Let’s be honest in SA rugby

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Springboks’ poor showing in Sydney came as no surprise.

Often, very little makes sense about South African rugby, or indeed the South African rugby supporter.

There never seems to be any doubt among South African rugby supporters that the Springboks can beat the All Blacks in Auckland at this year’s World Cup. But there is concern the Boks may not be able to negotiate Samoa at the same tournament … a view based on Samoa’s win against a Wallabies team missing seven first-choice players.

Often nothing makes sense and the past week was no exception, with the Boks in Sydney insulted at being called a B team, despite 21 first-choice players having being assembled in Rustenburg for a two-week training camp.

And then there was a belief among so many South African rugby supporters that the bag of mixed sorts gifted a Bok jersey in Sydney would deliver more than collective mediocrity.

Even worse was the surprise among South African fans when Australia embarrassed these South African rugby players dressed as Boks.

The Springboks were always going to take a beating because in the Tri Nations not one of the three teams has enough depth to play a B team against the other’s A team — and win away from home.

It was also how SA lost that reaffirmed the view that Peter de Villiers as national coach offers nothing.

De Villiers, whether the Boks win or lose the World Cup, cannot go sooner. Worse than him having nothing technical to offer is that in four years he has learned nothing.

Senior players defend De Villiers because they say he is a great manager of players. They do this because he allows the ‘old boys’ to do whatever they want and to run the show.

De Villiers, as a rugby coach, is as embarrassing as the effort of the players in Sydney. Had it not been for the charitable substitutions of Australian coach Robbie Deans on the hour, the score-line would have been a truer reflection of an early Aussie attacking master class and a limp Bok response.

De Villiers has not had the capacity to evolve as an international coach in four years and the team that started in Sydney was never going to play more than one match as a unit.

Somehow too many remain surprised. How ignorant! How depressing!

The Boks, with the best playing at their best, can win anything. That is why there is hope for the World Cup, but there also has to be honesty about last Saturday and the coming weekend’s defeat.

Bok captain John Smit said the only B describing his team was that they were Boks. I’d add “bull” to that as well.

Honesty served the 2007 World Cup campaign. A repeat dose now would not be out of place.

De Villiers, among the coaches, stands alone in the blame because he has never empowered his two assistants, Dick Muir and Gary Gold, and for the past two years has tried to fire them. They have no input in team selections and team strategy. They are simply there for a pay cheque.

De Villiers has relied on 20 very gifted players to mask his incompetence these past four years, and mostly the players have delivered through instinct and natural ability.

Most of those players were not in Sydney, which also explains the result. The team that played against Australia had no respect for the basics of the game, had no desire to make a tackle, had no clue on attack and looked lost from the opening whistle — which would be an accurate description of De Villiers’s tenure as coach.

South African rugby fans who deal in reality and not illusions should focus more on what is going on in Rustenburg, where a real coach (Rassie Erasmus) is working with some real Bok players … ones who aren’t injured and are very capable of winning a one-off Test against anyone.

Those up north (in SA ) can also no longer defend Morne Steyn’s right to the No 10 jersey at the World Cup. Butch James offers more in the short term and Pat Lambie is the long-term solution.

Life isn’t going to be as comfortable for Bok rugby when Victor Matfield and his imposing team-mates call time on their international careers.

The 2007 World Cup winners are among the best players ever produced. With most of them gone in 2012, Bok rugby is again going to need a coach the equal of those departing players.

Forget the Sydney result. It means nothing in the context of the World Cup.

There is no need for panic, but there will always be a need in our rugby for honesty.

596 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

• 551.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-546: White is a low blow lowlife operator.. one his close buddies committed suicide because he was ‘discarded’ and shunted aside after Whites early acceptance by Saru.

@ET.(ET.)-548: you are the absolute archaic epitome of a slow thinker… you dunno even what a thought actually IS you ignoramus dumbfck half educated half arsed half witted imbecile self infatuated Yankee doodle dandy arselicking deluded dunce.

• 552.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-551:
    dont think he’s a saint and dunno about the personal conjecture, but think he’s v knowledgeble on SA rugby and i was happy he was coaching the boks, he provided many good things for SA rugby imo at a time they drastically needed some stability and common sense.

• 553.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-552: White and ET are same kind lowlife ingrate idiots… people who blow own trumpets loudest are most likely to get burst eardrums first.

• 554.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-553:
    lol, but White won us a RWC which is of primary importance, it dont really matter what ET does. if you can walk the talk, go for it i say.

• 555.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

PdV’s main failing is his lack of self realizable conviction.. He thought, whether rightly or wrongly, that without Smit and Matfield as his two pillars of strength propping him up he won’t cut it on the big stage and in the big league..

Perhaps he knew his own limitations better than most, after all similarly White only realized this at the very last ditch eleventh hour when it became painfully obvious to him that without the brains and more importantly the crutch of a committed and willing rugby strategist to lean on in Eddy Jones he was lost in a sea of his own limited making.

Jones pulled that team together which had no direction whatsoever through the 3N of 06 and 07 and gave it both the belief and the conviction that they had the wherewithal to take on the world. Prior to Jones contribution they were almost as woeful as we find the Bok team is now at similar junction in proceedings.

• 556.ET.: Reply to this comment

The ” cart-a r s e s” are at it again.

A totally predictable hiding at a simple game albeit one involving the ‘nation’ and its rugby players now compared to a tragedy like some bomb blast a few days ago?
    Now a cleansing or purging is called forth?

Priorities gone wild.

• 557.ET.: Reply to this comment

And the WC did what for the people of Boiphatong or even “site 5″?

• 558.cab: Reply to this comment

i never believed the A team were woeful in 2007, nor do i believe the current A team are woeful. The Key was not Eddie Jones, nor will it be Rassie Erasmus, the key to the whole thing is very simply making sure our best players are all fit, rested and selected.

• 559.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-557:
    who cares?
    hell u could even discover the cure to your dementia, its irrelevant.

• 560.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-554: Well White talked a whole lotta sh’t just like ET does – but then he did the only thing that was left open for him to do… he got somebody more qualified and more astute than he was to put the cherry on the icing of his half baked cake… and viola, the Frenchies, Argies and Poms did the rest… and he cake walked his way into a no contest easy peasy non eventful WC crowning glory.

So what can ET actually ‘do’ ? talk sh’t out his half arsed Yankee doodle dandy feathered backside – that’s about as much as he’s good for, so in clarity of relative conditioned comparison between the schmuck ET and the other schmuck White I reckon the self infatuated schmuck White still has that tiny modicum of humility to his credit that the idiot useless self deluded self infatuated ignoramus half arsed dunce ET is still yet to find.

• 561.cab: Reply to this comment

1. Beast 2. Bismarck 3. CJ 4. Bakkies 5. Matfield 6. Brussow 7. Juan 8. Alberts
    9. FdP 10. Morne 11. Habana 12. JdV/Frans 13. JF 14. JP 15. Frans/Aplon

16. Gurthro 17. Smit 18. Jannie 19. Danie 20. Burger 21. RP 22. Hougaard

That side can beat anyone anywhere.

• 562.ET.: Reply to this comment

The true colours of the ‘liberals’ now being manifested with clarity?

Plus some delightful middle-leg sucking, in fact-less desperation?
    Is it growing and is it of benefit?

• 563.ET.: Reply to this comment

Not 1/100th as well as that that ran out your shorts when the cold blade was felt.

• 564.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-555:
    Maybe it’s time for PdV to start Chilibooi against the ABs?!
    Will settle few issues, so far he has come on more or less at garbage times, caused few embarrassments like on Saturday when a tackle landed him on his back with a thump, then collected plenty praises, none really quantified
    Add Johnson and Elton Jantjies and we shall see
    Fair enough?

• 565.shooter: Reply to this comment

the general feeling on here is one of disbelieve. like a huuuuge hangover that i have from saturday nite, like my ears can still not comprehend, trying to equalize. …almost like, a test to forget.

nice posts cab.
    et. man, you are actually slightly.
    skop. drop. and skiet. what did jw really do, to make you so mad at him. o, i think i remember. it’s what he didn’t do.

so is cheecky the next bok coach? :)

• 566.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I am disappointed with Nama’s absent!
    Sound like he is still waiting for the Party Line telex but the teleprinter at the HQ is broken?

• 567.shooter: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-565: and i’m not really bothered. i mean wtf. in 100 years of racing. did ferrari win every season?

• 568.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-566: hondo, jy moet eintlik jou naam verander na net ‘hond’ toe. dit pas jou baie beter. jy is ‘n moerse pateet. besef jy dit?

• 569.cab: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-565:
    so what did u think of saturday’s debacle?

• 570.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-566: moenie dink die Here het nie dalk ‘n ontmoeting met jou nie.

• 571.shooter: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-570: en pruim daai ene mooi.

• 572.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-552: what did keo’s twitter say the day jake was announced brumbies coach-elect?

something like “jake might a prick & a liar but he is a good coach”

now if keohane regards him as a doos then u know something is cooking, as you know keo was saved by jake from being hit by a car in paris before the final, now he says the dude is a first class prick :razz:

• 573.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-567:
    It took 20 years between Judi Schechter and Michael Schumacher, wasn’t it?

• 574.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

there was no cold blade felt I grabbed the stupid little chicken arse skollies blade with my bare hand and the little coward realized there was no easy cell phone haul for him that day… and then they all 3 turned and ran when the game was up.

the only outright two faced La-di-da fascist here is this Yankee doodle dandy arselicking coconut scum who professes to be dyed in the red flag of Mao’s commie colors while sucking profusely up Uncle Sam’s lily white imperialists capitalist bum.

@Hondo(Hondo)-564: Not half as embarrassing as a rampaging John Smit into no mans land.. getting the ball sprawled out his feeble frolicking hand and 30 secs later the Aussie prop is over in the far corner. Or the flabby belly flop waltz he so lavishly performed in front of 100000 grand standing ovation fans at Soweto to crown his legendary status of feeble self infatuated worth when his 100th game festivities turned into an abysmal nightmare.

Yeah play Smitty again… Thorn and Nonu and the rest of the AB faithful will be absolutely licking their lips in the anticipation of the next flabby pakeha juice stew gonna be heaped up on their beckoning plate.

• 575.shooter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-569: hi Cab. i read most of the two threads here.
    i didn’t watch the game as i was on the golf course for a bachelors.

from what i saw. it was like a boxing match where the one heavyweight got in a few shots to the jaw in round one and 2. a bit like Flo (bless the next champ) Simba and Fransie Botha :)

*I lost my concentration just now due to having to give biblical advice.

• 576.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-572:
    ja who knows what goes on with these okes, its damn amusing actually.
    you know the build-up to this thing is almost 100% identical to 4 years ago, uitgeknip, its actually uncanny. next thing pdv will save keo from a bus in auckland and they all walk down the aisle arm in arm happily everafter…

• 577.shooter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-569:
    problem 1 – locks.
    problem 2 – game breaker or two in the back line. it could not be aplon in a desperate cause
    problem 3 – are the people there really in the right mindset. the talk it. but i don’t know
    problem 4 – inexperience in general

problem overall – aussie backline

• 578.Alucard: Reply to this comment

Here’s the truth regarding Morne and Lambie. Lambie failed in his fifth consecutive test. Another loser with no future as an adequate player:

Lambie
    56:00 – Restart. Aus kick into touch. Lineout on half way.
    57:00 – Lambie to Deysel. Stopped dead

Boks rumble into Aus 22, Lambie nt involved with it

57:40 – Lambie receives ball in Aus 22. Crabs to the right dummies, gets taken to ground
    58:02 – Lambie penalty out for lineout in Aus 22

Boks maul it from lineout, Chiliboy scores a try. Lambie not involved

62:28 – Lambie sits deep, passes to Olivier who is, again, very deep, Boks curalled and stopped losing ground in the process.

62:36 – Lambie gets in on the short side, sets up Mvovo for a tackle.
    65:00 – Lambie kicks penalty into touch for lineout
    66:17 – Lambie sitting very deep again, passes to Adi who is literally right next to him! Aussies swarm
    all over Adi, but at least he took it to the line!
    66:33 – Attempted kick into touch from ruck outside Bok 22. Beale collects.
    67:55 – Lambie collects and chips, chip charged down. A real let-off as Aus knock-on with numbers
    69:19 – Bok scrum. Skip-pass by Lambie to Adi deep. Aus in no real danger
    70:00 – Bok scrum. Lambie very deep, another skip-pass to Adi. Knock on. Aus under no pressure
    71:43 – Big burst by Aplon, gives it to Lambie who is tackled. Loses ball in contact. Turnover Aus
    72:18 – Lambie inside pass to Adi. Boks don’t even gain an inch here
    75:25 – Bok try. Lambie not present in any phase of play
    77:03 – Lambie deep again, in Bok 22, passes to de Jongh. Aus just cural Boks into touchline
    77:25 – Lambie takes it to the line, gets well wrapped up and turned over. Aus nearly through for try
    78:50 – Bok scrum, Bok 22. Lambie receives it on 3rd phase. takes it to the line, thumped to the deck
    nearly turned over
    79:59 – Lambie to Roussouw, Roussouw well behind the gainline

————————————————————————————–
    Morne Steyn

00:00 – Kick-off
    01:47 – Bok scrum, garryowen with Olivier and de Jongh in pursuit
    04:22 – Bok scrum, Morne takes it flat, passes to Olivier
    04:44 – Morne takes it flat on the blindside, puts Mvovo through
    05:15 – Morne aligns wide and flat, passes to de Jongh coming in hard and fast (got stripped)
    09:27 – Restart – Puts us deep into Aus territory
    09:51 – Morne tracks back, but unable to stop a certain try
    12:00 – Restart – Puts us deep into Aus territory
    14:07 – Bok scrum, Morne takes it flat, gives it Olivier
    17:21 – Bok scrum, Morne puts it on the 10m line
    18:50 – Bok penalty, Morne puts it in Australia’s half. Bok lineout
    19:52 – Slightly deeper, gives it it Olivier
    20:09 – Morne engages defernders, inside pass to Roussouw
    24:04 – Morne takes the contact and offloads to Olivier, who gets dumped
    27:04 – Morne takes it in our 22, puts it into touch inside Aus 10 line
    27:45 – Bok lineout, Morne takes it flat and wide, pops it to Olivier
    30:00 – Morne slots a penalty
    30:03 – Morne takes it in our 22, puts it down the middle
    31:51 – Morne chips it into the corner
    32:51 – Blindside, Morne beats Beale, steps Elsom, draws loosehead and puts Pienaar clean through
    33:00 – Morne takes it flat from ruck, passes to Johnson
    36:24 – Restart
    36:52 – Bok lineout, Morne takes it slightly deeper, holds and pops it to Johnson
    37:36 – Morne takes it wide and deep, skip pass to de Jongh
    37:55 – Takes it, runs forward, gives it to Kankowski who puts Basson through
    39:29 – Morne kicks penalty into touch. Bok lineout
    40:25 – Takes it mid depth, cross field kick to Mvovo
    40:45 – Slots penalty for 3 points
    44:45 – Restart
    48:01 – Restart
    48:30 – Morne regathers fumble in 22 under pressure, stands ground sets up ruck with support
    51:55 – Restart
    53:12 – Takes it mid-depth, cut-pass to de Jongh
    53:39 – Pops it to Greyling

All those Morne critics are as thick as the *** bones that encase their brain. That’s you Keo!

• 579.cab: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-575:
    oh right, no wonder u still got the hangover, are u saying SA was frans the white rhino botha? cos hell they were out for the count about 20 seconds into the 1st when smit made a monumentally epic charge, only to cough it up off his boeppens in midfield on a platter – and from then on the nightmare unfolded.

• 580.cab: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-577:
    think u got it in one. hopefully better against ABs, but suppose must curb expectations.

• 581.shooter: Reply to this comment

that guy old school also made a few good points, that we all know, but he articulated it quite well mostly. we should be playing rugby. emphasis on playing. not labouring it so much.

• 582.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-565: klink vir my jy hou van daai blaffende bolletjie hondtjie die einaardige fake snake

ek het gn tyd vir groot bek imposter frauds – soos die fakes soos jake – en ne soos die skommel wat in die VSA hul heldheid kom blaas oor die internet asof hulle die ware Jacobs van mensregheid is, al sluk hulle die skuim uit die gatte van hul witpens imperialistiese baase

• 583.shooter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-579: ja-no, and it was my brother’s.

the buffalo soldier hit Flo simba with a shot somewhere in the 6th and Flo dropped two rounds later only. even volbrecht was asking him before the round (still two rounds later)…’you ok boy?’ gotta love boxing. Flo Simba is the real deal.

But the score was more like buffalo soldier / Tyson

• 584.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-575: we walked into a couple sucker punches in the first round at 10 minutes into the game.. a quick one-two by Cooper and then Genia in the very next breath and the bout was all over.

Smit should have been far more wide awake to the pitfalls of trying to be a f’ng hero in round one of the 15 round match up. Should have measured the collective blows and contained the onslaught through a series of forward thrust phases before everybody trying to be a solo hero with zero backup in support.

It was all over at the 12 minute mark at 12 – 3 down and it quickly escalated to 32 – 6 or something like that. But the lesson of the exercise is not to kick possession away especially against the most talented back line in world rugby and not to barge up into defenses without adequate support and get turned over. Both lessons that PdV and Smit seem incapable of learning in all of the past 20 months of dismal one dimensional failure.

• 585.cab: Reply to this comment

LMAO, just as well the foreigners cant understand afr, cos 582 would make a sailour nauseas.

@shooter(shooter)-583:
    lol, did u watch david hayes’ sore footsie excuse?

• 586.shooter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-582: i love it when you talk foreign, haha.

well, i liked him more than straueli. well, only coenie de villiers is worse than straueli.

furthermore. he tossed around some. i just want a coach that can 70% consistently.

you say stats can distort. and it’s true. but at least we thought we had a ok team in with a chance most of the time.

apart from JvdWesthuizen on 10 what should never have happened. at least we were happy when we won. and eddy or no eddie, I give jake some credit for that. i’ve read his book and he did create systems. who knows what could have happened if he was kept for another 4 years.

i don’t really worry about the palace talk.

• 587.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Cab

love the way you add your proviso about Beast & Brussow being ‘young players’ in the same breath as mentioning O.Franks’enstein who actually was younger and himself a debutant. Beast & Brussow were not debutante vs AB that series having been involved vs BIL. The AB pack also incl a rookie lock, I.Ross, which is a bit more significance to a scrums performance than any
    open side flanker will ever be. You might regard this as ‘selective amnesia’.

Beast has been found out since his illegal boring-in techniques have been repeatedly penalised. Reverse turbo ever since.

• 588.shooter: Reply to this comment

ok unusual suspects. nite.

• 589.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-587: get ready to die saturday *****.

• 590.cab: Reply to this comment

what?! illegal boring-in, never, AVE MARIA, DOMINO CHRISTUS.

• 591.shooter: Reply to this comment

************************************************************ 8)

>@588 Lol

• 592.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

435.Bludeks:
    Whoever edited 435 must be the same person as banned “Black Beauty”. Furthermore they dont know the English language.

• 593.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Apparently PDV said he “would be making some changes” for the next game. Really interested to see what those are.

• 594.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Shooter

great to see that Safa spirit return. Cab appears to rolled over and died already, much like his preferred BS code in Latin.

• 595.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-2: Wow, you have a short memory boet. In the last 4 years I believe the Bulls have won the Super 14 twice, one where the final was an all SA affair.

I agree fully with Keo. PDV has been an example of what is wrong with SA rugby. The greatest group of spirngboks we have ever seen in a long time has been wasted on this ‘clown’.

After the world cup we will be rebuilding and we need a builder with a plan, not the type of amateur style of coaching that is PDV. He fired Os for God knows what reason, he wants to fire Muir and Gold because of his ever growing state of paranoia, the man is clueless and was selected based on race and personal agendas from Hoskins, who could have selected a WC winning assistant coach in Alistair Coetzee instead of this ‘clown’ who has brought shame and embarrassment to SA rugby.

• 596.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

So lets have a bit of honesty on this site. Keo has spread the word that the ‘injured’ boks are in a two week training camp. Where does that leave us on moral and ethical grounds. While the AB’s and Wallys are generally fronting their main groups weekly for these tests the Boks are at home hiding behind a medical smoke screen. Come WC time and they defend their title- is it right or is it wrong?
    My head says yeah its OK, do whatever your team needs to accomplish their goals…..my heart says this is not in the true spirit of what the Boks have represented along with their Tri Nations rivals over the years, I feel it has the shade of cheating (somehow) attached to it.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.