KeoTV: No place to hide

RYAN VREDE says that Rassie Erasmus, Fourie du Preez and Victor Matfield must not be spared criticism if the Springboks’ game plan is ineffective and fails to yield results.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

325 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 1.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

Ag f0k Ryan, why so negative. You’re talking like they have already lost Saturday. Who do you really support?

Share what blame. They haven’t lost.

You’re a real douche bag sometimes.

• 2.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

Ryan you are not a douche, but you are negative.

Step up my man!

Enjoy the festivities leading up to the showpiece and go wild!

• 3.JockBok: Reply to this comment

This keo tv is shiite. Put a transcript up as well guys.

• 4.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-2:

This video should’ve been put on hold until after the game.

Now it just appears like he has no faith. No belief in the players that have done it before. Won’t be surprised to see him walking around in an All Blacks jersey or something.

• 5.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Who cares about blame at this stage? Lets just fix the problems and move on. We’ve got a World Cup to win!

• 6.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-5:

Agree totally.

Let the team peak at the right time.

• 7.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-5: Correction – no World Cup to win, but a World Cup to defend! :)

• 8.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-3: They could never do that – you’d end up reading words like “fantastical” :)

• 9.Ryan: Reply to this comment

It’s easy to be wise in hindsight. I continue to be amazed at how usually insightful, intelligent supporters are divorced from their senses whenever the RWC approaches. I’ve had the ‘negative’ debate consistently and am tired of explaining that it isn’t my job to be a cheerleader, although I’ll celebrate any success the Boks achieve and highlight any positives that will come out of such successes.

• 10.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-7: Damn right! And I’ll be buggered if we’re going to give it up without an almighty scrap!

• 11.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-9:

The difference is I don’t start criticising these guys before they’ve done anything wrong. I actually think we’ve got a hell of a good chance of doing well in this World Cup.

I don’t see articles in the New Zealand Herald saying McCaw & Carter shouldn’t be spared blame if the All Blacks don’t win the World Cup.

This video is a pre-emptive strike. My question is why?

• 12.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-9:

True, it is easy to be wise in hindsight. I appreciate your proactive stance towards the issue at hand. For what it’s worth, I have said before that you are my favourite Keo writer, and I guess proactive is the key word here.

But please – I beg you and the other journos here – be critical all you want, but do it constructively. Because the way the media go about their business eventually syphons onto the field of play and into the mindset of the players, and affects results.

• 13.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Ryan

No one expects you to be a cheerleader mate.

Just tey to be pos?t?ve and f?nd someth?ng to be ceerful about ?nstead of sound?ng l?ke a nagg?ng w?fe all the t?me.

Okes watch rugby to get awau from nagg?ng cap?che?

Use ?t dont use ?t.

P.s. You are a l?ar. How does that feel?

• 14.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-13: Blackberry problems, I assume? ;)

• 15.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-9: The key in your 2nd sentence Ryan, is the word “supporters”. Sometimes, in a time of need, it is better to show a little faith in people and let “insight” and “senses” take a quiet break in the corner.

• 16.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-12:

Amen. Surely the criticism thrown at them all the time affects the psyche of the team. The All Blacks play with a quiet confidence because they don’t have to put up with this rubbish. They are expected to do well, whereas Ryan shows us all here what he is expecting… failure.

If he’d simply added in something along the lines of “if the Boks yield results Erasmus, du Preez & Matfield deserve some credit” I would have been less critical.

• 17.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-14: Looks like grammer problems !! LOL

• 18.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-16:

In other words… he’s negative until they win. Same way most of these guys were until we won the last World Cup.

• 19.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Oh and I did not look at the vid but I am also glad about it ! LOL , by the way just out of interest how can Rassie be blamed after just 1 session ?

• 20.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

Share the blame?

Am I the only one backing us to beat both Australia and New Zealand in the next two weeks? Come on Ryan, how about some positives?

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

Ryan is being a realist….we have already seen what happened on the away leg….gross humiliation…..we are far too forgiving….thats why we farken 2 nd rate man….

Please holy angels let these old farkers and 3 stooges farkoff a sap….

• 22.Ryan: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-12: The Springboks claim they never read the media. PdV even famously said: ‘I am what I am and I don’t give a damn’ in reference to what the media and public’s perception is of him. Based on those offerings I wouldn’t be worried about keo.co.za derailing the Boks’ World Cup campaign.

• 23.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-20:

I’m with you. Springboks should have no problems in the next 2 tests. And I predict MOTM will be Brussow in both. If Brussow doesn’t play… well then it’ll be another story.

• 24.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-21:

Completely different team to the one that toured. Not saying I was happy about what happened in Australasia, but can you blame the guys who were at home for it? These are the best we’ve got… and I think it’ll show.

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-22: keep up the good work young man….never ever be afraid to speak your mind….you are spot on here!

• 26.grant10: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-24: you may just be in for a helleva shock this weekend….

• 27.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so no game time in 8 weeks and theyve already going to beat both NZ and Aus?

lmfao how delusional are you saffas man… so theyve been together for so many years, they STILL havent had a hit out in 8 weeks…

suddenly they are going to just turn up and win? bwahahaha

Wales are the real danger, a definite banana skin game that one…

• 28.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-22:

Of course they read the media.

In fact, you would be very, very surprised about the real identity of some bloggers here.

But anyways, don’t let a personal vendetta against an individual jeopardise the team’s chances of retaining the Webb Ellis. PDV is a stubborn man, like all Bok coaches. And so he should be, it is a tough job.

But one can be the better man here and rise above it.

• 29.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-22:

Whether they read it or not isn’t the issue. It’s the situation you create. A journalists words are powerful. What you write affects the opinion of the common supporter. It’s like a butterfly effect.

• 30.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-26:

Ok we’ll talk on Saturday :P

• 31.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-27:

I’m recording all your usernames. That way you can eat humble pie come Saturday.

• 32.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-31: so long as if your team doesnt win you’ll be here to grab your share of humble pie… it doesnt worry me in the slightest, but you are too confident when you consider your boys are going to be struggling for match fitness..

plus, have they all miraculously overcome their injuries? how rather fiortunate and miraculous…

lets hope they dont injure themselves again, seeing as they wont be used to the intensity…

• 33.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

For anyone interested. Springboks are $1.57 favourites for Saturday with NZ TAB.

• 34.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Nee hel Ryan nou het darem n klomp tos gwyt geraak.

• 35.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-34: kwyt geraak……aag hel wat maak dit saak?

• 36.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-31: Don’t bother.

Poppa never eats humble pie.

He chokes on it.

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-30: i am in durbs for weekend so forgive my absence….may be back on sunday nite quite late…

• 38.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-32:

Kiwi is it?

I’m counting on some determination, the fact that we hardly ever lose to Australia on SA soil (last year was the first time in what, 10 years?), and having a genuine fetcher for the first time since 2009 when we beat the All Blacks 3x.

Like I said earlier, watch out for Brussow. But if I’m wrong I’ll be here.

• 39.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-36: youre humours improving willie, now if we could get an original line from you it would be funny…

choke on this..

since 1992

SA 13
    NZ 31

1 draw..

I know who the real chokers are…

• 40.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-37:

Hehe that’s ok. I’ll just keep an eye out for you.

• 41.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-38: yeah, 2009, when you had your first team all available and at their peak… they have started down the slippery slope of the other side since then, and when NZ didnt have carter for 2 of the 3 games as well as having to blood a few newbies… somehow that always gets lost that bit…

We heard that in 2010 FDP wasnt there so it wasnt a full Bokke side, but somehow the reverse didnt apply…

I understand though, with that record since 1992 you have to appease yourselves with the smattering of victories you achieve against us… its why so many cheer on the choke, because they know with an average on one win every four games against us that its better if someone else beats us, because as the stats show, you guys dont do it too often…

• 42.Ryan: Reply to this comment

@Griqua_warrior(willievz)-28: Personal vendetta?! Do you know something that I don’t? Did PdV sleep with my missus? Did he call my mother a *****? Did he *spit* dishonour my family name? No, no personal vendetta. He is the national coach of the sport I cover. I have a professional opinion that he is incompetent, not a personal vendetta.

• 43.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-39:

Besides the point but hey.

• 44.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-43: did you see how long it took players like Matfield to find their form in this years Super rugby?

so with 8 weeks off they are just going to come out and play cohesively and superbly?

if you believe that then fair enough… I dont..

• 45.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Ja ne…

The problem sometimes with saying the right things, is you are saying it to the wrong people.

• 46.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-39: And fakall WC to show for the efforts and the ABs were favourites every single tournament…….Heimlich manouvre or will a snotklap do?

• 47.Hooker22: Reply to this comment

Did Ryan’s vid clip not say “who do we blame IF things go wrong”? He didn’t say they would go wrong. Just if. So, IF they do, who do we blame? (And, no, Grant10, you don’t have to answer that, we know who you’ll blame).

Ryan’s given his opinion, nothing wrong with that. But it beggars the question, who do we laud IF things go right? Will it be Matfield, FDP & Rassie? Will PDiv get the credit for his “man management”?

And will Ryan offer praise should it be warranted?

• 48.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-42:

Ag man you act like a disgruntled supporter.

When is the last time a Springbok coach hasn’t been called incompetent? Your employer Mr. Keohane was head of the ‘let’s fire Jake White’ brigade.

We all know he’s not a good coach, but his support cast and relying on experienced players hasn’t backfired yet.

And if we win I don’t care if he sounds like an idiot in the media.

• 49.Griqua_warrior: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-42:

But herein lies the beauty:

If you start talking up someone, they will become it.

You being negative is not helping our cause at all. We are going to the WC with PDV, whether we like it or not, but he is the coach of our national team and needs our full support.

Same with John Smit.

• 50.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-42: Vrede Vrede Vrede. What a crock-o-****. All you Keo “journo’s” have had it in for PDV for very long. Discrediting him at every possible occasion, from the start.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.