Massive blow for Boks

Juan Smith is out of the World Cup.

Smith sustained an Achilles injury during the Cheetahs’ Super Rugby campaign and has been in a race to regain fitness ever since. However, on Wednesday an emotional Smith confirmed to the Volksblad that he was withdrawing himself from the squad.

‘I am not 100%,’ Smith said. ‘I won’t be able to give everything and realise I should put my team, team-mates and the Bok fans first. I must stop lying to myself – what I’ve been doing these last three weeks – and realise that I’m not ready.’

The 30-year-old flank conceded that he has trained through considerable pain in recent weeks in the hope of representing the Springboks at his third World Cup. ‘The pain level that I have been practising with was seven out of ten,’ he explained. ‘I really cannot describe how disappointed I am…immensely.’

Smith has been central to the Springboks’ success in the last eight years, his powerful ball carrying and physical defence lending immense impetus to their cause. Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has consistently expressed fears about losing him and now has to attempt to fill the huge void he leaves.

De Villiers has intimated that Danie Rossouw will be the player to step in in the event of Smith’s unavailability. He isn’t short of talented options outside of the Bulls man, with Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel competent replacements. He could also opt to use Schalk Burger in the position, combining him with Heinrich Brussow and Pierre Spies in the back row.

623 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All

• 551.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Wow what a thread, wine, cars, ssex, racist attacks, bad advertising, violence, intimidation and a little bit of rugby! Haha some people ts ts ts

• 552.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-551:

Just another day on keo.

• 553.Transformation: Reply to this comment

548…he got misled by you a while back spooner :-)

• 554.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-553:

Got some mates at work flying down to PE for the game. PE could be a party town if the Boks pull this one off.

…..Can’t believe ET going on and on about you chatting to the AB coaches. What is wrong with that? That oke needs a life.

• 555.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Aaagh et goes on and on about everything.

• 556.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Channel 203

C’MON HEARTSSSSSSSS

• 557.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Handball ref ffs

• 558.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Evening jock! Wrong thread?

• 559.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

The Bok Rugby coats on Boots n All now. :D

• 560.Transformation: Reply to this comment

iaas: yeah there’s concert going on now with kurt darren, dr victor and other artists.

Freshlyground will be @ thhe stadium on saturday…promises to be a lekker jol either way. :D

pay him no mind. :D

• 561.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-558:

Couldn’t find it. Keo has stopped putting up match threads for Scottish football for some reason :(

• 562.carol: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-559:
    Bok rugby coats? Not more WC marketing opportunities?

On another note, I do hope the Bok’s go to a better tailor this time, I have never seen a team wearing more badly fitted blazers in my life than the boks in 2007!!

They are big guys and deserve clothes that make them look fit not fat, made to measure not off the peg!

• 563.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-558:
    Dawn, you are supposed to be at the Fireman’s…..Have you stood Grant up?

• 564.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-563:

No, we back from Firearms they all had wives and girlfriends to go back to!

Nice catchup session though.

• 565.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-562:

coats = coach

Just South African speak. From a certain community.

I also hope Frans Steyn takes a larger size jersey on Saturday. Looked like he had a beer belly last Saturday.

• 566.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-564:

Quick question. Where about is Firemans in CT? Just so I know next time I’m in the mother city.

• 567.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ I am a stormer(I am a stormer) boet, some of the okes on this site! You read the post from shaun, the one were he wanted to stab people twice his size with a broken bottle and scalp them! Haha

• 568.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-561:

Ok. Won’t mention the football.

Huge game for Province tomorrow. And the Lions won’t be a push over. Can’t believe I just said that. Lions are playing some decent rugger. As they say in the classics, “It’s all to play for.”

• 569.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ I am a stormer(I am a stormer) southern suburbs mate

• 570.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-567:

Take it from where it comes. He says he just stared them out and they ran away.

• 571.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-569:

I know that area well. Where precisely, mate?

• 572.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

It is bad luck beating and throwing a buda away isn’t it? Lol

• 573.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I am a stormer(I am a stormer) I’m not too sure, little bit out of my way but this should help: http://www.firemansarms.co.za or Address: Cnr. Buitengracht & Mechau Street, Cape Town 8001, South Africa

• 574.Transformation: Reply to this comment

firemans is in town man, it’s an oldish looking pub in the city centre…dawn will give u better directions, grant directed me there when i was in kaapstad

• 575.Dawn: Reply to this comment

It’s on the Foreshore near the CTICC

• 576.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-571:

It’s city centre. If you come off the N2 at Buitnengracht, carry on up past the Green Point turn off and it’s on right hand side. About 300m from CTICC I guess. Nice pizzas.

• 577.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-575:

Ok. Now I know. So it’s nowhere near ET’s stamping ground then. Thanks Dawn.

• 578.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-568:

Football? There’s a game on tonight? Never noticed.

I’m glad to see the Lions doing well though. Good to see the true fans get a bit of payback for years of slim pickings. Supporting shiit teams is tough. Take a look at ss3 and you’ll catch my drift ;)

• 579.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-576:

Thanks mate. Might find myself there sometime and check out the dodgy locals. :D

• 580.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

There you go! Boots & All is so boring, I would rather watch reunion or rugbyclub or 7de laan. Oregan hoskins is a donkey of note, all bark

• 581.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-577:

It’s nowhere near Philly.

Nice boozer though. I popped in on occasion when I was working on the CTICC extension a couple of years ago. At 5 o’clock it was fill of Brit ex-pats.

• 582.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nee vok man ET’s stamping ground is Philly

• 583.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-578:

I had a peak at S3. I know how you feel. :sad:

But you have to hand it to katman and RL. They’ve stuck with the team through thick and thin. I have some Lions supporters at work. Suddenly the smiles on back on their faces. Apparently the last time the Lions won 5 from 5 was 1997. They’re no easy beats.

• 584.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-582:

Landsdowne Road when in CT. That’s what I meant.

• 585.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-580:

Only now realises the impact of the extended S15 on the SA rugby season.
    What a tosser. This was debated ad nauseum right here. Everyone could see it happening.

But no. We, at SARU, will reassess it on an ongoing basis. But why agree to it in the first place?

• 586.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

I repeat again: If any of you want to watch games later and arent in Sa and cant record them check out this blog. There are games from Currie Cup to Air New Zealand cup.
    http://rugbyaddictors.blogspot.com/
    Not all games but the bigger ones seem to be on there. Well worth it.

• 587.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-584:

He used to live in Landsdowne Road???

I used to live there too, Had a funny feeling about the place.

I moved.

Now I know why.

• 588.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

All this marketing and advertising on boots & all, doesn’t even feel like proper rugga show, no game analysis!

• 589.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-581:

Scotland v Italy on Sat. What do you think? I know which way you’re going on bru.
    Will they do it again?

• 590.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ I am a stormer(I am a stormer), its all about the money, player wellfare doesn’t matter. Mr peters himself admitted to it, can’t believe we agreed to super 15!

• 591.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-589:

You’ve just reminded me to do my bru picks. Scotland by 20 :D

Put it this way, if we have any chance of getting out of the group stages, we need a convincing win well against Italy if only to build some self belief. It’s not uncommon for us to beat England and Argentina but the momentum has to have started last week against Ireland to give a mental start. We have to believe,and if we don’t put Italy away, we might as well stay at home.

• 592.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

hahahaha Aswin Willemse calls the people of PE baaiernaaiers.

• 593.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-583:

It’s all about the thick and thin, let me tell you.

I can”t understand people latching onto the winning sides, their victories are hollow. But when you’ve won nothing for years and a try is the highlight of the season, a run like this for the Lions is worth more than winning the S14 three years in a row.

Ask the Bulls fans who have deserted their side in droves this year. Real fans don’t wait for a run of good results before they turn up on a Saturday.

• 594.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-591:

Did I ever mention to you that I had a Scottich grandmother? Oops, I just have.

So Scotland by 12 it is then for me.

• 595.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Some of those firearms guys look like they been sitting there all their lives

• 596.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-593:

I know. When the Sharks were the bees knees every 2nd Jhb car had a Sharks bumper sticker on it. No wonder RL gets road rage.
    Through good times and bad as you rightly said.

• 597.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-595:

That’s it. Your corner is your corner.

• 598.carol: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-594:

I did not see the game so was intrigued with all the comments and had to see Frans Steyn’s belly, blimey…he must have bagged all the baguettes at Racing Metro, he is a right porker now!!

• 599.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the so-called coloured people uitenhage refer to their PE counterparts that way …baainaars :-)

• 600.carol: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-593:
    Evening Jock, I have now crawled off the bottom spot on the Currie Cup Bru pools…what are your shouts for the weekend?

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.