All Blacks irked by lack of respect
3 Aug 2011
All Blacks assistant coach Steve Hansen views the Wallabies’ arrogant comments in the media as a sign of disrespect.
The Reds’ triumph in Super Rugby and the recent hammering of a second-string Springbok side has done wonders for the Wallabies’ confidence. Coach Robbie Deans has come out saying that he believes this young side are world beaters, while fullback Kurtley Beale has said that on the day the Wallabies can tear any team apart.
Perhaps the confidence and media bragging is premature. While the Super Rugby trophy has been won for the first time since 2004, not much has been achieved by the Test side. They haven’t won the Bledisloe Cup since 2003, or the Tri-Nations since 2001. They haven’t won at Saturday’s venue, Eden Park, in 25 years, and haven’t won in New Zealand in a decade.
Hansen said the comments from some of the Australians in the media have surprised him.
‘Australians aren’t in awe of us; they probably don’t even respect us,’ he told stuff.co.nz. ‘You only have to read what they have got to say.’
Prop Ben Franks said earlier in the week that the Aussies’ wild celebrations after tries and victories during the Super Rugby competition had not been forgotten. While this arrogant attitude is something that clearly irks the All Blacks players and management, Hansen said it won’t disrupt their preparations for a must-win game.
‘We have our own motivation, we don’t need anyone else to motivate us. The black jersey motivates us and has done for centuries and will continue to do so because it’s such an important jersey.’
He added that it was important to extend the All Blacks’ winning streak at Eden Park, especially since the World Cup semi-finals and final will be staged at this ground.
‘Auckland is obviously the home here in New Zealand where most of the big games are played because of the size of the venue. So the importance of those matches are usually right up there. Wanting to stay tight and a fortress for the want of a better term is pretty important.
‘That’s where they are going to play the World Cup final. We want to be in it and we want to win it. So it’s important.’

293 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All
3 Aug 2011, 14:25 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-247:
You are a little confused mate, a lazy 20 to me has always been just that a lazy $20 I sports bet once in a blue moon a 20 there a 20 there, sorry to disappoint you but I had know idea why you were quoting all these big numbers when I was talking about $20, I have no idea about sports betting terminology but again thanks for telling me, go back and read my posts in response to yours I think you’ll find they are consistant with that, so you can stop calling me sonny and every other name under the sun now, you got the wrong end of the stick, no need to apologise it was a genuine mistake that you made.
3 Aug 2011, 14:25 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-246: he has the tone all wrong, along with the subject matter… but you know what they say about imitation..
wonder what he thinks of the imitation boks that were in NZ recently?
gone for now, later guys…
3 Aug 2011, 14:27 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-248:
LOL,
A bit more difficult to execute such a plan on Foreign Soil.
However, where there is will, there is a way.
3 Aug 2011, 14:28 pm
I_love_u_bakkies
dont tell me you didnt notice the difference, zero instead of the letter o…
3 Aug 2011, 14:30 pm
Thank dog he’s gone for now.
3 Aug 2011, 14:30 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-254:
It will be Heavans Game.
Proof will be difficult of course.
but such is nature of the man.
3 Aug 2011, 14:32 pm
Dawn = Patricia de Lille
3 Aug 2011, 14:32 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-181:
” remember Rugby princess, why do you think she stopped blogging here? ”
You have either totally misread that situation or you now deliberately distort it for a sick silly gain in a foolish game of ‘Bok – AB bashing(and I am not into this sick AB bashing).
She left because she felt extremely comfortable with the “defectors”(to RT); she was historically in league with them and thus left with ALL of them simultaneously.
She was put off by the sick sexist attentions of the discredited, sexist, racist Fern but she was around some time even after that one particular epidsode and more.
Even in the silly game of bashing the TRUTH has to stand TALL.
3 Aug 2011, 14:33 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-251:
oh dear.
you talked about a lazy 20.
I talked about the gorilla you lost on the all blacks in 2007 (look and learn remember)…in jest…assuming you were a betting man.
you became agitated and came out with racist p rick….
because you misunderstood the term gorilla.
sonny.
3 Aug 2011, 14:34 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-255:
I have not been able to re-book that Tent Site I had reserved for you.
You can consider your deposit forfeited.
3 Aug 2011, 14:42 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-232: Sure, you can’ t, Boks can.
And will. 8)
Cheers!
3 Aug 2011, 14:44 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-254:
oh ok, i c it now
3 Aug 2011, 14:47 pm
@Nils(Nils)-261:
well we’ll just have to see about that then
3 Aug 2011, 14:48 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-259:
No I don’t bet on sports so had no idea what your were talking about ( the next time i’m in Ladbrokes I’ll definitely be more informed), the rac ist p rick part was about you saying all Moans are dirty so there you have it.
3 Aug 2011, 14:49 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-263: Sure, can’t wait till real hostilities start.
Best of luck to your team. 8)
3 Aug 2011, 14:54 pm
@cane(cane)-218:
” Fernly and his ilk ”
The “ilk” being the “defectors” no less.
How demeaningly opportunistic of you even in your sick ‘game’.
Not long ago you “missed defectors” (is it for their racism?) but now you despise them and describe them in odious terms(is that too for their racist bend)?
3 Aug 2011, 14:58 pm
@Nils(Nils)-265:
and the same to you my good man, and the same to you…
3 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-264:
hahahah that’s racist?
you are even dumber than I thought.
we have played against them in every wc.
and every time they try to take as many boks out as possible.
ahem….
Brian Lima, the dirtiest **** ever to play the game.
Bakkies (who is right up there) included.
ended his career deservedly with concussion.
speaking of concussion if you think that’s racist then you are beyond help.
you sad sad sac….
3 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
@cane(cane)-256:
You have ZERO evidence which makes you now a LIAR too? Strike two(2). You have just one strike left and then it is the penalty.
HG has not ever engaged in such underhand a manner. He takes anyone full on, as in eyeball to eyeball in the best American baseball traditions.
3 Aug 2011, 15:03 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-268:
You’re a little insecure having to put me down all the time, an underlying issue?
3 Aug 2011, 15:06 pm
Uh oh
There goes the neighbourhood
3 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-270:
I’m sorry.
I just can’t take you seriously anymore.
I’ll admit I’ve been harsh on you, when you clearly have no clue.
I will be far gentler going forward.
3 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-272:
You don’t need to be I’m enjoying the stuff you come out with sad sac bell end etc I haven’t heard that stuff since high school, but you do have to wonder why you feel the need to insult me on every post.
3 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
Shame the little Black cheaters are now whinging because people arent in awe of them – hope you get your asses kicked by the Ozzies – mine god did I really say that? Must be the first time in years i´m rooting for the Ozzies. But Ive had enough of the cheating arrogant we own World rugby prats. Kick some a55 Oz. Teach those whingers a lesson. lol
3 Aug 2011, 15:55 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-273:
high school sounds like a stretch for you my chum.
But I’ll be generous… you are just a long tall glass of awesome.
3 Aug 2011, 16:09 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-275:
See there you go again with the insults I preferred it when you were quoting all those magnificent betting terms that you know now that was impressive stuff, what else you got?
3 Aug 2011, 16:22 pm
Aussies being disrespectful? Fancy that, the Reds win the Super 15, they lose to Samoa, beat an understrength Bok side and now they rattle the cage of the Kiwi’s.
It is definitely a clash of the RWC favourites and should be a thrilling game. The swagger in the Aussie camp is the result of a fresh team starting to gel and under Deans I have no doubt the Aussies are better than they have been in years. At last the Bi-Nations tournament starts. With the Boks bumbling about on the sidelines it will be great to see a Test match this weekend, let the Test season begin!
3 Aug 2011, 16:48 pm
NZ_China I am sorry but that is the most pathetic use of the race card yet! Calling a team dirty is not a racist remark – you boys relish referring to the boks and some of their players as dirty all the time and it is never deemed racist. Grow up FFS the Samoa rugby team are awesome but they are also dirty that’s a fact – and has nothing to do with racism. You boys really are precious
3 Aug 2011, 17:02 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-278:
He’s got some history there, our Moan brothers aren’t dirty they just love trying to take the head of Bokke players can you blame them?
3 Aug 2011, 17:08 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-276:
what insults now?
sheeshkebab but you have been hard work today.
so sensitive.
history moi?
the samoan thugs are the filthiest krunts in rugby.
are you samoan by any chance?
3 Aug 2011, 17:16 pm
Boring guys – really reall utterly boring.
3 Aug 2011, 21:20 pm
Wattle
interesting video clip. Must say, it was a MAJOR shock to see that it’s BOTH teams that infringe. And, yet, only 1 team accusing the other of ‘cheating’
I would love to have seen a similar analysis of the 2009 TriN when the Boks were so dominant. It’s a fact that dominating teams get away with more, as would be shown with Brussow repeatedly going off his feet, and Bismarck playing the ball on the ground. Alot.
And, yet, it’s appaaaaaaaaarently only the ABs who ‘cheat’ despite the video you have provided proving anything but.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZzZZZZZZ
3 Aug 2011, 22:45 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-71:
The prattling is frantic & the fear is palpable!
Like a gambler who has put all his chips into the pot, hoping for a lucky roll if the dice!
I luvit
3 Aug 2011, 22:50 pm
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-78:
What you’ve got is small beer to what aint got, mate!
I guess you haven’t noticed then.
4 Aug 2011, 00:11 am
Gunther
so, now it’s the Samoans who are “dirtiest” then ?
on what scale are we applying to which model that analyses the level of Dirtiest and to which statistics to we correlate with the teams of each Nation ?
I’m certainly not here to pass judgement on the Sahs given the ‘fond’ schoolboy memories of fronting up to the likes of Kelston & MAGS & Aorere & De la Salle over the years…. but I was never once bitten or gouged. And, funnily enough, I can’t remember tooooo many Manu Samoa players being found guilty of those crimes over the years either.
So while you may interpret coathanger tackles or late hits as ‘dirty’, and you’ll get no argument from me there, I’m not sure that it is sufficient enough to elevate the South Sea Islanders to the untouchable status of dirtiEST. I would even argue, in mitigation for Samoa, that many of their high-profile bonecrunchers have, in fact, been executed legitimately (or close enough to it) but due to the sheer physical size of most of them, otherwise appear to have been dangerous; Brian ‘the Chiropractor’ Lima being the most obvious case in point. Sometimes it’s merely getting their timing wrong. Sometimes it’s not.
But dirtiEST ???
I dunno. I seem to remember Cane has a stat somewhere about there only being the ONE Test team that has EVER selected 3 x Gougers in the ONE team. And only ONE team that has EVER seen fit to pass gouging off as a joke.
EST
4 Aug 2011, 06:42 am
The Samoans are xiao bai hua, Little White Flowers, compared to the record of most nations. I have never seen stomping, eye gouging or drug taking from any of the Manu Samoan players. People in glass houses …..
4 Aug 2011, 07:16 am
Getting their timimg wrong?
Lmfao.
These guys.make bakkies look like a massage therapist.
It sweet though that you chaps would want to defend your cousins from across the lake.
And entirely understandable.
After all what’s wrong with having someone softening up the opposition in the pool stages hey.
4 Aug 2011, 09:59 am
I have changed my mind. Hansen meant exactly what he said. Aus don’t respect NZ in the least.
I came to this epihany from reading the papers which are chock full of opinions from current and past wallabies, commentators and general wannabes. To a man they are convinced the awesomeness displayed by the Wallabies over the last few weeks is proof the All Blacks are over the hill, past their use by date and have nothing left to worry the mighty Wallabies.
So put all your money on an Aus win this weekend. In fact roll it over to also win the return match and regain the Bledilsoe Cup.
Hansen is a moron, why can’t he see the Aussies are right and the AB’s no longer warrant even an iota of respect.
4 Aug 2011, 10:01 am
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-287:
We have petitioned to re-name them for the RWC pool fixture as the ‘Burger Geldenhuys Invitation XV’
watch your backs
4 Aug 2011, 10:15 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-289:
I would call any pool with mandown samoa in them as the Pool of “Partial or total Paralysis”.
we will have no time to watch our backs against the dirty basterauds as our brave lads will be too busy making sure their heads remain attached to their shoulders.
4 Aug 2011, 12:41 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-290:
Expect the terraces at Eden Park to erupt with every bone-crunching hit and the Sahs to lift exponentially with each one.
What the Taro Torpedoes sometimes lack in accuracy they make up for it with an over-tweaking of impact.
4 Aug 2011, 12:44 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-285:
Im not sure we ever encountered any drugs at 1st XV level that were stronger than Te Puke Thunder, either.
Still havent.
Should have headed straight to Craven Week for the good stuff.
4 Aug 2011, 12:54 pm
boo hoo.
sob sob.
poor all blacks.
the wallabies should be grovelling and squirming in abject fear i guess?
sheesh, talk about self entitlement.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All