KeoTV: D-Day for desperate Boks
20 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE is backing the Boks to win on Saturday, but RYAN VREDE thinks the All Blacks will spoil the PE party.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article19 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article20 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE is backing the Boks to win on Saturday, but RYAN VREDE thinks the All Blacks will spoil the PE party.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

681 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All
20 Aug 2011, 14:56 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-585: Howzit Tassies,
Yeah mate, it saddens me to see South Africans supporting the ABs. That should have stopped after 1994 surely? Also remember seeing many of them shouting abuse to our 7′s side in George. Now we will have the 7′s in PE. Where the local support for the ABs is even more.
Somehow the cricket supporters there only support South Africa. In a wonderful way, with a great band that plays the whole game through. Really hope they support us in the 7′s in PE this year. Would be kinda nice.
20 Aug 2011, 14:57 pm
@cane(cane)-588:
The good folk of PE are starved of top-class rugby. Now that they have a spanking new stadium and a sell-out crowd, things could change.
At one stage many years ago, Bloem and PE were on the test match roster but both fell off the bus for a while. And for some reason, Bloem does not always attract sell-out crowds.
And of all the new stadia built in SA, the one in PE is the most economically viable.
So kudos to PE.
20 Aug 2011, 14:58 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-600: Looked at the forecast during the week. It shows full sun for todays game. If so should be a cracker. Well hope it will be.
20 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-594: reflection of our sad society afraid. Road rage, rugby rage, strike rage +++
20 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-604: Yip. Sad situation.
20 Aug 2011, 15:00 pm
@Puma(Puma)-603:
Cheers Puma, you guys always get great weather for 90% of your test matches.
20 Aug 2011, 15:00 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-599:
If it is a definitive statement you leave off the ‘a’
20 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-604: Tassies,
Spot on.
20 Aug 2011, 15:02 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-606:
They don’t get much weather in South Africa
20 Aug 2011, 15:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-608: You ignoring me? Whazzup?
20 Aug 2011, 15:03 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-602:
I saw a shot of the PE Stadium on TV tonight.
Looked a fabulous venue.
20 Aug 2011, 15:04 pm
30 – 22. Boks to win.
@Puma(Puma)-601: would be awesome to have the St Georges brass band at the 7′s indeed.
So will Frans Steyn be missed?
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-606: Yes we really have a beautiful climate in SA. Something I never take for granted ever.
Today in Umhlanga woke up to a bit of overcast now the sun is out. Also our winters here are brilliant. Normally no rain during our winter months only sun and temps around 25 day. This year we had some cold snaps with rain. Most unusual for this time of year.
jeez keo,that’s a terrible tie.
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-612: we hope the old Madiba Magic has another dose left in the barrel!! GO BOKKE!!!!
20 Aug 2011, 15:06 pm
@Puma(Puma)-601: @<a href="#comment- Gooday Pumes. It's really something I've never been able to fully understand. Whenever I witness the behavior I always ask myself the question: Would Mandela approve of this? The answer is always in the negative. Then I ask myself which is the person likely to be more universally respected? I rest my case. They just don't get it I'm afraid. Must be a sad lack of grey matter within.
@Puma(Puma)-615:
What is considered a cold snap in South Africa?
It must get cold inland at least.
@cane(cane)-611: yep, that’s how we roll Cane 8)
ready to go but waiting for Lily to get back from the hair salon…
20 Aug 2011, 15:07 pm
@fromthecouch(fromthecouch)-617: Lets hope so. Nice stadium. Boks will do it today. Can be very close, or we can run away. Hope for the latter.
20 Aug 2011, 15:07 pm
@fromthecouch(fromthecouch)-613: Absolutely. I do hope they come out for the 7′s. Always love watching the crici there cause of the great vibe that band bring. They sing from the time they set up there until the last ball has been bowled. Awesome. Hope we get that kinda support for our 7′s team.
Also hope they do a fancy dress there. See they do it all around the world. Best 7′s for me anyhow is held in NZ. They sure do make the vibe brilliant and great to watch. We have a similar thing in PE if the locals support us I guess.
20 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
@dermie(dermie)-616:
He obviously lost a bet on last weeks game
20 Aug 2011, 15:09 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-606: mate, one of the key reasons we live here. There are others but the weather is up there for sure. I also have a wee mountain to glue me to this patch.
20 Aug 2011, 15:10 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-620:
Have a great day Transie,
and tell Lilly I think her hair looks great.
And remember.
On the day, Rugby is the Winner.
20 Aug 2011, 15:10 pm
@chch(chch)-619: Well up in the highveld (Joburg/Pretoria) those places it can go down to zero at night and 11 during the day. With full sun though. That is very cold for us. Here in Umhlanga 17 during the day is considered freezing! hehehe. We normally have full sun everyday in our winter months with temps around 25/27 and nights 14. We spoiled here in the East Coast…..hahaha.
20 Aug 2011, 15:11 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-582:
heyneke meyer…no contest…
20 Aug 2011, 15:13 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-627: Not so sure. He has a relatively stress-free job at the Bulls.
20 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-627:
Ian Foster is free
20 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-618: I will never understand it Tassies. I have only seen it on tv though.
You don’t see any support for the other team at the Tank. Not ever. We all wear our Bok jersey with pride. Also when I used to go to Ellis Park you would only see supporters there supporting the Boks. I I for one have not felt it first hand going to a stadium but have seen in on tv. I will never understand it.
I know the Indian Saffas support India in the crici, but they still have family living in India. So I understand it. The people that support ABs don’t have any link to NZ at all. So it is lost on me why they support ABs and especially in 2011. Surely after 1994 we should all have become one? Well thought so, the reason I came back to live in South Africa.
Anyhow I really do hope our Boks win today. I have my Bok jersey on…..hehehe.
20 Aug 2011, 15:16 pm
@chch(chch)-619: lol a few weeks ago we had heavy snow warnings up the road from me and the roads were closed off here in KZN
my husband was at the toll gate early that morning waiting to see if the road would open, when it did there were trucks stuck in the snow and snow around for a few hundred km driving up country.
The Drakensberg area in KZN gets snow most winters and then there is Harrysmith Van Reenan pass area (Freestate) which gets road closures quite often and also parts of the Eastern Cape.
20 Aug 2011, 15:17 pm
@Puma(Puma)-630: WTF china? What is your story. Suit yourself then. Don’t talk to me either.
20 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
@Puma(Puma)-615:
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-624:
Good for running rugby then, can somebody please have a word in FDP’s ear.
20 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
@chch(chch)-619: daytime temp anything below 10. Nights in the minuses inland. Very rare at the coast. We(CT) are about to enter a ‘cold snap’ commencing tomorrow. Forecast 16 high (read daytime) and 6 low. To us that’s cold. Pume’s Debben weather is even better in terms of being temperate, leading to an extreme outdoor lifestyle. This is why, for some of us, the culture centres around the ‘braai’. In summer I can easily braai 3-4 nights a week if my family don’t mind eating at 8. Love it.
20 Aug 2011, 15:19 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-631:
hmmm snow
Been trying to get up the mountains since our latest dump here but weather has been bad
20 Aug 2011, 15:25 pm
@Puma(Puma)-601: WTF puma.. Still whinging about SA support for the AB’s.. Is it just selective stupidity or are you generally dumb to be unaware of the fact that black talent is still being ignored. You are one of those dumb whites that I have been talking about that can’t recognise white incompetence.. Do you still think that Frans Steyn is an international 15 or 12 when thoughout his international career he has probably had one great game??
20 Aug 2011, 15:28 pm
@Puma(Puma)-630: Well I’ve witnessed it first hand and on many occasions. I must put this in perspective though, to set the record straight. The AB supporters at Newlands would seem to come 100% from the local coloured population group. Which suggests that it is a throw back to Apartheid roots. The rider is: they remain totally outnumbered by other coloured folk at the ground, supporting the local teams. I doubt anyone has bothered to measure this accurately but I’d hazzard a guess at around 20 to 1 in favour of the local side, just within that particular race group. The camera naturally focuses on the supporters in black because of the newsworthyness. For the record, I detest placing people into ‘racial’ boxes but this is the only way I can make my point. And you are absolutely right; Newlands(cricket) is completely free of this nonsense. It is entirely limited to rugby. Maybe because it is a sport structured around physicality and aggression. Don’t have the answers. Just regret.
20 Aug 2011, 15:29 pm
@cane(cane)-625:
thats easy to say when your teams the one that only (and always) wins on the scoreboard…
20 Aug 2011, 15:29 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-633: we’ll try to get a whisper into one of those oversize ears of his. But he has a hellava box-kick when it works. I’d hate to be an opposing FB when he’s on song. But yes, I prefer to see the running game your boys have perfected.
20 Aug 2011, 15:33 pm
@chch(chch)-619:
On the highveld here in Jhb, we got plenty days of -1 or -2. And a max of 10 or 11.
But in the Free State you regularly get temps of -4 and -5.
Coldest town in SA – Sutherland in the Karoo – it can get down to -11 if not worse.
And there was a lot more snow this year than previously.
20 Aug 2011, 15:33 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-637: Come on Tassies.. We have met and you never came across as a dumb fk.. but you assuming that because apartheid did not impart submissiveness on all coloured people, freedom is a failure.
20 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
@chch(chch)-629:
the chiefs guy?…no thanks….i dont know which would be the lesser of the two evils…choosing foster or mitchell to coach the greatest rugby union team ever to play the game (except not always on the scoreboard 8) )
if a third option was to slit my wrists…i’d slit my wrists….really dont ffuckking like mitchell….
20 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-637: Yeah I am sure most support our team, but still would like the support of all saffas.
Yeah, never understand why in the cricket we get full support. The best ever is in PE. Love watching the crici when we play there. The vibe seems brilliant.
Like I said many saffa Indians support the Indian team here, but they have family that still live in India. So I do understand that. Just not sure why in our rugby they don’t in 2011? Yip it does go back to our bad past, then I understood why they never support us. But now in 2011 we should all be one.
Ag, not gonna worry about it. I am off to the club now to watch. We are all 100% there wearing our Bok jersey….hehehe.
Enjoy the game. We gonna win this one. I really feel we will. If we don’t then we in huge trouble even against Wales.
Go Bokke Go.
Tassies that was Jinx’s song he wrote. Go listen to it on RT. They have it up as their World Cup Song. Great words there by Jinx.
Cheers Tassies, I am out of here now. Good to catch up buddy.
20 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-628:
i think he would take it. if they gave him free rein like they did white he would.
20 Aug 2011, 15:38 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-639:
Howzit Tas. A bit of a sqeaker last night. Stood up the whole game. I just couldn’t face the okes at work on Monday with 3 losses on the trot.
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-641: Do you have a sixth sense that you know when to show up to start a political debate?
SA schools beating fancied French U18 by 21-0
No.6 Mabuza having top class game. Same junior French team who gave our other junior side a smack during the week
20 Aug 2011, 15:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-643: Ja, gaan dan. Enjoy your day.
20 Aug 2011, 15:39 pm
@chch(chch)-614:
Only by his mother.
20 Aug 2011, 15:40 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-646: Probably
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All