PE Sevens debut date set

PE will host the South African leg of the Sevens World Series on 9 and 10 December at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

The IRB announced the new season fixtures on Thursday. Date and venue changes see Australia’s Gold Coast replace Dubai as the opening tournament while the Tokyo joins the extended list of host cities with nine legs to be played in the upcoming tournament.

The IRB also revealed that Japan will have a sevens team participating to create rugby hype amongst their locals as they’ll host the 2019 World Cup.

Saru CEO Jurie Roux expects an exciting 2011-12 World Series, which kicks of on 25 November.

‘We’re very excited about the changes to the Sevens World Series schedule,’ said Roux. ‘The three new stops will definitely add some spice to the series and any team that want to win the title at the end of the season, will have to perform consistently well.

‘The South African leg in Port Elizabeth is also something that we’re looking forward to. We have less than four months to put everything in place, but as we’ve seen this week with the preparations for the Tri-Nations Test at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, the infrastructure and is in place. I’m confident we can put together a world class event yet again’

Sevens World Series fixtures(2011-12 season):
Round 1: 25-26 November 2011 – Gold Coast, Australia
Round 2: 2-3 December 2011 – Dubai
Round 3: 9-10 December 2011 – Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Round 4: 3-4 February 2012 – Wellington, New Zealand
Round 5: 10-12 February 2012 – Las Vegas, USA
Round 6: 23-25 March 2012 – Hong Kong
Round 7: 31 March – 1 April 2012 – Tokyo, Japan
Round 8: 5-6 May 2012 – Edinburgh, Scotland
Round 9: 12-13 May 2012 – London, England