KeoTV: Div has a definite plan

MARK KEOHANE says there is no disarray in the Bok camp and that Peter de Villiers knows exactly who will start against Wales in RWC opener. The question is whether the warriors of 2007 have anything left as a unit?

447 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 201.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-196:

From memory I think a NZ referee gets around NZ$140,000 a year. Not bad, but for a guy like Wayne Barnes?

If you can find an IT or government job that pays the same, then I don’t see the attraction, apart from ‘for the love of the game’ of course.

• 202.fromthecouch: Reply to this comment

How brave was Jake White when in 2003 he selected a group of players he believed would be world beaters 4 years down the track. He stayed loyal to his core group, blooded some youngsters in to the squad and duly won the 2007 world cup. This shows a forward-thinking approach that unless there is a major surprise around the corner, PdV simply hasn’t done. It is clear that his strategy has simply been to run with the team Jake built. He has failed to integrate new blood, while the exodus of players abroad has indicated that under PdV’s leadership there is no succession planning in keeping future Boks in the land?

• 203.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-195: Hehe, caught me red handed! But I don’t see the Wallabies negotiating that pack in a knock-out game.

@Finfan(Finfan)-197: Certainly early days Finfan, I am still hoping for a semi-final. Gotta aim for the stars, you know. As for my Griqua jumper, I will wear it again come match day. Too hot at the moment due to the heated discussions on Keo :)

• 204.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Peter De Villiers bench:~

Bismark Du Plessis
    BJ Botha
    Danie Russouw
    Heinrich Brussouw
    Ruan Pienaar
    Morne Steyn
    Gio Aplon

My prefered bench:

16 Bismark Du Plessis
    17 Jannie Du Plessis
    18 Danie Russouw
    19 Heinrich Brussouw
    20 Francois Hougaard
    21 Juan De Jongh / Patrick Lambie
    22 Gio Aplon

• 205.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

twakkies plan is to copy jake white.

• 206.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-204: My bench:

Smit
    BJ
    Danie
    Hougaard
    Lambie
    JDJ

• 207.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-205:

Yes to the tee! No suprise elements included.

• 208.keo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-170: I will deliver the piece tomorrow good sir

• 209.keo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-142: scripts are for doctors like PDivvy doesn’t coach off a clipboard I don’t talk off one

• 210.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-205: I was reading on Whites website and he says he cant understand the reasoning of bringing in Lambie so late as they invested 2 years in Morne, and it will be a waste not taking him to the WC.

• 211.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-194: I dont think the loss of Bekker is that significant as long as Matfield is fit. If however he gets injured, Bekker’s loss will be HUGE.

• 212.ET.: Reply to this comment

Where have I ever complained or made boisterous noises about refs’ bad decisions?

• 213.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-211: That’s precisely the point: you need an able replacement just in case. We had one – now we don’t. That is huge.

• 214.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-210: I agree that Steyn should go. It is non-negotiable in my opinion. As far as Lambie is concerned, I would love to see him there too. I’m sure they can make space for him, whether as 10, 12, or 15 (combined). Tough decision.

• 215.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-212: I was just hoping you’d shut up. (No hyphen, by the way.)

• 216.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-211: The loss of Bekker is huge, i would have rested Matfield against the likes of Fiji and Samoa, both not great line out exponents but both bruising encounters where a player is likely to get injured.

• 217.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-213: I’m talking about the game against NZ, or the final. One game. Even if Bekker was there, I’m not sure he would’ve been on the bench ahead of Rossouw for the simple reason the Bakkies only plays for 50-60 minutes, and the he (Rossouw), can also play 6, 7, or 8.

• 218.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-216: Sure, agree 100%. Fortunately, Matfield can rest in those games. It is not as if Samoa or Fiji can really challenge our line-out, even without VIc. But, Bekker is a big loss. No doubt.

• 219.Mustard: Reply to this comment

Im so looking forward to this WC

Cant wait for it start already, rugby everyday!

• 220.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-217: While it’s true that Bekker might not have made the team for big games if Matfield were fit, he definitely would have been in the squad. He is the only player we have who could replace Matfield. In fact, he has recently shown that he is the perfect blend of Matfield and Bakkies – the athletic lineout general with a hard edge. His loss is a massive one.

• 221.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-218: Also we shouldn’t take those okes lightly…we saw what samoa did against the aus mob with 7 changes….if play our B team we must beware, remember Tonga/Fiji ? in 2007….we almost fluffed that, then smit, matfiled, frans them came on

• 222.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-220: We agree on that 100%. Bekker for the squad, especially as cover for Matfield, was a given, and a Huge loss.
    @Mustard(Mustard)-221: For sure. You’re right. My point is just that against teams like Fiji and Samoa, I would’ve played Bekker in any case. Their line-outs are not that good, and if we have guys like Rossouw, Botha, Alberts, and Smith against them, we’ll be fine.

• 223.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-221: My worry is if we lose one of Matfield, Botha, or Rossouw. Then we’ll be in big trouble.

• 224.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-170:

I have named them all since May 2008, many times but I do know you come from the slow-thinking tribe.

So just for you: Smit(do I have enough time to breathe again?), Matfield(Jumping Jack Flash-not), Juan Smith(may not ever play again), F.DuPr.(is my shoulder still were it should be?), Bakkies Botha(‘jou siek held’), Danie Rous., Seerduim Burger, Ruan Pienaar(mental case), B.James(false knees and no arms Mum), Habana(‘net so mental’), J.DeV.(will I make it this time?),Spies(‘ek hoop dis nie my bloed maar wel my brandewyn en coke’) and a host more.

Yet all of these and more clearly exhibit mental disintergration and when they return their wives, Gfs, dogs, cats and more will have to be protected in safe homes.

• 225.ET.: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-215:

The TRUTH is never silenced as your forebears found out so rudely and you now suffer.

• 226.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-222: When I say I would’ve played Bekker against Fiji and Samoa, I dont mean to say that Bekker is far behind Matfield. I’m saying that to rest Matfield for Ireland and NZ, and because Bekker is more physical than Matfield.

• 227.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-223: If matfield/botha gets an injury then danie to start with Flip on the bench and mostert as squad cover. As long as they dont pick muller, hargreaves im happy.

• 228.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-224: Best you write letters to your president and tell him to start leading his party and country. Tell him TheAgent says that he is spineless and that he should give the US credit cards to someone that can be trusted.

• 229.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-227: Well yes, but losiong any of the 3 mentioned will be disastrous.

• 230.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-229: losiong = losing.

• 231.Mustard: Reply to this comment

You know with all these predictions and permutations of who is playing who and when…..Everything can change in one game.

I mean, we could lose to Wales or AB could lose to France, then everything changes, Aus could lose to Ireland and we could be playing them in the Quarters etc.

A lot can happen…..and it usually does.

• 232.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-231: One can expect at least one big upset. Can be NZ losing to France, SA losing to Wales or Samoa, Aus losing to Ireland. And that is just during the pool games.

• 233.Mustard: Reply to this comment

Have you okes seen the WC jerseys of the teams.

The Aus have the ugliest jersey imo lol

Samoa with blue flowers all over the chest?? :)

Argentina one and the AB one looks cool

• 234.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-233: Where did you see it?

• 235.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-232: The Irish are a worry i would pick them for an upset against Aus.

We will beat wales. France always wake up late in the WC, AB lucky they play them in the group stages and not the Quarters/semis

• 236.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-234: http://www.planetrugby.com/gallery/story/0,25928,9825_7075850,00.html

• 237.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-236: Thanks, I’ll go check it out. See you later, nice chatting.

• 238.Mustard: Reply to this comment

Also notice that the Welsh away strip is also BLACK. And they were making such a big wooha about the English choosing a black away kit and nothing said about the Welsh.

Maybe they bang the Welsh will turn their backs or go warm up during the Haka :)

• 239.John Smit is our first choice hooker: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-233:

Take a look on Silver Fern…..got all of them there.

I counted four teams that have red jerseys.

I thought the Samoan jersey looked good.

Wales have a nice looking alternate jersey…as do England ;-)

• 240.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-180:
    yip this article tomorrow promises get the poppe dancing ek se…

@keo(keo)-208:
    lol, well good luck with your tweets after that one.

dont agree tho, imo it was the correct decision to keep them on until the next RWC, but more in a bench or senior playr role like that of Os and Percy in 07. Smit is a problem cos he’s the captain, but it will be madness to leave Bismarck out. PdV has brought Bekker thru, whose out of the RWC, but both he and Matfield are lineout kings offering little in the tight. We dont have any THs and the youngest player in the pack Spies has not pulled his weight. Brussow was brought in and was specutacular in 2009 and should also start. Schalk and Juan are also competing with a very good Alberts and Vermeulen who have been brought thru at the correct times but unfortunately injured. I cant see who else should’ve been brought thru. helluva big call dropping morne steyn after 2009. Hougaards been brought in, but again it would have been a massive call to drop FdP if fit.

• 241.grant10: Reply to this comment

boks start with Plod, spies and Schalk at openside it is goodnite nurse …all over rover ….6 love….

farkit

back to the dark ages…

roll on 2012

asseblief

• 242.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

Is Keo know on Div the clowns side?
    After he attacked Div for years?

Boks are Doomed
    we all know that

• 243.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-241:

LOL :) )))

Ja boet do what i do
    Stop supporting the Boks
    until 2012

• 244.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

Div is a Straeuli Special

Dumber than Dumb

• 245.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Grant10 – Don’t be so pessimistic. If all our first choice players are at peak fitness by RWC, the Boks will be a force!!

I wonder if anyone has noticed that pre RWC 2007 White never went with his B team on the away leg of 3N and stayed behind with A team. This year PDV went away with the B side and left the A team with Rassie.

Could it be that Rassie has demanded more time with the players without PDV? Or PDV realises he is out of his depth and would rather let Rassie’s influence, influence the team?

I do flippin hope so!!

• 246.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-209:

But you think he is a clown! Surely you don’t want to be classed in the same category?

Anycase, can be done on editing, more professional and all you know.

• 247.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

We can work on your make up a bit too…

• 248.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

The missing link: Schalk Brits. Aus/NZ would be terrified if he came off the bench in the World Cup. Unfortunately, no planning has been made for extremely tactical plays. It is like leaving out Lionel Messi from Barcelona.

• 249.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-248:

Don’t know where you came up with the nick, but on your comment, Bok and SA Rugby in general do not include any tactical application in game strategy that requires the type of play from a tight 5 forward the likes Brits has.

• 250.cab: Reply to this comment

dunno whos posting under jinx’s nickname but that is bullshit if u r aware of the situation and lookig for a reaction. have some common decency.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.