reckon 5/2 is better balance these days. He got Higginbottom and Hodgson for back row duties off bench while we only got Deysel, and he also got both Faangia brothers to come on fresh when mobility is key at last quarter. Thats where we could come unstuck, sending on CJ, Chili, Hargreaves, Deysel, while they send on Faangia, Cowan, Sharpe, Hodgson and Higginbottom, we could be caught for staying ability and fitness as well as mobility when it counts at the death.
Smit will be kaput after 50 mins guaranteed so Chili better be up for it against Faangia and sharp, and Hargreaves is a lightie compared to Sharpe. Deysel has to counter both a fresh Hodgson and Higginbottom, while Roussouw and Johnson might be on tired legs by then.
Thats where Aussie will be dangerous is last 30 mins if we don’t have the staying power. Also Pienaar / Mcleod, Steyn, WO and De Jongh / Jacobs, Basson, Mvovo, Aplon gonna have work cut out containing Genia, Cooper, McCabe / Faangia, Ashley Cooper, O’Connor, Ioane, Beale.
Not the same Aussie outfit that capitulated to Samoa, better beware Bokke don’t expect a roll over, Giteau out and Genia, Cooper, Ashley-Cooper, O’Connor, Beale in, is one huge different kettle of fish to the crowd that went down to Samoa last week.
19 Jul 2011, 23:37 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-515:
Where was your baretta?
Or did you sign a Non-Aggression Pact with the Tsosies?
The French says that those who were not rebels for the cause of better a world at the age of 18 had no heart, those who were still rebels at the age of 40 never had a brain!
Say hagomel on Sat
19 Jul 2011, 23:44 pm
I told them they ain’t getting my phone and gripped his knife by the blade end, by then he and his chommies got confused, they thought was an easy picking gone wrong cause I weren’t handing over the phone without a fight and they didn’t know whether to stab for the heart or keep trying for the phone. In the end I got out the far door with the phone in my hand and they ducked, they left the bakkie keys on the seat. Thought I’d lost my glasses but found them later behind seat, must have fallen through seat join in the scuffle. Guess I must have been lucky because either somebody up there likes me or else these were a novice gang of phone tsotsies who were more interested in the phone than an attempted murder rap. Either way I got off pretty lightly considering.
19 Jul 2011, 23:45 pm
christus, are u a cretin or something, if they got knife, hand over phone.
why u the last one on site – catch a wake up and keep your workers around.
19 Jul 2011, 23:46 pm
!!!!!
1 day in the Life of….
19 Jul 2011, 23:49 pm
Least somebody don’t have to say Yartzeit quite yet
19 Jul 2011, 23:54 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-514:
I agree that Brussow is ‘key’ for the Boks but only if he’s firing on all cylinders. Also, if Krusty is now saving him for the Home leg, he has 2 games, max, to get match-fitness. Fitness will be essential for a RWC campaign, especially as Boks face 2 Pasifika teams in Fiji & Samoa and also Wales, who all play high-pace gameplan.
Big call. Watch Dingo play Pocock & Elsom in tandem through the whole TriN and McCaw start every match for ABs.
Also, these players tend to get more injured the less they play.
Big call.
19 Jul 2011, 23:56 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-521:
!!!!!!!
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-518:
!!!!!!
20 Jul 2011, 00:02 am
I took workers home as usual, today we only got back around 7, always drop them off about 20 mts from their front door in site 5 informal settlement, the last one out the bakkie asked for a R30 loan so I got out the car and looked for money in my pocket. After he was gone I was going to phone another laborer for work tomorrow when these dudes arrived at the window about 5 secs later, thought was someone looking for work, then the door opened and the knife presented and he went for the phone threatening to stab, door should have been locked but wasn’t. I told him its my work phone and didn’t let go while I gripped the knife blade with my other hand, he tried for about 2 or 3 minutes with his other chommie lunging from further out, then I managed to pull free and get out the far door, I called my worker who I’d just paid and they decided it wasn’t worth the risk no more.
Guess I got a pin prick instead of a sword thrust, heaven or somebody gotta be smiling down on me somehow. Nursing ladies at the hospital said much the same.
20 Jul 2011, 00:04 am
lol, u fkn insane. lucky bugger.
20 Jul 2011, 00:06 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-522: Brussows not ready, more risk playing him than not right now. he gonna need longer and if not ready by mid tri nations then maybe it will be one bridge too far for WC. By then maybe Stegmann will have cemented the position and Agile Titty will be in 7th heaven.
20 Jul 2011, 00:28 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-526:
Steggers is Z-list compared to the Bloem Gem. Without Juan, presumably, its more impt than ever that Brussow gets matchplay.
Certainly hope he gets up to speed and makes the Big Stage come September, RWC needs all its stars.
20 Jul 2011, 00:46 am
I’d have had Daniel in the squad, most complete tearaway loosie we got who can cover 6 and 8, not an outright fetcher and also not a classic 8 but very mobile and very wide awake with good sense of play to the ball as well as play to the situation while keeping momentum through his linking ability. A more cerebral player than most the others and what he gives away in height or weight he makes up with temperament and ability and speed and strength. Maybe not as much a ground ball fetcher as Pocock, Brussow or Stegmann, or a pilferer in the McCaw mold but if we go top heavy in brawn only like we done last 4 years and more with the Burger, Smith, Spies same ‘ol same ‘ol flat track train, then we will be found wanting where the need arises for some speed and agility round the fringes and through the linking interplay game.
Stegmann or Brussow will provide the terrier element but we ain’t got a real linking speedy player who can set the open field game alight. Spies should be that man but he ain’t. Potgieter could be that player but I reckon Daniel is better.
20 Jul 2011, 01:36 am
Glad to have you back Skop. Without you this site would lack a certain……kick.
20 Jul 2011, 03:44 am
I thought everyone knows not to **** with Skopskiet’s phone… it’s his gateway to keo and nobody ain’t getting it… knife Baretta of wat-ook-al… nice escape pal!
Boks have missed a beat not playing a 5/2 split with either another prop or preferably another impact flanker… there is no point having both Lambie and Adi on the bench in the backs…
They also making a big mistake not having the dynamite Strauss there for Ralepelle who is just not an impact player…
That Aus bench is dynamite in every respect…
20 Jul 2011, 04:40 am
glad you made it out in one piece skop…you plucky old dog! Next time hand over the DAMN phone.
20 Jul 2011, 07:56 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-531: Agreed.
Hand it over Skop.
10 years back Id have fought for it, today i have too much to lose. Its not worth the risk my man.
Happy to see you come off relatively unscathed though.
20 Jul 2011, 08:10 am
NOBODY gets the skopfone.
Those mofos were lucky to escape.
20 Jul 2011, 14:24 pm
Glad to see ur good old man.
Hope it wasnt one of your labourers that set you up.Once had a similiar situation occur and found out one of my employees set it up…
And the tsotsi’s didnt bank on a 6ft plus 120kg darkie stepping out the car.
Bruino laaities….
Well sh*t happens
20 Jul 2011, 14:43 pm
Welcome back Skop, glad you are still in one piece!
20 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-524: I built a house at the Lakes skop and employed Labour from site 5 too ..seemed like a very happy place ona sunday morning
On a more serious point: I was mugged for the first time when I was only 7 years old.. an older kid with a knife tried to stab me.. scary when I think back about the incident and what if my own kid had been in that situation.. I remember the community not being quite concerned and even my parents dismissing my trauma as an over reaction.. We lived in brutal times and everything was par for the course. I had quite a few skirmishes with muggers after that but learnt to handle myself to such an extent that I almost killed a 14 yo that tried to Rob a shop that I owned.. I chased after a gang and cornered the fkker.. cocked my gun and was disturbed by a passing car.. I am glad for that car
My last incident was actually in London on the underground.. I could not understand the incident.. The mugger was going to rob my boss who is almost 7ft but fled when he saw me.. I remember all in the coach looking stangely at me.. Not sure if I have some sort of killer demeanor
Glad you dont find the need to blame the whole community for that incident as the usual c unts on here would do but I have written about the backwardness of the whole country in respect of violence
20 Jul 2011, 15:32 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-534: your BMI is suspect sbali, at 6ft plus you should be around 87kg
hehehehe
20 Jul 2011, 15:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-537:
Hehehe perhaps
But that means that 85% of rugby players and heavyweight athletes are suspect…(not that im any of those..lol)
That BMI kak is rubbish.
20 Jul 2011, 15:49 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-538: i’m no expert on the subject, trust me ET the superc_unt is going to be here climbing all over your comment on BMI being rubbish
good luck hehehe
20 Jul 2011, 15:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-539:
hehehehe dont give a sh*t ngalowo!
Bheka uBismark at 188cm 112kg,what does BMI say about that?? amasimba leyonto…Mina im 187cm….kodwa im no Bizzy lmao!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All