Massive blow for Boks

Juan Smith is out of the World Cup.

Smith sustained an Achilles injury during the Cheetahs’ Super Rugby campaign and has been in a race to regain fitness ever since. However, on Wednesday an emotional Smith confirmed to the Volksblad that he was withdrawing himself from the squad.

‘I am not 100%,’ Smith said. ‘I won’t be able to give everything and realise I should put my team, team-mates and the Bok fans first. I must stop lying to myself – what I’ve been doing these last three weeks – and realise that I’m not ready.’

The 30-year-old flank conceded that he has trained through considerable pain in recent weeks in the hope of representing the Springboks at his third World Cup. ‘The pain level that I have been practising with was seven out of ten,’ he explained. ‘I really cannot describe how disappointed I am…immensely.’

Smith has been central to the Springboks’ success in the last eight years, his powerful ball carrying and physical defence lending immense impetus to their cause. Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has consistently expressed fears about losing him and now has to attempt to fill the huge void he leaves.

De Villiers has intimated that Danie Rossouw will be the player to step in in the event of Smith’s unavailability. He isn’t short of talented options outside of the Bulls man, with Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel competent replacements. He could also opt to use Schalk Burger in the position, combining him with Heinrich Brussow and Pierre Spies in the back row.

623 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

• 601.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-595:
    Beer, nuts, TV, what else does a man need? ;-)

Why leave the Firemans?

• 602.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-598:

Some guys never learn. Next time he’ll take a size larger.

• 603.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-596:

It is/was the same in CT. I used to travel the M3 every day and it seemed like every car had a Sharks sticker.

Mind you, it’s a cool little sticker, you can hardly blame them for putting one on their bumper. Much trendier than Provinces disa.

Or maybe i was just sitting behind SL every night ;)

@carol(carol)-600:

Hiya Carol. I’m about 3rd bottom so don’t ask me, I haven’t got a clue :D

Reminds me, what’s your name on Bru IAAS????

• 604.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-603:

Brutus, bru.

• 605.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-5: Boet I doubt he will see a player of his skill, magnitude, commitment and colossal presence in SA rugby for a long time. The guy is one of the all-time greats of rugby. An absolute legend and he for me was the best candidate for Bok captain. What the Boks needed was a hard-b*st*rd no-nonsense captain who leads by example.

I am absolutely gutted he is out of the world cup. I truly hope he will be back. We may never see a player of his calibre again. Kak day for me and it just got kakker receiving this news!

• 606.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-604:

et tu?

• 607.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-603:

It just shows to what extent the margin counts. I haven’t accumulated too many bonus points but the win win % at 75 isn’t too bad.
    Got the last Scotttish game wrong – won’t make that mistake again. I’m taking your word for it now.

• 608.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-606:

A first timer. But it’s been good fun. You reckon there’ll a separate one for the WC?

• 609.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-607:

Don’t listen to me ffs. I’m having a shocker.

Just so happens I never tip against my team. It’s luck, not design :D

• 610.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-608:

There is already. Slarti has got it up and running…

Pool name: Keo’s Clowns
    Pool code: boldbags

Go sign up mate.

• 611.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-605:

Share your sentiments. He is a colossus. Just hope he will be back. And I mean in the green and gold. He has at least 2 maybe 3 more seasons left in him.
    The break will do him good. Missing the WC will be a major disappointment but at least he has a winners medal.
    Now think of the disappointment Jean de Villiers has had to endure. Twice.

• 612.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-610:

Thanks mate. Will do.

Cheers, I’m out for the evening. Will be back for CC tom.

• 613.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-612:

Take it easy mate. Catch you tomorrow for THE big game of the weekend 8O

• 614.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith is the type true blooded springbok warrior champion and his type of guts is the kind of player we should be eulogizing and holding up as the champion of this team… He is the one who puts his team first and his own ambitions a distant last… he is the type leader that this team should be following…pity they ain’t all made of this type stern stuff…

Smit should hold his head in shame compared to Smith he ain’t even worthy to hold his tog bag.

Smith should have been captain since 2008 and this team would have been legions further down the road… having said that watch this team under Matfield.. gonna give Ab’s a shake up… pity they didn’t leave Smit out altogether because bringing him on off bench is just throwing the conniving jackal in among the pigeons at 60 mins… totally unnecessary maneuver.. should have rather played Chili or Strauss off bench not Smit.

• 615.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-614: Totally agreed about Smith as captain. A Bok legend in every sense of the word. He never left these shores hunting for money and glory.

• 616.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-615:

Rare breed of traditional Springbok who should have led this team a long time ago and it would have been far further than we find it now under the sham shackled shadow of a show boating goody two shoe shekel shining charlatan

• 617.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-611: JDV can’t even be spoken in the same breath as Smith. He has served SA rugby with commitment and determination harder than granite and has more talent in his little finger compared to JdV. His defence was always 100% solid and he was the archetypal Bok enforcer. He mixed mongrel brute strength with discipline. Something his mate Burger could learn from. I don’t think I have ever seen Smith yellow-carded. He always kept himself in peak physical condition unlike his lousy good-for-nothing captain. A true unsung hero.

I honestly feel for Juan. He has had a sh.it time lately. He lost his father recently and now he has to miss the RWC. I know it was tough JdV but frankly his form does not warrant being selected for the RWC. Smith deserves to be ahead of him. Life can be very cruel sometimes.

• 618.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-616: Nice alliteration.

• 619.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Fullbacks

F. Steyn
    Lambie

Wings

JP
    Habana
    Aplon

Centers

Fourie
    de Villiers
    de Jongh

Flyhalfs

M. Steyn
    James

Scrumhalves

du Preez
    Hougaard
    Pienaar

Loosies

Brussouw
    Burger
    Deysel
    Spies

Locks

Botha
    Rossouw
    Matfieldd
    Muller

Props

Beast
    Guthro
    Jannie
    CJ/BJ

Hookers

Smit
    Bismark
    Chiliboy

First XV

F. Steyn
    JP
    Fourie
    de Villiers
    Habana
    Steyn
    du Preez
    Spies
    Burger
    Brussouw
    Matfield (C)
    Botha
    du Plessis
    Bismark
    Beast

Smit
    Guthro
    CJ/BJ
    Rossouw
    Hougaard
    James/Aplon

• 620.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-619: That leaves one spot. Perhaps one more prop or loosie, or another back?

• 621.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-615: In the Andre Venter/Ruben Kruger mould. Legend.

• 622.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

Anyone? A few weeks ago, pdv suggested that Burger was as much as a natural 8 as any? This was on the assumption that Brussow and Smith were fit. Could this still happen if Alberts performs well?

• 623.Finfan: Reply to this comment

Dragons. Burp.

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.