PdV ‘rewards form’
19 Jul 2011
The Springboks have named four uncapped players in their match 22 to face Australia in Sydney .
There are debuts for props Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling, as well as flank Ashley Johnson, who all start, while scrumhalf Charl McLeod could get his first cap off the bench.
Openside flank Heinrich Brüssow has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to be considered, but Johann Muller has, and starts in the second row. CJ van der Linde, who Springbok coach last week said was a serious injury concern, plays off the wood.
The versatile Danie Rossouw is deployed at blindside flank in a back row that features Johnson and Bulls fetcher Deon Stegmann. In the back division Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn run on as the halfback pair, with Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh in midfield.
The back three features players with pace to burn in the form of Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said: ‘The new caps had outstanding Super Rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them. They have been rewarded for their form and now it’s up to them. We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.’
The inexperience of the pack is a concern, in particular the two rookie props. However, captain John Smit expressed his utmost confidence in them.
‘They’ll be nervous and I’m pretty sure Australia will want to have a crack at them as well up front,’ he said. “I’m sure they’ll understand that but the boys have stepped up every week in Super 15 so I can’t see it being any different in a Test match.’
The players in the squad to miss out on selections are: Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Ryan Kankowski, Odwa Ndungane, Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss.
South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Pat Lambie.

540 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All
19 Jul 2011, 14:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-293:
Naw dude, that’s Mohr’s principle. :s
you should ask for a refund from your 8th grade teacher……
19 Jul 2011, 14:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-300:
ja no, just nevermind i said anything.
19 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
leave Transie alone.
He’s cool.
Sharper than many of the bloggers on here.
Likes to stir the pot a bit but hey, this is KEO after all…..
19 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-302:
Don’t worry man, what you said was partly the truth, which is more than keo’s writers say and they get payed for it, so……..
19 Jul 2011, 14:45 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-301: That would be maff’s right???
19 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303:
Do the words “restraining order” mean anything to you?
19 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-285:
Im not wrong, he made his CC debut in 2007
Secondly Stegmann is hardly signalled out as a primary threat. Yet the other names i mentioned earlier have been spoken of in such a manner.
And lastly you have not answered any of the questions I asked on the post because I would like to see where your point of departure is emanating from regarding praise for Stegman and belief to the extent that you allude to him deserving to be the STANDARD of openside play in SA even somewhat /large extent downgrading Brussow’s impact or value especially in comparison to Stegmann.
19 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-289: i will consider your recommendation.
19 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-305:
maff?
Sheer strain is a mof’s right though………
19 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-283: was this the work of “ethnocentric superblacks” or a certain clique in JOHANNESBURG that think they and only they run football? now pass on the infromation to our latter-day struggle hero topaz/valkryie/capo./lukeisbaas who goes around calling people the k-word in his supposed fight against super blacks
19 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303:
agreed
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-304:
agreed
we can have our cake and eat it, the glass can be both full and empty
19 Jul 2011, 14:51 pm
@topaz(topaz)-308:
thank you sir.
sincerely.
19 Jul 2011, 14:51 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309: Maffs. you know? what you do when you take one fing and add another fing?
Sometimes you subtract one fing from anudder fing, but I never got to that part….
19 Jul 2011, 14:58 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-307:
Well thanks for taking the time to do your research. You said “Bulls” not blue bulls, and you were referring to Stegmann in the Bulls environment, you don’t blame me for pointing out that you were wrong.
No big deal.
And as for the rest Mshini, I cannot make up for the spectator’s opinions and likes and dislikes and provincialism etc.
If it comes down to something we can all agree in-part on: stats, like 100m sprint times and total work rate stats and minutes played etc. then sure, it is ok to post those.
I was pointing out to Bryce that Stegmann is the fastest flank in SouthAfrica, so I dunno where he gets off calling him slow, we know this is not the case.
And this is why I said that casual fans sit around and make stuff up or refer to another’s comments to form an opinion so that they have something to talk about and participate in the discussion.
They complain about penalties, then they are using a stat themselves, they don’t see the irony in this when they criticize me for using stats more fully.
How can you say player A is a “penalty machine” at 4 more penalties than player B when both A and B conceded in a certain area where player A has done 30% more work, or in some cases 50% more work than the player you are compairing him to that somehow escapes this stigma that you are so eagre to lable with?? And player A then conceeds at a lower rate too.
Doesn’t make any sense and people are just as arrogant and ignorant as they’ve ever been. Particularly since this is OUR talent. They are proud to boast about OUR talent and depth in loosies, but then turn right around and disparage an upcoming loosie because of their provincialism and just all round stupidity.
19 Jul 2011, 14:58 pm
ai ,why is div picking meisiekind, ? could never make the step up to international rugby …eish
19 Jul 2011, 15:02 pm
@daneb(daneb)-315:
because meisiekind is in the b team. wont make the a team.
19 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306: hey, I’d stick up for you too mister!
In spite of your Stegman fetish, which I might add, is bordering on the obsessive.
But that’s not a professional opinion, more like a casual observation.
19 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
@daneb(daneb)-315:
ai, huaw, eish, poo-kaka, hayibo
19 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-310:
xhosakid has dropped the k bomb before…
admittedly it was after the stormers lost.
so he may have been a bit emotional.
I am starting to think he is a mielie boer from klerksdorp….
19 Jul 2011, 15:10 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-317:
I am not obsessed SB. Refer to my post#314 and realize that this is best illustrated around the Stegmann debate on these forums. That is why.
Unfortunately it pops up so often because they never leave me alone on the topic and in some cases try trolling like Transie (which is fine), and there is a never-ending stream of ignoramuses that need to be educated. Keo should add me to the payroll.
19 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-320: mmmmm. I did use the word bordering.
You do set yourself up for some of those posts though, Highly amusing as the back and forth is….
19 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-320:
I saw a huge ignoramus last time I visited the kruger.
south africa is famous for them.
there are so many that we are going to have to think about culling a few to ensure the survival of the species.
we will start with valkyrie as he weakens the gene pool and adds nothing to the sum of human knowledge.
19 Jul 2011, 15:15 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-286:
Carlos Queiroz has coached some pretty impressive teams but still doesnt take away the fact that he was an average manager when he was head coach and won little when he was at helm of any team.Real Madrid are hardly the quintessential example of prudent governance & procurement excellence especially after Galacticos era and firing Victor Del Bosque which was pathetic.That season he got fired he had the Spanish Double.Real proceeded in hiring Queiroz who with little top flight success got job ahead of many other candidates with better resumes.
Legend has it that he was hired by Valentino Perez the improve the aesthetic model/image of Madrid to go along with Galactico tag….The fat but tactically astute Del bosque didnt “fit the bill”.Sh*t Madrid hired the diabolical Juande Ramos after his Tottenham stuff up who is now coaching in Russia somewhere & Pellegrini was also less than effective neither.
This is a club and President that bought Beckham to sell shirts and tap into and increase market share in Asia where Becham was extremely popular….And sell the engine of team-Claude Makalele.Portugal were desperate after Scolari.They struggled to qualify for WC 2010 under Queiroz and did dismally.
Best role for Queiroz is assistant or junior team manager.
The bloke is average.
19 Jul 2011, 15:17 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-319:
19 Jul 2011, 15:19 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-322:
Firstly, Valkyrie is a “HE”. I thought it was a “SHE”. So I stopped guessing and I refer to it as an “IT”.
Gunther, culling? Hell, you might be the Illuminati’s SA correspondant to usher in a new world order.
Maybe culling is too strong a word. Like the Gunny says, we should perhaps just rip it’s balls off so that it cannot contaminate the rest of the world, even if it shortdicks every cannibal in the Congo.
19 Jul 2011, 15:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-310: It was not Ethnowhatever blacks, it was the Soweto mafia, who couldnt take a starting 11 that contained only 3 black africans.
Carlos’s team that qualified for Korea/Japan was deemed not black enough by the Soweto mafia, instead of Vonk/Arendse, they preferred John Tlale, LOL!!!. Back then Bafana were in the world Top 30 and Top 5 in Africa the team was had Hans Vonk, Nassif Morris, Mattew Booth, that’s 3 out of the back 5 “non-black”
Delron Buckley, Quinton Fortune, Eric Tinkler, Steven Pienaar,Sbusiso Zuma, were the heart of the midfield, that’s only 1 black there on merit, Benni and Nomvethe upfront, thats only 3 blacks in the starting 11, this didn’t seat well with the Soweto mafia.
19 Jul 2011, 15:23 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-325:
valkyrie lost his balls long ago.
he is saving up for the rest of the operation.
he is still a hit with the sailors though.
ever since he lost his gag reflex in a poker game.
19 Jul 2011, 15:23 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-319: Why you speak ill of me in my presence, have you no shame?
19 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
Um the answer to that would be a big NO! lol
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-328:
jammer meneer
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-319: a mielie boer, that wishes hondo to be shot “farm murder” style? i don’t know hey, doesn’t sound foolproof
19 Jul 2011, 15:26 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-328:
Yeah, that’s damn shamful.
We all know it’s best if he speaks ill of you behind your back.
19 Jul 2011, 15:28 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-323: Vincente de Bosque, Fiorentino Perez
19 Jul 2011, 15:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-331:
maybe he is an agent provocateur?
try to stir up the keo right wing so that they start lynching the you know whos.
or can you vouch for him because you went to Dale together?
19 Jul 2011, 15:33 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-327: still feeling sore about that gunther isa nazi rent-boy bit.geez man.you have an unhealthy interest in valkyrie.what valkyri did to to you was a bit of a low blow but it’s now time to get over it and let the healing process start.
19 Jul 2011, 15:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-333:
Got the names wrong-kancane anyway- but gist of the story has plenty merit. That era was a joke,Perez ruined the club with all that kak…..Galactico my gat
19 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-334: he went to Dale, not me
19 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
haha, wished a farm murder on him… Hondo’s relentless trolling is finally paying dividends
19 Jul 2011, 15:40 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-336: he got the presidency back and now is orchestrating his vengeance against the catalans with mourinho
19 Jul 2011, 15:41 pm
There can be little argument that the newbies picked for Saturday have been form players during the Super 15. That the coach has also granted some of the “lesser” Springboks an opportunity to proove their worth is also laudable. There is little room for argument that Guthro Steenkamp and Beast Mtawarira are the incumbent looseheads, but Greyling had a strong Super Rugby season and will no doubt challenge for more game time as a Bok in seasons to come. Smit is the reigning World Cup captain and desperatley needs game time at hooker, while Chilliboy has produced some of his best rugby towards the end of the Super season. With Jannie du Plessis, BJ Botha and CJ vd Linde ahead in the pecking order, but mostly leaning towards the older side, Kruger is another who has done enough to earn a call up. Apart from du Plessis and the experienced vd Linde there are few tighthead contenders apart from Kruger.
Johan Muller may be based abroad, but has been a long-standing member of the Bok setup and it is only natural he gets a chance to show what he can offer. Flip vd Merwe is the incumbent backup to Bakkies and also needs some hard game time.
The loose trio stays faithful to Div’s pecking order with Stegman getting a chance to build on his end of year tour. Again he was ahead of keegan Daniel last year in the coaches pecking order and remains so this season.
Danie Roussow at blindside is a straight forward pick and should Juan Smith suffer any setbacks will no doubt push Willem Alberts hard for the 7 jersey, why not see how he shapes.
Ashley Johnson may not have been consistently brilliant, but was a massive presence for the Cheetahs and his physical style may proove far more suited to the Bok gameplan than Kankowski, who has also been less of a factor this year. Add to this Pierre Spies’ poor impact this season and there is much to play for at the back of the scrum.
Ruan Pienaar needs no justification, while giving him and Morne Steyn some game time to find each other is a smart play by Div. They could well be asked to partner up in a crunch game should anything happen to Fourie du Preez at the World Cup.
Wynand Olivier has been a long-time understudy at 12 and there are many who feel that de Jongh is better suited to 13 anyway. Again with the first-choice centre pairing absent, this is really a test of the backup players.
The back three are all end-of-year Boks and Aplon in particular will want to stake the backup spot at fullback. Zane Kirchner has not really kicked on.
I don’t think this is a bad team at all, many are the future in their positions, while some are in dire need of some good game time. If one takes the time to see the logic of Div, one can conclude that he has simply stayed true to his vision of the Bok team needed to win the World Cup. Wether or not he succeeds remains to be seen!
19 Jul 2011, 15:43 pm
@topaz(topaz)-335:
sorry.
I was paying you a compliment.
you bring much needed foregn currency into the country.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-320: Dude, seriously, one can make STATS do anything you want to, Stegman is useless, he is very fortunate we have so little talent in the open-side flank position. I doubt he will make the starting 15 for any of the top 10 international nations.
Personally I would have picked Daniel ahead of him.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-332: That’s a natural thing to do…
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-338: interesting comment from old transie?
19 Jul 2011, 15:53 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-338: at least he disappeared since then or changed his nic temporary.
19 Jul 2011, 15:53 pm
I would probably have gone with Lambie at 15 and Keegan ahead of Deon.
19 Jul 2011, 15:55 pm
@coma(coma)-342:
It’s the openside’s job to set the tone at the breakdown.
The total OOA1-3 of the rucks is:
Stegmann 561 (played 1070 minutes)
Daniel 257 (played 1140 minutes)
OK, since you prefer Daniel, take those stats and make him look good with it, make the stats “say whatever you want them to”, bring any other stats you like into the discussion, obviously the opening line is the focal point.
You cannot make any stats say whatever you want them to.
19 Jul 2011, 15:55 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-346: yes because you’re a biased sharks fan…aplon is koning
19 Jul 2011, 15:57 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-347: are you saying keegan played more minutes than stegmann?
19 Jul 2011, 15:59 pm
Can’t see anything other than a good solid beating for these second stringers. A saving grace is that this Bok side is not playing against Samao this weekend. That would have been a laugh.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All