No positives from latest loss

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Boks’ defeat in Durban provided the final confirmation of the passing of a great team.

It was the reality check the Springboks needed, even if too many in the media and among the rugby public did the old ostrich trick and buried their heads even deeper in the sand.

Finding positives in the Boks losing at home? The result being secondary to the performance?

Poppycock!

There is never a positive in losing at home. Never.

The day we excuse that is the day we become the Wales of rugby; a once proud warrior now content with the occasional big scalp.

If the Springboks defend their World Cup it will be a shock. If they return from New Zealand just another beaten team it would be consistent with their performances and results in the last 18 months. There is no need for panic; just perspective.

The most experienced Bok team in the history of the game played with the tactical expression of a dinosaur and Australia’s young vintage gave another damning lesson to South Africans that life (even in rugby) had moved on since the Springboks won the World Cup in 2007.

The greats ones among the Boks (Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez) gave the odd reminder of why they have dwarfed the opposition in the last decade but overall there were too many reminders of why the reference is made in the past tense.

The Boks latest defeat (their ninth in their last 11 Tri Nations matches) was expected and that tells you about the sorry state of the Bok World Cup defence.

When the Boks are expected to lose at home against an Australian team that a week earlier took a beating against the All Blacks in Auckland you know the time for panic has long passed and what we have to endure now is the painful conclusion to the miserable coaching tenure of Peter de Villiers and his coaching gravy train companions Dick Muir and Gary Gold.

Ever flown from Auckland to Cape Town with no stop over? That’s I feel about the Boks under De Villiers. It’s a bloody tiring experience and the last hour feels like an eternity. That’s how it is with these Boks.  The flight can’t end early, but it also can’t end soon enough.

Listening to esteemed former Boks searching for a positive on SuperSport was as embarrassing – and predictable – as the Boks’ second half display. How to sell your soul for a few bucks.

South Africa, as a society, needs debate and honest reflection. So too our rugby. It serve no one to lie about our rugby, even if the lies add to the illusion and make a few of you feel better about life this morning.

Our Boks are in quicksand and there is no way out.

Beating an All Blacks team missing eight regulars, including the incomparable Dan Carter and Richie McCaw, in Port Elizabeth this Saturday will only offer temporary relief to the heartburn, but it won’t make it go away.

The Springboks, at full strength, should beat any team in South Africa. That has to be the expectation and the only statistic that matters is the one on the scoreboard, despite De Villiers (and sections of the media) trying to dismiss the scoreline as being secondary to the performance.

The scoreline favoured the Wallabies, as did the performance. What did the Boks create on attack? Fourie du Preez produced one exceptional kick that Quade Cooper allowed to bounce in goal and almost led to a try to Jaque Fourie. What other try-scoring opportunity was there? None.

The Wallabies were a pass away from scoring a try five minutes into the match and a pass away from scoring a second within five seconds of the half-time whistle. They missed a penalty kick, as did South Africa. The Australians, on balance through chances created, were 10 points better in Durban, which means the Boks, at this juncture, are 20 points off the pace for winning in Australia and New Zealand. Historically (and statistically) South African home ground advantage has always been worth 10-15 points against Australia and New Zealand when compared with how the team performs in Australia and New Zealand.

The Boks, at full strength, lost 32-12 and 31-17 in New Zealand in 2010. Carter also kicked only one from seven in the 31-17 triumph.

The same players in 2011 produced a result on par with the away defeats in 2010.

South Africa’s only hope for World Cup success is to avoid Australia or New Zealand, as happened in 2007.

The Durban defeat can’t be wished away. It provided the final confirmation of the passing of a great team, even though the television and written media wizards who have sold their souls will try and tell you the result was secondary to a performance, which they tell you was not secondary.

Poppycock or as the Dutch would say Pappekak.

650 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

• 601.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-588: Stating the obvious… “Applause”!!!

• 602.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-590: Yup, seems your Moha.mm.ed Ali of coaches is guilty as charged.

• 603.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-593: Too right on all counts.

• 604.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-600: “Joel, you are even further up the pole than a blind mole”… Hehehe.

One thing… Joel… Is that Bob the Builder’s proper name?

• 605.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Outtahere… Cheers everybody

• 606.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

10 from 11 international DEFEATS and COUNTING under this hopeless self seeking self righteous egocentric in denial derelict dunce of a f’ng overrated overweight over aggrandized self centered ambitious delusional egotist and some f’ng dubious twat idiots still think we need him on the field to recite Shakespeare to the ref, along with his other overrated over aggrandized mommy’s boy prima donna f’ng imbecile 2IC FdP. how many FURTHER f’ng LOSSES you wanna afford this dubious self centered lardass piece of self seeking schmuck before you ACTUALLY open your dumbfck eyes and see the light.

Let it have been some other schmuckarse idiot goon like Krige or Skinstadt or god forbid Watson or whoever with such a despicable dubious record and lets see all you f’ng turn the other cheek apologists then. Krige was a veritable King Richard the Lion Heart in comparison.

• 607.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-604:

Yes it has been in his nic for a long time now; since the last time they banned even the ashampoodle.

When you post specifically to him it is there in all its Polish glory(remember those pogroms in the likes of Tolstoy’s and others’ time?).

• 608.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-584:
    They own us since 1996 with the exception of 1998 and 2009

• 609.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

What is it with all the John Smit anger?

When he was playing 2 on Saturday he was playing better than most of the team. Probably top 1/3 along with Beast, Spies, Ratel. FDP.

The coach asked him to move to 3, it would not have been his choice. The outcome was predictable, and along with the disruption due to the substitutions it went downhill on the last 30 minutes.

That was not just John’s fault, but rather the primary fault of the coaching team.

I don’t get what everyone is huffing about.

The following players were really bad when they came on:

Gurthro
    Aplon
    Steyn (M)

The most important change in momentum came from losing scrums and lineouts at crucial times, some due to the throwing of Bismark of course the front row (including Gurthro who is one of the worst scrumming props around). John’s not the only player there.

Move on guys.

• 610.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

And really, do we think we can stop using the world self-aggrandized? I’m sure it’s confusing the hell out of Dr Doolittle.

• 611.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Keohane

Watse woord is pappekak

• 612.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-609:

Maybe because with Bissy you get 80 mins of high intensity rugby, with JS you get 40 mins of average rugby ???

• 613.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

The WC squad shouls be announced on Monday, I think. In my opinion, the squad should reflect the 2nd best player in each and every position – rather than a mishmash of versatile players. Replacements for injured players ruled out of the WC can still be flown across.

Lets see how much Pdiv has learnt over the last 2 years.

1. Who is his back-up TH prop. CJ who can cover both sides? Certainly not BJ Botha or Mujati. Pdiv showed his hand on Sat – maybe its even John Smit himself.
    2. Now that Becker has been ruled out, who is the back-up lock. Gerhard Mostert has leapfrogged Flip vd Merwe. Maybe Danie at no. 4 to cover for Bakkies.
    3. No. 7 will come from Juan (fitness permitting) and Alberts. Deysel covering.
    4. Spies is his 1st choice no.8. Who is 2nd? Is it Kanko or Johnson?
    5. Butch and Morne Steyn are front runners for the no. 10 jersey. Where does that leave Lambie?
    6. FDP and Hougaard are 1st choice no. 9 Where does that leave Ruan?
    7. JDV is his 1st choice 12 for the moment. Who is 2nd choice? Looks like JDJ. Where does that leave Lambie? Why was he released? At least he got match practice.
    8. Jaque is his 1st choice 13. I don’t think Pdiv has a cooking clue who the back-up is. Unless it’s JDJ.
    9. Are Frans and Aplon the 2 FB’s. Then where does that leave Lambie?

• 614.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

can’t follow any discussion on here from a cell phone, not with the lousy format the keo system affords… so now that I’m on the PC I see HG been opening up wide much better for his arsecreep fanny wobbling phillyarse gatkruiper again much better

Must be fine and dandy having a f’ng arsecreep halfway up your hootenanny backside every time you log onto a rugby website in search of like minded company… sies en sleg verneek

thought I told you doose before that the name Joel ain’t nothing to do with my identity but if you wanna keep jumping to misconstrued conclusions you welcome to be my guest.

• 615.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

John Smit sets the tone of the team

John Smit is the single crux of the entire momentum in that team… in fact if you didn’t know it already this team is practically John Smits team,, PdV is only the puppet.. not even the puppeteer.. or how long you been living under your mushroom cloud bewildering?

Smit is so voor op die wa in that setup that the entire focal point of the entire rigmarole is woven around the ‘INCLUSION’ of one diabolical passenger self seeking schmuck. That’s right John Smit

Matfield took almost the same team,, WITHOUT John Smit and WITHOUT FdP to EOYT in 2010 and walloped Ireland, Wales and England on their home grounds with BALL in HAND running rugby…

Yup or which one of you was still mind boggling ABSENT when that occurred?

We reverted into our shells vs Scotland because of conditions and because we mistakenly thought that was our SOFT game on tour so the intensity wasn’t there and the weather conditions and the ref and Lambies miss kicks did the rest… so we lost vs Scotland because we were mislead into believing all we had to do was pitch up ‘defend without the ball’ and kick and chase like our dumbfck so called ‘JW-JS strengths’ suggest, which burned our arses in the Highland rain.

But following week we whacked England with a running game.

So your assessments and your synopsis are ALL incorrect

John Smit has LOST the last 10 from 11 meaningful internationals he has led this team… that is RIGHT.. he has LOST each and every test he has been captain of the Boks in the past 20 months and counting…

Now you wanna tell me that is some kind of co incidence that its a whole lot of other factors turning this team into crud…

The outright FACT of the entire saga is Smit must f’ng GO !!

Smit is the root cause diabolical self serving useless arrogant schmuck who is absolutely driving this team deep into the hopeless mud.

You were all hailing him as the secretive player captain that was leading and galvanizing this team during the heydays of the Br. Lions tour and the 3N in 09… now you wanna turn it around and suggest he’s just the hooker and got nothing to do with what transpires on the field of play.

Smit is the ABSOLUTE diabolical liability in this side

Get Smit OUT and I guarantee you an IMMEDIATE turn around… How much you wanna bet huh Hondo… Mr. Big Buck gambling man?

• 616.rangerman: Reply to this comment

john smit
    john smit
    john smit
    john smit
    etc etc etc.

shut up, you hear me?

• 617.rangerman: Reply to this comment

thats better old boy.

thats better.

• 618.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-616:

He’s your f’ng lardass f’ng piece of garbage blue eyed capitano the ponce… He’s the f’ng cancer in the f’ng woodwork… or where the fck you BEEN these past 4 years you dumb fck ignoramus doos?

• 619.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ooooo jjinne please don’t brawl

• 620.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-618: has he go blue eyes?

i didnt notice, i am not interested in his eyes you see.

i would also like to join katman for the “skop speaks truth to power” moment, keep us all updated eh?

you shorta rse.

@Dawn(Dawn)-619: :lol:

• 621.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i think i will buy skop one of these floorwizards with super absorbent microfibres so he can mop the spittle off his keyboard.

i didnt like the personal attacks capo and et subjected him to but now i see that he was simply getting a taste of his own medicine and boy did he wriggle.

• 622.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-621: really… there’s a difference taking someone on directly with direct attributable information compared to taking somebody on with false accusatory misinformed garbage..

My attack on John Smit is directly attributable to his dubious self seeking lack of humility and selfish approach to his Springbok position… he is a public figure who expects public adulation from schmucks like yourself

Well I happen to see the exact opposite of all those goody two shoes fake grandiose attributes he hides behind… something you seem to be incapable and unable to see or understand…

As for your two dubious little underhand champions you so grandly propose were getting the so called ‘better’ of me…. keep those cn’ts coming… the two of them little fcknut garbage creep arse runts are suspiciously like the type of scurrilous scum some here like to call upright moral fiber.

• 623.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-622: i dont like them either skop.

as for the rest of your rant…blah blah blah.

if you dont like the guy, just say so ok?

• 624.cab: Reply to this comment

i dont give a fk about judging smit’s personal foibles, as if anyone on here or anywhere else is perfect – my concern is a very simple one which is that Smit is keeping out of the side one of the best players in the world, and that is a farcical situatuin which is jeapordizing our RWC chances. That is not putting the team first, it is putting the individual who is not better first.

• 625.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-624:
    So who’s allowing this garbage to perpetuate… the problem is PdV sold his soul to this goon thinking because he won one WC he’s automatically gonna win another one !!

Biggest mistake he could possibly make… so what IS the fundamental object of the exercise here… For John Smit to win another WC or for the Springboks representing South Africa to win it ??

• 626.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-624: ag, thats not what you are saying at all.

you probably keep better builders who employ south africans out of jobs you cancer.

see?

tone down your language and discuss things like a human being with empathy and insight and i will take you seriously.

until then, i will consider you the weakest link.

• 627.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-626:

You want I keep vloeking at you to keep you sane.. keep going…

I’m hardly the role model of builders in this country.. I employ decent artisans who get a decent above average wage fulfilling a meager function of a specific meager aspect of the middle of the road market.. so what in FACT are you trying to say … huh??

• 628.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-625:
    no i dont think anyone’s sold their soul to anyone, they win and lose together as a team, PdV believed Smit could be the glue that holds it all together, this is a very sensible rugby perspective that says u pick your captain first (i dont agree with it, but its not crazy by any strech).

The question was always going to be a finely balanced one as to whether these guys could hood together until 2011, we’ve clearly seen over the last year that Smit is not up to it as compared to Bismark, the gulf in ability is now overwheling, he’s given it a shot, but he and PdV must now recognise that if the team’s chances will be massively increased if Smit relegates himself to the bench. Unlike you i believe that he will play this role if the coach asks him too.

However, saturday was very frustrating, we have NOONE hitting the rucks apart from Bakkies and our bladdy little ratel openside – the rest are all ‘anticipating intellegently’ in the backline. Its a fk up and i can see it coming unless we get back to Bokke basics – vokhulleopmetvokmaarvoort ek se.

• 629.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

And if you can’t stomach that I call your goody two shoes cancerous clown of a captain for exactly what he IS, then lump it.. I mean if it was perchance Luke Watson (or perhaps ANY other) with such despicable useless leadership antics on a rugby field week after self glorified week, month after self glorified month, year after self glorified year… test after test … game after game.. you two faced hail hero worshiping idiots would be castigating the schmuck far worse than what I am doing now… Or you gonna lie about that as well?

• 630.cab: Reply to this comment

danger, u speaking to me or ou doosie?

• 631.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-627: i am trying to show you that it isnt pleasant when a stranger denigrates your character online is it?

so tell us what you think, say it once not a thousand times and say it without insults or simply put, be confined to the “idiot box”.

your choice.

@cab(cab)-630: ou doosie cabbie, didnt know you were here, howzit!

• 632.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-628:

Bakkies for 40 min tops… Mostert…. Bismark… Brussow… Deysel… Beast… Alberts… Vermeulen…. Strauss…. perhaps Burger… and Spies only on the front foot but not in the trenches… Smith if he can get his health and his mojo back

Those are the vokmavoorters who can resurrect this lot..

Not Smit, not Fdp and not Matfield…

Those are PdV’s kingpin pillars of strength… Smit, FdP and Matfield… the 3 biggest self serving prima donnas of the entire lot

He only needs ONE captain on the field not 3 palookas baying to the ref.

He should play Hougaard at 9 and Vermeulen or Alberts at 8 with Alberts or Deysel at 7 and Brussow at 6 – Schalk and Spies off bench.

Bakkies/Mostert and Matfield in 2nd row and no need for Smit ANYWHERE (not even off the bench) because Strauss or Chili will offer far more when opposition legs tire and we need more mobility in the last 30 mins of 2nd half.

• 633.cab: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-631:
    hi, i agree with u, but ou doos obviously sees smit’s attack on watson as being equivalent to his rants of eye-opening enlightenment – so he reckons its all fair, that and he obviously dont like poor smittertjie.

• 634.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-633: ja, its clearly personal.

sad man, so sad.

• 635.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-632:
    i like mostert too, but we getting desperate, the truth is there is noone behind bakkies and matfield that is really ready, the one who is really useless in teh tight is not smit but matfield, but its a close run thing at the moment. we got these 2 in there and jannie and spies who v ordinary here too, tho jannie seems to have his moments and in fairness both played well on sat – but its not good enough, we not gonna win carrying these 4. i think smit needs to go to the bench and consider alberts or schalk at 8 over spies – then we in with a shout – but it just feels we do need some zeast in there – i’d like to see bakkies and mostert paired up with bismarck at hooker and alberts at 8- i reckon we take those ABs and given them a groot skikwakker in teh process.

• 636.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-614:

“can’t follow any discussion on here”

Thank goodness! Finally!

Now you know how we all feel reading your posts!

• 637.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Lambie / JPP
    Aplon / JPP
    Fourie
    JdV / JdJ
    Habana / Hougaard
    Butch / Morne
    Hougaard / FdP
    Vermeulen / Alberts / Spies
    Alberts / Deysel / Smith
    Brussow / Burger
    Matfield / Mostert
    Bakkies / Roussow
    Jannie / CJ / BJ ( Nel)
    Bismark / Strauss / Chili
    Beast / Greyling / Gurthro

Thats more ore less my squad … leave Smit and F. Steyn out

Smit can play coachie coachie in the change room if he really needs to feel a part of this lot… but he’s passe klaar gelag kaput as an on field contributor and especially as some kind of aura inspiring mega galvanizing captain marvelous who has not won a single meaningful test in the last two years but a ONE !!

• 638.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-612: You see I differ from you there in as far as the following goes:

You get 40 minutes (probably closer to 50 or 60) of good rugby and very good leadership with John. Victor simply doesn’t bring the same to the team, everyone says it, inclusing the Aussies and New Zealanders. I have to believe that not all these people are delusional. I have spoken to members of Saru and they echo this. So I’m prepared to give that point of view some credit, even if it seems hard to swallow at times,

I also don’t believe that Bismark is as good as everyone thinks he is (and not everyone does). He’s amazing at times, average at others and a penalty magnate fairly often. Doesn’t mean he shouldn’t be there, but we mustn’t be blind to the fact that he has faults as well as strengths. Line outs, and scrums are not as good as John, and you and Grant go on about the scrums all the time, and the fact is that John at 2 = stronger scrum than Bismark at 2. I’m not getting into the John at prop debate, i’m with you on that score, he should be substituted not shifted. It’s a gross error to play him at prop.

I still believe that John has value, and yes he’s lost a bunch of tests as captain but you must ask yourself, would those tests have been won without him? I doubt it, the whole team has been bad for the last 2 years, Victor included.

I just don’t think that getting rid of John will change things at all, in fact i think we have more to lose than gain.

Even then I must say that it’s dissapointing to see some of the rejoicing here that has gone on at the prospect of him being forced out of the WC through injury.

Not cricket if you ask me.

As for others here who believe that he sets the tone and that he has a negative effect on the team, I don’t buy that at all. There is no evidence to honestly support that notion other than anyone’s personal perspective based on their dislike for the player. In fact I believe, based on the opinion of the players, coaches (both local and international) that there is plenty of evidence to suggest that the opposite is in fact, true.

• 639.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@The_Rugger(4Rugger)-551:

I want the ABs to win the RWC, but not if they don’t continue with the high standards in between. Better to loose world cups and win everything in between than plays as the boks now are. I would much rather be consistanly the best in the world than settle for mediocrity and be the world champions.
    Sadly, the boks now just look to win a few knock out games every 4 years to be the world champions and have allowed their standards to drop abyssmally in between. Difference between NZ and SA today is you guys are obssesed with the world cup at the expense of everything else, we are not, yes we want to win it but not at the price you guys seem to be happy to pay.
    **** the world cup, it has destroyed the 100 year history that exsists between NZ & SA which to me is far more important.

• 640.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@The_Rugger(4Rugger)-592:

72% winning ratio does not mean they are beterr !!!???WTF??!!!
    You need a job on the boks coaching panel because you are blind, dellusional and can’t see or accept the facts.In fact, you should replace D divy, because u and him share a lot in common.

• 641.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-134: That was droll!

• 642.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-641: it takes one to know one :-)

• 643.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

I am afraid that you cant blame the captain for trying to sort out the mess that the coach has made. the only reason teh Boks seemed to play “well” on year end tour (well? a loss to Scotland and close victories over Wales is not “well”) is because those teams are SHITE! Since when do we start comparing ourselves to those asswipes.

Our team is playing badly because the coach and his staff is KAK!! The quicker he (actually they) leaves, the better. Maybe we can get a coach in that knows his stuff.
    Maybe we can get Jake White back. At least the Boks looked like they had a clue under him.

• 644.JBees: Reply to this comment

I am an ABs fan but have great respect for the Boks as they are my second favourite team. We (ABs & BOKs) have had a great history. I remember my father waking us up early hours in the morning to watch the test between our two nations and witnessing such great players like Naas Botha, Frik du Preez and Francois Pienaar just to name a few, give our guys major headaches..long may those days return

• 645.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Reading all the reasons why we are doing so badly is quite funny actually.

1. The new defensive approach
    2. Beast on the wing
    3. Matfield at flyhalf
    4. JdV barging with the ball.

Guys these things have been going on for at least three years.

Why don’t we just blame the problem.

1. No game plan
    2. No leadership off and on the field
    3. Poor management

Easy peesy

• 646.husky: Reply to this comment

I just skim through keow’s articles as he’s hardly a “rugby kenner” like say, Dan Retief, more of a politically correct trouble maker. But the comments are great. I think muppets like gwanty10 and sham poo epitomise SA rugby. Quite knowledgable but amazingly one-eyed and bigoted, given to wild, foul mouthed rants. A bit like Pdivvy. Then there are the Pissant’s etc who are steady good value.

I think quite a few agree with my view. Changing players is like shifting deck chairs on the Titanic. The problem is at the helm. I’ll leave out SA’s useless officials and administrators and look at Pdivvy and crew. Pdivvy had quite a good idea in 2008 – total rugby. But he didn’t have the actual experience skill or knowledge to implement it. Sadly (and as is a management saying), 2nd class managers appoint 3rd class assistants, Pdiv appointed **** and Gary. One a gifted player but wood from the neck up and the other a clever man but with limited actual rugby experience.

No solid set piece coach/es. No defensive coach. No obvious skills coach. No visualisation coach. No real kicking coach except ole Perce, great player, not the sharpest tool in the shed. So 2008 bombed, 2009 we had a few coaching changes and essentially reverted to JW’s limited but effective plan (great man that eh Skops!!). 2010, rule changes, we bombed. 2011 we’re in another suicide dive. Will we pull out in time? Is JS or F Steyn preggers?

It’s incredibly simple. If you want to win, you must be the best. Players, coaches, administrators and officials. Think Man U and Ferguson.

• 647.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-413: Verstaan jy sarkasme ???

• 648.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-638:

Look you clearly like JS and it appears you won’t be swayed.

I don’t buy your argument about JS being this great leader , yes he won the WC (with 21 other great players at the time), yes he says the right things and does a decent interview and sells himself to the public very cleverly.

But on pure rugby ability right now his form tells us that he is not the best hooker, probably not in the top 4 on form. He cannot last a full game, his conditioning simply does not allow it and he becomes a liability in the latter part of the game, and offers nothing special for the rest of the game besides doing his primary functions at best adequately.

I also don’t accept that JS throwing and scrumming is better than Bissy’s, JS throwing has been on the decline for some time ,however it is in general play where the biggest issue with JS is, he is slow to the breakdown, misses numerous tackles ,does not hit rucks . The modern role of a hooker is to virtually be a 4th loose forward, Smit simply cannot perform this role. Look at the conditioning of all premier hooker in the world, look at the shape they are in, look at the amount of work they get through, then compare them to Smit………………………. there is no comparison !!

Now I don’t rejoice about him being injured, but I am also not upset about it.

Bissy simply is better and offers more, this is universally accepted, most rate him the best in the world, this leadership thing is overplayed and is an excuse often touted in order to accommodate JS, his win /loss loss ratio over the last year has been shocking, surely if we are losing with him at the helm virtually every game we must try something different ??

Interesting that the Sharks were more successful when Terblanche was captaining the side ?

All I want is what is the best for the Boks, I don’t believe that JS is the best in his position I also believe that contrary to what players are saying that the respect they have for JS as a leader is on the decline !!

This is just my opinion !!

Let’s agree to disagree !! :)

• 649.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-638: no boet….disagree totally….I spent 3 hours with a load of heavyweight sharks okes in Durbs the weekend….you are way off the mark….

• 650.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-638: in fact mate you are so wrong it is scary….I wont say much on the site….but you are wrong 100%….

Maybe the SARU boys are saying things to you to justify plods selection…..but you are far off the mark when it comes to the sharks set up….and fark me they should know!!??

And the international teams are loving not having to deal with Bissy….sorry mate, you being taken here…

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.