Massive blow for Boks

Juan Smith is out of the World Cup.

Smith sustained an Achilles injury during the Cheetahs’ Super Rugby campaign and has been in a race to regain fitness ever since. However, on Wednesday an emotional Smith confirmed to the Volksblad that he was withdrawing himself from the squad.

‘I am not 100%,’ Smith said. ‘I won’t be able to give everything and realise I should put my team, team-mates and the Bok fans first. I must stop lying to myself – what I’ve been doing these last three weeks – and realise that I’m not ready.’

The 30-year-old flank conceded that he has trained through considerable pain in recent weeks in the hope of representing the Springboks at his third World Cup. ‘The pain level that I have been practising with was seven out of ten,’ he explained. ‘I really cannot describe how disappointed I am…immensely.’

Smith has been central to the Springboks’ success in the last eight years, his powerful ball carrying and physical defence lending immense impetus to their cause. Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has consistently expressed fears about losing him and now has to attempt to fill the huge void he leaves.

De Villiers has intimated that Danie Rossouw will be the player to step in in the event of Smith’s unavailability. He isn’t short of talented options outside of the Bulls man, with Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel competent replacements. He could also opt to use Schalk Burger in the position, combining him with Heinrich Brussow and Pierre Spies in the back row.

623 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 151.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Gunther

with JDV at 12, none of us have to worry about his “ball handling” skills :lol:

• 152.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Spies should play on the wing, Habana should be left out of squad – be brave, do the right thing

• 153.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

This is realy bad news.

• 154.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-151:

that too.

jdv is starting to piss me off.

• 155.Helen: Reply to this comment

The next big thing in rugga will be when players are played differently for offence and defense.

For starters, fetchers are no longer the same person as the tackler, but instead the 2nd person to the breakdown, therefore in defensive play you put Brussouw at 8.

Another creative way would be to play the likes Butch at 10, F Steyn at 12 in defense and then Lambie at 10 and J Div at 12 in attacking manouvers. Just an example!

Why oh why do we insist that the hooker always throws in at lineout. Surely, if Smit is at prop, he can still do the throw-ins even when he’s been subbed at 2. This kind of one dimensional thinking is so old school

• 156.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@pakslae(pakslae)-120:
    sshitballs!..if thats the case i think i’ll start smoking boom in the morning too..hehehe…

• 157.Helen: Reply to this comment

NFL can teach us quite a bit about how to employ resources differntly to each match situation.

In your own lineout, where you want 1st phase possession to cross the advantage line, you put the likes of J Div and J Fourie as lineout supporters and then Burger and Alberts at centre. Immediatekly you create the most favourable attacking option: Forwards running at Bcaks or Backs running at Forwards

• 158.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Gunther

the NH has ruined many a good player. far more than they’ve improved IMO

• 159.Helen: Reply to this comment

Watch this space…. this kind of thinking will dominate the next 4 years in the sport’s developement. Mark my words. It is only a question of time before a creative coach starts experimenting with this… and selection policy will have a complete overhaul

• 160.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-155:
    @Helen(Helen)-157:

ja, but heres the thing (and dont get me wrong as it might just be me and others might feel differently)…i ffuckking hate gridiron footballl !…

• 161.cab: Reply to this comment

Damn what a shame, fantastic player. Another legend.

Juan, Bekker and Vermeulen – hell no more please.

Alberts needs to step up this RWC. We need some zeast and something new and special.

• 162.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

WC loosies will be

8 Spies
    7 Russouw
    6 Schalk/Brussouw

backup Alberts and Johnson

• 163.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-161: hiyas Cabby

Yeah we cant afford to lose more stars like that

is bekker and vermeulen definately out of the WC??

• 164.cab: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-162:
    No, they’ll be doing more stupidty by playing rossouw at 7, he is a natural substitute for bakkies at 4, this is where he has played his best rugby, he does not bring the mobility or ball-carrying prowess or tackle count of alberts, not even close. please god, let these fools see the obvious.

• 165.cab: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-163:
    hi, yes i think they said a while back that bekker and vermeulen were out.

• 166.grant10: Reply to this comment

FFS not D Rossow at 7 and Schalk at openside!!!

Jeepers man…are we farken retarded ?

• 167.Sean: Reply to this comment

Juan is not easily replaced . Just chuffed to see that so many people are unanimous that Danie is not the one . Would loved to have seen Juan ,Brossouw and Skulk play together at the WC ( maybe Juan will pop up for us if we make it to the Semi ? ) . Time now to maybe take a chance , live on the edge and throw in Strauss ……..along with Skulk and Brossouw …….Otherwise Alberts , Brussouw and Skulk as 8th man . Watched Spies live on Saturday and although he had a better game , he still can”t read a game which is so important for an 8th man ??????????

• 168.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

FAAAAAAAAARK! This is very bad.

Sterkte Jaun, hoopo jy is binnekort weer 100%.

It must be Shalla at 7, Brussow at 6 and Spies/Alberts at 8 (Ive given up hoping and praying they will give Vermeulen a bash)

• 169.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@Sean(seanbokpool)-167: Totally agree – Juan is just a special player. It is so plain to see how the Boks suffer when he is not there – which speaks volumes about his worth.

Hopefully he can be ok by Semi-Final time

I wouldve also loved to see those 3 together.

• 170.paulynz: Reply to this comment

Magnificent player for may years now. I’m an AB supporter to the core but the RWC will be poorer for his absence. All the best for your recovery. Respect from New Zealand

• 171.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

6. Brussow
    7. Alberts
    8. Spies
    with Danie on the bench to cover.

• 172.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I am so friggin bored. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Have read all the threads, loved the the Ethel and Helen show.

• 173.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

Juan will be greatly missed,he is a legend. Here’s wishing you a speedy recovery bru.

• 174.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-172: typica chick. go watch soapies :D

or run the bath, Gunther should be around soon

• 175.JKBridge: Reply to this comment

Tee 47 – We didn’t say Smith wasn’t a Legend cause he’s the best we’ve had in the no.7 jersey for the Boks but to laugh about Josh Strauss show your rugby knowledge. He’s an awesome player that would never let the team down. Way better than Danie!

• 176.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@JKBridge(JKBridge)-175: yeah right.

• 177.Uys: Reply to this comment

Any one that played rugby at club level will know and tell you however fit you are total rugby fitness can only be achieved by playing matches over at least a number of physical games. How on Earth could the coaching staff of the `Boks` who are X rugby players ever thougt that Juan Smith could gain match fitness to be ready for the world cup. It boggels the mind. What where they thinking?

Juan`s own withdrawel is a huge copliment to himself and to his future. For the sake of SA the end of the current coaching staff can not come soon enough!

• 178.Frik: Reply to this comment

When (if?) he recovers I wouldn’t be surprised to see Juan go to a place like Japan where he can play a ‘lighter’ level of Rugby but still get paid a bit. It’s obvious he is not going to have as long a career as he thought and he needs to earn that pension money while he can.

• 179.puff: Reply to this comment

No Bekker and Smith.
    No Robinson and Giteau for Aus.
    The All Blacks are licking their lips!
    Look at AB planning – me thinks Henry is the most prepared.
    He knows who his first-choice centre pairing is (Nonu and Smith), so he’s not even bothering to include a back-up centre on the bench for the upcoming test.

• 180.puff: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith is my favourite rugby player and I am gutted, but Burger or Alberts will slot into the Bok 7 role and do an admirable job.
    Pakslae’s use as THE back-up lock has exacerbated with Bekker’s injury.
    Never mind who will replace Juan in the squad – there are a host of options.
    Who will be Matfield’s back-up?
    Van Der Merwe, Mostert? Both more suited to the tighter lock position?
    Muller? Then why is he back in Ireland having just been named captain for his club?
    Hargreaves? Please, say it aint so.

• 181.puff: Reply to this comment

3 spots in Bok 30 are still up for grabs.
    Back-up to Matfield.
    A fifth loose-forward.
    And another backline player (depending on whether Boks go with a 16-14 or 17-13 split).

Surely these players have been pencilled in already:

1. Mtawarira 2. Steenkamp 3. Smit 4. Du Plessis 5. Ralepelle 6. Du Plessis 7. Van Der Linde 8. Botha 9. Rossouw 10. Matfield 11. Brussow 12. Burger 13. Spies 14. Alberts 15. Du Preez 16. Hougaard 17. Pienaar 18. James 19. Steyn 20. Habana 21. De Villiers 22. De Jongh 23. Fourie 24. Pieterson 25. Aplon 26. Steyn 27. Lambie

So that leaves 3 places to be filled by one of:

Mostert, Van Der Merwe, Muller, Hargreaves
    Johnson, Deysel, Vermeulen, Kankowski, Louw, Stegman
    Mvovo, Basson, Olivier, Jacobs, Ndungane, Kirchner

Time will tell whether astute selections are made, as opposed to ones based predominantly to fill quota requirements or to indulge the illogical thought processes of the Bok “brains trust”.

• 182.BullDog15: Reply to this comment

Please not Hargreaves…Bok fact #374 – there is no adequate backup for Matfield, other than Bekker, and he is out as we know already.

• 183.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

No better number 7 in this country. He was the best by a country mile!

Alles van die beste Juan, geniet jou boerdery.

• 184.paulynz: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-179: Toeava is starting on the right wing but is an excellent centre as well as an excellent fullback. Hasn’t had much top level game time recently though

• 185.puff: Reply to this comment

@paulynz(paulynz)-184:

Yes, ABS spoiled for choice in backline with a number of players able to cover a myriad of positions.
    Wonder who Henry will start on the wings come RWC time?

• 186.Marty: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-166: Ag boet – I’ve lost the energy to complain about the decisions that have been made by our coaching staff (Gold and Muir included). Calling them retarded is an insult to retards….

Starting Danie at 7 last week – every rugby analyst was laughing at that one.
    Moving Smit to prop for the latter stages of the game – hasn’t worked before but let’s try it again and hope for a different result! You know what they say…

Danie is a back-up lock at best. Play him as a loosie and you take away from the boks something special that our opponents have always respected: a killer loose trio combination.

• 187.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Juan laat my dink aan Andre Venter. Hy verdien respek, hy hoef nie daarvoor te vra nie.

• 188.puff: Reply to this comment

One step back…
    wonder who he will leave out of the 30?
    Cowan, Weepu, Ellis sure to be there.
    Carter and Slade too.
    And also Nonu, Smith, Muliaina and Williams.
    So Gear, Guilford, Sivivatu, Kahui, Toeava, Jane and Dagg must fight it out.
    7 players but only 4 or 5 places.
    And, don’t forget, Slade can play fullback or wing too.
    And Carter can play 12, if necessary.

• 189.BullDog15: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-181: Vermeulen and Stegman out injured. I have no idea why Louw is not currently in the mix. Is he also injured? Otherwise he would be my choice as we need openside backup. Matfield’s backup is pretty much a lottery between those you mentioned; none of them good enough as a lineout specialist. They may look at Mvovo as the backline backup player, as we appear to have adequate cover in the squad you mentioned for all positions except wing. Won’t be Basson, he did himself no favours down under, and neither did Olivier. Jacobs as we know is a favourite of Pdiv, so he stands a chance. Ndungane is a worse option than Mvovo, and Kirchner won’t go as we have potentially 4 fullbacks in the squad you mentioned.

• 190.David: Reply to this comment

@Marty(Marty)-186:
    It was only a couple of weeks ago that the esteemed analyst, Mr Jake White, said that Danie should be the Bok number 8 for the WC.

• 191.David: Reply to this comment

@BullDog15(BullDog15)-189:
    Flo is starting for WP tomorrow.
    As for Matfields backup, Albert vd Berg is waiting in the wings for a recall. :lol:

• 192.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-181:

-Mostert
    -Deysel/Johnson
    -Mvovo

Interesting is that we will be taking 5 loosies

NZ looks like they wont be taking a genuine backup 7 for McCaw(thus only 4 loosies)-looks like Thompson to cover 7…And Hoeatta to cover 4/6 Pakslae style. Or they will take 5 loosies if Messam makes it but 4 out of the 5 are 6′s or 8′s…

• 193.Marty: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-190: Maybe 4 years ago when f^&kall was available at no. 8…Now we have some animals with speed and power that we can choose as loosies – what the hell does Danie bring as a loosie? Anyhow, pity about Juan but any one of Alberts or Schalk at 7 is power (even Deysel if the sh&t hits the fan)

• 194.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BullDog15(BullDog15)-189: i 100% agree around F Louw…..

• 195.grant10: Reply to this comment

we should take 5 loosies to wc?

Mine would be Brussow….F Louw

Schalk….W Alberts
    and regretfully Spies will be there….

But F Louw must be there….anything happens to Brussow we will need F Louw, not anyone else with Steggies out the mix….

Talking of steggies….where is Agile? Maybe he was Steggies?

• 196.paulynz: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-185: Very hard to call as the competition for a RWC wing spot is so fierce. All of the contenders know that the slightest blemish on their game could see them out of the 30 but they’re all supporting each other and know that they need to bring their A+ game into eavey match.

I’d probably go for Jane and Sivivatu, on current and past form and x-factor, but really I’d be happy with any one of Gear, Toeava or Guildford, or indeed Dagg or Kahui on the wing.

Some very good players won’t make the 30.

• 197.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-191: Really….Flo?

Are you sure David?

• 198.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-190:

That ‘esteemed’ analyst has just got huge wraps from TheRugbyClub live… showing him and his young team already working on their combinations and more importantly conditioning months out from the S15 start… unlike others eh?

• 199.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-195: is flo fully fit?

• 200.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-174: Sod off Transie ;-0. Am away from home, dont do soapies.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.