No room for Lambie

Patrick Lambie has been left out of the 24-man Springbok squad selected for the Tri-Nations Tests in South Africa.

As expected, coach Peter de Villiers has recalled the majority of the players that were precluded from the Australasian tour. The players that won’t be considered due to injuries are Schalk Burger (hand), Juan Smith (Achilles), Andries Bekker (ankle), Willem Alberts (shoulder), Johann Muller (hamstring) and Duane Vermeulen (knee).

Surprisingly, Lambie is excluded from the group, as Butch James and Morne Steyn are listed as the flyhalf options. Chiliboy Ralepelle also hasn’t made the 24-man cut despite his impressive efforts on tour.

Burger, Smith and Alberts won’t be considered for the Test against Australia on 13 August, but will join the squad in Durban and continue with their rehabilitation. Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test.

The big bolter is Gerhard Mostert, who wins a place in the squad ahead of Bulls No 4 lock Flip van der Merwe. Mostert made his debut against the All Blacks last week.

‘It’s very satisfying to see that Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha have now largely overcome their injuries but they still require management as we have a shortage of fit locks at the moment,’ said De Villiers.

‘We also have injury problems among the loose forwards but I am hopeful that all of the four who are not currently in the playing squad will be ready for selection by the time of the World Cup.’

The squad will assemble in Durban on Sunday.

Springbok Squad for Tri-Nations home Tests:
BACKS:
Gio Aplon
Frans Steyn
JP Pietersen
Bryan Habana
Jaque Fourie
Juan de Jongh
Jean de Villiers
Morne Steyn
Butch James
Ruan Pienaar
Fourie du Preez
Francois Hougaard

FORWARDS:
Pierre Spies
Jean Deysel
Danie Rossouw
Bakkies Botha
Victor Matfield
Gerhard Mostert
John Smit (c)
Bismarck du Plessis
Tendai Mtawarira
Jannie du Plessis
Gurthrö Steenkamp
CJ van der Linde

435 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

• 251.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-247:

Well, I don’t know if it’s Lwazi going, he has very poor defense, but I’m not sure what other winger to add to the group of 28.

• 252.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-247: I thought 30 were going.

Then you probably right. If it is only 28 then we only have one space left. If Juan and Brussow are fit to go. Chili will go to wc have no doubt at all and with Juan and Brussow if fit and over their injuries.

Mvovo will go. My feeling if it is 28. Then there we have it our squad. These 24 players with: Juan, Brussow, Chili and Mvovo.

If the squad is 30 then another two. Have no idea.

• 253.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-251: Hougaard covers wing, scrummie and outside centre. So maybe it might not be a wing.

• 254.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier van zyl: McCaw may have a penalty count but when you have 3 IRB player of the year awards, it becomes rather challenging to juxtapose Stegman to McCaw in some areas they’d say it’s an insult! Furthermore, McCaw’s impact, accuracy in every facet of an opensider’s game is unparalleled, he frequently to takes the game to a new level. Please let’s stop with Stegman, the boy does not have it, if he did the world would know about it.

• 255.Puma: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-246: :)

• 256.Tjokker: Reply to this comment

My advice to Adriaan Strauss if he wants to play regularly for the Boks – change ASAP from hooker to a fetcher. He has everything to become a great fetcher. With Bismarck and Chilliboy in the run, he will struggle to make the squad as a hooker.

• 257.David: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-250:
    I reckon JdeV will double as wing cover. We need 5 specialist props for the whole tournament, in my opinion, even if JS doubles.

• 258.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-252:

Yeah, there was a 30-man squad in 2007 with 4 wingers.

• 259.RL: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-246: Steyn can play wing if needed and can alternate with Aplon … the simple fact is that Steyn is world class and is the only player in the world who can play fullback, centre and flyhalf and look the business.

• 260.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-218:

yip@Puma(Puma)-222:

that’s exactly my point…why didn’t Plum put Michaelak there then. Freddie M is a proven test match fullback as well as flyhalf. And he wouldn’t even had to risk breaking up the 9/10/12 combo.

tell you why, because lambie never in a million years would have nailed that Freddie M drop goal that eventually proved the difference.

I think you do not know much.

• 261.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-254:

listen, I don’t disagree with any of that. Just that I find the penalty count argument…the wrong argument to punt.

• 262.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-257:

What about centre? I don’t know if JdJ is going. JdV will definitely play centre. WO might go.

• 263.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-254:

OK, I’ll stop with it and Van Zyl and everybody else you demand of, after you answer the question I axed you, lady.

• 264.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-254:

oh…and the 1 irb player of the year award was in 2009.

when Brussow made Richie look like a 90 year old sangoma. (and the bulls gave the crusaders a right proper working over)

wouldn’t write too much into irb awards after that.

• 265.RL: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-260: Steyn would have nailed that drop from either fullback, centre or fullback … Lambie does not have the skill of Steyn.

• 266.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-264:

Stolen from Fourie du Preez that “award”.

• 267.RL: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-265: and flyhalf, remember he is the only player we have that can play in 3 positions.

• 268.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-260: The problem of course expecting a 20-year old to perform to the same standard as a seasoned test pro. Flyhalf is arguably more important in a close match than fullback and it stands to reason to put the seasoned pro as close to the action as possible.

Lambie will become a seasoned pro and possibly a better player than Michalak; he will certainly become better than Steyn. In time and with the correct exposure.

• 269.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

yip, after 2009…the irb awards became a laughable anecdote on any players cv.

• 270.Piker: Reply to this comment

I dont get it. Why appoint three scrumhalves? If Divy is selecting Pienaar as a utility back then surely we are better placed with a specialist three quarter player such as Lambie? Our coaches blind faith in Pienaar as some kind of general backline band-aid or panacea is fooking frustrating.

• 271.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-268:

so you agree then that lambie is too young and internationally inexperienced to be going to the worldcup,then?

• 272.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-252:

We don’t need 3 hookers, the thing is I just don’t know how serious they are about John Smit at prop, and what is going on there. So we might not see Chiliboy go to the RWC at all.

The rest is just an extra winger to tour, add a lock if Danie is to stay in the loosie category, and then the rest are Burger, and either of Brussow or Steggies and then if Juan can make it.

That’s pretty much it.

• 273.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Hougaard a very good inclusion, apart from probably being the best winger in the country, also a pretty descent scrummie…

• 274.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-260: That is your opinion. I don’t agree and many others don’t either.

We just have to sit and hope like bloody crazy that Butch don’t get injured. Cause then we in trouble. Morne was really terrible on this away leg and in last years 3Ns and again on the eoyt. So Butch better stay injury free. He gonna have to play all of the games in the wc. Mornes defence is terrible. He can kick at posts but have been missing quite a few of late. If he is only there for that well we are really doomed if Butch gets injured.

• 275.grant10: Reply to this comment

fark me….now I got to travel 3000km…..to see my favorites bloody plod, spies and M Steyn!

No fetcher??

Dark ages……I am a broken man…

• 276.RL: Reply to this comment

@Piker(Piker)-270: Hougie is will be wing cover, the backs are sorted … there is only space left for 6 more forwards to added to the 3N squad to become the RWC squad. All the injured listed above will go, Chili to replace Becker.

• 277.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier van zyl: I have no words….

• 278.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-273: I rate him plenty. Also plays 100%. Huge heart in every game. Pleased he is going to wc.

• 279.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-277: :lol: Well said……hehehehe.

• 280.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier van zyl: just regathered my tongue, let’s meet in PE, I’ll have McCaw with me, you drag along Stegman!

• 281.grant10: Reply to this comment

I cannot believe Lambie not in squad….seriously we are one messed up rugby s hit for no brains bunch of palookas wallys…..

the 3 stooges are crazy……we better pray brussow and butch come through okay…

tsunami tears coming….

how slow will our loosies be ?

Pocock and mc caw going to eat us for breakfast

goodnite nurse
    all over rover
    6 love

• 282.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-272: Could be right, but I think we will see 3 hookers go on tour. But think they will wait until the last moment to see if Juan can make it. I sure hope he does. We do have good replacements in Deysel and Alberts there but Juan is just awesome when fit.

• 283.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-281: Fat boy Matfield picked him, he rates Steyn better than Lambie and why not? 3N winner, Super rugby winner and B&I Lions winner … even fat boy Plod will pick Steyn ahead of someone like Lambie, who fluffs easy kicks under pressure.

• 284.Getafix: Reply to this comment

We all tend to forget that the world cup will be played in wet, cold and heavy conditions, Kicking will be of the utmost importance and skill and speed although needed will take a back seat. The team that can dominate upfront and kicks the best will be the team with the best chance…..

• 285.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-283: my man…M Steyn destroys that bok backline……he is c rap…..pi ss poor…..

Rather give me Puma with his kak knees at 10 than the skop en jag en bid artist……

• 286.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-283: Lambie don’t miss tackles that leads to tries though. Morne does.

Now read you rated Lambie. You said so in a post that I have copied and pasted. You want me to put that up here? Or have you changed your mind about Lambie now? :roll:

• 287.RL: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-284: agreed, in the wet Butch and Steyn are the best we have.

• 288.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-285: hehehehehe. Must be in your tick box again……… :lol:

• 289.grant10: Reply to this comment

plod
    spies
    and m steyn
    Big tears coming…..I am distraught…..no fetcher….nie wat….ons is in ons moer in

• 290.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-285:

Do you still need to convince yourself that you are NO less than a closet RACIST?

I say just look into your cracked mirror. If it not there then I will deliver it to you, special delivery.

• 291.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-285: @Puma(Puma)-286:

Lambie is good and one for the future, but to win a RWC you need experience, Butch has it and Steyn has it, besides I cannot see him playing a kicking game like the fat boys will be looking for.

• 292.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-284: All though it was not raining in Sydney under foot was very, very wet. There had been torrential rain all week and up to a few hours before we played that game against the Aussies. WE played terrible, just terrible there.

Look I agree in the wet we will need to kick more, but if we do it all the time expect us probably not to make it to the quarters. Well not much past that. How come the Aussies don’t and kiwis don’t seem to have to rely only on kicking away possession all the time. Why do we always only rely on that alone to have a chance to win? Cause it never helped us last year in NZ not at all.

• 293.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

This is pretty much your RWC squad.

Add:

Schalk, Juan, Brussow, Chili, Lambie, Muller, Alberts and apart from one or two changes, that is your 30-man RWC squad.

• 294.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-286:
    See thing in perspective, Morne missed a one on one tackle against a speedy wing(that should be able to beat a fullback on 1 to 1 situation about 80% of the time), he is not a fullback but in the midfield he is a pretty good defender…

• 295.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

This is a squad of 24 being both 12 forwards and backs.

Pdiv will take a squad of 30 to the WC and on my reckoning it will be 16 14 split of forwards and backs.

This 3N squad looks very unbalanced as far as the loosies are concerned. So the extra 4 to would come from:
    Juan Smith – fitness permitting – if he can’t play at least 2 CC matches, leave him behind.
    Brusssouw – he’s on the bench for the Cheetahs this w/e
    Schalk
    Willem Alberts
    Flip vd Merwe.

Can’t see Juan goung to the WC.

• 296.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-289:

Relax, it’s all good.
    We only need to beat Aus or NZ once in the RWC to keep it, and we have done it more than once with these players.

The rest we can handle.

• 297.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-291: Out of those two fh’s only Butch has it RL. Morne was terrible on this away tour. Also in last years 3N’s and again on the eoyt. We had better hope that FdP is up to his very best cause with out him playing 100% Morne just not the same player. But we had better hope Butch don’t pick up any injury cause I think if we only have Morne to cover Butch we in trouble.

Butchie is a very, very good fh. I have always rated him. Just keep fingers crossed he don’t get injured.

• 298.Piker: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-276: Fair enough. Backs are looking generally strong IMO. However if du preez playing poorly or gets injured, Hougie will be 1st choice substitute. He is better scrummie, not fair that he should have to shift to backline in place of Pienaar should one of the outside backs get injured or need substitution. Forward shorty of a loosie. Given the number of front row options our coach obviously has not made up his mind about front row.

• 299.Transformation: Reply to this comment

grant: agile t!ts says Spies played 6 in 2006 and got MoM so Spies to play fetcher at the Tank :mrgreen: good luck bwahahaha

• 300.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Big difference in climate coming 2 months later in the season….

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.