Div: Boks lack killer instinct
3 Aug 2011
Peter de Villiers says one of the Springboks’ biggest weaknesses ahead of the World Cup is the inability to finish.
The Bok coach and CEO Jurie Roux were in Parliament to inform the portfolio committee on sport and recreation about preparations for the World Cup. De Villiers went through some of the team’s strengths and weaknesses, and it was clear that the coach wasn’t happy with the Boks’ attack.
‘We need a killer instinct,’ said De Villiers.
The Boks have based their game on offensive defensive since Jake White was at the helm, and have been especially disappointing on attack over the past two seasons. They were outscored by the Wallabies and New Zealand in the 2010 Tri-Nations, and were again outscored in the recent two matches in Australasia.
De Villiers told the portfolio committee on sport and recreation that he believes experience will be crucial at the tournament, and denied that older players are being picked on sentiment.
A number of players will retire from international rugby or move abroad after this World Cup, and there are players like John Smit who are no longer the best in their position. De Villiers maintains that he has a plan that relies heavily on the older players’ experience.
‘We first decide what we want before we look at the names,’ he said. ‘There has never been a sentimental selection. I am 90% sure that we can bring back the honours of the World Cup.’
On the point of team management and selection over the past four years, De Villiers believes he deserves a massive reward when his tenure comes to an end. ‘I deserve a medal. And a big one too.’
Members of parliament also asked De Villiers and Roux about the training camp in Rustenburg and why the best players weren’t on tour in Australasia. The pair maintained that the camp was used to rehabilitate injured players, and say they have medical certificates to prove the veracity of their claims.
‘I could not go against the guy [medical doctor], whom I pay a lot of money for his opinion, and say I don’t need your opinion,’ said De Villiers.
‘Next year people will forget two losses but for four years people will remember who the champion of the world is.’
The MPs argued that the two performances had brought dishonour to the Bok badge and that their are serious doubts that the Boks will perform at the World Cup. Roux moved to allay those concerns.
‘I understand the emotion of losing to New Zealand. That’s their fortress and that’s why they perform, vigilantly. We want the Springboks to win all the time but the truth is we only win 64% of the time,’ Roux said.

237 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
3 Aug 2011, 11:28 am
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-197:
we can’t fault the guy for his support.
It’s a bit like the M Steyn, JSmit, J de Jongh, Lambie, Vermeulen, Elton Jantjies (oh sorry they left) supporters..
one does lose a bit of perspective if one does not realise this is only a blog….
perceptions can’t be changed on a blog. imo.
only time will tell…
3 Aug 2011, 11:30 am
for you grant
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/TriNations/Ex-Boks-back-under-fire-Smit-20110802
3 Aug 2011, 11:31 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-195:
hush.
don’t argue with gwantie.
HE WAS THERE….
fARK SORRY CAPS…..
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-198:
he is dating willem alberts sister?
if that’s the case, I hope he doesn’t get caught going off his feet at the breakdown.
3 Aug 2011, 11:32 am
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-182:
Have a look at this…Am sure you will enjoy…
http://youtu.be/KyI1UQfT6K0
Pain has a face….Let me show it to you-Bakkies LOL hahaha
A thing of beauty i tell u!!!!
3 Aug 2011, 11:36 am
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-203: hehehehe @ fARK SORRY CAPS
3 Aug 2011, 11:37 am
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-188:
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-191:
agreed. a 6 and a 4 sound better to me.
3 Aug 2011, 11:37 am
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-203: Married to her, actually.
3 Aug 2011, 11:40 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-176: hehe ngiyazi sbali kukhona okushaya manzi impela! ngeke nje wonka amalanga umuntu usimele ngomdlali omunye
3 Aug 2011, 11:42 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-205: Yes classic.
To a TEE, as they say.
3 Aug 2011, 11:43 am
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-203:
according to agile, yes.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-207:
and now confirmed a second time.
3 Aug 2011, 11:43 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-177: you’re taking one incident and blowing out of proportion, the only thing stegmann has to do is speak to alistair and say “boet, you must maar support me when i go in, i can’t do sommer by myself”
3 Aug 2011, 11:45 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-76: Thanks mate. I reckon there’s enough in there for me to put the debate to an end!
3 Aug 2011, 11:46 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-76: I know you directed this to BH but i also rate Tait, he is class but has injury setbacks and has not had a consistant run, he is deadly just needs to get over the injuries.
3 Aug 2011, 11:48 am
@trupisero(trupisero)-92:
Uitstekend, wie gaan dit vir ons sing?
3 Aug 2011, 11:48 am
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-95: Hey dude. Willie? is that you? Yeah he was super young when he was thrown in and he’s done well considering his small stature, but it seems he ended up getting a bit lost in the system.
3 Aug 2011, 11:50 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-204:
loved it! hehehe
the bit in min 3:36 where he swats richie(?) away hahaha classic
only bakkies i tell you.
3 Aug 2011, 11:52 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-204:
that’s x-rated viewing
3 Aug 2011, 12:02 pm
@Stoan(Stoan)-213: Thanks for the opinion mate. I might have to call a truce on this debate and put an end to it before I end up seeing my arse
3 Aug 2011, 12:34 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-215:
Howzit Yeti, yep it’s me
How goes? Exited about the upcoming WC?
3 Aug 2011, 12:41 pm
‘I deserve a medal. And a big one too.’
quite correct.
3 Aug 2011, 12:57 pm
The biggest fat rolls in SA sport:
1) Benni Mc Carthy
2) Adi Jacobs
3) John Smit
4) Ricky Januarie
Who ate the pie shop???????
3 Aug 2011, 12:58 pm
A fish rots from the head down.
3 Aug 2011, 13:19 pm
@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-219: Hey man! Yeah I’m good thanks. I’m super excited about the upcoming RWC. This build up is killing me I just want it to start already. By the same token I want to see the Boks play their 1st few games and see some kind of improvement like last time after Eddie joined. I almost need to see it to make myself believe we have a realistic chance.
3 Aug 2011, 13:19 pm
@Eish(Eish)-221:
thelo wakefield according to keo
Ian Mac took one look at him and said he looked like he was 6 meals ahead and 10 s hits behind…..
let’s add louis luyt to that list as well.
3 Aug 2011, 13:27 pm
Gunther, yep. Body fat counters have to be enlarged when dealing with these guys. So proud of our WC reps and their conditioning. Want to see how Adi shapes up against a few of the Samoa tackles. Actually would like to see how the whole backline handles those guys.
3 Aug 2011, 13:52 pm
John Smit and Peter Div has now said it. “Judge us after the world cup!!”
Sound familiar?
3 Aug 2011, 14:01 pm
@Eish(Eish)-221: Enjoy the crumbs… “lol”
3 Aug 2011, 14:36 pm
OK manne ek’s terug. See some jokes at my expense :mrgree: Not that I make it difficult for anyone….
@Staal(Staal)-201:
Nee jy kan seker nou nie, maar wie weet?
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-187:
Yep, that’s the one, Ben Kay. Kry vir jou.
@Transformation(Transformation)-211:
Ag ou Transie, it’s not his job to school his teammates. They work side-by-side with flankers all the time at all levels.
Must break it down for you? OK:
Carter and Nonu on the attack minute 20 in the Bok’s half, ball goes outside to Thomson, Hargreaves is covering the 10&12, Stegmann tackles Thomson and gets up and goes for the ball.
Nonu goes over to the short side, McCaw comes in to clear Stegmann out. Hargreaves sees he doesn’t have to make a tackle and relaxes and starts walking and walks by Stegmann and even brushes him with his leg, but he doesn’t bother helping.
What he should have done was comes around behind Stegmann’s feet and bind onto him with his right arm- he was closer to that breakdown than McCaw was.
McCaw clears Stegmann out: they weigh the same, but Steggies is stationary and wrestling for the ball on his tip-toes. Hargreaves weighs over 100 Kgs, McCaw would not have (should not have) been able to clear them both away and we needed only 2 seconds for Rolland to blow his wistle and give us the penalty for holding on- Turnover to Stegmann.
And this is a good example of the “lack of killer instinct” Div is talking about. It is a total lack of synergy and anticipation. And I can point 4 such incidences out.
If Stegmann was successful in all 4 and the team was in sync, and the one t/o wasn’t wrongfully penalized, then Stegmann could have made 6 turnovers against the All Blacks, and we could have scored tries from that, or at least gone for poles.
That is 18 points and a blunting of attack for NZ and slowing the pace down for our own sake and each time it boils down to supporting the opensider, just one extra player!
Can you see what I mean?
It has a HUGE influence on the game. That is why the “fetchers” like Brussow and Stegmann and McCaw are such important players to me.
But the difference between them being successful or not comes down to one or two supporting players (usually in the tight 5) that just have to have good awareness and willingness to do the dirty work.
Hargreaves never even bothered to bend his back and bind, you could see it. He just walked over on defense as though he was exhausted and it was only minute 20.
That is shocking play and CJ did the same and that when he JUST came off the bench.
I’m not impressed, but so few people see this it seems. Instead they just say Stegmann did a disappearing act.
When in fact there would be no difference in his performance between that and a MOTM game.
3 Aug 2011, 14:37 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-228:
That is…
3 Aug 2011, 14:39 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-211:
And no I’m not blowing anything out of proportion. Test matches are determined by these incidences and they all add up, there’s your answer in post 228.
3 Aug 2011, 14:56 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-204: That tribute is a thing of beauty, I tell u!!! I love this man or rather I love the fact that he is one of ours. God damn the moral aloofness of the modern rugby fan.
Bakkies, Alberts, Juan, Jacque Fourie, Bismark, Steyn(Frans!), Butch and mayb even Spies etc can still put the fear of God into any man. All they need is the desire/hunger and nobody could stop them. I’m not buying this “They’ve already got WC medals rubbish”. If the spark they need comes in the next game or 2, I know we’ll come back with the WC.
Yes, I DO BELIEVE!!!!!!
3 Aug 2011, 14:58 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-216:
Quite good, I just watched it.
I see Jerry Collins and the gang just stand there. They don’t even bother coming up for their captain against Bakkies, just let it slide.
3 Aug 2011, 15:33 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-232:
love the bakkies
4 Aug 2011, 00:03 am
The compromised puppet-on-the-string continues to speak too much but it is for his puppet-masters. Unfortunately it is much of nothing and its is nothing of much sense or direction or purpose.
It is a sorry attempt at motivation. However, Johan Ackerman(Lions forwards coach) speaking on this very topic of “killer instinct” says things that indicate mental frailty and fragility of the supposed ‘A’ team.
For an understanding of the importance of motivation any international coach needs at least a course 101 in psychology but this head coach of a national team and many more have no such basic expertise so how can they effectively motivate their teams; a case of the blind leading the blind and deaf.
And people expect victory a little later?
4 Aug 2011, 00:30 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-127: “in our history at the world cup we have lost only 2 games. Aussie in 1999 and NZ in 2003.”
I could have sworn England smashed Boks in 2003.
4 Aug 2011, 04:42 am
The AB’s win 80% of the time, and we should be as good or better. The truth is that SARU is running 25% short of where it should be.
@Nils(Nils)-235: Saffas dont count the Adolf Straueli years. We block those years out.
4 Aug 2011, 04:43 am
and its not just eth finishing off thats the problem. the sorry lot last weekend had not agression at all about them. Perhaps its because they know that PdV’s game plan will just not make the grade, and have no confidence in it.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All