No room for Lambie
5 Aug 2011
Patrick Lambie has been left out of the 24-man Springbok squad selected for the Tri-Nations Tests in South Africa.
As expected, coach Peter de Villiers has recalled the majority of the players that were precluded from the Australasian tour. The players that won’t be considered due to injuries are Schalk Burger (hand), Juan Smith (Achilles), Andries Bekker (ankle), Willem Alberts (shoulder), Johann Muller (hamstring) and Duane Vermeulen (knee).
Surprisingly, Lambie is excluded from the group, as Butch James and Morne Steyn are listed as the flyhalf options. Chiliboy Ralepelle also hasn’t made the 24-man cut despite his impressive efforts on tour.
Burger, Smith and Alberts won’t be considered for the Test against Australia on 13 August, but will join the squad in Durban and continue with their rehabilitation. Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test.
The big bolter is Gerhard Mostert, who wins a place in the squad ahead of Bulls No 4 lock Flip van der Merwe. Mostert made his debut against the All Blacks last week.
‘It’s very satisfying to see that Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha have now largely overcome their injuries but they still require management as we have a shortage of fit locks at the moment,’ said De Villiers.
‘We also have injury problems among the loose forwards but I am hopeful that all of the four who are not currently in the playing squad will be ready for selection by the time of the World Cup.’
The squad will assemble in Durban on Sunday.
Springbok Squad for Tri-Nations home Tests:
BACKS:
Gio Aplon
Frans Steyn
JP Pietersen
Bryan Habana
Jaque Fourie
Juan de Jongh
Jean de Villiers
Morne Steyn
Butch James
Ruan Pienaar
Fourie du Preez
Francois Hougaard
FORWARDS:
Pierre Spies
Jean Deysel
Danie Rossouw
Bakkies Botha
Victor Matfield
Gerhard Mostert
John Smit (c)
Bismarck du Plessis
Tendai Mtawarira
Jannie du Plessis
Gurthrö Steenkamp
CJ van der Linde

435 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
5 Aug 2011, 15:28 pm
Anyone know how FdP & ViccyM’s hunting trip went in Rustenberg? hear they nailed a Zeebraaa
5 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
*****/" rel="nofollow">http://www.hayibo.com/matfield-hunting-pic-psychopath-or-just-tiny-*****/
5 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
“Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test. ”
So Brussouw is likely to be included in the squad next week, so the squad is right.
If he is they wont start him, they will ease him in and play off the bench against Aus then maybe start against AB if all goes well.
Against Aus:
6. Deysel
7. Roussow
8. Spies
19. Brussouw
Against AB:
6.Brussouw
7.Roussow
8. Burger
19. Smith
5 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
hahahahahahahaha…
plod, spies and morne steyn.
poor grantie is going to need a lie down when reads this.
5 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
http://www.hayibo.com/matfield-hunting-pic-psychopath-or-just-tiny-peni s/
clear the space at the end to find the link etc.
5 Aug 2011, 15:32 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-54: bwhahahahaha
5 Aug 2011, 15:35 pm
@mustard: If brusouw on the bench for 1st test then best loosie Combo is:
6) Spies (More speed to the breakdown than Deysel)
7) Deysel
8) Rossouw (He needs game time here before the WC)
5 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
Now this is a better bok team, except for spies and morne steyn! ai tog, wanneer gaan hulle leer?
5 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-54: He’ll head to the gym to train off his frustration
5 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-55: Nice.
5 Aug 2011, 15:38 pm
Who picked this team? Richie McCaw or Tannie Evita Bezuidenhout? Facing the best loose-forward trio in the world with only one recognised loosie. This is the epitome of true madness. Get rid of Tim Noakes and get a good psychiatrist on board!
@rugga bugga(rugga bugga)-57: spies “fetching”? bwahahaha forget it!
Jean deysel will be the fetcher! This is going to be very interesting, hopefully for the Boks Brussouw pulls through the WP game unscathed. Looking at that squad do you get the feeling that things may just not work out?
5 Aug 2011, 15:39 pm
@rugga bugga(rugga bugga)-57: What would Spies do when he got to the breakdown? Check out Richie’s ***? Don’t talk kak.
very strange – no room for lambie yet we have 3 9s during a home series.
Funny how the only guy that made every tackle and missed none against the All Blacks are out whilst the worst defensive players against the Wallabies and All Blacks, John Smit and Danie Rossouw, are sitting at the front of the bus.
Keo, why not do a pole on how many tackles Smit, Spies and Danie will slip in Durban?
@Michael(mikeybrass)-59:
A double dancercise opfok with jr
5 Aug 2011, 15:41 pm
@Boom15(Boom15)-65: Ruan and Hougaard are considered ‘utility’ players, i.e. can play most positions in the backline. Only specialist scrummie is Du Preez.
best team from this group
1. guthro
2. smittie
3. jannie
4. bakkies
5. matfield
6. jean deysel
7. danie
8. spies
9.fourie
10. james
11. hougaard
12. jdv
13. jacques
14. jpp
15. steyntjie
16. mosterd
17. bissie
18. cj
19. aplon
20. habana
21. aplon
And this is a story?
Head over to a real rugby site!
5 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
so happy gurthro’s back
5 Aug 2011, 15:43 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-55:
I didn’t get very far with that, but being shot is a much more humane way for an animal to die than getting eaten alive by lions, or dying of starvation, and if herbivore numbers in certain areas aren’t kept under control that is what happens.
@kwas(kwas)-66: Spies will be the winner
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-69:
A bench has 7 players.
5 Aug 2011, 15:44 pm
@rugga bugga(rugga bugga)-57: Spies play to the ball at openside?????? No ways boet…..neverrrrr
Deysel on the other hand plays to the ball quite well, often came on for the sharks and played as a fetcher, Spies cant.
Also Danie is looked as back up for Juan not as an 8th man……In fact its more likely than not that Schalk will be at 8 come the WC
5 Aug 2011, 15:45 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-69: steyn @ a5 before aplon? that is madness!
Okay, so…
Bekker is definitely out of contention due to injury.
If the other first-choice injured Boks recover in time, then the RWC squad will look like:
1. Steenkamp
2. Mtawarira
3. Smit
4. B Du Plessis
5. Ralepelle
6. J Du Plessis
7. Van Der Linde
8. Bakkies Botha
9. Rossouw
10. Matfield
11. Mostert
12. Burger
13. Brussow
14. Smith
15. Alberts
16. Spies
17. Du Preez
18. Pienaar
19. Hougaard
20. James
21. M Steyn
22. Habana
23. De Villiers
24. De Jongh
25. Fourie
26. Pieterson
27. Aplon
28. F Steyn
29. Lambie
With the final place secured by one of:
BJ Botha, Flip Van Der Merwe, Johann Muller (or will he take Mostert’s place above if fit?), Jean Deysel, Duanne Vermeulen (are Kankowski and Flouw out for sure?), Wynand Olivier, Adrian Jacobs or Lwazi Mvovo…
Who will lucky number 30 be??????
ps. why only 3 loosies? where is kanko and daniels? who’s going to cover for these guys? mosterd?
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-70:
au contraire…to all the lambie manboy lovedaddies it is a very big story.
5 Aug 2011, 15:46 pm
Im worried about the loose trio most of all here.
All else is falling into place quite nicely.
Rossouw was looking very tired and slow overseas, watching him get sidestepped and beat by one of the Franks brothers is not something I like to see happen to a loosie.
I think he should be an out and out 4 reserve. Thats it.
I suppose when Brussow, Smith, Burger and Alberts return things will be a lot better.
Very slow pack against the Ausies though.
1 Beast
2 Smit
3 Jannie
4 Bakkies
5 Matfield
6 Deysel
7 Rossouw
8 Spies
Talk about 1 dimensional. I think Beast will almost be the most mobile player on the park.
5 Aug 2011, 15:47 pm
@PiXel_NiNja(PiXel_NiNja)-55: Hahaha this from that article
“Obviously Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez didn’t shoot it for fun, because killing animals for pleasure is a major trait of serial killers,” said one expert. “But perhaps it’s part of some sort of treatment for men with microscopically small penises.”
Initial reports suggested that the photograph was downloaded from niche *** website, HomoeroticBloodfestRetards.com, however, it was later confirmed that Matfield had in fact posted it on his Twitter feed. But experts are still divided whether he did this to out himself as a sociopath who needs to get his jollies by butchering defenceless animals, or whether he was simply compensating for something.”
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-74: add ruan pienaar to the mix then.
Transie: kandi jonge le team, ingathi iABs zithethe noPdV, uba zizakutyiwa la bafana. Intle, lento ndiyi bona apha, ngumculo, it’s a music! LoL
@kwas(kwas)-68: I hear you, but we only have 1 backup centre and 1 fulback (assuming Gio’s demonstrated kicking game will make him a specalist wing from now on)- lambie could cover 10,12, 15- just gives you more options for the bench imo.
5 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-80: yes, we will struggle to contain the ausies with this pack.
5 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-75:
Who said he was going to “play to the ball”?
Spies got Man Of The Match against the All Blacks when he was 21-years old in the Tri nations in 2006 and that was at 6.
So what’s the problem?
5 Aug 2011, 15:49 pm
Thankfully de Villiers was not as stupid as the doff lunatics that praised Bambie. We have a real 10 with a real pack. Much better.
Backline
9 Fourie
10 Butch
11 Habs
12 Jean
13 Jacque
14 JP
15 Frans
20 Hougaard, 21 Morne, 22 Aplon/DeJongh.
Not too shabby Nige.
butch wont play as well off fdp as morne will. besides you dont have him on the bench, who will come on for him if his injured? aplons twin?
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-82:
Sommer net huh?
Who’s gonna cover loosie for you then? Bismarck?
5 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-86: the problem is that he is utterly useless and k a k! can’t tackle for s h y t and doesn’t know how to run around players. there’s your problem. not at all dynamic enough.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-72:
That website shouldnt be taken seriously, just pokes fun at everything. Funny as hell though
Your time will come Lambie.
Really feel for Lambie. One of the best players on tour and left out?
Ruan and Morne never impressed at all. Fact Morne was woeful.
Anyhow rather see Lambie in a far more exciting Bok team come next year. Where we will play a better game.
Kick and chase don’t suite his game anyhow.
But well done to Mostert and Deysel.
this is almost as good as it gets … throw Bruzzy in the mix and move Spies to the bench and we can win the world cup with it
Hoping the idea is to keep the other teams away from Lambie and not that he is out of favour for some reason …
add the injured players to the list and you go
5 Aug 2011, 15:52 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-82:
And then you have 4 backs on the bench then BTW.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-90: that’s my question. there are only 3 loosies in the entire squad….one of which isn’t actually one anymore. pakslae is getting old.
wtf is morne “I only feel save behind my own poles that’s why I lie so deep” doing there? please **** up the 3N for us Morne coz then maybe PdV will be finally convinced that you ain’t worth a steaming bucket of dog ****
5 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-89: he seemed to do ok in the WC
And the All Blacks will usurp the Bok test record of fielding a starting 15 with the most caps in history when they face Australia on Saturday.
So all this talk of the Boks being too old (in playing terms or age), I’m not buying it.
There is the core group and then there are Ralepelle, Bismark and Jannie Du Plessis (to a large degree), Brussow, Alberts, Hougaard, M. Steyn, Lambie, De Jongh, Aplon and possibly Mostert (plus Bekker who, unfortunately, won’t make it) who have all come through at test level during the PDV era.
That’s a third of the RWC squad.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-86: So then he going to play blindside flank?? and Deysel fetch at 7, wont make a difference, he will be a disaster at 7. In 2006? Thats 5 years ago. 5 Years ago Habana was racing cheetahs
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All