KeoTV: Plan? What plan?
5 Aug 2011
RYAN VREDE counters MARK KEOHANE’S argument that Peter de Villiers has engineered his current position, saying he hasn’t had an original plan that’s worked at any stage of his tenure.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article18 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from Australia. Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article5 Aug 2011
RYAN VREDE counters MARK KEOHANE’S argument that Peter de Villiers has engineered his current position, saying he hasn’t had an original plan that’s worked at any stage of his tenure.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from Australia. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

234 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All
4 Aug 2011, 15:11 pm
hit and miss
skop en jag
en baie baie bid
4 Aug 2011, 15:14 pm
spot on Ryan
should have been heyneke 4 years ago.
we’d be sitting here now with our feet up waiting for worldcup kick off….every little detail would have already been thought of and anticipated.
Instead…here we all sit, wondering…what the fck!?!?!
4 Aug 2011, 15:16 pm
i cant wait for the boks to have a management team i respect…..Jake was a snake….and PDV and his 2 stooges an absolute joke…..
8 years of frustration.
please come home Nick…
4 Aug 2011, 15:17 pm
The sooner PdV is gone from SA rugby the better. What a waste of 4 years in SA rugby. I really hope this shows SA rugby that the best and most qualified candidate should be picked, not the candidate that ticks the transformation boxes.
4 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4: we aren’t going to win it with the clowns we have at the moment.
4 Aug 2011, 15:23 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4: heynek meyer se moer man!
4 Aug 2011, 15:28 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-8:
well, he never was blick nor culert enough for you, was he now?
pray,tell.
who is Your preferred candidate for bok coach post worldcup?
4 Aug 2011, 15:29 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4:
and now?
would he want it?
I believe him, rassie and ACDC are intesrested.
4 Aug 2011, 15:29 pm
I agree fully with Ryan.
4 years of marking time and zero progress from a coach who has sold out
Luckily in a few months time this nightmare will end
And there will for sure be no world cup winners medal.
Next in line will probably be Alister or Heynecke.
Hard to tell which will be the better choice of the 2.
4 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
Nick Mallet also leaving Italy.
Come home Nick….
No more ….asseblief….
4 Aug 2011, 15:34 pm
@grant10(grant10)-12:
I doubt whether Nick will want to put his foot in this snakepit again.
SARU will also not want him
They prefer “Ja-broers”.
4 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
we won’t change tactics at the eleventh hour, pdv buckled under pressure in 2008 and NEVER instilled anything new, in fact he fell back on what the players told him they know. i don’t see the same 2007 ou toppies embracing ANYTHING new a month and a bit to go before RWC, no way!
rassie will do his analysis again as he did for jake, make recommendations on how to best/FULLY utilise the limited personel we have and how negate our more adventurous opponents. otherwise nothing new in terms of gameplans or style of play will switch.
4 Aug 2011, 15:39 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-9: it’s always about race to you
hehehe i’m tired of the Boks playing stampkaar or vokmaarvoort or skop ‘n jag!
4 Aug 2011, 15:40 pm
Maybe get someone like Steve Hansen, Graham Henry or Eddy Jones
4 Aug 2011, 15:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-15: No Transie, who cares how they play as LONG AS THEY WIN
4 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-13: hi rob….
agreed….but hope is the last vestige of this desperate man…..
hell the rugby has been more than depressing!
4 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
So Ryan doesnt want us to win the World Cup? I think PDV has just enough coaching acumen to win it with the players he has at his disposal.
4 Aug 2011, 15:43 pm
I have no idea what he is saying???
4 Aug 2011, 15:43 pm
We can’t rule out chester…
4 Aug 2011, 15:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-14:
Yip, we will spoil, defend and kick and jag and hope for the best.
Rassie is in any event also a believer of the ” a team must not play too much rugby” philosophy, so there will for sure be nothing new.
4 Aug 2011, 15:44 pm
@JL1(JL1)-17: is that the sum total of your coaching manual?
geepuz
4 Aug 2011, 15:45 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-8:
yeah thats right, winning counts for ffuckall hey?…
best candidate by a mile…
4 Aug 2011, 15:47 pm
” Luckily in a few months time this nightmare will end ”
And a set of brand new ones begin!
4 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@grant10(grant10)-12:
nick mallet, in a recent interview said john smit would be his first choice captain for this wc…
4 Aug 2011, 15:49 pm
this is what happens when patients are allowed to run the asylum.
PDV should have swept clean beginning of 2010….the watershed year for boks imo.
too late she cried…..
4 Aug 2011, 15:50 pm
@ET.(ET.)-25:
I seriously considered to post that myself but as I did not want to sound too negative decided against it.
4 Aug 2011, 15:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-23: Well you can be in the corner who loves to lose in a stylish manner
Speak about mediocrity!
4 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
@grant10(grant10)-27:
wearing red speedo’s are old and outdated,but you still do…
4 Aug 2011, 15:52 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-26: kak man…
4 Aug 2011, 15:52 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-15:
you and i will always differ…..I don’t care how we play, so long as we win.
4 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-30: better the red ones than those bright pink ones you wear by the dam
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-24: have the bulls evolved since 2007? No
blinkered, limited thinking bud…they’re still playing skop ‘n jag in 2011 and getting klapped 27 – 0…no way jose
@Robzim(Robzim)-22:
” Rassie is in any event also a believer of the ” a team must not play too much rugby” philosophy ”
That surely is some shift.
And here was I firmly believing that you are/were of the opinion that he was good for W.Cape rugby and brought loads of improvements even in the famous light tight five.
And yet he has won nothing but some plascon paint to gloss over the known cracks.
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-24: This legend your name speaks of – is it Wayne Barnes?
for the record….I think heyneke would be daft to apply for the bok position.
he has been screwed over by SA Rugby before and They never change.
4 Aug 2011, 15:54 pm
@JL1(JL1)-29: are the all blacks losing with style? hehehehe
how myopic.
4 Aug 2011, 15:56 pm
Nick Mallet
Or John Mitchell
My 2 cents worth
4 Aug 2011, 15:57 pm
@JL1(JL1)-16:
NOT eddy jones and not hansen, maybe the other ab sidekick?
henry would be an interesting proposition…would he coach a team that could take the ab’s out? we are their only real opposition so an improvement by him would mean ab’s decline. i dont think he’d take it. he’d go north comfortable in the fact that though he would much improve a nh team they still wouldn’t challenge the ab’s.
@grant10(grant10)-33:
I do not wear speedo’s,I wear baggies.
I am not into your scene at all.
@grant10(grant10)-27:
wouldn’t have made any difference.
In fact, would have made things twice as difficult.
Not being able to coach by way of any clear and coherent thought or planning, technically inept, completely emotionally unstable…..and then having test match novices taking the field.
4 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
Complain julle boere alweer!!!
4 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-28:
Good then, we are on the same wavelength as mostly is the case.
So Rob in fairness to a previous discussion is it accepted that a number of clubs in a wide area of the W.Cape are not too happy with the way things are done in the provincial structures especiially selection of teams(serious question and concern for me and I suspect many knowledgeable W.P. followers of the game)?
4 Aug 2011, 15:59 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-41: my scene?
Never knew i had a scene pinky
4 Aug 2011, 16:00 pm
@grant10(grant10)-31:
hand on my heart…
4 Aug 2011, 16:02 pm
@JL1(JL1)-17: @Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-32: you okes deserve one another…out of four years the All Blacks only lost one year – assuming they take this tri-nations of course – in terms of results but moved in leaps and bounds in terms of strategy, tactics and execution! the Springboks HAVE to evolve, the “traditional strengths” are archaic and not sustainable.
but hey, to each their own!
4 Aug 2011, 16:03 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46: well then Nick obviously not seen plod for a while….
4 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46:
He is like those people who do not believe that the holocaust happened when it gets to anything positive said about Our Beloved Leader John Smit.
4 Aug 2011, 16:05 pm
@grant10(grant10)-48:
Bwhahaha,he obviously watches the Boks and Super 15
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All