KeoTV: Boks must win big
17 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE argues that Victor Matfield and his mighty men can’t be excused defeat to the the Back-up Blacks.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article21 May 2013
JP Pietersen is set to miss the remainder of the Super Rugby season. Pietersen left the field of play in the Sharks’ victory over the Force, their final tour game. Pietersen’s scans revealed that the winger, who did duty at outside centre, will require surgery to rectify a groin injury. Pietersen was playing in the 13 jersey following a serious injury to Paul Jordaan and Tim Whitehead not taking part in rugby this season to date. Pietersen’s injury is a big loss for the Sharks, yet the bigger problem is which player will wear the 13 jersey this weekend against the Bulls. The Bulls ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article17 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE argues that Victor Matfield and his mighty men can’t be excused defeat to the the Back-up Blacks.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
JP Pietersen is set to miss the remainder of the Super Rugby season. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

257 Comments
16 Aug 2011, 14:13 pm
Old timer dragons…
16 Aug 2011, 14:14 pm
The kicks at goal must be taken this time round…..
16 Aug 2011, 14:15 pm
Too true, KEO.
16 Aug 2011, 14:16 pm
Let’s see
16 Aug 2011, 14:16 pm
Perhaps a Burger surprise on the bench ahead of Johnson and/or Deysel?
16 Aug 2011, 14:18 pm
way to go Keo
I have a good feeling about this weekend.
I sense that You do as well.
there were small signs from key players last weekend.
come on bokke give these okes a right proper pasting.
16 Aug 2011, 14:22 pm
The Boks ran out of puff after 50 minutes last week I can’t see their fitness improving a week later. More of the same this saturday. Good first half followed by a second half capitulation. The Boks minds are willing but their bodies aint.
Jake White might have put a lot of emphasis on experience but I seem to remember him putting a lot of stock in conditioning too. The Boks are unfit.
16 Aug 2011, 14:26 pm
ah, now i see where ryan get this rubbish of pre-emptive strikes at the Springboks, it’s his baas Keohane that fosters it. Why would should the expectation that the Boks must win big or face damnation by the pen?
These All Blacks are not to be sneezed @…
16 Aug 2011, 14:28 pm
As captain, Vic is kakka. He just gets frustrated at refs. Should have made Jean captain.
16 Aug 2011, 14:29 pm
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-7: I can’t agree with you more…also the Bok B team will not be at the same level as the Back up Blacks…Keo….your videos are too funny….I’m picking All Blacks to win by 15..and Keo to change his mind like he does all the time…he should have a sore *** from sitting on the fence so much….haha
16 Aug 2011, 14:31 pm
its a helluva good AB side, make no mistake about it, they’d probably beat just about every other test team in world rugby, including the wallabies, its a big ask and they will be committed, the question is will the Boks or are they too old.
16 Aug 2011, 14:31 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-9: jdv cant distribute his captaincy, much like clean ball from a solid scrum.
should have made pat lambie bok captain, it will happen anyway to continue a glorious tradition of shark leadership where you need it most in a country.
16 Aug 2011, 14:34 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-9:
what twak,
16 Aug 2011, 14:36 pm
does anyone know how that wallabie player managed to charge down a free kick on sat?
he must be the fastest man alive.
or maybe he has the longest arms?
either way, he is AWESMOE!
16 Aug 2011, 14:36 pm
boks know what this game means…they’ll win it.
16 Aug 2011, 14:45 pm
Keo
considering in 100 years of rivalry, the biggest winning margin the bokke have over the ABs is 17…
nows your best opportunity, but your team will fade after 60-65 minutes
age old recipe to beat the bokke – run their big forward pack around the park then profit when the inevitable happens.
16 Aug 2011, 14:54 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-14:
or,just maybe…he was offsides?
16 Aug 2011, 14:56 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-9: which is more kakka – keo tv or skip vic?
1 minute 39 seconds – ‘keo’ himself says “we’re bullsh1tting you”
Who are you referring to, Marky? Maybe you need to loosen the collar on that funky green blazer of yours. Stops the blood flow to your head and makes you all excitable, resulting in senseless garbage spewing from your trap
16 Aug 2011, 14:56 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-16:
remind me why or “big forward pack” get the run around and your “big forward pack” is completely ok?
who exactly of our 8 are bigger than yours?
16 Aug 2011, 14:58 pm
Must beat the ABs emphatically!!Bring that s hit on.
Going to be a close game, ABs will be unsettled and a little disorientated with all the new combinations, but our fitness is light years in front.
It’s now or never bokke, muhaha, can’t wait.
16 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-19:
Come on, you always taken pride in fielding heavy weights, guys built like brick s hit houses, we have usually tended towards athletic leaner frames and our fitness is miles in front, we will run you all over the park as we always do.
16 Aug 2011, 15:04 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-21:
so based on perception and not fact then?
I believe your frontrow,locks and backrow could all be heavier than ours?
16 Aug 2011, 15:06 pm
Amen! Problem is the team has weak links in Steyn and Guthro (Great player, but he clearly isn’t ready after last weeks cameo) and Spies (unless he improves on last week’s showing, which showed glimpses of what he should do more of). The bench is also not well thought out in terms of backline cover…
Great that Lambie is starting in a stronger team – let’s hope the boys rock up, cos if they don’t it’s the death-knoll!
Go Bokke (your coaches are sh!te, but we still believe)!
16 Aug 2011, 15:06 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-20: Marky gets all empassioned when faced with the TV camera’s and bright lights.
You are quite correct, no team emphaticaly beats the All Blacks, and Saturday won’t be any different.
16 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
Pressure is on the boks big time, if we win, u are dealt a blow so big you might as well start playing netball.
If u win, u breathe a sigh of relief and do you best to remind yourselves you are the rightful world champions. If we loose, no biggie, some great experimentation prior to the rwc, might even be a good thing, for us it’s pretty much a win win, for the boks, do or die.
Can’t wait.
16 Aug 2011, 15:09 pm
Brig
because our forwards are aerobically fitter.
when has bakkies finished a game recently? Thorns 36 and usually plays a full test. it seems the only logical reason.
What is the bokke packs combined weight?
16 Aug 2011, 15:20 pm
Biggest F up in the Bok team is Morne Stain!
With or without a quality pack the k@kest 10 ever to roam the vlaktes of Zuid Afrika….
The 8-9-10-12 combo for the Boks basically shouldnt include any Bulls players cause they seems to Fup the whole team
Thus the following needs to play WC
Beast, Bissie, Jannie, Mostert, Matfield, Ratel, Deysel, Alberts, Sarel, Butch,habana, JDJ, Mossie, JP, Lambie
16 Aug 2011, 15:22 pm
Individually this AB team has some special players. They have never played together as a unit. They won’t match the Bok physicality and you only have to have worked with the Bok psyche to know that you could bring the Mars XV to PE on Sat they won’t win.
And if these back up blacks were that good they would be the All Blacks.
Disgusting that they see fit to drop the Bok game to bt the Wallabies in Brisbane (as those 8 will all be available for last test) … disgusting on our part because they rate the Wobblies higher than us
16 Aug 2011, 15:27 pm
Butch will play off the bench. We need to move beyond Morne’s goalkicking. Same situation as with Louis Koen in 2003. If you play well enough, create enough tries, the goalkicker becomes just another player.
16 Aug 2011, 15:29 pm
Keo
time and again we hear this firing about bokke physicality.
since 1992, the bokke have beaten the abs 13 times, the abs winning 31 in that time.
surely IF the Abs couldn’t match this physicality, then those stats would read differently?
but glad to see you’ve tipped the bokke, your fame continues in that regard. didn’t you also tip them last week?
16 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
should be furhpy about bokke physicality
predictI’ve text is annoying.
16 Aug 2011, 15:34 pm
@keo(keo)-29:
This is a very strong All Black Team Keo. Make no mistake.
The AB’s have never won a Test in PE, in four attempts.
We are due.
16 Aug 2011, 15:41 pm
Previous PE Test Matches.
1928. NZ 6 – SA 11.
1949 NZ 8 – SA 11.
1960 NZ 3 – SA 8.
1970 NZ 3 – SA 14.
We are due.
16 Aug 2011, 15:44 pm
@keo(keo)-28: I’d imagine sending a weakened team has more to do with concern over the nasty Bokkies injuring their precious Dan, Brad or Richie before their home World Cup than rating the Wallabies higher.
16 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@cane(cane)-32: You make it sound like the AB’s are pregnant.
Mind you, Piri Wee poo looks like he’s in the third trimester.
16 Aug 2011, 15:59 pm
@keo(keo)-29: tell that to Jannie de Beer after the 1999 quarters mate. Or tell it to Stephen Larkham after the semi’s. Or Joel Stranskey after 1995 final. Or Johnny Wilkonson after the ’03 final….or……ag, you know what, i think i’ve made my point.
16 Aug 2011, 16:08 pm
Great speech keo, unfortunately this Boks side does not look like they have a game plan beyond channel 1 and kick and chase.
I think it is very possible for a less talented team with a better game plan to beat the more talented side with no game plan every time. As long as they can stop us going forward, which given our limited attack is not that difficult.
The ABs will man up on the boks loosies and JDV in channel 1, plus spread the ball wide at pace when we kick on their back 3.
I see another long day ahead …
16 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
Keo smoking his socks again
“Boks must win big”
That will be the day, who is brave enough to put their money on the lousy Boks? Not me.
All Blacks B+ team will win
Snort voetsek
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-21: Lean and athletic like Wyatt Crockett !? I think he personifies brick **** house
The difference is about skill. I think the AB squad is probably the biggest, most physical side currently, considering backs as well. The difference is that they have great natural ability and good technical skills as well. Coupled with a great tactical coaching staff should make them unbeatable, with the only problem being that they tend to struggle when teams step up to “out physical” them …
The ABs are not used to having to graft out a win, which is the only weakness I see in them
The game on Saturday is the equavalent of Rustenberg (no pun intended) 2006. Jake’s white’s were on a hiding to nothing and rose from the ashes to win that game via Pretorius and win the following year in France.
16 Aug 2011, 16:31 pm
@keo(keo)-28: Not buying that the ABs won’t match the Bok’s physicality. Possible AB pack?
1 – Woodcock
2 – Mealamu
3 – B. Franks
4 – Whitelock
5 – Williams
6 – Kaino
7 – Thomson
8 – Messam
That’s not the preferred ABs pack by a longshot, but it’s also not one that will back down from the physical challenge of the Boks. If the ABs can get at least parity in the tight and deliver some good ball, their backs could be devastating on the day, especially with SBW/Kahui sitting out in the midfield.
16 Aug 2011, 16:37 pm
@keo(keo)-28: it’s called “returning serve” in kiwi parlance.
you don’t bring your A team to wellington, we don’t bring ours to PE…that’s how kiwis think.
16 Aug 2011, 16:40 pm
If these A team Boks, minus one or two players do not register a bonus point win then I will be at ORT to send them off to the RWC with my vrot eggs and tomatoes.
16 Aug 2011, 16:44 pm
I dunno hey keo.
I reckon there will be more bok support in Auckland next month than there will be in PE on saturday.
That’s just the way it goes.
16 Aug 2011, 16:45 pm
@RL(RL)-43:
Have you been going through people bins again?
I thought you were supposed to be on strike?
16 Aug 2011, 16:52 pm
keo, how come you are allowed to say bull ****, but our posts are censored?
16 Aug 2011, 16:53 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-44: ja hey, from what i’m seeing out here, that stadium is going to be All Black come saturday, the whole the “northern areas” and Uitenhage will be there in full regalia
as a kiwi journo said, there were more all black replica jerseys ar PE airport to make an adidas worker happy
These back up All Blacks (some anyway)..are playing for positions in the 30-man Rugby World Cup squad so I imagine every player in the AB squad including the bench will be giving it 110 percent effort for 80 mins…so it won’t be a cake walk for the boks i don’t think…time will tell..bring on gameday I say…!
@Helen(Helen)-46: put it all together newbie, bullshit
16 Aug 2011, 16:54 pm
@Helen(Helen)-46:
‘cos keo is the big dog and hisbullshit don’t stink.
16 Aug 2011, 16:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-49:
have you kidnapped lilly’s all black shirt?
16 Aug 2011, 16:59 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-51: i stole the 2 she had @ home, next thing she was laughing showing me a delivery slip from all blackshop.com – she ordered the new white collard strip!
blaady agent!
16 Aug 2011, 17:00 pm
Trans
not at all
we’ve decided to use the travel defense, surely as so many abs come from the saders, who travelled so many more miles than the bokke, they must be disadvantaged surely?
what say you also on the fact that I’m not the only one going on about the wales game?
did you get so many other people’s “divergent opinions ” on the subject?
mamparra.
16 Aug 2011, 17:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-52:
allblackshop.com
sweet lord.
well, do your best.
I will have a chat to my mate at customs.
All black shirts are very popular there.
16 Aug 2011, 17:03 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-53: see, you’re bringing this wales thing up again, next thing you will say i’m “attacking you”
so what about wales?
16 Aug 2011, 17:06 pm
Trans
it’s a potential banana skin game.
16 Aug 2011, 17:09 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-56: Only the Proteas and the All Blacks have to worry about banana skin games, chock chock…
16 Aug 2011, 17:11 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-56: yes “banana skin”, i saw they’ve lost their cappie matthew rees and gavin henson’s arm is f*cked.
did you actually watch both wales vs england games poopa or is your theory pie-in-the-sky “momentum” stuff?
16 Aug 2011, 17:13 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-53: don’t worry i spoke to wayne smith on sunday, i got it from the horse’s mouth.
16 Aug 2011, 17:14 pm
xhosakid.
for sure
two games in almost 3 months by the time they face Wales.
did you watch the game last week? aiyiyi
so your team is going to be settled and playing well? or are you just as arrogant as Trans to discount them that easily?
16 Aug 2011, 17:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-49:
@Helen(Helen)-46: put it all together newbie, bullshit
helen reminds of a poster from long ago called big g.
maybe she ain’t a “newbie”?
anyway, since when does time on this blog count?
you sounding more and more like pietman every day
16 Aug 2011, 17:16 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-30:
Since 1992:
Played: 45
AB: 31
SA: 13
Draw: 1
Winning percentage by the AB: 68.9%
That’s freakin scary.
At least we are due a victory against your boys going by the stats. I’ll forsake one this weekend if someone can guarantee me that it will come in the SH of the WC… that is if we get there.
16 Aug 2011, 17:18 pm
believe what you want Trans
what’s with all the name dropping, or are you just quoting the names that you got your opinion from?
funny thing is, I’ve seen many a saffa supporter since your loss to Aussie that are also very worried about that game
but continue, for if they do upset you I’ll have the last laugh. if not no biggie, because you’ve already told me you have that game won anyways.
good luck.
16 Aug 2011, 17:22 pm
@charo(charo)-61: where did i say time counts for anything? 8)
don’t put words in my mouth, just teasing her/him
16 Aug 2011, 17:23 pm
Nama
I’d be quite happy for the ABs to lose this game, if not then the Aussie one.
think it would be good for the ABs to lose just before, may help them focus during better.
and we’ve never won in PE, so perhaps we’re due
16 Aug 2011, 17:24 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-63: what opinion are you on about? hehehe
are you “having a go” at me?
tell me so that i can be ready chap
16 Aug 2011, 17:25 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-63: where is the post where i said that game is already won poppa? show me.
16 Aug 2011, 17:30 pm
trans
yawn
another sidestep? you’re great at that. still haven’t had a counter as to why Wales can’t win that game? do you think you’ll ever give me rugby reasons why they won’t?
two injuries doesn’t cut it, you guys had 3 this weekend yourselves.
16 Aug 2011, 17:31 pm
When a Matfield-led team wins it’s going to throw the cat among the pigeons
But ….
If Smit comes off the bench with 20 mins to go – does he take over the captaincy? Even by SA dysfucntionalsim that would take the cake … any bets?
16 Aug 2011, 17:38 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-69: I’m sure the boks will play with plenty of passion, just like Joburg last year. Unfortunately I think the coaching will be the difference. Like I said before, I think a well coached team of ok players can beat a badly coached team of stars more often than not.
Nothing in the last year indicated to me that we have a game plan to beat the ABs. I cannot think of one area where we are currently on par with them, whether lineouts, kick-offs, defence, loose play, scrums, etc.
16 Aug 2011, 17:39 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-69: good question that, does Vic hand over the captaincy to Plod when he comes onto the field? If the Boks win will he take credit for the win and will his record read 2 3N wins in 9? Will Vic be happy if Plod tries to steal his glory … who will do the post match interview, hell what a mess.
16 Aug 2011, 17:39 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-68: poops, i asked you before…wales have played england twice – lost & won – and will play argies next. their players were off rugby for an even more extended period than the boks, now how are they in a more advantageous position than the boks?
is the one game they’re playing against the argies the “edge”
they need to upset the boks?
i don’t claim to have a theory on the wales vs boks game, i’m just anticipating it like any other game.
16 Aug 2011, 17:40 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-68: still waiting for the post where i said the welsh game is in the bag.
16 Aug 2011, 17:50 pm
Trans
show me the post where I said the Wales players were in a more advantageous position than the bokke players????
I simply said it’s a potential banana skin game. deal with it.
then I heard all about divergent opinions and the like.
but for clarification, the Welsh players know how it feels to win a test this season, do the bokke players? ummmmmmm.
16 Aug 2011, 17:51 pm
Have to agree. If Boks don’t beat the Ab 2nd side in PE and beat em well. We have no chance at the wc.
Go Bokke.
16 Aug 2011, 17:56 pm
when can we panic, can we panic now? or after Saturdays game?
16 Aug 2011, 17:59 pm
3 weeks out from a WC and I am as confused as a chameleon in a smartie box !!
Geez…….. I can’t even offer an opinion anymore !!
16 Aug 2011, 18:17 pm
What you worrying about Keo? Of course they’ll win big – Morne Steyn’s starting at 10!
No doubt they’re already running around fretting about their defensive lines…
16 Aug 2011, 18:19 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-74:
I believe the current NH matches are classified as friendlies, not Tests.
16 Aug 2011, 18:23 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-74: define “potential banana skin” in simple terms please
16 Aug 2011, 18:27 pm
bye for now Trans
if you can’t understand that simple statement id suggest you stick to speaking Xhosa
David: classic
16 Aug 2011, 18:43 pm
Ah KEO!
You don’t have a face for tv, a voice for radio, or the intellect for writing.
How the f**k have you made it this far?
16 Aug 2011, 18:47 pm
they shooting in the dark… Aplon should be on bench, Butch should start but already you have a divisive setup in this Bok arrangement.. you got the Smit team with Butch at 10 and the Matfield team with Morne at 10
However watch my theory get proved right… watch this team pull out all the stops with Bismark starting under Matfield and they take AB’s to the cleaners
So if they WIN against AB’s where Smit would have LOST… who gonna WAKE UP and smell the coffee THEN ??
They STILL gonna carry Smit to the WC as the almighty albatross Aura or they gonna realize whats ACTUALLY been going DOWN in this team the past 2 years?
The myth about the Smit galvanizing aura is about to get blown to smithereens and get blasted apart as the Bullshit Baffle Brains Myth it always was.
16 Aug 2011, 18:52 pm
How? ……how on earth will the boks beat a hyped up ab side when they can’t put away the wallys on their own turf and particularly after they (wallys) got belted by the abs the weekend before.
16 Aug 2011, 18:58 pm
watch the Boks under Matfied and Bismark starting .. only problem is Smit gonna come off bench thats when it gonna go all fall DOWN again
Big problem at FB cos Lambie gonna have to cover 15 all game long unless Steyn or JPP going to cover back there if and when Butch comes on.
16 Aug 2011, 18:58 pm
Agree with Keo for once.
Question: Does he EVER blink?
16 Aug 2011, 19:07 pm
No test is easy, margins are too small, but I would be bitterly disappointed if the Boks lose this one.
I would expect a 15% increase in performance from last week at least.
I am just worried about Lambie at the back. Defensively it’s a specialised position which you only get a real feel and understanding for with time spent there – I reckon the AB’s are going to send up a couple of bombs on the lad or target space next to or behind him.
16 Aug 2011, 19:12 pm
Boks should have won last week… outright criminal that they didn’t.. had they started Bismark and Alberts last week or even Bismark and Deysel and left Smit either on bench or in the bloody change room, and left Butch on at 10 and started Aplon not Frans Steyn then Boks would have won … and Hougaard should start ahead of FdP.
16 Aug 2011, 19:14 pm
Who dares question HM Keo’s authority to say and/or write bullshit.
16 Aug 2011, 19:18 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-83: I hope you are right. I somehow can’t see them doing it but I really hope that you are proven right.
16 Aug 2011, 19:18 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-88:
I almost posted a reply!
(Alberts was still injured)
16 Aug 2011, 19:26 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-87: ABs will definitely target Lambie at the back, the AB coaching staff would have studied his last match at XV where he had a mare, gifting Read the easiest of tries.
16 Aug 2011, 19:37 pm
@RL(RL)-92:
Yup, not doubting the lad’s ability, but in some instances at this level, experience counts for a hell of a lot.
16 Aug 2011, 19:41 pm
Who is the ref for this game
16 Aug 2011, 19:50 pm
This is another aspect that Graham Henry has improved on considerably in my view anyway.
His team is a lot more settled and players specialise in one position; it’s less than 1 month away from the tournament and we are still experimenting.
Have not seen the AB team but if Cory Jane plays then we’re in trouble at 15. 1stly Lambie is not used to playing there. 2ndly he is short so easy for Jane to contest for the ball in the air.
Players should have settled in positions and improved their play eg become more creative; the constant disruptions create small communication gaps which in the context of the tight game can result in not taking the 1 or 2 chances
Think of the days when Percy, Breyton and Slappes played together; Percy could literally sense what Breyton wanted to do – but that came with many many games together
Another thing is that I suspect the Boks are partially blind or visually challenged; why can we not see the spaces, supporting players? This is where Sheryl Calder could have made a difference…
16 Aug 2011, 20:03 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-91: so why didn’t you?
16 Aug 2011, 20:17 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-81: indeed english is my second language poops, indulge me
16 Aug 2011, 20:18 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-96:
Did you declare a jihad against John?
You need not repeat yourself 100x; we heard you the first time but may not necesaarily agree with you
I bet if PdV dropped John along the way your argument would have been something else
John is there, deal with it… he is a team man and necessary to have in tight situations
I’ve watched John for many years, listened to his interactions with the ref and know that I’d rather have him in the mix. My view is that he will stand up when it matters most.
16 Aug 2011, 20:20 pm
Outside of being entirely blind to the obvious, the ABs will bring what’s required on Saturday, everyone in their squad wants to prove themselves for the squad. Each individual brings a bit more than mere desire, they attach skills, tenacity, gameplan, flair, structure, and thats what’s known globally as the business. If the Boks think they’ve the rub, the ABs would be happy to hear the twist and correct it.
16 Aug 2011, 20:20 pm
It’s amazing what a stir Helen caused today?
Some people displayed behaviour today that they accused others a few years back. They acted as if the blog belongs to them.
That’s why we should be slow to judge…
16 Aug 2011, 20:25 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-98:
Are you all of a sardine the voice of moral interjection here… and wtf is a jihad… don’t bother I weren’t born yesterday I know quite clearly what it is … and my blasphemy against Saint John ain’t a Jihad by any standards…. your Brother John better shape up or ship out… because he ain’t been shaping up the past two years and COUNTING… so rather you worry about your own moral standards of humane association… and I’ll worry about mine.
16 Aug 2011, 20:33 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-100: interesting, go on.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-101:
I just felt it is important to call you to order.
You have raised your concerns. They have been noted and you must now move on.
Aim for balance. Less is more.
John is fighting his own battles but there is no need to single him out. Many players find themselves in that space. Habs, JdV, Morne, Spies, Brussow and the list goes on.
What we need is a team effort where someone can be the catalyst to spark the entire unit to all perform at their best at the business end of the tournament.
Helen Zille
16 Aug 2011, 20:34 pm
@ Sheriff(Sheriff) I want to shoot the sherrif but I didn’t shoot the deputy! Haha taking the morale high ground captain oh captain?
16 Aug 2011, 20:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-102:
Funny that you ask.
Let me explain. I’ll use Dawn to illustrate my point.
You see Dawn has what I call ‘bloggermylitis’ that is, she has to blog every day.
Nothing wrong with it, but she may have reached a point that she feels that she is not in equilibrium when she did not read the threads or blogged herself.
Also, because she has been blogging here for so long, before 2006 if memory serves me right, she feels – quite unintentionally – that this is her domain.
Here she can take a leave from say ‘katman’ and take a bit of a break to come back with fresh perspective.
The problem is that the longer we blog the more intolerant we become and feel it is quite OK to lash out at newcomers. I speak from experience, it nearly happened to me a few years ago.
16 Aug 2011, 20:44 pm
Excuse me?
Who’s lashing out? Me?
Who is reffing this game
16 Aug 2011, 20:45 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-103: you sound like a preacher man where you come from, Xmas Past?
You sound like Saul of Tarsus or somebody with some great savior you trying to protect and enshrine for dear life.
Call me to order who the fck you piddly dweeb actually think you are?
16 Aug 2011, 20:45 pm
Simultaneously several question arise: what is Helen’s agenda?
Why did she have to make an entrance here with such an emphatic way?
Why not slip in and make friends?
16 Aug 2011, 20:46 pm
@ Sheriff(Sheriff), Dr. Phil is that you?
16 Aug 2011, 20:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-108:
Sham-poepol- loo ; you know me well
You know well I stand for justice
16 Aug 2011, 20:49 pm
S
16 Aug 2011, 20:50 pm
@ mpundulu(mpundulu), one word at a time, you can do it! Hehe
16 Aug 2011, 20:51 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-107:
You said nothing because Rossoneri said what you wanted to.
You knew well that it would have been duplication if you also said the same thing.
One thing I can say for you is this: you’re not into duplication
You did not call Rossoneri to order hence you agreed in your heart with her. Your only concern was and is the true identity of ‘Helen’
Bloggermylitis tells you its ‘Helen Zille’
My bet is that it is just another ‘Helen’ ; say ‘Helen Parker’ or Groenewald
16 Aug 2011, 20:52 pm
@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-110:
It’s not psychology; it’s logic… read it again…
16 Aug 2011, 20:55 pm
@ Sheriff(Sheriff), Helen the Genherist?
16 Aug 2011, 20:56 pm
Helen arrived with immense gusto and crimson but just lacked in knowledge. She merely had an inability to accept that the one point she got from someone else is actually rather short on idea and does not need exception. She pressed on that particular avenue until many got quite annoyed. She needs a broader rugby intellectual base, and save on the insult first strategy.
16 Aug 2011, 20:57 pm
@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-116:
Helen the Generic
16 Aug 2011, 20:58 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-117:
Who gives you the right to judge?
How many kilograms rugby knowledge do you have?
16 Aug 2011, 21:02 pm
Meanwhile keo has not put an article here of Wayne Smith praising PdV
There is a reason for this. He knows well that Wayne is not into conspiracy theories or mindgames like himself.
Wayne simple stated that people underestimate this bloke. His saying that he thinks the guy deliberately portrays himself like that.
Remember Wayne is smart, he knows what he’s talking about. I also remember old Ted walking over to PdV to shake his hand in 2009 which to me was a sign of great character
16 Aug 2011, 21:03 pm
Well Helen the Generous has certainly had a profound impact on keo.
She called stormerboy sweetie and he hasn’t been seen since.
Probably in the free weights section slinging tin
16 Aug 2011, 21:04 pm
What are you talking about
I haven’t been on all day
16 Aug 2011, 21:05 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-120: I haven’t put it there cos I know what they think of him privately and it certainly isn’t the patronizing nonsense spoken at a press conference about him being ‘shrewd’
16 Aug 2011, 21:06 pm
more importantly, it’s good to see my jawline starting to take shape. A big thank you to PT Bridgette (at Virgin Active, Wembley Square).
16 Aug 2011, 21:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-122:
Why can you not make eye contact with me?
You know well that you always read all the threads every day, especially the longer ones
16 Aug 2011, 21:09 pm
Everybody is taking the bait tonight
I have not played in a long time, but clearly it’s like riding a bicycle
16 Aug 2011, 21:09 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-120:
Wayne Smith was actually mis-quoted.
He said overestimated.
People make mistakes.
16 Aug 2011, 21:12 pm
I tend to agree with the gist of what is said in the clip.
NZ slaughtered our (true) B team in NZ.
We really should be expected to convincingly beat an AB team at home without eight regular starters. A loss at HOME to a B team would be utterly devastating for our RWC hopes. This game is extremely important in the psychological stakes – if our full strength team can’t do it at home against a weakened team, what price of beating a full strength on their patch?
Only thing I didn’t agree with in the clip was Keo’s popped collar.
16 Aug 2011, 21:12 pm
If one follows helen’s positions, there are centrally two, Nienaber’s appointment means that the Boks in two months will do what the stormers have achieved in three years. That’s nonsense. Additionally, with the Boks having jdv and Jacque Fourie then that translates to the bok squad being able to translate the two stormers knowledge to accelerate their understanding of Nienaber’s defense strategy from systems to individual technique bearing in mind that the Boks have had one game with the Rustenburg 21 and a following game this weekend before the WC to pull together their defensive strategy. Now there are some pool games in the WC, however, two of those are critical to ensure the Boks don’t leave before they reach the qualifying stage. If you’ve followed her posts, the above is easy to accept unless she’s your significant other, relation, or friend if not than it’s trying to accept what precisely you are arguing about?
16 Aug 2011, 21:13 pm
@keo(keo)-123:
so keo pray tell
what do the inner circle of influential friends and uncles ACTUALLY think of PdV… Maybe Wayne Smith is shrewder than all you saffa high priests of springbok rugby combined?
16 Aug 2011, 21:15 pm
Pdiv should have:
Started with Beast, Bissie, Jannie dup
Started Butch at FH
And let combinations develop. His A team.
But didn’t.
He missed a trick there.
16 Aug 2011, 21:16 pm
Ted and his mates know that PdV had the right idea when he joined the Bok setup.
He wanted to play ‘total rugby’
Of course the pressure of winning got to him and soon the Jake White voices went up that we ‘need to return to our traditional strengths’ Talking of Jake – I see he is ‘ talking a lot of rubbish, all the time’ ; I guess his fear is that PdV will lead the Boks to retaining the Cup – something no one has ever done!!!?
Wouldn’t that be something!?
I bet they will find a thrust of how John/Victor/FdP mapped it out and that after all, PdV was merely a spectator in it all
16 Aug 2011, 21:17 pm
Despite what Nienaber did with the Stormers’ defence the Crusaders were still able to unlock their defence sufficiently well enough at home to win, once with a B team.
You can defend as well as want but you will still give away penalties in your half, you will still slip a few tackles and even Jake White’s team had a bit of attacking nous to score a try or two.
This Bok team predictably crashes it up route 1 (think JDV – ever seen him pass?) when they don’t kick it away.
16 Aug 2011, 21:18 pm
If a coach doesn’t have the guts to stick with his stated game plan choice – through either public dissent (pressure) or poor results – whose fault is that?
16 Aug 2011, 21:19 pm
@keo(keo)-124: Bridgette does face lifts and tucks at Virgin Active? Doesn’t sound awfully sterile. You sure it’s cool?
16 Aug 2011, 21:19 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-129:
Helen is a junior blogger so I did not read all her comments in detail, but I felt she had good logic there
She is obvioudly at risk if she gets her facts mixed up, so that she needs to negotiate, but I felt comfortable that she has potential to be a regular here
Time will tell. Not everyone can do it.
16 Aug 2011, 21:21 pm
Hey Keo, I know it maybe defeat the purpose, but any chance you can put up a transcript of these tv sections of yours? I can’t watch on my crappy connection in an even crappier country and i like the opinion pieces.
Oh, and you can MP3 your Sat morning show or podcast it as well, can’t stream here either.
You know you want to
16 Aug 2011, 21:21 pm
That other thread has way too much BS so I will comment over here on the team.
I think this is our best backline. Now if only Jean would pass once in a while, things will be fine.
In the forward pack I am unconvinced Gurthro is ready for test rugby. Possibly a case of too little too late. Great player, but no game time and probably should not go to the WC. Big pity. Also don’t think Juan will be fit and ready (once again, no decent game time, unless he has a few blinders in the CC). So realistically, we need to look at a starting replacement. Perhaps Burger? Albert works, but he lost a bit of form in the S15. Too many knock-ons to make me comfortable. If Burger is fit, then I’d play him on the bench to cover just about all 3 loose forward positions. But can you really afford a guy like Burger on th bench and not starting?
So start with Beast, add Burger on the bench, and have only CJ as prop cover. Add another backline player…maybe Frans Steyn, provided he goes on a major diet.
16 Aug 2011, 21:25 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-136:
Lol. How far is your head up your arze?
16 Aug 2011, 21:25 pm
@Helen(Helen)-46:
“”keo, how come you are allowed to say bull ****, but our posts are censored?”"
Classic!!!
16 Aug 2011, 21:26 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-136:
Go pick on someone else
Am not in mood for your kuk tonight
I will read the threads if I want it’s a free fecking country
16 Aug 2011, 21:28 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-133:
Must admit I’ve been disappointed in JDV this season. Although the hasn’t made the line breaks one expects him to, gone are the ability of creating a half-gap and the quick hands he used to have.
Possibly needs to stand a metre or two deeper. Would have preferred him starting with Butch again who gets over the gain line himself, who does have quick hands would make a difference.
It’s going to take time – but the clock is ticking.
16 Aug 2011, 21:31 pm
I have no idea why they are starting with M Steyn this weekend. Step backwards imo!
16 Aug 2011, 21:32 pm
@ Sheriff(Sheriff), how much have you been drinking tonight?
16 Aug 2011, 21:33 pm
Skoppie, I would love to have a good rugby conversation like in the old days, no offense mate, never intended it to come across as such but reading my post it sort of did.
16 Aug 2011, 21:34 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-142:
Problem is, the 12 jersey is a toss up between JdV and WO in Divvyland.
But I agree with you on this season, he never did enough for me either (fark, i hope HG doesn’t read that)
16 Aug 2011, 21:34 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-129:
actually you can add habanero as another stormer coached by nienaber.
so, perhaps helen was not that far from the truth?
she reminds me a lot of another blogger, big g from years back but i get the impression that helen is a lions supporter – big g was all sharks.
nevertheless, she adds more value than 90% of the “ou manne” here.
16 Aug 2011, 21:38 pm
@charo(charo)-147: Everyone is supporting the Lions these days.
16 Aug 2011, 21:38 pm
@charo(charo)-147:
And she was/is kak hot
16 Aug 2011, 21:42 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-148:
lot of fickle people about these days?
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-149:
helen or big g….i suspect you are referring to the latter?
16 Aug 2011, 21:43 pm
As I said before, who dares question keohane’s authority to post/say bullshit.
16 Aug 2011, 21:45 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-146:
That’s why I didn’t put that horrible word beginning with D with reference to JDV.
But seriously, although JDV and Jaque have formed a great partnership over the years, a more exciting one has been JDJ and Jaque.
But Pdiv, like Jake before him, will always go with experience.
JDJ brings something different to the table with his straight running and ability to step – mainly off the left.
I posted something on another thread yesterday – if JDJ is no.2 to JDV for the no.12 position- who will that be for Jaque at 13.
My take is that Pdiv should pick a specialist in each position – but won’t.
He’ll make a cop out and select a bunch of versatile players to make up the squad of 30 after his first choice run-on 22.
@charo(charo)-150: Just people who might have lost their way for a bit. They’re welcome back. We don’t hold grudges.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-145:
i’ll be in fish hoek in about 2 weeks time.
why don’t you make more of an effort and join skoppie and myself for a chat over a beer/fanta. will try to drag ufo in as well.
and any other s/suburbs boytjie lurking around.
katman, tassies, whoever?
16 Aug 2011, 21:46 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-148:
You wish.
16 Aug 2011, 21:49 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-155: After Friday evening you are going to give it a brief consideration. Mark my words.
16 Aug 2011, 21:50 pm
@ >^..^< katman(katman), The pumas attract more crowds to the stadiums than lions! Hehe
16 Aug 2011, 21:51 pm
@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-157: They chuck in the stadium tickets with the soup kitchen deal in Witbank.
16 Aug 2011, 21:53 pm
Sheriff: I can understand you wanting a more diverse pool of bloggers, hell there are racists of varying degrees on the blog, with blacks, coloureds, and perhaps one woman, who knows perhaps more. My view is that if Helen wants to participate fully she ought not to attend to issues in the manner in which she does.
How do you formulate a position of logic on her statements if you’ve not read them?
16 Aug 2011, 21:53 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-152:
well perhaps the 4 x centres should all come from stormers?
jdv, jf, jdj and sadie – at least they have played together and can interchange?
all though i still rate adi jacobs for his brain and hands.
btw where is kirchner these days – injured?
16 Aug 2011, 21:55 pm
@keo(keo)-124:
Just a few more kg’s to go, then you will be beating the girls off with a stick!!
@charo(charo)-150:
Latter.
@ Katman, haha well it works doesn’t it! Lions had good run thus far but WP will beat them. Aplon and jdj being the difference
16 Aug 2011, 21:56 pm
Wow there hasn’t been a new blogger in a very long time who has sparked so much debate and discussion as this Helen person.
Welcome to the forum Helen, enjoy.
16 Aug 2011, 21:56 pm
@carol(carol)-161: Hacking away at their knees.
16 Aug 2011, 21:57 pm
@charo(charo)-154:
Myself and UFO has tried to get together for a while now, he has my email and cell, let me know and let’s make a plan.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-156:
I just don’t want you sobbing into your Windhoek again.
Seriously, it’s great that John Mitchell has stuck around. He seems to be working wonders and kept the same pool of players. That breeds spirit and determination and continuity. It’s great that the Lions are winning again. I’m very happy for them.
It’s nice to see a smaller union come good.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-159:
mate, helen added a breath of fresh air to this blog today.
did you notice how trannie reverted to isixhosa when helen had him rattled?
not the first time either.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-165:
Suppose he could bring a box!
16 Aug 2011, 21:58 pm
Who is Helen?
Is it a bloke like Mavis?
16 Aug 2011, 21:58 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-167: 5 from 5 = very little sobbing
16 Aug 2011, 21:59 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-159:
Mate I dont know Helen.
She must come here and run onto the park like all players here on keo.
I just dont like it when one person is attacked by more than one. It’s not fair.
So I ran a bit of a decoy there.
How do I formulate? Eye for detail, connecting dots
16 Aug 2011, 21:59 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-149:
Kak hot?
Who are you and where is Pissant.
16 Aug 2011, 22:01 pm
@charo(charo)-160:
Kirchner has fallen off the bus – but was never a centre. Only in Pdiv’s eyes.
Adi’s D lets him down a bit. But when the squad is announced, there will always be one bolter. I’ve nailed my colours to the mast and it will be Sadie.
16 Aug 2011, 22:02 pm
@carol(carol)-170:
Wtf?
@Dawn(Dawn)-173:
He should have been in bed 5 hours ago already – this person is over-tired and talking nonsense.
Soon the Lions will have 1 captain and 14 previous captains?
How is he going about it? Alphabetically or somethin’
16 Aug 2011, 22:03 pm
And with that I am calling it a night, need to get some sleep, ciao all.
16 Aug 2011, 22:03 pm
Kirchner back in CC rugby
16 Aug 2011, 22:05 pm
Sheriff: if someone or some people don’t like your posts here you will be tested by one or more people. It’s one’s own decision but if I believe you talking a solid of garbage I’ll tell you whether you are being attacking by twenty people or one, means nothing to me.
16 Aug 2011, 22:06 pm
Josh strauss forever
Goodbye Doppies your time has come and gone
And justice for fudge
16 Aug 2011, 22:07 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-171:
I believe you’re going to the game. Just hope the weather is better than last Friday and that we don’t have all the moans over the ref.
Lions, the favourites!!.
WeePee on the backfoot after 2 consecutive losses. Can’t believe this. How times change.
16 Aug 2011, 22:08 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-180:
That’s the gangster in you then
I have had to bail many out like that, even Dawn in years gone by
16 Aug 2011, 22:09 pm
@ I am a stormer(I am a stormer), mate, don’t stress! The lions are flash in the pan, they will be broad down to earth this weekend
16 Aug 2011, 22:09 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-152:
Although he is prone to the odd outstanding game, I’m considering handing in my membership card for the JdV fan club.
If I think of Saturdays game, I think of JdV hanging onto the ball into contact, even when he had time to think and had plenty support outside him. It was crash bang wallop all afternoon.
Is this team orders? And if so, to what end? Is it Nienebar? Or is it just JdV?
For example, compare last seasons Stormers centre combination of JdJ and JF with this seasons of JdV and JF, and think of the difference we posed on attack?
But you are right, Div has proved time and again he will go with experience. I expect F Steyn to be starting FB so would it not make sense to put JdJ on the bench to cover both JdV and JF who are surely his starting pair? Can’t see Steyn being considered at 12.
16 Aug 2011, 22:10 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-181:
Josh looks like a Koos de lar Rey or sumthin’
Is that guy for real?
16 Aug 2011, 22:12 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-182: Yep, going with my brother. Also hoping for decent weather as I turned down perfectly good tickets up in a suite to sit down with the unwashed masses.
16 Aug 2011, 22:12 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-166:
will do – ufo is good value, as is skoppie on a one-to-one.
will drop a post closer to the time.
16 Aug 2011, 22:13 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-174:
I hope so. It’s still piissing me off watching him do the biz for WP
16 Aug 2011, 22:15 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-181:
Daai fudge is a ‘slapgat’
16 Aug 2011, 22:16 pm
You talkin to me?????
He may look li de la rey but he can play and by looks of it he can captain too
Now leave me the feck alone
16 Aug 2011, 22:17 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-185:
Something wrong with JDV’s play, no doubt. Maybe he needs to spend time with that Sheryl Calder again. Anything. His space awareness is just not there – that was always one of his strengths. And putting other players into space by creating half gaps.
But if the Boks have Lambie, JDJ and Hougaard on the bench rather than M Steyn and Aplon, things could happen.
16 Aug 2011, 22:17 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-187:
I wish you ‘bokramme’ on both sides
16 Aug 2011, 22:19 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-167:
damn good coach considering the plundered talent and they’ve lost vermaak now. pity he does not have any budget for the s15.
16 Aug 2011, 22:20 pm
Sheriff: ok bailiff keep keeping on papi. It’s your world, we just want to have rugby discussions.
16 Aug 2011, 22:21 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-185:
it is my observation that pdivvie is pulling the biggest con the world has ever seen.
jdv is under instructions to bulldoze every movement to lull the opposition into a sense of complacency……….
meanwhile, back at the camp, the boys are practicing quick skip passes and scissor movements………..
the oppo at the rwc will wake up too late.
i
friggen
hope……………………………………..
16 Aug 2011, 22:22 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-191:
This coming week I think Waylon Murray will prolly be captain, oh no wait he’s injured.
Ok Jano Vermaak, oh no he’s left
What about Mapoe or …
@cab(cab)-194: Best move was to sell Gumede. That oke was fekkin useless.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-187:
When I don’t secure suite tickets, I always console myself that the real supporters sit in the stands.
As I said, I just hope that it’s incident free and that rugby is the winner.
And Western Province.
16 Aug 2011, 22:23 pm
@charo(charo)-168: nice try charo 8)
“rattled” by playground insults?
what is it that i said in isiXhosa charo?
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-192:
If there’s 3 backs on the bench, you’ll have Butch or Morne depending who’s starting, Hougaard, and it would then make sense to have JdJ.
Might be better to have the fight out between Lambie and Butch for FH, but Div will have Morne in the mix somewhere. No doubt whatsoever.
Catch you later mate. Gotta shoot for a while.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-193: As long as they respect the red and white, I don’t give a shet who they are.
16 Aug 2011, 22:24 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-172: she was “attacked”?
16 Aug 2011, 22:26 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-198:
oh really, yeah my sis was saying all loaded, but not too lekker.
@charo(charo)-196:
Haha, nothing div does would surprise me anymore. 4 years of playing the fool could be the greatest con trick rugby has ever seen….
…..you hope
Out for now.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-199: I won my tickets on the radio, so I guess that’s a sign that I should mingle with the people. I hope they hand out disposable plastic seat covers.
16 Aug 2011, 22:27 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-202:
You’re gonna smell ‘soet koejawel’
16 Aug 2011, 22:28 pm
@cab(cab)-204: All that talk of his gold crusted chequebook, and what did we get? Lionel Mapoe, Pat Cilliers, Bandise Maku and about 3 games from Butch. Not exactly Abromovich then.
16 Aug 2011, 22:29 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-195:
Ok let’s talk rugby
What in your view are the essential qualities of a 12?
16 Aug 2011, 22:29 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-207: Sies man, daar’s girls hier.
16 Aug 2011, 22:30 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-201:
To cater for most, we could have in the squad:
SH: FDP & Hougaard
FH: Butch & M Steyn
12: JDV & Lambie
13: Jaque & JDJ
FB: Frans Steyn & Aplon.
Oops. No Ruan. Sadly, there are only so many places available.
16 Aug 2011, 22:31 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-203:
Well… yeah.., you virtually attacked her or attacked her virtually
Remember to me it’s always the principle
16 Aug 2011, 22:32 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-208:
lol, ja bladdy disaster.
16 Aug 2011, 22:33 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-211:
Appels has disappointed me in the green and gold
Ruan should not be there on current form, but a PdV favourite
16 Aug 2011, 22:35 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-208: you must take gumede for a moegoe
which poephol do u know will spend all of his money on a promise of ownership?
when it came to the crux the verkrampte gemors that have run that union down for years resisted change!
mtn would’ve never associated itself with the lions if it wasn’t for gumede
16 Aug 2011, 22:35 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-200:
hardly “playground”
didn’t have a clue what you said in isixhosa…………….
and neither did 99.9% of the bloggers here.
that is exactly the point.
why revert to another language when you are so rattled you cannot reply in the language originally used?
sorry my sunshine – shows you are hiding something.
16 Aug 2011, 22:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-215: He is a moegoe. And he bailed out because no one there shared his dream of a pan African “all black” rugby franchise. Surprise surprise. If he is so keen on this whack plan, why doesn’t he back the EP Kings? Surely this hot spring of black talent is the ideal place for him to realise his Malcolm X rugby dream.
16 Aug 2011, 22:42 pm
Guys I need some assistance here.
I quite like the concept of ‘keoTV’ – was not here a few years back
Has Simon ever done a recording?
16 Aug 2011, 22:43 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-214:
aplon is streets ahead of pienaar….
if only for heart and speed.
muchos respect for that kid.
16 Aug 2011, 22:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-215:
‘Verkrampte gemors’
@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:
‘Malcolm X rugby team’
bhabhabhabhbahbahbahhjahahahahahah
16 Aug 2011, 22:46 pm
Anyway, that’s it for me. Good night all.
Go Lions.
16 Aug 2011, 22:46 pm
@charo(charo)-219:
Big fan of Appels myself
However, I feel they – ABs and Aus – target him and unfortunately his team mates do not always cover for him
Great with ball in hand, however I need him to finish more often
16 Aug 2011, 22:47 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:
yes, he is a moegoe…but so are the people he tried to work with…
two moegoes don’t make a mango…
16 Aug 2011, 22:48 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-223: You’re right, they are. And two moegoes only make a moegoemoegoe.
16 Aug 2011, 22:52 pm
i still say ep married to transvaal is the way to go. they could alternate their base camp every season and for a bonus would have a great name…the lion-kings…
16 Aug 2011, 22:54 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-225: Alternatively, The Kings of Lion.
But cool names aside, it’s a very kak idea. Hope you’re sufficiently embarrassed.
16 Aug 2011, 22:54 pm
Still waiting on mpundulu’s reply on my question on 12′s
I need to say that my soccer knowledge has improved by more than 100%; coming off a low base of course
So soon I will be able to hold my own there as well
It’s just the positions thing that I’m not getting
16 Aug 2011, 22:55 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-218:
I was actually introduced to Simon…..he was eating a sandwich at his desk at the time!!
Better looking than Keo and does not have a ‘funny accent’ like Ryan!!
16 Aug 2011, 22:59 pm
watching this french u18 vs sa academy……
the days when sa kids were physically superior has long gone.
our guys are getting manhandled.
bit of a worry for our future.
and with that negative note………………………..
cheers all – logging off.
16 Aug 2011, 22:59 pm
@carol(carol)-228:
Yes but Simon would not have hit on you, or did he?
Ryan does not have a funny accent. Ryan is the Herschelle Gibbs of keo, but I like the fact that he is just being himself.
I’ll still have a gatsby with him…
16 Aug 2011, 23:00 pm
@charo(charo)-229:
ciao charo
16 Aug 2011, 23:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-226:
you mean the kings of lie-in….
after seven biblical years (and a few more real one’s to) of famine for the lions, the torrid times the boks have had and most every other sa super franchise whats to be embarrassed about?…
16 Aug 2011, 23:06 pm
@carol(carol)-228:
Have I confused you?
16 Aug 2011, 23:08 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-212: i just think helen’s point, whatever it was, disappeared and she was ‘romanticised’ and when i quizzed her original thought all i got was how i wipe my a_ss and how stupid i am for not seeing that rassie & nienaber were going implement this stormers defence that impenetrable. i never got an answer on the dynamics of how all of this was going to happen, nothing.
but hey she ostensibly made an impression here
16 Aug 2011, 23:08 pm
@carol(carol)-228:
“Better looking than Keo”…wow, i cant imagine who should be more offended by that if they read the posts at all…keo or john?…
16 Aug 2011, 23:13 pm
Ok I agree with Mark about this because both coaches know their starting 15′s by now, the boks knew theirs at the end of the EOYT, as have the all blacks for a long time. This cannot be put down to experimenting..
If SA and NZ do meet in the RWC and with everyone whos available now still not injured the teams would look like this:
15 Francois Steyn
14 JP Pietersen
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Jean De Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Butch James
9 Fourie Du Preez
8 Pierre Spies
7 Juan Smith
6 Schalk Burger
5 Victor Matfield
4 Bakkies Botha
3 Jannie du Plessis
2 John Smit
1 Tendai Mtawarira
16 Bismark Du Plessis
17 Gurthro Steenkamp
18 Danie Russouw
19 Heinrich Brussouw
20 Francois Hougaard
21 Morne Steyn / Patrick Lambie
22 Gio Aplon / Juan De Jongh
V
15 Mils Muliaina
14 Cory Jane
13 Conrad Smith
12 Ma’a Nonu
11 Sitiveni Sivivatu
10 Daniel Carter
9 Jimmy Cowan
8 Kieran Read
7 Richie McCaw
6 Jerome Kaino
5 Ali Williams
4 Brad Thorn
3 Owen Franks
2 Keven Mealamu
1 Tony Woodcock
16 Andrew Hore
17 Ben Franks
18 Sam Whitelock
19 Liam Messam
20 Piri Weepu
21 Colin Slade / Israel Dagg / Zac Guilford
22 Sonny Bill Williams
The boks need to perform or they will be winless in the tri nations and face a Wales side which showed that when it truly matters they can defend like a champion team.
16 Aug 2011, 23:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-234:
She made an entrance not dissimilar to rossoneri a few years ago
To be fair, lilith/ optimus prime was just a lot more controversial
Who knows: maybe she comes on here tomorrow and apologise to all, you’ll never know…
16 Aug 2011, 23:18 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-236:
Sorry I also ment to include Hosea Gear at 11 with Sivivatu the other wing in the squad
16 Aug 2011, 23:22 pm
@charo(charo)-216: spin it however you want…
when confronted with absurdity my *sigh* was in my mother tongue & i have to make no apologies about that.if you don’t understand it scroll on, there are some who get it.
try harder ol chap 8)
16 Aug 2011, 23:23 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-211:
You could look at it this way:
SH: FDP / Pienaar
FH: Butch / Steyn
11: Habana / Hougaard
12: JDV / Lambie
13: Fourie / JDJ
14: JP / Mvovo
15: F Steyn / Aplon
16 Aug 2011, 23:24 pm
@keo(keo)-28: “Disgusting that they see fit to drop the Bok game to bt the Wallabies in Brisbane (as those 8 will all be available for last test) … disgusting on our part because they rate the Wobblies higher than us”
Because it is exactly so, like it or not. Unless Boks themselves start to treat voyages seriously.
On a positive note, those B+ Blacks are more than capable to pull Boks pants down, unlike those examples of “vast pool of talents” sent to the slaughter.
16 Aug 2011, 23:25 pm
Guys I have to dash
Cane has already had to coco pops in NZ (9h25 am ) there
16 Aug 2011, 23:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-234:
i found these interactions quite amusing hehe:
# 168.willievz: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 13:50 pm
@Helen(Helen)-145:
An opensider is not about making turnovers. It is about slowing down the ruck ball so that your defensive line can realign and that you stifle the opposition of a quick recycle.
In other words, it is about attempting a steal or making it difficult for the tackled player (in the air or on the ground) to place or offload the ball and the supporting players to support the tackled player.
Come ruck or collision time, the deck player (I don’t like the word fetcher) also needs to help structure the ruck on defense or offense, and it helps to have a low center of gravity here as it is very difficult to counterruck a player with a low center of gravity.
Otherwise you are entering the vicious circle where you are just going to make tackle after tackle and the opposition ruck ball just gets quicker and quicker. And not even the best tacklers in the world (which Burger certainly falls under) can save you from this.
# 182.Helen: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 13:54 pm
@willievz(willievz)-168: Willie, you forget that it is the second player at the breakdown who performs this function and his job is made easier when the opposition is tackled aggressively, either backwards or being turned…
# 199.willievz: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 13:58 pm
@Helen(Helen)-182: Where did I forget this?
Why can’t your 6 be the second guy at the ruck?
And in any case, you will not have the same player attending consecutive rucks anyways.
The trick for the opensider is to cherry pick the collision he enters, it is about anticipating which phase in general or collision in particular there is a chance to slow down or potentially poach the ball.
Which is why having Bismarck and Brussow (and Burger to a lesser extent) helps tremendously.
# 217.willievz: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 14:04 pm
@Helen(Helen)-186:
Huh?
The three 80-min players should not be subbed at all, barring injury.
Which means there are 12 players instead of 15 who should be subject to being subbed, of which (as you rightly state) only 7 can be subbed.
# 219.Helen: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 14:05 pm
@willievz(willievz)-207: Yes, but at least we’ll have 13 substitutions, hey?
Better not advertise that, otherwise the Kiwis will insist on the same perks….hahahaha…
# 228.willievz: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 14:09 pm
@Helen(Helen)-219: 13?
# 230.Helen: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 14:09 pm
@willievz(willievz)-217: Willie, let me explain something. You can’t have only 3 players playing the full 80 mins. With 7 subs, that means that you need 8 players to play the full 80. Do the math, it’s not that difficult.
# 263.willievz: Reply to this comment
16 Aug 2011, 14:34 pm
@Helen(Helen)-230:
Hold your horses there. You either misinterpreted what I said, or are looking for fun, or are trying to pick a fight because I disagree with you about Schalk and now you are trying to get me involved in a ping-pong exchange of posts.
So consider this my final response to you.
By 80-minute players I meant that those are the guys I don’t want to get subbed, ever.
Of course I know there are 8 players who would need to play the whole 80.
So on that note, adios.
she means well but has a few blonde moments….
16 Aug 2011, 23:32 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-240:
Someone has to pay the price. I think Ruan should stay behind as cover in case of injuries at the WC.
16 Aug 2011, 23:33 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-242: cheers marshal
16 Aug 2011, 23:50 pm
@nama1(nama1)-62: 13 to 9 in SA, that’s the blackest part of those stats.
17 Aug 2011, 02:31 am
“Good old Wayne Smith blowing smoke up every South African’s arse. Lovely chap”
Tweets Keo
maybe the Host doesnt recognise genuine
‘respect’
when they hear it.
What were they expecting – turning up in Port Elizabeth, stepping off the plane, and promptly labeling the Host-nation players as
“cheats” ?!
17 Aug 2011, 02:44 am
@keo(keo)-28:
Interesting. So still 3 days to the game, but hands down, the boks have got the game won.
Personally, I think probably the boks will probably get up in a close encounter, but the last 20 mins might change that, I certainly don’t think anything is set in stone for this match. What the ABs lack in experience, the should make for in skill and fitness levels and a determination to win and a pride in the jersey that used to be part of the bok mindset as well.
Just remember, it just that sort of pride that cometh before a fall.
17 Aug 2011, 03:13 am
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-248:
Just as long as its the ABs learning that very same lesson. Im wondering whether Lord Ted will be toooooo worried about a Loss to the A-Boks as it would give him some focus-points heading in to the Cup, as the HK-Bledisloe did prior to Eden Park’11.
Altho, beating the Boks on home turf – where the ABs have never won (under Home Refs) – would certainly come with deep satisfaction too.
kia kaha
17 Aug 2011, 04:24 am
24 hours after hail and *SNOW* fell in Host City, Auckland, it was bathed in brilliant blue skies and a balmy 13degs sunshine bliss.
(stick that in your barrel and goofy your tube, Charo)
Ladies, come dressed for All 4 Seasons
on and off the pitch.
17 Aug 2011, 08:30 am
The difference between the two teams on Saturday will be how well each has been coached.
Experience is essential but can the Boks employ a workable intelligent game plan.
If the coach was astute and intelligent…then yes. History shows us that since 2009 we have plenty to be worried about going into this game.
17 Aug 2011, 09:30 am
No *** please, we’re Kiwis
Wed, 17 Aug 2011 09:13
New Zealand fans have overwhelmingly rejected a campaign urging them to give up *** as a way of supporting the All Blacks during this year’s World Cup.
Telecom Corp, a team sponsor, planned to launch an advertising campaign calling on fans to “Abstain for the All Blacks” next week to generate publicity ahead of the September and October tournament, the New Zealand Herald reported.
It said fans would be given black rubber rings to wear to show they were supporting the abstinence campaign, which will be fronted by former All Blacks captain Sean Fitzpatrick.
While the campaign was approved by the New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU), the idea of putting *** in the sin bin has found little support from the country’s sporting public.
“Dumb, dumb, dumb, that’s just dumb,” one All Black supporter, who identified himself as Grant, told AFP in Wellington.
A New Zealand Herald online poll asking fans if they would forego *** during the seven-week tournament attracted almost 10 000 votes, with 92 percent responding: “No, are you kidding?”
One supporter, who did not want to be named, said he did not relish the prospect of being ridiculed by boozed-up England fans if he turned up to a match sporting a celibacy ring.
NZRU spokeswoman Juli Clausen confirmed the campaign would go ahead, but stressed it was being organised by Telecom, not the sporting body.
“It’s their campaign, their creative [idea], obviously we’ve been across it, but it’s very much their campaign and owned by them,” she told AFP.
Clausen was unable to immediately confirm reports that All Blacks coach Graham Henry was asked to front the no-*** campaign but declined.
Telecom marketing director Kieren Cooney said it was a fun way to galvanise support for the All Blacks, who will be desperate to succeed on home soil at this year’s tournament after decades of World Cup under-performance.
“We’ve tried to take a way that is fun and is absolutely tongue-in-cheek and is absolutely based on what, we think, is Kiwi humour,” he told the newspaper.
The New Zealand YWCA said Telecom was sending the wrong message by promoting abstinence and should instead push a safe *** message.
“We need to be realistic that there will be a lot of *** during the Rugby World Cup… instead of black rubber finger rings that promote abstinence, produce some black male and female condoms for fans,” YWCA spokeswoman Sarah Davies said.
“They will get much more use.”
ALL I’M SAYING IS DURING THE SOCCER WORLD CUP LAST YEAR, THREE OF MY FRIENDS CONCEIVED. WORLD CUP BABIES ARE INEVITABLE.
17 Aug 2011, 11:01 am
@248 Black Magic I am not sure about the AB fitness levels. We have slackened off in the last 20 mins in the 3 games this year, our guys have looked tired! Over the last few years, that is the time when the AB’s would run away with the match – so I think we’ve either lost fitness, or other teams have caught up and passed us.
17 Aug 2011, 11:07 am
No *** please, we are Kiwis
2011-08-17 07:30Email | Print
Related Links
Wales hit by injury again
Aussie prop out of World Cup
RWC snub won’t upset Muller
Wellington – New Zealand rugby fans have overwhelmingly rejected a campaign urging them to give up *** as a way of supporting the All Blacks during this year’s Rugby World Cup.
Telecom Corp., a team sponsor, planned to launch an advertising campaign calling on fans to “Abstain for the All Blacks” next week to generate publicity ahead of the September-October tournament, the New Zealand Herald reported.
It said fans would be given black rubber rings to wear to show they were supporting the abstinence campaign, which will be fronted by former All Blacks captain Sean Fitzpatrick.
While the campaign was approved by the New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU), the idea of putting *** in the sin bin has found little support from the country’s sporting public.
“Dumb, dumb, dumb, that’s just dumb,” one All Black supporter, who identified himself as Grant, said in Wellington.
A New Zealand Herald online poll asking fans if they would forego *** during the seven-week tournament attracted almost 10 000 votes, with 92 percent responding: “No, are you kidding?”
One supporter, who did not want to be named, said he did not relish the prospect of being ridiculed by boozed-up England fans if he turned up to a match sporting a celibacy ring.
NZRU spokeswoman Juli Clausen confirmed the campaign would go ahead, but stressed it was being organised by Telecom, not the sporting body.
“It’s their campaign, their creative (idea), obviously we’ve been across it, but it’s very much their campaign and owned by them,” she said.
Clausen was unable to immediately confirm reports that All Blacks coach Graham Henry was asked to front the no-*** campaign but declined.
Telecom marketing director Kieren Cooney said it was a fun way to galvanise support for the All Blacks, who will be desperate to succeed on home soil at this year’s tournament after decades of World Cup underperformance.
“We’ve tried to take a way that is fun and is absolutely tongue-in-cheek and is absolutely based on what, we think, is Kiwi humour,” he told the newspaper.
The New Zealand YWCA said Telecom was sending the wrong message by promoting abstinence and should instead push a safe *** message.
“We need to be realistic that there will be a lot of *** during the Rugby World Cup… instead of black rubber finger rings that promote abstinence, produce some black male and female condoms for fans,” YWCA spokeswoman Sarah Davies said. “They will get much more use.”
NO MORE UNDERAGE GIRLS FOR YOU MR ROBIN “SICKO” BROOKE!!!!!!
17 Aug 2011, 12:59 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-250:
bwaahaaaa
since when was 13c “balmy”?
you really need to up your standards and expectations…
bwaahaaaaaaa
17 Aug 2011, 23:06 pm
Think a few of you have forgotten about Slades effort compared to what Carter uaually brings. Boks would do well to upset slade and derail the entire AB strategy.
Its a big part of the game – having a 10 that runs the show
18 Aug 2011, 23:38 pm
@charo(charo)-255:
You’d be fun company on a roadtrip
“ooh look, theres the Taj Mahal”
“nah, just another mausoleum”
perhaps you might like to consider ‘balmy’ a little ‘tongue-in-cheek’, Mr Miserable. Just a suggestion.