KeoTV: Boks must win big

MARK KEOHANE argues that Victor Matfield and his mighty men can’t be excused defeat to the the Back-up Blacks.

257 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 1.Siyavuna: Reply to this comment

Old timer dragons…

• 2.Siyavuna: Reply to this comment

The kicks at goal must be taken this time round…..

• 3.puff: Reply to this comment

Too true, KEO.

• 4.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Let’s see

• 5.puff: Reply to this comment

Perhaps a Burger surprise on the bench ahead of Johnson and/or Deysel?

• 6.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

way to go Keo

I have a good feeling about this weekend.
    I sense that You do as well.

there were small signs from key players last weekend.

come on bokke give these okes a right proper pasting.

• 7.JEZ: Reply to this comment

The Boks ran out of puff after 50 minutes last week I can’t see their fitness improving a week later. More of the same this saturday. Good first half followed by a second half capitulation. The Boks minds are willing but their bodies aint.
    Jake White might have put a lot of emphasis on experience but I seem to remember him putting a lot of stock in conditioning too. The Boks are unfit.

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

ah, now i see where ryan get this rubbish of pre-emptive strikes at the Springboks, it’s his baas Keohane that fosters it. Why would should the expectation that the Boks must win big or face damnation by the pen?

These All Blacks are not to be sneezed @…

• 9.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

As captain, Vic is kakka. He just gets frustrated at refs. Should have made Jean captain.

• 10.toby: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-7: I can’t agree with you more…also the Bok B team will not be at the same level as the Back up Blacks…Keo….your videos are too funny….I’m picking All Blacks to win by 15..and Keo to change his mind like he does all the time…he should have a sore *** from sitting on the fence so much….haha

• 11.cab: Reply to this comment

its a helluva good AB side, make no mistake about it, they’d probably beat just about every other test team in world rugby, including the wallabies, its a big ask and they will be committed, the question is will the Boks or are they too old.

• 12.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-9: jdv cant distribute his captaincy, much like clean ball from a solid scrum.

should have made pat lambie bok captain, it will happen anyway to continue a glorious tradition of shark leadership where you need it most in a country.

• 13.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-9:

what twak,

• 14.rangerman: Reply to this comment

does anyone know how that wallabie player managed to charge down a free kick on sat?

he must be the fastest man alive.

or maybe he has the longest arms?

either way, he is AWESMOE!

• 15.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

boks know what this game means…they’ll win it.

• 16.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Keo

considering in 100 years of rivalry, the biggest winning margin the bokke have over the ABs is 17…

nows your best opportunity, but your team will fade after 60-65 minutes

age old recipe to beat the bokke – run their big forward pack around the park then profit when the inevitable happens.

• 17.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-14:

or,just maybe…he was offsides?

• 18.RedMan: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-9: which is more kakka – keo tv or skip vic?

1 minute 39 seconds – ‘keo’ himself says “we’re bullsh1tting you”

Who are you referring to, Marky? Maybe you need to loosen the collar on that funky green blazer of yours. Stops the blood flow to your head and makes you all excitable, resulting in senseless garbage spewing from your trap

• 19.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-16:

remind me why or “big forward pack” get the run around and your “big forward pack” is completely ok?

who exactly of our 8 are bigger than yours?

• 20.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Must beat the ABs emphatically!!Bring that s hit on.
    Going to be a close game, ABs will be unsettled and a little disorientated with all the new combinations, but our fitness is light years in front.
    It’s now or never bokke, muhaha, can’t wait.

• 21.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-19:

Come on, you always taken pride in fielding heavy weights, guys built like brick s hit houses, we have usually tended towards athletic leaner frames and our fitness is miles in front, we will run you all over the park as we always do.

• 22.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-21:

so based on perception and not fact then?

I believe your frontrow,locks and backrow could all be heavier than ours?

• 23.NicG: Reply to this comment

Amen! Problem is the team has weak links in Steyn and Guthro (Great player, but he clearly isn’t ready after last weeks cameo) and Spies (unless he improves on last week’s showing, which showed glimpses of what he should do more of). The bench is also not well thought out in terms of backline cover…

Great that Lambie is starting in a stronger team – let’s hope the boys rock up, cos if they don’t it’s the death-knoll!

Go Bokke (your coaches are sh!te, but we still believe)!

• 24.RedMan: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-20: Marky gets all empassioned when faced with the TV camera’s and bright lights.

You are quite correct, no team emphaticaly beats the All Blacks, and Saturday won’t be any different.

• 25.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Pressure is on the boks big time, if we win, u are dealt a blow so big you might as well start playing netball.
    If u win, u breathe a sigh of relief and do you best to remind yourselves you are the rightful world champions. If we loose, no biggie, some great experimentation prior to the rwc, might even be a good thing, for us it’s pretty much a win win, for the boks, do or die.
    Can’t wait.

• 26.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Brig

because our forwards are aerobically fitter.

when has bakkies finished a game recently? Thorns 36 and usually plays a full test. it seems the only logical reason.

What is the bokke packs combined weight?

• 27.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Biggest F up in the Bok team is Morne Stain!

With or without a quality pack the k@kest 10 ever to roam the vlaktes of Zuid Afrika….

The 8-9-10-12 combo for the Boks basically shouldnt include any Bulls players cause they seems to Fup the whole team

Thus the following needs to play WC
    Beast, Bissie, Jannie, Mostert, Matfield, Ratel, Deysel, Alberts, Sarel, Butch,habana, JDJ, Mossie, JP, Lambie

• 28.keo: Reply to this comment

Individually this AB team has some special players. They have never played together as a unit. They won’t match the Bok physicality and you only have to have worked with the Bok psyche to know that you could bring the Mars XV to PE on Sat they won’t win.

And if these back up blacks were that good they would be the All Blacks.

Disgusting that they see fit to drop the Bok game to bt the Wallabies in Brisbane (as those 8 will all be available for last test) … disgusting on our part because they rate the Wobblies higher than us

• 29.keo: Reply to this comment

Butch will play off the bench. We need to move beyond Morne’s goalkicking. Same situation as with Louis Koen in 2003. If you play well enough, create enough tries, the goalkicker becomes just another player.

• 30.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Keo

time and again we hear this firing about bokke physicality.

since 1992, the bokke have beaten the abs 13 times, the abs winning 31 in that time.

surely IF the Abs couldn’t match this physicality, then those stats would read differently?

but glad to see you’ve tipped the bokke, your fame continues in that regard. didn’t you also tip them last week?

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

should be furhpy about bokke physicality

predictI’ve text is annoying.

• 32.cane: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-29:

This is a very strong All Black Team Keo. Make no mistake.

The AB’s have never won a Test in PE, in four attempts.

We are due.

• 33.cane: Reply to this comment

Previous PE Test Matches.

1928. NZ 6 – SA 11.
    1949 NZ 8 – SA 11.
    1960 NZ 3 – SA 8.
    1970 NZ 3 – SA 14.

We are due.

• 34.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-28: I’d imagine sending a weakened team has more to do with concern over the nasty Bokkies injuring their precious Dan, Brad or Richie before their home World Cup than rating the Wallabies higher.

• 35.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-32: You make it sound like the AB’s are pregnant.

Mind you, Piri Wee poo looks like he’s in the third trimester.

• 36.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-29: tell that to Jannie de Beer after the 1999 quarters mate. Or tell it to Stephen Larkham after the semi’s. Or Joel Stranskey after 1995 final. Or Johnny Wilkonson after the ’03 final….or……ag, you know what, i think i’ve made my point.

• 37.danuk: Reply to this comment

Great speech keo, unfortunately this Boks side does not look like they have a game plan beyond channel 1 and kick and chase.

I think it is very possible for a less talented team with a better game plan to beat the more talented side with no game plan every time. As long as they can stop us going forward, which given our limited attack is not that difficult.

The ABs will man up on the boks loosies and JDV in channel 1, plus spread the ball wide at pace when we kick on their back 3.

I see another long day ahead …

• 38.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

Keo smoking his socks again :)
    “Boks must win big”
    That will be the day, who is brave enough to put their money on the lousy Boks? Not me.
    All Blacks B+ team will win

Snort voetsek

• 39.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-21: Lean and athletic like Wyatt Crockett !? I think he personifies brick **** house

The difference is about skill. I think the AB squad is probably the biggest, most physical side currently, considering backs as well. The difference is that they have great natural ability and good technical skills as well. Coupled with a great tactical coaching staff should make them unbeatable, with the only problem being that they tend to struggle when teams step up to “out physical” them …

The ABs are not used to having to graft out a win, which is the only weakness I see in them

• 40.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

The game on Saturday is the equavalent of Rustenberg (no pun intended) 2006. Jake’s white’s were on a hiding to nothing and rose from the ashes to win that game via Pretorius and win the following year in France.

• 41.DAS: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-28: Not buying that the ABs won’t match the Bok’s physicality. Possible AB pack?

1 – Woodcock
    2 – Mealamu
    3 – B. Franks
    4 – Whitelock
    5 – Williams
    6 – Kaino
    7 – Thomson
    8 – Messam

That’s not the preferred ABs pack by a longshot, but it’s also not one that will back down from the physical challenge of the Boks. If the ABs can get at least parity in the tight and deliver some good ball, their backs could be devastating on the day, especially with SBW/Kahui sitting out in the midfield.

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-28: it’s called “returning serve” in kiwi parlance.

you don’t bring your A team to wellington, we don’t bring ours to PE…that’s how kiwis think.

• 43.RL: Reply to this comment

If these A team Boks, minus one or two players do not register a bonus point win then I will be at ORT to send them off to the RWC with my vrot eggs and tomatoes.

• 44.Gunther: Reply to this comment

I dunno hey keo.

I reckon there will be more bok support in Auckland next month than there will be in PE on saturday.

That’s just the way it goes.

• 45.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-43:

Have you been going through people bins again?

I thought you were supposed to be on strike?

• 46.Helen: Reply to this comment

keo, how come you are allowed to say bull ****, but our posts are censored?

• 47.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-44: ja hey, from what i’m seeing out here, that stadium is going to be All Black come saturday, the whole the “northern areas” and Uitenhage will be there in full regalia :D

as a kiwi journo said, there were more all black replica jerseys ar PE airport to make an adidas worker happy ;)

• 48.Diontnz: Reply to this comment

These back up All Blacks (some anyway)..are playing for positions in the 30-man Rugby World Cup squad so I imagine every player in the AB squad including the bench will be giving it 110 percent effort for 80 mins…so it won’t be a cake walk for the boks i don’t think…time will tell..bring on gameday I say…!

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-46: put it all together newbie, bullshit

• 50.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-46:

‘cos keo is the big dog and hisbullshit don’t stink.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.