8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year.
The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May.
The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ...
Read Article
447 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All
3 Aug 2011, 22:23 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-398:
cheers mate. don’t let the poepal get to you.
3 Aug 2011, 22:24 pm
There should be no test matches played in Wc year, that will give teams ample time to prepare and also adds uncertainty to the Wc because you haven’t seen the opposition play in 12 months and cannot really measure up or take them to lightly! I’m ready for this WC, bring it on
3 Aug 2011, 22:24 pm
The weather on the East Coast of the US is stifingly hot and humid and unbearable, hence no need for shirts here.
3 Aug 2011, 22:27 pm
@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-394: Suicidal stuff if it goes down like that. There will be inquiries, postmortems, reports, analysis till 2012
For AB to win this WC they have to beat France, Argentina/England, SA & Aus
Tough road.
3 Aug 2011, 22:29 pm
Is it true that an IP is considered by many to be a sort of signature? Just wondering thats all.
3 Aug 2011, 22:29 pm
@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-402:
I’ve said it repeatedly. Don’t play the 3N in a WC year.
But other warm-up matches this weekend.
Ire v Scot
Wales v England.
Gotta watch Wales seeing our first WC game.
And who knows maybe Ireland in the SF.
3 Aug 2011, 22:30 pm
@ I am a stormer(I am a stormer), Spot on mate but saders did that against the reds but reds still manage to win the final! @ Mustard, between du preez, james and fransie we cover all kicking aspects brilliantly, leave one trick pony steyn on the bench! Hehe I’m also outa here, guru over and out
3 Aug 2011, 22:30 pm
@ET.(ET.)-403: Is that why you troll on keo…..u an expat…..missing SA much?
3 Aug 2011, 22:32 pm
@ET.(ET.)-403:
Seems like it fried your brain as well. What’s left of it anyway.
3 Aug 2011, 22:33 pm
cheerio cheers, gents and others.
3 Aug 2011, 22:33 pm
I tire of toying……
Time for bed. if I had lived in the muddy isle I would have hung around for a while longer…..
3 Aug 2011, 22:34 pm
How totally deficient can a ‘mind’ be?
Bledisloe amounts to not much relative to a TN Cup and absolutely NOTHING in a WC year where it is definitely ALL about the WCup.
Some mothers’ children find life so demanding.
3 Aug 2011, 22:35 pm
@Bhloo(redj)-405: Kind of in a way, your IP address could be viewed as the signature of your computer. Say you in a network then your IP identifies who you are and your location based on the pc you using.
3 Aug 2011, 22:36 pm
Cheers im out too, nice chatting
3 Aug 2011, 22:37 pm
Seems like you tire of old age and mental deficiency. I told you go to bed.
Here the sun is still high in my heaven and at least 4 hours of sunshine awaits the nightfall.
3 Aug 2011, 22:41 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-408:
Your Vaalie boet wanted to know about the weather where I am, so I obliged the golden oldy.
Be kind to the geriatric community. You too may get there.
3 Aug 2011, 22:48 pm
@Bhloo(redj)-405:
Yes and my IP leads right to my laptop in my house right now. happy?
3 Aug 2011, 22:56 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-59:
Sheeew.. You have lost the plot, your anger for Keo and his “Scripes” has blinded you to some of the simplest facts of modern Rugby.
Let me tell you some very simple facts about FSteyn –
He is one of the most talented & Exciting Players of modern rugby.
He is one of the hardest defenders and strongest of ball carriers the bok backs have possessed.
He can kick a ball over 5 international Italians heads blindfolded pic it up of the ground with one hand in full flight and beat all 7 to the try-line..
He can slot a ball over 60meters & in RWC Conditions Just like he DID in 2007, not to mention sink drop goals from his own half in play..
He is calculating, he is intelligent he is hard & a born natural and feared by any player with a brain.
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-68:
Very well said – Short and sweet! Although I could not hold back with all this juicy banter going, **** bleak I missed it earlier!
3 Aug 2011, 22:59 pm
Eish The time of night and wear on my brain from a long day’s graft is terribly evident in my banter :O
3 Aug 2011, 22:59 pm
@keo(keo)-50:
Very True This!
“@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-33: Brussouw, if he is fit, will only play against certain opposition, but against Wales they want three tall lineout specialists at the tail and also gives them options at kick-offs. They don’t fear any Welshmen when it comes to the skill of specialist opensider. Against NZ and Aus they would look at Brussouw and play Schalk exclusively as a ball carrying closed side flank or potentially even a starting No 8. Schalk will never be left out at the expense of Brussouw. They will select horses for courses ito loosies but Schalk and Juan (if fit) will start every time.”
3 Aug 2011, 23:11 pm
@keo(keo)-60: So, he has a plan, even though it’s a dumb plan? Shouldn’t he have a world-class plan? After all, he’s being paid a world-class wage. Is a dumb plan really any better than having no plan at all? Romania, Fiji, Georgia and Namibia have plans too, I dare say.
3 Aug 2011, 23:20 pm
@cab(cab)-314:
From your post #250 to 254 to this one #314 you have clearly earned the DUNCE’s cap and thus you do not qualify to be my sidekick as you are too compromised..
Besides when did E.T. ever need a sidekick against a mob of pretenders with holier-than -thou but highly questionable attitudes of seming correctness?
One of me can easily rile up 21 of you because I have the TRUTH of S.A(and more) on my side by not ever being a NATIONALIST, white or black.
That is something to be really proud of.
Keep losing, keep, keep losing. Not my fault at all you are on the wrong side, not for the first time and not in this aspect of life alone.
4 Aug 2011, 00:21 am
Bhloo
not so much inregards IP these days.
the use of Dynamic Host Control Protocol (dhcp) means a computer can have one IP address one day, but as soon as it is switched off it “loses” that address, and because of dhcp when it is next switched on it is assigned a new, available ip address.
the Mac address is a unique identifier that never changes on a PC, UNLESS you change your NIC (network interface card)
4 Aug 2011, 00:24 am
Next years bok team:
15 Gio Aplon
14 JP Pietersen
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Jean De Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Patrick Lambie
9 Francois Hougaard
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Juan Smith
6 Schalk Burger
5 Andries Bekker
4 Juandre Kruger
3 Jannie Du Plessis
2 Bismark Du Plessis
1 Tendai Mtawarira
16 Chillyboy Ralepelle
17 CJ Van Der Linde
18 Rynhardt Elstadt
19 Heinrich Brussouw
20 Jano Vermaak
21 Peter Grant
22 Juan De Jongh
23 Adrian Strauss
24 Coenie Oosthuzyen
25 Flip Van Der Merwe / Hilton Lobbers (if hes given game time in super 15)
26 Willem Alberts
27 Charl Mcloed, Rory Kockott or Dewaldt Duvenhage
28 Elton Jantjes
29 Robert Ebersohn
30 Lwazi Mvovo
4 Aug 2011, 01:47 am
(On the beach)
PDivvy: What’s that on the horizon, Rassie?
Rassie: (a long moment on the binocs) A tsunami.
PDivvy: Relax, bra. Surf’s up. Coffee Bay. Been there – done that.
Rassie: Does your mother know?
4 Aug 2011, 03:53 am
@Hendrik Pienaar: I agree. If at all possible, the holy trinity should really read: Brussow, Smith, Burger
4 Aug 2011, 05:15 am
@ET.(ET.)-403:
You think anyone cares?
Nobody likes a loud-mouthed Seppo (look that up)… add an aging, delusional, race-card pulling, ex-Japie Seppo and you can see why you’re a crowd killer…
Like a bad smell.
4 Aug 2011, 05:36 am
@ET.(ET.)-422:
One of me can easily rile up 21 of you because I have the TRUTH of S.A(and more) on my side by not ever being a NATIONALIST, white or black.
That is something to be really proud of.
jaja jou dom doos, net ‘n poepol soos jy put genot daaruit om ander mense te ontstel. That is the WHOLE TRUTH!
4 Aug 2011, 07:29 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-16: Oh Man, you must be a proper loser to dis the blog and come back for more every day.
Intellectually challenged?
4 Aug 2011, 09:02 am
@ET.(ET.)-422:
Aaaaaarrgh shurrup
4 Aug 2011, 09:18 am
In the modern game we need a game breaker on the wing. Hougaard at 11 and JPP at 14. Alternatively we need a similar game breaker at 15, but we have not had such a player since Andre Joubert. Perhaps Brent Russel, but he had defensive issues and was not treated fairly to make the position his own and lost confidence. If we are to play F Steyn at 15, we need Hougaard at 11. JPP made 14 his own, no doubt about that. I am still unconvinced about F Steyn though. He seemed way off the pace last EOYT. Anybody got any links to recent clips of him in action?
4 Aug 2011, 09:48 am
WHAT EFFING PLAN!!!!
We will not win this world cup. The performances of the last 3 seasons simply do not add up to a victorius campaign. This is a Bok side in decline and the figurehead coach has not injected enough youth into the team. The cupboard is bare.
During Div’s first tri nations we were promised expansive running rugby and the players didnt buy into it. Eventually the last game of that season against Australia the senior pro’s wrested back control and reverted to type. Div said that the result justified his new expansive game plan but it was obvious to all that the players had ignored his plan and implemented the tried and trusted game plan that won them a world cup. This was the point at which rugby people realised the new coach was simply not up to the job and that the players had staged a coup de’tat. I can’t help but laugh when watching games and the camera shows the coaches exasperated looks, as if they actually have any input! They are getting paid to wear earphones and drink energade.
This Bok team has been player run for the last 3 years of that there is no doubt. This is to blame for the stagnation we have seen. The players have a bad day and they make excuses amongst themselves there have been no repurcussions. When has a senior player been dropped?
The next coach has a terrible task ahead of him because De Villiers will be leaving the Bok squad far weaker than when he was given control. I doubt we will win a game in the next 2 tri nations tournaments which means there will be a coaching change again. The 2015 world cup can be written off right now. Perhaps we will be competitive by 2019 but a lot of things have to go right for this to happen.
The next coach will be under so much pressure to get results that we will be going back into the Strauli days where any lock who caught 2 lineouts in a row or if a centre actually showed signs of a developing side step they can look forward to a Bok cap.
The only solution I see is for SARU to pick a coach on merit not ethnicity and offer him a long term iron clad agreement. The public has to accept that results next year are going to be abyssmal but if we stick with it and slowly build an experienced core of players we might actually stand a chance of turning it around.
The thing that amazes me is that White gave us the blue print and in a matter of 4 years we have mislaid it.
4 Aug 2011, 10:14 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-398: What do you mean “closing down”
4 Aug 2011, 10:18 am
@dr dre(dr dre)-429: He didn’t diss the blog, but dissed Keo and his boys. We don’t come here for Keo’s insight.
4 Aug 2011, 10:34 am
Everybody feels the same way. We come here for the comments, not the “articles.” What we need is an alternative forum.
4 Aug 2011, 11:31 am
Is pissant leaving ? Dam , I really hope not. Too many good ones left already , I only come here for the readers comments , hardly read the articles to be honest and when I do I hardly take it serious nowdays.
PS – I see Jake recruited Grant Bell on his website.
4 Aug 2011, 11:34 am
t would appear that the prospect of watching “real rugby” between the Wallabies and the All Blacks on Saturday has done little to stop our anger about the Springboks.
Save & Share
EmailPrint Peter de Villiers, ever the instigator in getting our backs up, apparently told parliament this week that he deserves a big medal for his management of the Bok team.
Given what has transpired in the past fortnight, his timing might be a little off.
But I must admit that I’m kind of with him on this one.
That he was sharing this choice opinion with MPs, whose main claim to fame is the kind of rabid absenteeism that sometimes makes it difficult to get a quorum to pass laws, is a different point.
As Bok coach for four years, De Villiers should know that he will be deemed deserving of a medal only if his team successfully defend the World Cup.
What he – along with any other misguided soul who has been unfortunate enough to succeed in applying for the Bok coaching post – could be deserving of is a little sympathy.
Few countries treat coaches as atrociously as we do.
There’s a simple template in place when it comes to judging our coaches: if his “philosophy” doesn’t win games from the first match, we fire him, and when things don’t go his way during his tenure, we fire him.
So accepting the job means the poor blighter’s constant flirtation with being fired is officially under way.
A run of 16 wins couldn’t buy Nick Mallett a reprieve from vengeful administrators when the inevitable rough patch arrived.
Harry Viljoen, who in the 1990s got Transvaal and Western Province to play the kind of rugby we’re raving about now, was so spooked by the adverse reaction to a few losses that he played Louis Koen and Braam van Straaten in the same backline.
We’ve all forgotten about the adventurous rugby Rudolf Straeuli had the Boks play in the 2002 Tri-Nations because we weren’t winning.
There’s a whole book dedicated to Jake White’s travails, but judging by the way he’s using every opportunity to pick holes in the current Bok set-up he’s forgotten how lucky he was not to be fired before he could win the World Cup.
De Villiers is no different.
When the players didn’t take to the way he wanted them to play in 2008, he reverted to the boring but “winning” rugby that won the British & Irish Lions series and the Tri-Nations a year later.
You would have expected those wins to buy him time to do his own thing, but winning in South Africa begets more calls for the same. Yet here we are, criticising him for not changing things earlier.
And with the World Cup at stake, there are no prizes for guessing what kind of game the Boks will be playing.
If the Aussies took a similar view, we wouldn’t be raving about the Wallabies now, because that little revolution has taken the last two years to come to fruition.
Our insatiable desire to validate our lives with a Bok win at the weekend is stifling our rugby.
Think about it: the Bulls’ safety-first style dominates our horizon; the Sharks only ever play to their potential in the Currie Cup, not Super Rugby; and the Stormers – once the kings of running rugby – have now become synonymous with defending. The Cheetahs play the way they do because nobody, themselves included, honestly thinks they will win.
If we want entertainment from our rugby, we need to take a slightly less life-or-death view of it.
4 Aug 2011, 11:35 am
By Simnikiwe Xabanisa on TimesLive
4 Aug 2011, 13:00 pm
Well I glad to see the Boks have a plan and dont have a problem with the core of the last winning RWC team playing in it as long as they are in prime condition.
At least we will have experience on our side, I dont care if we play a boring brand of rugby, I love watching and supporting the Boks.
I am so looking forward to the RWC that awful feeling in your stomach when the clock ticks down in those close games wondering are we going to win or will the opposition score in the dieing minutes or overtime, the anticipation of waiting for the next game our team plays and wondering if we will win or not and if it is a knock out game the shattered nerves
4 Aug 2011, 18:33 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-435:
Well go to Pissants blog…
http://www.ruggaworld.com
4 Aug 2011, 21:20 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-437:
aka ‘Winning at all costs’
No thanks.
4 Aug 2011, 21:23 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-441: Same as winning through side entry, of side or off the all
5 Aug 2011, 07:39 am
Keo is like playboy. Nobody reads the articles and when ET and Tackles are on you can see a pair of T!ts.
5 Aug 2011, 07:46 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-441: How on earth did you get that from that post?
5 Aug 2011, 07:52 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-443:
Don’t you think you doing a disservice to t!ts?
5 Aug 2011, 11:27 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-445: Actually, yes I am.
5 Aug 2011, 12:20 pm
I think that we should wait and see what happens against Wales. For all we know guys like Frans Steyn has shed some wait, Spies sharpend up his ball protection skills in contact and a few other things have been tweeked at the camp. I trust the following team to do what most of them have done before, which is, TO WIN THE RWC.
15. Frans Steyn – World Cup winner
14. JP peterson – World Cup winner
13. Jaque Fourie – World Cup winner
12. Jean De Villiers – 2 Tri-Nations and Lions
11. Brian Habanna – World Cup winner
10. Butch James – World Cup winner
9. Fourie Du Preez – World Cup winner
8. Willem Alberts – Big and strong
7. Schalk Burger – World Cup winner
6. Jaun Smith – World Cup winner
5. Victor Matfield – World Cup winner
4. Bakkies Botha – World Cup winner
3. Jannie Du Plesis – World Cup winner
2. John Smit – World Cup winner
1. Guthro Steenkamp ( If Fit )
16. Bismark Du Plesis
17. Beast
18. Gerhard Mostert
19. Danie Rossow
20. Fracois Hougard
21. Jaun De Jong
22. Patrick Lambie
With Aplon and Brussow lurking.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All