Mostert, Deysel start for Boks

Peter de Villiers has made four changes to his starting line-up for the Springboks’ next Tri-Nations clash against the All Blacks in Wellington.

Lock Gerhard Mostert, who was a late injury replacement for Flip van der Merwe, has been rushed into the second row to make his Test debut this Saturday. Blindside flank Jean Deysel is also promoted to a shuffled loose trio, with Danie Rossouw shifting to No 8 and Ashley Johnson falling to the bench. Deon Stegmann keeps his No 6 jumper.

The other two changes are to the backline, with outside centre Adi Jacobs replacing Wynand Olivier in the midfield and Juan de Jongh picked at inside centre. Fullback Pat Lambie fills in for the injured Gio Aplon, who returned home with Van der Merwe on Wednesday.

South Africa – 15 Pat Lambie, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ryan Kankowski, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Odwa Ndungane.

359 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 1.JamesNkomo: Reply to this comment

Jacobs is an impact player at best whose defence is shocking in the early stages of a game. Lambie best get ready to tackle. Don’t get me started on Morne “I lie so deep that all I can do is kick” Steyn.

• 2.ET.: Reply to this comment

Lambie and the lambs being led to the slaughter!

• 3.ET.: Reply to this comment

@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-1:

What happened to Joshua?

• 4.JamesNkomo: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-3: sleeping
    yip I feel a slaughtering coming up

• 5.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Is “Lambie to the slaughter” another hackneyed sheep joke?

• 6.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

Best side available outside of the 2 props. Wynand Olivier had to go after the performance against Australia. Juan de Jonghs future is at 12.

Excited to see how Lambie does at the back.

• 7.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Looks like WO (Wynand One-try) has seen the end of his spectacularly unsuccessful and pathetic test career.

• 8.JamesNkomo: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-7: Tackles even though you are a doos I have to agree with you on this one

• 9.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-3: agree!!!

• 10.funkyzoo: Reply to this comment

Endless discussion about selections. Again.

No discussion of whether they can make the inside-out Defence work, whether they should adopt a flatter formation, when ball retention is more important than risky yard-gain, etc.

Yawn.

• 11.OCO: Reply to this comment

WOE to come on as sub and have a blinder scoring 3 tries – thus writing himself into the anals of rugby history.

• 12.christianels22: Reply to this comment

Start with Johnson ahead of Stegmann, move Morne to FB and learn to tackle tackle tackle and tackle again and we might stay within 10 points

• 13.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Bok brains-trust showing ‘again’ they have no idea that a bench is not for ‘reserves’ but just as important as the starting 15 in the game that is 22man 85min test rugby!

Now look at the AB’s bench…

• 14.OCO: Reply to this comment

@christianels22(christianels22)-12:
    Good points. MS can kick further than Lambie – and we’re going to need the breathing space.
    Stegman doesn’t deserve to be there and Ashley needs to be given more game time.

• 15.christianels22: Reply to this comment

@OCO(OCO)-14: At least with Lambie, JDJ and Jacobs there we might even look a little more like scoring a try

• 16.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

Should have had danie at lock with a loose trio of deysel Johnson kanko, centers in my opinion should have just been swapped around, jacobs and WO are both just as useless so in my eyes I would have played Jdj at 12 and WO at 13, also def should have selected lambie at 10, my back 3 would then have been mvovo basson and odwa at fullback, would also have dropped Kruger for cj and kept a front frow of greyling John and cj, anyways go BOKKE!!!!!

• 17.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

I’ll also ask ur opinion on this guys, what’s da point of putting morne at 15? Besides his boot he can’t join a line and his tackling is horrific, he can’t join the line cuz he has no ballas so he wouldn’t offer anythin on attack either, now I knw u will argue that odwa aint a test 15 but nor is morne so I’m my opinion go with odwa cuz that guy gives it everythin in every game

• 18.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

This is going to be a massacre. I think the All Blacks will score more points then they did against Fiji. Lets hope that John Smit’s legendary captaincy skills keep the boks in the game for the first 10 mins at least!!!!!

• 19.christianels22: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-17: Exactly…less opportunities to kill the backline

• 20.OCO: Reply to this comment

@christianels22(christianels22)-15:
    True. With AJ on for Stegman we might even have a better chance.
    One thing I’ve always said is we don’t score tries with MS at #10 and every match it becomes more apparent.
    Works for the Bulls not not the Boks.

• 21.christianels22: Reply to this comment

@OCO(OCO)-20: Yeah its been a long time since we out scored a good team in tries. That was the biggest difference when Jake White took over.

• 22.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Jacobs is better than ‘meisiekind’!

• 23.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Mmm….I’m not sure those were the changes we all had in mind but it’s a step closer I guess. Would have liked to have seen Lambie at 10 but I suppose with Aplon gone he was the only choice available to cover 15. Steggies lives to fight another day…and the debate will rage on :D

• 24.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Biggest problem is the lock pairing here. Danie to lock and Kanko to start at 8
    Think its going to be a long evening on saturday for these players.

Bring on the home leg!

• 25.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Kanko is not the answer for NZ either…
    Nice to see only one player from SA’s most successful S15 side…
    P Grant, Sadie and Elstand would all have been improvements.

• 26.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

GO BOKS!
    boks to narrowly win this by 3 points final score 24-20 ;)

• 27.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

We are in for a serious faking up this weekend.
    Hope they don’t step on Oupa AD’s catheter pipe in a tackle. Either or someone’s gonna hose themselves ;)

• 28.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-16:

“jacobs and WO are both just as useless”

Yet you go for WO at 13? :lol:

Why not drop both of them from the squad?

• 29.Staal: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-27: :lol:

• 30.svs: Reply to this comment

sheesh Kanko had one of his better games (still a 12 IMO);

hopefully Lambie and Morne to swap 10 and 15 based on attack/defense.

But seriaaaaasly… I’ve watched the wallabies game 3 times now – Baas Smit….he was sooo slow, clumsy, and made bad decisions.

And Morne… agh come on, you can’t tackle??? After how many years of S1* and Internationals

@John Galt(John Galt)-24: I agree – Mostert on bench; Danie at lock, Kanko at 8 -seems way more rational

• 31.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Boks in for a long night!

Cant see them score any tries with Morne Stain at 10

Biggest quota of the lot…..

These Bulls adds **** to the Bok team

They should rather play in their homogenous Blue jersey, culture and structure

• 32.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-29: More ou stoetbul. Gaan dit goed?

• 33.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

eish!

• 34.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

seems like pdv really wants Danie R to get more game time among the loosies. maybe to prepare him for the WC as it seems likely that he will be our first option if JSmith does not recover.

• 35.HHS: Reply to this comment

The real question is…… it this worth my time watching. Mmmmm….

• 36.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-35: the real question is, is this worth your heart taking another beating, which has the potential to be major!

• 37.sharkraggarules: Reply to this comment

Lambie should start, Morne to bench. Odwa and Ruaan both capable covering 15. After Morne’s last “defensive effort” or lack thereof AB’s will be licking their fingers running at those outstreched arms. Watch him spin like a toy spinning top or “tol” as my afrikaans mates used to call it.

• 38.Staal: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-32: Skitterend Kwagga. Yip moet erken – hoe AD JAcobs nog n bok is weet die vet alleen. :lol:

• 39.HHS: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-36: Dude I’m a Lions supporter…. heart is bullet proof by now. :)

• 40.deon stegmann just released his autobiography - deon stegmann the legend...: Reply to this comment

if ruan pienaar worked on his kicking game i think he would make a great defensive 15, not sure how good he would be on attack though. jacobs is actually a little heavier than wo but shorter. a better attacker/line breaker than wo but as for defense being better, i guess sat will tell.

• 41.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Hoooooo!

WO to the bench. Maybe that should have been in the headline.
    I see Div said certain senior guys let the squad down, I suppose he was referring to Olivier as the main culprit.

Anyway, no wonder that Ashley is on the bench. I said it, but then I’m mos all kinds of prejudiced.
    Just gotta laugh at what these people think they saw when they watch a test.

Pity Brussow never got a go in the C-team, but he is grateful, no doubt.
    This was a damaging exercise. We play as much as the Aussies and NZders, they have fielded their A-team.

Rossouw at 8, Deysel in at 7, much better trio now. (eventhough Danie should never play 8).

Hope Adi is up for it, how much rugby did he play at the Sharks this year?

I feel mighty sorry for Lambiekins though. Poor lad. He is going to be helluva tired on Saturday night.
    Now if they’ve sorted out their teamwork and handling issues, hopefully the front 5 can assert themselves this time, and Steggies can focus on supporting the b/d and not clean up after the 8th man and fall back to cover the fullback every 2 minutes.

• 42.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-40:

Ruan Pienaar could have easily been a top fullback. Pity they insisted on seeing him as a “utility back”. It is especially damaging to your form to be taken in and out of the halves paring, and a combo.

• 43.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

All I can say is, thank god I have a golf comp on Saturday morning…

• 44.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Not a real big improvement on the side from last week, but i like the idea of Lambie at fullback, still i would have preferred him to Steyn at 10. Like i said before, he just gives the backs that extra dimension an creativity. Sad we losing the pace of Aplon at the back, as Lambie is not as quick, but he will be solid from the back. Hopefully he will interchange with Steyn at 10 in loose play, so to keep the opposition guessing.

Then bringing in Adi at 13, could be beneficial or it could backfire. Adi was in great form in super rugby this season and made an impact every time he came on of the bench for the Sharks, but the Test stage is a whole lot different. So hopefully he can set the back line on fire.

Really worried about our tight five, they are not, as a unit, test standard. Greyling and Kruger did not make a huge impression last week, John was his usual unhelpful self, Hargreaves was left to be in charge of the line outs, he struggled and now bringing in Mostert that has not been with the side and does not have allot of time to settle.

Good to see Deysel at 7, he made a fair difference last week when he came on. But Stegmann was no where to be seen. Danie Worked hard but in loose trio not tested, he couldn’t do much, good to see him at 8, think he is better there.

All in all…i think it is going to be a long 80min for the Boks, if we don’t get the upper hand with our forwards and dominate the breakdown and our defense is as poor as last week. We are in for on hell of a beating.

Still behind you guys…GO BOKKE!!

• 45.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

Smit’s “aura” aint gonna save us here. As long as he and Steyn plays, we’re buggered. It doesnt matter who plays center, when Steyn receives the ball 20m behind the advantage line, no center can do much with that.

We’re in deep doo-doo here

• 46.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler(Dazzler)-43: Really now, i can bet you now, you will be checking the score at every opportunity you get. Even though it is painful to watch, a bok fan will always hope, even if it is just by checking on the score every now and then.

• 47.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-39: LOL!!!

• 48.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler(Dazzler)-45: Amen to that…100% agreed!

• 49.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-46:

Of course I will! Am still a Bok fan dude :)

• 50.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

I guess it good to be positive, and say, for the boks to win they need play as a unit and be at their very best. But if i had to be a little more on the negative side: I hope the All Blacks have shocker and we manage to catch them on a bad day!!

I think id prefer the second one!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.