Boks make late switch

Pat Lambie will start at flyhalf for the Springboks while Morne Steyn will revert to fullback against the All Blacks on Saturday.

Lambie and Steyn were named at fullback and flyhalf respectively at the team announcement on Thursday, but head coach Peter de Villiers has decided to the switch for the Tri-Nations clash in Wellington.

This is an unexpected move considering that De Villiers said on Thursday that this could be Steyn’s last chance to fight for a starting flyhalf berth at the World Cup. De Villiers stated: ‘Some tough decisions will have to be made before the World Cup and for him [Steyn], as for any of the players on the park on Saturday, it might be a last chance or the chance or the only chance, so we hope he can rediscover the form that made him so invincible in 2009.’

Steyn has also only played two matches at fullback (for the Bulls back in 2008) and now he will be expected to perform there at Test level against the All Blacks.

However, the Bulls pivot did have a disappointing outing in the 39-20 defeat against the Wallabies in Sydney. The Boks failed to make an impression with ball in hand and a speedy backline failed to fire. The Boks’ attack looked better when Lambie was brought on in the second half.

Springboks (revised) – 15 Morné Steyn, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Dean Greyling
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ryan Kankowski, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Odwa Ndungane

581 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 151.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-141: they played against the ALL BLACKS in the corresponding fixture in 2007 and they snotklapped 33 – 6

• 152.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-147: Nothing wrong with Lambie’s tackling buddy. Lambie should teach Morne Steyn how to tackle though, especially if they are going to insist on taking Steyn with to the world cup.

• 153.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@deon stegmann just released his autobiography – deon stegmann the legend…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-142: I did mention Pretorius, and on a later post, russel, monty was a Legend at 15. Not fair to categorize him as a 10. Bosman, had, what 1 or 2 tests, and if you concider him a runner then you havent been watching the sharks off late. he is useless thus why he will never play for the boks again. a tested failure in a bok jumper, one of Jake Whites mistakes. France Steyn was tried there, but never really had the time to settle, with Butch and Morne around.

• 154.gaffie du toit is a legend - at griquas...: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-145:
    steady, steady…
    he last played for swd eagles and retired after that in 2010 i think. was also at toulouse or clermont for a few years before.

• 155.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-140: Ag my fok. that old drum again dusky. Ehy not pull out all the stops and bring up the memories of Naas, Pote and Burger whilst your at it. Funny how some of you always fall back on the whole Liefling singing issue when you run out of fresh chirps to throw at bulls supporters. Grow up son

• 156.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-149: Future Bok captain then perhaps?

• 157.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-140: What nonsense you are talking , how can you be taken seriously.

All Supporters think that their players are the best…full stop

Very few people will admit that other provences have good players . So lets try and move on .

I am saying that you guys don’t understand rugby… if the forward pack does not operate you can pick Dan Carter for the boks and he would look like a failiar.

So for numbers 8, and 10, 12 rest to perform numbers 1-5 must dominate, simple.

Lambie was also average in a few games this year when sharkies battled up front

• 158.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-147: No that Lambie can already do…10 times better than steyn wishes he could.

• 159.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-117: You have forgot about the great Henry Honiball. Anyway, with Honiball and then Butch, who’s styles are similar, SA had its most success.

• 160.Gunther is at camp Snordraad: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-155:

nothing worse than a one-eyed fan who pretends he has two.

• 161.David: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-110:
    That would have been fine in a non WC year, but this 3N is his last chance to see how his fringe players perform.

• 162.gaffie du toit is a legend - at griquas...: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-153:
    believe it or not monty played 4 games at 10 but thankfully made his name at 15.
    agree on the rest.

• 163.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-153: Francois Steyn was a failure at 10, and yet he really wanted that position. Pienaar by contrast fought tooth and nail to escape the Nr 10 spot, even though he was a failure at flyhalf as well. Meyer Bosman was never a good 10, and neither was Percy Montgomery, Gaffie Du Toit or Brent Russel.

And what do all these players have in common ? None of them are/were specialist flyhalves. Flyhalf is a position you need to have played as a kid at school. Your decision making time is the least of any player on the field, and damn you can take some hard tackles if you take too long.

I am not sure where Morne Steyn played at school, but he is almost starting to look like one of these quick mix flyhalves listed above. Dont know what happened to him, but he is not what he was a year or two ago.

• 164.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-152: Did I say that, read , You said Butch has this vast experience with all the skills to mentor Lambie, we are talking about Butch . Not Lambie

• 165.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-117: Good post there Sharkie. Interesting point raised regarding kicking flyhalves.

I reckon in time Lambie will be close to the all rounder we need. the game is changing and the current approaches are’nt working the way they did a couple of seasons ago.

Let’s hope he stays level headed as he can become pivotal in 4 years time.

• 166.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@gaffie du toit is a legend – at griquas…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-162: I know he played at 10 a few time but you get what im saying. Probably one of the Best fullbacks to ever play in a bok jumper.

• 167.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

I’d rather have had Odwa Ndungane at 15. He has played very well there many times for the Sharks. All Morne can do is kick it back, he won’t join the backline and get involved much.

• 168.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-152: Actually. Lambie shys away from contact, he is not a reliable defender at all. Here, as for other facets of play, Morne is the superior player. Lambie had a complete howler on the weekend, yet to perform well in any test for the Boks. thankfully de Villiers has exposed his extremely poor reading of the game. It’s going to be a disaster, but at least this experiment will put an end to the Lambie myth once and for all ala Watson. Not that his fanboys will take note.

• 169.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-157: No – I think Morne Steyn was once brilliant, but his game against Australia was extremely weak. As weak as I would expect someone like Katrakilis to have if he was suddenly forced to play 10 against Australia. He didn’t look the player he was a year or two ago.

Morne struggled this year behind his own Bulls pack – so, that excuse of a back foot pack is a load of nonsense.

But even if Morne Steyn has a valid defense in the inadequacy of his forwards, why all the missed one on one tackles ? He looked like a schoolboy !?

• 170.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-163: completely agree with you. 10 is a specialist position. Butch played at 12 before, but he is a specialist 10, Lambie can be a specialist 10 if they don’t go and stuff him around like they did with F. Steyn. playing 15, 14, 12, 10. They need to leave Lambie at 10.

• 171.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-167: He wont join the line because he is NOT a 15. You can’t just shove a flyhalf at fullback. Would you ever stick Carter, Wilkinson, Naas, Mehrtens, Lynagh, Fox, Porta at fullback? Of course not. But then de Villiers has no understanding of the value of his players, nor does he truly understand the complexion of his selections. de Jongh, I don’t rate him, but at least he is a bit active ball in hand, unlike crash dummy Olivier or Jean. That will help tame the averageness of Lambie, especially as he aligns himself poorly.

• 172.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-168: Well, if Lambie had a howler, I dont know what to call Morne Steyn’s game. Something along the lines of ‘f###en pathetic’ ?

• 173.capebull: Reply to this comment

To you two Sharkies, who was flyhalve when Sharkies had most sucses , Mr Frenchie comes to mind ?

I like Lambie …. he is better on attack at moment than Steyn…but with his pack not performing he will be nulleyfied.

Kanko, is like Wynand OK at S15

I like Spies , but he did not perform this year , this year Alberts was Better

I think Chilley ( how everyone wrote him off) and Bizzy are the best hookers now

Locks we have Bakkies and Victor ( Bekker si seer) with big gap to next level

Centre we have JdV and Fourie….big gap

Jannie is only now coming into the number 3 role ….big gap

Loosies we are ok
    Loose head we have Beast , Gurthro ok

• 174.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-167: Cannot see Odwa doing anything special either.

• 175.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-169: Actually he varied his play well, his alignment was mostly flat, but he had nothing outside of him to work with. Olivier and our loosies were not back on their backsides. His distribution was slick, he saved a certain try in the first half made many cover tackles and got stuck in in a few rucks at certain phases. He was far from poor. Lambie on the other hand refused to tackle anyone, he sat so deep and allowed Australia to swarm all over our backs. When the ball came from Lambie our backs gain a big fat ZERO over the gainline. Thank God for Deysel and those forwards for dragging something out of that match in the second half, and thank Deans for subbing instead of slaughtering us.

• 176.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-168: you are talking nonsense man, lambie takes contact, go and watch frame by frame how he score the try against western province in laste year’s currie cup final.

then while you’re at it, download the sharks vs bulls last game of the league stages and see who got the ball in midfield, committed 2 players and offloaded to unleash mvovo on the outside.

• 177.gaffie du toit is a legend - at griquas...: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-158:
    i think your gonna find out on sat just exactly what little patrick lambie can do.
    i think you’re gonna find that your sad and ruefull after you do.
    i think your gonna (suddenly) find glaring deficiencies in the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 (hell, i’ll even through in 11, 12, 13, 14 & 15).
    i think your gonna find your soul.
    i think your gonna touch the void.
    i think your gonna find the road to heaven, goes through hell.
    ja nee, i think your gonna find some things for sure…

• 178.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-172: Aside from the two missed tackles, he was far better than Lambie. Honestly, tell me ONE thing Lambie got right.

• 179.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-168: Unbelievable that some can be so blinded to the facts. Still thinking Steyn is superior, maybe in experience, yes and perhaps goal kicking. But as a modern flyhalf, Lambie is light years ahead. There is also nothing wrong with Lambie’s defense, he will take on the biggist oke on the park, even if he might come off second best. Steyn, will hardly attempt a tackle on a smaller bloke. You are seriously uninformed dude.

• 180.capebull: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-167: I agree , Morne is no 15, tried before for Bulls , but was very bad

U/21 Elton was 10 with Lambie 15. Lambie is a 15 made 10

• 181.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Lambighini to the starting grid….

GO YOU GOOD THING!!!!

BOKS RUN ON SHARKIE FUEL!

• 182.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@gaffie du toit is a legend – at griquas…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-177: :)

• 183.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-173: Sharks have won two Currie Cups with a French flyhalf, once with Tierry Lacroix and once with Fred Michalak – that’s true.

But, in the 2010 Currie Cup final which was the biggest winning margin in a Currie Cup final for some years, Patrick Lambie was the flyhalf.

I agree on all your other assessments, except for centre. We will hopefully have Francois Steyn added to the group, and I think Steyn is just as good a 12 as Jean De Villiers – or very close at least.

• 184.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@gaffie du toit is a legend – at griquas…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-177: Dude ek dink jy nodig n sielkundige, daars groot fout in dai kop van jou. Jy raak f@ken mal. Jy maak nie sn nie, en jys pateties. Gaan sien jou naaste dokter so gou moontlik….voor dit te laat is.

• 185.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-178: He managed to get his team on the front foot so they could actually score some tries. He ran instead of kicking every ball away, and defended his channel.

Steyn was just useless all round. No clue on attack, zero defensive worth. Kicked well at goal – so did Lambie.

• 186.gaffie du toit is a legend - at griquas...: Reply to this comment

@gaffie du toit is a legend – at griquas…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-177:
    through = throw

• 187.capebull: Reply to this comment

If your Bok game plan is build around numbers 7 and 8 as runners , 10 becomes less relevant.

Auz and AB’s uses 9 and 10 as playmakes we use our loosies,

Bulls, Skarkies , Wp , Cheetas all play like that.

Intertesting now that Sharkies don’t have Deysel and Alberts the use Mr French as playmaker

• 188.Alucard: Reply to this comment

56:00 – Restart. Aus kick into touch. Lineout on half way.
    57:00 – Lambie to Deysel. Stopped dead

Boks rumble into Aus 22, Lambie nt involved with it

57:40 – Lambie receives ball in Aus 22. Crabs to the right dummies, gets taken to ground
    58:02 – Lambie penalty out for lineout in Aus 22

Boks maul it from lineout, Chiliboy scores a try. Lambie not involved

62:28 – Lambie sits deep, passes to Olivier who is, again, very deep, Boks curalled and stopped losing ground in the process.

62:36 – Lambie gets in on the short side, sets up Mvovo for a tackle.
    65:00 – Lambie kicks penalty into touch for lineout
    66:17 – Lambie sitting very deep again, passes to Adi who is literally right next to him! Aussies swarm
    all over Adi, but at least he took it to the line!
    66:33 – Attempted kick into touch from ruck outside Bok 22. Beale collects.
    67:55 – Lambie collects and chips, chip charged down. A real let-off as Aus knock-on with numbers
    69:19 – Bok scrum. Skip-pass by Lambie to Adi deep. Aus in no real danger
    70:00 – Bok scrum. Lambie very deep, another skip-pass to Adi. Knock on. Aus under no pressure
    71:43 – Big burst by Aplon, gives it to Lambie who is tackled. Loses ball in contact. Turnover Aus
    72:18 – Lambie inside pass to Adi. Boks don’t even gain an inch here
    75:25 – Bok try. Lambie not present in any phase of play
    77:03 – Lambie deep again, in Bok 22, passes to de Jongh. Aus just cural Boks into touchline
    77:25 – Lambie takes it to the line, gets well wrapped up and turned over. Aus nearly through for try
    78:50 – Bok scrum, Bok 22. Lambie receives it on 3rd phase. takes it to the line, thumped to the deck nearly turned over
    79:59 – Lambie to Roussouw, Roussouw well behind the gainline

• 189.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-178: hhmmmm? who to believe, you or daniel carter? :???:

South Africa look to a choice between incumbent Morne Steyn, Butch James and the rising Patrick Lambie, and each had different qualities, with Carter excited by the challenge marking Lambie would pose.

“Steyn is probably the most proven at international level but in saying that James won the World Cup, he’s a fierce competitor but I’ve been impressed with Lambie this year and how he’s played.

“The thing that I’m impressed most about is his all-round game. He’s not one-dimensional, he’s got a fantastic kick on him but he can also run the ball as well and he’s a real attacking threat.

“If they’re looking to use the ball he’d be a valuable part of that side if he got the nod for the 10 jersey so it’s good for the South Africans, they’ve got a lot of competition there which b rings out the best in players,” he said.

• 190.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-188: And now do the first 56 minutes like that.

• 191.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-183: Cc win the Shark pack completely destroid the Wp pack. Even you/me can play flyhalve then

• 192.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-188: hmmmmm…….

• 193.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-190:

00:00 – Kick-off
    01:47 – Bok scrum, garryowen with Olivier and de Jongh in pursuit
    04:22 – Bok scrum, Morne takes it flat, passes to Olivier
    04:44 – Morne takes it flat on the blindside, puts Mvovo through
    05:15 – Morne aligns wide and flat, passes to de Jongh coming in hard and fast (got stripped)
    09:27 – Restart – Puts us deep into Aus territory
    09:51 – Morne tracks back, but unable to stop a certain try
    12:00 – Restart – Puts us deep into Aus territory
    14:07 – Bok scrum, Morne takes it flat, gives it Olivier
    17:21 – Bok scrum, Morne puts it on the 10m line
    18:50 – Bok penalty, Morne puts it in Australia’s half. Bok lineout
    19:52 – Slightly deeper, gives it it Olivier
    20:09 – Morne engages defernders, inside pass to Roussouw
    24:04 – Morne takes the contact and offloads to Olivier, who gets dumped
    27:04 – Morne takes it in our 22, puts it into touch inside Aus 10 line
    27:45 – Bok lineout, Morne takes it flat and wide, pops it to Olivier
    30:00 – Morne slots a penalty
    30:03 – Morne takes it in our 22, puts it down the middle
    31:51 – Morne chips it into the corner
    32:51 – Blindside, Morne beats Beale, steps Elsom, draws loosehead and puts Pienaar clean through
    33:00 – Morne takes it flat from ruck, passes to Johnson
    36:24 – Restart
    36:52 – Bok lineout, Morne takes it slightly deeper, holds and pops it to Johnson
    37:36 – Morne takes it wide and deep, skip pass to de Jongh
    37:55 – Takes it, runs forward, gives it to Kankowski who puts Basson through
    39:29 – Morne kicks penalty into touch. Bok lineout
    40:25 – Takes it mid depth, cross field kick to Mvovo
    40:45 – Slots penalty for 3 points
    44:45 – Restart
    48:01 – Restart
    48:30 – Morne regathers fumble in 22 under pressure, stands ground sets up ruck with support
    51:55 – Restart
    53:12 – Takes it mid-depth, cut-pass to de Jongh
    53:39 – Pops it to Greyling

• 194.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-188: you wrote this laughably one-sided “report” and then present it as objective evidence… it’s worthless

• 195.ray-27: Reply to this comment

People are calling this bok team the”B” team, but really, if you had to rank each player in the position they are playing on Saturday, apart from Danie Rossouw, this would actually be our “F” team.. lots of potential, but really.. our locks are probably the 8th and 9th best in the country at the moment.. However i will support any springbok team till i die.

compare Saturdays starting xv tothis one:
    F.Steyn,JP Pietersen,J.Fourie,J deVilliers,B.Habana,B.James,F.duPreez,S.Burger,J.Smith,H.Brussouw,V.Matfield,B.Botha,J.duPlessis,B.duPlessis,G.Steenkamp/Beast.

Now that is a Springbok team

• 196.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-193: Ja, en fokkol came from the first 56 minutes. When Morne passes to a player who gets stripped of the ball, its that players fault, but when Lambie tries to put Adi into a gap, and Adi gets hammered – its Lambies fault ?

Listen, it doesnt really matter what you think. Luckily, De Villiers has seen the light. So – you can bring your subjective nonsense all over here as much as you want.

De Villiers, like us can see just how useless Morne Steyn is at the moment.

• 197.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Dusky – In Mornes defense the man has not had a break from top flight rugby since 2009. I have a feeling he is probably completely burntout!!

• 198.adi: Reply to this comment

Steyn will play flyhalf and rotate with Lambie on the attack.

• 199.capebull: Reply to this comment

Best bis our backline coach Mr Muir….
    Forwards is Mr Gold

Luckely rassie has first rights to A team in Rustenburg, with new lights shining from Pilansberg

• 200.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

YAAAAAWWWWNNNN.

SSDD…

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.