Authorities seize fake Bok jerseys
19 Aug 2011
South African customs authorities confiscated R43 million worth of unofficial rugby jerseys on Thursday.
South African Revenue Service (SARS) spokesman Anton Fisher confirmed that 73 000 counterfeit jerseys, of which 66 000 were branded with the South African national rugby team logo while the rest had local teams’ names, were found in a container in Cleveland, east of Johannesburg. The jerseys were already tagged with a price of R600 for a leading sports shop.
‘Acting on a tip-off, SARS customs officials and police found a container with the suspected illegally imported goods being offloaded earlier this week,’ said Fisher. ‘The contents of the container had been falsely declared as mannequins.’
A man has been arrested and will be charged for making false declarations. Counterfeit offenders can spend up to three years in jail. SARS didn’t want to reveal which country the jerseys came from.
Fisher added that with the Rugby World Cup running from 9 September to 23 October in New Zealand, authorities were expecting to see an increase in counterfeit goods like it happened ahead of last year’s Soccer World Cup in South Africa.

21 Comments
19 Aug 2011, 07:48 am
Big deal!
The entire monetary system is fake
Money as debt
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2550156453790090544
19 Aug 2011, 08:21 am
@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-1:
This is a rugby blog thank you very much! By the way – Dragons
19 Aug 2011, 08:24 am
**** how will transformation now pay for his R600 test ticket?? Stick with selling the originals transie, skelm f0kker!
19 Aug 2011, 08:24 am
@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-1:
Gold gold yet?
19 Aug 2011, 08:27 am
If these jerseys had the Bok on the sleeve who was gonna buy them anyway?
19 Aug 2011, 08:31 am
Snorre handed out authentic jerseys to fake Boks in the first two Tri-Nations test and he is not behind bars. Why?
19 Aug 2011, 08:35 am
@Lang Giel(Lang Giel)-6:
Very good.
19 Aug 2011, 08:36 am
foreverrugga – true story, i bought the world cup jersey @ Totalsports, went to swop it for the current one the following day “with the ABSA logo & bok on the chest” The world cup jersey is just ugly! Looks more like a hockey jersey …
19 Aug 2011, 08:38 am
@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-3:
i got Gold
19 Aug 2011, 08:41 am
transformation, i’m gonna check you at the rugby 2morrow — you gonna sell boerewors & slap chips? do i get a discount?
19 Aug 2011, 08:45 am
@Lang Giel(Lang Giel)-6:
pour yourself a double bells…
19 Aug 2011, 08:51 am
Shame, those poor Tswanians, no more buying Bok jerseys on the closest street corner.
19 Aug 2011, 08:53 am
@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-10: yeah and moerse klap!
19 Aug 2011, 08:54 am
@RL(RL)-12: Was Pretoria the last time I checked.
19 Aug 2011, 08:57 am
@Desmond_Tiete(p0ppa69)-8: Our world cup jersey is fn pathetic. Is it a Bok jersey or a protea jersey? I’ve got the old Sasol Bok Jersey which is the real deal.
19 Aug 2011, 08:57 am
@Lang Giel(Lang Giel)-6: bwaahaa good one!
19 Aug 2011, 09:04 am
@Lang Giel(Lang Giel)-6: Made my day, thank you!!!
19 Aug 2011, 10:57 am
any springbok jersey without the bok on the heart is a counterfeit in my view, so the ‘authentic’ jerseys are nothing more than expensive rip-offs.
In any case, I’ll be scouring the net for a ‘classic’ replica jersey with the springbok intact – they’re both cheaper, and more authentic.
19 Aug 2011, 16:32 pm
@Lang Giel(Lang Giel)-6:
Classic!
19 Aug 2011, 20:47 pm
What are they gonna do with all that “fake jerseys”???????Just a suggestion how bout donating it to the poor or homeless………….by the way when are they locating the Container with the “REAL Springboks”Goodluck Bokke…….BOKKE!!!!!
19 Aug 2011, 21:29 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-4:
Being a “conspiracy theorist ”
I bought a fair amount of silver at $9oz when BOE sold their gold reserves.
It’s unfortunate more people don’t understand the privately owned central banking system.