KeoTV: D-Day for desperate Boks
20 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE is backing the Boks to win on Saturday, but RYAN VREDE thinks the All Blacks will spoil the PE party.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article18 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from New Zealand. Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article20 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE is backing the Boks to win on Saturday, but RYAN VREDE thinks the All Blacks will spoil the PE party.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from New Zealand. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

681 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
19 Aug 2011, 13:25 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-90:
too late..rossenori’s already at the hotel…
19 Aug 2011, 13:26 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-83:
I read somewhere once that Matfield said “that little ritual” is the ultimate experience for a bok player..you know your at the pinnacle when your facing it.
19 Aug 2011, 13:27 pm
do any of the PE NZ hooligans have tickets for 2morrow? Most of them don’t even have teeth and they drink R10 papsakke, where will they get money to buy tickets?
19 Aug 2011, 13:28 pm
@Sony Bill Reyts the Boks chances(Gumboots)-97: all good, yourself? went ABs by 14 on superbru
31-17.
Bokkes to score last minute try ala michalak in Cardiff, to add respect lol to the scoreline, then like the english will do a victory lap because they are exactly where they want to be 3 weeks out from the only rugby that matters
19 Aug 2011, 13:29 pm
I see the Bok team of 1971 and a few other Boks will attend the game 2morrow! .. they all staying in Uitenhage…. Sad that these legends must watch the Bok clowns of 2011!
19 Aug 2011, 13:29 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-104:
Lekker! At least we only lose on the scoreboard then. I can live with that! hehehe
19 Aug 2011, 13:31 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-103:
I see the Poppa Impersonator is back!
Get a real nik, and walk tall.
19 Aug 2011, 13:35 pm
@cane(cane)-107:
Imitation is the sincerest of flattery.
even if he doesnt come close
19 Aug 2011, 13:36 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-108: “sincerest form of…”
19 Aug 2011, 13:38 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-67:
Cling to that hope, it’s all you’re got.
Mean while, we’ll keep wiping the floor with you year in year out, you can win once every 4 years and be the world champions, we will just constantly be the best in the world, fine by me.
19 Aug 2011, 13:39 pm
The Boks need to fire this weekend, we as the SA rugby public is really getting tired of watching our team getting beaten. Its disappointing, and emotionally its heart breaking for those die hard fans.
I look at those adds on supersport, where the Boks look so good bashing through those fictional dragon like characters, to supersports credit its a great looking and motivational add. But somewhat cliche, considering the way the Boks are performing. You look at this add and you want to feel proud, but taking a reality check , you just feel demotivated.
In all fairness to supersport, they trying to get the nation pumped up for RWC 2011. But its not an add that will motivate Bok supporters to keep supporting the Boks. The players need to step up to the plate on the field and show their supporters that they really can defend their title at the WC. This is not happening, and another loss this weekend, could mean breaking point for many a die hard Bok fan, and lose complete interest.
We can blame the coach, the management, the refs, but the fact of the matter is, every Springbok player is there because they are professionals, and in the side because they deserved, and earned their spot. So they should start playing like that. They need to start taking responsibility, and not blame game plans or whatever the case is. Just go out there and do the basics right. Make your first time tackles, support the ball carrier, and keep the continuity going, string phases together and look after the possession. Do not kick unnecessary ball away!
I know, easier said than done, but that is basically the basics of rugby. It is not rocket science. You do not need a impressive game plan to do these things. The current game plan may be flawed, but remember it takes accurate execution to make it work. Anyway point being, the Boks must win, or they will have a very small following of hopeful believers that they actually can defend their RWC title.
19 Aug 2011, 13:42 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-105:
can the bok team of 74 say the same?…maybe they should go watch the gmae too? that would balnce things out nicely…
19 Aug 2011, 13:45 pm
Going to moer some flower bombs on the NZ PE hooligans 2morrow – appartheid is gone for 20 years allready, not sure these people know it. LOL – PE is way way behind time !! they still watch McGyver on SAUK 1
@Sony Bill Reyts the Boks chances(Gumboots)-106:
Gummy,
To be honest,
for both Teams, this Test is about progress.
Losing will NOT be great.
But.
I think both Coaches will be happy with a cohesive Team effort,
with the basics being clinical,
and the game plan being implemented.
If things go really badly for the Boks…………………………………………….PANIC.
If things go really badly for the AB’s…………………………………………We got insurance at home.
But a close match would with the above riders,
would keep both Pdv and GH reasonably happy.
Dude this is exactly the type of prediction we didn’t need going into this game You’re a curse Keo, a curse.
19 Aug 2011, 13:48 pm
@cane(cane)-114:
Mate it is no longer about cohesion for the fans, it is about winning. If we lose to the AB’s second stringers we are not only in the Pooh, we are knee deep in it. I actually think it is too late, but hope is what all Bok supporters do lately.
Don’t be too hard on us!
19 Aug 2011, 13:49 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-115:
19 Aug 2011, 13:50 pm
@Sony Bill Reyts the Boks chances(Gumboots)-116:
Oh and at home as well. A Bok fan is similar to fighting the Recession. You are hoping it passes, but there is no control.
19 Aug 2011, 13:51 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-115:
sshit ! i forgot about that…
19 Aug 2011, 13:51 pm
Why do you get so upset with RSA AB supporters if they are so trivial?
19 Aug 2011, 14:02 pm
@AiDoc(AiDoc)-120: why do the maori still not have all their land back and why are the pakeha still living large instead of on floating timeshares just outside nz maori territorial waters (about 500 meters by canoe)?
dont stick your nose where it might get bitten my china, rather stick to rugby, ok?
19 Aug 2011, 14:05 pm
Every body cheering their team on, but very little in the way of predictions.
I’ve said Boks by 6, at home , forwards to have the edge and stiffle our backs. Hope I’m wrong, but FK this is a hard one to call !
19 Aug 2011, 14:07 pm
I have ALWAYS backed the Boks in the past, but I’m afraid I think we are going to0 lose tomorrow.
Hate to say it…but the culture of this team is not what it needs to be. Mediocrity and second best is accepted by the head coach and captain and this poisons the rest of the team. I can guarantee you that if an AB team lost to the Boks by 33 points there wouldn’t be wide smiles and back patting going on..they would as solemn as the grave.
Not being negative for negativity’s sake, it hurts like hell, but tired of swallowing this rubbish about ‘losing on the scoreboard only”. What ****. We’re being made to look like fools out there in almnost every facet except lineouts but this clown wants us to believe we’re one short step away from some kind of miraculous turnaround where the AB’s will suddenly just fold in front of us.
M Steyn, FDP….aimless boxkicks and garryowens all night straight to their backline. JDV holding onto he ball like it’s made of gold.
And if I’m proving wrong I’ll gladly eat humble pie!!!!!
Incidentally, in the history of the Rugby World Cup the number of tries scored refelects our inability to produce backs who actually SCORE tries (not just intercepts.) The average is 112, so we are well below average at:
NZ 232 tries (1711 points)
OZ 153 tries (1212 points)
FRANCE 142 tries (1195 points)
ENGLAND 111 TRIES (1097 POINTS)
SCOTLAND 109 tries (899 points)
RSA 94 tries (834 points)
19 Aug 2011, 14:12 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-102:
Thought it would hurt
Calm down
@Atreides(Atreides)-123: The history of the World Cup includes 87 and 91. We only played in 4 of the 6, so our total should be lower. If we added another third onto our total, we’d be tied for third with France. Admittedly this is still poor, but not as bad as you figures make it look.
I see a pink tie and I want it painted black
No colors anymore I want them to turn black
I see Keo walk by, dressed in pink clothes
I have to turn my head until my laughter goes
I see a line of ties and they’re all painted black
With flowers and my love, both never to come back
I look inside myself and see my heart is black
I see a pink tie and it has been painted black
Maybe then I’ll fade away and not have to face the facts
It’s not easy facing up when your whole world is black
Mick & Keith.
19 Aug 2011, 14:14 pm
And what the fck is that metallic “cybermetal” chick doing in the banner ad? What is a rugby coin?
19 Aug 2011, 14:14 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-123: ok, we are below average but surely there are two world cups missing for the boks?
so if you actually took our avg tries per wc and multiply by 6 you see we would have scored 141 tries and hey presto! we are not looking too bad again.
surely the boks also scored more tries than any other nation in 2007?
and the b astards still dont count ruben krugers try in the 95 final i suppose.
19 Aug 2011, 14:15 pm
I tell you keo and Ryan would make for good Verimark salesmen
‘What are you waiting for, get ______ noaw’
19 Aug 2011, 14:15 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-122:
NZ by 2.
Tis indeed a hard one to call.
19 Aug 2011, 14:16 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-128: Beat you to it.
19 Aug 2011, 14:17 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-128:
I see you and a lot of others has been caring,patient and nice with the kiwi bloggers here,they have just insulted you in return.
I think it is time to remove the satin glove from your iron fist and no more mr nice guy.
19 Aug 2011, 14:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-125: ah, you beat me to it this time, well done!
Wellington – New Zealand rugby fans have overwhelmingly rejected a campaign urging them to give up *** as a way of supporting the All Blacks during this year’s Rugby World Cup.
Telecom Corp., a team sponsor, planned to launch an advertising campaign calling on fans to “Abstain for the All Blacks” next week to generate publicity ahead of the September-October tournament, the New Zealand Herald reported.
It said fans would be given black rubber rings to wear to show they were supporting the abstinence campaign, which will be fronted by former All Blacks captain Sean Fitzpatrick.
While the campaign was approved by the New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU), the idea of putting *** in the sin bin has found little support from the country’s sporting public.
“Dumb, dumb, dumb, that’s just dumb,” one All Black supporter, who identified himself as Grant, said in Wellington.
A New Zealand Herald online poll asking fans if they would forego *** during the seven-week tournament attracted almost 10 000 votes, with 92 percent responding: “No, are you kidding?”
One supporter, who did not want to be named, said he did not relish the prospect of being ridiculed by boozed-up England fans if he turned up to a match sporting a celibacy ring.
NZRU spokeswoman Juli Clausen confirmed the campaign would go ahead, but stressed it was being organised by Telecom, not the sporting body.
“It’s their campaign, their creative (idea), obviously we’ve been across it, but it’s very much their campaign and owned by them,” she said.
Clausen was unable to immediately confirm reports that All Blacks coach Graham Henry was asked to front the no-*** campaign but declined.
Telecom marketing director Kieren Cooney said it was a fun way to galvanise support for the All Blacks, who will be desperate to succeed on home soil at this year’s tournament after decades of World Cup underperformance.
“We’ve tried to take a way that is fun and is absolutely tongue-in-cheek and is absolutely based on what, we think, is Kiwi humour,” he told the newspaper.
The New Zealand YWCA said Telecom was sending the wrong message by promoting abstinence and should instead push a safe *** message.
“We need to be realistic that there will be a lot of *** during the Rugby World Cup… instead of black rubber finger rings that promote abstinence, produce some black male and female condoms for fans,” YWCA spokeswoman Sarah Davies said. “They will get much more use.”
@>^..^< katman(katman)-131:
again!
faaaaaaaaaaaaaark!!!!!!!! getting old i suppose lol.
19 Aug 2011, 14:23 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-132:
blackpanty may not agree with your appraisal fernly.
ag i was maybe a bit harsh with aidoc but its not a topic that is easily understood and i do try so hard not to involve myself in another nations politics so i expect the same.
@rangerman(rangerman)-135: It’s the dawning of the age of the Lion.
Don’t fight it.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-124:
WTF is it with you telling me to calm down??
I am as cool as, point I was making the bok players love it was all.
19 Aug 2011, 14:24 pm
Abs to take Boks the distance ending in draw.
19 Aug 2011, 14:25 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-136:
they are just going to get worse,the pre rwc nerves are getting them all emotional and jumpy.
19 Aug 2011, 14:25 pm
poppa & cane are still a virgins, so for them not to root for 7 weeks won’t be a problem! how they will keep Dan Carter & McCaw apart now that is a problem!
19 Aug 2011, 14:26 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-123:
There have only been 4 RWCs to date.
The ones in 1987 and 1991 were merely invitational tournaments, and don’t count.
19 Aug 2011, 14:27 pm
In a pub quiz the other day I lost by one point. The question was where do women mostly have curly hair? Apparently, it’s Africa ..
Well lookey here ….. it seems that it is not only a sickeness in Cape Town and George.
Trans are you a member of the Eastern Cape All Blacks supporters club???
…………………………
Why we support the All Blacks
A large part of the coloured community in Port Elizabeth has always supported the All Blacks.
THE rapturous welcome the All Blacks received at Port Elizabeth airport has reopened the controversy that surrounded the similar support enjoyed by the Crusaders when the Christchurch-based team twice visited Cape Town earlier this year.
The pictures of Port Elizabethans figuratively slitting their throats haka-style in exhibitions of raw passion as their overwhelmed heroes struggled through the arrivals hall to their team bus have prompted questions, mainly from white South Africans, as to why their coloured compatriots, two decades into democracy, still do not support the Springboks.
Old habits die hard is the reflex refrain, but having chatted to locals here and informed colleagues in Cape Town, the answer is more complex and in some ways not as sinister or controversial as many people think. And it includes the community feeling let down by the present-day South African Rugby Union, as well as the bare fact that the All Blacks play great rugby.
Of course there is the political aspect to it, dating back to the horrors initiated by Hendrik Verwoerd in the 60s. Naturally, the disenfranchised would support anyone but the sporting standard-bearers of apartheid, the Springboks, who better than anything reflected the white “elite”.
And blacks would certainly support the one team that gave the then world-beating Boks a hard time on the field, the All Blacks.
Nobody else could come near to rivalling the Boks in the amateur era (pre 1995).
And the young South Africans who hated the Boks in those days are now grandfathers, and the passion they had for the Kiwis has been passed on through generations and, if anything, has grown stronger.
Cory Jane, the All Blacks winger, described the airport reception thus: “It was crazy, but very cool. The channel that we were walking through got tighter and tighter as we got closer to the bus and people were trying to reach out and touch you.
“It was very special. It was very humbling to see what the black jersey means to them, and the way they were chanting ‘All Blacks, All Blacks’ was goose-bump stuff.”
But the political history is only part of it. The chairman of the Eastern Cape All Blacks supporters club, which has 3 000 registered members and plenty more unofficial members, is one Danville Felkers, and he sheds some interesting light.
“I was born into supporting the All Blacks. My father, grandfather and uncles are very passionate supporters, and it is very easy for new generations to continue this tradition because the All Blacks are a brilliant rugby team.
“They are the Manchester United of rugby. They win consistently and they win in style. People love winners.”
And older members of the Port Elizabeth community are in no hurry to convert their children to the green and gold because they feel that they have been left stranded by empty promises from the game’s governing body.
“Rugby has died in the schools of the (poor) northern suburbs,” Felkers says.
“And we have played rugby in this region forever. But we have no facilities. There has been no investment from Saru, no upliftment, and we feel let down.”
Once more, in a brand new era, resentment of Saru has been channelled into supporting the Springboks’ opposition.
“We have kids who want to play rugby but their parents cannot afford to send them to (white) schools such as Grey High. Those who stick it out have to come to our clubs,” he says.
“In our suburbs we are crying out for sport to give our teenagers something to do to keep them away from drugs and crime. Rugby can do that, but it hasn’t because the system has let us down.”
Saru’s flagship investment in the Eastern Cape is, of course, the Southern Kings, and bully to them for resurrecting top-flight rugby in the region, but for the less affluent rugby man on the ground this means diddly squat.
It is a (potential) success story at the pinnacle of the rugby pyramid, but what about at the broad base?
“Nothing has changed at grass roots,” says Felkers. “We don’t feel that Saru is engaging us. We don’t feel any affinity to Saru. We remain forgotten.”
And all the while the All Blacks play exciting, invigorating rugby, and their fan base in South African grows by the day.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-140:
Keep believing it. I guess you have to, you don’t win anything else, kssssssss
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-141:
Count Tackler in aswell.
According to Black Panty the best thing to come out of SA is rhino horn.
19 Aug 2011, 14:28 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-137:
The Age of Leo?
19 Aug 2011, 14:28 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-145:
Atleast my Springboks has won 2 RWC
19 Aug 2011, 14:31 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-137:
“The major event in the Age of Leo was an ancient global warming to such a massive extent that it led to the deglaciation of what now constitutes much of the modern habitable world. The deglaciation ultimately caused a 90-m rise in the sea level. The sign Leo is a Fire sign and is traditionally ruled by the Sun in astrology. Leo is also related to any kind of light source, and the carved stone oil lamp was invented during this time. ”
So what are you trying to say is – the Lions are on fire!
19 Aug 2011, 14:31 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-123:
@rangerman(rangerman)-128:
if we’re gonna go down the incidental stats route then how bout…of the three time we’ve played the ab’s in wc’s we’ve won two and lost one…thats puts the boks at a 66% winning ratio…better than even the french who sit at 50%….
use it, dont use it…
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All