Currie Cup latest – Basson blow for Bulls
4 Aug 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from the Currie Cup.
Basson blow for Bulls – Bjorn Basson has been withdrawn from the Bulls’ game against the Lions this Saturday because of a head injury.
Although Basson was named in the starting line-up, he’s always been considered doubtful to play due to the concussion he sustained in last week’s game against New Zealand. The Bulls have now decided that Basson hasn’t recovered sufficiently and won’t risk him against the Lions.
Stephan Dippenaar will take Basson’s place on the wing while Jurgen Visser will now sit on the bench.
Coetzee sticks with Bull-bashers - Allister Coetzee has named the same starting team that beat the Bulls for this week’s clash with the Cheetahs.
Tiaan Liebenberg retains the captaincy and the No 2 shirt ahead of Deon Fourie, who led WP in the first two Currie Cup games.
The only change is on the bench where Pieter Louw is included. Louw was injured in the Super Rugby game against the Force and hasn’t played since.
WP – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 JJ Engelbrecht, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nick Koster, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg (c), 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Adriaan Fondse, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Berton Klaasen, 22 Marcel Brache.
Sharks deny Bok bros will move – Sharks commercial manager Rudolf Straeuli has dismissed reports that Bismarck and Jannie Du Plessis will be leaving the union after the current season.
The Du Plessis brothers will be out of contract at the end of the year, and it’s been suggested that they will look to move on in 2012. Straeuli told The Witness this is not the case, and that the Sharks are currently negotiating with the two Boks and hope to extend their contracts.

41 Comments
4 Aug 2011, 10:08 am
Province!!!!!!!!
4 Aug 2011, 10:14 am
exactly like i said yesterday, peopple are quick to start rumours
4 Aug 2011, 10:18 am
guess who’s about to get a moerse salary increase? hehehe
4 Aug 2011, 10:20 am
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-3:
for sure , Agent prolly started the rumour
4 Aug 2011, 10:20 am
Now that Smitty is leaving – as much as I love the oke – I think Bissie will know now that he will be #1, his role as a Senior player will be more defined, both for him and Jannie, he’s still got lots of fuel in those legs of his and I think knowing now that he no longer has to “Share” will bode well both for him as well as the Sharks. I hope Sharks management are aware of this, which I’m sure they are, and offer them Contracts what they are worth. Bissie like having a 4th Loosie on the field and that is a great bonus for any team. I have always maintained what could be better than to go to war with your Brother standing by your side. Sharks Forever Boys… Black and White.
4 Aug 2011, 10:21 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-2: There are no rumours here, the Du Plessis boys haven’t signed extensions to their contracts
4 Aug 2011, 10:23 am
What a crock-of-shhhh! The media pencil in contract renewal dates and then start the rumour mill. Why would they move – Bulls are going to be weak after all their departures, Province need a front row, but have 2 established hookers (not that Bis isn’t better) and no other team is going to challenge for top honours.
Well tried Keo.co.za but you’re all ****, no sh*t on this one!
4 Aug 2011, 10:24 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-6: They’ve also said nothing about leaving – rumours boet!
4 Aug 2011, 10:24 am
just keep these boeties in SA please….at any cost…
4 Aug 2011, 10:35 am
@grant10(grant10)-9: grant they will be staying in Durban boet ,
4 Aug 2011, 10:37 am
Bissy and Burden… I like the sound of that.
4 Aug 2011, 10:37 am
@NicG(NicG)-7: Given that together they constitute two thirds of the front row that the Stormers “need” and the Stormers were the top South African side this year, let down mostly by their weak scrum, that’s a pretty attractive proposition, ne?
4 Aug 2011, 10:40 am
@NicG(NicG)-7:
Just regaring the Bulls. A month ago I would have agreed with you 100%
But the Bulls management have gone and decided to be @ssholes. Taken talented players from everywhere, even the EP Kings who are attempting to build a good team.
Wilhelm Steenkamp solves their problem for needing a genuine line-out lock. Him and Flip van der Merwe could be the 3 Springbok locks along with Bekker.
Not to mention the depth they’re adding in the backs, and Vermaak as the reserve halfback now.
Bulls will be very close to the play-offs if they aren’t in.
4 Aug 2011, 10:44 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-10: great to hear my man…..I will be seriously pis sed off if they leave SA
4 Aug 2011, 10:44 am
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-12:
The Sharks also look like having a good side outside of a terrible centre pairing. They also made the S15 play-offs. They beat a Bulls team that is usually unbeatable so late in the tournament at home to make it.
Wouldn’t do them any good losing the du Plessis brothers would it? Then the front-row suddenly goes from a big strength to average.
All this moving around needs to stop. Becoming beyond a joke. Nowhere else in the world do players move around as much as in SA.
4 Aug 2011, 10:46 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-10: you obviously realise this is what I wanted to mention the other nite to you……the friend of mine in durbs with whom I am going to watch the boks …aussies game mentioned the dup brothers and certain complications…..but again it was in confidence….glad it is being sorted !
4 Aug 2011, 10:55 am
@grant10(grant10)-16: there are always complications grant , thats how they make more money
many people forget these factors
The family closeness counts huge in the Du Plessis households
the farm is just uo the road from Durban
Both brothers grew up as sharks supporters
Smit is not leaving so Bismark has no real competition
I hear Jannie has plans to open a practice in Durban
And of course they will now get more money
Turst me if they wanted to leave?? they would have been gone long ago
4 Aug 2011, 10:58 am
@grant10(grant10)-16: and there is that love for the Sharks jersey
, just see what happened to the LIons attemps to sign , Smitty, JPP , Beast, Kanko, and infact both Dup brothers a year or 2 ago , and quite a few more
we all know where that ended
4 Aug 2011, 11:20 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-13: 2 props, no hookers needed, but I hear you. Sharks are also building better depth(except in the centres) than the Stormers (who are giving their best talent away year after year: Hougaard, Sadie etc.)
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-12: Time will tell, but Bulls will be mid table next year IMHO. Sadie was a good buy if they use him… Vermaak was a good buy as they will need to rotate with the longer season and have backup for injuries. I feel sorry for EP, but if you want to run with the big boys you need to accept the environment and how it operates (rugby needs to become more professional – just don’t follow FIFA’s lead).
Whatever the bigger picture is (and I hope all SA teams do well next year), I just want the DuP boys to stay at The Sharks!
4 Aug 2011, 12:16 pm
once a shark, always a shark.
the sharks seem to hold onto players fora very long time and bizness is already a legend in durbs.
4 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
Sarel Pretorius signed with the Cheetahs. I thought the was a Tah?
4 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-21: That must be for CC only.
4 Aug 2011, 15:10 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-22: If so…. stupid move by the Cheetahs…. you want this guy in your Super squad if you sign him.
4 Aug 2011, 15:12 pm
Good to see Pieter Louw back and the Bulls must be smiling because their 2 new recruits are getting a lot of game time.
4 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-23: Having him for the CC only is better than nothing, I guess.
It’s good news for the Boks, as he will return to the country regularly and they can still take a look at him.
Then again if he makes the Boks, the Cheetahs will hardly see him!
4 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
If you look at the bulls recruitment strategy its actually intelligent:
15: Jurgen Visser, a deputy to Zane Kirchner, Bulls havent had a back up since Tiger Mangweni left
14: JJ Engelbrecht, is a replacement in the long term for Akona Ndungane
13: Johaan Sadie, is the spark needed at 13 because Olivier and Pretorius combination doesnt work
11: Bjorn Basson, signed to overcome the loss of Bryan Habana but also long term prospect on the wing once Akona Ndugane has retierd and when finally the Bulls managment play Van Den Heever at 15 ahead of Kirchner..
9: Jano Vermaak, a replacement for Fourie Du Preez to interlink with Francois Hougaard at no.9
5: Juandre Kruger, replaces the departing Victor Matfield
4: Willhelm Steenkamp, replaces departing Bakkies Botha
2: Willie Wepener: signed to replace the departing Gary Botha (apparently)
Also the injury to Gurthro Steenkamp came as a blessing in dicuise for the Bulls because Dean Greyling got more game time and has shown he is a quality loose head who now has bok test matches as expieriences.
4 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
Griquas backline of 2009:
15 Riaan Viljoen (now signed with Sharks)
14 Fabian Juries (signed with WP and now back at Cheetahs)
12 Barry Geel (now signed with Cheetahs)
11 Bjorn Basson (now signed with Bulls)
10 Naas Olivier (now signed with Aironi)
9 Sarel Pretorius (now signed with Waratahs / Cheetahs)
The griquas pack is actually good one:
8 Jonathan Mokouena (super rugby with Lions)
7 Davon Raubenheimer (Springbok tourist)
6 Wesley Wilkins
5 Martin Muller (former Stormer)
4 Hendrik Roodt (former Waratah)
2 Rayno Barnes (cheetah super rugby)
They also have Monty Dumond and Earl Rose as fly halves with some experience.
Had they kept the backline they could have done well, especially with an improving pack and new players such as Dusty Noble and Jean Stemmett
4 Aug 2011, 16:44 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-27: Yes, that is the cruelty of professional sport. Raubenheimer also signed at the Cheetahs. Teams like Griquas and Leopards will always be a stepping stone for young talented players and very important, coaches. It will be sad if they do’nt play in the “A” section of the CC next year.
4 Aug 2011, 16:53 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-23: Die Cheetahs is seker realisties genoeg om te besef hulle kans om die S15 te wen is uiters skraal. Hulle kan en het wel gewys hulle kan op ‘n goeie dag die “groot honde” laat tjank – soos die Crusaders.
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-24: Ek hoop net die twee aanwinste leer solank om die bal vas te hou of weg te skop
4 Aug 2011, 16:57 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-20: Don’t worry Sharkie! Those who need the DuP brothers can’t afford them and those who can afford them, do’nt want them. Maybe Bismarck, but please not the vuilgat brother.
4 Aug 2011, 20:47 pm
@ Rhys7(Rhys7), nice! If I remember correctly, brock harris, ronnie cooke and braam van straten also 1st played for griquas before moving! They can slot nicely into your team
5 Aug 2011, 08:05 am
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-26: Isnt Wilhelm Steenkamp signed to Cheetahs?
5 Aug 2011, 08:14 am
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-27: Ryhs when did Riaan Viljoen sign with Sharks ? Thought he was maybe moving to the Cape ? One to watch that guy. Watched the highlights of the WP game vs the Bulls and was reminded again just how much potential JJ and Sadie have , I cannot believe we picked someone like Poolman over JJ everytime !! Man I am soma depressed now again !
5 Aug 2011, 09:06 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-24: Nah..
Province using these two guys for all they have and then right at the end of the season they will both be crocked…. so the bulls would have bought two duds….
5 Aug 2011, 09:09 am
@Provvas(Provvas)-34: I think the other way again that we could have used this opportunity to blood new players , what is next season we have a scenario that we need a centre and and wing ? We would then have to either pluck a guy straight from club rugby with zero experience or play some over the hill player aka like when we played CJ at prop.
Just another opportunity lost for me.
5 Aug 2011, 11:22 am
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-27:
True but many of those guys Griquas bought themselves
5 Riaan Viljoen (Sharks Academy graduate)
14 Fabian Juries (was signed from the Cheetahs)
11 Bjorn Basson (Played for EP first i think)
10 Naas Olivier (WP)
9 Sarel Pretorius (made name at Falcons)
8.Mokuena (Leopards/Pukke inistitute)
etc
But yeah unfortunate,remember the Pumas a few years ago? were in same position (Brent Russell,Henno Mentz,Tim Dlulane,Gerhard Vosloo,Marco Wentzel,Pierre Uys,Gavin Passens) and it was the Falcons before them(Adi Jacobs,Ettiene Botha etc)….
Pro sport is rough….Andre Makgraaf unearthed a lot of gems at the Institutes he set up first at the Griffons and also Griquas…But questionable commercial viability of those regions and lure of the big time of Big 5 is too strong.
5 Aug 2011, 11:27 am
Hehe love the headline…no pun intended
5 Aug 2011, 11:35 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-36: That Vosloo was one heck of a promising player.
5 Aug 2011, 11:48 am
@willievz(willievz)-38:
Yeah he was,big fella too.use to like him and Tim Dlulane.
He left for France after 2006 with Lions who had dropped him onto bench.
Signed with Brive and eventually became most expensive player in France at a point in time around 2008.
Before likes of Racing Metro/Toulon came into Top 14 splashing money around for Steyn,Hayman,SBW etc
Vosloo was in running to be in French squad at some point but it has since become silent…likes of Picamoles,Quaderogo etc have come to prominence.
Very good player though.
5 Aug 2011, 13:41 pm
@grant10(grant10)-16: just to give you a final answer re the Dup brothers???
Sharks Commercial Manager Rudolf Straeuli confirmed today to the Witness that the du Plessis brother, Bismarck and Jannie, have signed new contracts that will keep them in durban until at least 2013.
Rumours earlier in the week suggested that they might want to play elsewhere after the World Cup, but we’re pleased to announce that these turned out to be spurious.
According to Straeuli, all of the Sharks senior Super Rugby squad have now committed their future to the Durban team.
5 Aug 2011, 13:42 pm
and all those thinking about how the dups will play for the cheetahs , lions , wp or bulls>??? DREAM ON