Broken promises

GARETH DUNCAN talks to former Springbok scrum coach Os du Randt about Saru not renewing his contract, which props should go to the World Cup, and what’s wrong with the modern scrum.

How do you feel about missing out on this year’s World Cup?
It’s a massive disappointment, but at least I’ll be spending more time at home. I launched a new wine in June and I’ll have the chance to watch my son Thian play for Free State at the U13 Craven Week. I was hoping to work with Ireland heading into the World Cup, as it would’ve given me an opportunity to learn about other scrumming approaches and philosophies, but that fell through. At the moment, I’m just focusing on getting the full-time scrum coach job at the Cheetahs.

Tell us about the incident during the 2010 Springbok end-of-year tour that allegedly led to your contract not being renewed.
We had a team management dinner and then some of us went out for a few beers. Afterwards, I returned to the hotel and went to sleep. The next day, we performed all our duties for the match [against Wales]. I never heard anything from [Bok coach] Peter de Villiers or other management members about the incident.

How was the matter resolved?
Saru didn’t handle the episode correctly. There wasn’t a disciplinary hearing and I received no written warning. If Saru insists there was an incident, then they must prove it. Peter has also never spoken to me about what happened or explained to me why I was axed. He promised me I would go to the World Cup and even suggested I should get a 12-month contract so I could start analysing scrums and South African players in Super Rugby and Europe ahead of the World Cup. But I couldn’t get hold of him after the tour. I left messages on his voicemail and with his PA, but he never called me back. Then I received an e-mail in February informing me that my services would no longer be required. The thing that hurts the most is that when Peter first came to talk to me about being involved with the Boks, he said I must trust him and always be honest with him, because he felt some of his management had betrayed him. Then they used that late-night incident as an excuse to get rid of me.

But the CCMA [Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration] dismissed your case against Saru.
Yes, I was disappointed that it turned out that way. If I can take it further, I will.

Do you have any hard feelings towards the Boks?
It was an honour to work with the players and I will always treasure that experience. I wish them and the management who backed me all of the best. Unfortunately, I can’t say that about all of the Springbok management. If they had been honest about not taking me to the World Cup, I would’ve accepted it. Peter and Saru don’t deserve to be a part of any World Cup success.

How did losing the Bok job affect you?
Financially, it caused some stress. I appointed a manager at my farm so he could run the place when I wasn’t there, especially during the World Cup. I can’t just fire him now that I’m not going anymore. I made promises to him before he left his old job to come work for me.

The Bok scrum improved substantially during your coaching stint. What did you do?
I credit the players as they contributed and worked hard on strengthening the scrums. The fact that they were always willing to listen and learn helped a lot. The team also instilled a sense of self-pride when it came to scrumming.

Who impressed you the most?
Jannie [du Plessis] improved a lot in all areas, especially on defence. Beast [Mtawarira]  and Bismarck [du Plessis] also improved as they always wanted to learn.

Schalk Brits and Brian Mujati are two European-based players who performed well up front this season. Should they be in the Bok mix?
Schalk is playing good rugby and should probably be included in the Bok squad, but I don’t think he will be. As for Brian, I don’t think he’s the answer for the Boks.

Which props would you take to the World Cup?
I’d pick Jannie and CJ [van der Linde] as the tighthead props, with Beast and Gurthrö [Steenkamp] as the looseheads.

Would you play John Smit at loosehead?
No, he should only be considered as a hooker.

How vital is Juan Smith’s return from injury?
Juan is crucial to the Boks; he has a big influence on them and the opposition. He should be given cotton-wool treatment until he’s fully fit and 100% healed. He doesn’t need to play before the World Cup.

Is the Springboks’ kick-chase game plan suitable under the current law interpretations?
Yes, but the team will need strong leadership from their management for it to be effective and executed properly. A game plan will only be successful if everybody believes in it.

Who will be the Boks’ biggest threat at the World Cup and who will have the best scrum?
The toughest teams are those they’ll play during the knockout stage, which are likely to be Ireland [quarter-final], the All Blacks [semi-final] and the Wallabies [final]. France or England will have the strongest scrum.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learnt as a scrum coach?
I’ve learnt so much since starting at the Cheetahs in 2009. The main thing a scrum coach has to do to be successful is sell your ideas and philosophies to the players and make them believe in what you are trying to do. That’s one thing I always do as a coach.

What do you think of the modern scrum?
The stats show that there’s a huge issue at scrum time. Front rowers are struggling to get their timing right with the hit, and referees make it more difficult when they stretch out their call [of ‘crouch, touch, pause, engage’]. Looseheads are also struggling to get their bind right, while hinging is also a problem [where the loosehead’s shoulder line goes under his hips and then rises again]. When the IRB revisits the scrum laws after the World Cup, I believe players should be given more of a free hand to contest at scrum time. Referees should only get involved when there is a safety issue.

What are your future plans?
I want to continue making a difference at the Cheetahs. Right now, I don’t have any plans to become a head coach.

SARU CEO JURIE ROUX RESPONDS TO DU RANDT’S ALLEGATIONS:
‘Os is a Springbok legend and was an asset to the management set-up – his contribution to South African rugby has been outstanding and I’d like to thank him again. He was offered a short-term contract to assist with the Springbok scrum, which he did successfully to the end of 2010. For 2011 the Springbok management identified other needs to further raise the bar for the team, which is why Rassie Erasmus and Prof Derik Coetzee have been taken on. All decisions are taken around our central focus of doing what is best for the Springboks and the choice of which consultants to appoint in 2011 was taken with the team in mind, rather than personalities.’

– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine. The August issue will be on sale from Wednesday, 27 July.

312 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-90:

well.

apparenlty jurie loves camping.

he is especially fond of the scout movement.

• 102.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

well atleast the 100th hit was brought up with big laughs :lol:

• 103.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-91:

I know.

Everytime I see him play I start singing Dancing on the Ceiling.

• 104.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-99: “arguments” so you have no basis for assuming i would change my tune then…doos.

• 105.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-104: aaww the name calling , boohoo , why aint i surprised :smile:

• 106.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-80: LOL not SARS, yet.

Very good on the julius thing by the way :D

• 107.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-96: The bok scrum showed marked improvement after Os, started coaching them, and if you need any inkling of his effectiveness, just check the Cheetahs scrum. No big names, yet they were the only scrum able to contain the Crusaders machine. Nah, nothing wrong with his scrum coaching ability!

You forget how pathetic the Bok scrum was!

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-105: in your case it’s not namecalling, it’s the real you hehehe :mrgreen:

• 109.cab: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-107:
    yes that is true, but is he up to date with the latest stuff or flying on legend status?
    also, i guess there is little to work with at TH.
    If Os is making a difference dunno why he was canned, unless in a dronken state he offended the welsh or PdV’s nightgown – still its a bit much dropping him for a night out on the tiles.

• 110.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-109:

no way would they have fired os for a minor offense, he was the quota afrikaanser.

• 111.cab: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-110:
    bliksem, now i’m intrigued, wtf did he do on tour – lets hope he didnt strip kaal and carry pdv thru the town centre – he looks like a grizzly in the pic above.

• 112.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

On Os.

It is one side of the story. Most will love to believe Os because SA Rugby has proven to be a bunch of fuckwits in the past, but I do not believe this is the full version of events nor do I believe anyone under the employ of SA Rugby is allowed to give the other side of the story. **** happens, moving on.

On the Boks and particularly the hiring and firing of assistants or experts. I made a point a couple of weeks back how the state of affairs within the Bok camp is scarily becoming very similar to what happened in 2003.

The addition of Rassie, Coetsee, and all the other consultants might be a great thing on the face of it, but the events or reasoning leading up to the appointments, including the timing of it all, smacks of desperation and panic.

Look if you are going to go down in flames, at least do it on your terms, because even if you succeed on someone else’s, your contribution will never be recognized – just ask Jake White.

• 113.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-108: nope , but good try junior :lol:

• 114.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

now they have to answer to afriforum who have threatened to bankroll Os all the way to the supreme court.

apparently the legedary avocado Troempie van Poopwagen will represent him.

• 115.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-27:

Nicely said

• 116.Mutant: Reply to this comment

I’ve just lost a lot of respect for the big O after reading this: “Peter and Saru don’t deserve to be a part of any World Cup success.”
    As a Bok legend, he should be grateful for the opportunity PdV and SARU gave him, not to mention appreciative of SARU for funding most of his life.

• 117.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-115: thank you kindly mike

• 118.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-114: I’m closing my ABSA account. This will not stand!

• 119.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-118: closed mine long ago

• 120.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-112: exactly morne , thus my arguement with those throwing stones at old Os , we dont know the facts

• 121.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mutant(Mutant)-116: why? Os is entitled to be the Boks scrum coach, Peter even said he has the “x-factor” needed to win a world cup ;)

• 122.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-111:

apprently he stole the physios electrotherapy machine and hooked it up to coachie’s man fruit whilst he was asleep.

he then turned it to the max and hooked it up to his alarm clock.

the rest, as they say, is history.

not many people know that os studied electrical engineering a Piepiesburg Technikon.

• 123.grant10: Reply to this comment

os is my farken hero….

probably told plod to farkoff away from the 1 and 3 jerseys…..and upset the apple cart

• 124.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-96:
    my point exactly

• 125.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-123: yes now go clean ur nappy ,

• 126.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Mutant(Mutant)-116: Huh? So, PDV deserves to be part of a WC success, and not anyone else? Our scrum hasn’t been as strong in a decade, but he got fired. PDV lost most of his games, but is still there. Does that make sense to you?

PDV doesn’t deserve to be there. Point.

• 127.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-119: :D no wonder the share price has fallen!

• 128.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-123: you must be one big ulcer with all that hate :lol:

• 129.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-107:
    the cheetahs need to show a lot more mettle than just ‘one game’ against the crusaders before anyone here will start respecting statements like that man.

• 130.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Mutant(Mutant)-116: Funding most of his life? He was originally part of the amateur era. When the Pro era started he got injured and was out for years before Jake asked him to come back in 2003-4, where he played till 2007.

Funded his life? Talk sense dude.

• 131.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-127: :lol:

• 132.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-129: You’re right. Only the Bulls deserve respect. Sharks and Stormers just as useless. Haven’t achieved anything in 16 years!!

• 133.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-118:

eish, you are like the first rand dude who refuses to wear an absa bok shirt and wears his old sasol one instead.

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-126: how many games has pdv lost? :D

• 135.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-125:

it’s not a nappy.

it’s an adult diaper for life’s little accidents.

show some respect man.

• 136.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-133: You got me.

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-135: yes

tell him G…

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-133: see elton came out and cleared his name (well at least his agent did)

Jantjies Denies Drunk Allegations
    07/03/2011 | Robert Lemmer

Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies’ agent on Sunday denied claims that the player was part of a group that, according to reports, were guilty of misconduct during the Springboks’ year end tour of the United Kingdom.

According to the a report in Afrikaans Sunday newspaper Rapport, former Springbok scrum coach Os Du Randt, assistant coach **** Muir, kicking coach Percy Montgomery and Jantjies’ behaviour in a pub in Cardiff last year was reported to the South African Rugby Union (SARU) by South African supporters the night before the Springboks played Wales in Cardiff.

“Elton Jantjies profusely denies the allegations as reported in one of the Sunday Newspapers,” his agent, James Adams, said in a statement on Sunday.

“The comments made by an uninformed journalist are appalling in that they have gone so far as to brand the youngster in a bad light,” he added.

The report suggests that Du Randt’s services as scrum specialist were revoked because of the incident which took place in November.

Adams said that Jantjies was at the pub with friends and that the Bok coaches arrived later on.

He said that it was pure coincidence that the coaches ended up at the same venue.

In the report it is being alleged that Muir, Jantjies and Montgomery were cautioned by SARU this year and that they were fined for conduct not befitting their positions.

“He (Jantjies) was not drunk and opted of his own accord to head home just after midnight,” Adams continued in his statement.

“He was not playing the next day and therefore did not breach any team protocol. He was rightfully not reprimanded in any form by any officials from SARU and had no role whatsoever to play in certain instances that apparently happened that evening.”

• 139.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-137: :lol: @Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-135: :lol:

• 140.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-128:
    just looked it up:

hate
    [heyt] Show IPA verb, hat·ed, hat·ing, noun
    –verb (used with object)
    1. to dislike intensely or passionately; feel extreme aversion for or extreme hostility toward; detest: to hate the enemy; to hate bigotry; TO HATE JOHN SMIT the way that grant10 from keo.co.za does.
    2. to be unwilling; dislike: I hate to do it.

–noun
    4. intense dislike; extreme aversion or hostility.
    5. the object of extreme aversion or hostility.

how bout that?…

• 141.grant10: Reply to this comment

Os told Plod he is a kak prop….

the rest is history

• 142.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-140: LOL

I only started the anto plod when he moved to 3….farkit I almost had a hernia….

And of course when he dissed LW then it was like a farken red rag to a Bull…

• 143.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-132:
    well, apparently 3 super titles counts for sshit because it wasn’t done ‘creatively’ enough at #10. go figure?..

• 144.grant10: Reply to this comment

anto is anti

And os is even a bigger legend because he reckons Schalk Brits shoulkd go to wc!

Os for president…..

Justice for Os!

• 145.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-138:

elton is a boozer.

• 146.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-141: well this is not news

This entry was posted on Wednesday, November 25th, 2009

Os du Randt says the Springboks’ scrum will be stronger if John Smit starts at hooker in future.

Du Randt was once a strong believer that Smit had the ability to make a successful transition from hooker to tighthead. However, last weekend against Italy, even the former Springbok legend saw where the weak link in the Bok front row was.

Italy had the clear upper hand at the scrums for most parts of the match as they overpowered and out-scrummed the Bok heavies with Smit at tighthead. But in the last quarter, BJ Botha and the Beast came on and the skipper was moved to hooker.

With these changes, the Boks dominated the scrums, even demolishing the Italian pack and winning a penalty on one occasion.

Du Randt now believes Smit should remain at hooker for the Test against Ireland on Saturday.

‘The biggest concern heading into the Test is where John will play,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘The Boks struggled against the Italy’s pack at times, but stabilised once John was shifted to hooker.

‘That proved the Boks do have a favourable scrum.’

Du Randt said he is glad to see CJ van der Linde and BJ Botha back in the Springbok mix.

‘If fit, CJ can add a lot of versatility on the bench as he can cover both loosehead and tighthead. BJ is also a good scrummager and did very well last week,’ Du Randt said. ‘But it’s not really that important who starts at prop, the main thing is for John to play hooker.’

The Cheetahs scrum coach also added that he is happy with the performances of Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss.

‘Wian hasn’t been too bad considering he played loosehead when John was at tighthead. Adriaan is also playing his part and I’m happy to see them in the squad,’ he said. ‘This is a great reward for them after a fantastic season and I hope they get more involved with the Boks.’

Looking at the Test at Croke Park, Du Randt said defence and a solid scrum will be key for a victory against Ireland.

‘Out of all the UK teams, Ireland is one of the sides that plays more running rugby. Under the leadership of Brian O’Driscoll they can be very lethal on attack, so the Boks will have to be strong in defence,’ said Du Randt.

‘Ireland will also look to out-scrum the Boks considering their recent poor performances, so a solid scrum will be a big boost for the guys and will help swing momentum in their favour.’

Meanwhile, Du Randt has confirmed he will continue as scrum coach at the Cheetahs for next year’s Super 14 after his success with the pack in the Currie Cup.

‘I have signed a contract with the Cheetahs for the Super 14 season. I want to stay on longer, but we will see if I can reach the benchmark after the campaign.’

• 147.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-143: MS cant play out of the SA borders…..

a 1 dimensional donkey who is a front foot bully when bulle dominate up front

Take him a few kms away from the melktert and koeksisters and it is goodnite nurse
    all over rover

6 love !

• 148.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-145: who isn’t?

• 149.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-146: yes….who will ever forget that uber BMW turbo reverse when the Bloody Italians drilled us back metres at a time every scrum with plod at 3….

I needed an oxygen tent…..was so embarressed….will never forget it….used 3 nappies during that game

• 150.passdidonnerseding: Reply to this comment

Kan nie wag vir 2012! Al die stront van die afgelope 4 jaar is ek nou mooi gatvol voor. Maak nie saak wie die coach of die spelers gaan wees nie. Niemand sal gou naby die klas ape van 2008 tot 2011 kom nie. PDV, Prick Muir, Gary Gold ens. Al wen hulle die ding sal ek nog steeds uitsien na volgende jaar.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.