Broken promises
20 Jul 2011
GARETH DUNCAN talks to former Springbok scrum coach Os du Randt about Saru not renewing his contract, which props should go to the World Cup, and what’s wrong with the modern scrum.
How do you feel about missing out on this year’s World Cup?
It’s a massive disappointment, but at least I’ll be spending more time at home. I launched a new wine in June and I’ll have the chance to watch my son Thian play for Free State at the U13 Craven Week. I was hoping to work with Ireland heading into the World Cup, as it would’ve given me an opportunity to learn about other scrumming approaches and philosophies, but that fell through. At the moment, I’m just focusing on getting the full-time scrum coach job at the Cheetahs.
Tell us about the incident during the 2010 Springbok end-of-year tour that allegedly led to your contract not being renewed.
We had a team management dinner and then some of us went out for a few beers. Afterwards, I returned to the hotel and went to sleep. The next day, we performed all our duties for the match [against Wales]. I never heard anything from [Bok coach] Peter de Villiers or other management members about the incident.
How was the matter resolved?
Saru didn’t handle the episode correctly. There wasn’t a disciplinary hearing and I received no written warning. If Saru insists there was an incident, then they must prove it. Peter has also never spoken to me about what happened or explained to me why I was axed. He promised me I would go to the World Cup and even suggested I should get a 12-month contract so I could start analysing scrums and South African players in Super Rugby and Europe ahead of the World Cup. But I couldn’t get hold of him after the tour. I left messages on his voicemail and with his PA, but he never called me back. Then I received an e-mail in February informing me that my services would no longer be required. The thing that hurts the most is that when Peter first came to talk to me about being involved with the Boks, he said I must trust him and always be honest with him, because he felt some of his management had betrayed him. Then they used that late-night incident as an excuse to get rid of me.
But the CCMA [Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration] dismissed your case against Saru.
Yes, I was disappointed that it turned out that way. If I can take it further, I will.
Do you have any hard feelings towards the Boks?
It was an honour to work with the players and I will always treasure that experience. I wish them and the management who backed me all of the best. Unfortunately, I can’t say that about all of the Springbok management. If they had been honest about not taking me to the World Cup, I would’ve accepted it. Peter and Saru don’t deserve to be a part of any World Cup success.
How did losing the Bok job affect you?
Financially, it caused some stress. I appointed a manager at my farm so he could run the place when I wasn’t there, especially during the World Cup. I can’t just fire him now that I’m not going anymore. I made promises to him before he left his old job to come work for me.
The Bok scrum improved substantially during your coaching stint. What did you do?
I credit the players as they contributed and worked hard on strengthening the scrums. The fact that they were always willing to listen and learn helped a lot. The team also instilled a sense of self-pride when it came to scrumming.
Who impressed you the most?
Jannie [du Plessis] improved a lot in all areas, especially on defence. Beast [Mtawarira] and Bismarck [du Plessis] also improved as they always wanted to learn.
Schalk Brits and Brian Mujati are two European-based players who performed well up front this season. Should they be in the Bok mix?
Schalk is playing good rugby and should probably be included in the Bok squad, but I don’t think he will be. As for Brian, I don’t think he’s the answer for the Boks.
Which props would you take to the World Cup?
I’d pick Jannie and CJ [van der Linde] as the tighthead props, with Beast and Gurthrö [Steenkamp] as the looseheads.
Would you play John Smit at loosehead?
No, he should only be considered as a hooker.
How vital is Juan Smith’s return from injury?
Juan is crucial to the Boks; he has a big influence on them and the opposition. He should be given cotton-wool treatment until he’s fully fit and 100% healed. He doesn’t need to play before the World Cup.
Is the Springboks’ kick-chase game plan suitable under the current law interpretations?
Yes, but the team will need strong leadership from their management for it to be effective and executed properly. A game plan will only be successful if everybody believes in it.
Who will be the Boks’ biggest threat at the World Cup and who will have the best scrum?
The toughest teams are those they’ll play during the knockout stage, which are likely to be Ireland [quarter-final], the All Blacks [semi-final] and the Wallabies [final]. France or England will have the strongest scrum.
What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learnt as a scrum coach?
I’ve learnt so much since starting at the Cheetahs in 2009. The main thing a scrum coach has to do to be successful is sell your ideas and philosophies to the players and make them believe in what you are trying to do. That’s one thing I always do as a coach.
What do you think of the modern scrum?
The stats show that there’s a huge issue at scrum time. Front rowers are struggling to get their timing right with the hit, and referees make it more difficult when they stretch out their call [of ‘crouch, touch, pause, engage’]. Looseheads are also struggling to get their bind right, while hinging is also a problem [where the loosehead’s shoulder line goes under his hips and then rises again]. When the IRB revisits the scrum laws after the World Cup, I believe players should be given more of a free hand to contest at scrum time. Referees should only get involved when there is a safety issue.
What are your future plans?
I want to continue making a difference at the Cheetahs. Right now, I don’t have any plans to become a head coach.
SARU CEO JURIE ROUX RESPONDS TO DU RANDT’S ALLEGATIONS:
‘Os is a Springbok legend and was an asset to the management set-up – his contribution to South African rugby has been outstanding and I’d like to thank him again. He was offered a short-term contract to assist with the Springbok scrum, which he did successfully to the end of 2010. For 2011 the Springbok management identified other needs to further raise the bar for the team, which is why Rassie Erasmus and Prof Derik Coetzee have been taken on. All decisions are taken around our central focus of doing what is best for the Springboks and the choice of which consultants to appoint in 2011 was taken with the team in mind, rather than personalities.’
– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine. The August issue will be on sale from Wednesday, 27 July.

312 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
20 Jul 2011, 06:21 am
Dear Mnr du Randt,
Sorry if this has been discussed before, but would it ever be feasible to separately pack the front row 1st, then the locks, then the loosies in order to get stability before the push?
20 Jul 2011, 07:10 am
Os, you legend, you hero. Sterkte met als champ. Laat daai cheetah skrum alles voor hulle platvee!!
Mr Roux: A well worded side step of yet another Divvy disaster.
20 Jul 2011, 07:33 am
os, pipe down. you served your time in the bok management thanks for that. now go back & manage that farm of yours to be productive instead if b*tching in magazines.
20 Jul 2011, 07:51 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-3: You don’t seem to respect successful people? Os comes from your favourite part of the world, and so I am wondering what is your gripe? You should be on your drum telling us, that this is the kind of players we will get if the Kings are allowed to grace Super Rugby in 2013
20 Jul 2011, 08:25 am
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-2:
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-4:
yeah sure os is a legend and a great guy but i’ve heard these rumours that he caused a helse kuk when he came back from the night out. management and security got involved, words were spoken, handbags were swung, basically it was not a nice way to end the night.
this is what affected his contract, that and the fact that the 2010 season didn’t go so good for the boks.
20 Jul 2011, 08:28 am
Interresting article and opinions, particularly about Mujati.
I see CJ may be signing for the Lions. Good luck there.
20 Jul 2011, 08:47 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-6:
well, if anyone knows what the ffucck’s going on in the front row it would be os. yeah, the mujati bit certainly blows the smoke right back up the keo boys aarses with their cheerleader articles on the subject.
20 Jul 2011, 08:47 am
Do you want cheese with that whine, Os?
20 Jul 2011, 08:50 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-5: Yeah, Os in my opinion would entice more sympathy if he came clean on the matter.
“We had a team management dinner and then some of us went out for a few beers. Afterwards, I returned to the hotel and went to sleep”
Really Os? Thats it?
How stupid do you think we are? We like you, you’re a legend so we’ll forgive you and justify your actions even. Just confide in us first, big man.
20 Jul 2011, 08:53 am
all in all not a cool situation ….Os needs to move on…seems the bridge is well and truly burned.
20 Jul 2011, 08:54 am
and thanks Os for telling it like it is around Plod….
20 Jul 2011, 08:56 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-5: boet the oke is prepared to state his case in front of a ccma hearing , , if he was that guilty?? surely he would shut up and just hide away??
I aint saying he aint guilty , fact is we cant go on Rumours.The oke is prepared to go the legal route , means he believes he is innocent
@Transformation(Transformation)-3: if you were done in or believed you were done in? or a player of colour was done in would you still say the same???
20 Jul 2011, 08:59 am
@grant10(grant10)-11: and you say you dont hate Smit??
Smit had nothing to do with this , yet like a school girl you scream plod??
good god boeet ? will you ever grow up?? hell just when i start to like you you crawl even lower
20 Jul 2011, 09:00 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-4: you’re getting mixed up pal, Os is not owed a ticket to new zealand, he says they went out for beers and he came back & slept yet the CCMA is kicking his claim and absolving SARU. he was part of the management but now he wants “written warning”?
he must step away, the Boks are not his legacy, it was a privilege for him to be involved with them he didn’t act right, so cheers.
20 Jul 2011, 09:01 am
must be real sad living in a world of hate all the time
20 Jul 2011, 09:05 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-7: Ja, he’s been there, done that for sure.
I’d take his opinion over sports journos every day of the week!
@grant10(grant10)-11: I agree with him about John. Thing is, I wonder if all this prop/hooker nonsense hasn’t blown it for John, in the sense that he hasn’t had clear direction of where to play so he hasn’t been able to condition himself appropriately, and now it may be too late.
20 Jul 2011, 09:06 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-13: just stating that a legend like Os maintains that Plod must stick to 2 ….
I agree
Look at chadwick, Burden and Herbst moer them Bulle 6 love last Sat!
Tell me you not glad plod safely away from the Tank? Be honest now!
20 Jul 2011, 09:07 am
Fact of the matter is there is a right and wrong way of doing things, and SARU cannot help but do things the wrong way 90% of the time. Spineless.
20 Jul 2011, 09:08 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: Plod has had ample time to condition, and to be fair to him he has lost weight.
The problem is he has lost the explosiveness and pace required of the modern day hooker.
BUT….he has an ideal opportunity to ram the words down my throat this weekend….lets see how he does…
20 Jul 2011, 09:10 am
@scrumfan(scrumfan)-18: yes….honesty and a straightforward heart to heart is what is required…seems he was given a DCM…..not cool
20 Jul 2011, 09:12 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-12: this is not about race, why is everything about race with you?
the CCMA has “dismissed his case” meaning he doesn’t have a valid gripe, unless he can pay for the services of Wim Trengove or Jeremy Gauntlett like Luke did – R30 000 a day – then he must pipe down and go farm.
20 Jul 2011, 09:16 am
@grant10(grant10)-17:
so do i agree… have always said he should play hooker… and only hooker…
20 Jul 2011, 09:17 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-12:
the article seems to state that they have in fact been to a ccma hearing because os laid a case and the case was dismissed (in saru’s favour and not his) so?
he says he would take it further if he can, what does that mean? he’s got no money for lawyers? i dunno hey. i just dont buy it.
20 Jul 2011, 09:19 am
@ufo(ufo)-22: Yip
I am worried about WP mate…we really need JC Kritzinger back a sap….poor Brock being overplayed badly….
20 Jul 2011, 09:22 am
when os says some of us went out for beers… does he mean some of the players?
remember ktich insisting on players calling him Coach… and in most cases you have ao have a separation of coaches and players… coaches can’t go p-ing it up with the players… does no good for discipline, respect or leadership… you can’t be a coach and act as one of the boys…
we all admire and respect os for his playing days and skills… but is he wants to get into coaching he must make up his mind whether he wants to coach or p-it-up with the players…
if he’s hanging out with the players it makes the selection process etc a minefield… even if the coach can handle it… ambitious and emotionally less-stable young players certainly won’t…
#justsaying
20 Jul 2011, 09:22 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-9:
yep, so ffuckkin lame for a guy like him. weird, just weird.
20 Jul 2011, 09:25 am
@grant10(grant10)-17: grant , yes they whipped the weakened bulls team
compare apples with apples, if you think chadwick is as strong as smit ur drunk
will he get there?? yes , chadwick is a good young prop,
it has nothing to do with chadwick though grant , nor has the Os debacle , it has to do with you saying you dont hate the man , yet it matters not the subject , first chance of a post you get is to trash Smit
come now dude release your hatred , trust me all you hatred is not getting to Smit. only one suffering from it is you
20 Jul 2011, 09:27 am
Os … remember don’t trust anyone… never… we are all human!
only what’s wriiten and signed has got a chance… (all be it a slim one)
20 Jul 2011, 09:27 am
@grant10(grant10)-24:
yeah Grant… it is a big worry for me too… the crusaders game still gives me nightmares… all that playing has definitely affected Brok’s form… but I still think he is good… a decent rotation to keep him fresh(er) would see a dramatic improvement from the guy…
but Toks… and now Os have both said the refs are stuffing up a lot of the engagements… and the props are taking the heat for it… streetwise guys like the saders take advantage of that…
20 Jul 2011, 09:29 am
@ufo(ufo)-25: um. “management dinner” and then “some of us” ie management… muir, gold & him i presume
20 Jul 2011, 09:32 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: 100% M
no other in the front row has ever had to endure what Smit has
and even though he knows he will prolly take a beating if he played TH again he would play there if his coach asked him as his country needed him
some are even stupid even to call him fatty , , there is hardly a speck of fat on the man , he is fit, has he lost some pace??? yes , his legs to me are over exercised, , take a good look next time boet , he has tree stumps lol
in fact if they want to see fat?? oosthuizen , brok , kruger ,CJ , there are some fatties
20 Jul 2011, 09:32 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-30:
but he doesn’t state that… and if it was the others too… surely he would say why just me and not **** n jane…?
thing is i don;t think os is being entirely open about this thing… just say what the hell actually happened with whom and let everyone make up their minds… fact is os made it all of our business by talking to gareth on the record… so if he wants to earn our support… give us all the facts… and don’t fudge it…
20 Jul 2011, 09:33 am
*ouch*
Os – WTF ?!
“Krusty doesnt deserve to be part of RWC success” ?!
well, youre probably right about that because Krusty doesnt show respect to anyone but himself and is a 1st Class sh*t. BUT, surely, your honour for the Jersey takes precedence here, no ?
20 Jul 2011, 09:33 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-30: in your words , you presume, see boet my arguement exactly
we sit here throwing stones like we know it all, BUT WE DONT
20 Jul 2011, 09:34 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-9: Well imho if the ruckus was really that bad, I am sure we would have heard about it long before he got shafted!! This whole story smacks of typical SARU back stabbing. If you want to beat a dog, you will find a stick. Heck, it won’t be the 1st time the boys went out and partied real hard!
Not saying events didn’t take place, I am saying that it was used as an excuse!
20 Jul 2011, 09:35 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-35: YOU MIGHT VERY WELL BE RIGHT
20 Jul 2011, 09:36 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-31: Kruger? Disagree. That boy is muscled.
20 Jul 2011, 09:37 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-30: so it has to be Muir and Gold huh??
need i say more??
20 Jul 2011, 09:39 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-21: Agree with SL here, you would be less vociferous if old Os was currently advantaged hey!
If things got so hectic, why did nobody hear a peep about it at the time. Heck journalist on Keo thrive on 5hit like that! They would have shouted out from the rooftops, that the legendary Os, was inebriated, and causing a fuss! Did anybody hear about it until 6 months later Nope, nada, not a word! I smell a rat!
But you were almighty quick to believe all this. Now if it had been your love child Luke, you would have demanded an commision of enquiry to clear his name?
20 Jul 2011, 09:39 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-37: well none more so then Smit
fact is boet i am trying to prove a point to grant re smitty
20 Jul 2011, 09:40 am
ffucck it but i must say i wouldn’t trust that jurie roux was giving me ‘the truth about jurie roux’ even if we were in a church together, at his funeral, and he was lying there in a coffin…
thats some dangerous diplomatic speak there, he would do well as a republican politician explaining the successes of iraq.
20 Jul 2011, 09:40 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-30:
elton janjes too
he drank os under the tafel.
20 Jul 2011, 09:41 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-35: There was a story about it in Rapport newspaper the Sunday after.
Point is: Os is denying ANY wrongdoing. He’s subverting the truth at best, a liar at worst.
He’d have had a stronger case if he was honest about it, I feel.
20 Jul 2011, 09:43 am
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-42:
tff bro
20 Jul 2011, 09:44 am
CCMA threw it out! He’s a liar, and at best average coach, just look at how WP gets screwed week in week out, just like proudfoot and Brok, Ossie should go back to his plaas, before the real reason comes out about his ‘few beers’
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-27:
well, him and his john smit look-alike voodoo doll.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-33:
the jersey only seems to matter to him if it’s signing his paycheques.
20 Jul 2011, 09:45 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-43: how can you say he is being dishonest if you do not know the truth???
thats my point , people in here assume he is guilty , they assume assume assume , but none in here know the truth , so why the stone throwing???
i again am not sayi8ng he is innocent , WE JUST DONT KNOW
20 Jul 2011, 09:45 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46:
20 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-31: Ja, real servant of the game. He has my respect for that. (amoung other things).
Grant’s right about his explosiveness not being the same as other hookers, but he does a different job in the game to someone like Bismark.
The key is to get the combos right I guess…
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All