PdV ‘rewards form’
19 Jul 2011
The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .
There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.
Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.
The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.
The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’
The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.
‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’
The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.
South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
19 Jul 2011, 13:18 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-249:
19 Jul 2011, 13:20 pm
Ben Foster lyk bietjie dik….en kom seker ook van Benoni af.
en smaak my Peter Motsepe het bakbene en ‘n attitude!
Maar die ou hier onder mettie gesplete persoonlikheid worry my die meeste.
19 Jul 2011, 13:22 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-247:
Well he’s certainly got enough airmiles to get to Potch on Friday.
19 Jul 2011, 13:23 pm
@topaz(topaz)-244: lets see.. Its not Murdoch that is in the cross hairs.. its the PM ( Cameron)
19 Jul 2011, 13:26 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-248: They started the “coloured purging” in 2001/2, at that stage Carlos Quieroz’s team was fielding approximately 5 to 6 coloured players, who were all there on merit, that didn’t seat well with Khoza & Motaung, they managed to get Carlos Quieroz fired on the eve of the Korea/Japan world cup after having qualified without losing a single game and they replaced him with Jomo Sono.
I was mad as hell back then, even to date, I still hold these two and their media dog BBK accountable for what followed thereafter.
19 Jul 2011, 13:27 pm
Arghhh, sitting in Tambo, just about to pack up and head for the gate………frikkin flight’s delayed!!!!
19 Jul 2011, 13:29 pm
OK cheers.
Ek’s honger. Gaat nou eet.
Fillet en paptert wat oorgebly het v gisteraand.
Cheers – gaan GROOT – jy lewe net 1 keer!
19 Jul 2011, 13:30 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-253:
apparently his ability with a pair of chopsticks has seriously impressed Allstar Coetzee.
19 Jul 2011, 13:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-204: he also threw an intercept try to Jean De Villiers, he didn’t play much that year at all.
19 Jul 2011, 13:39 pm
@Staal(Staal)-252: hey moenie bollie praat van benoni nie!daar is n paar lekker plekke in tom jones rylaan.
19 Jul 2011, 13:41 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-255:
Coloured purging……wouldnt go that far sbali..
When current national team captain is coloured,-Steven Pienaar
Likes off Morgan Gould,Erwin isaacs,Bernard Parker,Bevan Fransman,Bryce Moon,Claasen,thats Erasmus fella etc
Both have had plenty of coloured players in both their teams since 01/02 for Chiefs & Pirates
19 Jul 2011, 13:45 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-7: \
What is this nonsense about l/o options.
The Bulls have had the world’s best l/o since 2008. That includes Stegmann. In Stegmann’s test debut he took a lineout ball.
What’s the probelm?
Having fast feet/reaction is often worth more at the l/o than an extra 10 centimetres.
Steggies took about 6 or 7 balls that I can remember in the S15 this year, what’s the problem?
I don’t know if any of you noticed, but South Africa are not struggling in this area, and that is together with shortshit flanks like Brussow and Steggies.
19 Jul 2011, 13:47 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-255:
And Carlos was a draw Machine,never won games and played boring football…went on to be a supersized flop at Madrid and with Portugal as well.Hi claim to face was that Junior Portugese team that won u20 WC I think in early 90′s with Figo,Cuoto,Rui Costa,Baia etc but never achiever much after that-always rode that.Best as an assistant where he was good at Man U. He brought the fancy suit look to footy now Guardiola and the bots followed suit…(excuse pun)..about the only good thing he did for soccer lol
19 Jul 2011, 13:50 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-46:
What you talking about?
Stegmann is the fastest flank in SA. And no, this is not because he was clocked at 10.9 seconds over 100m (faster than many internatioanl wingers), we’ve seen him prior to his hamstring injury reel in backs all the time.
And I don’t know if you saw his handling, it’s better than any other flank too, he almost never makes an error.
Really a bit tired of this, I would just like to point out where you people give your uninformed opinions.
You don’t have to know anything to have an opinion, but it’s a bit silly. This shows that people sit around and guess at what this or that player appears to be so that they have something to post on forums to participate in a discussion.
19 Jul 2011, 13:56 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-261: South Africa team against mexico in 2010
16 Khune
02 Gaxa
04 Mokoena Captain
15 Thwala (Masilela, 45 Yellow card)
20 Khumalo
08 Tshabalala
10 Pienaar
11 Modise
12 Letsholonyane
13 Dikgacoi Yellow card
09 Mphel
pienaar in the team because even you ethnocentric superblacks could not deny the man’s brilliance ,although on some ethnocentric superblack football blogs before the wc some actually called for him to be replaced.
19 Jul 2011, 13:59 pm
@topaz(topaz)-265: Apart from Franklin Cale which coloured player can in your opinion feel aggrieved at not making the team?
19 Jul 2011, 14:04 pm
@topaz(topaz)-265: what is an ethnocentric superblack?
19 Jul 2011, 14:05 pm
@topaz(topaz)-265: you are so white its funny.
19 Jul 2011, 14:05 pm
@Staal(Staal)-235:
Hey Staal, kwaai om jou weer hier te sien man!
Nee fokit ek het vroeer gelees toe is alles nog lekker civil, en n uur later sien ek die kak spat alle kante toe weer!
Ek kan nie meer byhou nie!
19 Jul 2011, 14:06 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-267: Its an ET-term.
He latched unto it like a leech.
19 Jul 2011, 14:06 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-269: Are you new here?
19 Jul 2011, 14:09 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-267: a big headed dark person
19 Jul 2011, 14:09 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-266: it’s not about who makes the current team but it’s about equality and fair treatment for all at every level of the game.we can attack white people ,in terms of rugby, day in and day out for basically the same thing but then we keep a blind eye to how these ethnocentric superblacks conduct football business in sa.what’s good for the goose is good for the gander i say.i will be the conscience for these ethnocentric superblacks on here and elsewhere and will not be silenced.
19 Jul 2011, 14:10 pm
Hell I’m glad they didn’t put Johnson at 7 but Danie, unlike these keo okes said they would.
19 Jul 2011, 14:10 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-270: old corpus invented it?
the scientist in him should have simply used “afrocentric “.
one word only.
but he is a corpus.
19 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-255:
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-261:
the problem with sa football is that we reward failure, plain and simple. its not so much a question of quota placements, sure picking on merit is the best way to go, but if safa does indeed do that it would be less the point.
what should happen when the team plays poorly is they should be sshat on from dizzy heights from all and sundry. from the coaches, the country, the bloggers, the wags and even their moms. basically from everybody. they must learn to associate losing with very bad vibrations.
same for winning. when the team does well, then and only then should they be applauded and giving the ‘lurve’ from everybody.
couple that with euro style coaching, training and management and they’d make their way up the rankings for sure.
19 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-264:
Dude,if all that is so true-indeed it might be.Half the guys on the international circuit are half the athlete Stegmann you profess he is.Even Richie McCaw who for almost 10 years has been the standard in open side play. I havent witnesses Stegmann influence entire gameplans/strategies against him even at Superrugby level but the likes of McCaw,Pocock,Brussow have mean mentioned in that light.
Why not Stegmann then? Who has been in Bulls since 2007,this is his 5 th of pro rugby.
Because many can argue that with his accolades he is no different in terms of his importance to the Bulls yet not so at international level(even though he hasnt played enough games i will give him that) to a Wynand Olivier or say Reuben Thorn-who was even AB captain at some point yet you wont see anyone mentioning him on pantheon level of loosies in the sport.
Barring Bulls fans & Heyneke Meyer (who has called many right and his fair share wrong in his time)-the praise for the bloke is few and far between accross the antipodean and the north hemisphere add rest of SA.
What dont the rest of us not in Bulls set up nor fanbase?? because clearly in your eyes he SHOULD be the standard in SA at the VERY LEAST.
19 Jul 2011, 14:12 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-271:
Haha, touche.
Guess I am not spending as much time on here as per normal, work killing me at the moment.
19 Jul 2011, 14:13 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-267: google the word ethnocentric. you know you are second to transie when it comes to using that medium.
19 Jul 2011, 14:14 pm
@Porto(Porto)-272: ah, here i was thinking it was some kind of musical instrument.
its been banged about enough over the last few days.
@topaz(topaz)-273: nobody here gives a toss about soccer buddy, well very few do.
why are you using the eternal cry of the loser anyway?
“(sob) (sob) it..it…its not faaaaaaaaaaaaair…(sob) (sob)”
since when is life “fair” you big girl.
19 Jul 2011, 14:14 pm
Well guys , i am not complaining this time round. I would love to see how this rookie springbok performs , these guys will have to step up because we are loosing a couple of old springboks next year. So yes lets see how these guys do during the 3N. Hopefully they can play Spies ,Habanna out of the bok team
19 Jul 2011, 14:15 pm
@topaz(topaz)-279: second to transie?
what an honour!
that guy is fast man, really fast.
unlike you
19 Jul 2011, 14:15 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-261: I’m referring to what Khoza and crew did in 2001/2. Not what is currently happening now. In 2001/2 the best available players in that 36month period happened to be coloured and that didn’t seat well with the establishment. I remember that era as clear as daylight, I was hands on involved with SAFA.
I remember Nassif Morris hearing about his injury on TV, he wasn’t injured, SAFA wanted OJ Mabizela, and justice was served on SAFA and the nation when OJ overlapped and exposed Bafana against Mali, we lost in the Quarters of the 2002 Afcon.
There was a declared stance against coloureds, Baring-Batho Kortjas and the Sowetan newspaper were the dogs of war used. Since Carlos Qiueroz left in 2002, Bafana started their free fall until Alberto Perreira arrived in preparation for the 2010
19 Jul 2011, 14:20 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-270: yes,et used the term superblack and i only added term ethnocentric or ethnocentrism.makes for a good combination don’t you think?
19 Jul 2011, 14:23 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-277:
“Dude,if all that is so true-indeed it might be.Half the guys on the international circuit are half the athlete Stegmann you profess he is.Even Richie McCaw who for almost 10 years has been the standard in open side play. I havent witnesses Stegmann influence entire gameplans/strategies against him even at Superrugby level but the likes of McCaw,Pocock,Brussow have mean mentioned in that light.
Why not Stegmann then? Who has been in Bulls since 2007,this is his 5 th of pro rugby.”
Firstly, you are wrong, Steggies has only been at teh bulls since 2008,
Secondly, you say that the team with the likes of McCaw don’t do planning re Stegmann.
Oh really? Well if they didn’t you can bet your arse they will be kicking themselves if you think of results like Bulls vs Saders 2009 Semi, 2010 Semi, 2010 league match etc.
19 Jul 2011, 14:24 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-263: Ask Alex Ferguson or anyone who knows football more than just the anecdotal stuff that gets thrown around by media. Ask yourself these questions, how many managers in the world get to manage Real Madrid, How many managers get to manage Portugal and what was his contribution to an aging Man Utd team.
If a manager doesn’t win the league with Real Madrid, he is considered a flop, is Manuel Pellegrini a flop?, in fact if Mourinho didn’t get the Kings Cup, he would be considered a flop as well
19 Jul 2011, 14:27 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-283: i applaud you for your honesty xhosa.great post.that was one of the major reasons why i stopped supprting bafana.currently i don’t think many coloured players deserved to be picked for bafana.
19 Jul 2011, 14:27 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-285: Do the words “restraining order” mean anything to you?
19 Jul 2011, 14:29 pm
@topaz(topaz)-279:
i still do hope you will apologise for this, please. it was a step too far and i’m sure you’re a better man than that. i enjoy your stuff more often than not, as i’m sure do others (though they may not admit it). do the good thing and bring back equilibrium to the universe. again, i say, please?
just to remind you:
59.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment
18 Jul 2011, 11:28 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-58: don’t flatter yourself **** removed **** and user banned.
19 Jul 2011, 14:29 pm
The greatest Bok team I’ve seen in my livetime are:
1. Os du Randt
2. Uli Schmit
3. Flippie van der Merwe
4. Mark Andrews
5. Victor Matfield
6. Ruben Kruger
7. Gert Smal
8. Jannie Breedt
9. Joost van der Westhuizen
10.Naas Botha
11. Breyton Paulse
12. Danie Gerber
13. Jaques Fourie
14. Bryan Habana
15. Andre Joubert
19 Jul 2011, 14:31 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-288:
Yeah, that’s like the order of magnitude of metamorphism that undergoes during re-folding denoted by the symbol psi, right?
19 Jul 2011, 14:31 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-291:
*that a reef undergoes*
19 Jul 2011, 14:33 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-291: um….ja. OK.
Is that known as the Steg-thagorous theorem?
19 Jul 2011, 14:33 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-285:
i like transformation, but he often blows sshit out his aarse. not often but he does. sometime he turns the fan on too.
19 Jul 2011, 14:34 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-283:
fair enough.But even under Stuart Baxter there was not much change, then Mashaba,Moloto,Phumo,Santana etc etc so I think more of it had to do with multiple changes in coaching and the mess at Saffa due to incompetence of likes of Molefe Oliphant,Raymond Hack and the like….
Nassief Morris while highly rated by Panathanakois etc never really played well for bafana bafana…At times was along with Mokoena part of reason for losses.Pienaar until of late while largely ineffectual for Bafana as well even when at Ajax making Patrick Viera a fool in those Champs league games in mid 2000′s. It happens like Landon Donovan for USA,Messi for Argentina,Ibrahimovic for Sweden etc Arguably their best individual players and exports but not as influencial in national set up as one would expect with other less gifted players in same national sides playing better.
19 Jul 2011, 14:36 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294:
oh i’m sorry transformation. i was actually referring to mshinwam. hehe
19 Jul 2011, 14:37 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-296:
no, no sshit! i’m sorry again mshinwam. i was in fact referring to transformation.
19 Jul 2011, 14:38 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294:
…uh, you mean Mshini? Nobody like Transie…..
19 Jul 2011, 14:39 pm
sshit i’m confused!
19 Jul 2011, 14:39 pm
OK what the hell’s going on here?
Let’s all agree naughty boy, we all like Mshini, we dislike Transie.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All