Massive blow for Boks

Juan Smith is out of the World Cup.

Smith sustained an Achilles injury during the Cheetahs’ Super Rugby campaign and has been in a race to regain fitness ever since. However, on Wednesday an emotional Smith confirmed to the Volksblad that he was withdrawing himself from the squad.

‘I am not 100%,’ Smith said. ‘I won’t be able to give everything and realise I should put my team, team-mates and the Bok fans first. I must stop lying to myself – what I’ve been doing these last three weeks – and realise that I’m not ready.’

The 30-year-old flank conceded that he has trained through considerable pain in recent weeks in the hope of representing the Springboks at his third World Cup. ‘The pain level that I have been practising with was seven out of ten,’ he explained. ‘I really cannot describe how disappointed I am…immensely.’

Smith has been central to the Springboks’ success in the last eight years, his powerful ball carrying and physical defence lending immense impetus to their cause. Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has consistently expressed fears about losing him and now has to attempt to fill the huge void he leaves.

De Villiers has intimated that Danie Rossouw will be the player to step in in the event of Smith’s unavailability. He isn’t short of talented options outside of the Bulls man, with Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel competent replacements. He could also opt to use Schalk Burger in the position, combining him with Heinrich Brussow and Pierre Spies in the back row.

623 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1213 » Show All

• 301.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-253: why is he not the next gerrit jan van velze? now that guy is kak :D

• 302.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja right. After this lagbol incident Shaun got the first BA flight outtahere.

• 303.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-302: Lagbol?

• 304.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-292:

And your lying knows NO end?

Where do I say “family connection” when I clearly write about name connection?

The truth is too hot for you it seems.
    Go to bed early now ,please before more embarrassment engulfs you, FAKY.

• 305.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-296: Always go with what you got.. I am 5ft6.. fking easy to claim self defence when battling 6ft plus fkers.. I dont get into brawls. Two quick strikes and I am gone… to report the assault on myself at the closest police station. Fight clever ;-)

• 306.Bouts: Reply to this comment

LOL! Would be funny if Juan’s recovery now shows an extreme upward curve now that the pressure and stress is off him. Actually, there’s a good chance for that.

• 307.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

If the boks can’t win in PE they shouldn’t bother getting on the plance next week.

• 308.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-304: LOL! Remember that NZ is so small, everybody’s family of each other… especially with a name ‘connection’.

• 309.cab: Reply to this comment

hamba Gunya greenbeans

nans injok inyama

LilililiLiIEEEEEEEEE!!!!

Tank da good lord that the spear of the nation is raising awareness from philadelphia. hau.

• 310.Desmond_Tiete: Reply to this comment

shaun langenhoven mes ****** soos ‘n regte Boland papsak suiper

• 311.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-303:

This one has gone obscene now and groin references are the order of the day now.

Horse’s a r s e will seem like child’s play when what is sauce for the goose becomes sauce for the gander.

More importantly, how do you read the Matty G. omission by Deans. Good or a bad error?

• 312.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Langers in an upmarket wine bar.

In Tygervalley.

I’m trying to identify the exact moment that my mind said bullshit.

It was well before the brown buddha started his jedi mind magic though.

• 313.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-309: hey stop vloeking!

• 314.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Cab’s vernac is as putrid as Mpundulus :D

• 315.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-310: How tall are you? ;-) .. if you are over 6ft5, I aim under the belt ;-)

• 316.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-313:
    yip seems like my informal lessons paid dividends.

• 317.cane: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-299:

“Take your experience home ABs and spread it so that even your delinquent Cane sees the truth”.

Go to the mirror ET.
    Look into the eye of the malefactor.

• 318.Dawn: Reply to this comment

HG, lagbol means laughable.

• 319.cane: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-304:

You split hairs ET.

• 320.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-312: When last did you drink at an upmarket wine bar outside of your living room/kitchen.. I do it every Saturday ;-)

• 321.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where I come from anyway. What it has to do with groin is anyone’s guess.

• 322.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-299:
    They shouldn’t play that Soweto club, full stop
    Merely on the ground of no hiv clearance certificates were produced by the oposition!

• 323.David: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-294:
    It was probably because you were drinking beer in an “upmarket wine bar”. I hope your sojurn in the UK has knocked off some of those rough edges. :lol:

• 324.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-294:

“Stab them in the neck with a broken bottle?” Hahaha.

I don’t need to expend any effort to stereotype people when they say stuff like that. They do all the stereotyping themselves.

• 325.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-305: Sheezus!

• 326.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shaun drinks in his wendy house every saturday

• 327.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-311: I reckon its a team first decision by Deans. If this is so then all good.

• 328.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-322: Do you have an unabridged birth certficate.. I believe that you tan well.. do some investigations young man.. your mum may have lied to you

• 329.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-313: Ag “msunu wakho”, man!

• 330.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I feel an anatomical trauma coming on.

Too much shaun and johnboys

• 331.cab: Reply to this comment

hamba gahle – sit down
    shlalani pansi – remain seated
    usaphila na – how are you
    hamba gunya – go kak
    isichatulu – shoes
    cha – no

yebo yes i am fluent in several languages – suiwer.

• 332.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-282:

Are you gearing up to be perceived as being macho at your booze session?

How laughable! Your own words are thrown back at you and you now threaten violence.

The truth must really hurt and badly so.

You cannot handle the daily racist truth? Try Ireland to get your equanimity back. Maybe you should make it permanent too.

If the cap fit you have to wear it.
    And while you are so loving give yourself that big punch in your mirror. You have earned it. If you hand does not hurt only then think about being violent.

• 333.cane: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-328:

Do you have a Wendy House Shaun?

• 334.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-320:

langers.

you couldn’t even get into Langebaan golf club for a drink.

the closest you would get to an upmarket drinking establishment is collecting the empties.

remind me to take you to my club next time I’m in London.

• 335.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-323: Never ever show the rough edges mate.. fool them but position yourself properly ;-)

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-324: I can do it with fork in the eye too ;-) but I never brawl..very inefficient and messy.

• 336.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-334:

you are going to have to wear a jacket though (not a pleather one)

and work on pronouncing your consonants.

• 337.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-330:

You’d think that with their hatred of SA rugby, they would find something else to talk about relevant to their chosen situations.

And both passing themselves of as revolutionaries too.

The ‘you go first’ type of course…

• 338.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-329: you like to lick it :D

• 339.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-327:

But I think his message got to Matt loud and true by dropping him from the TN squad as he did.

The Aussie backline runners need the incisive Matt and the probing attacking kicks of Barnes and Gits.

Alternatively, they may be too top-heavy with all of Cooper, Gits. and Barnes being there to ‘dictate’ matters. Suggestive of too many cooks.

• 340.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-330:

howzit.

• 341.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-319:

How can that be when you have a ‘bleskop’ – you are bald?

To bed for the last time or I will name the mean front-ranker for you.

• 342.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-334: I look forward to that meeting.. I will bring my own fork.. I dont trust the cutlery in posh clubs. The staff tend to p iss on it as part of their retribution for being treated kak ;-)

• 343.cane: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-339:

Oooooooooooh a rugby post ET.

just when I was thinking you didn’t know shiit from clay.

• 344.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-331: hamba kahle – go well
    hlala phansi – sit down (to one person)
    hlala(ni) phansi – sit down (to two or more people)

the rest, fine.

• 345.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-344:
    what?!?! u obviously weren’t taught right.

• 346.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-343:

he throws them in for effect.

don’t let it confuse you though.

he is still a first class knobber.

• 347.cane: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-341:

I’m in snow up to my balls ET.
    No work tomorrow.

Sleep can wait.

• 348.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-347:

really.

so you’ve had a couple of inches then?

• 349.we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise...: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-337:
    ‘you go first’

• 350.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-345: who taught you, you gardner? :D

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1213 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.