Currie Cup latest – Ebersohn twins commit to Cheetahs
22 Jul 2011
Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Currie Cup.
Ebersohn twins commit to Cheetahs – Sias and Robert Ebersohn have signed two-year contract extensions with the Cheetahs.
The twin brothers have received interest from the Bulls and Sharks before, and it is believed that Robert received an offer from the latter more recently. However, it is known that the duo see themselves as a package as they want to be involved in the same team.
The Ebersohns have now confirmed that they will stay in Bloemfontein for another two years as they signed their new deals on Thursday.
‘Me and Sias just signed our new contracts with Cheetahs!staying in the city of roses for another couple of seasons!’ Robert said on Twitter on Thursday afternoon.

100 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
22 Jul 2011, 11:02 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-45: The Cheetahs need to get rid of anyone that has a boep, and is there because his Oupa was in the Groot Trek and because he is Pastoor Piets best buddy, and get some people with business heads, and that know a thing or two about rugby to run the union..
Then they will retain some of their young talent, and yes – the Cheetahs in every sense should be the best rugby franchise in this country. Instead you’ve got a bunch of mullet headed, dust farting old chops (that everyone calls oom), sitting eating biltong all day and dreaming about their next skaap potjie instead of managing the richest talent pool in the country.
22 Jul 2011, 11:05 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-50: I actually doubt that was the case at all. If you look at where Oelschig was, he was on an A level Currie Cup level contract, and I cant believe Kruger got much less.
Do you honestly think the Sharks offered Pienaar and Steyn contracts that were that much heavier ? Youngsters that they were ?
No – I don’t think its a money issue – I think its a doffness issue.
22 Jul 2011, 11:06 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-48:
Haha I’m loving some of these comments.
The Cheetahs have one of the better packs in South Africa, giving Sias Ebersohn some superb clean ball. How is that not a platform where he can perform?
And I agree that the Stormers have reached their ceiling in the backline. Ebersohn would be throwing his career away going down there.
Luckily you aren’t their agent.
22 Jul 2011, 11:07 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-51:
Give me some names of these players with a boep they should be getting rid off. I’ll be waiting.
22 Jul 2011, 11:09 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-22:
EP Kings….
22 Jul 2011, 11:09 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-52:
They don’t pay the players the same despite what ‘level’ it says. The Cheetahs were devestated to lose Ruan Pienaar and did their best to hold onto him, but couldn’t afford it. At least that is what they said when Pienaar officially signed with the Sharks.
22 Jul 2011, 11:10 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-53: What do you mean by reached their ceiling ? They short a flyhalf (or two), and I think Sias would fit in there perfectly. Rassie is not stupid though, and he likes to steal from the Cheetahs so I wouldn’t be surprised if WP/Stormers is in Sias and Roberts future.
If the Cheetahs have one of the better packs in South Africa, and this is going to provide this amazing attacking platform for Sias to play off, why did they end 4th in the South African conference in the Super 15 ?
Now I see why you guys lost Ruan and Francois…..the more I converse with you, the more it makes sense.
22 Jul 2011, 11:11 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-54: Not players, try read…Cheetahs MANAGEMENT. Kan jy lees ? Moet ek maar liewer Afrikaans praat met jou ?
22 Jul 2011, 11:12 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-52:
I really can’t be sure what the Sharks offered these guys money wise, but always after the Cheetahs have lost these players to other franchises they have come forward and said that they couldn’t afford to match the contracts that were offered to them.
At the moment they are in a huge battle to try scratch some money together so they can keep hold of Heinrich Brussow. And they don’t exactly have the most talented, large or highly paid roster, do they?
22 Jul 2011, 11:13 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-56: I cant believe that – sorry. I cannot believe that an untried, young Ruan Pienaar got paid more than Noel Oelschig.
Nee – ek dink julle het opgefok. Een van die oomies vas lekker besig met ‘n ou skaap tjoppie and a lekker brandewyntjie en coketjie – while the Sharks scouts were talking to Ruan. Thats what happened.
22 Jul 2011, 11:13 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-58:
I was skim reading. I live in New Zealand so my english is rather good but thanks anyway.
22 Jul 2011, 11:15 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-59: That’s nonsense. And, as the devoted Cheetahs supporter than I can see you are – you deserve a better explanation than that.
They are flippin lying to you. Its because they are useless at identifying young talent, and identifying methods to keep that young talent at the Cheetahs. Employ some of the Sharks marketing team, and perhaps the Cheetahs can become a team youngsters look toward as something really amazing to play for.
22 Jul 2011, 11:15 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-57:
As in Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Jaque Fourie are at their peaks and are only going to get worse. The Stormers will find it difficult to make the semi’s again next year, and I can’t see how it would help Sias going to a team that will be chopping and changing, looking for an answer.
22 Jul 2011, 11:16 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-44: Maybe you should go dig deeper! From 2002 right through to 2008, the Sharks couldn’t beat the Cheetahs in any CC match, home and away, now that is domination. And their was no question marks about it either! No refs that smoked you guys, you were just DOMINATED!! The Sharks have benefitted by being in the Super tournament without any interuptions, and the revenue generated helped the Sharks buy a team. The Cheetahs are beginning to reap the same benefits
In the last decade it was the Cheetahs and Bulls that dominated CC rugby. Sharks were merely a see saw distraction:
Bulls played 7 finals winning 4 and drawing 1 plus 3 Super 14/15 titles
Cheetahs played in 5 finals winning 2 and drawing 1
Sharks played in 4 finals winning 2
WP played in 2 finals winning 1
Lions played in 2 finals winning 0
Go check the records and you will see how dominant the Cheetahs were over the in a period easily spanning 5 years
22 Jul 2011, 11:16 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-61: I lived in Germany, but I couldn’t speak much German, so your reasoning doesn’t really make sense once again, but anyway.
As jy wil he ek moet Afrikaans praat, se maar net….
22 Jul 2011, 11:18 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-62:
Haha I grew up in the Cape. I’m a die hard Stormers supporter, but I like to see each SA province perform well.
And no the Cheetahs management aren’t lying about this. You maybe need to do your high school maths classes again. The Cheetahs are dirt poor. That’s the way it is.
22 Jul 2011, 11:18 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-64: Yes, this is the same argument I have heard every time. The very one I was waiting for. Unfortunately, I imagine the Cheetahs management have this same level of reasoning and so will never truly understand why their talent pool drifts towards the east coast constantly.
Good luck to you guys. Over and out – I gotta go attend a funeral.
22 Jul 2011, 11:19 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-65:
As in I speak English as a first language. I speak Afrikaans well but my writing has waned since moving to NZ.
22 Jul 2011, 11:21 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-57: The more we converse with you, the more we realise you don’t watch rugby, you just come here to stir!!
Cheetahs didn’t even have a sponsor, until 2 weeks before the Super 15. They were seriously hampered by injuries, but still played exciting rugby, which is more than can be said about the Sharks. That said there is justice in the world, Sharks made the semi’s by virtue of some serious shoddy refereeing, and also because of dubios refereeing!
Cheetahs team were way better than the log position indicates, and even in NZ and Australia, they were the team that most impressed. With a bit of luck going their way, they could of ended above the Sharks on the log!
22 Jul 2011, 11:22 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-67:
Maybe pick up a few economics text-books while you’re out! See that a small market like Bloemfontein would not generate much sponsorship revenue, nor do they get much money from ticket-sales. Compared to a team like the Stormers who have a HUGE market, own Newlands stadium and have the largest crowds every week.
22 Jul 2011, 11:23 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-69:
If memory serves me right, the only lost 2 games by more then 7 points.
22 Jul 2011, 11:36 am
1 Coenie Oosthuizen
2 Adriaan Strauss (c)
3 WP Nel
4 Francois Uys
5 Wilhelm Steenkamp
6 Heinrich Brussow
7 Juan Smith
8 Ashley Johnson
9 Tewis de Bruyn
10 Sias Ebersohn
11 Rayno Benjamin
12 Andries Strauss
13 Robert Ebersohn
14 Philip Burger
15 Hendrik Daniller
16 PW van Vuuren
17 Lourens Adriaanse
18 Waltie Vermeulen
19 Davon Raubenheimer
20 Pieter van Zyl
21 Riaan Smit
22 Corné Uys
22 Jul 2011, 11:48 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-69: Here is the Sharks domination over the past 8 years that I could quickly glean of the net!
Cheetahs played the Sharks in 18 encounters. The Cheetahs won 11 and 2 of the 11 encounters were semi-finals with the Cheetahs winning both!
Of the 11 victories 7 were away matches at kings Park! Doesn’t look that dominant to me!!
Total points for Sharks 374
Total points for Cheetahs 411
Who’s your Daddy?????
Cheetahs rock!
22 Jul 2011, 11:50 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-71: You are 100% correct.
One of them being the Sharks after poor Coenie was pinged at almost every scrum in the 1st match at Kings Park, and the other match was vs the Reds
22 Jul 2011, 11:56 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-73:
Cheetahs have definitely been the Sharks bogey team.
Have to say it again. If the Cheetahs can hold onto their starting XV and upgrade on Francois Uys, Tewis de Bruyn, Rayno Benjamin and Philip Burger (he’s not quite the same as when he left) then there is no reason they can’t go very far in the Super rugby competition.
And despite their coaches having boep pense, I have to give Naka some credit. His guys look very well coached and they get the most out of them. If they hadn’t lost Heinrich Brussow & Andries Strauss so early on they could’ve made a huge push this season.
22 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
PIty that just as the Cheetahs are finally able to field a good starting 15 and even a decent matchday 22, along comes the S15 requiring a squad of about 35 quality players.
Life just isn’t fair.
I feel for the Cheetahs, and wish them well. But especially with the expanded S15, the odds are simply stacked against teams with less resources.
22 Jul 2011, 12:08 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-76:
Hmm even with the supposed larger squads, most sides (besides the Stormers and others with huge injury crisis) only used roughly 30 players, with the 26 players they take overseas being the ones who get significant game-time. The Bulls for example used only 26 players throughout the entire season, but Jaco van der Westhuyzen (102 mins), Akona Ndungane (132 mins), Francois Brummer (67 mins), and Rossouw de Klerk (161 mins) all took very little part.
That leaves you with only 22 players got significant game-time, despite the Bulls large roster.
22 Jul 2011, 12:18 pm
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-75:
Hendrik, my understanding is that at the time Kol Peet left every man and his dog expected the job to be given to Gysie. In their infinite wisdom they decided to rather give the job to Rassie. Gysie spit the dummy and took more than half (or a large number anyway) of the then u/21 team to the Sharks. The group included Ruan and Frans Steyn.
22 Jul 2011, 12:25 pm
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-78:
Hmm think there’s more to it then that. From what I remember Gysie then went to the Griquas? Might be wrong with this one. But besides that they are still losing talented youngsters to other provinces, specifically the Bulls and Sharks. Recent ones that come to mind: Francois Venter, Paul Jordaan, William Small-Smith.
22 Jul 2011, 12:27 pm
Continuing on from above… it appears to be because the Cheetahs can’t offer these youngsters the same sort of contracts other provinces can because they don’t bring in close to the same amount of money.
22 Jul 2011, 12:32 pm
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-77: bulls larger roster is rubbish anyway, who are they boasting, fudge mabeta, derick kuun, gerrit-jan van velze, dustin jinka, orkie kruger, stephan dippenaar etc? all kak.
22 Jul 2011, 12:32 pm
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-80:
Look I have bemoaned the lack of professionalism in the FS administration for a very long time now. We waited (very patiently mind you) for 29 LONG years for a CC win, we then managed 2 1/2 in 3 years and then end up without a sponsor soon after. What I want to know and nobody seems to be able to answer is why we did not make hay whilst the sun shine?
It is looking slighly better now but it is far from where we should be and the old excuse of less money in Bloem does not carry water anymore.
22 Jul 2011, 12:34 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-81:
You should know better, when they were that baby blue colour they automatically turn into super heros…in some peoples eyes anyway!
22 Jul 2011, 12:36 pm
Ag kuk were = wear!
22 Jul 2011, 12:50 pm
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-82:
Bloemfontein is a secluded city that has roughly 1/10 the population of larger cities that house our other franchises.
They are simply not going to generate as much money as larger teams. How can they seek large sponsorship deals similar to that of the other four franchises when they have a much smaller fanbase.
Think about it.
22 Jul 2011, 12:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-81:
I wasn’t rating their roster… simply pointing out they have many more players contracted that they consider to be good enough to be playing at a high level, yet they only used 22 of them really. This tells me that the Cheetahs can get the job done with a smallish roster.
22 Jul 2011, 12:59 pm
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-85:
Yes the same ready made excuse Harold loves to throw out but in the modern and professional era it only carries water for a little while. For years the biggest individual donor was a bloke living somewhere slightly north of Pretoria, it did not stop him and it should not stop the current administration reaching far and wide to get the money.
22 Jul 2011, 13:02 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-76: Ha ha Tac, you are stirring again, Cheetahs were forced to play youngsters this year anyway, so a squad of quality players will not be a problem. Can you say the same?
Props: Coenie, Marcel vd Merwe, WP Nel, Lourens Adriaanse
Hkr: Strauss, PW van Vuuren, Rayno Barnes
Locks: Uys, Roodt, Vd Westhuizen, Steenkamp, Vermeulen, Muller
LFwds: Brussow, Floor, Myburgh, Wilkens, Juan, Phillip vd Walt, Ashley Johnson, Davon Raubenheimer
SH: Tewis de Bruyn, Piet van Zyl,
FH: Sias Ebersohn, Johan Goosen, Monty Dumond
Centre: Andries Strauss, Corne Uys, Barry Geel, Morgan Newman, Robert Ebersohn, Phillip Snyman
Wings: Jonghi Nokwe, Rayno Benjamin, Rocco Jansen, Phillip Burger
FB Hennie Daniller, Riaan Smit
There is already a squad of 38 players of which only about 4 haven’t played super rugby!
22 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-87:
You call it an excuse, I call it reality. Reach far and wide for money? Who is going to possibly offer the Cheetahs the same sort of money they would offer the Sharks, Bulls or Stormers considering how isolated the Cheetahs are and their small fan base? It would make no sense.
You need to stop thinking of it as an excuse and realise that Bloemfontein is TINY! It’s just not possible for them to command the kind of money you claim they aren’t getting by bad administration.
22 Jul 2011, 13:12 pm
Alles loop reg, altyd reg Toyoya Vrystaaaaaaaaat Cheeeeeeeettahs!!!! Watter jong opkomende spelertjie sal vir ‘n Hilux met skaaptralies nie kan teken nie. Huge bargaining tool.
22 Jul 2011, 13:15 pm
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-89:
Surely you not saying that the fan base is or should be limited to just Bloemfontein? With the success they had of late, including the inclusion in the Super comp they should have done better.
The thing is I have seen some of the antics of the administration first hand and it does not inspire a lot of confidence.
22 Jul 2011, 13:40 pm
None of the current administaration inspire confidence. it is a dark world!
Lets see Lions, major contractual disputes, and the Guma debacle!
Sharks, always embroiled in legal tussles around players they tried to squeeze through scant loopholes.
nah, the Cheetahs administrators are angels compared to that lot! You can keep Straueli as your head honcho at the Sharks. The Cheetahs are coming good!
22 Jul 2011, 13:57 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-76:Help me out here please. Bulls 2012:
Props: Greyling, Kruger, Kirsten, Fourie, de Klerk, Mellett
Hkr: Botha, Wepener, Chillipoop
Locks: Kruger, vd Merwe, Mabeta, Cornell Hess
LFwds: Stegman, Kuün, Potgieter, Spies, van Velze, Stander, Botha
SH: Hougaard, Jinka, Snyman
FH: Steyn, Brummer, Boshoff
Centre: Olivier, Pretorius, Watermeyer, Dippenaar, Venter
Wings: vd Heever, Basson, Ndugane
FB: Kirchner
Looks like the Bulls have some contracting to do, glass half empty methinks. How much Super 15 experience amongst that lot of “melkbaarde”?
22 Jul 2011, 14:10 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-93:
Gary Botha is going overseas, and you’ve left out both Johann Sadie & JJ Engelbrecht.
Props: Dean Greyling, Werner Kruger, Rossouw de Klerk, Frik Kirsten
Hookers: Chilliboy Ralepelle, Willie Wepener
Locks: Flip van der Merwe, Juandre Kruger, Fudge Mabeta
Loosies: Deon Stegmann, Derick Kuun, Dewald Potgieter, Pierre Spies, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, CJ Stander
Scrumhalves: Francois Hougaard, Dustin Jinka
Flyhalves: Morne Steyn, Francois Brummer
Centres: Wynand Olivier, Johann Sadie, Stephan Dippenaar
Wingers: Gerhard van den Heever, Bjorn Basson, JJ Engelbrecht
Fullback: Zane Kirchner
- Tough deciding what to do at lock. They can play van Velze or Stander there in case of emergency.
- Dustin Jinka would be an alright replacement for Hougaard as the reserve halfback usually gets minimal game-time at the Bulls anyway. He could do the job.
- Francois Venter & Arno Botha are given the oppurtunity to get regular game time at Vodacom Cup level before playing consistently during next years Currie Cup.
- I really wish the Bulls would play Gerhard van den Heever at fullback. Kirchner is hopeless.
22 Jul 2011, 14:19 pm
SHARKS
Props: Beast Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, Wiehahn Herbst, Eugene van Staden
Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Craig Burden
Locks: Alistair Hargreaves, Ross Skeate, Anton Bresler, Jandre Marais
Loosies: Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Willem Alberts, Ryan Kankowski, Jacques Botes
Scrumhalves: Charl McLeod, Carel Hoffmann
Flyhalves: Frederic Michalak, Pat Lambie (probably play at fullback), Jacques-Louis Potgieter
Centres: Meyer Bosman, Marius Joubert
Wingers: Lwazi Mvovo, JP Pietersen, Odwa Ndungane
Fullback: Louis Ludik
STORMERS
Props: Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Wicus Blaauw, Brok Harris
Hookers: Tiaan Liebenberg, Deon Fourie
Locks: Rynhardt Elstadt, Andries Bekker, Hilton Lobberts, Adriaan Fondse
Loosies: Schalk Burger, Nick Koster, Duane Vermeulen, Pieter Louw, Siya Kolisi
Scrumhalves: Dewaldt Duvenage, Louis Schreuder
Flyhalves: Peter Grant, Gary van Aswegen
Centres: Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Jaque Fourie
Wingers: Bryan Habana, Danie Poolman
Fullbacks: Gio Aplon, Riaan Viljoen
LIONS
Props: JC Janse van Rensburg, CJ van der Linde, Pat Cilliers, Jacobie Adriaanse
Hookers: Bandise Maku, Edgar Marutlulle
Locks: Franco van der Merwe, Wikus van Heerden, Johan Snyman, George Earle
Loosies: Cobus Grobbelaar, Michael Rhodes, Josh Strauss, Warren Whiteley, Derick Minnie
Scrumhalves: Jano Vermaak, Rudy Paige
Flyhalves: Elton Jantjes
Centres: Butch James, Doppies la Grange, Waylon Murray, Des Fountain
Wingers: Wandile Mjekevu, Lionel Mapoe, Deon van Rensburg
Fullback: Jaco Taute
22 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
FAB NEWS!!!
22 Jul 2011, 14:57 pm
@scar(scar)-96: Easy now Austin Powers…….
22 Jul 2011, 16:03 pm
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-85: Bloemfontein is not a secluded city by any means, but it is ***** – so, yes, I get your point. What I don’t get is now that we have finally agreed that Bloem is kak – why did the Ebersohns choose to stay there ?
22 Jul 2011, 16:06 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-92: You don’t need your management to be angels – in this game a bit of shrewdness can do you good. Heck, we got Willem Alberts didn’t we ?
I think your bunch of mielie eating choir boys is never going to crack it in the world that is South African sport.
22 Jul 2011, 16:15 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-99: haven’t they fired Verster already? i think they’ve seen the light
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All