No room for Lambie

Patrick Lambie has been left out of the 24-man Springbok squad selected for the Tri-Nations Tests in South Africa.

As expected, coach Peter de Villiers has recalled the majority of the players that were precluded from the Australasian tour. The players that won’t be considered due to injuries are Schalk Burger (hand), Juan Smith (Achilles), Andries Bekker (ankle), Willem Alberts (shoulder), Johann Muller (hamstring) and Duane Vermeulen (knee).

Surprisingly, Lambie is excluded from the group, as Butch James and Morne Steyn are listed as the flyhalf options. Chiliboy Ralepelle also hasn’t made the 24-man cut despite his impressive efforts on tour.

Burger, Smith and Alberts won’t be considered for the Test against Australia on 13 August, but will join the squad in Durban and continue with their rehabilitation. Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test.

The big bolter is Gerhard Mostert, who wins a place in the squad ahead of Bulls No 4 lock Flip van der Merwe. Mostert made his debut against the All Blacks last week.

‘It’s very satisfying to see that Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha have now largely overcome their injuries but they still require management as we have a shortage of fit locks at the moment,’ said De Villiers.

‘We also have injury problems among the loose forwards but I am hopeful that all of the four who are not currently in the playing squad will be ready for selection by the time of the World Cup.’

The squad will assemble in Durban on Sunday.

Springbok Squad for Tri-Nations home Tests:
BACKS:
Gio Aplon
Frans Steyn
JP Pietersen
Bryan Habana
Jaque Fourie
Juan de Jongh
Jean de Villiers
Morne Steyn
Butch James
Ruan Pienaar
Fourie du Preez
Francois Hougaard

FORWARDS:
Pierre Spies
Jean Deysel
Danie Rossouw
Bakkies Botha
Victor Matfield
Gerhard Mostert
John Smit (c)
Bismarck du Plessis
Tendai Mtawarira
Jannie du Plessis
Gurthrö Steenkamp
CJ van der Linde

435 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 1.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Home dragons

• 2.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Oh dear. The bad decisions just keep on coming.

• 3.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

F uck my dog! Ruan P is still there!

• 4.gecko: Reply to this comment

Just 2 loose forwards?

• 5.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

Aplon is great, for a super rugby player, not test level though. The guy tackles and has heart, but he does lose meters in the collision.

• 6.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@gecko: wellspotted ROFL!

• 7.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Makes sense, they invested 2 years in M. Styen, he will not be dropped now.

• 8.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-4: Yes, they will count Daniesaurus but WTF?! Do they simply not want to win any games in this 3N?

• 9.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

How do you have a 24-man squad? And the two unlucky players left out for this game are …

• 10.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

be prepared for a huge pack:

8 Spies
    7 Deysel
    6 Rossouw
    5 Matfield
    4 Botha

• 11.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Congrats to Deysel & Mostert.
    Unlucky Patrick, your time will come.

• 12.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

What about Brussow?

• 13.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Where is Brüssow?

• 14.gecko: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-8: Fine, Danie might play 7, that still means no replacement. Was the big Rustenburg secret Bismarck moving to openside?

• 15.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-10: Pity only 3 of them ar evaguely capable of tackling…

• 16.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-5:
    Aplon tackles? ;)
    Since when, must be a new meaning to the word now, I’ll have to check the dictionary

• 17.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-12: Never mind that, where is The Steg?

• 18.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-9:
    de Jongh
    Pienaar / hougaard

• 19.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-10: So Rossouw is our fetcher now?!

• 20.BULLET: Reply to this comment

That loose forward combination is going to be interrestig

• 21.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-18: It was a joke. The squad should be bigger than this. For each of the two remaining games, you need 22 players.

• 22.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

I guess they’ve had enough of Wynand Olivier.

Or is this just the training stretch-B?
    Am I missing something? They cannot make up a loose trio and subs out of those names…..

• 23.BULLET: Reply to this comment

I would not be surprised if Snor asks Smit to play loose forward?

• 24.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Lambie is being saved for the RWC.

• 25.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-13:

currie cup! getting all the rust cleaned out. he can only give 1 or 2 games before his dodgy knee comes to the fore.

• 26.Atreides: Reply to this comment

So no Brussow, maybe he’s still not 100%…..a bit baffled at Lanmbie’s omission…compare his performance to Steyn’s all season…..Steyn is clearly not the FH to take us forward, and Butch is getting a bit log in the tooth…

How did CJ and Ruan P make it back in?

• 27.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

This can’t be all of the players.
    Some are still going to return of injury of be added, surely. They can’t form a backrow out of those names and subs.

The backs are covered and at least we’ve got an experienced tighthead now.

Oh em gee.
    Don’t tell me…..Don’t tell me Bismarck is going to shift to flank :lol:

• 28.jigga: Reply to this comment

When will it read ” P.DeVilliers left out of home tests”

• 29.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

This way, if we lose again, then PdV can just say that he has learnt something from the loss(four years on and he’s still learning on a weekly basis) – “You know Darren, I just forgot to include a fetcher, but we will write this in our lessons learned homework book, and move on.”

• 30.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-24: Yea but he needs game time , esp if the scrummie’s from the Bulls….I’m guessing they want to see how M Steyn goes with Fourie DPreez back

• 31.jigga: Reply to this comment

Can anyone on here tell me how Deysel has managed to make this squad ?

• 32.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-30:

You’re probably right…duh Villiers is still trying to figure out if Ruan Pienaar and Morne Steyn are as useless as we all know they are.

• 33.charo: Reply to this comment

no chiliboy?

• 34.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@jigga(jigga)-31:

have you ever seen a headlock&chokehold as perfectly executed by Deysel?? Klap gym boet.

• 35.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-33: Indeed! This squad can’t be right.

• 36.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-33:

not needed as there will be 2 hookers on the park, smit @ 2 BdP @ 7

• 37.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

No fetcher means no contesting which means our scrum will just keep going backwards like in the All Blacks game. Deysel is being wasted in there without Bakkies too. Those two boys (and Bekker when he’s fit) will pulverise the opposition….but we need a fetcher.

• 38.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-3:
    i will ffuck your dog!…i know hey? wtf?
    it boggle the mind to see he has 49 caps? wow! i will ffuck your dog harder for that…

• 39.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

One thing I do agree with is picking Gerhard Mostert ahead of Flip van der Merwe. Mostert played much better in Australasia than Flip ever has in green and gold.

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

brussow will play for the cheetahs against wp and THEN will be assessed, can’t you guys read?

• 41.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-39:
    agreed, BUT how cool is the name Flip? you cant leave him out cuz of that now can you..

• 42.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

province must not ffuck around with brussel p during the game.

have always said that morne steyn is going to be our kicker…tut tut tut…patrick lambie? pfffffft…se voet tut tut tut…

• 43.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-37: What are you talking about? how does not having a fetcher affect your scrum? Perhaps your forwards will be more tired and won’t push as much, but I get the feeling you didn’t think it through that far. And Bakkies is in the squad.

• 44.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-40:
    hey cun t, the article has been changed numerous times by whatever ape is posting this.

• 45.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-40: That info came later, China.

• 46.Transformation: Reply to this comment

where is stegmann, has he vanished from this list too? :D

• 47.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-40:

It wasn’t in the updated article before we posted our comments.
    In answer to your question; yes, we can read.

• 48.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-46:

that oak is horse ****, thank god, you heathen!

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-47: cool bananas :D

• 50.rugga bugga: Reply to this comment

Brussouw to be added to the Loosies for the test (Lets hope his dodgy knee makes it through the CC game unscathed.) Rossouw to cover Lock, Eight and blind side of the bench (MVP Player best we wrap him in cotton wool esp. if Jaun Smith Does make it back in time for RWC). with Deysel and Spies @ 7 and 8 respectively.

Not a bad squad, but would’ve found space for Lambie.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.