KeoTV: Invest in Lambie

MARK KEOHANE says Pat Lambie is the future of South African rugby and must stop being messed around by his coaches.

623 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 151.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Make peace with the fact that the Boks will be fortunate to scrape into the SF’s. Dont worry, be happy. If they do it will not be in any measure due to coaching, management or administration – watch for a la England 2007 player power come to the fore.

• 152.Gunther: Reply to this comment

wasn’t jaco taute that guy who got skinned by the bulls in the super 15 last seen being led off the field by the medics looking like an altzheimer’s victim in a supermarket car park?

• 153.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-150:

Sad , but so freekin true !!!

• 154.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-130: GM Puma bro

Mate i dont think at all they mature sooner then our players, because they have so few to choose from of course they can put them in young

Lets use Lambie as an example ?

This kid just wants to play , no matter where he is played, now he for example in the last test against the kiwi’s was one of the very few players to come away with their pride intact.

what happens next match?? he gets dropped?? why????

From there where he had a good match at 10 ? he gets called up again and now at 15? again he is happy to play, and i have no doubt he will have a good match.

The problem here is not the players, its the coaching staff that have no clue, look at Deysel in the last 2 tests, again one of the few to come away with reputations intact , he gets dropped.

The problem here is what message is it sending to those players??, As it is people are saying and know the coaching staff are nowhere, they have no clue, we should know what our full squad is and yet they dont

they persist in playing players out of position , ala Rossouw at flank or Smit at prop, we saw the consiquences? FATAL

• 155.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-123: The Truth!

• 156.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-152: Speaking of which, did you ever find that Sierra?

• 157.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-148: Hiyas HG

Bok rugby is about the let out it’s final breath,

• 158.grant10: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-154: farken spot on…..

the players must be so confused…

• 159.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-152: :lol:

• 160.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-152: Jaco who?

• 161.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-157: Howzit SL. Its:

“All over rover”
    “Goodnite nurse” :wink:

All because of a coach and his 2 lackeys (and lets not forget these guys were wooshipped by the majority of Breezer supporters on this site) completely out of their depth on an international stage.

• 162.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-156:

indeed.

thankfuck for netstar

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-150: charo last night suggested that pdv was running the biggest ruse in world rugby, playing morne and kicking plenty while in rustenburg the Boks were doing scissor moves, inside passes, and loop-arounds that will be unveiled @ RWC :D

well, he hoped.

• 164.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-163: “well, he hoped.” So says you, one of PdV’s biggest supporters…. Two faced cnt

• 165.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-150:

Ja, Grant. You are the second person that I have heard in the last hour who says that you are not proud of this era. I have to agree that I feel the same as you do and more.
    I am at a point where I am beyond feeling anything for Bok rugby. I go to the games because I want to give my son the experience of seeing his test heroes in action, but he is (at 10 years old) already fed up with John Smit and PDV. I have always been careful to indoctrinate him and to allow him to make up his own mind about things. I am now living to regret that choice because he supports the Bulls and I support Province :-)
    Be that as it may, I am disappointed in what the current coaches have done to the Bok emblem and how they destroyed the pride and the willingness to die for the jersey that was built up over many years. I know that there were players who were excluded in the past, but the fact remains that most of them would have embraced the pride and the honour to represent their country. The current team have made a mockery of things that were bordering on being sacred. I am livid at the way in which excuses that this team is building towards a WC is being gobbled up by all and sundry.
    PDV is reported to have said that he is very upset by the little criticism that is leveled at Ted for bringing a B team to SA. Could it be that the world knows that the so-called AB B team is going to run circles around his A team?
    Finally, his comment that they only lost the match on the scoreboard against the Wallabies epitomises the thinking in the coaching brainstrust. Where else do you lose games? There is not one little spec of accountability and taking responsibility with them.
    I feel feathers for the Boks because I cannot support mediocrity and I cannot condone stupidity. I support the Bok jersey and what it stands for and what it has had to endure to survive until this point. I loathe John Smit and PDV for disrespecting its heritage and even winning a WC will not change that.

• 166.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-163:

Hehehe, looking forward to those loop-arounds especially! :lol:

I would imagine the Boks have a few tricks up their sleeves.

• 167.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-162:

LOL !!

• 168.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-163:
    Well then PDV will make my day ……

You know I WAS SITTING HERE READING ABOUT gITEAU NOT MAKING THE wc….HERE iN sa WE HAVE BLOODY m sTEYN AT 10….jdv CRASH BALLING AT 12 ….AND gITS SITTING AT HOME FOR wc….

hELL MAN…
    Sorry caps

• 169.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-163: @willievz(willievz)-166: Will be interesting to see what exactly they have up their sleeves.

• 170.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164:
    he blogs where the wind blows… :D

• 171.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-168:

Confirmation of my suspicion that Gits was a divisive force in the Wallabies team.

• 172.LightZone: Reply to this comment

Disregarding all the player power and coach not good enough etc does it not seem as if the team is in disarray? It seems that the senior players are revolting against John Smit’s captaincy. Matfield saying it doesn’t matter who is captain and now JDV saying we should keep the scoreboard ticking on the field of play. Transie laughed and ridiculed when I mentioned JS’s neck operation was a bit of expediency…now his arm goes as well while other players are mentioning his captaincy?

• 173.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Couchcoach(GI POT)-165: All I can say is ‘ ditto ‘….

I am absolutely ashamed of 2010 and 2011……it has been nothing short of criminal…..I will never forget M Steyn and Matfield being played against Italy, at home, and Matfield talking about how the cap will push him closer to the record , etc…..the times we could have blooded youngsters and rested the vts were not used because the senior players dictate….

Last year against Scotland on eoyt Matfield got his way and Lambie was shafted….

Seriously my man….we deserve all we gonna get come WC…..

I just cannot wait to see thye back of the 3 stooges , plod, vm and all the other fatcats….

Just hope we make the right choices for next Management and dont choose a captain then 14 players, but 15 players then a captain…

• 174.LightZone: Reply to this comment

I have the distinct feeling that players are pressuring PDV to drop Smit.

• 175.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164: amen

• 176.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-166:

All I see is the centres and Spies doing ballet spins on defense. I suspect that there will be a couple of sore necks on Sunday – firstly from looking into the sky at another M Steyn high bomb and secondly from looking around in a frenzy to try and see where the AB backs ran past them.

• 177.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Couchcoach(GI POT)-171: would love to have them gits skills at 10 or 12 for boks though…..

But ja…heard the rumours as well….for brumbies though?

• 178.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Couchcoach(GI POT)-165:

Good post !!

• 179.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-154: Howzit bro,

Yeah said so in my post 106. But the Aussies in all sports are coached better than us. You just have to look at their tennis, cricket, swimming and rugby. They perform top class in all sports. Bring home plenty gold medals from the Olympics probably even more so than Britian. There is a reason for that. Stable society, and structures which support young sports people.

Agree it is our coaching staff that has no clue. Why drop players that actually were the ones that played very well in a weak Bok side on the away tour? They bring in Deysel at 6 last week?????????? HUH??? Why not at 7 where Danie was struggling and costing us.

Lambie is always willing to play anywhere, but don’t want that to happen next year. Don’t want to see him on the bench for Boks in the future only as a utility player, but a starting player. The only way he will get a chance to do that is if he starts the whole time in one postion at the Sharks. We need to not shift him about bro, not good to do that.

Also reading in the Star. ‘Flyhalf choice was not difficult – Div’ – Bok coach says the world cup will be won by goal kicking and can’t leave M.Steyn out with his kicking rate. If that is the case PdV only gave Butch one chance last week. Cause he missed one kick seems he is on the bench. Morne missed our only penalty we had against the ABs in NZ and somehow that is okay?

Greenaway also says it could have been Victor having a word into PdV’s ear. I think more likely that.

• 180.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-173: SARU should also allow the coach to choose his own assistants, otherwise we will again end up in a situation where the head coach looks for assistants mid-term and gets laughed at because his given assistants are not helping the cause. Imagine Nienaber had accepted the defensive role earlier…Mitch accepted attacking role…all asked by PDV and with SARU’s blessing. Why do we always have to have cloak and dagger stuff?

• 181.grant10: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-172: it is inevitable…..as night follows day there will be player issues around plod…..

Do you believe for 1 second Bissy is happy to play 2 nd fiddle when he is 10 times the 2 plod has ever been?

Jannie will react in favor of his boet…..obvious….

Matfield cannot be happy…..it is the case of human nature…..the strong and the weak….

We take an early loss with Plod starting ….against Wales…..watch the kak hit the fan ….guaranteed…

• 182.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-179: So it seems to me. M. Steyn will be our 1st choice Fh.

Now players don’t select themselves. So can’t say too much there. For now think we just have to get behind our team and support them, whoever is playing where.

We have to beat this AB’s 2nd side and beat them well. We don’t then we in massive trouble.

• 183.LightZone: Reply to this comment

Having said that, I’m still a Bok supporter.

• 184.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164: umsunu wakho :D

div abandoned his vision at end of ’08 and that was it for me, get your facts you twa_t of rhodesian refugee.

• 185.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-181: Much as I agree with you, I’m not on the anti-Smit agenda. I have stated before, though, that he should have retired earlier.

• 186.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-172:

I think you have hit a nerve there. I would also be the moer in if I was playing under a captain who is not the best player in his position by a long shot. Some of these guys do have a bit of pride left.

@grant10(grant10)-173:

I will not hold my breath in anticipation that SARU will make a sensible choice come the post WC era. 2010 will remain in my mind as the year when we were caught with our pants down. And instead of making tough choices, as you put it, the status quo remained and we are now reaping the rewards of that lack of collective backbone at SARU.
    The players are dictating terms, but while they are sitting in their little holy huddle, the real coaches of the world have moved on while we stagnated. Rassie as a desperation measure, will send the boys into the WC with a reasonable plan A while the AB’s and Aussies will have plans A – D well drilled and perfected.

• 187.grant10: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-180: absolutely…..get best coach available….and let him put his assistants and consultants around himself….cant be any other way…..

and a 2 year term, with options to renew…..no 4 year judge me at the bloody wc freebie….

• 188.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-173: Who do you think will be the captain of the boks next year?

• 189.grant10: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-185: well you know how I feel…..so I wont get into that again…..

• 190.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Wouldnt have Giteau anywhere near the Green & Gold jumper nor any Saffa side.

He is divisive,managed to cause 2 player revolts-first at Brumbies vs Nucifora then vs Mitchell at Force.He never quantified the money spent on him by the Force & has been rubbish for 2-3 years now.

Grant10-in you type logic/rhetoric…Giteau is the Smit/Plod in Australia except with mercenary tendencies.

• 191.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@Couchcoach(GI POT)-186: I read somewhere a long time ago that for every one play that Rugby has American Football has seven. PDV tried doing that but it seems our guys prefer one single option everytime, mistaking that for focus. It’s really just lazy and myopic. I remember watching a Test match in the 80s and both NZ and SA had moves going in frontline and backline. What happened since then? Surely the game hasn’t changed. What coach was it that had a copy of The Art of War in his back pocket all the time? STRATEGY is the most important thing on the field of play.

• 192.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-188: I seriously have no idea…….depends on coach and the type of game we want to play I supose…..

Personally I just want the captain to be a 1 st choice so we not in a position like we are now….ever again!

• 193.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-190: I said I would like his type of skills in bok team at 10 or 12…..not his personality…..of which i know very little

• 194.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-187: or give him a 4 year contract as motivation but have a 2 year review.

• 195.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-191:

Absolutely, and PDV and co have exhibited their strategic ineptitude with their selections of players out of position and ludicrous substitutions of critical players at the most inopportune times.
    PDV is so focused on the way that he wants to play that he completely forgets about what happens on the field of play. He completely disregards the dynamics of the match itself. He is the epitome of someone who thinks that he knows it all and who believes that he is bigger than the game.

• 196.grant10: Reply to this comment

Giteau is my type of player….flair….skill….can tackle……innovative….

When last has the boks had a player of that class…..?

maybe never….unless we go back 2 decades….

• 197.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-187: Actually I think a coach should not be given the mandate for less time but more time. The cycles from RWC to RWC is not what it should be. Give a coach a six year term, which would allow him to build a team outside of the RWC parameters or alternatively between RWCs. Start the cycle two years after the RWC and build towards a no1 team with the RWC as just another tournament that can be won. There would then be 2 trophies of worth – 3N and RWC – together with EOYT to rebuild.

• 198.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-194: yes….but make it performance related so every test becomes important…..this rubbish about judge me at wc makes me wanna puke on my speedo

• 199.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-192: you see Grant this is where you sit the pot miss?

I hear what ur saying and that would be nice in a perfect world, i actually think Smit makes less demands of who plays or not re provincial bias

With Smit we had Steyn,Butch and lambie as flyhalve’s, as soon as Smit is bench and Matfield Captains we go a full Bulls way??

See one thing you dont realise and this is why i didnt agree with you yesterday, and i know Matfield has won a lot with the Bulls as Capt, but he does not hold the team together that well as a national capt

I actually hope they drop Smit , and make Matfield capt, then you will see true skop and jag return to it’s fullist

• 200.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-190: They should have selected Berrick Barnes a long time ago at 12. Unfortunately he is crocked, but what a class player.

I disagree with people who say the Wallabies have a good backline. They don’t. They have a great and settled back three and a great but unpredictable halfback pairing, but their midfield is mediocre IMO.

Against a good drift defense, those skew-running centres can cost the Wallabies the WC. The whole team relies too much on Cooper straightening the line by cutting inside.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.