Massive blow for Boks

Juan Smith is out of the World Cup.

Smith sustained an Achilles injury during the Cheetahs’ Super Rugby campaign and has been in a race to regain fitness ever since. However, on Wednesday an emotional Smith confirmed to the Volksblad that he was withdrawing himself from the squad.

‘I am not 100%,’ Smith said. ‘I won’t be able to give everything and realise I should put my team, team-mates and the Bok fans first. I must stop lying to myself – what I’ve been doing these last three weeks – and realise that I’m not ready.’

The 30-year-old flank conceded that he has trained through considerable pain in recent weeks in the hope of representing the Springboks at his third World Cup. ‘The pain level that I have been practising with was seven out of ten,’ he explained. ‘I really cannot describe how disappointed I am…immensely.’

Smith has been central to the Springboks’ success in the last eight years, his powerful ball carrying and physical defence lending immense impetus to their cause. Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has consistently expressed fears about losing him and now has to attempt to fill the huge void he leaves.

De Villiers has intimated that Danie Rossouw will be the player to step in in the event of Smith’s unavailability. He isn’t short of talented options outside of the Bulls man, with Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel competent replacements. He could also opt to use Schalk Burger in the position, combining him with Heinrich Brussow and Pierre Spies in the back row.

623 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 251.ET.: Reply to this comment

” It’s in the news ,
    It’s in the news.
    Indubitably it’s in the news
    Some makes you happy
    Some gives you the blues
    But nevertheless it’s in ‘de’ news ” says that Calypso cricket song.

Just like Tutu and Malema is in ‘ de’ news again.

• 252.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-247: I’m told that the announcer should have said Pieter Louw and not Francois Louw. Pity, would have been great to get FLO back.

• 253.Desmond_Tiete: Reply to this comment

Carr is the next hilton lobberts or chilli, mark my words!! they look good because they have fake ID’s … i can also look good in under 21 level being 26+ and having a ID saying that I’m 20

• 254.cab: Reply to this comment

go comments on news24 then, wtf any of that got to do with this here rugby site?
    u dom doos.

• 255.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-240: LOL

Tongue in cheek my man….glad you back by the way…

• 256.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-249:

how about a bicycle?

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-248:

sorry sweetie.

• 257.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-249: I’m told that a Tazz is practically bullet proof. Probably a great idea. But i don’t own one personally.

I did have a conquest RSI back in the day. Sweet ride for it’s time.

• 258.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-202:

Yeah I know but it doesnt make sense still.They already have Hoeattha who can cover 6 and have likes of Todd and Braid brothers as like for like openside replacements for McCaw.Thompson as competent as he is,ever since the rule changes last year he hasnt been effective on the ground as he was in 2009 where he was outstanding.

OZ as dont have a GENUINE lock/6 option.Samo & McCalman arent a lock’s backside but a very decent 8′s.And Palu coming back after almost 2 years out is understandable but risky but dropping Beau Robinson and picking all Samo/Palu/Higginbotham/Elsom/McCalman???Overkill I think

• 259.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-256: It’s cool. If I had any sense at all I would have bought one 15 years ago and driven it into the ground instead of spending lots of money on German imports.

• 260.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-253: Did Hondo’s mum tell you that ?? You do know that she is suffering from dementia. She has regular chats with Doc Craven. Bless her

• 261.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-250: Don’t they kill the farmers for money?

• 262.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-252:

grrrr… damn capetalk…!!!

pity… would’ve been great to have the the two louws in action…

• 263.cane: Reply to this comment

“Do we dare to deem they are not rugby lovers”.

ET,
    Don’t phone home. Go home.

• 264.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-242:

Your very own IOL headline screams that.

But classically with you only that which appears rosy is seen by your FAKE ne0-racist eyes. For a mere cigarette a life has its flame blown out by three ‘boere’ bullies is this clear reality.

There are none so blind as those who do not want to see.

Work beckons.

• 265.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-240: Hey, what are you doing here? Steggies isn’t playing this Saturday and he wasn’t in the team against the Wobblies either – so, you can’t share his awesome stats with us ;)

• 266.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-262: Ja. Dissapointing!

• 267.Desmond_Tiete: Reply to this comment

Sasuke, do farmers have money? Maybe they steal the bread and milk money to buy a kaizer chief jersey!

• 268.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-259:

are we still talking about cars?

• 269.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-256: Aahhhhhh

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-257: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-259: Thats the way to go.

• 270.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-263:

I am tired of giving the so ‘enlightened’ you your daily lesson.

Now go to bed even if it is early for you.

How good is your rugby knowledge? Can you name the ‘Bok front-ranker and wing with names from the 3 given earlier?

• 271.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Blou Hoender(Blou Hoender)-18: Donkey De Villiers your all time best 12 to partner Danie Darling Gerber????

Madness, I tell you!

• 272.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-264: You are a dumb fcknut. You sure it is “work that beckons” or is it the next brandy bottle?

• 273.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-233: Hows your mum?.. I believe that her dementia is worsening and that she has regular chats with Doc Craven ;-) ..Bless you for listening so attentively he when you visit.. good lad ;-)

• 274.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-268: :LOL:

• 275.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-53: Squared!

• 276.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-264: any killings are tragic…..come home and teach me and the rest of the country how to be non racial ET……we need you here….not over there….a soldier needs to be in the trnches….not preaching from afar…come home and convert us mere racists….

• 277.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-72: Why not Burger at 7?

• 278.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-268: Um….sure. Ok,

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-269: I’ve owned some fantastic cars over the years, but they cost a lot more money than makes sense. And yet we buy them still.

• 279.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am taking lotsa cigarettes to the bar tonight

• 280.cab: Reply to this comment

christus, rule no1 stay the fk away from preachers, they got the least to teach, and no 2 stay the fk away from soldiers, they cause more **** than the preachers, and no 3 ET phone home.

• 281.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gankela(gankela)-97: “Brussouw,Schalk and Vermeulen”…. Vermeulen?….. Fatty Vermeulen??? as the Protea Rugger team’s 8 at the RWC….? LOLLLLLLLLL. Come now, you’re too funny, man!

• 282.grant10: Reply to this comment

i swear I am starting to suffer an extreme case of compassion fatigue for you ET…..you call me a racist to my face 1 day and then count the seconds left on this planet you have with a farken straight nose my man!

• 283.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-278: farken cars…..xs….

Dont remind me…..

Millions my man, farken millions…..

But hell I would do it all again

• 284.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-123: Wisdom! Great idea. A Pity Dippy,Dic.ky and Glitter are dont have the same Rugger IQ.

• 285.cab: Reply to this comment

when is the mothership gonna come pick this poephol up already?

beam him up scotty.

• 286.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-283: funny how we do that hey?

• 287.grant10: Reply to this comment

mean exes….as in women…cars and exes….

Wheres my prozac

• 288.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-126: Spies as a blindside…? Huh? Farkno!

• 289.grant10: Reply to this comment

okay

see some keolings later then…

those I have upset who are gonna be there ….dont moer me !

• 290.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-279: Good idea. As long as you are willing to share them with okes who have Afrikaans surnames…

• 291.ufo: Reply to this comment

Village People star’s YMCA fight

A legal battle has broken out over who owns the rights to the disco classic “YMCA” and who is due the money the Village People anthem still generates more than 35 years after it conquered the charts

oh guys own up…! which one of you is making k@k?

• 292.cane: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-270:

No I cannot ET.

And I hope you do not name them either.
    Your allegation of a family connection to the accused would be slanderous at best.
    Vicious points scoring on your part.

• 293.Gunther: Reply to this comment

I would pay good money to watch Grant punch Extrabollock on the schnozz.

I am guessing that there will be glasses involved.

For a short time anyway.

• 294.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Back in the day.. Two boere bully boys tried to intimidate me in a upmarket wine bar in Tygervalley. They tried to force me show my support the Boks. They were pissed off with me for being disinterested and were trying to pick a fight.. I stared them down, while holding onto my bottle of beer which I was quite prepare to break and shove it into their fking necks.. they backed off. Fking p ussies.. I would have scalped both of them and claimed self defence. My composure was awesome. No talk, just eye contact and they nearly shatted themselves in the staredown.. Always important to put yourself on the right side of the law before killing a twat. Let them make the first move and aim carefully.. It only takes one shot

• 295.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-223: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-227: btw, the guy’s name is Nizaam not Nazeem

• 296.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-294: LOL. Farken Stevenage Rambolina.

• 297.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-292: Ag, go to bed you lying, dishonest little sheepshagger.

• 298.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-286: Gotta have a nice car. My dream car is a Honda S2000. Also love Beemers. One day hey.

• 299.ET.: Reply to this comment

The losing ‘Bok rugby psyche is so tautly fragile that even mere songs spark chaotic scenes on a rugby field, assuming this report is accurate from the questionable side:

” Political songs sparked racial fracas

THE singing of President Jacob Zuma’s trademark song, Umshini wami, and ANC Youth League president Julius Malema’s infamous Dubul’ iBhunu incited the violence between Edenvale Panthers Rugby Club (EPRC) and the Soweto Rugby Club (SRC).

And the decision to suspend the Panthers was due to a trial by the media, instigated by the Soweto club, according to a report by the EPRC and submitted to the Golden Lions Rugby Union.

About six members of the SRC – including the coach and driver – were admitted to hospital after being seriously injured in the brawl two weeks ago.

The fighting broke out late in the second half of the match when the Soweto club was leading 27-7. This sparked accusations by Sowetans that the attack was motivated by “sheer jealousy and racism” as they were poised to win the league.

Racial slurs were also exchanged during the ill-tempered match.

Following the incident, which drew wide condemnation, including from Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula, the Golden Lions Rugby Union slapped down the Panthers with a suspension last week.

The suspension has not gone down well with the Panthers, who filed papers appealing against the ban on Wednesday.

Club chairman Victor de Klerk vowed to fight the suspension.

“All I can do is to fight for my players, who just want to play rugby. They must rather suspend me and let the players play the game,” he said.

In the Panthers’ report to the Golden Lions, De Klerk accuses the Soweto club’s players of provoking his team by singing inflammatory and racial songs.

“During our under-19 game, the SRC second team arrived. These players chose, in order to create a festive atmosphere, to sing political songs. The rugby anthem, Shosholoza, would have been appropriate.”

De Klerk lashed out at the Golden Lions for what he said was a “biased ban” of his team. “It was one-sided. The fair deal would have been to suspend both clubs,” he said.

“We were used as scapegoats in these racial allegations,” he added.

SRC secretary-general Zola Ntlokomu declined to comment.

Attempts to get comment from the Golden Lions Rugby Union were not successful and calls to manager Peter Visser’s cellphone went unanswered ”

Undeniably a hot and topical rugby event, that cannot miss the light of day with a huge test just a day or so away.
    Take your experience home ABs and spread it so that even your delinquent Cane sees the truth.

Poor black souls cannot even celebrate the President of the country if the Edenvalle story is to be believed.

Much as is witnessed here, from the likes of the growing wolf-pack, the neo-racist and racist guilty cannot stomach truthful taunts of their fake attitudes.

• 300.Caper: Reply to this comment

Smith is the best blindside that SA has seen in the pas decade.

BUT
    He hasn’t played a good and full season since 2009… I think.

Willem Alberts, Danie Roussouw, Jean Deysel, Francois Louw are more than competent number 7s who have performed well in the past 2 years.

Juan will be missed. His experience and solid play makes him a great player. But we have guys who can play 7 for the Boks.

Juan Smith’s injury is not what will lose us the WC.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.