Broken promises
20 Jul 2011
GARETH DUNCAN talks to former Springbok scrum coach Os du Randt about Saru not renewing his contract, which props should go to the World Cup, and what’s wrong with the modern scrum.
How do you feel about missing out on this year’s World Cup?
It’s a massive disappointment, but at least I’ll be spending more time at home. I launched a new wine in June and I’ll have the chance to watch my son Thian play for Free State at the U13 Craven Week. I was hoping to work with Ireland heading into the World Cup, as it would’ve given me an opportunity to learn about other scrumming approaches and philosophies, but that fell through. At the moment, I’m just focusing on getting the full-time scrum coach job at the Cheetahs.
Tell us about the incident during the 2010 Springbok end-of-year tour that allegedly led to your contract not being renewed.
We had a team management dinner and then some of us went out for a few beers. Afterwards, I returned to the hotel and went to sleep. The next day, we performed all our duties for the match [against Wales]. I never heard anything from [Bok coach] Peter de Villiers or other management members about the incident.
How was the matter resolved?
Saru didn’t handle the episode correctly. There wasn’t a disciplinary hearing and I received no written warning. If Saru insists there was an incident, then they must prove it. Peter has also never spoken to me about what happened or explained to me why I was axed. He promised me I would go to the World Cup and even suggested I should get a 12-month contract so I could start analysing scrums and South African players in Super Rugby and Europe ahead of the World Cup. But I couldn’t get hold of him after the tour. I left messages on his voicemail and with his PA, but he never called me back. Then I received an e-mail in February informing me that my services would no longer be required. The thing that hurts the most is that when Peter first came to talk to me about being involved with the Boks, he said I must trust him and always be honest with him, because he felt some of his management had betrayed him. Then they used that late-night incident as an excuse to get rid of me.
But the CCMA [Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration] dismissed your case against Saru.
Yes, I was disappointed that it turned out that way. If I can take it further, I will.
Do you have any hard feelings towards the Boks?
It was an honour to work with the players and I will always treasure that experience. I wish them and the management who backed me all of the best. Unfortunately, I can’t say that about all of the Springbok management. If they had been honest about not taking me to the World Cup, I would’ve accepted it. Peter and Saru don’t deserve to be a part of any World Cup success.
How did losing the Bok job affect you?
Financially, it caused some stress. I appointed a manager at my farm so he could run the place when I wasn’t there, especially during the World Cup. I can’t just fire him now that I’m not going anymore. I made promises to him before he left his old job to come work for me.
The Bok scrum improved substantially during your coaching stint. What did you do?
I credit the players as they contributed and worked hard on strengthening the scrums. The fact that they were always willing to listen and learn helped a lot. The team also instilled a sense of self-pride when it came to scrumming.
Who impressed you the most?
Jannie [du Plessis] improved a lot in all areas, especially on defence. Beast [Mtawarira] and Bismarck [du Plessis] also improved as they always wanted to learn.
Schalk Brits and Brian Mujati are two European-based players who performed well up front this season. Should they be in the Bok mix?
Schalk is playing good rugby and should probably be included in the Bok squad, but I don’t think he will be. As for Brian, I don’t think he’s the answer for the Boks.
Which props would you take to the World Cup?
I’d pick Jannie and CJ [van der Linde] as the tighthead props, with Beast and Gurthrö [Steenkamp] as the looseheads.
Would you play John Smit at loosehead?
No, he should only be considered as a hooker.
How vital is Juan Smith’s return from injury?
Juan is crucial to the Boks; he has a big influence on them and the opposition. He should be given cotton-wool treatment until he’s fully fit and 100% healed. He doesn’t need to play before the World Cup.
Is the Springboks’ kick-chase game plan suitable under the current law interpretations?
Yes, but the team will need strong leadership from their management for it to be effective and executed properly. A game plan will only be successful if everybody believes in it.
Who will be the Boks’ biggest threat at the World Cup and who will have the best scrum?
The toughest teams are those they’ll play during the knockout stage, which are likely to be Ireland [quarter-final], the All Blacks [semi-final] and the Wallabies [final]. France or England will have the strongest scrum.
What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learnt as a scrum coach?
I’ve learnt so much since starting at the Cheetahs in 2009. The main thing a scrum coach has to do to be successful is sell your ideas and philosophies to the players and make them believe in what you are trying to do. That’s one thing I always do as a coach.
What do you think of the modern scrum?
The stats show that there’s a huge issue at scrum time. Front rowers are struggling to get their timing right with the hit, and referees make it more difficult when they stretch out their call [of ‘crouch, touch, pause, engage’]. Looseheads are also struggling to get their bind right, while hinging is also a problem [where the loosehead’s shoulder line goes under his hips and then rises again]. When the IRB revisits the scrum laws after the World Cup, I believe players should be given more of a free hand to contest at scrum time. Referees should only get involved when there is a safety issue.
What are your future plans?
I want to continue making a difference at the Cheetahs. Right now, I don’t have any plans to become a head coach.
SARU CEO JURIE ROUX RESPONDS TO DU RANDT’S ALLEGATIONS:
‘Os is a Springbok legend and was an asset to the management set-up – his contribution to South African rugby has been outstanding and I’d like to thank him again. He was offered a short-term contract to assist with the Springbok scrum, which he did successfully to the end of 2010. For 2011 the Springbok management identified other needs to further raise the bar for the team, which is why Rassie Erasmus and Prof Derik Coetzee have been taken on. All decisions are taken around our central focus of doing what is best for the Springboks and the choice of which consultants to appoint in 2011 was taken with the team in mind, rather than personalities.’
– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine. The August issue will be on sale from Wednesday, 27 July.

312 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All
20 Jul 2011, 11:45 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-148:
look certainly not me.
but if I were a pro athlete on the threshold of a great career I would take it easy on the devil juice.
there are quite a few guys who have done themselves no favours in that area including the dudew who saved keo’s life in france.
they guy is a great talent.
just saying.
20 Jul 2011, 11:48 am
I think I’ve found Tacitus and his merry men…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7OLmHESwnk&feature=player_embedded#at=41
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-151: you don’t booze? well i might as well drink the dram i was saving for you
@grant10(grant10)-149: BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
20 Jul 2011, 11:50 am
@passdidonnerseding(passdidonnerseding)-150: Ek stem my broer!
20 Jul 2011, 11:50 am
It is my understanding that Hondo’s mum knowa all about the Os incident. She is waiting for a newspaper to make an offer for the information
@Bouts(Bouts)-126: I take it that maths and stats are a bit foreign to you… is it a cultural or regional thing
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-143: Hows your maths.. Bouts seem to be struggling but the two of you seem to understand each other
20 Jul 2011, 11:52 am
@grant10(grant10)-147:
goodnight? like it was at waikato stadium 12 sep 2009 goodnight?
2 conversions, 2 penalties and a drop goal goodnight?
is it still over rover? is the love still 6?
@Transformation(Transformation)-153:
no you chop.
of course I dop.
you asked who doesn’t drink?
settle down.
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-145: Are you gonna play that card for the next few months
20 Jul 2011, 11:57 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-159:
what card my little brown buddha?
20 Jul 2011, 11:59 am
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-160:
20 Jul 2011, 12:00 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-156:
well i know how to add five bloggers into a doo s, or is that a box?
20 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-158:
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-152:
holy ****, looks like moffie central, what is happening in the republic deesdae?
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-157: you seem to forget 2010….
and 2011
6 love
all over rover
goodnite nurse
20 Jul 2011, 12:02 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-160: Da Buddha smiles
.. Has your mum got any info on the EJ incident
..I am led to believe that you Cunther chaps rely more on your parents for info and use google as a last resort.. The newbie Bout seem to have the same problem so it has to be cultural
20 Jul 2011, 12:03 pm
that jurie roux sounds like an expert in double speak, a cabinet post is in order. i must alert the comrades to this man’s abilities
20 Jul 2011, 12:04 pm
@cab(cab)-164: It’s been a long season. Times are tough up there…
20 Jul 2011, 12:06 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-166:
no my mother’s interest rugby ended in my last game at varsity.
I’ll tell her you asked after her though.
in this case I’m going with first hand evidence.
do chicks ask to rub your tummy for luck?
20 Jul 2011, 12:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-167: I have a new respect for Zuma after sharing the podium with David Cameron.. he made the twat look to a rank amature in addressing the question on Libya. The newsworld are still trying to deciphere wether he and Cameron have the same point of view or whether he told Cameron to grow up
20 Jul 2011, 12:15 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-170:
Good for you! I just can’t get over the shower quote….
20 Jul 2011, 12:15 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-169: The tummy rub worked well.. once you get them to that point, a mere suggestion of greater things make them rub lower
When last did you chat to your mum then
20 Jul 2011, 12:16 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-167:
we’ll have to put a leon schuster xhosa mask on him first.
and make sure he familiarises himself with the ministerial handbook.
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-170:
Mshlozi is wondering whether he will have to return all the petrodollars the Great Leader gave him.
As well as whether it is possible to keep the Father of Africa in power for a while longer so that the father of our nation might get some more.
There are twats and there are twats.
20 Jul 2011, 12:18 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-170: HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHA msholozi is a cad, cameron had not chance in hell
20 Jul 2011, 12:19 pm
@mxhosa(mxhosa)-171: The shower quote is not as proposterous as you may think… ask doctors and scientist what they do to disinfect or decontaminate.. Hygiene is a very import aspect of infection control.. wash your hands??
20 Jul 2011, 12:21 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-172:
two weeks ago in provence actuallly.
we had a lovely bouillabaise and laughed about all the shady management consultants who were flooding france with their nasty buy to let developments.
we agreed that it would be better for all concerned if they just phucked off to spain.
when did you last see your **** without a mirror?
20 Jul 2011, 12:21 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-173: remember during the anc leadership faction fiasco, there was an M&G report that Msholozi was getting funds from Brother Leader, dos Santos and the Moz cat – i forget his name now. I guess it will be pay back time soon.
20 Jul 2011, 12:24 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-173: Dont get me wrong Cunther.. all I am saying that Cameron will need to borrow Zuma’s Teflon jacket for the next few weeks..
20 Jul 2011, 12:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-167:
thats just about what i said
20 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-177:
it’s been payback all along.
the machinegunner has been squealing like a schoolboy with his **** caught in his zip ever since nato showed Brother leader some steel.
honestly the government cosies to some of the world’s most repulsive regimes
Libya
Burma
North Korea
Cuba
Iran
Venezuela
Zimbabwe
spot the trend.
No wonder people baulk at the idea of us having a full time seat on the security council.
20 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-176: Not much of a boep but it will take a big one to hide the almighty
… I am big boned with lots of muscles.. Starting to look like Thor.. The Bicepts are looking very impressive
20 Jul 2011, 12:34 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-180: All those countries seem to be immune to the global financial crisis GFC.. lessons to be learnt in the strangest places
20 Jul 2011, 12:37 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-152:
@cab(cab)-164:
LMAO hahahahahaha
20 Jul 2011, 12:39 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-182:
most of those countries seem to be in perpetual financial crisis.
you are more stupid than you look.
20 Jul 2011, 12:40 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-180:
Who do you think housed them when they were in exile?
20 Jul 2011, 12:41 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-173: nope, no need for a mask, the anc from inception has always been a non-racial movement, so jurie will fit very well within the GCIS but Manyi will have to be redeployed to Land Affairs first.
20 Jul 2011, 12:42 pm
@mxhosa(mxhosa)-185:
North Korea?
Venezuela?
Iran ?
Burma?
Libya?
whatever.
20 Jul 2011, 12:43 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-184: I think that you should not take your mums word for it.. google rather.. Zimbabwe’s story is fascinating. You should read more
20 Jul 2011, 12:44 pm
from a rugby site , to a political whorehouse.. this is keo for ya
20 Jul 2011, 12:44 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-180: one couldn’t choose who their friends were during the Cold War and in the midst of a struggle against apartheid.
20 Jul 2011, 12:45 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-186:
hahahaa.
not mineral resources?
cabinet certainly looking very non racial I must say.
anyway, enough of this.
who has a greater body mass index?
os or shaun?
20 Jul 2011, 12:51 pm
Old Os seemed to do a reasonable job of the Bok scrum and it remains to be seen whether Rassie and PDivvy’s handlangers will do any better. Rassie and Muir never really went on from relative success at the Sharks and FS so I don’t expect tooo much. PDivvy does not really have the pedigree of Deans or Henry and this may show in the TN and RWC, reagrdless of your players.
Funny to glance at keow after a long absence and find lekker bitterbek and suurgat Gwanty10 and mates beating the JS drums. Still want Bwok Hawwis for the Boks Gwanty?
Funnily enough I think SA has half a dozen props who could be world standard with some special coaching.
20 Jul 2011, 12:55 pm
I handled the first kick off in a crucial match. The ball did not travel 10 metres and the opposition were awarded a scrum on halfway. Os annihilated the tighthead and the opposition were completely rattled.
BRING BACK THE CONTEST IN THE SCRUM!!!
Please, let the IRB see the wood for the trees and realize that the non-contest at scrum time is just another way in which the shackle draggers are trying to manipulate laws to suit their inability to scrum and their reluctance to have a physical contest.
BRING BACK THE CONTEST AT RUCKS!!!!
We will have fewer forwards in the backline because the team with the bigger number of forwards at the ruck will have the advantage. Rugby union resembles rugby league with two okes lying near the ball and two lines of players formed over the width of the field on both attack and defense.
Referees are not applying the laws when it comes to what constitutes a ruck.
Phases and recycled ball is the death of rugby. The object of rugby is to AVOID CONTACT and let the ball do the work.
20 Jul 2011, 12:57 pm
@husky(husky)-192: lol husky
20 Jul 2011, 12:58 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-193:
Make it an 8-man bench instead of a 7-man bench, and make it mandatory to have two props and a hooker on the bench.
20 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-191: since Os is listed as 1.90m tall and probably close to 135kg now that he is boozing and eating and not training…i’d say with conviction Langenhoven has the greater BMI to got with his boep.
20 Jul 2011, 13:15 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-193:
why didn’t you kick the ball 10 metres?
schoolboy error.
no wonder you ended up blogging on keo.
20 Jul 2011, 13:16 pm
Why the hell are we talking about Os when there’s a tri nations game on Saturday
20 Jul 2011, 13:16 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-191:
Shaun obviously
20 Jul 2011, 13:18 pm
These freaking gazillian meaningless threads every day instead of just concentrating on one big story.
Makes it hard to decide which thread to hijack.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All