Mostert, Deysel start for Boks
28 Jul 2011
Peter de Villiers has made four changes to his starting line-up for the Springboks’ next Tri-Nations clash against the All Blacks in Wellington.
Lock Gerhard Mostert, who was a late injury replacement for Flip van der Merwe, has been rushed into the second row to make his Test debut this Saturday. Blindside flank Jean Deysel is also promoted to a shuffled loose trio, with Danie Rossouw shifting to No 8 and Ashley Johnson falling to the bench. Deon Stegmann keeps his No 6 jumper.
The other two changes are to the backline, with outside centre Adi Jacobs replacing Wynand Olivier in the midfield and Juan de Jongh picked at inside centre. Fullback Pat Lambie fills in for the injured Gio Aplon, who returned home with Van der Merwe on Wednesday.
South Africa – 15 Pat Lambie, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ryan Kankowski, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Odwa Ndungane.

359 Comments
28 Jul 2011, 04:40 am
Jacobs is an impact player at best whose defence is shocking in the early stages of a game. Lambie best get ready to tackle. Don’t get me started on Morne “I lie so deep that all I can do is kick” Steyn.
28 Jul 2011, 04:43 am
Lambie and the lambs being led to the slaughter!
28 Jul 2011, 04:44 am
@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-1:
What happened to Joshua?
28 Jul 2011, 04:51 am
@ET.(ET.)-3: sleeping
yip I feel a slaughtering coming up
28 Jul 2011, 05:01 am
Is “Lambie to the slaughter” another hackneyed sheep joke?
28 Jul 2011, 05:01 am
Best side available outside of the 2 props. Wynand Olivier had to go after the performance against Australia. Juan de Jonghs future is at 12.
Excited to see how Lambie does at the back.
28 Jul 2011, 05:05 am
Looks like WO (Wynand One-try) has seen the end of his spectacularly unsuccessful and pathetic test career.
28 Jul 2011, 05:18 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-7: Tackles even though you are a doos I have to agree with you on this one
28 Jul 2011, 05:29 am
@ET.(ET.)-3: agree!!!
28 Jul 2011, 05:40 am
Endless discussion about selections. Again.
No discussion of whether they can make the inside-out Defence work, whether they should adopt a flatter formation, when ball retention is more important than risky yard-gain, etc.
Yawn.
28 Jul 2011, 05:43 am
WOE to come on as sub and have a blinder scoring 3 tries – thus writing himself into the anals of rugby history.
28 Jul 2011, 05:45 am
Start with Johnson ahead of Stegmann, move Morne to FB and learn to tackle tackle tackle and tackle again and we might stay within 10 points
28 Jul 2011, 05:48 am
Bok brains-trust showing ‘again’ they have no idea that a bench is not for ‘reserves’ but just as important as the starting 15 in the game that is 22man 85min test rugby!
Now look at the AB’s bench…
28 Jul 2011, 05:49 am
@christianels22(christianels22)-12:
Good points. MS can kick further than Lambie – and we’re going to need the breathing space.
Stegman doesn’t deserve to be there and Ashley needs to be given more game time.
28 Jul 2011, 05:56 am
@OCO(OCO)-14: At least with Lambie, JDJ and Jacobs there we might even look a little more like scoring a try
28 Jul 2011, 05:57 am
Should have had danie at lock with a loose trio of deysel Johnson kanko, centers in my opinion should have just been swapped around, jacobs and WO are both just as useless so in my eyes I would have played Jdj at 12 and WO at 13, also def should have selected lambie at 10, my back 3 would then have been mvovo basson and odwa at fullback, would also have dropped Kruger for cj and kept a front frow of greyling John and cj, anyways go BOKKE!!!!!
28 Jul 2011, 06:00 am
I’ll also ask ur opinion on this guys, what’s da point of putting morne at 15? Besides his boot he can’t join a line and his tackling is horrific, he can’t join the line cuz he has no ballas so he wouldn’t offer anythin on attack either, now I knw u will argue that odwa aint a test 15 but nor is morne so I’m my opinion go with odwa cuz that guy gives it everythin in every game
28 Jul 2011, 06:04 am
This is going to be a massacre. I think the All Blacks will score more points then they did against Fiji. Lets hope that John Smit’s legendary captaincy skills keep the boks in the game for the first 10 mins at least!!!!!
28 Jul 2011, 06:08 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-17: Exactly…less opportunities to kill the backline
28 Jul 2011, 06:22 am
@christianels22(christianels22)-15:
True. With AJ on for Stegman we might even have a better chance.
One thing I’ve always said is we don’t score tries with MS at #10 and every match it becomes more apparent.
Works for the Bulls not not the Boks.
28 Jul 2011, 06:27 am
@OCO(OCO)-20: Yeah its been a long time since we out scored a good team in tries. That was the biggest difference when Jake White took over.
28 Jul 2011, 06:44 am
Jacobs is better than ‘meisiekind’!
28 Jul 2011, 06:49 am
Mmm….I’m not sure those were the changes we all had in mind but it’s a step closer I guess. Would have liked to have seen Lambie at 10 but I suppose with Aplon gone he was the only choice available to cover 15. Steggies lives to fight another day…and the debate will rage on
28 Jul 2011, 06:49 am
Biggest problem is the lock pairing here. Danie to lock and Kanko to start at 8
Think its going to be a long evening on saturday for these players.
Bring on the home leg!
28 Jul 2011, 06:57 am
Kanko is not the answer for NZ either…
Nice to see only one player from SA’s most successful S15 side…
P Grant, Sadie and Elstand would all have been improvements.
28 Jul 2011, 06:58 am
GO BOKS!
boks to narrowly win this by 3 points final score 24-20
28 Jul 2011, 07:21 am
We are in for a serious faking up this weekend.
Hope they don’t step on Oupa AD’s catheter pipe in a tackle. Either or someone’s gonna hose themselves
28 Jul 2011, 07:35 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-16:
“jacobs and WO are both just as useless”
Yet you go for WO at 13?
Why not drop both of them from the squad?
28 Jul 2011, 07:36 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-27:
28 Jul 2011, 07:37 am
sheesh Kanko had one of his better games (still a 12 IMO);
hopefully Lambie and Morne to swap 10 and 15 based on attack/defense.
But seriaaaaasly… I’ve watched the wallabies game 3 times now – Baas Smit….he was sooo slow, clumsy, and made bad decisions.
And Morne… agh come on, you can’t tackle??? After how many years of S1* and Internationals
@John Galt(John Galt)-24: I agree – Mostert on bench; Danie at lock, Kanko at 8 -seems way more rational
28 Jul 2011, 07:39 am
Boks in for a long night!
Cant see them score any tries with Morne Stain at 10
Biggest quota of the lot…..
These Bulls adds **** to the Bok team
They should rather play in their homogenous Blue jersey, culture and structure
28 Jul 2011, 07:39 am
@Staal(Staal)-29: More ou stoetbul. Gaan dit goed?
28 Jul 2011, 07:41 am
eish!
28 Jul 2011, 07:47 am
seems like pdv really wants Danie R to get more game time among the loosies. maybe to prepare him for the WC as it seems likely that he will be our first option if JSmith does not recover.
28 Jul 2011, 07:47 am
The real question is…… it this worth my time watching. Mmmmm….
28 Jul 2011, 07:51 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-35: the real question is, is this worth your heart taking another beating, which has the potential to be major!
28 Jul 2011, 07:54 am
Lambie should start, Morne to bench. Odwa and Ruaan both capable covering 15. After Morne’s last “defensive effort” or lack thereof AB’s will be licking their fingers running at those outstreched arms. Watch him spin like a toy spinning top or “tol” as my afrikaans mates used to call it.
28 Jul 2011, 07:54 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-32: Skitterend Kwagga. Yip moet erken – hoe AD JAcobs nog n bok is weet die vet alleen.
28 Jul 2011, 07:59 am
@SHARKattack(mabu)-36: Dude I’m a Lions supporter…. heart is bullet proof by now.
28 Jul 2011, 08:09 am
if ruan pienaar worked on his kicking game i think he would make a great defensive 15, not sure how good he would be on attack though. jacobs is actually a little heavier than wo but shorter. a better attacker/line breaker than wo but as for defense being better, i guess sat will tell.
28 Jul 2011, 08:10 am
Hoooooo!
WO to the bench. Maybe that should have been in the headline.
I see Div said certain senior guys let the squad down, I suppose he was referring to Olivier as the main culprit.
Anyway, no wonder that Ashley is on the bench. I said it, but then I’m mos all kinds of prejudiced.
Just gotta laugh at what these people think they saw when they watch a test.
Pity Brussow never got a go in the C-team, but he is grateful, no doubt.
This was a damaging exercise. We play as much as the Aussies and NZders, they have fielded their A-team.
Rossouw at 8, Deysel in at 7, much better trio now. (eventhough Danie should never play 8).
Hope Adi is up for it, how much rugby did he play at the Sharks this year?
I feel mighty sorry for Lambiekins though. Poor lad. He is going to be helluva tired on Saturday night.
Now if they’ve sorted out their teamwork and handling issues, hopefully the front 5 can assert themselves this time, and Steggies can focus on supporting the b/d and not clean up after the 8th man and fall back to cover the fullback every 2 minutes.
28 Jul 2011, 08:12 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-40:
Ruan Pienaar could have easily been a top fullback. Pity they insisted on seeing him as a “utility back”. It is especially damaging to your form to be taken in and out of the halves paring, and a combo.
28 Jul 2011, 08:14 am
All I can say is, thank god I have a golf comp on Saturday morning…
28 Jul 2011, 08:17 am
Not a real big improvement on the side from last week, but i like the idea of Lambie at fullback, still i would have preferred him to Steyn at 10. Like i said before, he just gives the backs that extra dimension an creativity. Sad we losing the pace of Aplon at the back, as Lambie is not as quick, but he will be solid from the back. Hopefully he will interchange with Steyn at 10 in loose play, so to keep the opposition guessing.
Then bringing in Adi at 13, could be beneficial or it could backfire. Adi was in great form in super rugby this season and made an impact every time he came on of the bench for the Sharks, but the Test stage is a whole lot different. So hopefully he can set the back line on fire.
Really worried about our tight five, they are not, as a unit, test standard. Greyling and Kruger did not make a huge impression last week, John was his usual unhelpful self, Hargreaves was left to be in charge of the line outs, he struggled and now bringing in Mostert that has not been with the side and does not have allot of time to settle.
Good to see Deysel at 7, he made a fair difference last week when he came on. But Stegmann was no where to be seen. Danie Worked hard but in loose trio not tested, he couldn’t do much, good to see him at 8, think he is better there.
All in all…i think it is going to be a long 80min for the Boks, if we don’t get the upper hand with our forwards and dominate the breakdown and our defense is as poor as last week. We are in for on hell of a beating.
Still behind you guys…GO BOKKE!!
28 Jul 2011, 08:22 am
Smit’s “aura” aint gonna save us here. As long as he and Steyn plays, we’re buggered. It doesnt matter who plays center, when Steyn receives the ball 20m behind the advantage line, no center can do much with that.
We’re in deep doo-doo here
28 Jul 2011, 08:24 am
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-43: Really now, i can bet you now, you will be checking the score at every opportunity you get. Even though it is painful to watch, a bok fan will always hope, even if it is just by checking on the score every now and then.
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-39: LOL!!!
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-45: Amen to that…100% agreed!
28 Jul 2011, 08:26 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-46:
Of course I will! Am still a Bok fan dude
28 Jul 2011, 08:31 am
I guess it good to be positive, and say, for the boks to win they need play as a unit and be at their very best. But if i had to be a little more on the negative side: I hope the All Blacks have shocker and we manage to catch them on a bad day!!
I think id prefer the second one!
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-31: Don’t forget that this is the same Steyn who put 31 points past the All Blacks in 2009, so he’s not a complete doos with a rugby ball.
I guess it good to be positive, and say, for the boks to win they need play as a unit and be at their very best. But if i had to be a little more on the negative side: I hope the All Blacks have shocker and we manage to catch them on a bad day!!
I think id prefer the second one!
sorry for the repost, my bad!
28 Jul 2011, 08:33 am
@Esoteric(Esoteric)-51:
No one is doubting his kicking ability. But the game has changed, Steyn hasnt. You need to be able to do a lot more than just kick a rugby to be an international flyhalf.
28 Jul 2011, 08:33 am
@Esoteric(Esoteric)-51: With the rugby ball…maybe, having the rugby ball placed down on a T, not so much.
28 Jul 2011, 08:35 am
I think PDV has made the right call starting Morne, it would have been real risky to hand Pat Lambie his first start at flyhalf against a rampaging All Blacks team away from home.
28 Jul 2011, 08:36 am
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-54: I like the way you put that. The game has modernized, Steyn is still trying to do it the Old School way…Times have changed.
28 Jul 2011, 08:38 am
@The Bok Identity(The Bok Identity)-56: Lambie may be young and inexperienced…but i believe he would have handled the pressure pretty well. He is just a phenomenal talent.
28 Jul 2011, 08:44 am
What worries me too is Lambie is going to have a long day at the office, considering the AB backline against the defence of Mvovo, Jacobs, De Jongh , Steyn & Pienaar….Steggies Deysel and Pakslae can’t be everywhere…..
28 Jul 2011, 08:47 am
For this week i would have gone for this:
15. Ruan Pienaar
14. Lwazi Mvovo
13. Juan De Jongh
12. Adi Jacobs
11. Basson
10. Patrcik Lambie
9. Charl Mcleod
8. Ryan Kankowski
7. Jean Deysel
6. Stegmann
5. Hargreaves
4. Danie Russow
3. Werner Kruger
2. Chiliboy
1. C.J van de Linde
16. John Smit
17. Dean Greyling
18. Gerhard Mostert
19. Ashley Johnson
20. Morne Styen
21. Wynand Olivier
22. Odwa Ndungane
28 Jul 2011, 08:50 am
Danie, Deysel and Stegmann is a very one dimensional trio.
No Johnson or Kanko means there is precious little speed to cross cover and chase down outside backs.
Stegmann, no words can actually describe how lucky he is to be there. He can just thank his lucky stars he plays in Blue at home. WO as well.
28 Jul 2011, 08:53 am
This is what you end up with when players get “10-year” contracts with SARU. They can be useless, but don’t worry, as long as my contract protects me I’m fine……
I’m a Bulls surporter, but not blind. We all know Wynand is not the worlds best centre though he sort of fits in with the Bulls pattern. He struggles every time in a Bok jersey, maybe because he only plays in “B” sides or **** Muir (who was a great centre) can not coach him properly. At least his defense is great. AD will not finish this test.
Could nobody in the Bulls or Bok camp see that Morne Steyn has no clue or / and commitment on defense? It started in 2010!!! I feel sorry for Coenie Oosthuizen and Adriaan Strauss – not even on the bench. Just there to carry the bags.
The camp? It is great, let they learn the rules for a start.
28 Jul 2011, 08:56 am
old skoppie is gonna be furious , he dont like lambie much, and Divvy has said Lambie is the future of Bok rugby ,
can you imagine Skoppies ramblings when he reads that???????
28 Jul 2011, 08:57 am
@sharkie10
Fully agree with team, who would be your captain then?
28 Jul 2011, 08:58 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-60:
Unfortunately there’s more to it then simply asking the player to play in whatever position. Not only has Ruan Pienaar been in outstanding form at 9 for Ulster (won Players player of the year, and won them a few in the last minute), he hasn’t played fullback for a long time, and before that he never was a fullback. What would be the point if we weren’t intending on making him into a fullback permanently? All it would do is p1ss him off more.
Also Werner Kruger had the shocker last week. Greyling held his own in the scrums sort of. It was Kruger who got crushed.
Juan de Jongh is a tough guy with vision. He’s a better 12 then Adi Jacobs. After JdV and Jaque Fourie end their Bok careers, de Jongh will be at 12 with Sadie at 13.
28 Jul 2011, 08:59 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-42:
i like it that were on the same wave length. for a bonus – watch deon stegmann give heinrich brussow a mindffuck of note on sat with a man of the match performance.
28 Jul 2011, 09:01 am
@Esoteric(Esoteric)-51:
2009? That so effing last year!
What about the 2009 EOYT?
2010 3N ?
28 Jul 2011, 09:03 am
I do not care who says what this will be our best back line going forward to RWC:
15. France Steyn
14. JPP
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Jean de Villiers
11. Aplon
10. Butch James
9. Fourie Du Preez
20. Ruan Pienaar
21. Patrick Lambie
22. Juan De Jongh
Sorry, hate me if you want, IMO no place for the M. Steyn, Bryan Habs, Meisiekind, or any of those over the hill glory boys at RWC!!!
28 Jul 2011, 09:04 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-66: Yeah and watch Malema joining the DA before the next general election.
28 Jul 2011, 09:04 am
@The Bok Identity(The Bok Identity)-56:
The Boks will lose anyways with Stain at the helm, whynot give Bambie the full 80 min at 10 to see if hes the King of Kingspark
Whats the risk in that?
28 Jul 2011, 09:07 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-67: Actually I think you’ll find that it is the year before last.
28 Jul 2011, 09:08 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-68: Jacobs are a better impact player then De Jongh, was proved in the Super 15…
28 Jul 2011, 09:08 am
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-54: True that the game has indeed changed but that it is the whole ‘Bok team rather than Steyn alone, who have not changed?
28 Jul 2011, 09:09 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-66:
What?
Unlikely. It was more likely againt the Wallabies.
They will probably not win vs the ABs.
I know it’s a joke, but I’m not joking when I say that as lucky as some say he is to be there, so lucky can Brussow count himself for not having to play in this team.
28 Jul 2011, 09:11 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-65: I agree with you on Pienaar, i was trying to make pace to get Lambie at 10 and Drop Steyn. Some say just use Steyn at fullback, not sure how that will go down. I just dont want him playing at 10 anymore, he stifles the whole backline, and make them all look bad via his one dimensional, playing from to deep style.
Guess you could leave De Jongh at 12 and Adi 13. Just thought De Jongh has more pace, and with more time at 13, and with Adi on his inside, whom (argue if you want), is one of the best ball distributors, and with Lambie at 10, i think De Jongh will do well at 13 with more time and space.
28 Jul 2011, 09:12 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-67:
what about the eoyt 2009? they played 3 games and lost 2 in europe after seeing off the b&i lions as well the ab’s and oz before that winning 7 out of 9 games. are you joking?
in total 8 wins and 4 losses for the year. are you joking?
2010 wasn’t a great year but they still managed 8 wins from 14. are you joking?
28 Jul 2011, 09:13 am
@Esoteric(Esoteric)-71:
Exactly
28 Jul 2011, 09:13 am
@Two Eyed(Two Eyed)-69:
stranger things have happened on a rugby field. just ask the all blacks.
28 Jul 2011, 09:16 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-75: the best bet for this match would have been
09 mcelod
10 Ruan
11 Mvovo
12 WO
13 Adi
14 Odwa
15 Lambie
of course i prefer lambie at 10 , but taking current situation….
WO yes i know he is useless but out of JDJ jacobs and him he is the better defender
Adi for me out of the 3 reads the play the best and runs into spaces better
And odwa might not have the pace but his alround game is better the Basson as he looks for work and defends , something Basson just cannot seem to do
28 Jul 2011, 09:18 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-42: Agree 100%. Pienaar is probably the only guy who thinks he is a 9. If he WANTED to play 15, put his heart and mind into it, played there for a few seasons, I can easily see him as one of the world’s best 15′s. And I also don’t understand how F Steyn thinks he is a 10…is the problem with junior level coaching?
28 Jul 2011, 09:20 am
Only the ZIM dollar , looses its value faster than the BOK jersey .
28 Jul 2011, 09:21 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76:
Morne only came on after Ruan Woods had a crappy day aiming for the poles. He slotted the final 3 points and now suddenly he won the BI Lions all alone?
3rd test they got a hiding!
All Blacks was Carter and McCaw less for the majority of 2009 TN. And Brussouw and the forwards was dominant sweeping all in front of them. Hence oppurtunities for penalties….enters Stain….
Stain has always been ****!
28 Jul 2011, 09:24 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-82: agreed and actually ruan played very well in that test , it was just that missed kick or 2
28 Jul 2011, 09:24 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-82: Ja ‘cos 31 points past the All Blacks… by himself, is ****?
28 Jul 2011, 09:25 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-75: My thoughts too…
28 Jul 2011, 09:26 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-79: WO might get a chance later in the game @ 12 replacing JDJ…
28 Jul 2011, 09:27 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-58:
I rate Lambie highly too,he is very mature for his young age from what I have seen of him but starting him at flyhalf in this game would have been career suicide imho.
Hopefully him and Steyn alternate attack/defense duties during the game.
28 Jul 2011, 09:28 am
@Charlie(Charlie)-86: lol charlie
you must remember , wo and adi know each others play better as they been around the bok squad much longer
same as why i would have played odwa instead of basson ,lambie, odwa and mvovo know each others style of play
28 Jul 2011, 09:30 am
I just wish they had brought Butch along for this tour…he does not realy need the rest, as a matter of fact he needs to play, as he has been out of test rugby for a while now and needs to prove to the public he is the flyhalf to take us to our RWC title defense. And i am sure that the back line as it is now, but with butch at 10 would have looked 100% better. As for defense, he would have strengthened the pivot channel considerably…
But no, we are stuck with The Steyn, who quite frankly gives me a pain.
28 Jul 2011, 09:36 am
This team’s gonna be slaughtered.
28 Jul 2011, 09:36 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-82:
well thank god your not a selector.
28 Jul 2011, 09:37 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-88:
If we are talking combinations from franchises Charl Mcleo at 9, with Lambie at 10, proven combination in Currie Cup and Super Rugby, then with Adi at 12, He has played along side Lambie for the Sharks too. and then you mentioned, Odwa and Lwazi who also combine well for the sharks. Some will think just because i am a sharks supporter, thus my thinkink, not the case, unfortunately or fortunately, which ever way you look at it, these are the available players at this stage.
28 Jul 2011, 09:38 am
This team is weaker than last week’s team at fullback, centre, lock and probably at loose forward as well. I think Johnson was unfairly judged last week. To me he offers more than Deysel.
As for Adi at centre – ja, nothing more to say about that.
Also, we are going to miss Aplon’s pace at fullback. Lambie isn’t in his class.
28 Jul 2011, 09:39 am
@Esoteric(Esoteric)-84:
had he been the starting 10 against the lions the boks would have finished the game and the series long before.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93: aplons injury a real blow….I was hoping to see a proper flyhalf in Lambie …
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-90:
Yep,.
Some more Bulls-Bok bashing beckoning.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93: yeah tacitus we know , nothing from the Sharks could ever have class ,
wouldnt expect any less from you
28 Jul 2011, 09:40 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-96: come now *** , sharks players take just as much of a bashing if not more
28 Jul 2011, 09:41 am
boks need to start well…..must not let kiwis get off to a flyer….
I reckon boks will put up a far better fight this SAT
28 Jul 2011, 09:41 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-91:
no chance of that.
mighty failed woodwork.
anyway he is a crusader.
28 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
funnily enough deysel according to you offers nothing tac, oh knowledgable one
ya swaer a can of the best
28 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-89:
did he give you the same pain in 2009?
28 Jul 2011, 09:44 am
@BullDog15(BullDog15)-80:
It wasn’t Pienaar choice to begin with remember?
That’s part of the reason why he buggered off.
SA is famous among the top tier nations for playing guys out of position.
No wonder we find patches in the international season where all of a sudden the entire team dips in form and then people are dumbfounded.
(Espcially relevant among the halfbacks, 2009 we had a halves paring that knew eachother like the back of their hand – or as Bakkies would say: ” I knew him even better than he own wife”
But there you have it. Look what we achieved in 2009).
28 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
Which are the best rugby sites with worthy articles and journalism in NZ and Oz ?
28 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-101:
Deysel is slow, and his strength is overrated. Alberts is a souped up version of Deysel in all respects – better handling, better ball carrier, more mobile, more difficult to bring down and better defender.
Deysel is a bit of a plodder. That’s why I prefer Johnson over him.
Anyway, the only benefit this team will have is maybe with one game behind them they will have better defensive cohesion. The Wallabies scored about 3 tries solely due to lack of a defensive pattern, not due to individual defensive weaknesses.
If we can eliminate that alone, we should be three tries better than last week. However, the other weaknesses I’ve identified will probably cancel that gain out – if Muir has managed to do some proper defensive training in the first place during the last week, rather than boozing it up in some Kiwi pub.
28 Jul 2011, 09:47 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-98:
NO they don’t. And don’t try to pretend they do.
Don’t worry, it’s not your fault.
28 Jul 2011, 09:51 am
Better combinations in this outfit.
Notably a better 10-12 axis, and a better centre combo.
Tight 5 still a concern for me.
28 Jul 2011, 09:51 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-105: is that why he last week was about the only one to cross the advantage line??
28 Jul 2011, 09:52 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-103:
Are we really that famous for playing guys out of position?
What is Australia’s viewpoint on versatility?
28 Jul 2011, 09:53 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-106: yes they do
lets start with SMit?? noone yes noone has even had to endure the bashing he has
so the pretending is from your side
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-97:
@funkyzoo(funkyzoo)-10:
Yes but the selections go hand in hand with what strategy is going to be employed on defence and attack…
For one we cant adopt a flatter formation on attack because Boks coaches have stuck to selecting Morne Steyn and Pienaar. Morne isnt adept at playing flat and kicks away ball aimlessly along with Pienaar who takes too long at clearing ball for the base of ruck-no quick ball thus rendering any chance of flatter attacking formation obsolete.
The inside out defence relies a lot on stopping runners behind the gain line and that where our forwards have to front up to kill momentum and backs have to call effectively which channels/men they are marking because one thing the formation is susceptible to is speed on the outside if inside isnt checked-much like Wynand Olivier last week didnt vs Cooper.Relies on trust,communication….Hope the current midfield is better at that than last week.
Loose trio is very cumbersome with BOTH Rossouw/Deysel there.I know we are trying to lay forward platform and physicality but if our breakdown is poor and Morne/Pienaar kick away possession-we are going to be in for a long day.
28 Jul 2011, 09:54 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-105: johnson that never hit one ruck?? go look at the stats
2 players to make the most yards
deysel and kanko , well and russouw, alough russouw played the full 80 min ,kanko and deysel only around 24 min
28 Jul 2011, 09:55 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-108:
maybe you forgot to put your 3d glasses on when you watched the game?
28 Jul 2011, 09:56 am
@Charlie(Charlie)-111:
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-114:
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-114: actually nope boet, stats cant lie
28 Jul 2011, 10:00 am
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-109:
In the backline?
Apart from the halfbacks?
No mate… just not the same.
28 Jul 2011, 10:01 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-112:
At least we are playing a quick 12 next to a deeper 10. And quick 12s love a little bit more room to get to the advantage line.
And a stepping De Jongh at 12, with an ability to attack the weaker shoulder of the defender in front of him due to his ability to step off both feet, will get to the advantage line quicker from a deeper position than Olivier.
28 Jul 2011, 10:01 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-110: plod deserves all the bashing he gets….bloody useless hasbeen
28 Jul 2011, 10:04 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-118:
Australia will find a spot for their most talented backline players in any given backline.
Why are the O’Connors of the world capable and satisfied with playing where he is required, but the Pienaars of the world moan and see it as their right to play where they feel?
28 Jul 2011, 10:05 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-110:
Except for Smit of course.
Look, die hoogste bome?
Smit is captain, expect criticism.
In 2009 he had the best season ever, many expected him to retire, and he even published his autobiography, and judging by soome of the thing therein people were REALLY saying, OK, he’s gonna retire.
A lot stems from that.
As you can see I never criticized him and jumped on the band wagon.
But, really, it is not anywher near the unfair criticism that Steggies, Steyn, Olivier, Spies, and now Kruger, and even Fourie sometimes,and Danie etc all get. Hell how bad was the criticism against Matfield last year? And also earlier this year.
Not even to mention Bakkies the supposed THUG!
Not the smae. Not even close. The Blue Bull is a hated species.
28 Jul 2011, 10:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-120: rubbish
28 Jul 2011, 10:06 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-122:
* same…and all other spelling errors…
28 Jul 2011, 10:06 am
Shame you have to feel for these guys! Before their careers even start some will end. How they throw these talents to the wolves is beyond comprehension. No one is putting up their hands for selection, believe you me.
28 Jul 2011, 10:08 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-122: boet i have not even come close to naming all the sharks players that gets bashed on here
but i do agree , bulls do take a bashing on here
i for one am not one for bashing any players
they dont choose themselves
28 Jul 2011, 10:09 am
grant10 – Team does look a bit more balance, we are talking levels of balancing here of course!!
I don’t know why RP kicks so much as he does have an element of flair in his game!! If the players can tackle better this Saturday then the score hopefully won’t go too high, as we are still talking damage limitation here.
On my Lord, SBW is going to have JDJ/ADI for breakfast!!
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-121:
I hear you. But don’t tinker with the player who plays the position where he handles the ball the most.
A team revolves around the scrummie.
We have a player here who comes onto the scene a scrummie, some fullback, and is the Tiger Woods of fly halfs and what not.
Shame.
He should be grateful to wear the G&G even if they stick him in the front row, but you still need to keep up with the needs of players as coach and manager in the professional game.
You play internationals to win, anything less is futile. Don’t come with this positive or that positive. Obviously Snor doesn’t know about the camp happening, so maybe they are planning a coodatata. Wishful thinking of course.
28 Jul 2011, 10:10 am
Plod….M Steyn….Spies….
There are the problems…..
28 Jul 2011, 10:11 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-113:
Johnson is better than Deysel
Im a sharks fan but Deysel/Rossouw in same tri is overkill….Think Bulls/Sharks at KingsPark….(Alberts/Deysel overkill in physicality that day)
The is no skill in that trio,no link and once hit back in tackle Deysel is ineffective.Johnson should be at 8,Danie at lock
28 Jul 2011, 10:11 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-126:
JA ag wat.
Nevermind about it. It is silly.
I didn’t mean so much on here as…EVERYWHERE.
But nevermind, luckily they don’t analyse and select Boks.
28 Jul 2011, 10:12 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-127: how can he?? (SBW)? he aint even playing
centers are nanu and smith
28 Jul 2011, 10:14 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-131: lets agree to dissagree as we only hit rucks effectively when deysel came on
its not only about defence and ball carrying
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-131:
exactly, this loose trio lacks a ball carrier.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-132: true
28 Jul 2011, 10:15 am
@Gunther is at camp Snordraad(gunther)-135: lets go look at last weeks match and see who the ball carrier was?? it was deysel
russouw should have been lock , and kanko or johnson loose forward
28 Jul 2011, 10:16 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-122:
only the losers hate the winners i guess.
@race of tan(race of tan)-127: it is going to be tough, especially the last 25 minutes…
Boks need to get desperate from minute 1 …..literally need to fight for there lives…..anything than a 110 % commitment and effort will be too little…
it is no use in analysing this bunch too much imo….i actually feel for them….they must be brave and do there best…..it is all we can ask for…
what hurt last week is the boks were not up for a fight….that was sad to see…
also go see the missed tackles by johnson
2nd in that stat only to basson
28 Jul 2011, 10:17 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-138: i see bulls supporters doing their fair share of hating on here
28 Jul 2011, 10:18 am
Much better side than last week. BUT we once again have our best fh now playing at fb? Damn it was unfortunate for Aplon to pick up that injury. I feel Lambie would have finally started this week at fh if Aplon was still here to play fb.
Well deserved start for Deysel. Thought he was our best loosie last week.
All the best to Mostert as well. Played superb against the Bulls now hope he produces the same on Saturday.
Anyhow just have to hope.
Good luck our brave young Bokkies…
28 Jul 2011, 10:19 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-134:
That coincided with period where Wallabies took foot of the pedal and made a number of substitution.Game was dead and buried by then to a large extent. Smit moved to 1 later in game and scrum looked better so should we start him at 1???
Just think it physicality overkill and lack in speed big time.And with Ab’s likely to play trio of Kaino,McCaw,Thompson/Messam……Ja ne….
28 Jul 2011, 10:19 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-133:
well, to be fair he is on the bench.
28 Jul 2011, 10:20 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-138: good example is tacitus
let me tell you this , last week the 2 bulls props were shocking , stats prove this too , and i aint hating on them at all , they young and still inexperienced
but had it been beast and jannie playing that poorly?? they would have been slaughtered in here
28 Jul 2011, 10:20 am
M Steyns wc hopes hanging by a thread…..he will know this….will be intersting to see how he responds….I know PDV has never really rated him
28 Jul 2011, 10:21 am
Would have had Odwa start instead of Basson. Even if Odwa is slower he will play better than Basson. Basson great under the high ball, but his defence is just really woeful.
28 Jul 2011, 10:21 am
@Puma(Puma)-142: also wish Lambie was at 10…
28 Jul 2011, 10:22 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-143: they never took their foot off anything
come now Mshin , just like any supporter you have ur favourites , and deysel aint one of them
i dont agree with you re him at all
look at who is doing the dirty work dude , not everyone in the team must be flair players
go look at the ruck stats and see who was doing the hard yards
28 Jul 2011, 10:22 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-145: Agree totally.
28 Jul 2011, 10:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-148: Ja, me too bud.
28 Jul 2011, 10:23 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-141:
well, again, you have to admit its a little different when a winner says he hates to be a loser, no?
28 Jul 2011, 10:24 am
@Puma(Puma)-150: good morning bro , you well??
to me the loose trio should have been
kanko
delsel and steggmann
28 Jul 2011, 10:24 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-152:
28 Jul 2011, 10:27 am
@grant10(grant10)-146: watch MSteyn rip the kiwis to shreds with his Heyneke Meyer-stifled running game!
28 Jul 2011, 10:27 am
@grant10(grant10)-146:
hooray! bravo, bravo! (clap, clap, clap) please take a bow.
funniest comment of the day award goes tooo…..
28 Jul 2011, 10:28 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-153: agree with that loose trio…
28 Jul 2011, 10:28 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-155:
28 Jul 2011, 10:29 am
well with the resources available I cant complain too much about this team. For once they actually have the selections more or less spot on. Kudos to them. Dont know if we´ll get a different result as the team has been weakened significantly by the injuries to Brussouw, Aplon and Flip but they should be a bit more of a handful. To the *** Tyrant – I will be watching Stegmann closely. I still think playing him at 6 is a problem but at least with Deysel on the other side there is a bit more grunt. Would have played Johnson at 8 and put Danie in lock for Hargreaves to strenghten the unit a bit. But hey thats me.
28 Jul 2011, 10:29 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-149: ruck stats mean sweet buggerall, if ruck stats were the bizniz then stegmann was the best bok on the field.
28 Jul 2011, 10:30 am
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-138:
Yeah, cos the winners go home and *hug the Prom Queen.
28 Jul 2011, 10:31 am
@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-1: All I can say bud is he cant possibly do worse than Olivier did. I think with De Jongh at 12 we stand more chance of getting some go forward in the game and Jacobs coming off his inside is a far more appealing prospect than Wynand not passing to anyone.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-153: Yes would have been better. But I would have gone with: Kano, Johnson (I know he was not great last week but would be better at 7. Would have given him another chance to play there) Deysel at 6. Deysel would play better there than Stegmann. Stegmann was no where at all last week. I had another look at our game he was just not in it at all.
Would have gone with Odwa at FB and let Lambie play fh. Or even let Odwa play wing. Basson and Morne just can’t tackle. Also with JdJ and Adi there damn man, wish Lambie was starting at FH. Let Pienaar start at fb then he has played there and bring on McLeod.
Nothing to lose to try out different players this week. We gonna get a bloody hiding no matter that. So let us see who can do what.
@Transformation(Transformation)-160: nope
as he goes to scavenge and not clean out rucks
big diffs
to different jobs as a loose forward
28 Jul 2011, 10:32 am
Lambie should have been 10. 10 was the weak link last week until Lambie came on.
28 Jul 2011, 10:32 am
world cup hopes hanging on by a thread…?
haaaagh…
28 Jul 2011, 10:33 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-149:
Dude it really has less to do with favourites and more what is in store for us.Deysel as powerful as he is,is slow.And with both him and Danie in loose trio it doesnt bode well for us
And you cant really for one second think the wallabies were playing with same gusto,momentum and efficiency as the first 60 mins or so??? Their pattern went out the window in last 20 mins,ball recycling and efficiency was less impressive and game was won already.The set pieces even Boks got parity with Smit at PROP.Handling errors crept up and territory decreased and half backs kicked more than when in 1st half they ran two 80m tries.Took foot of pedal mate,multiple substitutions too.
And that has nothing to do with favouritism
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-161: die ouens verstaan lyk dit my nie wat n fetcher is(stegmann) and die losgemaal skoonmaak en bal dra (deysel) is nie
2 verskullende dinge
@Transformation(Transformation)-160:
Whole businesses are centred around these kind of stats for a reason.
It is not the be-all and end-all, but they do indicate that Stegmann worked harder than any other player. Not “invisible” as some poor uninformed individuals claim, for whatever their reasons may be.
28 Jul 2011, 10:34 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-162: Agree and if Lambie was at fh with JdJ and Adi there we would be a lot better. Now we have our best fh that is on this tour at fb. Pity Aplon got injured. Should have started with Ruan at fb and Lambie to fh. Odwa at wing cause at least he can tackle even if he is slower than Basson.
Anyhow just have to wish these young brave Boks all the best. Cause they gonna be playing a powerful team this week. Better than last week. Our defence was absolutely useless last week.
28 Jul 2011, 10:35 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-167: lets agree to dissagree, as russouw for me should have played lock, he is not a better 7 then deysel , or a better 8 then kanko or johnson
he is however a lock
What is it they say … ‘you get lies, damn lies and then stats.’
Someone pasted a link to an article here in this week where they had barnacle smits states.
‘JS hit 12/13 rucks’ .. something to that extend. I have a big problem when the word ‘hit’ gets used in this instant.
More accurately it should read:
JS waddled to 12/13 rucks.
Of those he went to rest against 9 of them being totally ineffective in any way, in about 3/4 of them he actually put his head in and it actually looked like he was trying to do something in 1 or 2 of them.
Morning all!
Ok so here’s my 10 c worth:
Kanko should play at 8. He’s a good player, in form, perfectly suited to counter the NZ runners.
Morne/Lambie should alternate roles. On attack they should employ Pat at 10. He offers everything that Morne is criticised for.
Morne to drop back in the pocket to take long range field position kicks. No reason why Morne can’t play 15 and sweep at the back. He’s no slower than lambie, and he’ll have more time which is what he craves to be effective. We won’t have a lot of front foot forward ball so he won’t get much time at 10, forcing him back in the line, basically everything that he’s been criticsed for last week (and before)
And he can take the goal kicks. Problem solved, not without risk but at this stage it may just be a stroke of genius.
So Loosies:
6 Stegman
7 Deysel
8 Kanko
Danie to 5, Alistair to the bench. He doesn;t deserve to play again after last week IMO,
Johnson to the bench, but he could also have played 7 with deysel on the bench, but this week let’s give Jean a go.
Adi in for WO with JDJ switching to 12: I’ve been a long time critic of Adi, as most on this site know, but WO just looked terrible at 12 last week. Deserves to get dropped, and this is the only centre option that then can work. Good luck to them both, if Adi proves me wrong I’ll be happy to be so.
So with what we have, this is what i would have done.
28 Jul 2011, 10:36 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-165: Yeah if you want to talk about better combos I would probably have played 9 McCleod 10 Lambie and 15 Ruaan Pienaar. Now that looks more threatening by far. But in all honesty I think Steyn is getting his last run before PDV chooses his WC flyhalf and its not looking good for Steyn.
28 Jul 2011, 10:37 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-168:
Wel, die losskrums.
Definitief, hulle sal jou vertel dat hy nie ‘n “fetcher” se gat werd is nie aangesien hy so min bal op sy eie steel. Dit is nie die baljagter se hoof doel nie- sy belangrikste werkie.
Ek voel nie altyd lus om saam te praat nie, want dis nie saampraat nie, dis saamstry.
28 Jul 2011, 10:38 am
@Puma(Puma)-163: bro with present personel there i would have gone with pienaar at 10 and still played lambie at 15
lambie is a better 15 then pienaar , pienaar is a very good 10 too a,d if one looks at last weeks stats defensively far better the steyn too
pienaar atleast also stands quite flat thus attacking options beter
mcleod is not a bad scrummy but he also is very good defensively
28 Jul 2011, 10:39 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-162:
yep, it can either go really better or it can go really worse. its a coin toss to be honest and which side it lands on we’ll find out come sat.
28 Jul 2011, 10:40 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-175: presies
28 Jul 2011, 10:40 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-173:
good analysis stormersnerd.
28 Jul 2011, 10:41 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-161:
love the hugs hehe
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-173: Pretty spot on – agree with most of those assesments but would rather play Johnson and Deysel at 6 and 7 than Stegmann – I relaly feel he brings very little to the side.
@Paws(Paws)-172:
Guys, guys, guys, come on.
I already said numerous times that the stats aren’t the be-all and end-all.
Stats can be important, you know.
For example, Statistics show that 1 in 20 of us live next door to a convicted paedophile, not me though, I live next door to two stunning 12-year olds.
28 Jul 2011, 10:42 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-164:
How much ball did he manage to slow down because the Waalabies had quick ball almost at will.
Had one turnover/penatly won
in all the 42 rucks he attended,and he isnt there to clean rucks as you say-fine,then what positive contribution was there barring ATTENDING the rucks.Because he sure didnt turnover nor slow down Ozzie ball as his primary job as you have annointed. Please shed some light.
(Jacques Botes-stats king- also attends plenty rucks for the Sharks when he plays,way more than Keegan I bet.But who is the better player? Who is starting for the Sharks?)
28 Jul 2011, 10:43 am
Good changes made.
28 Jul 2011, 10:44 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-176: Think this would have been a great opportunity for Lambie to start at 10. Especially with JdJ and Adi there. What a great pity Aplon got injured.
I would still have gone with Lambie at 10 this week bro and let Pienaar start at fb. Pienaar was not great at scrumhalf last week. Would have given McLeod a start there if Lambie started at 10. Would have been the ideal starters.
9 – McLeod
10 – Lambie
11 – Mvovo
12 – JdJ
13 – Adi
14 – Odwa
15 – Pienaar
Much better backline that I think. Though I know Lambie is terrific under the high ball, very safe hands at fb. But damn man, wanted him to play fh this week. Morne just gonna get us into a mess again at fh.
@Puma(Puma)-170: Yeah spot on or as Stormers Boy suggested Lambie to flyhalf and Morne Steyn to fullback. In some ways I almost think he´d be a better fullback than most. He has good positional play when receiving kicks, he can execute the trickier tactical kicks from the back and still kick for goal. Defence is still suspect after last weekend and perhaps if he wasnt at flyhlaf and had more space at the back he would play slightly more attacking rugby.
@Gunther is at camp Snordraad(gunther)-179: Shank you very mush.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-181: i’d be inclined to give Stegman another chance just to really see if he can offer something at 6. there’s a good chance we won’t have an alternative there, but ja, it’s not like he did well last week, but then he’s not alone there.
28 Jul 2011, 10:46 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-183: i did say lets agree to dissagree as i do not agree with you assesment of deysel
28 Jul 2011, 10:46 am
Pretty much exactly how I would have it as well.
28 Jul 2011, 10:47 am
@Puma(Puma)-185: Agreed
28 Jul 2011, 10:48 am
on paper the al blacks should score at least 50 but after readding Bassons interview – i started of LOLing then but by the time i got to the end i was starting to believe that the boks could put up a fight this time.
Seems like the players know what they have to do to win… whether they’ll do those things is another story
28 Jul 2011, 10:48 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-160:
Ndoda ukhuluma iqiniso lapho.Kade busetsheziswa amaStats kodwa hhay ngisho kanye sitshengiswe ukuthi uphumelelile yini kulawo ma42 breakdowns.
manje usezama ukubalekela lowo mbuzo
28 Jul 2011, 10:49 am
i would add to that mcloed at 9 (just for a start to see what he brings, or at least bring him off the bench at some point) because ruan just give me heartbreak every time. johnson could fill in for either kanko or deysel, so yeah.
28 Jul 2011, 10:50 am
@Puma(Puma)-185:
With you on that backline.Plus while it looks more Sharks than anything they at least have played in tandem and should know it other better.
28 Jul 2011, 10:51 am
Looks like weather is fine in Wellington as well. Bit cold and maybe some showers on Saturday but not too much to be concerned with.
Weatherman Pete, over and out.
28 Jul 2011, 10:51 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-192:
Wow, there’s a lot of zeds in there. (compared to Afrikaans).
28 Jul 2011, 10:52 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-164: dude, aussies counter-rucked us to shreds the whole game, deysel might’ve attended and “cleaned out” plenty ruck but it didn’t translate to us slowing their ball or even turning it over. so how EFFECTIVE was he?
how many penalties did we win because our loosies were dominating the breakdown?
28 Jul 2011, 10:53 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-182:
ja, but are they boys or girls hehe
28 Jul 2011, 10:53 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-173: Good post M. Yeah also thought Danie should have moved over to 5. He can do the calls (a old timer) being with the Boks for years now.
Well I think with Deysel there Stegmann probably will play a lot better this week. But my loosies would have been: Kanko – Johnson and Deysel. Johnson was not great last week at all but play him at 7 and see what we have in him. Though think Deysel deserved a start he played well last week. Then so did Kanko though plenty will say not.
Should just have gone with Morne at FB then bud, but I mentioned this last week and everyone shut me down…..hehehe. So did Willie by the way. So just let that thought go……….lol.
Rather then hope they play the way you suggest with Lambie at fb cause I think he adds more at fh.
28 Jul 2011, 10:54 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-197:
dude.
deysel is sharkies stegmann.
show some respect.
we are lucky nobody has broken him yet.
28 Jul 2011, 10:55 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-187: Yeah if Brussouw remains injured its going to be a bit of a disaster but in all honesty I´d much rather see Burger, Francois Louw or Keegan Daniel filling that void than Stegmann. So we have options. At 7 if Juan Smith remains injured we have Burger again, Francois Louw again, Deysel, Alberts, Danie Rossouw etc – so we´re well covered.
28 Jul 2011, 10:55 am
people we also forget Hargreaves as much as he is also taking a bashing here according to stats was our main source of lineout ball , we also forget he is the one making the lineout calls ,
Flip was no better then him , so not sure why flip got excluded from bashings???
in saying this i understand why Pdiv has gone with the locks he has?? they know each others play as they are the sharks combo, thus in understanding this i thenj understand why the option of Russouw at 8thman to add weight and ball carrying strengths, it will however not help with speed for cover defence etc
28 Jul 2011, 10:57 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-192: ngiyazi, mina bengikhuluma ngo-deysel kodwa, ngiqedile ngo-stegmann kudala, lo muntu u-attende ama-rucks awu-6 kuphela masikhusela, kusho ukuthi bekangayenzi niks mos.
28 Jul 2011, 10:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-197: you forget he only played 20 min?? uhm rather get to check all the facts before yapping
@Gunther is at camp Snordraad(gunther)-200:
are you saying he’s fugly, has a pretty girl and some hardcore stats?
That’s the hundred and double ton for Gunther.
With a flat track like this and his eye well and truly in, Lara’s record must surely be in jeopardy.
He’s seeing it like a football.
@boktillzero(boktillzero)-191: which interview? Where did you find it?
Fark, how Stegmann (he who is missing chromosome) gets another bite of the apple beats me.
A quota player par excellence…
A prime example of BEE, with B standing for Bulls of course.
28 Jul 2011, 10:59 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208: Bite at…
28 Jul 2011, 11:00 am
@Gunther is at camp Snordraad(gunther)-200:
Thank the living heavens they will be showing the Villa Real vs Llevante reserve team friendly game here on prime time TV on saturday morning here in Spain and no rugby at all.
I pity you mob that will have to suffer the torture having to watch this garbage try and take on those rabid Polynesians
At least Mannetjies De Jongh is playing at 12 – his true position!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208: hiyas HG ltnc, you well??
as you see we hearing here how useless deysel is lol
28 Jul 2011, 11:02 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-204: he played 20m and cleaned out plenty rucks and we won how many penalties from that? stop dodging the question!!
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-202:
having the ball thrown at you by default doesn’t make you the ‘main source’, it just makes you the default.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-196:
there are only 3 “zeds”
Nguni languages have no “R” though which Afrikaans has aplenty
Useless fact but a fact nonetheless
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-213: Howzit SL…. These farks are just lying… they just following the lead of their “esteemed” coach they know and love who also lies through his snor.
Got to go soon
28 Jul 2011, 11:03 am
@Bod(bod)-211:
Hola Bricklayer.
Que tal?
28 Jul 2011, 11:04 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-214: oh ****** ur more stupid then i thought
noone is dodging anything loudmouth, cleaning out is one thing , steggmans job is the fetching and slowing down of oposition ball
anyways its why i mostly never answer you as you dont have a cooking clue
28 Jul 2011, 11:05 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-217: lol true
28 Jul 2011, 11:08 am
http://www.ruggastats.com/games.aspx?G=310
there is the match stats for those that argue so conviniently
now look at deysel and kanko’s stats and compare game time??
28 Jul 2011, 11:08 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-46: True.
28 Jul 2011, 11:09 am
and transie , not only you can copy and paste
28 Jul 2011, 11:11 am
This team is going to get pumped by roughly 60 points.
28 Jul 2011, 11:14 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-224: ?? not 65??
28 Jul 2011, 11:16 am
I’m actually very serious. I see us scoring a few penalties – two or three – and them running in 8 to 10 tries plus penalties and conversions.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-224:
pumped by sixty?
or roughly pumped?
surely the carpark cassanova is the right man to have at the helm if there is going to be any rof pomping?
no.
the score will be a lot closer than most think. the boks will give an improved showing on what is esentially a steep learning curve. and the all blacks will be more restrained in seeking a win so as not to take unnecessary risks with a lot of key players. this time round they actually seem to have both eyes on the prize (the real prize).
in short probably an ab win unless the boks pull some heavy miracle gees, but not a rout. theres no psychological advantage to be gained by whipping a b/c team.
28 Jul 2011, 11:19 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207:
supersport website
@Gunther is at camp Snordraad(gunther)-227: Antonio Bandivvie won’t help us in this kind of situation. This is rough stuff, no lube.
@Gunther is at camp Snordraad(gunther)-218:
Hola googleboy
Bueno… ¿y tu?
28 Jul 2011, 11:20 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-219: I had the same argument with *** Tyrant and technically my argument was flawed because I confused cleaning with clearing. Technically Stegmanns job is to clean rucks. Clearing rucks – now thats Bakkies job.
28 Jul 2011, 11:20 am
There’s so much loyalty to the Bulls in this team.
Can you really say Steggman is a smarter more complete player than Keegan Daniel ? Not a chance.
Wynand Olivier , endless faith still being shown in the girly crashballer.
Lambie’s distribution at 10 would have been nice , but its Morne’ Steyn , sitting in the pocket like Naas and Derick Hougaard…..
Got no hope for this weekend , not even a lose by 7 bonus point.
28 Jul 2011, 11:21 am
@boktillzero(boktillzero)-229: thanks
28 Jul 2011, 11:22 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-233: ok clearing out rucks then lol
thanks for the correction
28 Jul 2011, 11:22 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-231:
Hola Kekkelbek.
Long time no hear…..
28 Jul 2011, 11:24 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-236: yeah man had me buggered in that argument – felt a bit foolish later on but honest mistake.
28 Jul 2011, 11:24 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-219: sharkie, easy with the namecalling and control your emotions…
in 20 minutes deysel “cleaned out” 7 rucks in attack and 1 in defence, what does this all mean?
did we effectively get quick ball because of his “clean outs”? the number of rucks attended does not mean the guy was effective.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-216: well, except if you’re talking about Radebe
28 Jul 2011, 11:25 am
I cant wait for our backline subs this this weekend….. shout be a hoot
ol Charl, Wynand and Ndegoods should swing thing around for when they come on
Yegads…. thats an awesome bench!
28 Jul 2011, 11:26 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-238:
but yeah mate , the clearing our of rucks was so much better with deysel and kanko when they came of
if one looks at the stats , its amazing how little kruger and greyling did come ruck time and ball carrying
28 Jul 2011, 11:30 am
@Bod(bod)-237: Hey Boderick. Busy busy little be, I am. You well?
28 Jul 2011, 11:36 am
pl spls pls don’t use Russow as an 8th man for world cup …or steroids …..both are kak there . For this match i don”t mind Rossow at 8th man with AJ and JD . Injuries apart my world cup trio would be Juan , Brussow and Skulk as 8th man ?
28 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-239:
yeah true Radebe is only exception I know off as well…(Hadebe sometime though)
28 Jul 2011, 11:44 am
What a stupid poll Keo, of course everyone is going to say No
28 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@WP_(WP_)-245:
i think they rig the polls
28 Jul 2011, 12:03 pm
Hi guys,
just a quick thought, I know a lot of you will laugh at this, but I would have played Lambie at 10 and Jantjies at 12, De Jong at 13. Jantjies strong enough and brave enough in the tackle. He can also distibute well and can kick fairly well. I think he and Lambie would compliment each other, they both like to attack the gain line.
Anyway, that is my 5cents worth. Now tell me how absurd my idea is.
28 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-244: well as Xhosa is part of Nguni, they might be the exception because there’s alot of R’s in Xhosa eg Rhamncwa – Beast, Rhamba – Python or Puff Adder
28 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@MG(MG)-247: Good idea
28 Jul 2011, 12:11 pm
they’ve got it wrong again.
28 Jul 2011, 12:12 pm
@MG(MG)-247: I’d actually forgotten that he was there.
28 Jul 2011, 12:17 pm
AB’s by 20+. This is realistic looking at the side selected.
I hope I’m wrong.
28 Jul 2011, 12:19 pm
The strategy is to give some players a chance to succeed and others to fail… If the Boks lose on Saturday, Johnson, JDJ, AD, Mvovo and Basson will be excluded from the WC squad. A lose will prove that they cannot walk on water.. the criterior for inclusion set for certain player.. all of them black
28 Jul 2011, 12:20 pm
Remember how good Hennie Le Roux played at 12. He was also a 10 first. If we don’t try Lambie 10 and Jantjies 12 now, then surely after the world cup it would be worth it?
28 Jul 2011, 12:27 pm
@MG(MG)-254: Or how good Michael du Plessis was at inside centre.
I like your idea: Lambie – Jantjies – de Jong
28 Jul 2011, 12:28 pm
Is it just me who thought Ruan’s distribution was slow last week?
Glad to see WO dropped and Stegman must have one strong inyanga. Can only be the only explanation why he’s still there
28 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
youknowwho@253, Don’t play the race card, I think that Johnson, JDJ, Basson and Mvovo should be in the squad(purely on merrit) AD might miss out because Jaque and Jaun De Villiers is also going to be there. Also, Chilli is a must, he plays like an animal when given a chance. He is such an improved player. Wynand is a deffinate NOOOOO! He has always been ****.
28 Jul 2011, 12:31 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-255:
Yes, Jantjies against Nonu or SBW. Very clever.
28 Jul 2011, 12:31 pm
I agree that Ruan was not good, I was praying that he would get replaced before halftime allready. He has one last chance, so he better make the best of it!
28 Jul 2011, 12:34 pm
@The_Zulu(The_Zulu)-256: haha, a stong inyanga!
28 Jul 2011, 12:34 pm
John Galt@258, Jantjies will be no worse than Wynand would have been. And no disrespect to AD, but I would say him and Jantjies are about the same size. Jantjies more of that X-factor.
28 Jul 2011, 12:40 pm
Any of the Bulls, Sharks or Stormers first teams would have been stronger than the Bok team selected for Saturday.
28 Jul 2011, 12:47 pm
I would have had no problem with Elton on the Bench, to come on in the game. I don’t think Adi can play 80 minutes anyway, so he’d be subbed and depending on how the 9-10 axis is doing, play Elton at 10 and move Morne to 12, or something like that.
28 Jul 2011, 12:52 pm
@MG(MG)-257: Not pointing the finger at you young man.. you have no influence over selections but your idealism is admired and respected
28 Jul 2011, 12:55 pm
Another black day in the annals of Bok history lying ahead.
28 Jul 2011, 12:56 pm
It’s going to be a loooooonnnnngggg afternoon of defending for Lambie with Steyn, Jacobs and Basson in that backline.
Thanks goodness they dropped Olivier, just a pity we’re still stuck with Stegmann who is a close second to Olivier when it comes to the completely useless at test level club. I suppose this is the punishment you get for taking one decent centre (De Jongh) on tour.
Second row would be about my 5th choice of South African locks to represent the boks.
I agree with Tacitus. Most of the SA franchises at full strength would knock over these guys.
28 Jul 2011, 12:58 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-258: Players can be taught to tackle. Great attacking players have a natural ability. Jantjies can be a Bok great.
28 Jul 2011, 12:58 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-263: Common sense and bok selections have never been friends.. Rationality is avoided like the plague.. Its a religious thing. PDV is a committed christian.. “The lord shall deliver our victory and we will take the virgins for our pleasure”.. Miracles and ***
28 Jul 2011, 12:59 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-265: sshhhhh….shaun is here.
dont say “black day” or he will spuit orals.
28 Jul 2011, 13:01 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-267:
Whatever.
28 Jul 2011, 13:01 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-263:
is elton’s sweet little arrsehole not big enough?
28 Jul 2011, 13:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-263: morne steyn at 12?
no man, he will get trampled like a tortoise in the long grass around a waterhole when elephants are thirsty.
the bang will be audible from south africa.
28 Jul 2011, 13:03 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-258: Did you see Elton Jantjies dump Hargreaves in the S15. One of the greatest tackles in the competition surpassed only by Aplons spear tackle on Matfield.. did you miss that or has dementia started to set in already.
28 Jul 2011, 13:07 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-269: No need to panic… my venom is virtual but it does seem that some have not made it back onto the blog after being bitten
28 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-273: aplon cant spear tackle vic.
physically impossible you see.
by the time gio gets vics knees past the horizontal, vic is lying on his back elbows behind his head, reading the last few pages of war and peace.
gio, on the other hand, is lucky that spear tackles are no longer allowed or the polynesians would play “dwarf pegging” with him and build a fire around gio whilst he did his best baobab impression.
i rate gio, the guy has more heart in his little toe than spies has in his whole body but he is defo challenged size wise.
28 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-270: I prefer having a player who can adapt to situations and turn a game on its head than someone who can only play well in one gameplan.
28 Jul 2011, 13:10 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-275: BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
eish tff ranger bro
28 Jul 2011, 13:10 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-275: Did you miss the Gio/Matfield tackle also.. You should disable the filter.. you are missing a lot
28 Jul 2011, 13:11 pm
At least the useless Oliver is benched. Thank god.
28 Jul 2011, 13:11 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-274: virtual venom?
panic stations!
maybe we can milk you for anti-venom purposes?
i forget, gunther has been doing this for ages
28 Jul 2011, 13:14 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-280: Like I said.. disable the filter.. Gunther has been hiding from me for the past few weeks.. tosses a few jibes when I am not logged on.. Its a cultural thing
28 Jul 2011, 13:17 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-277:
someone once said ” truth will set you free”
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-281: ok, well done.
maybe it was your “spear tackle”?
i am out.
have a good day crackers.
keo and ryan and simon, hope you enjoy the cash from my posts. may it pay for your treason trial.
28 Jul 2011, 13:20 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-281:
Oh shut up
You don’t scare anyone
Some people here have jobs and work
28 Jul 2011, 13:21 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-271:
And you know that it’s sweet and little, how?
28 Jul 2011, 13:26 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-283:
Dam right Dawnie.
Dam right.
28 Jul 2011, 13:28 pm
It has been 5 years since Chilibooi made his first Test against the ABs, a long time
He should be ready by now to start even for a slow learner
Makes one wonder why do they keep playing JS with such a stalwart hooker available?
28 Jul 2011, 13:29 pm
if jake White sent Slegmann to fetch beers, he would “attend” the fridge but not open the beers.
28 Jul 2011, 13:29 pm
Are those two fat props who’s pot bellies hang over their shorts like limp dicks starting for the 2nd Stringboks as well?
28 Jul 2011, 13:32 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-271: Huh?
@rangerman(rangerman)-272: You say that like it’s a bad thing
28 Jul 2011, 13:32 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-287:
28 Jul 2011, 13:33 pm
@The_Zulu(The_Zulu)-284:
you just have to look at his pretty little baby face and you can see it says soft virginal botty all over it. he’s too young to have had it torn and stretched on sat like some guys here are suggesting should have been the case.
give him time, you’ve gotta massage and play with it a lot before you just force a big all black in there.
28 Jul 2011, 13:34 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-287:
He wouldn’t even find the fridge. Or if he did he’d find it too late.
28 Jul 2011, 13:36 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-281: Do you live in the UK?
28 Jul 2011, 13:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-289:
please refer post #289
28 Jul 2011, 13:37 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-275:
Dodged too many bullets (at the expences of WP, Stormers) last 3 seasons, his luck ran out eventually
On Sat he misjudged a zig instead of zag which sent him whacked, adding his recent knee operation it might be that the Mass Ratio law got to him eventually
28 Jul 2011, 13:37 pm
The reason they gave WO the number 21 jumper is so that when he is staring at himself in the mirror at least he can think he is in the starting line-up.
28 Jul 2011, 13:43 pm
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-292:
no, he’d find the fridge but then get blown for putting his hands in the freezer.
28 Jul 2011, 13:47 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-291: Boy, I’m glad i don’t have to go into a ruck with you
28 Jul 2011, 13:48 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-297:
hands out of the freezer number 6! hands out! numberrr 6! prrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrt!
28 Jul 2011, 13:51 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-297:
Nah- IF he found it and IF he got there on time and finally ASSUMING someone was actually witness to him being there he would probably just be lying on the floor next to it doing sweet F*** all.
This is Sparta!!!
@The_Zulu(The_Zulu)-298:
would you go with elton?
Dang
28 Jul 2011, 13:52 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294: I’m not with you
28 Jul 2011, 13:59 pm
Will be an interesting game on Saturday. Lambie can cement his spot in the squad with a solid showing at Fullback.
28 Jul 2011, 14:00 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-302: ha ha ha
i’ll leave that for you
28 Jul 2011, 14:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-304:
umh ok, elton would get a major arrse ******* if he played in any of the postions you suggest on sat. seriously, making him go up against nonu, smith, carter not to mention any of the loose forwards who’d run against him? the kids barley 20 years old is about 1.7 or so meters and weighs 82kg’s or thereabouts if his lucky.
his time will come hopefully, just not now.
28 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-307: oh ok.
Thing is, he’s already played against most of those guys for the Lions hasn’t he?
28 Jul 2011, 14:14 pm
a good big one ARE always better than a good small one…
same BS different year!!
28 Jul 2011, 14:23 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-308:
He hasnt played against them at 12. In fact he hasnt played agianst anyone in the Crusaders team because the Lions didnt play them this year.
He played against the Canes and recieved such a massive hit by one of their loosies that he actually disappeared for a bit while Butch took over at 10.
Believe me, Jantjies at 12 is a horrible idea. Talented perhaps, But at 12?
Thats a negative ghost rider.
28 Jul 2011, 14:55 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-310: I was thinking of Elton at 10 to come on as a sub and Morne to 12.
The reasoning is, why bring him on tour and not give him a chance to show what he’s made of?
28 Jul 2011, 14:57 pm
This is potentially a huge game for both Lambie and Pienaar because they in direct competition against Aplon and Hougaard on the bench.
Starting back line will be
Frans
JPP
Fourie
JDV
Habana
Butch
Du preez
If its a 4/3 split as expected then on the bench
20. Pienaar/Hougaard
21. JDJ (will be picked as he covers both 12/13
22. Aplon/Lambie
28 Jul 2011, 14:59 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-312: Oh yes im forgetting morne steyn.
So the 22 jersey will then be a competition btw Aplon/Lambie/Morne
28 Jul 2011, 15:01 pm
@catch22(catch22)-309: Rugby is a collision sport and whoever dominates the tackle point will always have the upper hand so yes….If all things equal…..A good Big one is better than a good small one.
28 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
Actually that’s the worry for this weekend.
This back line looks good on attack but a worry on defense because it seems a little light. With guys like Kaino, SBW, Nonu etc running at our back line….they will endless go forward ball.
28 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
@MG(MG)-254: Jantjies defense is not good enough for an international 12, will get away with it a bit at 10 but not at 12. He should stick to 10.
28 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-316: Out of all Jantjies positive attributes, his tackling is closer to 10/10 than any other 10 in the country.. Perfect technique.. disable your filter. If you are trying to develop a lie then let me remind you that Keo and is Journos appreciate your contribution
28 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-312:
Agree 100%, that’s the way I read it too.
You might see a 5/2 split for the more physical group games like Samoa and during the knock-out stages though, which would result in JDJ losing out to another forward.
28 Jul 2011, 15:26 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-308:
well, i think we would both agree that its a ‘sum of its parts’ thing. just like the stormers are not the boks, so the crusaders are not the all blacks. they’re very different beasts.
perhaps we could pose the question – would the crusaders beat our 1st choice bok team and likewise the stormers the ab’s 1st choice team?
i think we can safely say this would not happen. elton would find out that all those players as individuals in their respective super teams when recomposed as ab’s would strangely be two or three nuts harder than they are otherwise.
28 Jul 2011, 15:29 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-310:
oh dear god! i even forgot about that little fact. the lions didn’t play them. sweet jeezuz! it would have taken the best of butch to begin with (and then theres elton).
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-318: i see corne uys moved to 13 now, in for ebersohn. dries strauss will flourish under than calming influence
NZ 63-9 SA.
28 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-305: Only problem is, from that backline he is going to be tackling all evening…..Adi and Juan not the biggest guys and a new combination, alongside Morne and with Mvovo and Basson (both relatively newbies so can’t fault them) just don’t see how they will be able to stand up to Nonu and SBW.
The upside is, if forwards get (a big if) and keep possession, then all the above players are very good attacking players.
28 Jul 2011, 15:58 pm
Great read at
http://www.sharksworld.co.za/2011/07/28/staaldraad-ii/
28 Jul 2011, 16:40 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-317: You obliviously have not watched any of the Super games of the Lions…he was initially dropped for his poor defense, was like a revolving door bouncing off tackles.
28 Jul 2011, 16:42 pm
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-318: if there is a 5/2 then its a conundrum of who the two backs will be….i think JDJ will always make the bench as he covers both center position….kind of like the role he played this season for the stormers behind JDV and Fourie.
28 Jul 2011, 16:47 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-326: Also i think if there is a 5/2 split then Pienaar will definitely make the bench as he covers 9,10,15 with Jdj cover 12,13 and wing.
The only way Aplon, Steyn and Hougaard can make the bench is if there is a 4/3 split which im in favour of since Danie will cover loosie and lock.
28 Jul 2011, 16:49 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-313: that should go to aplon in my opinion.
28 Jul 2011, 17:12 pm
Rian Viljoen signs with the Sharks ! Brilliant !
28 Jul 2011, 17:16 pm
@pokkel(pokkel)-324: wow really giving it to keo and co, agree though those article of Liar was harsh, everyone know whats going on but they painting Divvy in an ugly manner.
28 Jul 2011, 17:28 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-325: Like I said.. Your efforts to develop a lie is appreciated by Keo and Co… they give you extra Keo dollars for that
I suppose Butch James has excemplary defence.. perfect technique.. those high tackles are very effective in destabilising the opposition??
Did you see that awesome tackle tackle jantjies made on Hargreave?? I suppose not because you were not watching that game
28 Jul 2011, 17:36 pm
@mustard 314
You make less than 100 tackles per game, look at the percentages.
typical brawn over Brain mentality. run from tackle to tackle and create 0.
NZ and Aus attack the space not the man, therefor are lightyears ahead your backward thinking.
and test rugby matches are unlocked by matchwinners…the size of a SPECIAL player does not matter
28 Jul 2011, 17:48 pm
Hey Keo,
How about an article pointing out that Allain Rolland will be reffing this week’s game.
Between the kak coaching, third rate players, cheating kiwis and this tosser, there really is no point, now.
28 Jul 2011, 17:49 pm
@dontcutthemustard
billywhizz,cullen, sella, ella to name a few…
are of the greatest names to play the game.
28 Jul 2011, 18:06 pm
Possible Bok 22 for main matches come World Cup:
1 Gurthro
2 Smit (Dammit)
3 Jannie du Plessis
4 Bakkies
5 Matfield
6 Brussouw (Burger if injured probably)
7 Smith (Danie Rossouw if injured)
8 Spies
9 Fourie du Preez
10 Butch James
11 Habana
12 De Villiers
13 Jacques Fourie
14 JP Pietersen
15 Frans Steyn
16 Good question will they pick someone who can cover both like CJ or go for a dinkum backup like Beast?
17 Bismarck
18 Danie if not playing 7 or Flip vd Merwe
19 Burger if not playing or Willem Alberts
20 Houghaard (lets hope please god)
21 Lambie/ Steyn
22 De Jongh or Aplon
Not my 22 I would choose but there are going to be a lot of unlucky players:
1 Beast if they go for CJ
4 Danie Rossouw if Juan Smith makes it
6 Francois Louw (he is more of a 6 than 7)
7 Possibly Willem ALberts but cant see them leaving him out on current form
8 Vermeulen due to injury I guess
9 Ruaan Pienaar or Houghaard whoever is preferred
10 Morne Steyn or Lambie – personally theyd be nuts to leave Lambie out
11 Mvovo
11 Basson
12 possibly Juan de Jongh
14 possibly Aplon
28 Jul 2011, 18:50 pm
@pokkel(pokkel)-324: Keohane may be a doos, but he is no coward …. like the author of that article who is too much of a chicken to mention Keo’s name or website ….. that spineless guppy
Oh and sharks lover was posting there telling everyone to ignore Keo.co.za … I guess we will not see him again here, that is if he does not logon with one of his troll nics.
28 Jul 2011, 18:55 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-329: ja Ludik is kak ….
28 Jul 2011, 19:09 pm
@WP_7,classic! and @trupisero,your Slegmann grappie just as classic! Man keo.co.za is even better than cracked.com for a good laugh…speaking of which…check the news at 19h NOW…exclusive kamp snordraad footage to be screened!
28 Jul 2011, 19:29 pm
YoMama
sooooooooo
SIX different threads
SAME self-serving rhetorical post about A.Rolland.
Gee, suddenly my wife’s nagging seems like a walk in the park.
28 Jul 2011, 19:46 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-331: you not going to convince me he is an international 12 so ya lets agree to disagree
28 Jul 2011, 19:50 pm
@catch22(catch22)-332: you completely missing the point of the post….so il say it again for
If all things equal.
Eg. A guy like Aplon il always pick ahead of a guy like Daniller for eg coz he offers so much more…
All things equal il pick the bigger oke otherwise il pick whoever offers more both on attack and defense.
Get what im saying now.
28 Jul 2011, 19:51 pm
@catch22(catch22)-334: all great players i agree…..your point?
28 Jul 2011, 20:00 pm
@RL(RL)-336: little girl , you just live to start trouble?? does afterbirth ever grow up?? you should find out idiot cuzz ur it
28 Jul 2011, 20:01 pm
@RL(RL)-336: i have never hidden either , and i have always asked you little snot nosed coward to come tell me this face to face
i unlike you have publicly said where i am , you little moffie are to scared to
28 Jul 2011, 20:02 pm
and lastly before i ginore you further, never have i said ignore keo’ i might have said ignore some of the clowns in Keo , AND THATS REFERRING TO A MORON LIKE YOU, yes
im here everyday , i dont hide
28 Jul 2011, 20:14 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-340: He prefers playing at 10 but how much of a difference in the skill set??. I agree that you know less than me
28 Jul 2011, 20:14 pm
So the ABs have thrown the Boks a bone by picking a reserve pack and a couple of second choice backs. That makes things more interesting for sure.
Not sure Jacobs is the right player to start, I rate him as an outside centre but he has not played much rugby of late and looked slow when he came on, not many options for 12 however if De Jongh stayed at 13.
Pity Rolland is in charge of this one, McCaw will have a field day.
28 Jul 2011, 20:28 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-346: i can see im talking to someone that has never played in the back line before….so im not even going to bother to explain.
28 Jul 2011, 20:29 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-345:
You are the easiest Sharkievarkie to fish, push your buttons some other time old lady
28 Jul 2011, 20:37 pm
@RL(RL)-349: i see guppy tyrone is losing his knickers again.
28 Jul 2011, 21:04 pm
Cant believe some of you have no interest in watching this game, iwouldnt miss it or any of our games.
Imagine if we win, the elation. Not the same watching a rerun when u know the score.
For me the they all go out 2 play 2 win and 2 the best of their ability even if they lose/loose (2 exhausted 2 figure that one out lol)
28 Jul 2011, 21:07 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-351:
Too many 2s there!
28 Jul 2011, 21:13 pm
sorry am useing phone, and had 2 comment even though 2 knackerd 2 think clearly.
28 Jul 2011, 21:13 pm
11 Sharks(including RP) and 8 Bulls in the 22 squad.
Last w-e it was 10 Bulls.
28 Jul 2011, 21:15 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-353:
Ok I will not add to your stress then.
Just relax then animal lover.
28 Jul 2011, 21:24 pm
ET lol night night
28 Jul 2011, 22:27 pm
Just read on News 24 that coach Peter de Villiers swopped Steyn and Lambie for the match
28 Jul 2011, 22:34 pm
@superBul(superBul)-357:
Now that is sensible. MS stands far too deep and Lambie made a good impact when he came on.
Lambie and JDJ at 10 and 12. That’s better.
29 Jul 2011, 01:20 am
hahah seems like Div has been reading Keo today and has taken us up on our suggestions to play Lambie at 10 and Morne at 15.
According to media reports emanating from the Bok team’s training base in Wellington Patrick Lambie will start at flyhalf and the seasoned Morné Steyn at fullback.