Mostert, Deysel start for Boks
28 Jul 2011
Peter de Villiers has made four changes to his starting line-up for the Springboks’ next Tri-Nations clash against the All Blacks in Wellington.
Lock Gerhard Mostert, who was a late injury replacement for Flip van der Merwe, has been rushed into the second row to make his Test debut this Saturday. Blindside flank Jean Deysel is also promoted to a shuffled loose trio, with Danie Rossouw shifting to No 8 and Ashley Johnson falling to the bench. Deon Stegmann keeps his No 6 jumper.
The other two changes are to the backline, with outside centre Adi Jacobs replacing Wynand Olivier in the midfield and Juan de Jongh picked at inside centre. Fullback Pat Lambie fills in for the injured Gio Aplon, who returned home with Van der Merwe on Wednesday.
South Africa – 15 Pat Lambie, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ryan Kankowski, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Odwa Ndungane.

359 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All
28 Jul 2011, 13:51 pm
This is Sparta!!!
@The_Zulu(The_Zulu)-298:
would you go with elton?
Dang
28 Jul 2011, 13:52 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294: I’m not with you
28 Jul 2011, 13:59 pm
Will be an interesting game on Saturday. Lambie can cement his spot in the squad with a solid showing at Fullback.
28 Jul 2011, 14:00 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-302: ha ha ha
i’ll leave that for you
28 Jul 2011, 14:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-304:
umh ok, elton would get a major arrse ******* if he played in any of the postions you suggest on sat. seriously, making him go up against nonu, smith, carter not to mention any of the loose forwards who’d run against him? the kids barley 20 years old is about 1.7 or so meters and weighs 82kg’s or thereabouts if his lucky.
his time will come hopefully, just not now.
28 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-307: oh ok.
Thing is, he’s already played against most of those guys for the Lions hasn’t he?
28 Jul 2011, 14:14 pm
a good big one ARE always better than a good small one…
same BS different year!!
28 Jul 2011, 14:23 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-308:
He hasnt played against them at 12. In fact he hasnt played agianst anyone in the Crusaders team because the Lions didnt play them this year.
He played against the Canes and recieved such a massive hit by one of their loosies that he actually disappeared for a bit while Butch took over at 10.
Believe me, Jantjies at 12 is a horrible idea. Talented perhaps, But at 12?
Thats a negative ghost rider.
28 Jul 2011, 14:55 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-310: I was thinking of Elton at 10 to come on as a sub and Morne to 12.
The reasoning is, why bring him on tour and not give him a chance to show what he’s made of?
28 Jul 2011, 14:57 pm
This is potentially a huge game for both Lambie and Pienaar because they in direct competition against Aplon and Hougaard on the bench.
Starting back line will be
Frans
JPP
Fourie
JDV
Habana
Butch
Du preez
If its a 4/3 split as expected then on the bench
20. Pienaar/Hougaard
21. JDJ (will be picked as he covers both 12/13
22. Aplon/Lambie
28 Jul 2011, 14:59 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-312: Oh yes im forgetting morne steyn.
So the 22 jersey will then be a competition btw Aplon/Lambie/Morne
28 Jul 2011, 15:01 pm
@catch22(catch22)-309: Rugby is a collision sport and whoever dominates the tackle point will always have the upper hand so yes….If all things equal…..A good Big one is better than a good small one.
28 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
Actually that’s the worry for this weekend.
This back line looks good on attack but a worry on defense because it seems a little light. With guys like Kaino, SBW, Nonu etc running at our back line….they will endless go forward ball.
28 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
@MG(MG)-254: Jantjies defense is not good enough for an international 12, will get away with it a bit at 10 but not at 12. He should stick to 10.
28 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-316: Out of all Jantjies positive attributes, his tackling is closer to 10/10 than any other 10 in the country.. Perfect technique.. disable your filter. If you are trying to develop a lie then let me remind you that Keo and is Journos appreciate your contribution
28 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-312:
Agree 100%, that’s the way I read it too.
You might see a 5/2 split for the more physical group games like Samoa and during the knock-out stages though, which would result in JDJ losing out to another forward.
28 Jul 2011, 15:26 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-308:
well, i think we would both agree that its a ‘sum of its parts’ thing. just like the stormers are not the boks, so the crusaders are not the all blacks. they’re very different beasts.
perhaps we could pose the question – would the crusaders beat our 1st choice bok team and likewise the stormers the ab’s 1st choice team?
i think we can safely say this would not happen. elton would find out that all those players as individuals in their respective super teams when recomposed as ab’s would strangely be two or three nuts harder than they are otherwise.
28 Jul 2011, 15:29 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-310:
oh dear god! i even forgot about that little fact. the lions didn’t play them. sweet jeezuz! it would have taken the best of butch to begin with (and then theres elton).
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-318: i see corne uys moved to 13 now, in for ebersohn. dries strauss will flourish under than calming influence
NZ 63-9 SA.
28 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-305: Only problem is, from that backline he is going to be tackling all evening…..Adi and Juan not the biggest guys and a new combination, alongside Morne and with Mvovo and Basson (both relatively newbies so can’t fault them) just don’t see how they will be able to stand up to Nonu and SBW.
The upside is, if forwards get (a big if) and keep possession, then all the above players are very good attacking players.
28 Jul 2011, 15:58 pm
Great read at
http://www.sharksworld.co.za/2011/07/28/staaldraad-ii/
28 Jul 2011, 16:40 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-317: You obliviously have not watched any of the Super games of the Lions…he was initially dropped for his poor defense, was like a revolving door bouncing off tackles.
28 Jul 2011, 16:42 pm
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-318: if there is a 5/2 then its a conundrum of who the two backs will be….i think JDJ will always make the bench as he covers both center position….kind of like the role he played this season for the stormers behind JDV and Fourie.
28 Jul 2011, 16:47 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-326: Also i think if there is a 5/2 split then Pienaar will definitely make the bench as he covers 9,10,15 with Jdj cover 12,13 and wing.
The only way Aplon, Steyn and Hougaard can make the bench is if there is a 4/3 split which im in favour of since Danie will cover loosie and lock.
28 Jul 2011, 16:49 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-313: that should go to aplon in my opinion.
28 Jul 2011, 17:12 pm
Rian Viljoen signs with the Sharks ! Brilliant !
28 Jul 2011, 17:16 pm
@pokkel(pokkel)-324: wow really giving it to keo and co, agree though those article of Liar was harsh, everyone know whats going on but they painting Divvy in an ugly manner.
28 Jul 2011, 17:28 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-325: Like I said.. Your efforts to develop a lie is appreciated by Keo and Co… they give you extra Keo dollars for that
I suppose Butch James has excemplary defence.. perfect technique.. those high tackles are very effective in destabilising the opposition??
Did you see that awesome tackle tackle jantjies made on Hargreave?? I suppose not because you were not watching that game
28 Jul 2011, 17:36 pm
@mustard 314
You make less than 100 tackles per game, look at the percentages.
typical brawn over Brain mentality. run from tackle to tackle and create 0.
NZ and Aus attack the space not the man, therefor are lightyears ahead your backward thinking.
and test rugby matches are unlocked by matchwinners…the size of a SPECIAL player does not matter
28 Jul 2011, 17:48 pm
Hey Keo,
How about an article pointing out that Allain Rolland will be reffing this week’s game.
Between the kak coaching, third rate players, cheating kiwis and this tosser, there really is no point, now.
28 Jul 2011, 17:49 pm
@dontcutthemustard
billywhizz,cullen, sella, ella to name a few…
are of the greatest names to play the game.
28 Jul 2011, 18:06 pm
Possible Bok 22 for main matches come World Cup:
1 Gurthro
2 Smit (Dammit)
3 Jannie du Plessis
4 Bakkies
5 Matfield
6 Brussouw (Burger if injured probably)
7 Smith (Danie Rossouw if injured)
8 Spies
9 Fourie du Preez
10 Butch James
11 Habana
12 De Villiers
13 Jacques Fourie
14 JP Pietersen
15 Frans Steyn
16 Good question will they pick someone who can cover both like CJ or go for a dinkum backup like Beast?
17 Bismarck
18 Danie if not playing 7 or Flip vd Merwe
19 Burger if not playing or Willem Alberts
20 Houghaard (lets hope please god)
21 Lambie/ Steyn
22 De Jongh or Aplon
Not my 22 I would choose but there are going to be a lot of unlucky players:
1 Beast if they go for CJ
4 Danie Rossouw if Juan Smith makes it
6 Francois Louw (he is more of a 6 than 7)
7 Possibly Willem ALberts but cant see them leaving him out on current form
8 Vermeulen due to injury I guess
9 Ruaan Pienaar or Houghaard whoever is preferred
10 Morne Steyn or Lambie – personally theyd be nuts to leave Lambie out
11 Mvovo
11 Basson
12 possibly Juan de Jongh
14 possibly Aplon
28 Jul 2011, 18:50 pm
@pokkel(pokkel)-324: Keohane may be a doos, but he is no coward …. like the author of that article who is too much of a chicken to mention Keo’s name or website ….. that spineless guppy
Oh and sharks lover was posting there telling everyone to ignore Keo.co.za … I guess we will not see him again here, that is if he does not logon with one of his troll nics.
28 Jul 2011, 18:55 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-329: ja Ludik is kak ….
28 Jul 2011, 19:09 pm
@WP_7,classic! and @trupisero,your Slegmann grappie just as classic! Man keo.co.za is even better than cracked.com for a good laugh…speaking of which…check the news at 19h NOW…exclusive kamp snordraad footage to be screened!
28 Jul 2011, 19:29 pm
YoMama
sooooooooo
SIX different threads
SAME self-serving rhetorical post about A.Rolland.
Gee, suddenly my wife’s nagging seems like a walk in the park.
28 Jul 2011, 19:46 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-331: you not going to convince me he is an international 12 so ya lets agree to disagree
28 Jul 2011, 19:50 pm
@catch22(catch22)-332: you completely missing the point of the post….so il say it again for
If all things equal.
Eg. A guy like Aplon il always pick ahead of a guy like Daniller for eg coz he offers so much more…
All things equal il pick the bigger oke otherwise il pick whoever offers more both on attack and defense.
Get what im saying now.
28 Jul 2011, 19:51 pm
@catch22(catch22)-334: all great players i agree…..your point?
28 Jul 2011, 20:00 pm
@RL(RL)-336: little girl , you just live to start trouble?? does afterbirth ever grow up?? you should find out idiot cuzz ur it
28 Jul 2011, 20:01 pm
@RL(RL)-336: i have never hidden either , and i have always asked you little snot nosed coward to come tell me this face to face
i unlike you have publicly said where i am , you little moffie are to scared to
28 Jul 2011, 20:02 pm
and lastly before i ginore you further, never have i said ignore keo’ i might have said ignore some of the clowns in Keo , AND THATS REFERRING TO A MORON LIKE YOU, yes
im here everyday , i dont hide
28 Jul 2011, 20:14 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-340: He prefers playing at 10 but how much of a difference in the skill set??. I agree that you know less than me
28 Jul 2011, 20:14 pm
So the ABs have thrown the Boks a bone by picking a reserve pack and a couple of second choice backs. That makes things more interesting for sure.
Not sure Jacobs is the right player to start, I rate him as an outside centre but he has not played much rugby of late and looked slow when he came on, not many options for 12 however if De Jongh stayed at 13.
Pity Rolland is in charge of this one, McCaw will have a field day.
28 Jul 2011, 20:28 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-346: i can see im talking to someone that has never played in the back line before….so im not even going to bother to explain.
28 Jul 2011, 20:29 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-345:
You are the easiest Sharkievarkie to fish, push your buttons some other time old lady
28 Jul 2011, 20:37 pm
@RL(RL)-349: i see guppy tyrone is losing his knickers again.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All