Boks latest – PdV explains back row shuffle

Keo.co.za brings you news from the Springbok camp.

PdV explains back row shuffle – Peter de Villiers says that the uncertainty of Juan Smith’s availability for the World Cup has forced him to select Danie Rossouw at blindside flank for the coming Test against Australia.

De Villiers has picked Rossouw at No 7 and Ashley Johnson at No 8 for Saturday’s game, a strange selection given Rossouw has won the World Cup playing No 8 and Johnson has played all his rugby at blindside flank for the Cheetahs.

‘There is a reason for that,’ he said. ‘I know Ashley played superbly for the Cheetahs at No 7, but with uncertainty about Juan Smith’s fitness for the World Cup, I’m looking to Danie to fill in there if necessary.

‘There has been a revival in Danie’s career this year. His performance will be very important for us. I think Ashley could get us on the front foot from No 8.’

De Villiers added that he is counting on the forwards to lay the platform for the Boks’ exciting if untried backline combinations.

‘Our ability to bring that explosiveness of the outside backs into the game will depend on the kind of possession we get, our field position and how much momentum we have.’

Boks aim to surprise at scrum-time – Debutants Dean Greyling and Werner Kruger claim that the Bok scrum is firing as a unit and will test the Wallabies on Saturday.

The Boks will field an inexperienced pack, but the two Bulls props believe the scrum has what it takes to unsettle the Aussies.

‘We are going to surprise people with our scrumming,’ Greyling told Independent Newspapers. ‘As a prop, you know when you are getting it right as a unit. It helps that I know my tighthead, Werner, so well from the Bulls, and between us is one of the most experienced scrummagers of all time in John Smit.

‘We are going to attack the Wallabies in the scrum. This is not cockiness – you have to have an attacking mindset, and this doesn’t mean we underrate the Wallabies – they actually scrummed okay against Samoa. We are just feeling really good.’

Kruger said there’s no special technique he will be employing when he fronts his Aussie counterparts.

‘Scrumming is not always as technical as people make out. It is very direct and very physical. You put your head down and go forward – there’s no getting around it.’

81 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@ali(ali)-45:

remind me who helped burger fetchat the 2007 world cup when the boks won?

• 52.ali: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-51: England loose trio, 2007 rwc final:
    8: Easter
    7: Moody
    6: Corry

That selection played into our hands, thus providing the exception to the rule.

• 53.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-48: back then! ever since the introduction of the new laws, he has been ineffective.

face it, he is not good enough anymore for international rugby. this was rudely proved during B&I lions tour.

• 54.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@j59(j59)-3: That’s not true. Johnson played 7 almost the entire series with Raubenheimer at 8, but at certain scrums they swopped when they used planned moves (ie near the opposition goalline.)

One sometimes forget about Raubenheimer. He was ever present for the Griquas against WP last week, and did his job perfectly for the Cheetahs. He just didn’t stand out in the S15, since he’s the work-horse type of player.

• 55.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Love the way Keo and co claim this as their own interview… no source… nada… simply trawl the web and ‘Transformation it’ (the keo word for ‘cut-n-paste’) but what do we expect!?

• 56.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-53: ??? He didnt even really play in the B&I….he was also just coming back from injury i think.

• 57.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-56: He did, but was injured half-way through, which gave Brussow the opportunity.

• 58.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

the front row of
    Greyling, Smit, Kruger
    could be more effective than a front row of
    Mtawarira, Smit, du Plessis
    since Mtawarira and du Plessis seem to have fallen off the pace of late

• 59.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-58:

Agreed. I expect a strong scrummging performance from the Boks.

• 60.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-59: If their performance is good, which I think will be the case, PdV should consider this front row for WC.

• 61.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-58:

It depends in part on how many meters the pack will run on defense.

If the Wallabies force our tight forwards to make a lot of tackles or to hit a lot of rucks at the lateral extremes of the field, then the Wallabies will be fresher come the set piece.

• 62.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-60:

The thing is, we don’t really have a great tighthead in SA. So Kruger is no worse than Jannie or CJ or whoever packs at tighthead for the Stormers.

As for loosehead, I think Greyling is as good a scrummager as any – with plenty of time to improve still, being only in his mid twenties, which is young for a prop.

In the loose Beast may shade him, but only in terms of mobility, not strength. I have seen Greyling power over the the line with 3 guys on his back. He is a real buffalo.

He obviously has lots of areas for improvement, but that’s to be expected for a prop of his age and experience.

• 63.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-60: nope, beast and dup, are much better scrummagers when they have Bakkies and Victor on their arses. the Sharks locks are nowhere near as strong as those two. i assume you based you sentiment on their performance during super rugby?

• 64.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-63:

Have never rated Jannie.

• 65.scrumfan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25: Indeed he has not, but stranger things have happened.

• 66.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64: well, he does not have the shear brute strength but technically he is sound and from what ive seen in him, he keeps on improving.

• 67.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-47:

I agree mate, loyalty is commendable. Too many people whose opinions change with the wind.

Thank GOD they aren’t bok selectors.

Whatever happens in the WC i’m looking forward to post 2011 Springboks. It’s rebuild time and it’ll be make or break depending on the coach

• 68.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-63: Gerhard Mostert and Alistair Hargreaves are no push overs. Even in the loose watch how Greyling in particular has played, he’s a powerhouse, he has out performed Mtawarira. Kruger seems to have been more solid than Jannie.

• 69.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-62: From what I’ve seen this year Dean seems to have more power than Tendai, some of his runs have been excellent. Ja At 3 we are thin but Kruger seems to be a bit more solid than Jannie at the moment. I’m very interested to see how they will perform on Saturday, I rek they’ll do well.

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just checked the weather forecast for Sydney on Saturday. 90% rain forecast. Temp 17 day and 11 night. It is a night game so will be cold but with rain expect a kicking game. We may have a chance with it raining.

Jeez who would have wanted it to rain…..haha.

Hope the weather is better by the time we get to NZ.

• 71.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-69: I am looking forward to seeing how our front row do as well. Actually think they will do well.

• 72.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Greyling is definitely one for the future,big,strong and fast for his size.

He is not better than Beast scrum wise,much or muchness there.

Beast is the better athlete,better mobility,battle workrate,better at the collisions-cinsistently and better from close quarter when carrying the ball.

Greyling is a younger version of Guthro Steenkamp…

• 73.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-72: Agree there Mshini. Still rate Beast our best. Greyling is a fine young player though. So is Steenkamp when not injured. We sure do have depth at LH.

Though am looking forward to see this new front row play on Saturday. Pleased John is back at hooker. Think we gonna do fine come scrum time.

• 74.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

We have to have brussow at 6, I like the idea of danie at 7 but we can’t come to assumptions yet we gotta wait for the home leg of the 3N but we are really lucky to have so many options at loose forward, I think it’s a given we all want Juan, but in my opinion we if he ain’t there schalk will play 7, he is more of a 7 then a fetcher nowa days, at 8 we can pick nearly anyone, danie, alberts or by some luck vermulan, let’s wait for injuries n it’s outta our hands so all we gotta do is wait n pray

I’d go with

6 brussow
    7 Juan ( if fit, if not schalk )
    8 schalk / alberts / danie

The balance also depends on the reserve lock choice, I feel leave danie on the bench for both position and have the option of prob alberts on the bench too anyways it’s so flippen complicated let’s just get 6 beers b happy n hold thumbs

• 75.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

The solution is fekking obvious. Ashley at 7 and Roussouw at 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Since when has Danie been a successful flank? NEVER!

But here comes ou Dork thinking he knows best. What a doos.

• 76.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

“Johnson has played all his rugby at blindside flank for the Cheetahs” That’s a load of BS…He has played most of his rugby for the Cheetahs at 8th man and only for about the last half matches in the Super 15 this year did he play on the flank.

I’m still not happy that Deon Stegmann is there too. He demonstrated perfectly on the end of year tour that he is kak. Why the hell a second chance? He does win some turnovers, yes, but he is lekker dumb and gives away so many stupid penalties that only a retarded ****** would commit. His all-round play is also average.

Keegan Daniel should be in his place and deservedly so.

• 77.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-76: I didn’t know the word m o n k e y was banned. What a surprise!

• 78.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-77: the words Peter de Villiers should be banned. Most offensive string of words ive ever ‘eard so i ‘ave.

• 79.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-18: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-19:

” I’ve longsince seized to use my (admittedly convulsed) logic when pondering PDV’s team selections and thinking. ”

Firstly you two dunces, the correct word is ceased ( as meaning stopped using) and NOT “seized” as shown above in the quoted sentence.

What has “seized” are the lumps of neural tissue in your skulls you deem to call ‘brains’. And I cannot even excuse it to seizures as that would be too kind to you misfits.

Girlie, note too, if you want to ascribe words, notions , ideas to me then please attempt to do so accurately ‘ anders skop ek jou f o k k e n g a t van Pta tot Cairo toe’.
    Reveal to me just one insance where I used the term “ethnocentric” ( other than now) let alone coupled with SuperBlack( note the spelling wrt capitals), one of the terms I use to charaterise the modern day politico-economic bastardization of the neo-racist dispensation in my country.
    But what would you know as you have never read anything decent other than the comics of Stellenbosch which is no better than the Bush College that you ran away from..

• 80.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-79:

the 2nd ‘c’ is missing in the word characterise

• 81.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-18:

Secondly, and probably more importantly, what ghoulish ” logic ‘” can you possibly be referring to.
    The likes of Pietie or you do not even comprehend the meaning of that good term rationale or logic. Hence your association with the rural ‘base’ of the S.W., Paarl, Wellington areas where you simply need to say ‘ja baas, nee baas, ekskuus baas’ and not ever think at all because that for the most is your inculcated way of life in those areas of ‘baaskap’.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.