PdV ‘rewards form’
19 Jul 2011
The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .
There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.
Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.
The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.
The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’
The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.
‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’
The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.
South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
19 Jul 2011, 11:29 am
Given the options available that team will be competitive ,they juat need to shut down cooper and genia and run the ball! with gio , basson , mvovo and jdj that shouldn’t be an issue , the main problem will be getting and securing the ball
19 Jul 2011, 11:30 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-143: don’t try to suppress the man’s right to freedom of speech.we all have a choice in life also.i don’t support bafana because i don’t support a team made up of 99% ethnocentric superblacks who believe that they have the right to claim football as their own.
Stegmann… i know he’s relatively untested at this level, but what we saw last year indicates a good super rugby player but no more (see Kanko, WO, etc…), maybe i will be proven wrong this weekend but i doubt it… with the quick Aussie backs there must be some concern with Basson’s defence. would have probably preferred Lambie at the back with Aplon and Mvovo on the wings. welp thats it, lets hope it’s a good game
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-149: I must agree with you that was sick, I paused for a minute and thought of the sickest thing I can come up with to throw at a sick racist c*nt like Hondo. It seems I have done well.
19 Jul 2011, 11:32 am
“If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two imposters just the same…
…Then you’ll be a Man, my son.”
(Rudyard Kipling – “If”)
19 Jul 2011, 11:33 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-146:
my enduring memory of theat game was that vuilgat kicking the ball out of Saint Fourie’s hands in the dying moments.
Mind you with Jamie Joesph at the helm what can you expect.
Ref gave you that game on a plate, and then followed it up with a silver spoon and a napkin.
cost me a new remote control that did.
19 Jul 2011, 11:33 am
@topaz(topaz)-152: You dont support Bafana because you are ignorant. This is not an insult, I can easily prove that you are an ignorant a*se
19 Jul 2011, 11:35 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148:
that sort of comment puts you at (or slightly below) his level.
surely you are better than that?
19 Jul 2011, 11:39 am
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-158: The best way to deal with racism is not to ignore those that are racist but to hit them as hard as one can. If one keeps ignoring them, they continue to believe in their sick ways without taking a step back to reconsider their sick ways.
19 Jul 2011, 11:40 am
I wonde who defends better between Basson and vd Heever. I would pick that one for the Boks. I suspect it is vd Heever.
19 Jul 2011, 11:42 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-159:
Just admit that you let emotion get to you and said something you now regret.
No harm done. It happens to everyone.
Such an admission is better than trying to rationalize an unacceptable comment.
Anyway, that’s just my view.
19 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
I like the idea of Lambie on the bench.. He covers both 15 and 10. I like the idea of putting Steyn in at 10 for the first game.. if he fksup he can justifiably be sent packing. If Steyn fks up, I will still go with Lambie on the bench to cover 10 & 15 but bring Elton in at 10
WO at 12.. last chance hopefully and if he does have a perfect game, I would still drop him for the next game because history has shown that he will blow cold in the next game.. especially against the AB’s
Loosies are fine but there was the option of including Luke which would make the loose trio completely interchangeable to allow for options in set pieces.
Tight five.. last chance saloon
19 Jul 2011, 11:46 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-157: the 1996 team probably was a fair reflection of south african society and also it’s successful, but when ethnocentrism started rearing it’s ugly head it signalled the end of the game as a success in sa football.was it really a surprise that they failed to progress past the 2010 wc first round?
19 Jul 2011, 11:47 am
Tac a dose of reality for you – The Bulls and all of their wonderful players with all of their amazing titles were s h i t this year. Well and truly k@k. Get off your high horse and come and support the Boks with the rest of us.
19 Jul 2011, 11:47 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-159:
you are right to confront it.
although hondo seems to be immune to any kind of reason.
I just thought more of you that’s all.
anyway moving on.
19 Jul 2011, 11:49 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-141: Talking about ignorance.. Hows your mum?? did she confirm that story about Os
19 Jul 2011, 11:49 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-161: I do not regret what I have said, its sick I know, more importantly I said it with a specific purpose. The aim is to show sick racist c*nts like Hondo that there is no room for them in South Africa, just like there is no room for farming killers.
There is no difference between the Hondo’s of this world and the bloody murderes. So no regret, no emotions attached, just driving the point home. It cuts both ways and the Hondo’s of this world need to know that and the only way to do it, is to show it to them.
19 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-146: “cr@p, Highlanders had the majority of possession and won all the fine margins” the Highlanders had 51.8% possession in the game against the bulls, hardly majority hey Panty?
19 Jul 2011, 11:52 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-89:
no, i dont get it. this wasn’t about the bulls having a better flyhalf than the crusaders (whose flyhalf may i remind you has only been part of a winning team once in the last 5 years, so much for the creativity). this was about bulls players having creativity coached out of them. well maybe it is and maybe it isn’t but at the end of the day they have been good enough to do a whole ffuckking lot with or without it.
lets be clear, here are some of his stats again:
World record for most points scored by a player who has scored all their team’s points (31).
Most points scored against New Zealand (31) in a single test.
South African record for penalties in a test (8) – beating the seven achieved twice by former fullback and now kicking coach of South Africa, Percy Montgomery.
All of the above records achieved with his 31 points scored in the Tri Nations 2009 match against the All Blacks in Durban on 1 Aug 09.
South African record for most points in a test against Australia.
Fastest 100 points by a Springbok (8 Test matches, 3 as replacement).
Fastest 200 points by a Springbok (16 Test matches).
Fastest 300 points by a Springbok (24 Test matches).
Most drop-goals in a Super Rugby season (11).
Most points scored against the All Blacks for a Springbok (31).
Most points in a Tri Nations match (31).
Most drop goals in a Super Rugby game (4) (in the 2009 Super 14 semi-final against the Crusaders).
Most drop goals in Super Rugby (21).
Most points in a Super Rugby season (263) – Beating Dan Carter’s record of 221 set in 2006.
Steyn also holds the record for most consecutive successful kicks at goal in Test play since statistics for that category were first kept in the late 1980s. He had a streak of 41 successful attempts that ended on 6 November 2010 against Ireland. The previous record was 36, held by Chris Paterson of Scotland.
now i put it to you that the sum of all the bulls parts and the spirit of their fallen hero’s put together would never have gotten those 3 titles, without morne. further more, i put it to you that the sum of all the boks parts would never have gotten that 2009 3n and lions series, without morne.
now you look me straight in the reply post and tell me honestly that any other flyhalf in sa will give the sum of all bok parts what we want. (thats cups and titles, in case your wondering. actual ffuckin cups and titles)
exactly! because we know what the sum of all bok parts are, don’t we? and the type of game we best play, don’t we?
now fit the parts to the puzzle to make pretty little pictures. get it?..
19 Jul 2011, 11:55 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-169:
Steyns a good solid player, Carter one of the best to ever play the game.
19 Jul 2011, 11:57 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-161: Your words would be believable if you had had a go at Hondo too instead of silence.
19 Jul 2011, 11:58 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-167: They jumbed at you for responding to Hondo.. because they wont do it themselves. Fighting racism is supposedly a black thing. Keeping hush when detecting racism is seemingly a white thing
19 Jul 2011, 11:58 am
Boks now 2nd on IRB ranking…Big thanks Samoa !!!
19 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
i agree with you tac. i don’t think its jealousy but just being plain ffuckkin delusional some times. these guys actually think we’ll win the wc without a kicking points-machine (or as some call it a s&j specialist).
rugby opinion hey? go figure…
19 Jul 2011, 12:03 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-169: blah blah blah, all these accolades relate to KICKING!!!!!!!!!
i said “flair” loosely translated as ability to creatively or ingeniusly create something out of nothing to deceive opponents by using own ingenuity on a rugby field, was coached out of brummer!
brummer may go on to break morne’s kicking stats or drop goal stats but that doesn’t mean he will be a well-rounded flyhalf who counts line breaks, off-loads as part of his repertoire.
19 Jul 2011, 12:08 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-170:
nuff said…
19 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-171: Tac did. See his post 144.
19 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-171: in fairness he did… at least today.get all the facts before jumping into a fist-fight.
19 Jul 2011, 12:11 pm
@Charlie(Charlie)-173:
Go Bokke.
Burp!
@Puma(Puma)-177: snap!
19 Jul 2011, 12:12 pm
@topaz(topaz)-178: My post 181 was meant for you no me……hahahahaha.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-170: carter is not that great. he had one very good season in 2005 and an okay one it 2006, he had a very poor 2007, 2008, 2009 and was okay in 2010. Just like Wilkinson who had only two genuinely good seasons. added to that carters kicking is shockingly poor. he directs play well which is good with the players around him and the superior coaching they have.
@Hondo(Hondo)-141:
wow! talk about beating about the racist bush.
following your posts, sometimes i think your just a guy who likes to play it ‘risque’, sometimes i think your just an old fashioned racist.
love to hear you tell me which it is?…
19 Jul 2011, 12:13 pm
@Staal(Staal)-180: Howzit Staal. Good to see you back.
19 Jul 2011, 12:13 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-167: while you are doing that,i then claim the right to keep a very close eye on ethnocentric superblacks like you and transie.
19 Jul 2011, 12:15 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148:
Taking into account that i own a farm.. and friends of mine were murdered like you mentioned….
hmmmm..
nuff said about this….
ya well we can all have an opinion….
19 Jul 2011, 12:16 pm
@Puma(Puma)-182:
19 Jul 2011, 12:17 pm
@Puma(Puma)-185: Hi Puma – what’s gonna happen this weekend…. eish ek’s geworried.
imo… we’re gonna get klapped.
19 Jul 2011, 12:18 pm
@Staal(Staal)-189: I am worried too, but heck I hope our young Boks can do it.
@topaz(topaz)-152: thats funny. they claim football but want white people to love it! hehehee. particularly when they are kak at it. I still watch though. even though i was banned from the kaizer chiefs forum because they thought i was white and someone just hated me. oh well.
@topaz(topaz)-186: you do that all the time… what has changed
guilty until proven innocent I say
19 Jul 2011, 12:19 pm
@topaz(topaz)-188:
19 Jul 2011, 12:23 pm
@Charlie(Charlie)-173:
This isn’t intended to be a stir but the Moans could take the Bokke in Auckland at the WC its now a sell out and they will be up for it, if the Bokke do finish second in their group who would they play in the quarters?
19 Jul 2011, 12:24 pm
MORE NEGATIVITY PLEASE!!!! NOT ENOUGH NEGATIVITY!!!!!!!
19 Jul 2011, 12:26 pm
Interesting stat pointed out by Tank Lanning: South Africa’s away record in the Tri-Nations against Australia – Played 17; Won 3; Lost 13; Drawn 1.
Looks like the odds are stacked up against us.
19 Jul 2011, 12:26 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-171:
See post 144.
19 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-141: class
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-148: Even more class
Wow the haters are out in force today
19 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-175:
ja ‘flair’, because winning was never important. why don’t we ask the the guys at the steve tshwete lifetime achievement awards to create a category for ‘never mind the score but did you see how nicely #10 passed the ball’ so that we can reward the shhitt out of our creative flyhalfs?
3 super titles, lions series, 2009 3n’s guy, thats all the bulls kicker’s got, no ‘creativity’, shame.
hope brummer gets the same.
pity the boks for dabbling in s&j, its so uncreative.
cant wait to see lambie lead us to the promised land, cant ffucckin wait.
19 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-170: Heh. Carter used be the ‘best ever’. Perhaps he should have retired 2 years ago and kept that title.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All