Massive blow for Boks

Juan Smith is out of the World Cup.

Smith sustained an Achilles injury during the Cheetahs’ Super Rugby campaign and has been in a race to regain fitness ever since. However, on Wednesday an emotional Smith confirmed to the Volksblad that he was withdrawing himself from the squad.

‘I am not 100%,’ Smith said. ‘I won’t be able to give everything and realise I should put my team, team-mates and the Bok fans first. I must stop lying to myself – what I’ve been doing these last three weeks – and realise that I’m not ready.’

The 30-year-old flank conceded that he has trained through considerable pain in recent weeks in the hope of representing the Springboks at his third World Cup. ‘The pain level that I have been practising with was seven out of ten,’ he explained. ‘I really cannot describe how disappointed I am…immensely.’

Smith has been central to the Springboks’ success in the last eight years, his powerful ball carrying and physical defence lending immense impetus to their cause. Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has consistently expressed fears about losing him and now has to attempt to fill the huge void he leaves.

De Villiers has intimated that Danie Rossouw will be the player to step in in the event of Smith’s unavailability. He isn’t short of talented options outside of the Bulls man, with Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel competent replacements. He could also opt to use Schalk Burger in the position, combining him with Heinrich Brussow and Pierre Spies in the back row.

623 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 1.zub: Reply to this comment

• 2.JKBridge: Reply to this comment

Big big big big loss!!!

• 3.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Thats juan good player down. Presumably, also, his International retirement ? A shame, helluva player !

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

team man, utmost respect for you juan!

• 5.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Not such a massive blow… blessing in disguise actually… Juan Smith has lent his body to the Boks for a good 10 years or so on the front line every game he played… now its time some younger more able body gets put on the line.. and there plenty enough to choose from.. as long as they choose wisely.

• 6.JKBridge: Reply to this comment

I would go with 6.Brussow 7.Burger 8.Alberts 19.Spies

• 7.Train: Reply to this comment

Big loss – immense player. Will miss his hard yards and play at the back of the line-out.
    6: Burger
    7: Brussouw
    8: Spies
    backup: Pakslae, Alberts & Johnson

• 8.DAS: Reply to this comment

Huge loss. Sorry to see this, such a great player who always fronted when it mattered.

• 9.JKBridge: Reply to this comment

I wouldn’t play Danie as a loose forward. He’s too slow + he goes into contact to upright.

• 10.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Ag kak! Well Juan you were a true yster, thanks for what you did offer and all the best for the future.

• 11.Nils: Reply to this comment

Very sad news but I expected that. What a player. Recover soon, Juan.

• 12.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

When he first became injured it was stated he would be out for the RWC, so I think it was always going to be a stretch. Massive loss for the team and the supporters though. Juan is one player who truly embodied the Springbok ethos. He’s done himself and the jersey proud over the years.

• 13.XV: Reply to this comment

it will not happen… bring in Joshua Strauss.

• 14.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Who skop? And using the word ‘wisely’ when talking about the current coaching team should be enough to send you to goal.

• 15.Blou Hoender: Reply to this comment

Sterkte Juan – Massiewe terugslag vir ons Bokke. Andre Venter van hierdie dekade!

Stem saam dat Schalk, Brussouw, Spies nou beste kombinasie is.

• 16.JKBridge: Reply to this comment

Wouldn’t mind Josh Strauss either. Awesome player!!!

• 17.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-12:

Yes in the same vein as Andre Venter…we currently don’t have an able replacement like that.

• 18.Blou Hoender: Reply to this comment

Hier Londen het hul vannaand ’95 se beste driee gewys – Lomu en Joost was maar net ysters! Hoendervleis! Imagine die Wereld XV teen SA XV:

15 Blanco vs Jouba
    14 Campo vs Habana
    13 O’Driscoll vs Gerber
    12 Horan vs de Villiers
    11 Lomu vs Carel dup
    10 Carter vs Honniball
    09 Gregan vs Joost

01 Popplewell vs Os
    02 Wood vs Bizzie
    03 Brown vs Garvey
    04 Johnson vs Bakkies
    05 Eales vs Matfield
    06 Micheal Jones vs Schalk
    07 McCaw vs Venter
    08 Zinzan vs Teichmann

• 19.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Legend! If he is in pain, man that must be like having a leg cut off with a rasp! Respect. Another J Smit should think about stepping aside for the team…

• 20.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Burger or Alberts (or both) to fill the void – not Danie (Brussouw on openside) – that’s still very strong – though Smith’s physicality was incredible … big loss but we’ve known all along that a broken achiles tendon takes months to repair.

We’ll miss him against All Blacks but Schalk is also essential and so is Brussouw – so maybe conundrum sorted?

Smith showed honour in what he did … the captain should look at himself in this manner.

• 21.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Great player, will be missed at the WC.

• 22.corms: Reply to this comment

Big loss for the Boks, Juan is an excellent player and will be sorely missed.

• 23.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

What did Juan, the Spanish fireman, name his twin sons?

Jose #1 and Jose #2.

• 24.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-5:

Problem is ‘your’ coach has already stated with conviction that if Juan doesn’t make it… Danie Rossouw is hist first choice replacement there-in lies a big problem!!!!

Back to Juan… jeez it must be gutting to end it like this… but we pretty much all knew nobody comes out of a injury like this with their former speed in tact… and he’d simply not be the player without it…

Considering how he puts his on the line every game and his umpteenth concussion… it’s probably best for his health in hindsight too…

One of the true legend loose-forwards of all-time along with the Andre Venters etc etc

• 25.whatever: Reply to this comment

Bad luck Juan, kudos to you for acknowleging that you not ready.

Dannie is a bench lock not a flank! Schaulk, Alberts or Dysel, not Danie……pleeeaaase Hellium

• 26.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Players of Smith’s caliber are so few and far between that they’ll always be difficult to replace. To me he was just such a great servant to Springbok rugby and a truly great ambassador to the brand. Softly spoken but he let his actions on the field do the talking. And man that was some good talking! He’ll be missed and like the last time he returned from an injury layoff it’s only when he returns that you truly realise just how much he was missed.

• 27.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

This site is better suited for ipad….tjanks keo.co.za.

Horwill new wallabies captain….good job mr. Deans. Elsom is a great player but great players are not always good captains. Elsoms game will get better.

• 28.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

Why!!!!!!!!!

Boks really needed Juan I’m sure he can still play look smit plays and he’s no where near 100% and looks like he’s in pain too

• 29.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

From the SMH…

James Horwill has replaced Rocky Elsom as Australia’s captain in a shock move before next month’s Rugby World Cup….

As expected, 92-Test back Matt Giteau was a notable omission, with Deans instead selecting NSW playmaker Berrick Barnes as the five-eighth back-up to Quade Cooper and Melbourne halfback Nick Phipps as a third specialist halfback.

Australian squad:
    Backs – Kurtley Beale, James O’Connor, Drew Mitchell, Digby Ioane, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Rob Horne, Pat McCabe, Anthony Faingaa, Berrick Barnes, Quade Cooper, Nick Phipps, Luke Burgess, Will Genia.
    Forwards – Ben McCalman, Radike Samo, Wycliff Palu, David Pocock, Rocky Elsom, Scott Higginbotham, James Horwill (capt), Rob Simmons, Nathan Sharpe, Dan Vickerman, Ben Alexander, Sekope Kepu, James Slipper, Salesi Ma’afu, Stephen Moore, Saia Faingaa, Tatafu Polota-Nau.

• 30.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Can’t recall PdV saying that Danie Rossouw would take the 7 jersey if Juan didn’t come through. He did say they would play him there to see how he goes?

Surely he must play Schalk at blindside now.

• 31.kwas: Reply to this comment

It is a pity other Boks in this side can’t be as honest about their form as Juan. John, I am referring to you, Mr. Oracle. And Fourie duP, how about putting the team and your country first?

• 32.OCO: Reply to this comment

Another nail in the Boks WC coffin.
    Juan will certainly be missed as has already been evidenced.
    No real replacement and particularly not Roussow.

• 33.Bolski: Reply to this comment

LATEST MAIL: Elsom dropped as Captain…Horwill to lead Aussies to RWC 2011

• 34.Bolski: Reply to this comment

as mentioned above :)

• 35.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-30:

“De Villiers has picked Rossouw at No 7 and Ashley Johnson at No 8 for Saturday’s game, a strange selection given Rossouw has won the World Cup playing No 8 and Johnson has played all his rugby at blindside flank for the Cheetahs.

‘There is a reason for that,’ he said. ‘I know Ashley played superbly for the Cheetahs at No 7, but with uncertainty about Juan Smith’s fitness for the World Cup, I’m looking to Danie to fill in there if necessary.”

But then again… in that same piece the buffoon was talking about the explosiveness of his backs so like everything take it with a pinch of salt and hope he gets pushed in the right direction…

• 36.Maori_Fulla: Reply to this comment

An awesome player and one that cant be replaced. I feel for you Saffas losing Smith and Bekker, two key players in the Bok team. Smith has always played well against the All Blacks and they All Black players always speak highly of him both on and off the field

• 37.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Bolski(Bolski)-33: You guys need to go to ruggaworld (Pissants site) if you want the Australian and Kiwi news as it breaks… well and for commentary from international coaches, mind coaches and the rest…

• 38.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-5: A younger man ??Snor is planning to use the 32 year old Daniesuares ?????(What is our world coming to)

• 39.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

A Man who knows when to bow out, is a real gentleman. I wish John Smit could do the same.

• 40.Bolski: Reply to this comment

A great player, but not sure even if fit if he would have been at his best at the WC? Boks loose trio must now be Burger and Brussouw with Alberts or Spies at 8. Burger can jump at lineouts, but is not noted for it…and not so sure about Alberts or Spies jumping….might leave us a jumper short? Roussow is dead tired at proved it in the last 3 games. He needs serious rest. Knock-ons …missed tackles…not being physical at break downs…his fatigue and current form is very worrying if “Clown” was thinking about starting him at 7.

Depending on how saturday goes….this would be my starting team for WC:

1. Jannie
    2. Smit (he is gonna start no matter what)
    3. Gurthro
    4. Bakkies
    5. Vic
    6. Brussouw
    7. Burger
    8. Alberts
    9. FDP
    10. Butch
    11. Hougaard
    12. JDV
    13. Fourie
    14. Pietersen
    15. Lambie

16. Beast
    17. Bissie
    18. CJ
    19. Spies
    20. Mostert/Rousow (I think we need a specialist lock??)
    21. Habana (covers wing)
    22. Frans Steyn (covers 12,15)

thoughts??

• 41.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-35:

Key being ‘if necessary’. That doesn’t tell me that Danie was 2nd choice in the position, and certainly not after his performance on Saturday. Danie ahead of Schalk? Not in a billion years.

Ja well you have to give PdV some credit. He doesn’t panic like Straueli and screw us over even more as suggested by many on this forum.

• 42.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Bolski(Bolski)-40:

Alberts more into the tight exchanges. Think he’s best on the bench as an impact player, but if he starts he’s a 7. Not a better 8 then Spies.

If Morne has a good game on Saturday we might well see him starting. We can’t complain if he stands in the pocket to kick. It’s when we are in attacking situations that he needs to move up. And he’s done it for the Bulls before – not this season unfortunately.

Habana still a better winger then Hougaard at this stage. If not Habana, then Aplon should come in at 11.

Frans Steyn a proven match-winner. Lambie inexperienced test player. I know who I’d prefer.

• 43.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Tough luck Juan
    But guys this was always going to happen
    A ruptured Achilles takes 12 months to heal correctly

• 44.stampmielies: Reply to this comment

Juan dankie for the great service you have given the BOK jersey. It is a shame you wont be able to make it to the Rwc. Looking forward to see you back on the field soon.

• 45.stampmielies: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-27: I agree. Good move by Deans. Not so good about Gitt’s . I guess he just fell outta flava with Deans. Good player. will be missed me thinks.

• 46.poppa69: Reply to this comment

massive loss for the bokke

the one bokke player who commanded respect, reminds me of the calibre of player SA used to produce.

all the best Juan, you have been my fav SA player throughout your career.

Kia kaha.

• 47.tee: Reply to this comment

hahaha some of the comments here are ridiculous! ‘bring in josh strauss’ haha! ‘not that much of a loss’ i mean what are you all talking about?!
    firstly Juan Smith was the best forward at the 2007 world cup and not once has he produced a bad outing in the green and gold. in fact he is the most consistent player in south africa…not even schalk is that consistent. and furthermore josh strauss??! hahaha will not happen. currie cup and test rugby are two major different things! what coach hands someone a debut at the world cup. i agree in that 6. brussouw, 7. schalk and 8. spies is the best combination available now…peter said that should juan be injured danie would play that role…what role is that? at seven? then where does schalk play? luckily sa has immense cover at seven with deysel and willem very good covers there

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

There goes our lineout general at the back….I am a huge fan of Juan Smith, at least Juan you have a WC winners medal and putting the team above your own personal agendas shows integrity.

Hope you fully recover and maybe even captain Boks into the new ear that beckons.

As for a replacement, please PDV, not D Rossow who seems so slow and clumsy.

For me Schalk Burger……with Willem Alberts at 9, Brussow at 6 and Spies can model the 22 jersey on the bench as an impact player.

• 49.RL: Reply to this comment

A great player and a Bok legend, farewell Juan.

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

willem at 8

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.