Boks latest – Mostert flies to Boks’ aid
23 Jul 2011
Gerhard Mostert will join the Springboks in Sydney to cover for a succession of injuries to lock forwards.
Mostert flies to Boks’ aid – Johann Muller will fly back to South Africa on Sunday after failing to recover from a hamstring injury. It’s now been confirmed that Flip van der Merwe suffered a rib cartilage injury in the 39-20 defeat to Australia and is in doubt for the next game against New Zealand. Alistair Hargreaves also picked up an abdominal strain.
Because Mostert hasn’t yet played for the Boks, coach Peter de Villiers may decide to bring him onto the bench and move Danie Rossouw, who played lock for the Boks last year, to No 4.
Chiliboy: Boks lacked fire – Hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle admitted that the Springboks lacked belief and intensity in their recent performance against Australia.
Ralepelle said that the Boks would need to lift their game for next week’s meeting with the All Blacks.
‘It doesn’t get any easier but the important thing for us is to re-group and instil that self-belief again. We need to get the Springbok pride going and make sure that we get up in the All Black’s faces,’ Ralepelle said.
‘Going up against the All Blacks next week we need to make sure that we fire even more up front because I felt we didn’t have that Springbok fire that we usually have when we played Australia.’
The Boks finished strongly but Ralepelle said their consistency was a problem.
‘One can never be proud because, at the end of the day, we didn’t pull off a win. We allowed them to play and we just made too many mistakes which is something that you can’t do as this level but it shows what a quality side Australia are.’

124 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
24 Jul 2011, 20:59 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-62:
It earned me few leaches for sure, comes with the territory
24 Jul 2011, 21:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-100:
Seeing Smit smile like that after scoring that try was enough to make my stomach churn.
It was sickening.
24 Jul 2011, 21:14 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-102:
I felt the same – here was absolute proof that this pathetic self interested self glorifying punk is ONLY interested in his own self made glorification and the team comes a distant f’ng third.
Smit has gone from hero in 2007 to f’ng ZERO and the hero worshiping dumbass schmucks that wanna pretend he still has something to contribute to the SA cause are going to get a very hard bitter lesson to stomach..
Only problem is Smit won’t be the one to get the f’ng incrimination’s leveled at him .. it will be PdV who sold his soul and handed Smit the keys to his coffin.
24 Jul 2011, 21:14 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-102:
Could be the result od a cheap, inedible food?
24 Jul 2011, 21:17 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-104:
You in denial
Smit is the cancerous leech that is eating away at the Boks carcass and some you archaic hero worship fools wanna keep heaping praises on his cancerous self centered self seeking head.
Chili boy made huge strides of improvement soon as he came on. Smit should have been gone long time ago and the entire Bok side would be a full thousand furlongs further down the rugby evolutionary road.
24 Jul 2011, 21:20 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-99: you conveniently leave out the most embarrassing loss since 2007 – yes, losing to SCOTLAND. But of course you would omit that one because Smit wasn’t captain. If he was you would be ranting on and on how he siglehandedly lost the match to the lowly Scots.
24 Jul 2011, 21:24 pm
Smit still has something to offer the Boks at the WC – he is a leader, and has led the team to some of its greatest triumphs. He is not better than Bismarck, but he should be in the squad. Not sure dropping him a couple of months before the world cup is an option. Who will lead if he doesn’t ? That is the question.
24 Jul 2011, 21:25 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-103:
Went to a breakfast a couple of weeks ago where John Smit was one of the guest speakers. A question was posed to him:
” Are the Boks hungry enough to win this WC?”
Smit’s reply was ” We’ll find out after the World Cup in October.” I kid you not.
The way he replied was utterbullshit. They should have the same hunger going into this campaign as in 2007. How they won then is besides the point.
I just see snot and trane happening.
Hope I’m wrong.
24 Jul 2011, 21:27 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-104:
No mate.
I eat very well.
It goes with the territory when you’re top of the food chain.
24 Jul 2011, 21:31 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-107:
Smit is not going to be dropped ahead of this WC. That will all know.
But he has got to lift his game big time. Particularly with all these youngsters around.
He has to lead from the front. Because he needs the game time himself. And prove that he is an 80 minute player.
24 Jul 2011, 21:32 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-108: not a bad answer for a pretty stupid question … “um no, we as the defending world champions are just going there to make up the numbers”
24 Jul 2011, 21:38 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-110: yeah so what’s the point of every 2nd fan berating the national captain at every opportunity. Now there is a way of allowing him to focus on his 80 minutes of play. But then again, SA will never be unified. Yet when we do make an attempt, we are succesful.
Smit is not the best, he probably shouldn’t be there, but a choice was made and in all honesty, he didn’t make it and would be foolish to change the captain now.
But for some reason it gives a certain element of the SA public the right to make really unjustified statements and attack the man as an individual. Then they call themselves fans of the Boks and SA rugby.
24 Jul 2011, 21:50 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-112:
John Smit has to lift his game massively during the next month to prove that he has what it takes to be a Bok, first of all, and secondly Bok captain. Everyone in the team is looking to him right now. Particularly those playing in their first Tri-Nations. Not to Peter de Villiers to motivate the team.
John Smit has to step up. And lead from the front in his style of play.
24 Jul 2011, 21:55 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-113: Totally agree. Just don’t see the captains of other countries having to deal with being ripped to shreds.
24 Jul 2011, 22:01 pm
seems to me that pdv has little trust in his assistants.
didn’t he try to get rid of them last year?
wouldn’t be surprised if he finds john an easier sounding board – and to a lesser extent victor.
would not be surprised if john does not start the big games at rwc – but rather covers for beast and bismarck on the bench
24 Jul 2011, 22:10 pm
There might be a reason to PDiv’s madness in resting his so-called 21 primary “injured ” Boks.
I read a report a couple of weeks ago that he would like to play the same 22 Bokke from the first game all the way through.
Sounds crazy to me. But that seems to be the way his thought processes operate.
24 Jul 2011, 22:15 pm
Guys basically we all have to accept we are going to have these three players that are going to weaken our bok team
Smit (someone has to captain the team even if somewhat of a passanger)
Spies (PDV loves him but is useless especailly in wet conditions)
Habana (cant see, cant catch, cant defend, cant deal with high ball, and has slowed)
So just accept it and hope they lift their game
24 Jul 2011, 22:17 pm
@charo(charo)-115:
Hey howzit
basically Victor, J Smit Pdp and JDV are running the show and not really PDV and his assistants
24 Jul 2011, 22:20 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-103:
Yeah when things dont work out sadly PDV will get the blame and not Smit and senior players
25 Jul 2011, 01:04 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-118:
hi pete,
still think that john is pdv’s right-hand-man.
he trusts him.
the other guys are merely “assistants”
but still higher in the pecking order than muir and gold
25 Jul 2011, 01:45 am
@charo(charo)-120:
Yeah John is his player coach
And john’s assistances are Pdp , Matfield and Jdv
25 Jul 2011, 01:45 am
sorry Fdp
25 Jul 2011, 02:08 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-100: Couldnt agree more Skop. It was rather sad. Like self vindication – proving to people he can still do it when in fact all he did was pick up a ball and dive toward the line. All the hard work had already been done. Theres a lot of self delusion going on amongst the Boks of late. Habana thinking that 1 try will also fix his malaise. Ruaan Pienaar thinking that he can be he best scrumhalf if given the time, etc etc. No honesty and no passion. Listening to the politicians rhetoric spewing from John Smits mouth post match was just as sad. Ahh I think we can take some positives from the game and we learnt a lot from it blah blah blah. As sad and pathetic as it gets. Just be honest and say hell we were out of our depth we got stuffed and we really need to sort things out starting first by getting me on a plane back home asap
25 Jul 2011, 07:20 am
Just watched the highlights…eishhhh!!! Pathetic doesn’t even come close. Disgusting display from the Boks. It was almost as if they were paid off by the Aussies to be so frigging useless! There was no hunger, no mongrel. No bodies on the line. The performance smacked of a demoralised team low on morale. There simply isn’t any self belief amongst the Bok players. This is the true reality of PdV’s coaching. Clueless in every way.
Why doesn’t Div thick head kak boy draft in Elstadt to deal with the lock problem? Morne Steyn must never be allowed to play another game for the Boks. His tackling was just shocking. He offers nothing. Zero. Zip. Aplon isn’t much better. How many tackles did he miss? Jeeeeeeeeeesus!
The forwards looked absolutely useless. I wonder if a loose trio of Deysel, Johnson and Rossouw might work? Probably not. Don’t know if its worth playing Kanko. He does at least offer some speed in the backrow.
Smit, Morne, and Olivier need to be dropped immediately. I’m sorry to say this but I hope Smit gets injured. It would be in the best interests for SA. Make Juan Smith (if fit) captain. A hard bstard that does his talking on the field. You can’t get more inspirational than seeing your captain moer his opposite number. I don’t know. I give up. It will take at least 4 years to recover from the total screw up that is happening now.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All