No room for Lambie
5 Aug 2011
Patrick Lambie has been left out of the 24-man Springbok squad selected for the Tri-Nations Tests in South Africa.
As expected, coach Peter de Villiers has recalled the majority of the players that were precluded from the Australasian tour. The players that won’t be considered due to injuries are Schalk Burger (hand), Juan Smith (Achilles), Andries Bekker (ankle), Willem Alberts (shoulder), Johann Muller (hamstring) and Duane Vermeulen (knee).
Surprisingly, Lambie is excluded from the group, as Butch James and Morne Steyn are listed as the flyhalf options. Chiliboy Ralepelle also hasn’t made the 24-man cut despite his impressive efforts on tour.
Burger, Smith and Alberts won’t be considered for the Test against Australia on 13 August, but will join the squad in Durban and continue with their rehabilitation. Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brussow will be assessed after this weekend’s Currie Cup match against WP, and if the Bok medical team is satisfied with his progress, he may come into contention for next week’s Test.
The big bolter is Gerhard Mostert, who wins a place in the squad ahead of Bulls No 4 lock Flip van der Merwe. Mostert made his debut against the All Blacks last week.
‘It’s very satisfying to see that Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha have now largely overcome their injuries but they still require management as we have a shortage of fit locks at the moment,’ said De Villiers.
‘We also have injury problems among the loose forwards but I am hopeful that all of the four who are not currently in the playing squad will be ready for selection by the time of the World Cup.’
The squad will assemble in Durban on Sunday.
Springbok Squad for Tri-Nations home Tests:
BACKS:
Gio Aplon
Frans Steyn
JP Pietersen
Bryan Habana
Jaque Fourie
Juan de Jongh
Jean de Villiers
Morne Steyn
Butch James
Ruan Pienaar
Fourie du Preez
Francois Hougaard
FORWARDS:
Pierre Spies
Jean Deysel
Danie Rossouw
Bakkies Botha
Victor Matfield
Gerhard Mostert
John Smit (c)
Bismarck du Plessis
Tendai Mtawarira
Jannie du Plessis
Gurthrö Steenkamp
CJ van der Linde

435 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All
5 Aug 2011, 18:33 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-293:
I assume Deysel out for Juan Smith and I assume then Smit is at prop? or what? 3 Hookers?
5 Aug 2011, 18:35 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-293: there are 24 selected for the 3N, so only 6 spots open … so one forward will need to drop out from your list to make way for Lambie … he will make the standby list as flyhalf or fullback cover.
Anyhow I rate Lambie in all the positions he plays. fb, fh and inside centre. He can play all positions equall well. A great utility player if we need him.
Then again it might be best he starts fresh with a new young exciting players in next years Boks side. Where we play a different game plan.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-301:
Deysel in if Juan is out.
3 Hookers will be selected, Smit, Bis and Chili.
@Puma(Puma)-303: meant = equally.
5 Aug 2011, 18:37 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-304: That is what I have been saying. Think we will take 3 hookers. Chili will go and so will Deysel even if Juan goes. Just to cover.
Anyhow out of here now.
Going to get ready to watch the Sharks game.
5 Aug 2011, 18:38 pm
Waar val et nou uit!
5 Aug 2011, 18:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-303:
From the 24 you see now, Mostert will probably lose out if Muller is fit.
One of CJ and Guthro will also go depending on Guthro’s fitness.
5 Aug 2011, 18:39 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-304:
Didn’t they say they were only taking 28 men this time? There is no space for 3 hookers.
5 Aug 2011, 18:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-306:
There will def be 3 hookers, that much I can guarantee you
5 Aug 2011, 18:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-299: Actually before I go. I do remember Spies playing 6 in 2006 and he was actually brilliant that year there. Yes he was Transie. Agile is totally correct on that.
So he could also cover there but has not played there since 2006 I think.
5 Aug 2011, 18:41 pm
Fortunately we will only be needing 22
5 Aug 2011, 18:42 pm
What has Pienaar done to be selected? Seriously don’t understand why he was brought back. Hasn’t had a good game in a bok jersey in over a year. You’d think moving overseas would see the end of his selection, but no.
@Puma(Puma)-297: It’s better for not to get exposed to skop en jag, does not suit him … let him play in the CC and develop a kicking game similar to Butch.
You cannot get rid of Steyn just like I cannot get rid of Smit
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309:
I thought it was 28 as well – but that was for a 3N away squad.
Jake took 30 to the WC.
And England are naming a final squad of 30 on Aug 22.
5 Aug 2011, 18:43 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-310: I am sure of it too Morne. Said so earlier and so did David.
Feel for Lambie missing out after being one of the better players on tour.
But Lambie will get a chance again next year. I have no doubt. He is just too talented to be ignored. Especially if we start to play with more possession.
Anyhow out of here now. Catch up later during the Sharks game.
5 Aug 2011, 18:43 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309:
3 Hookers will be taken to RWC 2011 – must be out now, need to do some updates on games. Later folks
5 Aug 2011, 18:48 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-315:
Yeah, I know we mentioned it, but I thought they said 28 for the RWC anyway, we discussed it earlier. I can’t see why they’d only take 28.
5 Aug 2011, 18:51 pm
Every Bok coach picks a bolter in his squad.
And 2 backline players will be added. Lambie will go for sure.
And meisiekind played himself out of the squad.
I reckon the bolter could be Johann Sadie.
5 Aug 2011, 18:52 pm
FYI, RWC squads are 30 players.
5 Aug 2011, 18:53 pm
{{ 134.Robbie Fleck is a legend said:
5 Aug 2011, 12:09 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-132:
Speaking of which – I don’t think I’ve ever heard of an Indian rugby player at Currie Cup level upwards?
Can someone please prove me wrong? }}
@ Grant10 – a follow-up to my post #290 with much clarification.
AND YOUR SHAMELESSLY BUT SHAMEFUL ANSWER IS:
{{ 139.grant10 said:
5 Aug 2011, 12:14 pm
@Robbie Fleck is a legend(WP-Forever)-134: dollie
YOU SAY DOLLIE = INDIAN?
Should you not according to your confused DA influenced state just call him a SAFFA? You make much simplistic play to your claim to be so, SAFFA, why not him?
His family tree possibly goes ALL the WAY back to after 1652, can you claim likewise?
My non-racist culture says Indians are born in the country called India and South Africans are born in a country called South Africa.
True your European ancestry (Dutch, German, French, English and more) confused the issue with sick, derogatory tags like 'coloureds' and 'coolies' and much more but Dollie, these 'enlightened' days, is just S.African of mixed race origins who subscribes to the religion of Islam.
What is so difficult to accept about that, racist? My placating you as such with truthful facts does not earn me your hard-earned categorisation.
5 Aug 2011, 19:00 pm
Players to join the 3N squad for the RWC squad,
Burger
Smith
Brussow
Chili
Vermeulen
Players on the standby list,
Lambie, flyhalf and fullback
Deysel (if Brussow is fit), looseforward
Flip – lock
Olivier – centre
Kruger – prop
5 Aug 2011, 19:01 pm
Players to join the 3N squad for the RWC squad,
Burger
Smith
Brussow
Chili
Vermeulen
Players on the standby list,
Lambie – flyhalf and fullback
Deysel (if Brussow is fit) – looseforward
Flip – lock
Olivier – centre
Kruger – prop
5 Aug 2011, 19:01 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-310:
So 16 forwards will go.
I reckon the breakdown will be:
6 front row
5 locks
5 loosies.
If 3 props are taken, one will have to be versatile. CJ tick.
Or will Pdiv use Smit as prop in the final 20 – 30 minutes when Bissie comes on.
5 Aug 2011, 19:02 pm
Double post
5 Aug 2011, 19:04 pm
@RL(RL)-322:
Big shout adding Vermeulen in there dude, uncapped and all.
5 Aug 2011, 19:05 pm
In the midst of a sensible debate comes “Grant you closet racist”
I’m still laughing!
5 Aug 2011, 19:07 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-326: he is going to be the bolter, much like Skinstad was in 2007 … fat boy Burger picked him
5 Aug 2011, 19:08 pm
@Puma(Puma)-249:
holy **** Pumes, thats a big gamble. I’d prefer Bismarck to start at 2. We need some power in our tight 5 – matfield and smit in the same starting tight 5 i asking for trouble esp with the mediocre jannie at, push spies in at 8 – and if there’s 4 are in the field at the same time imo the Boks will be going home early.
5 Aug 2011, 19:09 pm
Reading through the posts, it seems like the consensus is that Lambie has missed out on the WC?
A week ago Morne Steyn was fighting for his place and Lambie was assured of his. Seems that has been turned on it’s head now. I can’t believe PdV would even consider leaving Lambie behind after his form of recent weeks and months.
@JockBok(JockBok)-326:
My bolter I picked was Sadie.
A future Bull replacing a present Bull.
Burnt my arse as I typed that, but I rate the kid.
Every squad of every Bok coach over the years produces a surprise.
5 Aug 2011, 19:10 pm
Smit and Spies to come on from the bench otherwise we might lose all 4 3N matches going into RWC.
5 Aug 2011, 19:13 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-327:
After a few visits to the site this week and not participating because Doctor John was on, I’ve decided to completely ignore him. You just can’t fight insanity with logic.
Hopefully other will see he is ruing the vibe of the site and do the same.
5 Aug 2011, 19:14 pm
Bambie will never be able to live down the embarrassment of exiting the compo early, he might just move straight to japan. Lets rather put the responsibility on Steyn and James as they are on there way out anyway…..
5 Aug 2011, 19:15 pm
cant one of gurthro or beast be tried at TH? its not as if any of our THs can scrum scrum in any case. can u imagine have these two both on the field at the same time, the kiwis will kak in their broek.
5 Aug 2011, 19:16 pm
@RL(RL)-328:
I think it’s just to late for him unfortunately. His chance was to play himself in through the away games just past now. Shame if you ask me. Now is/was his time.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-332:
Gaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! don’t mention the ‘S’ guy ffs…
Considering the conditions we will be playing in, imagine the advantage of the possibilities of playing Spies on wing… will never happen though?
@JockBok(JockBok)-334:
That oke is just a stalker. Just looks for a fight with anyone. The kiwis wren’t spared either earlier in the week.
What a doos.
5 Aug 2011, 19:21 pm
Dollie can trace his family tree back to after 1652…(Sic)
Well we can all do that exctraball.
Even you.
l
5 Aug 2011, 19:22 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-334:
Man I had such a good laugh now!
Talk about out of the blue!
5 Aug 2011, 19:22 pm
@RL(RL)-328:
Vermeulen had knee surgery just before the S15 SF.
If he comes back from that, then he’s bolter for sure.
But I’ll stick with my pick.
5 Aug 2011, 19:26 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-341:
That’s his style.
A bull in a china shop.
5 Aug 2011, 19:26 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-339:
He’s not worth it. There’s obviously something missing in his life and to try and compensate for his misery, he picks fights with everyone and anyone. It wouldn’t be so bad if logic was involved, but often he is so hypocritical or petty, it is just plain sad.
I saw Grant lead the way this week by telling ole Johnny to try and let some love into his life. Certainly made me think a bit. A shameful attack met with peace and understanding, but still ET carries on wading the boot in even today. It’s actually very sad and I feel sorry for his troubled mind.
Anyway, it’s easier to skip past his vainglorious ramblings.
I’m saying no more.
5 Aug 2011, 19:27 pm
1. Gurthro 2. Bismarck 3. Beast 4. Bakkies 5. Matfield 6. Brussow 7. Danie 8. Deysel.
And actually for an added scrum boost they should consider using Danie to lock the scrum together with Bakkies, this means the less powerful matfield would scrum down at blindside or 8th man, but still does his lineout king impression at 5. Would;ve veen nice to see Alberts at 8, but Deysel carried the ball very well in NZ, always made ground and most importantly did not knock or get over in contact. They need to up their intensity at the rucks and hit and clear more of them.
5 Aug 2011, 19:29 pm
Try Griquas.
And YC Sharks.
5 Aug 2011, 19:29 pm
@Gunther is an agent for white capital(gunther)-340:
I can trace mine back to waaaayyyy after 1652. Possibly about 1850ish
5 Aug 2011, 19:30 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-346: yeah, when last did you see a captain get a yellow card – Daniels cost his team that try.
5 Aug 2011, 19:33 pm
@cab(cab)-345:
Not a whole lot of other backline options in the squad, is there?
Would it not have made more sense to have Danie cover lock and pick another loosie?
5 Aug 2011, 19:33 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-344:
Exactly the way I feel but then sometimes I can’t help himself. His english is not the greatest so it’s quite easy to pick him off.
But he seems to be going through the whole blog. I remember his very first post this year – 1st week of the new year – in which he set out his intentions.
Talk about an aggressive new year’s resolution.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All