KeoTV: PE needs top-class rugby

MARK KEOHANE says the EP Kings must play in the Currie Cup Premier Division from next year.

86 Comments

• 1.stampmielies: Reply to this comment

niks

• 2.stampmielies: Reply to this comment

Must they earn it…….. or just sommer get it…….

• 3.stampmielies: Reply to this comment

Who were the teams Keo ?????? Romania and kie. Give me a break man. They need to earn there keep. I’m not against the EP, but everything always has to be given on a platter !!!

• 4.RL: Reply to this comment

That’s right Keo, say it as it is … a full house crowd for this match, something those sharkievarkies can only dream of and yes let’s have the Kings automatically promoted to the CC premiership, just like the sharkievarkies were … bottom 3 teams to be automatically relegated to division 1.

Bye-bye Bully boys.

• 5.stampmielies: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-4: Bully boys will be ok. In Bob Marleys word ” don’t worry about a thing , every little thing’s gonna be alright” .

• 6.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-4:

Can you explain why your super rugby and currie cup teams are the same?

Or are you preparing for your inevitable exit from super rugby when you make way for the kings?

• 7.grant10: Reply to this comment

King Luke and Solomons to do amazing things for the EP….love it….go boys…

• 8.RL: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-6: all Currie Cup and Super squads are the same, as if you did not know that … look at the Bulls Currie Cup team, they are only missing 4 Super players from the team scheduled to be rogered by the Griquas this weekend.

• 9.RL: Reply to this comment

@stampmielies(stampmielies)-5: even after Griqua bullies them :wink:

• 10.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

EP = always rubbish at rugby, since time began.

• 11.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Who is talking about squads?

I’m talking teams.

Anyway enjoy your last season of super rugby.

Bring on the Kings.

• 12.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@stampmielies(stampmielies)-2:
    you mean the same way natal did?…

• 13.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Well the full house for this test is somewhat misleading, as every hotel in the city is pretty much sold out. Almost everyone I’ve talked to who IS going to the test, got a free corporate ticket, or got sponsored by a supplier hoping to get more business from him in future, or got a free ticket through some other connection. I’d be interested to see how many tickets were actually sold to paying local fans. I’d expect not that many.

I’ll have a look at the breakdown of the crowd on Saturday. If it is 80% white again, then you can bet that half of them are from out of town. The problem with PE is that the white population has gradually shrunk over the last decade from about 250 000 to around 180 000, and while the other population groups have probably grown, it is the whites who are the milk cows that are willing to pay 600 bucks to watch the Boks, or 100 bucks to support their Super rugby team week after week. And from a 180 000 population you aren’t going to fill a 48 000 seat stadium on a regular basis. The other population groups only come into the equation when you have R30 tickets on sale, like in the Currie Cup.

• 14.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Spot on. Kings will only be able to attract better players when they are assured of playing in the Currie Cup Premier Division. Huge interest in the game there. They need to be given that oppurtunity.

Much as I feel for Griquas, the Premier Division should be only the S14 franchises (including Kings). No promotion relegation etc.

• 15.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-13:

Was always going to be a transformation project. With that theory they are better off then the Cheetahs then?

• 16.RL: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-13: where did the rugby people, willing to pay R600.00 bucks a ticket go to, Dirtbin? … and why wasn’t Mr Price park full?

• 17.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

CC? Sure they’ve earned a spot there. Super rugga? They will get farking creamed.
    Time will tell.

On the sell out of PE. good on you PE blokes. Well done. It is natural to become starved of something. sort of like, if have not had a good screw in a loooong while you will eventually become so horny you’ll ghoen the crack of dawn.
    (No pun intended Dawn ;) )

• 18.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-14:

Kings have been going about it the correct way slowly making their way to the top of their division and for them hopefully the next by ‘performance’…

To simply say they deserve it more than the Kwas and without relegation/promotion would be a gross injustice to both teams… not too mention the other teams currently ahead of them on the log…

• 19.trupisero: Reply to this comment

no they don’t.
    @KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-17: more wielneus

• 20.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-17:

Already at a big advantage if they were to enter in 2013.

Most players tend to sign on for 2-year periods following and leading up to the World Cup. Think we’ll find most of the quality players are signed up until at least end of 2013.

• 21.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-19: More ou stoetbul!! Hoe lyk die dinge!!!

• 22.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-16:

I admire your support of the Lions and their losing culture over the years in Super Rugby… will you still be as supportive when they are replaced by the Kings in the Super 14?

Because newsflash there will never be a 6th RSA team included in the S15 as it currently stands… and if a team is set to fall-out for the Kings by the promised 2013… bye-bye Lions!

• 23.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-21: arm en jags soos altyd :) Hoe loop dinge daar? Hou jou knaap jou aan die gang?

• 24.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-20: Given that they will attract bigger teams to PE with a CC Super game it should be viable but will this excitement we are seeing now be sustained to keep the franchise going as the bums on seats make the whole wheel turn.

• 25.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-22: the only way that should happen is by promotion/relegation games, and guess what, Kings will get moered by all the other s15 sides

• 26.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-23: Ja erg man. die mannetjie is vol spoed. Het jy nog my mail addie?

• 27.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-22:

They’re going to have to sort something out. Can’t think anyone should fall-out.

But can’t exactly include the Kings in Europe because the seasons don’t run at the same time.

• 28.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-7: blah blah blah…maybe Sollie will recruit Barney from Sarries?

• 29.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-26: nou mail gestuur na die een wat ek het

• 30.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-29: Het hom moet nou hier af boggerof. Meeting oor 10 min.

• 31.bloem boy: Reply to this comment

Keo, what is up with you’re unequivocal backing of the Kings. We realise we need more black players, the country also needs more jobs, but these things dont happen over night and need to be earned.

Let the Kings EARN their spot in the CC premier division first then we see how they perform and take it from there. No one deserves anything, you earn it!!!

It does however seem like you have a personal agenda here which is clouding your judgement, if I just have a look at the cover of SA Rugby’s magazine a couple of months ago with Luke Watson and the title ‘Return of the King’, I realise it plays on the fact that he will be playing for the Kings but you are creating an undeserved hype about a player who has only created divisions in our society. Would any of the other franchises taken him in? I suppose the fact that Chippy being involved has nothing to do with it (and I did read your article about Solly being man that brought him back).

Keo I love your articles and you have great insight into the game, try and avoid getting subjective as you are with the Kings, let them earn it between the 4 lines!

• 32.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Keo’s big mates with Solly. That’s all his ardent support is based on. If PdV replaced Solly and became the Kings coach, Keo would deliver EP rugby a non-stop bollocking.

• 33.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-25:
    you mean the same way thie lions do?…

• 34.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-13: you’re talkimg sommer kak!

I BOUGHT MY TICKETS PAL, don’t know which cheapskates you hang around.

most people i know bought tickets even if it is the R350 rand top tier tickets which were open to the public last year already.

what businesses in PE can buy close to 35 000 tickets to shell them out in anticipation of future business?

your prejudice makes you dumb sometimes :D

• 35.seamus: Reply to this comment

The other stronghold of Black rugby is the Grikquas union and they also deserve their spot. The CC will need to be expanded back to 8

• 36.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-33: Lions will klap them to eternity and back again

• 37.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-36:
    no they wouldn’t because the lions would be in the super comp if the kings are, doofus…hehehe

• 38.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

no they wouldn’t because the lions would not be in the super comp if the kings are, doofus…hehehe

• 39.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

ignore #37

• 40.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Dont agree with you Keo, they need to earn their way to the Premier division. They topped the 1st division last season but failed to make the step up which shows they are not ready yet.

Give P.E a test every year?? To hand New Zealand an advantage??

Who should give all the advantage to the Boks have two tests at highveld every year. You can rotate between Bloem, Loftus, Ellis Park, Soccer City, Rustenburg.

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-28: why?

Kinfgs want to win…..not lose…

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-34: just because Tacky got a freebie now he believes everyone did….

• 43.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-42: eish :roll:

• 44.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-22: Eish eina ! :mrgreen:

• 45.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Name one other single African country where support for rugby out strips football?

Are we being realistic in trying to make rugby the sport of the masses here in SA? If people want to rather spend their little disposable income on football tickets or feeding their family, then so be it but I don’t see the relevance of demographics of crowd support.

Support is sommer just support.

• 46.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Kings should be given nothing for free, they should earn it.

• 47.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-45: Namibia :D

• 48.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-45: Shops all over Africa sell the round balls, big ones small ones, colorful ones and whatever, very rarely would you see a sphere shaped ball, so kiddies are influenced by the round ball mostly, most households have round balls lieing around not rugby balls.

Think if they had to see rugby balls in spaz and bush shops the kids around africa wouldnt know what ot do with them.

AAANNNNDDDDD SABC does not really show much rugby so those that cannot afford Dstv will not be exposed and influenced by watching rugby.

• 49.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-46: just like you sharkies did hey?

• 50.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-49: what are you talking about? Natal made the Currie Cup final in 1956 and 1984 before they eventually won it in 1990 (and the rest, as they say, is history). Promotion and relegation for them was a way of life. They did it the proper way.

• 51.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-47: I don’t even think football has reached the Himba tribe yet.

• 52.Staal: Reply to this comment

ek suip my vitamins, acc200, Slow-mag en coreza’s soos smarties maar ek WEIER om nou siek te word!

• 53.Staal: Reply to this comment

o – sorry…

niks met rugby te doen nie…

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-45: in my experience, most average black people (outside the eastern cape) think rugby is a “white man’s” sport and they only have a peripheral interest in it which peaks when the Boks are playing in a world cup and everyone is galvanised through ads to be one nation.

the ones that send their kids to model-c schools have a better idea of what their kids can do in terms of a career in rugby but would prefer is sipho gets a his B.Com degree, do his honours and take a shot at being a CA rather than invest 100% of his time on a rugby career.

this is my personal view of a microcosm of the black population and in no way offered as gospel.

not every black kid is into football or CAN play football (some are actually clueless about the sport), that is a group that rugby can tap into as a target market. take a player like Mvovo who at Maria Louw didn’t even know or care about rugby and was a striker in his school team until his school rugby coach talked him into trying out the game.

get the game to the people, open them to possibilities in the game.

some people aren’t even aware how much money a super rugby player earns or a springbok earns.

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-51: are you disputing that rugby is more popular than football in Namibia? :D

• 56.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

AMEN!!!!!!!

• 57.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

The Kings were promised superrugby in 2013 and now that CC has been reduced to 6 teams, it’s logical to have the Kings play CC rugby (in 2012) against 5 other teams with superrugby experience to gauge how they will fare in superrugby. Only then will the coaching staff know where they need to strengthen and which of the current squad is actually good enough….

Granted they will struggle in the first year or two, that’s normal, just ask the Cheetahs, who had been two time CC champions and perennial semifinalists when they first got a taste of superrugby, but featured in the bottom four every year, until this year.

Solly has always maintained that there are a lot of “quality” players willing to come down to PE, provided they can play top class rugby. The time is now….

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-40:

The Kings didn’t top the first division last year, the Eagles did, otherwise they would’ve played the Leopards who were the bottom team in the CC…..

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

go Luke…

Go Soly

Go the Kings….

All strength to you boys….

• 59.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-54: trans, thanks. I guess there is FAR more SARU and the Sports Ministry can be doing about it, but they seem content to sit back and complain when the miracle doesn’t happen on its own. :roll:

@grant10(grant10)-58: Watson’s playing at about the right level now.

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-59: Havent seen much of the Kings to be honest, so Cant comment on Luke….

• 61.Original-Pierre: Reply to this comment

I`d like to see EP back in the currie cup, but let them earn it the honest way.

If they can edge out the Pumas or leopards they deserve it, otherwise they`ll just weaken the premier division.

• 62.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is just what we need in South Africa. People being promoted without earning it or being deserving of it…..wait a minute!…….

• 63.Original-Pierre: Reply to this comment

Maybe I should`ve said ” leopards or bulls ” hehehe

• 64.JockBok: Reply to this comment

The only way that Kings can honestly and rightfully make the step up is to keep the 8 team top tier and have a play off. Of course Kings must top the 1st division first to earn the right. They tried and failed so must try again, and again until they do it.

With the 6 team top tier promised for next season, it’ll be interesting to see what happens if one of the ‘big 5′ finish 6th, especially if it’s Bulls or WP, which is possible given how things are going. Wait and see a quick rule change which would not happen if it was Griquas in 6th.

Even though the Griquas and even the Pumas now are making the top tier more competitive, and are not the easy beats the top brass want them to be to force their agenda on rugby.

What a sad state of affairs. Only in South Africa.

• 65.RL: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-22: of course, I was born a Lion … I’m not like some of these pretend sharkievarkies who abandoned the pride to become fake guppies.

• 66.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-60:
    really?…well heres a little curve ball for you…their player squad is mostly white…about 20 white guys and about 10 non-white guys…sooooo a fairs question would be whats the point then?….if its ‘for reasons other than rugby’ as hoskins said of pdivot…

• 67.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-60:
    really?…well heres a little curve ball for you…their player squad is mostly white…about 20 white guys and about 10 non-white guys…sooooo a fairs question would be whats the point then?….if its ‘for reasons other than rugby’ in the same way as hoskins said of pdivot and is rather about transformation..then its a litttle ironic in a funny sa way…

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-67: SARU have task to develop rugby everywhere, not just for transformation reasons. EP needs the support from SARU to be able to jack themselves up so that the vast talent that comes from this area that usually falls by the way side has a chance to grow.

the EP Kings are not only for black kids/players, grow up.

• 69.David: Reply to this comment

@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-67:
    How many English players are there in the Chelsea and Arsenal teams? That doesn’t affect the number oflocal supporters the teams have. Besides, all the top players, black and white, from the EP have already been signed by S15 teams. Until EP gets S15 status, they’ll never be able to keep or attract their best black players.

• 70.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-69: In a similar vein to “Let them eat cake”,

“Let them support the Sharks”.

• 71.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-70:
    More like puff pastry.

• 72.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-68:
    no you grow up..hehe…

i am 100% all for ep’s development and hopefull inclusion in super rugby in the future and have been saying it for ages. after all, they cant do any worse than the lions…or can they? hehe
    will you at least admit that ep’s development does have more to do with transformation than any of the other rugby regions? otherwise why punt ep and not another union such as griquas? but this doesn’t make it a bad thing, bad is not saying it like it is.
    just saying its ironic thet the union has not been able to transform the team faster and make it more non white, this would surely bolster their super rugby cause, no?

• 73.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-69:
    what would the solution be to this problem?
    are you saying they need s15 status to attract players wanting to play in the best league? or s15 status meaning they would be better placed to pay players the money needed to keep them in team/at the union?

perhaps gumede should earnestly look at providing a financial umbrella to ep union. but that would probably not be as financially profitable as financing a super team, if at all. he looks like more of a business man first and a rugby sponsor second to me though so would probably not. s15 unions get a big enough cash boost to probably make any investment by gumede worthwhile, plus add in brand sponsorships.
    its trickier for currie cup unions.

• 74.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-54:

Eloquently put and 100% correct everything you just said.

Potential is without boundaries….Mvovo is just tip of the iceberg.

• 75.David: Reply to this comment

@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-73:
    It’s a combination of both. SARU actually pays the province for using a player in the S15. This effectively allows a major CC province to sign players knowing that SARU will subsidise their salaries when they play for the S15 franchise. There’s also the fact that exposure at S15 level increases a players chance of Bok selection. Without an S15 place, the Kings (EP, Border and SWD) have nothing to offer their top players to stay.

• 76.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-71: Nope, I dont think you got it :lol:

• 77.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-76:
    You’re right. We seem to have language problem. :lol:

• 78.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

One thing that keo said that stands out like a sore thumb.

And that is, that the decent people in Durban don’t support top-class rugby. They can’t fill a 45,000 seater for a Test. And it’s not as if they get a test every year.
    Yet PE can.
    And that happens in Super Rugby as well. It’s disappointing to see all the empty seats at Kings Park.
    I thought people in Durban supported big-time rugby.
    Clearly not.

• 79.Miff: Reply to this comment

Just who are PE supporting? Keohane simply says the city is ready fro big time rugby. What if the people are supporting the All Blacks and what if the Boks lose.
    Can somebody illuminate a poor foreigner?

• 80.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Keo buddy

Flared collars went out of fashion back in the 90′s. I know you may look clever amongst your bru’s in district 6 but it does not look so on tv.

Tv is good collar is bad.

• 81.Wolf: Reply to this comment

In the end of the day it’s going to come down to money…and by that I mean which cities are the biggest markets and which stadiums can attract more fans.

PE pulls from East London and George and all the smaller towns in-between. Kimberly, Pumas and Leopards.. smaller market. Has a big enough airport for teams and fans to fly into and enough hotels to accommodate them.

And if you don’t think it’s about the money…ask yourself why we are playing a Tri-Nations tournament in a WC year on top of the longest Super Rugby season ever.

The logical choice for the 6th CC team are the Kings…one of the original Test Unions. Logical doesn’t always mean right.

• 82.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Walk-in crowds at any stadium barely covers the beer and peanuts money. You make serious money from the people who do NOT show up at the ground but who watch it on their TV sets at home. You could have home games in Kakamas, Kathmandu or Karachi just as long as millions really wanted to see it on the telly.

• 83.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-82:

New Zealand being a case in point. Always thought rugby was like a religion downunder.

• 84.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Maybe SARU can invest some cash into PE Rugby at grassroots level,

• 85.infidel: Reply to this comment

I know that it is impossible to change some peoples minds but think of Australia and the Super 15. Why did they want Melbourne as a franchise?There is no real rugby history there. What there is however, is a large poulation and therefore the potential exists to greatly increase the pool that Australian rugby draws from. Yes, the Rebels got thumped, yes they had to import all their players but that is part of the process of building a support base and growing rugby in Australia. Now, imagine how happy the ARU would be to discover that 5 of the top eleven rugby schools (in May anyway) were situated in Melbourne. Not only that but there was a huge undiscovered pool of Aborigines mixed with Samoan islanders who actually played rugby (nobody had really noticed them because Aborigines don’t normally play rugby on a large scale.). They would be ecstatic. Or should Australia say, ” No stuff Melbourne, it they want to play S15 they must earn it”. As much as I hate to say it, the ARU are a lot smarter than SARU.

• 86.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@infidel(infidel)-85: great post! love it

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.