No room for Lambie
5 Aug 2011
Patrick Lambie has been left out of the 24-man Springbok squad selected for the Tri-Nations Tests in South Africa.
As expected, coach Peter de Villiers has recalled the majority of the players that were precluded from the Australasian tour. The players that won’t be considered due to injuries are Schalk Burger (hand), Juan Smith (Achilles), Andries Bekker (ankle), Willem Alberts (shoulder), Johann Muller (hamstring) and Duane Vermeulen (knee).
Surprisingly, Lambie is excluded from the group, as Butch James and Morne Steyn are listed as the flyhalf options. Chiliboy Ralepelle also hasn’t made the 24-man cut despite his impressive efforts on tour.
Burger, Smith and Alberts won’t be considered for the Test against Australia on 13 August, but will join the squad in Durban and continue with their rehabilitation. Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test.
The big bolter is Gerhard Mostert, who wins a place in the squad ahead of Bulls No 4 lock Flip van der Merwe. Mostert made his debut against the All Blacks last week.
‘It’s very satisfying to see that Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha have now largely overcome their injuries but they still require management as we have a shortage of fit locks at the moment,’ said De Villiers.
‘We also have injury problems among the loose forwards but I am hopeful that all of the four who are not currently in the playing squad will be ready for selection by the time of the World Cup.’
The squad will assemble in Durban on Sunday.
Springbok Squad for Tri-Nations home Tests:
BACKS:
Gio Aplon
Frans Steyn
JP Pietersen
Bryan Habana
Jaque Fourie
Juan de Jongh
Jean de Villiers
Morne Steyn
Butch James
Ruan Pienaar
Fourie du Preez
Francois Hougaard
FORWARDS:
Pierre Spies
Jean Deysel
Danie Rossouw
Bakkies Botha
Victor Matfield
Gerhard Mostert
John Smit (c)
Bismarck du Plessis
Tendai Mtawarira
Jannie du Plessis
Gurthrö Steenkamp
CJ van der Linde

435 Comments
5 Aug 2011, 14:57 pm
Home dragons
5 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
Oh dear. The bad decisions just keep on coming.
5 Aug 2011, 15:00 pm
F uck my dog! Ruan P is still there!
5 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
Just 2 loose forwards?
5 Aug 2011, 15:02 pm
Aplon is great, for a super rugby player, not test level though. The guy tackles and has heart, but he does lose meters in the collision.
5 Aug 2011, 15:03 pm
@gecko: wellspotted ROFL!
5 Aug 2011, 15:04 pm
Makes sense, they invested 2 years in M. Styen, he will not be dropped now.
5 Aug 2011, 15:04 pm
@gecko(gecko)-4: Yes, they will count Daniesaurus but WTF?! Do they simply not want to win any games in this 3N?
5 Aug 2011, 15:05 pm
How do you have a 24-man squad? And the two unlucky players left out for this game are …
5 Aug 2011, 15:05 pm
be prepared for a huge pack:
8 Spies
7 Deysel
6 Rossouw
5 Matfield
4 Botha
5 Aug 2011, 15:06 pm
Congrats to Deysel & Mostert.
Unlucky Patrick, your time will come.
What about Brussow?
Where is Brüssow?
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-8: Fine, Danie might play 7, that still means no replacement. Was the big Rustenburg secret Bismarck moving to openside?
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-10: Pity only 3 of them ar evaguely capable of tackling…
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-5:
Aplon tackles?
Since when, must be a new meaning to the word now, I’ll have to check the dictionary
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-12: Never mind that, where is The Steg?
5 Aug 2011, 15:07 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-9:
de Jongh
Pienaar / hougaard
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-10: So Rossouw is our fetcher now?!
That loose forward combination is going to be interrestig
5 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-18: It was a joke. The squad should be bigger than this. For each of the two remaining games, you need 22 players.
5 Aug 2011, 15:09 pm
I guess they’ve had enough of Wynand Olivier.
Or is this just the training stretch-B?
Am I missing something? They cannot make up a loose trio and subs out of those names…..
I would not be surprised if Snor asks Smit to play loose forward?
Lambie is being saved for the RWC.
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-13:
currie cup! getting all the rust cleaned out. he can only give 1 or 2 games before his dodgy knee comes to the fore.
5 Aug 2011, 15:10 pm
So no Brussow, maybe he’s still not 100%…..a bit baffled at Lanmbie’s omission…compare his performance to Steyn’s all season…..Steyn is clearly not the FH to take us forward, and Butch is getting a bit log in the tooth…
How did CJ and Ruan P make it back in?
5 Aug 2011, 15:12 pm
This can’t be all of the players.
Some are still going to return of injury of be added, surely. They can’t form a backrow out of those names and subs.
The backs are covered and at least we’ve got an experienced tighthead now.
Oh em gee.
Don’t tell me…..Don’t tell me Bismarck is going to shift to flank
5 Aug 2011, 15:12 pm
When will it read ” P.DeVilliers left out of home tests”
5 Aug 2011, 15:13 pm
This way, if we lose again, then PdV can just say that he has learnt something from the loss(four years on and he’s still learning on a weekly basis) – “You know Darren, I just forgot to include a fetcher, but we will write this in our lessons learned homework book, and move on.”
5 Aug 2011, 15:13 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-24: Yea but he needs game time , esp if the scrummie’s from the Bulls….I’m guessing they want to see how M Steyn goes with Fourie DPreez back
5 Aug 2011, 15:14 pm
Can anyone on here tell me how Deysel has managed to make this squad ?
5 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-30:
You’re probably right…duh Villiers is still trying to figure out if Ruan Pienaar and Morne Steyn are as useless as we all know they are.
5 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
no chiliboy?
5 Aug 2011, 15:17 pm
@jigga(jigga)-31:
have you ever seen a headlock&chokehold as perfectly executed by Deysel?? Klap gym boet.
5 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
@charo(charo)-33: Indeed! This squad can’t be right.
@charo(charo)-33:
not needed as there will be 2 hookers on the park, smit @ 2 BdP @ 7
No fetcher means no contesting which means our scrum will just keep going backwards like in the All Blacks game. Deysel is being wasted in there without Bakkies too. Those two boys (and Bekker when he’s fit) will pulverise the opposition….but we need a fetcher.
5 Aug 2011, 15:19 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-3:
i will ffuck your dog!…i know hey? wtf?
it boggle the mind to see he has 49 caps? wow! i will ffuck your dog harder for that…
5 Aug 2011, 15:21 pm
One thing I do agree with is picking Gerhard Mostert ahead of Flip van der Merwe. Mostert played much better in Australasia than Flip ever has in green and gold.
5 Aug 2011, 15:22 pm
brussow will play for the cheetahs against wp and THEN will be assessed, can’t you guys read?
5 Aug 2011, 15:22 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-39:
agreed, BUT how cool is the name Flip? you cant leave him out cuz of that now can you..
5 Aug 2011, 15:23 pm
province must not ffuck around with brussel p during the game.
have always said that morne steyn is going to be our kicker…tut tut tut…patrick lambie? pfffffft…se voet tut tut tut…
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-37: What are you talking about? how does not having a fetcher affect your scrum? Perhaps your forwards will be more tired and won’t push as much, but I get the feeling you didn’t think it through that far. And Bakkies is in the squad.
@Transformation(Transformation)-40:
hey cun t, the article has been changed numerous times by whatever ape is posting this.
5 Aug 2011, 15:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-40: That info came later, China.
5 Aug 2011, 15:24 pm
where is stegmann, has he vanished from this list too?
5 Aug 2011, 15:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-40:
It wasn’t in the updated article before we posted our comments.
In answer to your question; yes, we can read.
5 Aug 2011, 15:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-46:
that oak is horse ****, thank god, you heathen!
5 Aug 2011, 15:26 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-47: cool bananas
5 Aug 2011, 15:27 pm
Brussouw to be added to the Loosies for the test (Lets hope his dodgy knee makes it through the CC game unscathed.) Rossouw to cover Lock, Eight and blind side of the bench (MVP Player best we wrap him in cotton wool esp. if Jaun Smith Does make it back in time for RWC). with Deysel and Spies @ 7 and 8 respectively.
Not a bad squad, but would’ve found space for Lambie.
5 Aug 2011, 15:28 pm
Anyone know how FdP & ViccyM’s hunting trip went in Rustenberg? hear they nailed a Zeebraaa
5 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
*****/" rel="nofollow">http://www.hayibo.com/matfield-hunting-pic-psychopath-or-just-tiny-*****/
5 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
“Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test. ”
So Brussouw is likely to be included in the squad next week, so the squad is right.
If he is they wont start him, they will ease him in and play off the bench against Aus then maybe start against AB if all goes well.
Against Aus:
6. Deysel
7. Roussow
8. Spies
19. Brussouw
Against AB:
6.Brussouw
7.Roussow
8. Burger
19. Smith
5 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
hahahahahahahaha…
plod, spies and morne steyn.
poor grantie is going to need a lie down when reads this.
5 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
http://www.hayibo.com/matfield-hunting-pic-psychopath-or-just-tiny-peni s/
clear the space at the end to find the link etc.
5 Aug 2011, 15:32 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-54: bwhahahahaha
5 Aug 2011, 15:35 pm
@mustard: If brusouw on the bench for 1st test then best loosie Combo is:
6) Spies (More speed to the breakdown than Deysel)
7) Deysel
8) Rossouw (He needs game time here before the WC)
5 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
Now this is a better bok team, except for spies and morne steyn! ai tog, wanneer gaan hulle leer?
5 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-54: He’ll head to the gym to train off his frustration
5 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-55: Nice.
5 Aug 2011, 15:38 pm
Who picked this team? Richie McCaw or Tannie Evita Bezuidenhout? Facing the best loose-forward trio in the world with only one recognised loosie. This is the epitome of true madness. Get rid of Tim Noakes and get a good psychiatrist on board!
@rugga bugga(rugga bugga)-57: spies “fetching”? bwahahaha forget it!
Jean deysel will be the fetcher! This is going to be very interesting, hopefully for the Boks Brussouw pulls through the WP game unscathed. Looking at that squad do you get the feeling that things may just not work out?
5 Aug 2011, 15:39 pm
@rugga bugga(rugga bugga)-57: What would Spies do when he got to the breakdown? Check out Richie’s ***? Don’t talk kak.
very strange – no room for lambie yet we have 3 9s during a home series.
Funny how the only guy that made every tackle and missed none against the All Blacks are out whilst the worst defensive players against the Wallabies and All Blacks, John Smit and Danie Rossouw, are sitting at the front of the bus.
Keo, why not do a pole on how many tackles Smit, Spies and Danie will slip in Durban?
@Michael(mikeybrass)-59:
A double dancercise opfok with jr
5 Aug 2011, 15:41 pm
@Boom15(Boom15)-65: Ruan and Hougaard are considered ‘utility’ players, i.e. can play most positions in the backline. Only specialist scrummie is Du Preez.
best team from this group
1. guthro
2. smittie
3. jannie
4. bakkies
5. matfield
6. jean deysel
7. danie
8. spies
9.fourie
10. james
11. hougaard
12. jdv
13. jacques
14. jpp
15. steyntjie
16. mosterd
17. bissie
18. cj
19. aplon
20. habana
21. aplon
And this is a story?
Head over to a real rugby site!
5 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
so happy gurthro’s back
5 Aug 2011, 15:43 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-55:
I didn’t get very far with that, but being shot is a much more humane way for an animal to die than getting eaten alive by lions, or dying of starvation, and if herbivore numbers in certain areas aren’t kept under control that is what happens.
@kwas(kwas)-66: Spies will be the winner
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-69:
A bench has 7 players.
5 Aug 2011, 15:44 pm
@rugga bugga(rugga bugga)-57: Spies play to the ball at openside?????? No ways boet…..neverrrrr
Deysel on the other hand plays to the ball quite well, often came on for the sharks and played as a fetcher, Spies cant.
Also Danie is looked as back up for Juan not as an 8th man……In fact its more likely than not that Schalk will be at 8 come the WC
5 Aug 2011, 15:45 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-69: steyn @ a5 before aplon? that is madness!
Okay, so…
Bekker is definitely out of contention due to injury.
If the other first-choice injured Boks recover in time, then the RWC squad will look like:
1. Steenkamp
2. Mtawarira
3. Smit
4. B Du Plessis
5. Ralepelle
6. J Du Plessis
7. Van Der Linde
8. Bakkies Botha
9. Rossouw
10. Matfield
11. Mostert
12. Burger
13. Brussow
14. Smith
15. Alberts
16. Spies
17. Du Preez
18. Pienaar
19. Hougaard
20. James
21. M Steyn
22. Habana
23. De Villiers
24. De Jongh
25. Fourie
26. Pieterson
27. Aplon
28. F Steyn
29. Lambie
With the final place secured by one of:
BJ Botha, Flip Van Der Merwe, Johann Muller (or will he take Mostert’s place above if fit?), Jean Deysel, Duanne Vermeulen (are Kankowski and Flouw out for sure?), Wynand Olivier, Adrian Jacobs or Lwazi Mvovo…
Who will lucky number 30 be??????
ps. why only 3 loosies? where is kanko and daniels? who’s going to cover for these guys? mosterd?
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-70:
au contraire…to all the lambie manboy lovedaddies it is a very big story.
5 Aug 2011, 15:46 pm
Im worried about the loose trio most of all here.
All else is falling into place quite nicely.
Rossouw was looking very tired and slow overseas, watching him get sidestepped and beat by one of the Franks brothers is not something I like to see happen to a loosie.
I think he should be an out and out 4 reserve. Thats it.
I suppose when Brussow, Smith, Burger and Alberts return things will be a lot better.
Very slow pack against the Ausies though.
1 Beast
2 Smit
3 Jannie
4 Bakkies
5 Matfield
6 Deysel
7 Rossouw
8 Spies
Talk about 1 dimensional. I think Beast will almost be the most mobile player on the park.
5 Aug 2011, 15:47 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-55: Hahaha this from that article
“Obviously Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez didn’t shoot it for fun, because killing animals for pleasure is a major trait of serial killers,” said one expert. “But perhaps it’s part of some sort of treatment for men with microscopically small penises.”
Initial reports suggested that the photograph was downloaded from niche *** website, HomoeroticBloodfestRetards.com, however, it was later confirmed that Matfield had in fact posted it on his Twitter feed. But experts are still divided whether he did this to out himself as a sociopath who needs to get his jollies by butchering defenceless animals, or whether he was simply compensating for something.”
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-74: add ruan pienaar to the mix then.
Transie: kandi jonge le team, ingathi iABs zithethe noPdV, uba zizakutyiwa la bafana. Intle, lento ndiyi bona apha, ngumculo, it’s a music! LoL
@kwas(kwas)-68: I hear you, but we only have 1 backup centre and 1 fulback (assuming Gio’s demonstrated kicking game will make him a specalist wing from now on)- lambie could cover 10,12, 15- just gives you more options for the bench imo.
5 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-80: yes, we will struggle to contain the ausies with this pack.
5 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-75:
Who said he was going to “play to the ball”?
Spies got Man Of The Match against the All Blacks when he was 21-years old in the Tri nations in 2006 and that was at 6.
So what’s the problem?
5 Aug 2011, 15:49 pm
Thankfully de Villiers was not as stupid as the doff lunatics that praised Bambie. We have a real 10 with a real pack. Much better.
Backline
9 Fourie
10 Butch
11 Habs
12 Jean
13 Jacque
14 JP
15 Frans
20 Hougaard, 21 Morne, 22 Aplon/DeJongh.
Not too shabby Nige.
butch wont play as well off fdp as morne will. besides you dont have him on the bench, who will come on for him if his injured? aplons twin?
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-82:
Sommer net huh?
Who’s gonna cover loosie for you then? Bismarck?
5 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-86: the problem is that he is utterly useless and k a k! can’t tackle for s h y t and doesn’t know how to run around players. there’s your problem. not at all dynamic enough.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-72:
That website shouldnt be taken seriously, just pokes fun at everything. Funny as hell though
Your time will come Lambie.
Really feel for Lambie. One of the best players on tour and left out?
Ruan and Morne never impressed at all. Fact Morne was woeful.
Anyhow rather see Lambie in a far more exciting Bok team come next year. Where we will play a better game.
Kick and chase don’t suite his game anyhow.
But well done to Mostert and Deysel.
this is almost as good as it gets … throw Bruzzy in the mix and move Spies to the bench and we can win the world cup with it
Hoping the idea is to keep the other teams away from Lambie and not that he is out of favour for some reason …
add the injured players to the list and you go
5 Aug 2011, 15:52 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-82:
And then you have 4 backs on the bench then BTW.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-90: that’s my question. there are only 3 loosies in the entire squad….one of which isn’t actually one anymore. pakslae is getting old.
wtf is morne “I only feel save behind my own poles that’s why I lie so deep” doing there? please **** up the 3N for us Morne coz then maybe PdV will be finally convinced that you ain’t worth a steaming bucket of dog ****
5 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-89: he seemed to do ok in the WC
And the All Blacks will usurp the Bok test record of fielding a starting 15 with the most caps in history when they face Australia on Saturday.
So all this talk of the Boks being too old (in playing terms or age), I’m not buying it.
There is the core group and then there are Ralepelle, Bismark and Jannie Du Plessis (to a large degree), Brussow, Alberts, Hougaard, M. Steyn, Lambie, De Jongh, Aplon and possibly Mostert (plus Bekker who, unfortunately, won’t make it) who have all come through at test level during the PDV era.
That’s a third of the RWC squad.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-86: So then he going to play blindside flank?? and Deysel fetch at 7, wont make a difference, he will be a disaster at 7. In 2006? Thats 5 years ago. 5 Years ago Habana was racing cheetahs
5 Aug 2011, 15:54 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-100: sorry disaster at 6
5 Aug 2011, 15:55 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-87: Let us hope Butch don’t get injured. He is our number one fh but Morne was just absolutely dreadful on tour. Lambie far better. BUT that kick and chase game suits Morne. If he can play it right that is, but last year was awful at it and again this year.
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-91:
Well, his tackle efficiency was the same as Burger’s and the only other lossie to make more tackles than him was Stegmann.
So what exactly is the problem? He can’t run around players?
Did you see his try against the Crusaders in the S14 semi final, actually both semi finals.
So I’m still not sure what the problem is :/
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-103:
*loosie
Man, there are some strange people on here. It seems that if Agile can’t have Stegmann at 6 he’ll take Spies. And Alucard thinks M Steyn is a real 10.
5 Aug 2011, 15:57 pm
I actually think the fact that additional loose forward was not included is in fact a good sign…..means the rest of the loosies are pretty much close to fitness bar Juan
5 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
I see people writing off Morne Steyn, who only last year were bearing him with gifts! I’ve never been a fan but it’s interesting how quickly these chaps can fall from grace, just like that. Oh well, we all have a WC to attend gentlemen.
5 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
I think they will probably add both Brussow and Stegmann to the group next week.
Burger is still recovering from his op I think. Burger might make the final game.
5 Aug 2011, 16:00 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-105:
No, I was just responding to a guy that says Spies is a total disaster @6, when in fact he played a MOTM performance at 6 when he was still very young and inexperienced.
It’s not a trainsmash, I think both Brussowtjie and Steggies are going to be added for the Aus game.
5 Aug 2011, 16:02 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-109: Sorry, I can’t help but yank your chain
@Boom15(Boom15)-98:
because his fullback took all his kicks for him…he just had to focus on making sure to use the arms, to use the arms…
What is the chance of them trying Mostert as a flank replacement?
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-108:
You are deluded.
Brussow will be there.
But as for that other guy…
5 Aug 2011, 16:03 pm
Nice group. Obviously with Brussouw and Juan Smith still to be added once fit.
The current loose trio will be interesting. Spies to move back to flank perhaps – which is where he produced his man of the match performances for the Boks prior to his illness?
This is obviously our best squad. Like I said before the NZ test – experimenting with Lambie now achieved absolutely nothing as it is too late to include him for this World Cup.
Looking forward to the PE test, which I will be attending.
5 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
Jake would love this loose trio. JdJ is the backup fetcher loosie. He hit more rucks and the breakdowns than any of our loosies over the last two weeks.
5 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
If Steggman plays, only the Lord will save the Boks. Iyakuba litheko kaNomsa!
5 Aug 2011, 16:07 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-109: that was in 2006……5 Years ago and on form…….like i said 5 years ago Habs was racing cheetahs
Take into account a dramatic loss in form, and you want him to play in a position that he unfamiliar with, and last played there 5 years ago…..yes it would be a monumental disaster .
5 Aug 2011, 16:07 pm
To all the Morne haters out there. There is no way, I repeat, no way, the Boks can go into a semi at the WC without him at least on the bench. If Butch has an off day with the boot, Steyn can and will save the day. Do not step on the toes of the player who’s toe is attached to the foot that is attached to the leg that is attached to the *** of the player you might just have to kiss soon.
5 Aug 2011, 16:09 pm
Look, why didn’t these guys include at least one more loose forward? Something smells……
5 Aug 2011, 16:10 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-118: We like Morne’s foot just fine. It’s his ballas we’re worried about – he doesn’t seem to have any.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-114:
What is with you Bulls fans?
Stegmann will not be there.
Spies should struggle to play in his preferred position during the tournament if all of Brussow, Smith and Burger are fit.
And Lambie will go to the World Cup.
@puff(puff)-113:
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-116:
agile at least has the decency to back his reasons for manboy love up with some convincing looking stats. you guys just keep saying he was kak because you had a ‘feeling’ he was? or what? how do get to your conclusions? back it up
@puff(puff)-113: @David(David)-115: @mpundulu(mpundulu)-116:
Guys, we already went through this, Stegmann was a kickass A-team player in a struggling C-team. I gave you guys a short analysis and pointed out the scenarios where Stegmann was left to fight alone at the breakdown.
I gave you the exact minute and second to look it up for yourself in the game to see if I was making sense and I am just spot-on.
He still did more work than any other Bok in both tests, just as I said he would.
Don’t hate guys, sies, this is the New South Africa, be chill.
5 Aug 2011, 16:11 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-119: We have to assume they’re going to do a Heinrich maneuver.
mostert was the sharks stand out tight forward for the past year.
only a bolter to those that cannot see.
flip’s lack of game time hasn’t helped. that will rectify itself next season.
which moron actually ever thought that Lambie would make a full strengh match day 22?
our backrow looks very dodgy.
maybe Spies at 7?
Deysel at 6?
Danie at 8?
….doesn’t look right to me.
Plenty of lineout options and collision kg’s but missing something?
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-120: How did you come to that conclusion? Or is it just trash talk?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-114: are you a PE boy?
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-119:
Brussow is getting much needed game time at CC level this weekend and then he will join up with the squad.
Don’t be surprised to see him in the run-on Bok side with Deysel on the bench for the next test.
@puff(puff)-121:
Whatever you say, champ.
5 Aug 2011, 16:12 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-114:
good, you can blow kisses to grant10…he’ll be there too.
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-124:
lol explain?
Lambie is a strange omission.
Mostert is a good selection.
5 Aug 2011, 16:13 pm
@David(David)-115:
yeah, and the looseforwards all pass a hell of a lot more than he ever has.
he’s as ordinary as any ordinary center SA has ever had.
5 Aug 2011, 16:13 pm
@puff(puff)-128: true.
5 Aug 2011, 16:14 pm
@puff(puff)-121: Burp.
5 Aug 2011, 16:14 pm
@puff(puff)-121:
lambie to the world cup haaaaa! keep puffing you magic dragon…keep puffing…
5 Aug 2011, 16:16 pm
Let’s just hope Brussow does not get injured again.
5 Aug 2011, 16:16 pm
3 scrummie’s in this team, only 2 loosies
5 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-126: The guy doesn’t tackle. Hardly at all. And he stands so deep his scrumhalf thinks he’s only five feet tall.
5 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-118:
amen to that!…
they’d let morne stick his ddick in their botties once he saves the day for them and just fall head over heels all again.
5 Aug 2011, 16:18 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-131: They’ll add Brussow to the squad if he comes through a CC game OK.
@Papoose(papaown)-138:
what can we say?…ruan’s muti’s powerfull…
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-123:
Hey, I didn’t say a word about Stegmann.
5 Aug 2011, 16:19 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-139: In fact in Australasia Ruan took the ball up himself once because he mistook Morne for P Diddy.
5 Aug 2011, 16:19 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-123: Wow what a surprise – I´m utterly shocked how they could leave out the scintillating Stegmann. And they included that big good for nothing lazy *** Deysel instead of Steggies. Mine god. I would never have said it. But I think personally maybe theyre just resting Steggies for his starting role in the WC. Ive got some insider info that the whole Brussouw thing is just a ruse. He apparently istn even coming back to 15 man rugby and is thinking of switching to indoor football. Those Kiwis wont know what hit them when we unleashe the Daniesaur and Steggiesaur on them in tandem at the WC. Viva Steggies! Viva!
5 Aug 2011, 16:20 pm
@David(David)-143:
Yeah, but your post contained an inaccuracy that I corrected for you.
5 Aug 2011, 16:20 pm
I wonder what it took the ‘*selectors’ to drop Chillibooi and Johnson?
A flury of calls to CT and back I guess, Nama1 would be able to brief us on this one?
5 Aug 2011, 16:21 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145:
I’m not surprized, Brussow wasn’t named. They are both in.
5 Aug 2011, 16:23 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-148:
Schalk and Brussow, if fit, will be the two 6′s that go to the WC.
5 Aug 2011, 16:24 pm
@David(David)-149:
and if not fit?
5 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
Morne Steyn – hope this is just merely to give him a last chance to redeem himself – if theyre honestly thinking of having him as the 2nd flyhalf in the squad we are doomed. He has been severely poor of late.
Ruan Pienaar – wow he did such a lot for his inlusion on the tour. Hope this is the same as the Morne Steyn case but I fear not – regardless this plonking useless player will go to the WC. Poor old Sarel – what a travesty.
Pierre Spies – time to haal uit en wys bud. Haal uit en wys. Considering Vermeulen is out injured and Kanko is nowhere in the squad anymore I wonder who will be the official 8 backup at WC? Alberts, Burger or Danie?
Jean Deysel – good inclusion.
Gerhard Mostert – he played well – will be good to see how he goes if he gets game time – bit late to be blooding players though no?
Pretty stupid leaving out Lambie in favour of Pienaar or Morne. Its pointless. Lambie needs more game time too if he´s going to the cup. If they dont take him it will be yet another travesty.
5 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-150: Then you’ll probably get your wish.
5 Aug 2011, 16:27 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-152:
My wish is for the best players to be chosen on merit
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-150: Deysel – Stegmann can forget about it – he´s not a fetchers a-hole.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-150: Dream on. Stegmann had his chances and screwed them up. He works hard, but achieve nothing. He is not assertive and has no presence. He is not even in the Bulls run-on side this weekend. Please stop this now – you are making a real fool of yourself. Even if Burger is not fit, someone else, hopefully Keegan Daniel, will take his place.
5 Aug 2011, 16:28 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-147:
give it a rest will you….
there was only ever two hookers in contention for the wc, you know that.
same for johnson, you know well who the loosies were always going to be, notwithstanding injuries to some, there was already a decision problem about who to pick. johnson was never in.
@Hondo(Hondo)-147:
Chillibooi will be in the WC squad. 3 hookers are mandatory if one of them is also doubling as a prop.
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-142: but this is where we ned some savvy, how important is it to test 3 scrummie’s as opposed to having options at loosie
what if Spies, Deysel or Russow gets injured?
then we are FARKED
5 Aug 2011, 16:30 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-158:
Not if it’s Spies.
5 Aug 2011, 16:30 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-155: Theres a host of players who will take Burger or Brussouws place ahead of Stegmann, Francois Louw, Deysel, Keegan Daniels to name jsut 3. I would even take Derrick Minnie ahead of Stegmann.
5 Aug 2011, 16:31 pm
Lambie should’ve been there, not Morne. Lambie has flair but Morne kicks better. Lambie can tackle, Morne doesn’t even try. I can just imagine what the game plan is going to be. Lambie, in a strong team, is better than Morne, also in a strong team. Remember the S15 game against the Bulls? the Currie Cup final last year?
5 Aug 2011, 16:31 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-83: ndiyakuva ingathi wonwabile.
5 Aug 2011, 16:32 pm
@David(David)-157:
@David(David)-159:
thats two side entries hehehe
5 Aug 2011, 16:34 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-154: @Finfan(Finfan)-155:
I’m just trying to help you guys out. He does work hard, and he could have gotten 5 turnovers against the All Blacks instead of his 2 and I pointed out exactly where and how. He gets great support players around him at the Bulls, the whole tight 5 and bench are Boks.
I explained these examples very carefully and if Stegmann made 5 turnovers they would have praised him, but he made 2 instead, and he would not have done anything differently, only the support has to keep their eyes and ears open.
Now what’s wrong with that? He showed that he is an A-team player. Don’t harp on your hate, supply some good comments and refer to the games and the specific passages of play. I did it, because you don’t find articles on the web that point every aspect of the game out.
Do that and then argue with me.
To say that you don’t care to is just admitting you don’t have a good reason, you hate a player because of your provincial bias or whatever.
Relax he’s a heck of a flank.
5 Aug 2011, 16:34 pm
Only Five loose forwards are going to the WC given that Danie also covers the loosies.
Those are: Brussouw, Schalk, Juan, Alberts, Spies
Finish n klaar
5 Aug 2011, 16:35 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-151: Agree with you.
@Finfan(Finfan)-161: Agree.
I think we gonna play the kick and chase game. Ryan was correct we just don’t have any plan for this wc. Our kick and chase game cost us huge last year.
5 Aug 2011, 16:37 pm
Also like Keo alluded to some time in the week, Brussouw will never replace Burger…..Burger will always be included, either at 6 or at 8
5 Aug 2011, 16:38 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-156: David is right. We normally take 3 hookers to the world cup. Chili will go to wc.
That leaves us another 5 spaces left. 30 in the squad.
Will only know who is going after the 3N.
5 Aug 2011, 16:38 pm
15. Morne Steyn; 14. Jean de Villiers 13. Jaque Fourie 12. Juan de Jongh 11. Gio Aplon 10. Ruan Pienaar 9. Hougaard 8. Spies 7. Rossouw 6. Bismarck du Plessis 5. Mostert 4. Matfield 3. CJ van der Linde 2. John Smit 1. Steenkamp. Nice team – better than the overseas leg.
5 Aug 2011, 16:39 pm
Don’t read too much into this people. The journos are desperate for news. This isn’t newsworthy and I doubt it has much to do with the RWC squad. It’s the other half getting a run,
5 Aug 2011, 16:39 pm
Cheers everyone. Catch up later.
GO SHARKS for later.
5 Aug 2011, 16:41 pm
Lambie’s been shanked in favour of the two Steyns: they have more experience and Frans can cover the same positions that Lambie covers. Only problem is, Lambie’s the most in-form and most talented of the three. Pity.
5 Aug 2011, 16:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-164: Can you repeat the minute / second he made his “contributions”? I forgot to watch the game again. Once was enough – I almost vommited…
5 Aug 2011, 16:42 pm
Well this is a surprising narrowing of choice – Gurthro and FdP havent’ played in ages and if Brussow is out it seems they going to play Deysel at openside. Should be v interesting to see who is selected for the 1st home test. Lets hope Brussow comes thru the WP game ok.
5 Aug 2011, 16:43 pm
Lambie and Ralepelle have shown on tour they are good enough, but will only be cover in their positions. They are more than likely going to make the final 30 and as they won’t get game time for the last 2 tri-nations games, have been released to their provinces to stay sharp.
5 Aug 2011, 16:43 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-125: how many games did mostert play this WHOLE year, please tell us?
5 Aug 2011, 16:44 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-164: Bud I was watching Stegmann for a long time and he had a period before injury where he was playing better but honestly in 4 years of watching him I cant say he has ever impressed me. Like Cobus Grobelaar – people were always on about how good afetcher he was etc etc – where is he now? He doesnt even make the runon side for the Lions. Good players stand out from the pack beacause theyre always there doing what they do best. Stegmann isnt going to make the WC squad in my opinion and even if he does he wont contribute anything to the cup. Brussouw effects turnovers without support in tough circumstances. Stegmann should have been more effective with guys like Mostert, Danie and Deysel around him who all played well. Greyling wasnt a slouch either. Why do you think Stegmann was subbed at 58 minutes if he was playing so well? I know the subs dont make sense most times but I think they took him off because he was ineffectual against the All Blacks same as he was against the Ozzies. Why is it that you are the only bligger on this forum who is singing Stegmanns praises? I dont have time to go sit and take notes through an entire game to prove a point about some arb player. You are boring me and everyone else to tears here. I dont hate any player (with the exception of maybe Earl Rose and Habana sometimes). Its simple to me – perform or get out. Stegmann isnt preforming. Working hard and being industrious isnt good enough at this level. Haban has been working his *** off for 2 years now but the man has made so many errors that I dont know if he´s worth having in a team. He costs teams games. At least Stegmann doesnt but I still think he´s useless.
5 Aug 2011, 16:44 pm
Thankfully Stegman is out – he has not stolen a ball on the ground in his last 6 tests and a very BIG thanks that Hargrieves is alos out – he is as useless as milk udders on a bull
5 Aug 2011, 16:45 pm
@Dawie07(Dawie07)-178:
5 Aug 2011, 16:45 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-176: Not too many unless you include the couple of darts and snooker games in between
5 Aug 2011, 16:46 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-158:
mostert i guess…
or one of the front row benchers
5 Aug 2011, 16:47 pm
@David(David)-159: hahahaha
good 1
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-181: how are we going to get anywhere having Mostert as a loosie option?
@Puma(Puma)-171:
Cheers Puma.
5 Aug 2011, 16:48 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-164:
I certainly don’t hate him.
But I am convinced he is not test level quality.
Not yet anyway.
@Finfan(Finfan)-173:
OK, t/o minute 43, minute 54.
Other cockups on support: best example: minute 20, 10 seconds in.
I can point out 4 other examples that are similar I remember more or less where they were and I can get them 4 u k c?
The example with Hargreaves at 20m,10s is best and demonstrates perfectly what I mean, that was a t/o that was thrown away not because Stegmann didn’t do his job, or doesn’t have a “presence” like this one guy said, it’s because Hargreaves didn’t do his job.
c?
Later people
Agile T: I understand Stegman is a favorite of yours, and I can understand that I have those that I believe to be beyond reproach as well. I watched stegman’s game closely on Saturday as he’s been a player I’ve found suspicious on penalty count, his defense in transitional and set piece play, and his efficacy as a link wing forward. On penalty count, Stegman has a considerable both for the Boks and the Bulls, he refuses to provide daylight between himself as tackler with the play and have second go at the ball, when he relents and shows daylight he’s off his feet. An openside flanker or flanker wing forward has to have anticipation as a defensive skill set, this allows him to react accurately to the run of play, on multiple occasions Stegman unfortunately found himself in an incorrect position to be effective in the tackle situation, and they resulted in tries. As a link loose forward on the offense it’s hard to judge him as the Boks play a very limited one man up battery ram approach so one chastise on that. To be fair if Brussouw is fit, Stegman is not a consideration.
5 Aug 2011, 16:49 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-177:
Actually Cobus Grobbelaar is start at 6 for the Lions this weekend against the Bulls…..
5 Aug 2011, 16:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-176:
listen you frikken anorak.
I have no idea how many games, minutes nor seconds Mostert has played the whole year….nor his entire life.
I do know that against the bulls at the tank last year and at loftus a couple months back, he was a frikken giant.
which is a hell of a lot more than that Bekker softie from cape town is.
5 Aug 2011, 16:50 pm
@fromthecouch(fromthecouch)-175: tht makes sense
at least there seems to be a plan now, why have chilli and lambie carrying tackle bags when they be staying fresh from currie cup
much better managing of players than previous seasons
5 Aug 2011, 16:53 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-186: I mentioned that he had “no presence”. I was only joking. I’m certainly not going to watch the game again with a stopwatch ready to see when Stegmann actually did something that was supposedly constructive. I don’t hate the guy, but hell, I watched him play enough to know that he is NOT world class. Average s15 player, maybe and a decent Currie Cup player (when he makes the team). No further debate please.
5 Aug 2011, 16:53 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-177:
Sorry for being a bit boring at times, it’s my hobby to be boring.
But I disagree with you and I have to , and CAN show why, and give good reasons.
I’m just helping you out.
Your post there is full of rubbish, stuff like Baywatch cant make the Lions team etc etc. Brussow has played a test under the 2009 interps last, and really, you mustn’t display a lack of understanding of what you saw in the tests.
I just wanna help.
5 Aug 2011, 16:56 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-192:
Yeah, it’s a tough job that of his position and people don’t seem to rate that kind of work, they see the flashy stuff- ball carries.
You don’t have to sit with a stopwatch, I did all the work for you. I showed those examples during the game to show that he did his work, some of the tight 5 didn’t.
And I repeat this not to bore you guys to tears, I just get asked this a lot. And the answer remains the same.
5 Aug 2011, 16:56 pm
Lambie is a good youngster with a bright future but he is not gonna win you a world cup at this stage of his career. Good cover option at the moment.
Morne Steyn is a kicker par excellence and James gets a backline moving well without sacrificing too much in the kicking stakes.
I think that the early games will be split between the two players and depending on how our forwards perform will dictate who plays in the crunch games.
If our tight five dominate and FdP finds form then Div has to pick Morne. Quite simple really.
Temperament wins world cups and I will never forget Morne’s BMT during the Lions tour.
5 Aug 2011, 16:57 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-180: well i’m waiting to hear where Brigs saw all this Mostert form, because i only remember him having a blinder against the bulls in the last game of round robins, that’s it.
if flip is excluded because of lack if gametime, i just want to know where & when did mostert feature so prominently for the sharks.
imo flip, mostert & anton van zyl were under-utilised by their respective franchises and now we’re hitting panic stations because our franchises don’t rotate enough.
5 Aug 2011, 16:57 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-194: I rate the work of good fetchers: McCaw, Pocock, Brussow. Not Stegmann. Simple.
5 Aug 2011, 16:59 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-188:
HI Mpundulu,
I disagree with you on basically everything you said there.
For starters, you say Stegmann’s Bok penalty count is high. What is his penalty count in a Bok jersey so far then?
You say you’ve been watching closely.
5 Aug 2011, 17:00 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-197:
No, I know you don’t rate him, of course, that is obvious.
I’m not trying to make you rate him.
I am taking away your reasons to claim he had a poor Tri Nations debut.
5 Aug 2011, 17:00 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-196: I don’t know either, but based on what I saw of him, I still rate him higher than Flip van der Merwe.
5 Aug 2011, 17:01 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-188:
I believe that steggman is 2nd best after brussow.
the penalty count argument is always a daft to me.
richie mccaw has conceded more penalties than any other player,ever.
regrettably, as an opensider, it’s almost as if….it is what you do not get blown for that counts the most. And mccaw and lately,Pocock..get away with murder in between their penalty counts.
And even worse….mccaw never gets carded, regardless.
5 Aug 2011, 17:01 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-190: so you’re talking kak when you say mostert had more gametime than flip?
5 Aug 2011, 17:04 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-199: You will never convince me (or anyone else here) that he had a good debut on the EOTY tour in 2010 or a good Tri Nations. You can stop trying. Please, I’m begging you.
5 Aug 2011, 17:05 pm
not quite sure i’d pick stegman over francois louw if brussow is injured, at the risk of Agile doing a backflip and possible recieving a triple bypass.
5 Aug 2011, 17:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-202:
I watch the bulls, alot, to say the least.
I don’t remember flip ever starting a game yet….nor even getting a full 40 minutes.
it’s either been matfield and bakkies or matfield and roussow. And, even then…when Bakkies has featured, flip has dropped from the match 22 entirely on occassion because roussow covers from the bench.
mostert has still played more than that.
correct?
(Doooyoouunderrrrstaaand)?
5 Aug 2011, 17:07 pm
So the all of the positions for the backs have been filled and Bambie is not going to the RWC … how can this be when sharkievarkie told us that he is the best.
I guess that he and Elton will just have to fight it out for 2015 … and we know who is going to win
5 Aug 2011, 17:08 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-203:
Sorry, I just get asked this so much, if it isn’t you then it’s some other guy that wants to know. What must I do? Ignore them? Or turn to insults or what?
At least I back my views with evidence and then all of a sudden you can’t reach any of these guys for comment, and certainly not a good one. THey just can’t respond. But in case a guy knows anything about what went down on the day, and reads the comments, he can agree with me lolz.
5 Aug 2011, 17:10 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-205:
Flip did start a feww this year.
5 Aug 2011, 17:11 pm
interestingly enough, for Lambie…..as soon as Freddie M showed up for the “must win games”, Lambie got put at 15. Freddie M slotted in at 10 breaking up a season long combo of 9/10/12 with 7 days prep.
and Freddie M has test matches as a 15 under his belt.
doesn’t say much for Lambie in my humble opinion.
5 Aug 2011, 17:11 pm
So it seems Lambie has already proven himself and is being rested for the RWC, yehaaaaaaaaaa
5 Aug 2011, 17:12 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-207: I admire your tenacity but when it causes people to ridicule you, it is best to stop and discuss something or someone else. Friendly advice.
5 Aug 2011, 17:12 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145: lol
5 Aug 2011, 17:13 pm
@RL(RL)-206:
robert eberson or gary van aswegen, so long as the brokebacks don’t mess him up, from what I’ve seen so far.
5 Aug 2011, 17:13 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-203: i think the sooner we all agree tht Stegman underperformed for the Boks the better we will all be.
he was not rubbish, just not influential
if you are a smaller loose forward, picked primarily for turnovers then at the end of a mtach the turnover count is 1 SA – 8 NZ, you dont need to be in the starting team. you are small and are not producing the goods for your role
END OF STORY
5 Aug 2011, 17:15 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-43:
Going backwards because of no fetcher to clean out on our side of the scrum so therefore we are always defending kaksak.
5 Aug 2011, 17:16 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-211:
Whose ridiculing me?
You don’t even know who I am.
I give my opinion on the position I played for a decade and a half.
That’s it. And I lay it all out and welcome discussion.
I also destroy the opinion of irrational haters.
5 Aug 2011, 17:17 pm
I was wondering who the extra loosie might be, then remembered that Matfield played 7 on quite a few occasions in France.
5 Aug 2011, 17:19 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-213:
Don’t you mean Sian?
5 Aug 2011, 17:20 pm
Devious Div strikes again. The genius!
Only 2 real loosies in the squad, neither of which is a fetcher!
The brilliant plan is obvious.
Div still believes we have to have both Smit and Bismark in the team, and with the experiment of converting Smit into a tighthead having been shelved, we are now going to convert Bismark into a world class number 6 (in SA) openside fetcher flank. Our new-look back row will be:
6 Bismark
7 Deysel
8 Spies
I wish I’d thought of it.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-216: No, you are not changing opinions. Because you harp on it over and over and over gain, you have lost all credibility. Unfair, I know, but it is your own fault. Analyse a few other players for a change and maybe things will change. (More friendly advice
)
@David(David)-217: yes @ toulon….good memory
5 Aug 2011, 17:22 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-209: Well you don’t know much then. You so wrong Brigadier.
The only reason Lambie was shifted to FB when Freddie came was so we had a top class fb. Sharks never had one. So once we moved Lambie to FB and Freddie to fh. We beat your Bulls. NOW do you remember or have you forgotten that conveniently?
Lambie is the only player South Africa has that can play EQUALLY well at fb, fh and 12. Others can play their prefered position well but the other position they cover is not as great.
So you see Lambie was shifted to FB in the last games of the S15 cause we had another great fh not that Freddie took Lambies place, but rather we NEEDED Lambie that can play fb just as great as he does fh.
It could also be that PdV said he was happy with Lambie at fh. Now maybe Morne needs game time there cause he has not been that great. Or out of form. So let Morne play the home leg of the 3N. Well it could be. There are still 5 places left for the wc squad. Cause Chili will go. So add thim to this 24 players selected.
@David(David)-217: True, but he wasn’t too great as a 7
@Finfan(Finfan)-211:
For example, we had Mpudulu fly in- and out of here and type some rubbish in a long paragraph, I just started at one end to help him out, he hasn’t responded yet.
I haven’t got any delusions that I will be able to destroy the prejudice of all these many bloggers that harbor them, I’m not doing that, I’m having some rugby convo where I can. And the ignoramuses can’t respond.
I will do it as long as I feel like it, or until I get banned, Oh kay?
5 Aug 2011, 17:23 pm
@Puma(Puma)-222: thim = him
5 Aug 2011, 17:25 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-224: Fine with me. I’ll skip your posting from now on. Stubborn people normally don’t take advice, so I’m not surprised by your response. Enjoy
5 Aug 2011, 17:25 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-220:
Yeah, it is hard to sift through all these comments related to one topic or player in this mess. I don’t blame them. But I put it out there anyway. It’s not about the credibility of the source, I’m anonymous, remember Finfin.
It’s about how accurate the discussion is and if we take everything re the position and the rest of the team surrounding it into consideration.
5 Aug 2011, 17:27 pm
@Mistral(Mistral)-219: hahahaha. Man, I mentioned that last year and this year. Doubt it will happen.
Always have said I wonder how Bissie can play 6? I think very well actually. Doubt we will see him there though.
5 Aug 2011, 17:27 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-226:
Now why didn’t you just ignore and skip past my posts to begin with? Why bore us with 3 posts about the same stuff not even rugby-related?
Kay
5 Aug 2011, 17:29 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-210:
5 Aug 2011, 17:29 pm
Transie: ndizokuya ePE ndiyobukhela. Kuzabamnandi boy! iBoys zam zizayi thatha icup kulonyakha! Finish and klaar.
Xhosa commentary is just killing me at the moment. uDabane no Zizi hayi hayi barongo, R-O-N-G-O!
5 Aug 2011, 17:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-228:
Yeah, they just named the players returning. The released players weren’t named. We expect a few to be added. They will train with more than 24 guys.
5 Aug 2011, 17:30 pm
Well, there we have it.
3N 2011 – We are farked… Boks are going to be ducked… zilched… zeroed… Look at this farken squad – this has tinkering TrickyDicky all over it…
The beginning of the end of the Boks reign as World Champs. Straight!
5 Aug 2011, 17:31 pm
That comment about Lambies versatility will have the Frans fans frothing, but I agree with you.
@Finfan(Finfan)-223:
I know, but who else in the squad would cover if there’s an injury to one of the loosies? Bismark could but it would mean JS playing a full 80 mins at 2.
5 Aug 2011, 17:31 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-229: I hope you’d come to your senses
You clearly analyse the game and do it well, but it is not balanced. Pity, because most bloggers here, including myself, only have fun, are trolling or try to get a feel for the views out there. Use you talent to analyse the game as a whole, be objective and include a few other players in your analysis.
5 Aug 2011, 17:32 pm
@Mistral(Mistral)-219:
LMFAO indeed Pdivvy’s deviousness is a weapon. I think his moustache got so heavy that it pulled so hard on his upper lip that his skull collapsed and bruised his brain.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-231:
Dudette, still not responding?
Then try not to write a paragraph with conviction to dis a player.
So I am counting 5 places left.
If Juan gets over his injury he will go. If Juan goes will Deysel go? I think yes just in case Juan’s injury flares up. Alberts will cover at 8. Well I think he will.
If Brussow is over his injury he will go.
3 places left. Who else will make it for wc?
5 Aug 2011, 17:34 pm
@David(David)-234: The Beast started his career as a loosie
5 Aug 2011, 17:36 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-232: Chili will be added. Juan and Brussow too if they not injured. So only 3 spaces left. Who you think will make it?
5 Aug 2011, 17:37 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-235:
Well, we should have guys that can look at whatever another area he enjoys in the game.
yeah I did.
That way we have some unity in diversity, did I just say that
Rugby is a team sport, let’s be a team.
as I have just been correcting myths regarding a player that has an excellent case as one of the country’s top fetchers.
So far, my uber talents I have not yet been able to showcase to the full
If I was crazy about the front row maybe I’d be writing a lot about some prop, or maybe not, if I felt that prop wasn’t getting masses of unwarranted criticism.
5 Aug 2011, 17:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-240:
Do you mean for the 3N tests or the RWC?
5 Aug 2011, 17:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-238:
There has to be at least one more prop, possibly 2. Four and a half (JS) won’t do it.
5 Aug 2011, 17:41 pm
@Mistral(Mistral)-219:
“I wish I’d thought of it.”
dont beat yourself up, that is why he is the Special One.
5 Aug 2011, 17:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-242: RWC. Think there are only 3 places left. Chili will go so will Juan and Brussow if not injured. Add that to this squad and it take us to 27.
@David(David)-243: Who you reckon will make the last 3 places for wc David? Looks like this squad are all going. Chili will go as you said we always take 3 hookers. Juan and Brussow if fit will go too.
@Finfan(Finfan)-239:
If we’re going to go to those lengths, let’s take Spies as a wing, where he belongs.
@Puma(Puma)-240:
Well, only 28 are going, take that squad, add another wing (Lwazi probably) and Chili and the two openside flankers.
The rest is just which ones exactly go.
5 Aug 2011, 17:43 pm
For too long Div has been protected like royal game he has been a disaster. I think after the world cup we need to dress Div up in a tutu give him a spanner and find him a job as a mechanic and show him black, white, pink or green people will pay him what he’s worth. Four years of lottery wins is enough time to move on. Better yet he should just take Makhenkesi Stofile’s advice to “keep his mouth shut and sober up”.
Never before in Bok rugby has a coach with a poor record who makes racist statements and continuously talks drivel never been sacked. It begs the question “who is he sleeping with?”
5 Aug 2011, 17:44 pm
@cab(cab)-244: I mentioned it last year Cabbie and again on sw this year. No-one thought it a good idea for Bissie to move to 6. But I think he would be devastating there. But we will never see him play there. Doubt it.
5 Aug 2011, 17:44 pm
@Puma(Puma)-245:
Yeah I thought so in post 247, if Juan Smith is fit put him in place of Deysel and then the 2 openside flankers and Chili, and then an extra winger, and that’s it.
Though they could reshuffle players all over the place, but this is likely the squad.
5 Aug 2011, 17:46 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-247:
Well, I don’t know if it’s Lwazi going, he has very poor defense, but I’m not sure what other winger to add to the group of 28.
5 Aug 2011, 17:48 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-247: I thought 30 were going.
Then you probably right. If it is only 28 then we only have one space left. If Juan and Brussow are fit to go. Chili will go to wc have no doubt at all and with Juan and Brussow if fit and over their injuries.
Mvovo will go. My feeling if it is 28. Then there we have it our squad. These 24 players with: Juan, Brussow, Chili and Mvovo.
If the squad is 30 then another two. Have no idea.
5 Aug 2011, 17:50 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-251: Hougaard covers wing, scrummie and outside centre. So maybe it might not be a wing.
5 Aug 2011, 17:50 pm
Brigadier van zyl: McCaw may have a penalty count but when you have 3 IRB player of the year awards, it becomes rather challenging to juxtapose Stegman to McCaw in some areas they’d say it’s an insult! Furthermore, McCaw’s impact, accuracy in every facet of an opensider’s game is unparalleled, he frequently to takes the game to a new level. Please let’s stop with Stegman, the boy does not have it, if he did the world would know about it.
5 Aug 2011, 17:51 pm
@David(David)-246:
5 Aug 2011, 17:52 pm
My advice to Adriaan Strauss if he wants to play regularly for the Boks – change ASAP from hooker to a fetcher. He has everything to become a great fetcher. With Bismarck and Chilliboy in the run, he will struggle to make the squad as a hooker.
5 Aug 2011, 17:52 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-250:
I reckon JdeV will double as wing cover. We need 5 specialist props for the whole tournament, in my opinion, even if JS doubles.
5 Aug 2011, 17:53 pm
@Puma(Puma)-252:
Yeah, there was a 30-man squad in 2007 with 4 wingers.
@David(David)-246: Steyn can play wing if needed and can alternate with Aplon … the simple fact is that Steyn is world class and is the only player in the world who can play fullback, centre and flyhalf and look the business.
@David(David)-218:
yip@Puma(Puma)-222:
that’s exactly my point…why didn’t Plum put Michaelak there then. Freddie M is a proven test match fullback as well as flyhalf. And he wouldn’t even had to risk breaking up the 9/10/12 combo.
tell you why, because lambie never in a million years would have nailed that Freddie M drop goal that eventually proved the difference.
I think you do not know much.
5 Aug 2011, 17:55 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-254:
listen, I don’t disagree with any of that. Just that I find the penalty count argument…the wrong argument to punt.
5 Aug 2011, 17:56 pm
@David(David)-257:
What about centre? I don’t know if JdJ is going. JdV will definitely play centre. WO might go.
5 Aug 2011, 17:57 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-254:
OK, I’ll stop with it and Van Zyl and everybody else you demand of, after you answer the question I axed you, lady.
5 Aug 2011, 17:57 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-254:
oh…and the 1 irb player of the year award was in 2009.
when Brussow made Richie look like a 90 year old sangoma. (and the bulls gave the crusaders a right proper working over)
wouldn’t write too much into irb awards after that.
5 Aug 2011, 17:58 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-260: Steyn would have nailed that drop from either fullback, centre or fullback … Lambie does not have the skill of Steyn.
5 Aug 2011, 18:00 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-264:
Stolen from Fourie du Preez that “award”.
5 Aug 2011, 18:01 pm
@RL(RL)-265: and flyhalf, remember he is the only player we have that can play in 3 positions.
5 Aug 2011, 18:01 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-260: The problem of course expecting a 20-year old to perform to the same standard as a seasoned test pro. Flyhalf is arguably more important in a close match than fullback and it stands to reason to put the seasoned pro as close to the action as possible.
Lambie will become a seasoned pro and possibly a better player than Michalak; he will certainly become better than Steyn. In time and with the correct exposure.
5 Aug 2011, 18:02 pm
yip, after 2009…the irb awards became a laughable anecdote on any players cv.
5 Aug 2011, 18:03 pm
I dont get it. Why appoint three scrumhalves? If Divy is selecting Pienaar as a utility back then surely we are better placed with a specialist three quarter player such as Lambie? Our coaches blind faith in Pienaar as some kind of general backline band-aid or panacea is fooking frustrating.
5 Aug 2011, 18:04 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-268:
so you agree then that lambie is too young and internationally inexperienced to be going to the worldcup,then?
5 Aug 2011, 18:05 pm
@Puma(Puma)-252:
We don’t need 3 hookers, the thing is I just don’t know how serious they are about John Smit at prop, and what is going on there. So we might not see Chiliboy go to the RWC at all.
The rest is just an extra winger to tour, add a lock if Danie is to stay in the loosie category, and then the rest are Burger, and either of Brussow or Steggies and then if Juan can make it.
That’s pretty much it.
5 Aug 2011, 18:08 pm
Hougaard a very good inclusion, apart from probably being the best winger in the country, also a pretty descent scrummie…
5 Aug 2011, 18:09 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-260: That is your opinion. I don’t agree and many others don’t either.
We just have to sit and hope like bloody crazy that Butch don’t get injured. Cause then we in trouble. Morne was really terrible on this away leg and in last years 3Ns and again on the eoyt. So Butch better stay injury free. He gonna have to play all of the games in the wc. Mornes defence is terrible. He can kick at posts but have been missing quite a few of late. If he is only there for that well we are really doomed if Butch gets injured.
5 Aug 2011, 18:10 pm
fark me….now I got to travel 3000km…..to see my favorites bloody plod, spies and M Steyn!
No fetcher??
Dark ages……I am a broken man…
@Piker(Piker)-270: Hougie is will be wing cover, the backs are sorted … there is only space left for 6 more forwards to added to the 3N squad to become the RWC squad. All the injured listed above will go, Chili to replace Becker.
Brigadier van zyl: I have no words….
5 Aug 2011, 18:11 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-273: I rate him plenty. Also plays 100%. Huge heart in every game. Pleased he is going to wc.
5 Aug 2011, 18:11 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-277:
Well said……hehehehe.
5 Aug 2011, 18:12 pm
Brigadier van zyl: just regathered my tongue, let’s meet in PE, I’ll have McCaw with me, you drag along Stegman!
5 Aug 2011, 18:13 pm
I cannot believe Lambie not in squad….seriously we are one messed up rugby s hit for no brains bunch of palookas wallys…..
the 3 stooges are crazy……we better pray brussow and butch come through okay…
tsunami tears coming….
how slow will our loosies be ?
Pocock and mc caw going to eat us for breakfast
goodnite nurse
all over rover
6 love
5 Aug 2011, 18:15 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-272: Could be right, but I think we will see 3 hookers go on tour. But think they will wait until the last moment to see if Juan can make it. I sure hope he does. We do have good replacements in Deysel and Alberts there but Juan is just awesome when fit.
5 Aug 2011, 18:18 pm
@grant10(grant10)-281: Fat boy Matfield picked him, he rates Steyn better than Lambie and why not? 3N winner, Super rugby winner and B&I Lions winner … even fat boy Plod will pick Steyn ahead of someone like Lambie, who fluffs easy kicks under pressure.
5 Aug 2011, 18:20 pm
We all tend to forget that the world cup will be played in wet, cold and heavy conditions, Kicking will be of the utmost importance and skill and speed although needed will take a back seat. The team that can dominate upfront and kicks the best will be the team with the best chance…..
5 Aug 2011, 18:20 pm
@RL(RL)-283: my man…M Steyn destroys that bok backline……he is c rap…..pi ss poor…..
Rather give me Puma with his kak knees at 10 than the skop en jag en bid artist……
5 Aug 2011, 18:22 pm
@RL(RL)-283: Lambie don’t miss tackles that leads to tries though. Morne does.
Now read you rated Lambie. You said so in a post that I have copied and pasted. You want me to put that up here? Or have you changed your mind about Lambie now?
5 Aug 2011, 18:22 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-284: agreed, in the wet Butch and Steyn are the best we have.
5 Aug 2011, 18:23 pm
@grant10(grant10)-285: hehehehehe. Must be in your tick box again………
5 Aug 2011, 18:23 pm
plod
spies
and m steyn
Big tears coming…..I am distraught…..no fetcher….nie wat….ons is in ons moer in
5 Aug 2011, 18:26 pm
@grant10(grant10)-285:
Do you still need to convince yourself that you are NO less than a closet RACIST?
I say just look into your cracked mirror. If it not there then I will deliver it to you, special delivery.
5 Aug 2011, 18:27 pm
@grant10(grant10)-285: @Puma(Puma)-286:
Lambie is good and one for the future, but to win a RWC you need experience, Butch has it and Steyn has it, besides I cannot see him playing a kicking game like the fat boys will be looking for.
5 Aug 2011, 18:28 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-284: All though it was not raining in Sydney under foot was very, very wet. There had been torrential rain all week and up to a few hours before we played that game against the Aussies. WE played terrible, just terrible there.
Look I agree in the wet we will need to kick more, but if we do it all the time expect us probably not to make it to the quarters. Well not much past that. How come the Aussies don’t and kiwis don’t seem to have to rely only on kicking away possession all the time. Why do we always only rely on that alone to have a chance to win? Cause it never helped us last year in NZ not at all.
5 Aug 2011, 18:29 pm
This is pretty much your RWC squad.
Add:
Schalk, Juan, Brussow, Chili, Lambie, Muller, Alberts and apart from one or two changes, that is your 30-man RWC squad.
5 Aug 2011, 18:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-286:
See thing in perspective, Morne missed a one on one tackle against a speedy wing(that should be able to beat a fullback on 1 to 1 situation about 80% of the time), he is not a fullback but in the midfield he is a pretty good defender…
5 Aug 2011, 18:30 pm
This is a squad of 24 being both 12 forwards and backs.
Pdiv will take a squad of 30 to the WC and on my reckoning it will be 16 14 split of forwards and backs.
This 3N squad looks very unbalanced as far as the loosies are concerned. So the extra 4 to would come from:
Juan Smith – fitness permitting – if he can’t play at least 2 CC matches, leave him behind.
Brusssouw – he’s on the bench for the Cheetahs this w/e
Schalk
Willem Alberts
Flip vd Merwe.
Can’t see Juan goung to the WC.
5 Aug 2011, 18:32 pm
@grant10(grant10)-289:
Relax, it’s all good.
We only need to beat Aus or NZ once in the RWC to keep it, and we have done it more than once with these players.
The rest we can handle.
@RL(RL)-291: Out of those two fh’s only Butch has it RL. Morne was terrible on this away tour. Also in last years 3N’s and again on the eoyt. We had better hope that FdP is up to his very best cause with out him playing 100% Morne just not the same player. But we had better hope Butch don’t pick up any injury cause I think if we only have Morne to cover Butch we in trouble.
Butchie is a very, very good fh. I have always rated him. Just keep fingers crossed he don’t get injured.
@RL(RL)-276: Fair enough. Backs are looking generally strong IMO. However if du preez playing poorly or gets injured, Hougie will be 1st choice substitute. He is better scrummie, not fair that he should have to shift to backline in place of Pienaar should one of the outside backs get injured or need substitution. Forward shorty of a loosie. Given the number of front row options our coach obviously has not made up his mind about front row.
grant: agile t!ts says Spies played 6 in 2006 and got MoM so Spies to play fetcher at the Tank
good luck bwahahaha
Big difference in climate coming 2 months later in the season….
5 Aug 2011, 18:33 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-293:
I assume Deysel out for Juan Smith and I assume then Smit is at prop? or what? 3 Hookers?
5 Aug 2011, 18:35 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-293: there are 24 selected for the 3N, so only 6 spots open … so one forward will need to drop out from your list to make way for Lambie … he will make the standby list as flyhalf or fullback cover.
Anyhow I rate Lambie in all the positions he plays. fb, fh and inside centre. He can play all positions equall well. A great utility player if we need him.
Then again it might be best he starts fresh with a new young exciting players in next years Boks side. Where we play a different game plan.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-301:
Deysel in if Juan is out.
3 Hookers will be selected, Smit, Bis and Chili.
@Puma(Puma)-303: meant = equally.
5 Aug 2011, 18:37 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-304: That is what I have been saying. Think we will take 3 hookers. Chili will go and so will Deysel even if Juan goes. Just to cover.
Anyhow out of here now.
Going to get ready to watch the Sharks game.
5 Aug 2011, 18:38 pm
Waar val et nou uit!
5 Aug 2011, 18:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-303:
From the 24 you see now, Mostert will probably lose out if Muller is fit.
One of CJ and Guthro will also go depending on Guthro’s fitness.
5 Aug 2011, 18:39 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-304:
Didn’t they say they were only taking 28 men this time? There is no space for 3 hookers.
5 Aug 2011, 18:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-306:
There will def be 3 hookers, that much I can guarantee you
5 Aug 2011, 18:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-299: Actually before I go. I do remember Spies playing 6 in 2006 and he was actually brilliant that year there. Yes he was Transie. Agile is totally correct on that.
So he could also cover there but has not played there since 2006 I think.
5 Aug 2011, 18:41 pm
Fortunately we will only be needing 22
5 Aug 2011, 18:42 pm
What has Pienaar done to be selected? Seriously don’t understand why he was brought back. Hasn’t had a good game in a bok jersey in over a year. You’d think moving overseas would see the end of his selection, but no.
@Puma(Puma)-297: It’s better for not to get exposed to skop en jag, does not suit him … let him play in the CC and develop a kicking game similar to Butch.
You cannot get rid of Steyn just like I cannot get rid of Smit
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309:
I thought it was 28 as well – but that was for a 3N away squad.
Jake took 30 to the WC.
And England are naming a final squad of 30 on Aug 22.
5 Aug 2011, 18:43 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-310: I am sure of it too Morne. Said so earlier and so did David.
Feel for Lambie missing out after being one of the better players on tour.
But Lambie will get a chance again next year. I have no doubt. He is just too talented to be ignored. Especially if we start to play with more possession.
Anyhow out of here now. Catch up later during the Sharks game.
5 Aug 2011, 18:43 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309:
3 Hookers will be taken to RWC 2011 – must be out now, need to do some updates on games. Later folks
5 Aug 2011, 18:48 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-315:
Yeah, I know we mentioned it, but I thought they said 28 for the RWC anyway, we discussed it earlier. I can’t see why they’d only take 28.
5 Aug 2011, 18:51 pm
Every Bok coach picks a bolter in his squad.
And 2 backline players will be added. Lambie will go for sure.
And meisiekind played himself out of the squad.
I reckon the bolter could be Johann Sadie.
5 Aug 2011, 18:52 pm
FYI, RWC squads are 30 players.
5 Aug 2011, 18:53 pm
{{ 134.Robbie Fleck is a legend said:
5 Aug 2011, 12:09 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-132:
Speaking of which – I don’t think I’ve ever heard of an Indian rugby player at Currie Cup level upwards?
Can someone please prove me wrong? }}
@ Grant10 – a follow-up to my post #290 with much clarification.
AND YOUR SHAMELESSLY BUT SHAMEFUL ANSWER IS:
{{ 139.grant10 said:
5 Aug 2011, 12:14 pm
@Robbie Fleck is a legend(WP-Forever)-134: dollie
YOU SAY DOLLIE = INDIAN?
Should you not according to your confused DA influenced state just call him a SAFFA? You make much simplistic play to your claim to be so, SAFFA, why not him?
His family tree possibly goes ALL the WAY back to after 1652, can you claim likewise?
My non-racist culture says Indians are born in the country called India and South Africans are born in a country called South Africa.
True your European ancestry (Dutch, German, French, English and more) confused the issue with sick, derogatory tags like 'coloureds' and 'coolies' and much more but Dollie, these 'enlightened' days, is just S.African of mixed race origins who subscribes to the religion of Islam.
What is so difficult to accept about that, racist? My placating you as such with truthful facts does not earn me your hard-earned categorisation.
5 Aug 2011, 19:00 pm
Players to join the 3N squad for the RWC squad,
Burger
Smith
Brussow
Chili
Vermeulen
Players on the standby list,
Lambie, flyhalf and fullback
Deysel (if Brussow is fit), looseforward
Flip – lock
Olivier – centre
Kruger – prop
5 Aug 2011, 19:01 pm
Players to join the 3N squad for the RWC squad,
Burger
Smith
Brussow
Chili
Vermeulen
Players on the standby list,
Lambie – flyhalf and fullback
Deysel (if Brussow is fit) – looseforward
Flip – lock
Olivier – centre
Kruger – prop
5 Aug 2011, 19:01 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-310:
So 16 forwards will go.
I reckon the breakdown will be:
6 front row
5 locks
5 loosies.
If 3 props are taken, one will have to be versatile. CJ tick.
Or will Pdiv use Smit as prop in the final 20 – 30 minutes when Bissie comes on.
5 Aug 2011, 19:02 pm
Double post
5 Aug 2011, 19:04 pm
@RL(RL)-322:
Big shout adding Vermeulen in there dude, uncapped and all.
5 Aug 2011, 19:05 pm
In the midst of a sensible debate comes “Grant you closet racist”
I’m still laughing!
5 Aug 2011, 19:07 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-326: he is going to be the bolter, much like Skinstad was in 2007 … fat boy Burger picked him
5 Aug 2011, 19:08 pm
@Puma(Puma)-249:
holy **** Pumes, thats a big gamble. I’d prefer Bismarck to start at 2. We need some power in our tight 5 – matfield and smit in the same starting tight 5 i asking for trouble esp with the mediocre jannie at, push spies in at 8 – and if there’s 4 are in the field at the same time imo the Boks will be going home early.
5 Aug 2011, 19:09 pm
Reading through the posts, it seems like the consensus is that Lambie has missed out on the WC?
A week ago Morne Steyn was fighting for his place and Lambie was assured of his. Seems that has been turned on it’s head now. I can’t believe PdV would even consider leaving Lambie behind after his form of recent weeks and months.
@JockBok(JockBok)-326:
My bolter I picked was Sadie.
A future Bull replacing a present Bull.
Burnt my arse as I typed that, but I rate the kid.
Every squad of every Bok coach over the years produces a surprise.
5 Aug 2011, 19:10 pm
Smit and Spies to come on from the bench otherwise we might lose all 4 3N matches going into RWC.
5 Aug 2011, 19:13 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-327:
After a few visits to the site this week and not participating because Doctor John was on, I’ve decided to completely ignore him. You just can’t fight insanity with logic.
Hopefully other will see he is ruing the vibe of the site and do the same.
5 Aug 2011, 19:14 pm
Bambie will never be able to live down the embarrassment of exiting the compo early, he might just move straight to japan. Lets rather put the responsibility on Steyn and James as they are on there way out anyway…..
5 Aug 2011, 19:15 pm
cant one of gurthro or beast be tried at TH? its not as if any of our THs can scrum scrum in any case. can u imagine have these two both on the field at the same time, the kiwis will kak in their broek.
5 Aug 2011, 19:16 pm
@RL(RL)-328:
I think it’s just to late for him unfortunately. His chance was to play himself in through the away games just past now. Shame if you ask me. Now is/was his time.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-332:
Gaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! don’t mention the ‘S’ guy ffs…
Considering the conditions we will be playing in, imagine the advantage of the possibilities of playing Spies on wing… will never happen though?
@JockBok(JockBok)-334:
That oke is just a stalker. Just looks for a fight with anyone. The kiwis wren’t spared either earlier in the week.
What a doos.
5 Aug 2011, 19:21 pm
Dollie can trace his family tree back to after 1652…(Sic)
Well we can all do that exctraball.
Even you.
l
5 Aug 2011, 19:22 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-334:
Man I had such a good laugh now!
Talk about out of the blue!
5 Aug 2011, 19:22 pm
@RL(RL)-328:
Vermeulen had knee surgery just before the S15 SF.
If he comes back from that, then he’s bolter for sure.
But I’ll stick with my pick.
5 Aug 2011, 19:26 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-341:
That’s his style.
A bull in a china shop.
5 Aug 2011, 19:26 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-339:
He’s not worth it. There’s obviously something missing in his life and to try and compensate for his misery, he picks fights with everyone and anyone. It wouldn’t be so bad if logic was involved, but often he is so hypocritical or petty, it is just plain sad.
I saw Grant lead the way this week by telling ole Johnny to try and let some love into his life. Certainly made me think a bit. A shameful attack met with peace and understanding, but still ET carries on wading the boot in even today. It’s actually very sad and I feel sorry for his troubled mind.
Anyway, it’s easier to skip past his vainglorious ramblings.
I’m saying no more.
5 Aug 2011, 19:27 pm
1. Gurthro 2. Bismarck 3. Beast 4. Bakkies 5. Matfield 6. Brussow 7. Danie 8. Deysel.
And actually for an added scrum boost they should consider using Danie to lock the scrum together with Bakkies, this means the less powerful matfield would scrum down at blindside or 8th man, but still does his lineout king impression at 5. Would;ve veen nice to see Alberts at 8, but Deysel carried the ball very well in NZ, always made ground and most importantly did not knock or get over in contact. They need to up their intensity at the rucks and hit and clear more of them.
5 Aug 2011, 19:29 pm
Try Griquas.
And YC Sharks.
5 Aug 2011, 19:29 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-340:
I can trace mine back to waaaayyyy after 1652. Possibly about 1850ish
5 Aug 2011, 19:30 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-346: yeah, when last did you see a captain get a yellow card – Daniels cost his team that try.
5 Aug 2011, 19:33 pm
@cab(cab)-345:
Not a whole lot of other backline options in the squad, is there?
Would it not have made more sense to have Danie cover lock and pick another loosie?
5 Aug 2011, 19:33 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-344:
Exactly the way I feel but then sometimes I can’t help himself. His english is not the greatest so it’s quite easy to pick him off.
But he seems to be going through the whole blog. I remember his very first post this year – 1st week of the new year – in which he set out his intentions.
Talk about an aggressive new year’s resolution.
5 Aug 2011, 19:34 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-349:
Oops, back row obviously.
ET’s about.
5 Aug 2011, 19:35 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-347:
Poor John.
I think his free googlebox has stopped working.
5 Aug 2011, 19:36 pm
@RL(RL)-348:
and 2nd try Griquas.
Griqua Warrior must be jumping up and down.
5 Aug 2011, 19:37 pm
Nother try griquas!
5 Aug 2011, 19:37 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-350:
Yep, sad stuff indeed. That he doesn’t respond to me anymore tells you enough about his character. A bully who picks and chooses his battles but avoids any kind of confrontation he knows he can’t win.
Anyway, nuff said mate.
Another try for the Griquas, could be a cracker of a game here. 14-3
5 Aug 2011, 19:38 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-349:
yes i think thats exactly what they should do, rossouw should cover lock – but bizarrely our top flankers are all out Juan, Alberts, Vermeulen and Schalk, seems Brussouw is out too, so they dont have much choice but to play danie in the backrow unless Alberts recovers.
5 Aug 2011, 19:43 pm
@cab(cab)-356:
Brussouw is named on the bench for the Cheetahs this weekend.
And Alberts is out for the Aussie game. Doesn’t mean he can’t be ready for the NZ game.
Pdiv can still add to this squad of 24 if he wants to.
5 Aug 2011, 19:44 pm
Will one of two words , soon(after) or just(after) remove the straw you so clutch?
How about dealing with the quoted facts of clear racist discussion from the Bok latest – ‘Injured’ thread, you sick bunch of desperados.
Life is a continuum for your sick discussion even when I am sleeping and not able to respond. But it is that response GUNTHER(so aptly German)that scares you.
5 Aug 2011, 19:45 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-357:
oh right, then who they going to play at openside for the aussie game if brussow and schalk out?
5 Aug 2011, 19:46 pm
@cab(cab)-356:
And if Brussow doesn’t come through the weekend? Gonna have to call someone else up I guess and it would make sense to call Flouw. Otherwise you’re left with 3 loosies adding up to an impossible combination. Danie, Deysel and Spies and no cover
With either Brussow or Flouw at 6, I’d imagine Deysel at 7 and Spies at 8 with Danie on the bench. Still not ideal though.
5 Aug 2011, 19:47 pm
Sithole has got gas. Great to see newcomers showing a thing or two.
5 Aug 2011, 19:48 pm
@cab(cab)-359:
That’s the stuff-up in this squad. Only 3 loosies. Spies, Deysel and Danie.
Can’t wait to see his bench.
5 Aug 2011, 19:48 pm
@cab(cab)-359:
That’s what I was pondering in 360.
Not sure where Div is going with his thinking here.
5 Aug 2011, 19:50 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-362: @JockBok(JockBok)-363:
that is why he is the Special One, one step ahead of the rest.
5 Aug 2011, 19:50 pm
Short version is …….
We have no loosies!!!!!!!
5 Aug 2011, 19:51 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-361:
He scored a beauty last week too.
I’ll bet the Sharks are glad they lost Mapoe now
5 Aug 2011, 19:52 pm
Guppies are fighting back.
14-13 Griquas
5 Aug 2011, 19:53 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-366: you don’t just lose a million bucks
5 Aug 2011, 19:54 pm
Try tjarks
5 Aug 2011, 19:54 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-365:
There’s tons of loosies about, he’s just gotta pick the right ones.
I have to say, persisting with Spies limits the options big time too.
5 Aug 2011, 19:56 pm
@RL(RL)-368:
Lol. I like the little I’ve seen of Mapoe, but I wonder if Sithole’s chance would have come now if he was still about.
Sharkies hit the front and Griquas are going to be wondering how. 14-16 HT
5 Aug 2011, 19:57 pm
I mean in squad. Jammer meneer!
Just heard my best friend going to scotland next week for a course.
A test of my friendship it is, aye
5 Aug 2011, 19:59 pm
Extrabollock
Why is it that after so many years in the land of milk and honey you still can’t speak english properly?
Very embraboer.
Downright emboerissing in fact.
5 Aug 2011, 20:01 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-139:
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-126: The guy doesn’t tackle. Hardly at all. And he stands so deep his scrumhalf thinks he’s only five feet tall
Hear me out. Do you really think that Steyn will just decide to stand too deep on his own with guys like Fourie du Preez and Jean de Villiers next to him? I don’t think so. He is playing a certain pattern, not decided by him, but by the coaching staff.
Then, you say his defence is weak? How many Bok 10′s were renowned for their defence in the last 20 years? Honiball? Who else? van Straaten perhaps? And then Butch. What do you think about Coopers defence? According to Australians, that is his biggest weakness. And Carter? He seems to be jogging next to players, pushing them towards guys like SBW and McCaw to tackle. Certainly not his strongpoint either.
Now, do I think Butch is a better distributer and defender than Steyn? Yes, I do. But, he also give away more penalties, is not the best tactical kicker, and not the same accuracy as Steyn. If the kiwis or the French or the ref gets under his skin, he might just lose it.
I have no problem with Butch starting if that is the way the Boks want to play. But we need Steyn in the squad (22). There might come a time that we will need him. I have all the respect in the world for Lambie, and I do think he has the talent and head to become one of our best 10′s ever. But if I have to choose 2 flyhalfs for the WC, it has to be Steyn and James.
5 Aug 2011, 20:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-372:
Nice. I’m sure you are only too happy for your bestie
But bluddy helll, the only courses I seem to get sent on are in a back street behind Gabriel Road or something.
5 Aug 2011, 20:06 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-375:
Hey. I said it test friendship!
Which gabriel road? I live very near gabriel road.
5 Aug 2011, 20:11 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-376:
Yes, that one, near you. Cos I used to live very near Gabriel Road too AND worked for the rather large construction company with their offices there.
That’s why the courses were in the vicinity I guess
5 Aug 2011, 20:14 pm
I love my chommie to bits but don’t go to scotland without meeeee!!!!!!!!!
5 Aug 2011, 20:25 pm
And my parents are off to Germany next week cos my uncle is getting married.
Hope they don’t come back raving Nazis!!!!!!
Bless ‘em.
5 Aug 2011, 20:28 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-373:
You are the worse joker if you ask such a silly question based on a very small error of an absence of a word, surely?
Try this from your earlier posts:
” Well we can all do that exctraball ” Spelling not an essential part of English?
” embraboer ” Is that a word in England?
There are any number of those and worse on a daily basis.
Do you even realise that the testicular of “ex-testicular” says it is an adjective and not a noun? Nicknames are still nouns.
You surely realise that adjectives qualify nouns?
Thus extra-testicular mass qualifies the noun, mass, by saying it is outside the testis. Do you now comprehend a bit better.
5 Aug 2011, 20:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-379:
‘Bless ‘em’?
Your parents or Nazi’s?
Langers will demand to know, you know.
5 Aug 2011, 20:33 pm
We have Happy Hookers all over the place! Chilliboy to cover Smittie, Bismarck to cover loosies, and yes, Schalk Brits to cover all hookers, loosies and wings. The kick and chase game is made for unpredictable players. It is about great ball handling skills, extreme decision making, and a fleet of foot customer. Of course, this won’t happen, as the creativity school is out to lunch. We have our own Quade Cooper in Brits. And put Spies on the wing. Change the game plan, for heaven’s sake! Big ego’s (Brits, Bismarck, Spies, Chilliboy) need new and exciting challenges. Smell the coffee!!!!!!
5 Aug 2011, 20:34 pm
Bresler much better than Hargreaves – he is no coward.
5 Aug 2011, 20:36 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-378: do you know where your chommie is located?
5 Aug 2011, 20:36 pm
Sharks in a bit if trouble here methinks.
5 Aug 2011, 20:40 pm
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-382:
Welcome aboard mate. Your brother was a special person.
And i’m enjoying your posts as well. A breath of fresh air.
5 Aug 2011, 20:40 pm
Griquas doing the bizniz here.
5 Aug 2011, 20:41 pm
Raubenheimer is good – dummied 3 guppies and off-loaded for a good try. Guppies getting killed !
40-22 Griquas
5 Aug 2011, 20:42 pm
A lot of Lions player on loan for the Griquas….
5 Aug 2011, 20:43 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-385:
And to think that the Lions gave Griquas a hiding. Kimberley is not an easy place to pick up points.
5 Aug 2011, 20:44 pm
Did Kanko finally found his razor?
5 Aug 2011, 20:44 pm
Jock!
My parents of course!
RL yes I know where she is why?
5 Aug 2011, 20:45 pm
So Alberts, Juan Smith, Brussow and Burger are missing. I think the 22 named is good enough to beat Australia, just but they’ll need Alberts and Burger to return to beat NZ.
Imo Lambie should’ve been selected at the expense of Jean De Villiers. Frans Steyn to 12, PL to 15.
5 Aug 2011, 20:46 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-386:
Cheers boet! I am having fun. I strongly believe that in a WC situation you need an “impact” plan that no opposing team can prepare for. A “special ops” unit/strategy that gets the penalty or the try in the last ten minutes. The Sir Alex Ferguson school of: “You will not beat my team. The fat lady is in my pocket! I have the Baby-Faced Assasin in your face!”
5 Aug 2011, 20:47 pm
Good stuff Griquas.
5 Aug 2011, 20:48 pm
Well done Griquas….
5 Aug 2011, 20:48 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-390:
Sheesh, indeed. Even on tv this week they were saying that the Lions might have shattered that one. But Sharks lost up there last year as well if I remember correctly???
But you have to say, Griquas deserved that.
5 Aug 2011, 20:49 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-392: I know a chommie to be something else – it is the piece of skin located between the P and the A if you know what I mean – cannot say those words here
5 Aug 2011, 20:50 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-392:
Lol, was only joking
5 Aug 2011, 20:50 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-391: On loan? really … Noble and Mokuena?
5 Aug 2011, 20:51 pm
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-394:
And the Baby-Faced assasin would be Pat Lambie. Right?
And the fat lady, John Smit.
5 Aug 2011, 20:54 pm
Ok tjommie then.
5 Aug 2011, 20:54 pm
@RL(RL)-400: Yup… and I think that Vogt as well.
5 Aug 2011, 20:55 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-397:
And Province have found the going tough there in recent times.
And tomorrow WP are in Bloem – the Cheetahs have some of their Boks back. So it will be a real test.
Hope Sadie and JJ rise to the occasion.
5 Aug 2011, 20:55 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-393:
Frans recent form and abilty to play at this level is nothing other than a matter of speculation. So far he’s disappointed since playing in France.
5 Aug 2011, 20:56 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-403: Vogt is a kicking machine 9 from 9 tonight – and this is the same Griquas team that the Lions ate alive, in their own backyard.
5 Aug 2011, 20:57 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-404:
Lol.
Breath Jock, breaaaaaaaathhhhhhhhh……..
5 Aug 2011, 20:58 pm
Fark, Leopards beat Pumas as well.
I might as well give up on Superbru
5 Aug 2011, 20:59 pm
@RL(RL)-406: Ja… we even stopped playing with 60 min to go.
5 Aug 2011, 21:00 pm
How’s old Bros. Being interviewed by Breyton.
Breyton: “Griquas went through 24 phases for that one try.”
Bros: ” It’s what you do on the practise field. Must be a wet dream for a coach.”
5 Aug 2011, 21:01 pm
Chommie tjommie testes balls extra ekstra ….
Whatsgoingon!
5 Aug 2011, 21:01 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-404:
Argghhh, you’ve got me going. I even spelled ‘breathe’ wrong…TWICE
5 Aug 2011, 21:05 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-411: ja so you figured out where it is located
5 Aug 2011, 21:06 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-412:
Just breathe!
5 Aug 2011, 21:07 pm
Whatever
She still my friend and you are rude!
5 Aug 2011, 21:09 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-410:
You’re killing me!
5 Aug 2011, 21:15 pm
Agh, come on Griquas! “Fish are friends, not food!”
5 Aug 2011, 21:16 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-403: I was reading up on Michael Bondiso, did you know he was a white kid raised as a black kid – like Happy Sindane.
Just look at his profile on Lions rugby and see …
http://www.lionsrugby.co.za/index.php/all-rugby/currie-cup/player-profiles/1227-michael-bondesio
5 Aug 2011, 21:20 pm
@RL(RL)-418: jirre..
I really hope he is good in maths if his rugby career goes sour.
5 Aug 2011, 23:11 pm
If Brussouw fails assesment surely Flo has to be given a last chance. Given his performance at Virgin Active Wembley square gym, he definitely is not injured.
Probably the only time in history Chiliboy can feel hard done by.
5 Aug 2011, 23:38 pm
I can see the headlines after the 3N. We forgot a fetcher and got fckd
5 Aug 2011, 23:39 pm
What has Lambie done wrong and what has Morne done right?
6 Aug 2011, 01:04 am
Piet Snorre se WC groep lyk so:
15. F Steyn & G Aplon
14. JP Pietersen & F Hougaard
13. J de Villiers & J de Jongh
12. J Fourie & A Jacobs (dalk verras met Lambie – hoop so)
11. B Habana & L Mvovu
10. B James & M Steyn
9. F du Preez & R Pienaar
1. G Steenkamp & B Mtwarira
2. J Smit & B du Plessis
3. J du Plessis & CJ vd Linde
6. S Burger & H Brussouw
4. B Botha & D Rossouw
5. V Matfield & J Muller (moet 2 no5 slotte kies)
7. J Smith* & J Deysel
8. P Spies & W Alberts
* As J Smith nie reg is nie, sal D Rossouw as flank gaan en G Mostert as slot.
@garth(garth)-422: Remember who are the Bok selectors. They also have to consider and protect the Sharks for the Currie Cup.
6 Aug 2011, 02:31 am
I’m thinking that PdV is thinking….
Props: Gurthro Steenkamp, Beast Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde
Hookers: John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis, Chilliboy Ralepelle
Locks: Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Gerhard Mostert, Danie Rossouw
Loosies: Heinrich Brussow, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, Willem Alberts, Pierre Spies
Scrumhalves: Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard
Flyhalves: Butch James, Morne Steyn
Centres: Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Adrian Jacobs, Juan de Jongh
Wingers: Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon
Fullbacks: Francois Steyn, Pat Lambie
Flip van der Merwe misses out to Gerhard Mostert. Adi Jacobs goes ahead of Wynand Olivier (they’re about equal anyway), Jean Deysel misses out to Rossouw (lock/flank) & Alberts (can play 7 & 8).
Our back-up team to play Namibia for example could be
1 Beast Mtawarira
2 Bismarck du Plessis/Chilliboy Ralepelle
3 CJ van der Linde
4 Gerhard Mostert
5 Danie Rossouw
6 Brussow to get more game time…
7 Willem Alberts
8 Pierre Spies
9 Ruan Pienaar
10 Morne Steyn
11 Francois Hougaard
12 Juan de Jongh
13 Adrian Jacobs
14 Gio Aplon
15 Pat Lambie
6 Aug 2011, 05:47 am
@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-424:
that’ll be very close to the final squad in my opinion. traditional approach with 4 props, 3 hookers 4 locks and 5 loosies – with danie adding versatility. then 3 scrummy’s and 3 wings. having utility players like lambie, pienaar and hougaard a real bonus. agree adi will probably go. not much to choose between him and wynand so you need to take adi.
perhaps muller in for mostert if he recovers ok. and if one of brussouw or schalk cant go flouw in. deysel in if juan or alberts dont make it.
6 Aug 2011, 06:32 am
Patrick’s obviously a sacrificial Lambie.
6 Aug 2011, 07:51 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-426: Too young, too soon BUT I fear he will become another Brent Russel! What will his final position be? THAT is the Q.
6 Aug 2011, 08:12 am
@kwas(kwas)-66: Thank goodness I am not the only seeing that.Cant agree with you more. Just have to add CJ into that group that does absolutely NOTHING in defence. How bad must this be for the likes of Josh Strauss,Elstadt Daniel ETC. The actual pack where Stegmann would perform well in ,He gets left out. MAKES NO SENSE!!
6 Aug 2011, 08:15 am
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-427: Don’t ask DIV that question. Can you imagine the confusion.
6 Aug 2011, 08:30 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-429: Puff Divvy is just riding out his tenure like a man rides out an old *****. He will collect his cheque and fark off into the sunset. Then the next gray train clown will fill the void..
Ho hum… FOUR more years
6 Aug 2011, 08:31 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-428: Seriously? You and Agile titties really have a bee in yr bonet about Stegman….
Really?
6 Aug 2011, 10:15 am
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-431: Believe me .I am no Stegmann fan !. But selecting a squad with 2 loose forwards . Come-on!!Then one of them being PS. ?????.I am merely pointing out the fact that if you want to play Stegmann (which I would not!!) at least play him with a strong pack of forwards.
Where is the speed we need in this pack? .And don’t count PS ‘s speed. He does not use it.
6 Aug 2011, 11:08 am
Smit – the Coaches – the Administrators – the Politicians
Get rid of the above in that order and we’ll win the World Cup.
6 Aug 2011, 12:32 pm
Three scrumhalves I think is too many despite the flexibility of both Ruan and Hougie..I would still have taken Lambie.
Anyway..I bet injuries happen and then we have no problem..watch this space.
7 Aug 2011, 06:24 am
Taking a Lambie to the slaughter…