PdV ‘rewards form’

The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .

There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.

Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.

The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.

The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’

The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.

‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’

The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.

South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 201.Staal: Reply to this comment

@badeesh(badeesh)-195: The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears it is true…

• 202.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@topaz(topaz)-188: have you seen your support base…@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-191: SA Whites dont play football because… football is very competitive. No club can afford to entertain prejudice. You get relegated when you are kak and you lose millions… not like S15 rugby.. Mitchell and Naka still have jobs?? Mallet only needs to win two games every two seasons to retain his position in Italy.. Chelsea fire their coach when they dont take silverware.. the same with Kaiser Chiefs

Gumede wanted to change the losing culture at the Lions… The twats reresenting white interest preferred the culture of accommodation..

So how much of a loser are young man ?? ;-)

• 203.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-183: how does one become the top points scorer for their country of all time with “shockingly poor” kicking?

• 204.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-183: carter tore his achilles in january of 2009 playing for Perpignan and only came back to Test rugby in the last game of Tri-nations in Hamilton where the Boks neeeded half-way kicks fron Frans Steyn to win. the last move of that match was an over-cooked crosskick by carter that would’ve snatche the Tri-Nations title from the Boks…where did he have a **** season in 2009, playing for who?

• 205.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@topaz(topaz)-186: LOL!! :-) !!!

• 206.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-191: you’re banned there cos you’re a doos alucard :D

• 207.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-202:

2 weeks away and it’s as you were on keo.co.za. Some things are refreshingly resistant to change. And that drum of yours must be about broken by now Shaun. You’ve been banging it for ages now ;)

• 208.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-204: you are questioning an imbecile .. but I am sure you knew that :lol: .. but feel free to scorecheap points. They still count :lol:

• 209.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-206:

you can be banned for being a doos?

that should worry a few people here…

• 210.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-209:

I’d be the only one left on here…

• 211.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-201: Beautiful, learnt something on the Keo forum today…

• 212.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-207:

langers has self-esteem issues.

ever since he lost out on the head caddy job at langebaan golf club.

so he feels the need to over-compensate here.

I feel he is too harsh on himself, he did after all get through to the final round of interviews.

I think we should give him our support.

• 213.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-209: I am sure you will be OK mate :lol: .. remember, there is a culture of accommodation on Keo too

• 214.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-201:
    hehehe which do you think pdaddy believes?

• 215.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-210: I dont think you were very confident in making that statement ;-)

• 216.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-199: how many tri-nations do the boks have playing with the likes of skop & jag morne compared to the all blacks? what is our recent win ratio vs teams like france, ireland? what is the current win-loss ratio vs the all blacks since re-admission? the bulls had the best lineout combo in the world for the past 5 years, the best 9 for the past 4 years and a menacing pack of forwards that dominated super rugby…their flyhalf was just there to take kicks and THAT he did well, as soon as he starts missing, which he did this year, he was a non-entity…deal with it :D

• 217.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-212:

Shaun used to look in the mirror in the morning and growl ‘I’m a TIGERRRRR’

The mirror broke.

Now he just does his affirmations on Keo and ignores the replies ;)

• 218.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-215:

I exude confidence from every pore Shauny. It comes with being fabulous and not a doos.

• 219.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-218: Is that you practising your daily affirmations… I heard it works so keep it up :lol:

• 220.JockBok: Reply to this comment

I haven’t noticed the story on here, but I was just reading in the paper that Dollie is in line for a bench spot against the Leopards on Friday 8O

• 221.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-219:

Touche…

• 222.Staal: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-214: to be honset… i struggle a bit with that “nic” of your’s… enlighten me a bit… how did you get to that name?

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-215: So is jy nou shaun of nie….? :lol:

• 223.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-220: Peter Grant is off to Japan, Lionel Cronje, Gary Van Answegen, Kurt Coleman and some other name I don’t even recall are out injured

• 224.Staal: Reply to this comment

honset = honest…

holy cow…..goeie genugtig!

• 225.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-217:

langers calls it his affirmative reaction.

he is larger than life though and there is a lot of him to love.

• 226.topaz: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-191: football has a rich tradition in the coloured communities of the cape but these ethnocentric superblacks wants to create the impression that we are ***** at it….and then they expect us to support bafana bafana and that lesbo female team banana banana! :D

• 227.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-222: To each their own mate.. If he loves Bakkies and you find it unnatural, just remember that it has become acceptable :lol: he can love anybody.. but I draw the line when it comes to kiddy fiddling

• 228.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-223:

Yeah, it a shocker alright and it’s shaping up to be a continuation of the S15. Why on earth was PG allowed to go to Japan again?

I know Coleman will be back next week and GvA was unlucky at the weekend, but it’s a romantic notion to think those two were going to take us through the CC without injury and gain the experience required.

We were two injuries away from a disaster, now it is one. This AC fekker is really pisssing me off…

• 229.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-220:

actually the paper seemed to indicate that he was in line to start ahead of stavros.

• 230.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-222:

It’s from Life of Brian, but I don’t know who it refers to in the nic????

• 231.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Bliksem but you okes get your knickers in a knot in a flash!

• 232.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-225: I am down to 90kgs but based on the responses I have received, you would swear that I had lost about 5kgs more :lol:

• 233.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-229:

Actually, you may be right come to think about it, AC was talking about his experience. And we all know AC loves experience over form.

• 234.Staal: Reply to this comment

R 13 785 just for a new mini freezer between seats in the Cruiser…..

eish die mense is mal man! Maar ja – ‘n man se koeldranke moet koud wees so wat de hel….sal maar betaal.

• 235.Staal: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-231: hey – moetie lelik met ons wees nie asb.

We are mere mortals! :lol:

• 236.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-177: Oops. My apologies, Tacitus.

• 237.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

I hope that today is not a damp squip with regard to the Murdoch affair.. looking forward to see the evil ******* fry but I sense a bit of disappointment.

• 238.Michael: Reply to this comment

@topaz(topaz)-178: Missed it :-(

• 239.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-232: 90 kgs? How tall are you?

• 240.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@topaz(topaz)-226: noone i know has ever denied that there are excellent footballers from the coloured community. you just seem to be particularly peeved because of some pie-in-the-sky perception that black people are monopolising football.

the REAL truth is that a clique of soweto hoodlums ARE monopolising football and have for the past 2 decades. i know of stories where augusto palacios – then bafana coach – was trying to poach brendan augustine who at the time was competing for top goal scorer in the league while playing for Mthatha Bush Bucks. Brendan blatantly refused to sign for chiefs even though palacios threatened NEVER to pick him for bafana if he didn’t.

so keep fighting your lost cause. :D

• 241.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-222:
    monty python’s – the life of brian. one of the funniest movies ever, classic.
    but also a play on bakkies.

• 242.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-236: it was hardly noticeable but I do not want to discourage Tac.. He has moved into the light and I want to applaud him. This is not the first time he has ventured to confront the twats.. small steps but thankfully foward

• 243.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-239:

he is about 4 foot 1.

in his platforms.

he pays half price on international flights, but gets hit hard for excess emotional baggage.

• 244.topaz: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-237: your imperialist buddies wants to break up his empire but they don’t have a hope in hell in my humble opinion.they tried it with fifa but got nowhere.

• 245.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-200:

He did a great job last year directing play for NZ , he’s still the best around despite the other Kiwi pretender from Tokoroa.

• 246.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-239: Not tall enough to carry that but I have been told that it suits me :lol:

• 247.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-233:

dollie is very experienced.

he has been to australia, japan and the boland.

• 248.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-240:

Irvin Khoza

Kaizer Motaung

Football Mafia

No different to Sepp Blatter and his cronies who run a bigger more corrupt scheme called FIFA

• 249.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-229:
    get wp to the greek…

• 250.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-243: Soek tjy kak … joumasepoes :lol: .. 5ft 6 so the assumption is that I have a napoleon complex.. I see the vultures gathering.. becareful its a trap :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.